(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "A sesqui-centennial history of Kentucky; a narrative historical edition ... preserving the record of the growth and development of the commonwealth, and chronicling the genealogical and memorial records of its prominent families and personages"

w$m 




Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign 



http://archive.org/details/sesquicentennial04wall 



A ^aqm-Okttfrtmtal history 
of Kmtuiky 



gubltaljrt 1945 






A Narrative Historical Edition, Commemorating One Hundred and Fifty Years of 

Statehood, Preserving the Record of the Growth and Development of the 

Commonwealth, and Chronicling the Genealogical and Memorial 

Records of its Prominent Families and Personages. 



FREDERICK A. WALLIS 

Supervising Editor 

GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL 



HAMBLETON TAPP, A.B., M.A. 
Author and Editor 

HISTORICAL 




THE HISTORICAL RECORD ASSOCIATION 

HOPKINSVILLE, KENTUCKY 
LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 



I lk>< 
UJ/6 



The complete index covering the histori- 
cal and biographical sections of this edition 
will be found at the back, of Volume IV. 




THOMAS A. MEDLEY 



Itorjrapljtral 



THE HISTORY OF THE THOMAS A. MEDLEY FAMILY 
SINCE LANDING IN MARYLAND, 1634 



Jo 



John Medley sailed to America from England with a group in the 
"Ark and Dove" and landed in Maryland in 1634. 

He settled in the vicinity of St. Marys which was under the proprietorship of 
Leonard Calvert — brother of Lord Baltimore. He was a member of the Maryland 
House of Burgesses in 1648, '49 and '50, and sat as a juror on many occasions. 
He is shown as a witness in the Wills of Peter Makerall, April 3, 1648, and Walter 
King, October 1, 1653. We find him, 1648, protesting in the General Assembly of 
the same year against laws "pretended to be put in force by the last General 
Assembly"; and in 1656, sitting as a member of the jurors at the September term 
of the Provincial Court at St. Marys in the trial of the Piscataway Indians, for 
the murder of two Negro servants. (They were convicted, sentenced, and executed 
on the same day.) 

According to the proceedings known as the "Inquisition The Mill Land" re- 
ported by the Chancery Court proceedings, 1679, we find a tract of land lying at 
the head of Bretton's Bay in St. Marys County reconveyed by John and Peter Mills 
to John Medley August 4, 1656. 

It is known from John Medley's Will, recorded in the first Book of Wills in 
the Maryland Calendar of Wills, that he left considerable property. To his son, 
John, he left the "Medley House of Medley" and six hundred acres, to George and 
Thomas he left a "portion of said plantation"; to William, five hundred and fifty 
acres in Bretton's Bay and the "mill at the head of Bretton's Bay." His trustees, 
Colonel William Evans and Richard Williams, are requested in his Will to recover 
certain moneys, the portion of testator's "last wife," in Thomas Garrett's hands in 
Lancastershire, England; and which money is bequeathed to his son, Thomas. 

There is no date on John Medley's Will but it is Will No. 147 in Will Book 
No. 1, and from the dates of the Wills preceding and following, it must have been 
probated in 1660 or 1661. John Medley makes no mention in his Will of a 
daughter, Ann, however, his son George in Will probated May 22, 1678, left 
property to his brother William and sister Ann; the same which indicates he had no 
children. 

John Medley, the second on record in this country, was the eldest son of the 
original John. He followed in the footsteps of his father and became a man of 
much influence in the Colony and was made executor and heir in the Wills of his 
brothers and sister. We find that September 21, 1703, in the Will of Joseph 
Riourton, he left all his property and his daughter Margaret in care of John Medley 



1790 ASESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

until she became sixteen years of Age; and that he witnessed the Will of John 
Gant, 1717. This John Medley must have died some time after September 22, 
1725, since he and his son, George, were made executors of the estate of John's 
brother, William, in his Will made that date. This William did not mention any 
children in his Will. 

George Medley, son of the second John, made his Will April 1, 1731, in which 
he named his wife, Ann, his sons, Clement, Aften (Afton) , Bennett, and George. 
He also mentioned Mary Taut. (We do not know her connection.) Of this last 
mentioned George there is not much known except that he lived on a peninsula 
called "Medley's Neck" located between St. Marys and Lecnardstown and that 
he died in St. Marys County leaving a number of sons. (This "Medley's Neck" has 
often been referred to as "John Medley's Neck.") 

His son, Thomas, with either a brother or cousin, John, migrated to Kentucky, 
1786. Thomas Medley settled on the Rolling Fork near the present town of 
Raywick while John Medley settled in the Hardin Creek Settlement. 

Thomas Medley was married to Alice Edelen in 1807 and to this union was 
born March 1, 1814, on a farm on Cartwright's Creek, a son, William, who is the 
great-grandfather of the present generation of Medley Distillers of Owensboro, 
Kentucky. William produced whiskey in a crude still on his farm on Cartwright's 
Creek near St. Rose in Washington County. He was married to Teresa Jane 
Ozbourne. To William Medley and Teresa Jane (Ozbourne) Medley were born 
George E. Medley, May 10, 1850, one brother, Thomas W., a farmer; and two 
sisters, Louise, married to Acquilla Blanford who moved to the Daviess County 
section, and Sarah, married to Matthew Livers, also of the Daviess County section. 
William Medley and his wife, Teresa, died while their son George was an infant 
and he was reared by his grandmother, Clotilde Ozbourne, in the home of his 
Uncle, Parker Osbourne (Ozbourne) . 

Though his early educational advantages were somewhat limited, George E. 
Medley had sufficient ambition and ability to prove himself eligible for pedagogic 
honors at the age of nineteen. He started teaching school in Washington County, 
Kentucky, in 1872 and in 1876 he started his business career in Springfield, 
Kentucky, with the firm of "Cunningham, Medley, and Duncan." In 1893 he 
became assistant cashier of the First National Bank of that city. He accepted a 
position with the "Mattingly and Moore Distillery" at Bardstown in 1898. He 
married Anna Isabelle Simms, the daughter of Thomas W. Simms and Margaret 
Ellen Montgomery Simms, both of Maryland colonial ancestry. To this union were 
born six sons: Thomas, Ben, William, Parker, George, and Frank; and four 
daughters: Margaret, Allethaire, Louise and Isabelle. 

In 1904 he became associated with "Dick" Mcschcndorf, of the "Old Kentucky 
Distillery" and effected the organization of a stock company which purchased the 
land and business of the "Daviess County Distilling Company," at Owensboro, 
same which had been established 1873. He was elected President of the company 
at the time of its re-organization and remained in that capacity until the time of 
his death, December 24, 1910. 

His eldest son, Thomas A. Medley, was made Secretary and Treasurer in 1904 
and moved to Owensboro where lie made his home. In l () 0o Hen 1'. Medlev, the 




GEORGE E. MEDLEY 



1792 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

second sen, moved to Owensboro as Distiller, later to become Vice President which 
positions he retained until 1938, at which time he was made President on the 
resignation of Thomas A. Medley. William, the third son, came to Owensboro, 
1907, and took up his duties at the distillery. At the time of his sudden death, 
February 19, 1941, he was President of the Medley Insurance Agency which he had 
organized August, 1932. January, 1910, George E. Medley moved his entire 
family to Owensboro where his younger sons attended the public schools and later 
college at St. Marys and Notre Dame. 

Ben F. Medley died August, 1939, whereupon George E. Medley, Jr., at that 
time Vice-President, became President and held this position until May, 1940, when 
the "Daviess County Distillery" was sold to the Fleischmann Corporation, which 
immediately made George E. Medley (died June 11, 1942) manager and Parker J. 
Medley warehouse superintendent. 

Frank J. Medley, the youngest son of George E. Medley, was not active in the 
distillery business being associated with the American Tobacco Company since 1914. 

Thomas A. Medley was born August 27, 1876, in Springfield, Washington 
County, Kentucky, where he attended the public schools. He received his higher 
education at the University of Notre Dame where he took his A. B. degree in 
1898 and his LL.B. in 1900. His scholastic career was marked by outstanding 
achievements which were climaxed by his being made valedictorian of his class. 
After finishing his college career he returned to Springfield and began the practice 
of law in the office of his Uncle Thomas Simms, whose father, T. W. Simms, born 
December 24, 1830, lived to be ninety-three years old. Because of his association 
with his grandfather, with whom he practically lived, Thomas Medley was able to 
compile much first hand information covering the history of his family, since his 
grandfather was a son of one of the original settlers from Maryland to Kentucky. 
Thomas Simms' father, Francis, settled at Cartwright Creek in about the year of 
1790 and married Allethaire Spalding who was the only child of Benedict Spalding, 
born in Kentucky, the others having been born in Maryland. Thomas Simms was 
the youngest of six children. 

Along with his law practice, Thomas A. Medley also served as Master Com- 
missioner which position occupied his time until he moved to Owensboro in 1904 to 
enter the Daviess County Distilling Company, where he held the position of Secre- 
tary and Treasurer until December, 1910, whereupon the death of his father he 
became President from which position he resigned in 1938; but remained as a 
Director of the corporation until same was sold to the Fleischmann Corporation, 
May 25, 1940. 

An interesting note is the fact that Thomas A. Medley was so confident that the 
Prohibition Amendment would be repealed that on the sale of the "Daviess County 
Distilling Company" property, 1927, the corporation was retained and kept intact; 
and on the repeal of said Amendment, under the administration of Thomas A. 
Medley, the "Daviess County Distilling Company" resumed the production of the 
kind of bourbon that made Kentucky famous. 

In 190] he married Flora Nell Wathen, a daughter of Richard Nicholas Wathen 
and Mora Nell Abell, both also of Maryland colonial ancestry. Richard Nicholas 
Wathen operated a distillery near Lebanon on the Rolling Fork as had done his 



1794 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

father, Henry Hudson Wathen, who was born in St. Marys County, Maryland, 
May 11, 1766, and married Mary Spalding. 

This union of Thomas A. Medley and Flora Nell Wathen, who were fourth 
cousins, linked together two of Kentucky's best known distilling names. 

To Thomas A. Medley and Flora Nell Wathen Medley were born seven daughters 
and eight sons — the daughters: Helen, born August 6, 1904, married William 
O'Bryan; Isabelle, born July 4, 1905, at the time of this writing is in the Medical 
Division of the United States Army at Camp Wallace, Texas; Marie Sophia, born 
July 11, 1911, married Joseph R. Nail, of Owensboro; Margaret Montgomery, 
born January 28, 1917; Mary Louise, born January 21, 1920, married Ensign 
Frank E. Scudder, of Edwardsport, Indiana, serving in the United States Navy; 
Mary Francis, born October 19, 1922, now a member of the Woman's Army Corps 
serving in Italy; and Theresa, born June 9, 1923, married to Claude P. Morton, 
of Owensboro, now serving in the Army — the sons: R. N. Wathen, George E., 
Thomas A., John A., Ben F., and Edwin Wathen. Two sons, William Parker 
and James Bernard, died in infancy. 

At the time of this writing all of the sons except Ben F. and Edwin Wathen 
Medley, who are in the Armed Forces, are playing major roles in the production 
of alcohol at the Medley Distilling Company. The distillery is producing one 
hundred percent for the war effort. 

R. N. Wathen Medley, eldest son of Thomas A. and Flora Nell (Wathen) 
Medley attended the local grade and high school, was graduated from the Uni- 
versity of Kentucky and married Nana Watson, daughter of Charles Russell 
Watson and Edna Howell of Richmond. They have two children: R. N. Wathen 
Medley, Jr., born April 14, 1937, and Charles Russell Watson Medley, born 
September 1, 1941. 

R. N. Wathen Medley, who was born August 10, 1906, is President of the 
Medley Distilling Company and a member of its Board of Directors. He is a 
saddle horse enthusiast and has taken an active part in promoting the popularity 
of this breed. 

George E. Medley III, the second son, born August 18, 1907, was also a 
graduate of the schools of Owensboro. He was unmarried. He was a member 
of the Board of Directors and Vice-President of the Medley Distilling Company. 
He died January 31. 1944. 

Thomas A. Medley, Jr., the third son, born September 13, 1908, was graduated 
from the University of Dayton, where aside from his scholastic training he made 
a name for himself in athletics. In 1935 he was married to Alma Lee Magruder, 
daughter of Noel Magruder and Anastasia Hall of Daviess County. They have 
no children. He is rated as one of the outstanding young distillers of the state. 
Under die tutelage of his uncle, Ben F. Medley, he learned the art of producing 
the type of Kentucky Bourbon that is synonymous with the name Medley. 

John Abell Medley, the fourth son, born September 2, 1910, was also graduated 
from the University of Dayton, and like his brother Thomas also excelled in 
athletics. He was married to Mary Cecilia O'Bryan, daughter of William Meigs 
O'Bryan, a former Mayor of Owensboro, and Mabel Murphy, of Owensboro. They 
have six children: Mary Belle Wathen, born January 2, 1937; John Abell, Jr., 



1796 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

born September 8, 1938; Sarah Jane, born November 16, 1939; William Meigs 
O'Bryan Medley, born May 29, 1941; and Thomas A. Medley III, born November 
15, 1942; and Frances Elizabeth Medley, born February 28, 1944. John Abell 
Medley is Secretary and a member of the Board of Directors of the Medley Dis- 
tilling Company. 

Ben F. Medley, II, fifth son, born September 2, 1912, attended Washington 
and Lee and Purdue Universities, graduating from the latter June, 1937. Like his 
brothers, Thomas and John, he earned distinction in athletics. He is not married. 
He is Treasurer and a member of the Board of Directors of the Medley Distilling 
Company. 

Edwin Wathen Medley, last son of Thomas A. and Flora Nell Medley, born 
October 22, 1915, attended the local schools of Owensboro and like his brothers 
learned the distilling business under his father at the Daviess County Distilling 
Company. He was married to Louva Ford, daughter of Elijah Miller Ford and 
Cora Belle Burton. To this union were born three children: Edwin Wathen 
Medley, Jr., born November 1, 1935; Cora Ellen Medley, born October 9, 1936; and 
Margaret Montgomery Medley, born November 25, 1941. 

The brothers, R. N. Wathen, John Abell, and Edwin Wathen Medley, have 
started on the way another generation to carry the Medley name into the future. 
The names Thomas, William, John, and George found their way down through each 
generation to the present as signs of respect and veneration of each previous genera- 
tion. From the original John Medley, who came to Maryland in 1634, we find in 
1944 John A. Medley, Jr., a living witness that "there is something in a name." 

STANLEY A. GROBMYER 

Otanley A. Grobmyer has cause for pride in a great many dif- 
ferent things, but probably the one thing above all others which gives him the 
most pride, but which was later to cause him the most grief was the record which 
his son, Major John C. Grobmyer, made in his service with the American Air 
Force. Major John Grobmyer enlisted in the United States Army immediately 
after the Pearl Harbor disaster, in December, 1941, and on August 3, 1942 was 
commissioned a Second Lieutenant. On September 7, 1943, John C. Grobmyer, 
then a First Lieutenant in the Air Corps, Northwest African Air Force, received 
the Award of Legion of Merit by command of General Eisenhower "for except- 
ionally meritorious conduct in the performance of outstanding services" in con- 
nection with the Organization and Movements Section throughout the period of 
the Tunisian campaign. On February 6, 1945, he was killed in a plane crash in 
France. 

Stanley Grobmyer has himself a record of military service; he was a Captain in 
the First Kentucky Infantry, Company K. For many years he has been the general 
manager of the Grobmyer Coal and Lumber Company, a concern which he pur- 
chased from the estate of his father and subsequently greatly enlarged. Stanley 
Grobmyer is also one of the largest land owners in Carroll County. 

Both of the parents of Stanley A. Grobmyer were natives of Carroll County, 
Kentucky. His father, Henry Cassin Grobmyer, was born in 1850, and became 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1797 

the operator of a coal and brick business, also maintaining a livery service. His 
mother was the former Anna Seppenneld; his father was the organizer of the 
First National Bank of Carrollton, which he organized in 1881, and he was a 
member of the first Board of Directors of that bank. Stanley A. Grobmyer was 
one of the six children of Henry C. and Anna (Seppenneld) Grobmyer, and was 
born in Carroll County, Kentucky, on August 3, 1888. 

Stanley Grobmyer attended the parochial schools of Carroll County, and was 
graduated from the Carrollton High School. He majored in Engineering at the 
University of Kentucky. His father had died in 1901, and upon completion of 
his formal education, Stanley Grobmyer returned to Carrollton to manage his 
mother's estate. He purchased the Carrollton Brick Company from the estate, 
and later added coal and lumber. This company is now known as the Grobmyer 
Coal and Lumber Company, and deals in coal, lumber, building material, hard- 
ware, paint and farming implements, and Stanley A. Grobmyer is the general 
manager of the company. Mr. Grobmyer is a director of the Kentucky Lumber 
Dealers Association, and is also a director of the First National Bank of Carrollton. 
He owns extensive farm lands in the county. 

The marriage of Stanley A. Grobmyer and Hester Bruce occurred in 1915. 
Mrs. Grobmyer is, like her husband, a native of Carroll County. There are three 
children in the family of Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Grobmyer. The first child, Mary 
Bruce Grobmyer, was born in Carrollton in 1916. She attended the Carrollton 
High School, and received the B.S. degree from Nazareth Academy at Nazareth, 
Kentucky. Miss Grobmyer is now a medical technician at St. Joseph's Infirmary 
at Louisville, Kentucky. John Cassin Grobmyer was born in Carrollton in 1919. 
He graduated from the parochial school at Carrollton, and in June, 1941, received 
the degree of B.S. from the University of Notre Dame at Notre Dame, Indiana. 
In December, 1941, immediately upon the entrance of the United States into 
World War II, John Grobmyer enlisted in the United States Army as a cadet 
in the air force, and received his commission as a Second Lieutenant on August 3, 
1942. He went overseas in December, 1943, and during the Tunisian campaign, 
Lieutenant Grobmyer was faced with the extremely intricate and important task 
of moving units and equipment of the Northwest African Air Forces to the for- 
ward area to meet the exigencies of battle, using inadequate and over-taxed trans- 
portation facilities. He received the Award of Legion of Merit for the diligence 
with which he pursued his task, his attention to innumerable details, his tact in 
dealing with other commands, his faithful representations to higher headquarters, 
and the appreciation of the importance of the responsibilities placed upon him, 
which made it possible for the Northwest African Air Forces to follow its tactical 
plans at all times. Lieutenant Grobmyer was commended for the manner in which 
he performed his duties, which "reflected great credit upon himself and the military 
service." Lieutenant Grobmyer was commissioned a Captain on October 2, 1943, 
and was later stationed in Naples, Italy. He was promoted to rank of Major 
July 5, 1944. 

The younger son of Stanley and Hester (Bruce) Grobmyer, Robert Allen Grob- 
myer, was born in Carrollton in 1922. He attended the parochial schools of Car- 
rollton and was graduated from the Carrollton High School. Robert Grobmyer 

—Vol. IV 



1798 A SESQUI-CENTENN1AL 

entered St. Xavier's University at Cincinnati, Ohio, but while a student there he 
volunteered with the coast guard, and was sent to the west coast, to a Washington 
location. 

Stanley A. Grobmyer was a charter member of the Carrollton Rotary Club, of 
which he is a past president. He has the remarkable record of not having missed 
a meeting of this organization for nineteen years. Mr. Grobmyer also belongs to 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and is a member of the Knights of 
Columbus, Fourth Degree. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Grobmyer are doing their utmost to help win the 
war on the home front while their boys are serving in the armed forces. Mrs. 
Grobmyer is Production Chairman of the Red Cross, and a great deal of her time 
is devoted to Red Cross work. Mr. Grobmyer serves as a member of the Board in 
Carroll County, which is in charge of all War Fund Campaigns and War Bond 
Sales. 



R, 



SENATOR PERRY B. GAINES 



jverview Farms, located four miles east of Carrollton, Kentucky, 
on U. S. Highway No. 42, in the Ohio River valley is one of the well known 
Jersey cattle and Southdown sheep breeding establishments in the nation. It is 
also one of the larger Burley tobacco producing estates in Kentucky. The breeding 
of registered Jerseys was begun at "Riverview" in a modest way about 1905, but 
through acquisition of great foundation animals from the best herds in America and 
from the Island of Jersey and through judicious mating, handling and testing it has 
been developed into one of the largest herds in Kentucky, and one of the high 
producing herds in the United States. Breeding animals from it have been sold 
into most states of the Union and twice national records for production have been 
broken by it. Milk produced at "Riverview" is sold as Jersey Creamline Grade A 
milk at retail in Frankfort, Kentucky, being processed and bottled at the farm and 
transported daily to Frankfort, where a cold storage plant and trucks are main- 
tained to care for and distribute it by an efficient organization with offices in the 
Hume Building in the heart of the city. 

Because of the large increase in number of cattle in the Jersey herd and corres- 
ponding expansion of the dairy operations the Southdown flock which had been 
maintained at Riverview Farms for almost a half century was dispersed in the 
early forties. During the years Southdowns were being bred there the owner pur- 
chased and added to the flock many of the best animals in England, Canada and 
the United States. He purchased from John Jackson and Son, of Canada, his 
entire flock which had won the highest award at the Chicago Worlds Fair. He 
purchased from George McKerrow & Sons, Pewaukee, Wisconsin, their entire 
flock, which had won premier honors at the St. Louis Worlds Fair, from Wm. 
Cooper Nephews their entire imported flock, which had been selected without re- 
gard for price from the tops of the best in England. There was also made direct 
importations to "Riverview" from the King's and other great flocks of England. 
The motto "Buy With Confidence — Own With Pride" has long been featured by 
Riverview Farms where constant and fruitful efforts have been made to give it 
appropriate and significant meaning. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1799 

Perry B. Gaines, owner and operator of Riverview Farms was born January 26, 
1873, on the estate, the son of Benjamin Logan Gaines and Eugenia Brady Gaines, 
both of who were born and reared in Boone County, Kentucky. He was educated 
in Carroll County public schools and at Georgetown College. He was married 
in 1893 to Alice C. Smith of Georgetown, Kentucky. Their only son, Robert 
Logan Gaines, long employed by the Maytag Company later became identified 
with the the Aiken Murray Corporation of New York in its engineering and serv- 
ice department. He and his wife the former Mary Honaker of Henry County, 
Kentucky, live in Lakeside Village, Ft. Mitchell, Kentucky. Their only daughter, 
Martha Logan Gaines volunteered for service with the WACS and their only son, 
Perry J. Gaines, volunteered for service with the Coast Guard and was long sta- 
tioned in Greenland. 

Perry B. Gaines was elected to the state senate in 1927, and served two four- 
year terms. At this writing he is serving his thirty-ninth year as Master Com- 
missioner of the Carroll Circuit Court, served a number of years as a director of 
the Burley Tobacco Growers Cooperative Association, was for years a director of 
the Kentucky State Fair, a director of the First National Bank of Carrollton, 
Kentucky, a director of the American Southdown Breeders Association and director 
of the American Jersey Cattle Club. He also served three years as president of 
the American Jersey Cattle Club, New York City, and as a director and chairman 
of the board of directors of the Louisville Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank 
of St. Louis. He served as a director of the National Dairy Show Association, 
for some time was a member of the Agricultural Committee of the U. S. Chamber 
of Commerce and at various times held other positions of honor and trust. 



HON. ELDON S. DUMMIT 

X_/Ldon S. Dummit has a broad background of experience and 
service which together with his own forceful personality convinced the voters of 
Kentucky that he should be the choice as Attorney General of Kentucky, and to 
that high office he was duly elected and serves at this time. His experience em- 
braced farming, teaching school, practicing law and teaching law, and the list of 
organizations and movements he has aided stamped him already as a public- 
spirited citizen and civic leader. It is particularly noteworthy that Mr. Dummit 
was elected on his first political venture, and the office he holds as Attorney Gen- 
eral of the State of Kentucky is one that is regarded as of prime importance by 
every voter. 

Eldon S. Dummit was born on a farm in Southwest Missouri, on August 6, 
1896. His father, F. R. Dummit, was born in Monett, Missouri, in 1861 and 
died in 1941. His mother, Ludema (Marbut) Dummit, was also born in Monett, 
Missouri, in 1861 and died in 1939. The parents are both buried in the little 
town in which they were born and reared, Monett, Missouri. 

After attending rural school Eldon S. Dummit was graduated from Monett 
High School. He taught school for two years at Union College in Missouri. 
When the United States entered World War I Eldon Dummit served in the 
infantry of the armed forces at Camp Funston and Camp Grant. After the war 



1800 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

was over he decided to complete his education, and by now had decided to aim at 
a legal career. He attended Drury College and then enrolled at the University 
of Kentucky, graduating from the latter in 1920. During his high school and 
university years Eldon Dummit worked part time to finance his tuition and ex- 
penses. Before entering the practice of law in Lexington, Kentucky, in 1921, he 
taught law for some time at Lincoln Memorial University. Mr. Dummit belongs 
to the Fayette County, State and National Bar Associations, and before election 
as attorney general he could point to a record of twenty-two years of law practice 
in state and federal courts. 

At the time of his election, Mr. Dummit was chairman of the Lexington Council 
of Boy Scouts of America; he was president of the Travelers' Aid and a member 
of the Lexington Board of Commerce. He was also a member of the following 
Boards of Directors: Family Welfare Society, U. S. O. Council, Stop-over Station, 
Mental Hygiene Association and Lexington Civilian Defense Council. He has 
spoken in most Eastern and Central Kentucky counties during war loan drives. 
Eldon S. Dummit served as Department Commander of the American Legion in 
1931; as president of Optimist International in 1942; is past president of Pyramid 
Club; also past president of the Central District of Odd Fellows and Past Worthy 
Grand Patron of the Order of the Eastern Star. He served as campaign chairman 
of Lexington's first Community War Chest. 

Eldon S. Dummit married Christine Shouse of Shelby County, Kentucky. They 
have three children. Rose Mary Dummit was born in 1928 in Lexington, Kentucky. 
She is attending school at Fairfax Hall in Virginia. Garland Dummit was born 
in 1929 in Lexington, Kentucky. The youngest son, Stephen Eldon Dummit, was 
born in 1934 in Lexington, Kentucky. 

The family worships at the Central Christian Church, in which church Mr. 
Dummit is an elder. 



INTERESTING HISTORY CONNECTED WITH CUMMINS- 
COLLINS DISTILLERIES 



Distilling History Made by the Site 



W E 



e can go back to the early days of American History to pick up 
the people and events that today reach their culmination in Cummins-Collins Dis- 
tilleries at Athertonville, Kentucky. 

In 1771, Peter Atherton was born in Fauquier County, Virginia, and was there- 
fore a British subject for the first five years of his life. In 1791 he came to 
Kentucky, carrying with him land grants from the Virginia authorities (Kentucky 
being at that time a part of Virginia) , and swam the Ohio River at Louisville, 
pushing all of his earthly possessions before him in a sugar trough. 

He took up the land described in his grants, something like a thousand acres, 
along the banks of the Rolling Fork River and Knob Creek, about fifty miles 
South of Louisville, Kentucky. Knob Creek is a mountain stream formed by the 
flow of many limestone springs in the lesser Cumberland Mountains, running about 
six miles through the valley and joining the Rolling Fork River, which at that 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1801 

point is the boundary line between Nelson and LaRue Counties. For a year, 
as the family was moving from Kentucky to Illinois, Abraham Lincoln, who was 
born about ten miles from the headwaters of Knob Creek, lived on the west bank 
of this stream. 

Knob Creek established its experience in making fine Kentucky Whiskey during 
the early years of the Nineteenth Century. From 1800 to 1830, Peter Atherton 
built and operated a log distillery on the west bank of Knob Creek, a short dis- 
tance from where it flows into Rolling Fork River. Peter Atherton lived on this site 
until his death in 1844. John M. Atherton was born in 1841, and became in time 
the owner of the larger part of the land conveyed in the original grant. 

In 1867, he built on the bank of Knob Creek, about a mile south of its junction 
with Rolling Fork River, a distillery known as the Atherton Distillery, and which 
in the beginning mashed one hundred bushels (about 7 barrels of whiskey) a day, 
making what was then known as a sweet mash whiskey. About five miles from the 
site of the Athertonville Distillery, a man by the name of Thompson had built 
and operated a small distillery, making sour mash whiskey. In 1869, Mr. Atherton 
purchased a one-half interest in this distillery, and the next year he bought out 
Thompson's interest and moved the distillery to the east bank of Knob Creek, 
just opposite the Athertonville Distillery. A cousin of Mr. Atherton, Alexander 
Mayfield, was assisting him in his distillery work, and this distillery, named for 
him, operated in the name of A. Mayfield & Co., and made what came to be the 
well-known sour mash brand of "Mayfield Whiskey." 

Chemical analysis indicated, and this was later verified by fifty years of com- 
mercial success, that the water of Knob Creek was about as nearly perfect as could 
be found for the manufacture of fine beverage whiskey, and all of the conditions 
for the making and warehousing of fine whiskey seemed to be well met by the 
surroundings of what came to be known as the village of Athertonville. 

As the popularity of the Atherton and Mayfield whiskey increased, the plants 
were enlarged and three miles of private tracks were built to the railroad at New 
Haven, Ky., in order to facilitate the handling of all the raw materials, grain, 
coal, staves etc., being brought to the various distillery and warehouse buildings 
and to speed the shipment of the finished product to their nation-wide market. 

Between 1880 and June 30, 1882, the J. M. Atherton Company built two other 
distilleries known as the "Windsor" and the "Clifton," and increased its number 
of brands from the original "Atherton" and "Mayfield" to eight or ten in number. 
At the close of the distilling year of 1881, the Company had on its books orders 
for fifty-five thousand barrels of its various brands, and had actually made and 
delivered between the first of July, 1881 and the 30th of June, 1882, more than 
forty-seven thousand barrels. 

Thus the quality of the product caused the site, the enterprise and the brands 
to take on national scope, becoming the largest single plant in the country for the 
manufacture, warehousing and distribution of fine beverage whiskey for which 
Kentucky became so famous. 

All four of the distilleries, all of the warehouses, etc., were sold by the J. M. 
Atherton Company in February, 1899 to the Kentucky Distilleries and Warehouse 



1802 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Company, and also all of the brands which had been made by J. M. Atherton & 
Company in all of its four distilleries. 

This company operated the Atherton, Mayfleld and Windsor plants until the 
advent of prohibition. These properties had a total production capacity of about 
350 barrels of whiskey per eight-hour day and warehouses with a capacity of 
approximately 200,000 barrels. After the Eighteenth Amendment was enacted, the 
whiskey then in the warehouses (some 150,000 barrels) was removed to concen- 
tration warehouses in Louisville, the property sold and all machinery and equipment 
were dismantled. 

Distilling History Made by the Cummins Family 

Richard Cummins was born in Carlow County, Ireland, May 8, 1830. When 
fourteen years of age he was apprenticed as a yeast maker, which was a profession 
in those days in Ireland. After four years of apprenticeship, he in 1848 came 
to America, and worked in a distillery in New Jersey until 1852, at which time he 
and the late Henry McKenna of Fairfield, Nelson County, Kentucky, moved to 
Illinois and started a distillery and operated same for two years. In 1858, they 
returned to Kentucky — Henry McKenna located at Fairfield, Nelson County, and 
Richard Cummins located at Raywick, Marion County, Kentucky. He was there 
associated in the distillery business with Dr. Taylor Mitchell in what was then 
known as Messengers Mill. He originated the brand of "Cummins Sour-Mash" 
whiskey, which later obtained a wide reputation. They operated this plant until 
after the Civil War. Mr. Cummins then obtained a location seven miles south of 
New Haven in Nelson County, Kentucky. He organized and built a distillery 
there under the name of Coon Hollow Distilling Company and originated the brand 
"Old Coon Hollow," and named the Station Coon Hollow. The Coon Hollow 
Distillery was started at a 100-bushel capacity and thus was the first plant to mash 
with machinery. The capacity of this distillery was increased from time to time 
to 1,000 bushel capacity. He operated this plant until 1881, when he sold out 
to the Kentucky Distilleries & Warehouse Company. 

From 1882 to 1885 he was associated with Mattingly & Moore Distillery Com- 
pany at Bardstown as a third partner and was connected there for three years, 
when he sold his interest and bought the Ballard & Lancaster Distillery at Loretto, 
Kentucky, changing the name to R. Cummins & Company, and operated there 
until his death in 1903. The R. Cummins Company plant continued in operation 
until prohibition by his son, J. P. Cummins, and Indianapolis interests. 

Arthur Cummins, a nephew of Richard Cummins, was born in Jeffersonville, 
Indiana, in the year 1860. After finishing public school and at the age of fourteen, 
he immediately started work for Richard Cummins, his uncle, at the Coon Hollow 
Distillery, and acquired the knowledge of yeast making and distilling from Richard 
Cummins and continued under his tutorship until 1889. He was distiller for 
two years for Sam McLancaster Distillery at Bardstown, Kentucky, and operated 
this distillery during 1890 and 1891. In 1892 he took charge of the Crystal Springs 
Distillery Company in Louisville, owned by Christian Stege, as distiller and 
General Manager and remained in this capacity until 1897. In the year 1898, he 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1803 

acquired the Willow Springs Distillery, Nelson County, Kentucky, increased its 
capacity and continued as sole owner and distiller of this plant until 1920. 

Arthur J. Cummins was born in Louisville, Kentucky, in the year 1895. After 
finishing high school and at the age of eighteen in the year 1913, he became 
actively engaged in the distillery business with his father, Arthur Cummins. It 
was not at that time generally believed that prohibition would be enacted into 
law and it was his intention of making the distillery business his life business. He, 
therefore, undertook to learn the business from every angle and spent considerable 
time in every phase of the operation of making whiskey, including grinding of 
the grain, mashing, operating still and making yeast. After serving this appren- 
ticeship, he took up the other end of the business; warehousing, bottling and 
selling, and at the time of prohibition, he and his brother were completely in 
charge of operation of the Willow Springs Distillery, as his father had retired. 
In 1920 their plant was disposed of and the family moved to Louisville, Kentucky. 

The Present Management and Its Experience 

Being so closely associated with the whiskey business all his life, and not wanting 
to retire, it was not long before Arthur J. Cummins was again resuming his ac- 
tivities. He formed a partnership in 1943 with the late George C. Collins, Jr., 
and acquired the plant and equipment from the Cincinnati interests. This com- 
pany was operated as a partnership until May, 1945 and then incorporated, with 
the late George C. Collins, Jr., as President and Treasurer and Arthur J. Cummins 
as Vice-President and Secretary. On September 1, 1945 — three months after the 
death of George C. Collins — the Board of Directors elected the following officers: 
Arthur J. Cummins, President and Treasurer; Ray L. Pfeiffer, Vice-President in 
charge of Sales and Advertising; T. Holman Bryant, Vice-President in charge of 
Production; J. Roy Daunhauer, Secretary and C. A. Boone, III, Assistant Secre- 
tary. 

This new executive staff is composed of all young men with at least 10 years 
experience in the whiskey business. 

John Nevitt is, as formerly, the master distiller. Having learned the art of 
making good whiskey from Arthur Cummins, Sr., and with the best of modern 
equipment, he is producing a type of whiskey superior even to that for which the 
Athertonville site had an international reputation. 

P. D. Johnson is a practical engineer. He is in complete charge of the mainte- 
nance and operation, mechanical, electrical and plumbing systems that play such 
an important part, not only in the efficient operation of the plant, but through 
proper cleanliness and accurate temperature control in cooking, fermenting, dis- 
tilling and cooling, which have a marked effect on the fineness of the product. 

Emmet Howell is the foreman in charge of all warehouses. Prior to prohibition 
he worked for his father, Halligan Howell, who was superintendent of the ware- 
houses at Athertonville, then owned by Kentucky Distilleries & Warehouse Com- 
pany. During Prohibition he and his father were brought to Louisville and con- 
tinued as warehouse men at a Government concentration warehouse. His experi- 



1804 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

ence in supervising inspection of cooperage and controlling the temperatures and 
humidity in these warehouses assures an aging process that develops a distinctive 
mellowness in the carefully made whiskey of this distillery. 

The Modern Plant and Its Equipment 

The new and modern Cummins-Collins Distillery is not in any sense a rehabili- 
tation of an old plant and old equipment quickly patched together in any sort of 
shape to get it going. It is new and modern throughout. Even the buildings have 
been completely redesigned and rebuilt. 

In addition to the men who constitute the management, the experience of some 
of the best brains in the specialized branches of distillery, design and construction 
also went into the Cummins-Collins plant. Walter C. Wagner, famous as a dis- 
tillery architect, designed the building. Matt Corcoran & Company, Kentucky's 
oldest coppersmiths, designed and built the stills. The Henry Vogt Machine 
Company built and installed the special boilers and stokers. H. G. Whittenberg, 
with the valuable experience of having built many distilleries, was the general 
contractor supervising the job. W. E. Caldwell Company, the oldest firm of dis- 
tillery equipment builders and specializing in tanks and milling equipment, installed 
the mash tanks, huge fermenting tubs and specially designed mill equipment for 
grinding the grains. 

The mill equipment is an example of how all the machinery has been designed 
to control every process and produce an even quality product. Instead of crushing 
the grains in the usual way, this special mill equipment cuts the grain into fine 
particles and separates the finished meal from the acid-forming husk and the 
corn flour, which is so detrimental to a proper fermentation and the flavor of the 
whiskey. 

The copper still, doubler and whiskey tanks are designed to run a continuous or 
a complete double distillation. 

Cummins-Collins Distilleries now has a capacity of 220 barrels of whiskey per 
day. It has a cooling system which enables it to make good whiskey all during the 
summer months. It is equipped to make either heavy bodied sour mash bourbon 
or quick maturing sweet mash. The warehouses now standing will have a total 
capacity of 85,000 barrels . . . three of brick and one is of metal clad frame con- 
struction. 

The latest addition to the Cummins-Collins distilleries is the erection of a 
$300,000 dry feed recovery building. The building is of brick construction of the 
most modern type, with all tiled walls and glass brick windows. The maximum 
capacity of the triple effect evaporator, which completely dries the wet stillage, is 
approximately 30,000 pounds per day. This building, together widi the recent con- 
struction of a lake and various improvements to the fermenting room, yeast room 
and dona room makes Cummins-Collins Distilleries one of the most modern in 
the State of Kentucky. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1805 



X 



GEORGE NICHOLAS BASCOM 



.he trotting horses which George Nicholas Bascom raised on 
his farm in Bath County, Kentucky, were well-known over a wide area for a good 
many years. Mr. Bascom's father raised horses on the same farm for more than 
thirty years. No better horses are bred anywhere in the world than are bred in 
the Kentucky Blue Grass region, and the Bascom horses were truly representative 
of the fine Kentucky stock which is so much admired by all lovers of horses. 

The Bascom family has been long established in Kentucky. The first Bascom 
in the state was Sylvanus Clark Bascom, who settled originally at Washington in 
Mason County. He married the daughter of Colonel Thomas Dye Owings, who 
ran an iron smelter, the first large furnace of the kind this side of the mountains. 
An interesting item in the history of this smelting business is that it was here that 
the cannon balls used in the Battle of New Orleans were made. The father of 
George Nicholas Bascom was John Richards Bascom, who was born in Owingsville, 
Kentucky in 1844. J. R. Bascom was a farmer, and a pioneer breeder of trotting 
horses at Berry Hill Stock Farm in Bath County. At this same time, while re- 
siding in Louisville, he bought tobacco in Shelbyville before the auction sales were 
inaugurated. The mother of George Bascom was Elizabeth (Berry) Bascom, who 
was born in Bath County, Kentucky in 1849. There were six children in the family, 
four sons and two daughters. John Richards Bascom died in 1918, and Elizabeth 
(Berry) Bascom died seven years later. 

George Nicholas Bascom was born on his father's farm in Bath County, Ken- 
tucky, on July 26, 1869. He attended the public schools of Mt. Sterling, Ken- 
tucky, and was graduated from the Louisville High School. There was never any 
question in his mind as to the occupation which he expected to follow; as soon as 
his school days were over, George Bascom was ready to devote all of his time to 
the raising of pure-bred trotting horses. That was the tradition to which he was 
born and bred, and horses have always played a large part in his life. He became 
a full partner with his father in Berry Hill Stock Farm. When he retired from 
the breeding of trotting horses, he engaged in general farming on the same farm. 

George Nicholas Bascom married Elizabeth Peed, who was born at Mays Lick, 
Kentucky. To them were born two daughters and a son. Mary Colgate Bascom, 
who was born in Bath County, Kentucky, is now the wife of J. Walter Shrout, 
who is the County Judge of Bath County. They are the parents of four children, 
Walter Bascom, Nelson, James Nicholas, and Mary Colgate. The second daugh- 
ter, Jessie Bascom, also born in Bath County, married N. H. Stone, and they have 
two sons, N. H. Stone, Jr., and George Bascom Stone. George Nicholas Bascom, 
Jr., was born in Sharpsburg, Kentucky. In the present war emergency he is serv- 
ing in the United States Navy. The second marriage of George Nicholas Bascom 
was to Alma Rice, of Madison County, Kentucky; no children were born of this 
marriage. 

George Nicholas Bascom still resides on and operates the farm in Bath County 
which he inherited from his parents. 



1806 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

WILLIAM JULIUS MOORE, A.B, A.M., Ph.D. 



T„ 



he Dean of the Eastern Kentucky State Teachers College 
is William Julius Moore. It would be impossible to find a man better fitted for 
this important post than Dr. Moore. His education has been thorough and un- 
usually comprehensive, including work at Eastern Kentucky State Teachers Col- 
lege and the University of Kentucky; the range of subjects which have absorbed 
a major part of his attention include liberal arts, educational administration, eco- 
nomics, business administration and law. The degrees which he has earned are 
A.B., A.M., and Ph.D. He has been a teacher in the public schools of Kentucky, 
superintendent of independent schools, college registrar, and professor of Eco- 
nomics and Head of the Department of Commerce at Eastern Kentucky State 
Teachers College. He has served as an adviser to the Attorney General of Ken- 
tucky and was a member of the General Assembly of Kentucky; he has contributed 
greatly to the work of various educational and scientific groups to which he be- 
longs, and his high personal integrity and unquestionable honor give to the state 
the combination of educational preparation, professional experience and upright 
character in the man who was selected for the position of dean of the Eastern 
Kentucky State Teachers College. Dr. Moore served for a period of time as Di- 
rector of Finance in the Department of Education of the Kentucky State Govern- 
ment. In June, 1944, he was appointed by Governor Simeon S. Willis to the office 
of Commissioner of Revenue and Chairman of the State Tax Commission of the 
State of Kentucky. He was given leave of absence from his college to serve in 
these two capacities. In December, 1944, he was elected Dean of the Eastern 
Kentucky States Teachers College and assumed his duties there in the spring 
of 1945. 

William Julius Moore is one of the thirteen children of Henry Wesley and 
Mary Brandenburg Moore. Both his father and his mother were born in Owsley 
County, Kentucky; Henry Wesley Moore was born on June 7, 1870 and Mary 
(Brandenburg) Moore was born on March 25, 1874. There were seven sons and 
six daughters in this family, all of whom are living. William J. Moore was born 
on October 25, 1894. 

Eastern Kentucky State Teachers College, at Richmond, Kentucky, was the first 
institution of higher education attended by William J. Moore. He received his 
diploma, covering two years of academic work, from this college, then went on to 
the University of Kentucky, where he received the degrees of A.B., A.M. and 
Ph.D.; two more years were spent in the Law College of the University of Ken- 
tucky. For a number of years he was a teacher in the public schools of Kentucky, 
then became superintendent of schools at Midway, Kentucky, a position which he 
held for two and one-half years. For one year he was acting registrar at Eastern 
Kentucky State Teachers College, from which he had been graduated a few years 
previously, then for fourteen years was professor of Economics and head of the 
Department of Commerce at the same college. When he accepted the position of 
Director of Finance of the State Department of Education, he was given leave of 




WILLIAM JULIUS MOORE, A.B., A.M., Ph.D. 



1808 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

absence by the college; they were unwilling to definitely sever relations with a 
member of their staff who had proven so valuable to the life of the school. 

Dr. Moore has taken an active part in the work of various organization designed 
to further scientific and educational projects. He was appointed by the President of 
the United States in 1931 as a member of Perry's Victory and International Peace 
Memorial National Monument Association, on which committee he has served 
since that time; since 1938 he has been treasurer of the Kentucky Academy of 
Science, and is a former president of the Kentucky Academy of Social Science. 
He was chairman of the Plans and Program Committee in institutional participa- 
tion in study sponsored by the Commission on Teacher Education, a member of 
the National Education Association Tax Committee, and was a member of the 
General Assembly of Kentucky for one term. He was also an adviser to the 
Attorney General of Kentucky in a case involving freight rates. 

The list of professional, learned and fraternal organizations to which Dr. Moore 
belongs is evidence of his diverse interests. He is a member of the Department 
of Business Education of the National Education Association; Kentucky Education 
Association; Central Kentucky Education Association; Kentucky Academy of Sci- 
ence, Kentucky Academy of Social Science; American Economic Association; 
Southern Economic Association; American Political Science Association; Southern 
Business Education Association; National Tax Association; National Municipal 
League; American Society for Public Administration; Madison County Historical 
Society; Court of Honor of Boy Scouts of America, of which he was secretary 
for ten years; National Business Education Association; Lions Club; Masonic 
Order; Chamber of Commerce; Kentucky Business Education Association; Nat- 
ional Association for the Advancement of Colored People. His college fraternities 
are Phi Delta Phi (honorary international legal) ; Pi Omega Pi (honorary com- 
merce) ; Phi Delta Kappa (honorary educational) ; Kappa Delta Pi (honorary- 
educational) ; and Square and Compass. 

William Julius Moore married Nazza Kilburn, who was born on May 26, 1898, 
the daughter of the late Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Kilburn. Her father was born in 
Breathitt County, Kentucky, on October 17, 1872, and her mother was born in 
Trimble County, Kentucky, on November 25, 1870, the daughter of Captain and 
Mrs. Hogan. Mr. and Mrs. Kilburn were the parents of ten children, two of 
whom died in infancy. William Julius Moore and Nazza (Kilburn) Moore are 
the parents of two children. William G. Moore, was born in Grant County, Ken- 
tucky, on February 18, 1918. His elementary and high school training was re- 
ceived in the public schools of Lexington and Midway, Kentucky, and the Model 
High School of the Eastern Kentucky State Teachers College at Richmond, Ken- 
tucky. His college work was received at the Eastern Kentucky State Teachers 
College and the University of Kentucky. From the last named institution he re- 
ceived the degree of Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration in 1940. He is 
now Lieutenant (J.G.) William G. Moore of the United States Navy Reserves. 
A daughter, Mary Elizabeth Moore, was born in Madison County, Kentucky on 
February 8, 1928. She is a graduate of Model High School, Richmond, Kentucky. 

Dr. Moore adds high moral qualities to his exceptional mental abilities. His 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1809 

church affiliation is with the Christian Church (Disciples) of which he is an Or- 
dained Elder. He has served his church as deacon and as teacher of the Sunday 
School. 

Dr. and Mrs. William J. Moore make their home at 372 High Street, Rich- 
mond, Kentucky. 



H 



HART WALLACE 



.art Wallace of Shelbyville is a descendant of some of the 
oldest and most prominent families in Kentucky. Many of his ancestors came to 
Kentucky during its colonial days and throughout the years have contributed to 
the welfare of the state by their achievements in the fields of agriculture and fi- 
nance. Hart Wallace is continuing the traditions that his ancestors have founded 
in Kentucky and is recognized as one of the most astute and successful bankers 
in the state. 

Mr. Wallace was born in Crittenden County, Kentucky on November 22, 1870. 
His father, Tom Wallace was also born in Crittenden County. He served as a 
Lieutenant in the Confederate army and returned to his land after the cessation 
of hostilities. He became a breeder of race horses and passed away in 1899 at 
the age of fifty-seven years. Tom Wallace was the son of Arthur H. Wallace of 
Virginia and Letitia Preston Hart of Versailles, Kentucky. Tom Wallace, the 
great-great-grandfather of Hart Wallace, and his twin brother James were officers 
in the Revolutionary War. After the war was over they received their pay in 
grants of Kentucky land. Letitia Preston Hart was the niece of General William 
Preston. The Hart family is also one of Kentucky's oldest. Mr. Wallace's mother 
was Mary Stuart Dade. She was the daughter of Lucien Dade and Virginia 
Bankhead of Prince William County, Virginia. They moved to Christian County, 
Kentucky, where they reared their family. Mrs. Wallace died on December 29, 
1894, at the age of fifty-two. 

The children in the family of Tom and Mary S. (Dade) Wallace were as fol- 
lows: Elizabeth Randolph, who married Clarence D. Boyd, and now resides in 
Louisville, Kentucky; Hart, the immediate subject of this review; Tom, who is 
editor of the Louisville Times in Louisville, Kentucky; Mary Dade, who became 
the wife of Robert Wickliff, a member of Congress from the state of Louisiana, 
and who is now deceased; and Rosalie Ashton, who married W. Henry Maddox of 
Shelby County, Kentucky, both of whom are now deceased. 

Hart Wallace received his education in a private school for boys in Shelbyville 
and in the public high school there. At the age of seventen he became a salesman 
for the Louisville Lithographing Company, and later was employed in railroad 
work in Virginia and the Carolinas. He returned to Louisville and for a short 
period was associated with the Louisville Public Warehouse Company. On Jan- 
uary 1, 1895 he entered the insurance business in Shelbyville, and this connection 
has been continuous since that time, although his activities have not been confined 
to the insurance field. He became one of the organizers of the Deposit Bank of 
Shelbyville in 1929, and is presently serving as its president. He was also one of 
the incorporators of the Shelby County Building and Loan Association and served 
that corporation as its secretary and treasurer. 



1810 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Mr. Wallace is an extensive owner of farm land in Shelby County, much of 
which receives his direct supervision and management. He breeds and raises 
registered Jersey cattle and thoroughbred horses. His farming operations began 
soon after he opened his insurance business in Shelby ville, in 1899. 

Mr. Wallace was married May 29, 1894 to Miss Nelly T. Burnett. She is 
the daughter of James C. Burnett, who was one of the organizers and the Cashier 
of the Citizens Bank of Shelbyville, and his wife Betty (Caldwell) Burnett, both 
of whom are deceased. Mrs. Wallace's brother, H. P. Burnett, is a Captain in 
the United States Navy. She is a first cousin to Mrs. Alice Caldwell Hegan Rice 
of Louisville, who became famous as the author of "Mrs. Wiggs of the Cabbage 
Patch." 

Mr. and Mrs. Wallace are the parents of two sons. Burnett Wallace became 
one of the organizers and was the first president of the Deposit Bank of Shelbyville. 
He was the secretary and treasurer of the Shelby County Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation until his untimely death on the 28th of June, 1935. His wife was the 
former Sunbeam Mason of Louisville, and they became the parents of four daugh- 
ters: Mary Mason Wallace became the wife of John Laurent, and is now living 
in Versailles with her two children, Evelyn Todd and John Wallace Laurent; 
Nelly Wallace married Jesse Floyd of Shelbyville; Lillie Blackburn Wallace is 
the wife of Charles Bright Moody of Eminence, Kentucky; and Elise Hempsted 
Wallace, who is attending high school at Shelbyville. Hart Wallace, Jr., was born 
July 1, 1897 and died January 22, 1919. 

Mr. Wallace has lived his life and reared his children in Shelbyville. He has 
been a part and parcel of Shelby County for a half century, and his life there has 
been one one that has earned the commendation of his friends and neighbors. He 
has been successful in business and has profited in the same proportion that he has 
given to his community. Keenly alive to the opportunities offered by his home 
county he has helped himself by helping others. 



H. CLAY SMITH 



H 



Clay Smith is a member of a family which came to Kentucky 
from Virginia. He is himself a native of Harrison County, and has made for 
himself an enviable position in the affairs of Cynthiana. He is a leading mortician 
in that community. He was one of the active promoters of the Harrison Hotel 
and has served as a director and president of the Cynthiana Hotel Company, its 
owners. The hotel was opened in 1925 and since 1932 Mr. Smith has been its 
manager. He is president and manager of the Smith-Rees Company, one of the 
outstanding organizations in the funeral service industry in Kentucky. He is 
a charter member and past president of the Cynthiana Business Men's Club of 
Cynthiana, is a charter member and past president of the Cynthiana Rotary Club. 
He served as a member of the Cynthiana Board of Education for seventeen years 
and was its chairman for the past four years. He is a past president of the 
Funeral Directors Association of Kentucky and an active member of the National 
Selected Morticians, an international organization of funeral directors. He is a past 




H. CLAY SMITH 



1812 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Noble Grand of Cynthiana Lodge No. 113 Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and a past Chancellor of Quinby Lodge No. 58, Knights of Pythias. He has 
been a member of the Board of Stewards of the First Methodist Church of Cyn- 
thiana for twenty-five years and is a former director of the Milford Deposit Bank 
of Milford, Kentucky. 

The father of H. Clay Smith was John William Smith, who was born in 
Harrison County, Kentucky, on December 23, 1850, and his grandparents came 
to Harrison County from Culpeper County, Virginia. His long life was spent 
on the farm. He died on July 30, 1940, at the advanced age of ninety years. 
His wife, the mother of H. Clay Smith, was born Eliza Frances Eads in 1858. 
She was also a native of Harrison County, Kentucky, where her parents had been 
early settlers and farmers. She lived until 1927, and was the mother of three 
children of whom H. Clay Smith was one. 

H. Clay Smith attended the Harrison County Schools and graduated from the 
Lexington Business College in 1899. He attended the Cincinnati College of 
Embalming and graduated there in 1911. After his graduation in Lexington, he 
entered the life insurance business in Memphis, Tennessee, and later became asso- 
ciated with R. G. Craig & Company, hardware and seed dealers, as a traveling 
salesman in the Carolinas and Virginias. In 1904 he became District Manager 
for the Equitable Life Insurance Company with headquarters in Cynthiana, Ken- 
tucky, beginning in 1905. In 1908 he became a partner in the firm of Frisbie 
and Smith. This firm continued until 1912 when Mr. Smith bought out Mr. 
Frisbie's interest and took Mr. David R. Rees as a partner, since which time the 
firm name has been changed to the Smith-Rees Company. The Smith-Rees Com- 
pany was one of the first in Kentucky to erect a modern mortuary, completely 
equipped with the most modern facilities. It is steam heated and air conditioned. 

In politics his affiliation is with the Democratic Party. Mr. Smith had two 
sisters, Mrs. Nanie Field, of Georgetown, Kentucky, a trained nurse for twenty-five 
years, who died January 29, 1942; and Mrs. Belle Fields of Cynthiana, Kentucky, 
who has two daughters, Miss Christine Fields and Mrs. Charles Meyers, both of 
Cynthiana. 

On September 5, 1905, Mr. Smith married Eleanor Gossett, daughter of John 
and Alice Conrad Gossett, a prominent farmer of Harrison County, and they have 
made their home in Cynthiana since that time. 



A, 



ADOLPHUS ALLEN 



.dolphus Allen is the owner of the Campbellsville Milling Com- 
pany. Two of their well-known products are the Sunrise and Fancy Patton brands 
of flour. Although born and brought up on a farm, Mr. Allen's first choice of 
occupation was teaching school. This he followed for a period of fourteen years. 
At the end of that time he gave up teaching and decided to take up farming. 
For ten years Mr. Allen followed the life of a practical farmer, but what ho really 
did desire was a business where his farm background would be an asset. The 
opportunity he had been hoping for came in 1932 when he purchased the Camp- 




ADOLPHUS ALLEN 



1814 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

bellsville Milling Company. Mr. Allen put new life into this concern and built 
it into a very successful business. The products of the Campbellsville Mill are 
widely distributed, and are noted for fine quality. Mr. Allen is a well-liked and 
sincerely respected member of the community in which he lives and has his business. 

Adolphus Allen was born in Green County, Kentucky, on November 7, 1880. 
His father, Joel P. Allen, was born in Barren County, Kentucky, in 1838, and died 
on December 26, 1932. He was a farmer, and lived in Green County, Kentucky. 
The mother of Adolphus Allen was Mary Elizabeth (Bridgewater) Allen. She 
was born in Taylor County, Kentucky, and died on February 15, 1915. 

After attending school in Green, Taylor and Adair Counties, Adolphus Allen 
graduated from Taylor County High School. He then turned to teaching, and 
for fourteen years taught school in Green and Taylor Counties. Mr. Allen was 
born and brought up on the farm, and he was glad at last to turn aside from 
teaching and go back to farming. He followed that occupation for ten years, and 
proved to be a very successful farmer. Mr. Allen was never hesitant about making 
any change that he believed would work out to his advantage, and he kept a lookout 
for any business opportunity that might be attractive. In 1932 Mr. Allen bought 
the Campbellsville Milling Company, producers of Sunrise and Fancy Patton 
brand of flour. This business is thriving steadily under his ownership and man- 
agement. 

In 1908, Adolphus Allen married Sarah Elizabeth Kerr of Taylor County, 
Kentucky. They have five daughters and two sons. The oldest daughter, Virginia, 
was born in Green County, Kentucky. She married Harry Heath of Mayfield, 
Kentucky. They have one child, Harold Heath, who was born in Campbellsville, 
Kentucky. The second daughter, Eva, was born in Green County, Kentucky. She 
married Isaac Rees of Cynthiana, Kentucky, and they have a son, Edward Allen 
Rees, who was born in Cynthiana, Kentucky. 

The oldest son, William J. Allen, was born in Green County, Kentucky. He 
married Corinne Dowell of Campbellsville, Kentucky. They have a son, William 
Allen, who was born in Campbellsville, Kentucky. Another daughter, Elizabeth, 
was born in Campbellsville, Kentucky, and she married Robert M. Smith of Russell 
Springs, Kentucky. Geneva Allen was born in Campbellsville, Kentucky, as was 
also the youngest daughter, Helen Allen. The youngest son, Adolphus Allen, Jr., 
was born in Campbellsville, Kentucky. 

The Adolphus Allen family worships at the Methodist Church. 



o, 



L. B. CORNETTE 



N July 25, 1945, one of Christian County's most prominent 
citizens, Mr. L. B. Cornette passed from the scene of his life's activities. A to- 
bacconist, financier and civic minded citizen his death leaves a void in the business 
and cultural life of Hopkinsville. 

Back in 1914 and 1915, the tobacco market in Hopkinsville was in a very 
stagnant condition. Crops had been good and the market had been poor for 
several years, and tobacco had accumulated in the warehouses. L. B. Cornette, 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1815 

the owner and operator of the tobacco firm of L. B. Cornette & Company, de- 
cided that the remedy for this unsatisfactory condition lay in improved foreign 
exports, and in January, 1915, he made a trip visiting Italy, Switzerland, Germany, 
Holland, Denmark and Sweden in the interests of his company and the Hopkins- 
ville Tobacco Market. This trip resulted in excellent business connections, and 
much of the tobacco which had been glutting the market and depressing prices 
moved into foreign trade during the following two-year period. Until the out- 
break of World War I, a large part of the business of L. B. Cornette & Company 
consisted of exports to foreign countries; a list of customers of the company would 
include firms in Germany, Holland, France, Switzerland, Norway, Denmark, South 
America, Indo China and the Canary Islands. L. B. Cornette & Company was 
owned and operated by L. B. Cornette, who was also a director of the First City 
Bank & Trust Company, president of the Hopkinsville Milling Company, and a 
partner in the firm of "Cornette's," which is now operating two stores in Hopkins- 
ville under the management of his son, Russell Cornette. 

L. B. Cornette was the son of William C. and Anne Davis Cornette of Virginia 
and Kentucky. His grandparents on the paternal side were Rev. William L. and 
Harriet Ward Cornette of Virginia, who came to Kentucky and settled in Jessa- 
mine County in 1842. His maternal grandparents were Captain Arthur N. Davis 
and Eliza Davis of North Carolina and Kentucky. 

Mr. Cornette was only nine years old when his father died and he came to Green- 
ville, Kentucky, to live with his grandparents. The boy had already lived in two 
states. Born in Belleville, Illinois, on May 15, 1876, he had moved to Douglas. 
Kansas, with his parents in 1882. After coming to Greenville in 1885, L. B. Cor- 
nette remained there with his grandparents until 1894. He had reached the age 
of eighteen at that time, and was big enough to take a man's part on the farm. 
He went to Warren County, Kentucky, and worked on the farm of his uncle, 
W. S. McCormick, for the next three years. 

In March, 1897, L. B. Cornette came to Hopkinsville to work as receiver and 
bookkeeper for P. E. West & Company in a tobacco rehandling factory. His next 
position was that of buyer and factory manager for the American Snuff Company; 
he entered on his duties with that company in 1901. Three years later, in 1904, 
he entered the employ of the Italian Regie contractors, Tandy & Fairleigh, in the 
same capacity. His connection with this company came to a spectacular end; in 
December, 1907, night riders burned the factory and warehouse of Tandv & 
Fairleigh, which put the concern out of business. 

L. B. Cornette had now had ten years of experience in the tobacco business, and 
having accumulated some capital as well, he believed that he was now ready to 
establish his own business. The tobacco firm of L. B. Cornette & Company was 
organized in 1908, and that concern was owned and operated by L. B. Cornette. 
Although the large export trade of the company has been almost entirely stopped 
since the outbreak of the war, the company still operates at capacity. The firm 
of Cornette's, Incorporated, which was organized in 1925. The corporation was 
dissolved in 1944 and it is now operating two stores as a partnership. One store is 
located at 708 Main Street and the other at 702 Main Street in Hopkinsville, Ken- 



1816 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

tucky. L. B. Cornette and his son, Russell Cornette, composed the partnership. 

The abilities of L. B. Cornette in business organization and management found 
further scope in his participation in the operation of several other concerns in 
Hopkinsville. He was elected as a director of the First National Bank in 1925. 
When the First National Bank, the City Bank & Trust Company and the Bank 
of Hopkinsville were consolidated, Mr. Cornette continued to serve on the board 
of directors of the First City Bank & Trust Company, which was formed from 
the consolidation of these institutions. Mr. Cornette was also elected as a director 
of the Hopkinsville Milling Company in 1924, and became president of that com- 
pany. His connection as a stockholder in the Elk Brand Shirt & Overall Company 
was of nearly twenty years' duration. He was a member of the Tobacco Board 
of Trade from 1908, when he first organized the concern of L. B. Cornette & 
Company, and was president of the Tobacco Board of Trade for eight years. 
He was largely instrumental in the organization of the present Hopkinsville Board 
of Trade, and was on the Board of Directors of the Hopkinsville Board of Trade 
for five years, and President of that organization for two years. 

L. B. Cornette was a public-spirited man, interested in any organization or move- 
ment which would aid in the present or future welfare of Hopkinsville. He was a 
large contributor of both time and money to the work of the Associated Charities, 
and was a member of the Hopkinsville Industrial Foundation; he participated 
actively in the work of the Rotary Club. Mr. Cornette was a member of the 
Board of Education of Hopkinsville for seven years, and he administered the funds 
bequeathed in the will of the late W. A. Wilgus for playgrounds for the white 
children of Hopkinsville. Mr. Cornette was Chairman of the Building and 
Grounds Committee at the time the Wilgus Play Grounds were built. The $32,000 
fund financed the building of three playgrounds, and under the supervision of 
Mr. Cornette, no detail was overlooked which might in any way have increased 
the value of the playgrounds to the children, both as a source of enjoyment and 
as a means of improving health and vigor. 

On November 27, 1900, he was married to Miss Geneva Shifflett of Logan 
County, Kentucky, near South Union, Kentucky. Her parents, Mr. and Mrs. 
Bryant Shifflett were prominent among the early settlers of Logan County. Mr. 
and Mrs. Cornette had only one child, a son, Phillip Russell Cornette, who is 
now associated with, and is general manager of Cornette's two stores. 

Fraternal organizations in which Mr. Cornette was interested included the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of Pythias, and the Wood- 
men of the World. Fishing was one of his favorite recreations; Mr. Cornette was 
a member of the Isaac Walton League and the Hopkinsville Hunting and Fishing 
Club. His membership in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church dated back to 
1896, and he was a Ruling Elder in the Hopkinsville Congregation. 



R. 



RUSSELL CORNETTE 



.ussell Cornette was Vice-President and Manager of Cornette's, 
Incorporated, which operated two stores in Hopkinsville, Kentucky until the cor- 
poration was dissolved in November, 1944, at which time a partnership composed 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1817 

of L. B. Cornette and Russell Cornette took over the affairs of the corporation 
under the business name of "Cornette's." He assumed management of this cor- 
poration in 1930, after five years spent as a tobacco buyer in association with his 
father, the late L. B. Cornette, in the tobacco re-handling concern known as L. B. 
Cornette & Company. 

Russell Cornette was born in Hopkinsville, Kentucky on November 27, 1903. 
At that time his father, L. B. Cornette, was in the initial stages of his career in 
the tobacco business and employed by the American Snuff Company as buyer and 
factory manager. 

After graduation from the Hopkinsville High School, Russell Cornette attended 
Vanderbilt University for three years, returning to Hopkinsville to live in 1925. 
The Thomas-Cornette Company had been organized in 1925 — in 1927 Mr. L. B. 
Cornette bought out the interest of his partner, formed the corporation "Cornette's, 
Inc." — Russell Cornette assumed the position of manager in 1930. They engaged 
in the business of selling office supplies, gifts, wall paper, luggage, stationery, school 
books and greeting cards. The corporation operated two stores, one at 708 Main 
Street and the other at 702 Main Street. The store at 702 South Main was opened 
in October, 1943 following the establishment of Camp Campbell near Hopkinsville. 
Military supplies, jewelry and similar merchandise was carried in this store to 
cater to the soldier trade. 

On March 6, 1928 Russell Cornette married Miss Thelma Dean Moss, who was 
born in Lafayette, Kentucky, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Moss. Miss 
Moss is a descendant of the McKenzie, Stevenson, Ewing and Moss families 
which produced a vice president, several ambassadors and other members of nat- 
ional importance and renown. 

Two children were born to this union, Phillip Russell, Jr., on December 11, 
1928, and Barbara Dean on September 24, 1934, both in Hopkinsville. 

Russell Cornette is active in civic and church affairs in Hopkinsville. During 
the war he served as County Chairman of Civilian Defense. He was Cub Master 
for three years and later served as a Boy Scout Commissioner and Executive 
Board Member of The Cogioba Council. He served one term as a Deacon in 
the Ninth Street Christian Church and was elected an Elder in 1945. He served 
on the Advisory Board of the Salvation Army. He is a member of the Pi Kappa 
Alpha social fraternity, the Kiwanis Club, the Hopkinsville Golf and Country 
Club and the Christian County Athenaeum Society. He served several years as 
a Director of the Chamber of Commerce and was president in 1944. 

JAMES MADISON BAKER, JR. 

JLhe standard formula for success in business was followed close- 
ly by James Madison Baker. First he made sure what activity he would follow, 
then learned all he could about that particular business while working for an 
established concern. 

James Madison Baker, Jr., was born on a farm in Clay County, near Laurel 
Creek, Kentucky, on March 17, 1902. His father was Daniel Baker, a native of 



1818 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Clay County. He was a farmer and for many years was on the directorate of the 
First State Bank and the First National Bank of Manchester. For many years he 
was president of the First State Bank. James, Jr., gets his name from an uncle. 
The mother of James Madison Baker was Lucy (Coldiron) Baker, daughter of 
John D. Coldiron, a pioneer merchant at Laurel Creek. 

James Baker attended public school at Laurel Creek and his high school work 
was taken at Berea College. He began work with the United States Experiment 
Station under the Department of Interior at Petrolia, Texas, where he worked in 
the laboratory, experimenting with helium gas. After about eight months there, 
he came to Manchester, Kentucky with the Manchester Grocery Company (whole- 
sale), working first in the warehouse and later as an outside salesman. He con- 
tinued there until 1932, when he established the Madison Wholesale Grocery Com- 
pany at Richmond, Kentucky, and ran both it and the McKee establishment for 
two years together. Since closing out at McKee, he has devoted his entire time 
to the Madison Wholesale Grocery Company. This is a partnership of which 
James Baker is the executive head. They carry a full line of groceries, fence wire 
and galvanized sheet iron. The fifty-mile territory served by the company is cov- 
ered by salesmen and trucks, twelve people being employed. 

Mr. Baker is a member of the American Wholesale Grocers Association. For 
several years he was a director of the Chamber of Commerce of Richmond. He 
is a member of the Masonic Order, and also of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. 

In 1925, James. Madison Baker, Jr., was married to Mae Langdon, the daughter 
of E. S. Langdon of Manchester. They have one son, Maurice W. Baker, who 
is now a student at Eastern Kentucky Teachers College at Richmond. The family 
worships at the Baptist Church. 

Mr. Baker has a large farm in Madison County, where he raises grain and 
tobacco, and also specializes in purebred Hereford cattle. Occasionally Mr. Baker 
likes to get away on a hunting trip or to spend a restful day luring the fish out of 
some quiet stream. 



B, 



WOODRUFF TURNER COPPOCK 



>ack in 1916, before Woodruff Turner Coppock enlisted in the 
United States Army in World War I, he organized a small auto supply company. 
He sold it when war broke out and he left Campbellsville to join the armed forces 
of the United States; when he was discharged from the army on December 11, 
1919, he returned to Campbellsville and bought back the same business. Today 
he is the sole owner of a large automobile company, handling Buick cars. During 
the twenty-five-year period that he has been in the automobile business, his com- 
pany has made rapid and sound growth, and the profits which have accrued to 
Woodruff Coppock are commensurate with the growth of the business. In addi- 
tion to his automobile business, Woodruff Coppock now owns and operates four 
large farms in Taylor and Larue Counties, Kentucky, on which he raises tobacco 
and beef cattle, and he also operates a large dairy. 

Elias Coppock, the father of Woodruff Turner Coppock, was a farmer. He was 




WOODRUFF TURNER COPPOCK 



1820 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

born in Tippecanoe City, Ohio, in 1855. In 1888 he came to Taylor County, 
Kentucky; he bought a farm there which he operated until his death in 1924. 
Elias Coppock sold the first bag of fertilizer ever sold in Taylor County; he was 
a pioneer in the use of fertilizer in the district. Taylor County is now the leading 
county in Kentucky in agricultural products, and much of the credit for the high 
state of productivity of Taylor County farms rightfully belongs to Elias Coppock, 
who taught the farmers of the county how to use fertilizers to increase the yield 
of their farms. The mother of Woodruff Turner Coppock was Nancy Gertrude 
(Horst) Coppock, who was born in Tippecanoe City, Ohio. Both Elias Coppock 
and his wife, Nancy Gertrude (Horst) Coppock, are buried in Campbellsville, 
Kentucky. Other members of this family, in addition to our subject, are Samuel 
Burdett Coppock, a successful farmer of Hatcher, Taylor County, Kentucky; Earl 
Chad Coppock, a contractor, owner of the ice plant and resident of Campbellsville, 
Kentucky; Mrs. Sara Belle (Coppock) Collins, who resides in Kansas; and Mrs. 
Fern (Coppock) Edmenster, who died in October, 1918. 

Woodruff Turner Coppock was born in Hatcher, Kentucky, on October 12, 
1896. He attended school in Campbellsville, Kentucky, and after graduation from 
high school went to work on the farm with his father. He became very much 
interested in the automobile business, which was just beginning to become a power- 
ful force in the transportation field, and while working on the farm organized a 
small auto supply company. When the United States entered World War I, 
Woodruff Coppock enlisted, and was sent to camp at Auburn, Alabama. On 
December 11, 1919, he received his honorable discharge from military service, 
and returned to Campbellsville, Kentucky. He had sold the auto supply business 
which he had organized before he entered the service, and when he came home 
again, he bought it back. Twenty-five years have seen many changes in that little 
business; it has grown and expanded with the growth of motorized transport; 
Woodruff Coppock now owns a large automobile business, dealing in Buick cars, 
which has proven to be a highly satisfactory way of making a very comfortable 
living and providing him with plenty of the luxuries as well as the necessities of 
life. He now owns and operates four large farms in Taylor and Larue Counties, 
Kentucky, raising tobacco and beef cattle; he also is the owner of a large dairy. 

On August 3, 1921, Woodruff Turner Coppock married Fannie Mable Ander- 
son, who was born in Somerset, Kentucky, on May 15, 1898. Mrs. Coppock died 
on January 19, 1940. He later married Gladys Jones Coe. 

Mr. Woodruff Turner Coppock has been a member of the American Legion for 
many years and has served as Finance Officer of his post since it was organized. 
He is chairman of the Board of Deacons of the First Presbyterian Church of 
Campbellsville. 



K, 



ROBERT LEE SHANNON, JR. 



.entucky's funeral directors will forever be indebted to Robert 
Lee Shannon, whose death on June 1, 1939, ended forty-five years of service in that 
profession. It was he who was responsible for the legislation requiring that funeral 
directors in this state be licensed, and who as secretary of the Kentucky State Board 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1821 

of Embalming for thirty-four years saw to it that the high principles of this pro- 
fession were upheld. 

He was a man of mature years when he chose this held, starting in 1894, in 
LaGrange, Kentucky, with a combined furniture store and undertaking establish- 
ment. After five years there, he moved to Shelbyville, Kentucky, and bought an 
interest in the firm of Shannon-Reed. This name was changed to Shannon and 
Company, and continued as such until 1908. His partner, John S. Shannon, 
later sold his interest to Edgar V. Sleadd. 

After fire destroyed the Shannon and Company, Mr. Shannon re-entered busi- 
ness as Shannon Undertaking Company, Inc. That company is now under the 
direction of Robert Lee Shannon, Jr., one of his two sons, who was associated 
with his father at the time of his death. 

Although Frankfort, Kentucky, was the birthplace of Robert Lee Shannon, on 
June 18, 1866, he was educated in the public schools of LaGrange. After leaving 
school he was engaged in the drug business for a time and later was associated 
with the Kendrick Jewelry Co., of Louisville, Kentucky. 

He was twenty-eight when he returned to LaGrange to enter the profession 
which was to make his name known throughout the Blue Grass state. When the 
State Board of Embalming was set up in 1902, Mr. Shannon had the distinction 
of being chosen its first secretary, which post he held until 1936. 

He was active in politics and served as treasurer of the Old Masons Home, 
being a Knight Templar. 

His widow, Mrs. Lula Morlan Shannon, to whom he was married in 1889, now 
resides in Shelbyville, Kentucky, with one of their four children, Miss Lula Ken- 
drick Shannon, born in Louisville in 1892. 

Their other son, John M. Shannon, born in Louisville in 1891, is now associated 
with the Louisville plant of the Mengel Company. Their other daughter, Jane 
Arnold Shannon, born in 1894, widow of John W. Heath, of Port Gibson, Mis- 
sissippi, where he is a planter. They have one son, John W. Heath, Jr. 

Before joining his father's firm in 1917, Robert Lee Shannon, Jr., born in La- 
Grange and educated in Shelbyville's public schools, was employed in a bank in 
the latter city. His family consists of his wife, the former Nancy V. Stout, of 
Finchville, Kentucky, and one son, William Lee Shannon, born in 1919 at Shelby- 
ville. 

William Lee Shannon's education in the Shelbyville public schools was followed 
by four years at Washington and Lee University, from which he was graduated 
in 1941. He taught air cadets at Davidson College, and returned to Shelbyville 
June 1, 1944 to enter the firm of his father making the fourth generation of Shan- 
nons in this firm. He is married to Miss Virginia Tichenor of Shelbyville. They 
have two daughters, Phyllis Lee Shannon, born November 21, 1942, and Peggy 
Ann Shannon, born September 16, 1944. 

Not only is Robert Lee Shannon, Jr., carrying on the business started by his 
father but he also is carrying on the tradition of active leadership in the state 
organization devoted to the interests of that profession. 

For three terms he has held the important position of secretary of the Kentucky 
State Funeral Directors Association. He also is affiliated with the National Se- 



1822 A S E S Q U I- CENTENNIAL 

lected Morticians, the American Legion, Masons and the Rotary Club. He holds 
membership on the board of the Old Masons Home and also is treasurer of that 
institution. He is a Director of Citizens Bank, Shelbyville, Kentucky. 



c, 



ARVILLE ZONE LOONEY 



ientral Kentucky has developed some of the healthiest public 
utility systems in the south and to Lexington the best men in the public utility 
field have been called. None of these public service corporations exert more care 
in securing the best in personnel than the Lexington Railway System so it was par- 
ticularly fortunate that in 1938 they were able to bring to the organization Arville 
Zone Looney to serve as Secretary and Auditor. He is deeply grounded in public 
utility administration and practices and has especially devoted much study to the 
problems of transportation throughout the United States. 

Arville Zone Looney was born at Grundy, Virginia, February 26, 1895, of 
pioneer Virginia parentage. His father was Dr. M. H. Looney, a practicing phy- 
sician in Grundy, and was the son of Joseph Looney, who came to Buchanan Coun- 
ty, Virginia, early in the nineteenth century, having moved from the original Looney 
settlement on the James River in Botetourt County, Virginia. Mr. Looney's mother 
was Lottie C. (Sloan) Looney, a daughter of Morgan Sloan and Nellie Sloan, of 
old Virginia ancestry. The subject attended the grade schools and graduated from 
high school in Virginia and qualified for teaching by completing the required 
teacher's course in his native state. In 1917 he moved to Kentucky and undertook 
the operation of a two hundred acre farm in Lincoln County, and then located in 
Lexington, Kentucky, in 1920 and completed his business education in the Wilbur 
R. Smith Business College of that city and accepted a position as clerk for the 
Louisville & Nashville Railroad for the year ending in 1921 and from that year 
until 1924 was Chief Clerk for the Kentucky Traction and Terminal Company 
and also served the Lexington Utilities Company and the Lexington Ice Company. 
He then moved to Fredonia, New York, where he became Chief Accountant for 
the Buffalo & Erie Railroad Company and worked in organizing the Buffalo & 
Erie Coach Corporation, becoming its Treasurer and General Manager when it 
succeeded the railroad operation. From 1924 to 1937 he was engaged by New York 
bankers in making surveys and studies of transportation systems throughout the 
United States, and upon his judgment and reports large financial transactions 
were predicated. In 1938 he came to Lexington as Secretary and Auditor of the 
Lexington Railway System and in the early part of 1944 was made Vice-President 
and General Manager. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the 
Lexington Railway System, Vice-President and director of the Kentucky River Mills 
Company and Secretary and Treasurer and director of the Kentucky-Illinois 
Hemp Corporation. He serves his city as a member of the Civil Service Examining 
Board for police and firemen of Lexington. He is a member of the Co-Operativc 
Club International, The Blue Grass Executives Club, and President and member of 
the Executive Committee of the Lexington Camera Club. He maintains member- 
ship in the Methodist Church, of Fredonia, New York, where he was a member of 




ARVILLE ZONE LOONEY 



1824 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

the Board of Stewards. He is a Republican in political matters and is an authority 
on amateur photography finding in that activity his chief source of relaxation. 
His business headquarters are in the offices of the Railway System at Loudon 
Avenue and North Limestone Streets in Lexington. 

Arville Looney was married in Virginia July 14, 1914, to Cansada E. Boyd, 
daughter of Reverend H. M. Boyd and Cynthia E. Boyd. They are the parents of 
the following children: Bernice Looney, born June 1, 1915, now employed with 
the Federal Bureau of Investigation; Arno Z. Looney, born March 18, 1917, now 
employed with the Hub Tool Company; Ralph Edwin Looney, born July 22, 1924, 
employed with the Federal Bureau of Investigation for one year but resigned to 
study pre-law at the University of Kentucky; and Donald Ray Looney, born 
November 30, 1932, now in grade school. The family residence is at 722 Sunset 
Drive, Lexington, Kentucky. 

Arville Zone Looney and his family are component parts of Lexington social 
and civic life and Mr. and Mrs. Looney are active in community affairs. Friend- 
ly, gracious and entertaining their association is appreciated and their presence in 
demand where people of culture and charm are gathered. 



WARREN FRANCIS JONES, B.S., M.A. 



W, 



arren Francis Jones, President of Campbellsville College at 
Campbellsville, Kentucky, is a present day representative of a family that has long 
been leaders in educational and religious activities in the state. His great-great- 
grandfather, Isaac Malin was the founder of Drennon's Ridge Baptist Church at 
Franklinton, Kentucky, which is now one hundred and forty years old, and was 
pastor of it for forty years. Another member of the family, a great uncle of 
Warren F. Jones was a Baptist minister. 

William Henry Jones, father of Warren F. Jones, was a native of Henry 
County, and was a successful farmer and noted churchman. He was Moderator 
of his church for thirty-seven years and was Sunday School superintendent for 
twenty-five years. He served three terms as Moderator of his association of the 
Baptist Church. He was one of the sponsors of the American Equity Association 
in his locality, which was the forerunner of the later tobacco pools. He served 
many years as a school trustee. The family had been in Henry County for many 
years. Mr. Jones' mother was Amanda Rachael Washburn, a native of Henry 
County and a descendant of a family that, originating in England, had migrated 
to Virginia and thence to Kentucky. 

Like many educators Professor Jones secured his education largely concurrent 
with imparting it to others, teaching during the winter months and becoming a 
student during the summer. His boyhood was spent in Henry County, where he 
attended the rural schools and graduated from the Bethlehem High School in 1915. 
He then entered Georgetown College from which he received the B.S. degree in 
1921, and taught two terms in the rural schools in Henry County. He entered the 
United States Army in 1918 and was released from active service in the spring of 
1919. In 1921 he went to Pineville, Kentucky where he was principal of the city 



1826 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

high school, and the first athletic coach in the Cumberland Valley, and in 1923 
he was made superintendent of the Pineville City Schools. In 1926 he resigned 
this position to become president of Campbellsville College where he remained until 
1930. He had begun his graduate work at the University of Chicago and fol- 
lowed it in 1923 by work at the University of Kentucky, while in 1925 he was 
a student at Peabody College at Nashville, Tennessee. From 1930 to 1936 he was 
principal of the Junior-Senior High School at Winchester, Kentucky, and also 
continued his graduate work at the University of Kentucky, and in 1937 received 
his Master of Arts degree in Education. 

The years 1936 to 1941 saw him in commercial work although still allied to 
the educational field. He was, during this time the state representative for Scott 
Foresman & Company, publishers of text books for schools and colleges. In 1941 
he returned to Campbellsville College as its President, a position he has held with 
credit to the institution since that time. He has continued his graduate work and 
now has the equivalent of two years work toward his Doctor's degree. 

On June 1, 1945 he will assume the duties as President of Union University, 
Jackson, Tennessee and on June 5, 1945 he will be honored with the degree of 
Doctor of Laws by his Alma Mater, Georgetown College, Georgetown, Kentucky. 

Mr. Jones' professional associations include: member, Kentucky Education 
Association since 1915; member of the executive committee, secretary and treasurer 
of the Association of Church Related Colleges and chairman of Commission of 
Secondary Schools of the Kentucky Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools. 
His civic connections and activities include: former member and president of the 
Lions Club of Campbellsville; former member of the Kiwanis Club at Pineville; 
former member of the Rotary Club at Winchester; and his present post as president 
of the Rotary Club at Campbellsville. He served one term as a member of the 
city board of education at Winchester, and for one term was a member of the 
board of trustees of Georgetown College. 

While in Winchester he was a member of the Board of Deacons of the Central 
Baptist Church, and he has been superintendent of the Sunday School in three of 
the points where he has been located. He is a member of the Board of Trustees 
of the United Citizens for Temperance. His fraternity is Theta Kappa Nu. 

Mr. Jones was married in 1925 to Miss Margaret Scott, of Ghent, Carroll 
County, Kentucky, who passed from this life in July, 1942. They became the 
parents of four children: Betty Ragland, born January 5, 1927; Warren Francis, 
II, born July 4, 1928; Billy Maurice, born January 12, 1930; and Peggy Frances, 
born August 2, 1934. 

Campbellsville College is owned and operated under the General Association of 
Baptists in Kentucky. It was founded in 1906 as an academy and operated as 
such until 1924, when it became a junior college. In 1930 the elementary and 
high school departments were dispensed with and it is now a fully accredited junior 
college. The normal enrollment is two hundred and fifty students. 

Mr. Jones is a member of the American Legion. He finds recreation and ex- 
ercise in badminton and tennis and rest and diversion in reading. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1827 

JAMES MITCHEL MASON 

James Mitchel Mason is the acting postmaster of Falmouth, 
Kentucky, a position to which he was appointed on March 10, 1944. Mr. Mason 
was formerly for four years the Mayor of Falmouth, and he has served seventeen 
years on the Falmouth Board of Education. A former teacher, James M. Mason 
has been in the undertaking business in Falmouth for twenty-seven years, originally 
in association with a partner, but since, 1925, when he bought out his partner's 
interest, Mr. Mason has been the sole owner of a highly successful establishment. 
He also owns a flour mill and an insurance agency, and farms extensively in Har- 
rison, Pendleton and Bracken counties. 

James Mitchel Mason was born in Owen County, Kentucky, on September 12, 
1891. His father, William Sanderson Mason, was also a native of Owen County. 
William Mason was a farmer and the owner of a flour mill which he operated; 
he was always active in political affairs, and served for two terms, from 1901- 
1909, as the jailer of Owen County. William Mason never saw his father, Bartlett 
Mason, until he was four years old. He was born during the war between the 
states, and Bartlett Mason served in the Confederate Army; his occupation in 
civilian life was that of farmer. The mother of James M. Mason was Nancy Ann 
(Clifton) Mason, the daughter of Levi and Elizabeth (Lusby) Clifton, who also 
was born in Owen County. 

Until 1909, when James M. Mason was eighteen years of age, the family lived 
in Owen County, where he attended the public schools and the Owenton High 
School. Upon completing his high school work, he took the teachers' examina- 
tion, and received a certificate allowing him to teach in the Kentucky schools. 
For five years James Mason taught in the Harrison County schools, at the same 
time working with an undertaker at Sunrise, where his father had bought a flour 
mill. In 1914 he took the state examination, passed, and was licensed as an em- 
balmer. He came to Falmouth in 1917, and became associated with J. G. Gallo- 
way in the undertaking business which he was conducting in that town. Mr. 
Mason worked with Mr. Galloway until 1925, when he bought out Mr. Gallo- 
way's interest in the business, of which he then became the sole owner. Since that 
time Mr. Mason has been very successful in his chosen field. His equipment is 
modern and adequate in every respect for the needs of the community; his parlors 
are tastefully furnished, and the atmosphere of sympathetic understanding is real 
consolation in time of bereavement. 

Various other business interests occupy part of Mr. Mason's time. The flour 
mill at Sunrise which at one time belonged to his father, and which has since been 
owned by several persons, is now owned by Mr. Mason. The insurance agency 
which he owns handles all fire and casualty risks; at one time he worked with the 
Metropolitan Insurance Company. James Mason owns large acreage of farm 
land in Pendleton County and in the adjoining counties of Harrison and Bracken. 
He is a director of the Pendleton Building Association. 

On March 10, 1944, James M. Mason was appointed acting post master at Fal- 
mouth. He has always been a staunch Democrat. For four years he was the 



1828 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

mayor of Falmouth, and for seventeen years he has served on the Falmouth Board 
of Education. 

James Mitchel Mason married Maymie Lee Six, daughter of John W. and 
Erne (Harcum) Six of Sunrise, Kentucky, on September 28, 1910. They became 
the parents of one daughter, Geneva, who is now Mrs. Carlis Hodge of Falmouth. 
Mrs. Hodge has been Deputy County Clerk for the past twelve years. Her hus- 
band is now serving in the United States Army. Mr. and Mrs. Hodge have a 
daughter, Marian Carleen Hodge. Mrs. Mason was formerly active in the Metho- 
dist Church, but the family now worships at the Baptist Church, where Mr. Mason 
is Chairman of the Board of Deacons, Assistant Church Clerk, and Superintendent 
of the Sunday School. 

Mr. Mason belongs to various professional, fraternal and civic organizations. 
He is a member of the Kentucky Association of Funeral Directors and of the 
National Association of Funeral Directors. He belongs to the Falmouth Rotary 
Club and the Junior Order United American Mechanics, also the Daughters of 
America, the latter organization being the auxiliary of the Junior Order United 
American Mechanics. In the Masonic Order, James M. Mason holds the office of 
King in the degree of the Royal Arch, and is Senior Warden in the Blue Lodge. 



A, 



ARTHUR RAY WILSON 



.rthur Ray Wilson is a man who has demonstrated by his long 
outstanding record of achievement in the tobacco business and as a farmer, his talent 
for taking advantage of opportunities. His industry has been unflagging and his 
business judgment has brought him the result of many year's experience. 

Mr. Wilson was born in Owen County, Kentucky, August 16, 1880, and he was 
one of five children. His father, William Wilson, had long been famous as a 
prominent farmer of Grant County, Kentucky where he owned one of the most 
progressive farms of the region. Mr. Wilson's mother was Minnie Sidebottom of 
Owen County, Kentucky. When he was a young man, his family moved to Fayette 
County, Kentucky and his father purchased a prosperous farm in that county and 
began to operate it with ever-increasing success. 

In the meanwhile, Mr. Wilson attended the public schools of Fayette County 
and worked on his father's farm, gaining valuable experience in the field that was 
to become his own in later years — agriculture. At the age of twenty years, Mr. 
Wilson felt the need for branching out into new activities, and he decided to start 
out for himself. Therefore he leased a farm and started in the business of raising 
prize tobaccos and stock. He continued to develop new and efficient methods of 
agricultural procedure. With every new development, his farm yielded an even 
greater increase. The success of the Wilson farm has been phenomenal. 

Today Mr. Wilson owns and operates a hundred and forty-acre farm in Jessa- 
mine County, and is one of the most successful farmers of his region. But in 
addition to his success as farmer, Mr. Wilson has also been prominent as a tobacco 
warehouseman. In 1927, he entered the warehouse tobacco business, forming a 
partnership with Mr. Gatewood Gay. Together they today operate two ware- 
houses known as the Gay & Wilson Tobacco Warehouse Company. Mr. Gay 




ARTHUR RAY WILSON 



1830 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

operates Warehouse No. 2 on Virginia Avenue, and Mr. Wilson manages the 
warehouse at 555 South Broadway. These two houses together handle five and 
seven million pounds of tobacco during the Burley season, which lasts from De- 
cember 6th until February 1st. 

Mr. Wilson married the former Miss Daisy Wilson of Bourbon County, Ken- 
tucky, in 1906. They have five children: Stanley S. Wilson, who is a prominent 
farmer of Clark County, Kentucky and who is a government tobacco inspector; 
Gladys Ellen Wilson, who married Mr. L. L. Harrod of Winchester, Kentucky, 
and is the mother of one child, Dorothy Harrod; A. R. Wilson, Jr., now serving 
in the United States Army, and married to the former Miss Edith Bush of Lex- 
ington, Kentucky. Their child, Ada Louise Wilson, was born May 4, 1942; William 
E. Wilson, who is now serving with the United States Coast Guard and Edward 
Clay Wilson, who is associated with his father in the operation of the Jessamine 
County farm. The family is affiliated with the Baptist Church. Mr. Wilson is 
a Republican and resides on his farm in Jessamine County, Kentucky. 

Mr. Wilson is known to his friends and neighbors as the hard-working farmer 
and businessman of clear vision who tackled many hard jobs and vanquished them 
all. His ability to appraise situations and opportunities has won him success in 
every line of work that attracted his attention. 



Th 



EDWARD MICHAEL ALLSMILLER 



.he first working venture of Edward Allsmiller was an apprentice 
at the cabinet making trade. He never did complete his apprenticeship, but the two 
years he spent at the trade undoubtedly helped influence his later choice of owner- 
ship in the hardware business. Between times, Edward Allsmiller spent thirteen 
years in the dairy business, during which time he traveled the route from truck 
driver to partner. He now owns and controls a hardware business and a laundry, 
and is prominent in civic affairs of Winchester. 

Edward Michael Allsmiller had lots of company in his home, as he was one of 
twelve children. He was born on March 10, 1895, in Jefferson County, Kentucky. 
His father, Frederick William Allsmiller and his mother Sally (Ploetner) Allsmiller 
were both born in Jefferson County, but now reside in Louisville, Kentucky. They 
were married on February 17, 1893, and have now celebrated their golden wedding 
anniversary. 

Edward Michael Allsmiller was eleven years old when the family moved away 
from Jefferson County to Louisville, Kentucky. Edward Allsmiller completed his 
education in the Louisville schools nnd at seventeen he was ready for work. His 
first position was as an apprentice in the cabinet-making trade with the Adler 
Manufacturing Company of Louisville, Kentucky. After two years, he decided that 
he would rather try something else, and he commenced work with the F. C. Niemcier 
Dairy Company. His career there was from truck driver to partner in thirteen years. 

Edward Allsmiller left the dairy business in May, 1927, when he entered the 
hardware business in Louisville. Ten years later, in 1937, he sold this business and 
moved to Winchester Kentucky. On November 30, 1937, he purchased the Day 




EDWARD MICHAEL ALLSMILLER 



1832 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

and McCormick Hardware Company, and changed the name to Allsmiller Hard- 
ware Company, which business he still owns and operates. Six years later, he 
decided to add a new venture, and on October 1, 1943, bought a half interest in 
the Fox Laundry of Winchester. Later on, Mr. Allsmiller secured controlling 
interest in this company, which he is now operating under the name of The Win- 
chester Laundry. 

In all his outstanding activities, Mr. Allsmiller has shown a willingness to lead, 
and not merely participate. He is a member of Winchester Kiwanis Club and was 
president of that organization in 1943. The next year, 1944, he became a director 
of the Winchester Board of Trade, and has continued on this board. He is a 
director of the Kentucky Hardware and Implement Association. He is a member 
of the Winchester Country Club, and finds plenty of pleasure, even if not so much 
profit, in his game of golf. His hobby is raising chickens. 

Edward Michael Allsmiller married Catherine McCrory of Louisville, Kentucky, 
on April 8th, 1926. They have two daughters: Charlotte Catherine Allsmiller, 
born in Louisville, Kentucky, on August 17, 1930, and Beverly Ann Allsmiller, born 
in Winchester, Kentucky, on September 29, 1938. Mrs. Allsmiller is active in 
club, church work, and Red Cross work in Winchester. The family attends the 
First Presbyterian Church of Winchester, in which church Mr. Allsmiller is a deacon. 

Mr. Allsmiller's business address is 1 South Main Street, Winchester, and his 
home on the Boonesboro Road, Route 3. 



JAMES B. HALL 

J.he pioneer spirit that sent hundreds of people streaming on foot 
and horseback over the Blue Ridge and Cumberland Mountains and others down 
the Ohio River in flatboats to carve a great state out of a wilderness continued to 
live in many of the descendants of Kentucky's first settlers. 

James Baker Hall, who was a Lexington, Kentucky business man and engineer, 
bore the name of two of those intrepid families, and ably carried on their tradition 
cf courage, moral strength and faith in themselves and the future until his death, 
November 13, 1943. 

About 1790, Major Joe Hall migrated from the Yadkin River section of North 
Carolina to Kentucky. He brought with him two slaves, Angie and Jake, and 
settled in Lincoln County at a point now known as Hall's Gap, where the grand 
panorama of "the Bluegrass" first greets the hill-tired eyes of one traveling north. 
He settled on a grant of land, patent to which was given him by the Continental 
Congress for service in the Revolution. Many land surveys in that part of Lincoln 
County still refer to the "Hall Patent Boundary Line." Major Hall's son, John 
B. Hall, was Sheriff of Lincoln County at the time of his death and his widow 
moved with her family, which included her son, Edward R. Hall, to Montgomery 
County. Edward R. Hall, father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Lincoln 
County in 1834 and became a prominent Central Kentucky lumberman before his 
death. 

About die time that Major Hall came to Kentucky from the south, Thomas 




JAMES B. HALL 



1834 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Baker and his brother, Benjamin, were landing at Limestone (now Maysville), 
Kentucky from the flatboats which had brought them on the long journey from 
Pennsylvania. Thomas Baker was born in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania on 
June 5, 1769 and married Rachel Miller, who made the river trip with him from 
Sherman Valley near Carlisle, Cumberland County, Pennsylvania. They went 
overland from Limestone to what is now known as the Cane Ridge section of 
Bourbon County. Here they settled and reared their family which included their 
son, Benjamin Baker. Benjamin Baker married Nancy J. Ratcliffe. They were 
the parents of Jane Ann Baker, mother of James Baker Hall, the subject of this 
sketch. Nancy Ratcliffe Baker died in 1850 and Benjamin Baker moved to Powell 
County and operated the first circular saw mill on Red River near Clay City. 

James Baker Hall, the son of Edward R. and Jane Ann (Baker) Hall, was born 
in Montgomery County, Kentucky about ten miles south of Mt. Sterling on 
October 2, 1871. He was educated in private schools of Montgomery County 
and at the Glasgow Normal School, where he received a Civil Engineer's degree. 

His first work was surveying and then he accepted a position in the office of 
the Chief Engineer of the K. U. Railway. Later, he engaged in the timber business 
which he operated on a large scale, having mills in Tennessee, Mississippi, Kentucky 
and Arkansas. His mills specialized in hardwood staves and barrel headings. He 
became a well known leader in this industry and served for a good many years as 
Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Beer Stave Manufacturers' Association. 

Mr. Hall then became interested in the Lexington Railway System and was 
Vice-President, Treasurer and General Manager of that organization at the time 
of his death. In addition to his other business interests, he was President and a 
member of the Board of Directors of the Clay City National Bank for about 
twenty-five years. 

Always a pioneer in business and in community affairs, James B. Hall pur- 
chased the first water franchise in Fayette County outside of the City of Lexington. 
He organized and became chairman of a committee to lay a water line along the 
Paris Pike beyond the Lexington Hydraulic and Manufacturing Company. 

His public spirit and capacity for leadership brought him prominence in the 
councils of the Republican Party after he embraced that political faith and he 
served for twelve years, from 1924 to 1936, as a member of the Republican State 
Central Committee. At the same time, he was Chairman of the old Seventh (now 
the Sixth) Congressional District Committee. Mr. Hall was chosen four times to 
direct his party's campaigns in Fayette County and carried the county, nominally 
democratic, each time. 

On October 17, 1900, James Baker Hall was united in marriage to Miss Nellie 
Russell, daughter of Charles W. and Louise (Ross) Russell of Clay City, Kentucky. 
They were the parents of two sons, Walker R. Hall, a Captain in the United States 
Army, and James K. Hall. Major Walker R. Hall married Miss Lurlcne Bro- 
naugh and has two children, Anne B. and James Baker Hall, Second. James K. 
Hall married Miss Mary Farrand, daughter of the noted president of Cornell 
University. They have one child, Natalie, now (1943) seven years of age. 

Mr. James B. Hall was a faithful member of the Maxwell Street Presbyterian 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1835 

Church as is Mrs. Hall. The Hall home is located outside the city limits of 
Lexington on the Paris Pike. 

Almost until the time of his death Mr. Hall was as active as a man many years 
younger. He was a charter member and President of the Gentlemen's Driving 
Club of Lexington and was Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Lexington 
Driving Club. His favorite forms of recreation were driving, trotting and pacing 
horses, and fishing. 

James Baker Hall inherited the rugged endurance, strength of character, nobility 
of purpose and pride in achievement of his pioneer ancestors. He lived his life 
as they lived theirs — always in the thick of the fight, quick and able in leadership, 
but willing to follow a leader worthy of being followed. His life was a fine 
example of the American way of living. 

DAVID ESTELL UPTON, M.D. 

Ahe great grandfather of David Estell Upton was one of three 
who pioneered their way to Hardin County, Kentucky and founded the town of 
Upton. It was here that David Upton was born and went to school. Later he 
married into a family that was equally prominent in the early history of Hardin 
County. Today David Upton is Dr. Upton, M.D., with a medical practice es- 
tablished in Munfordville not far south from the scenes of his boyhood. 

Born on February 27, 1902, at Upton, Hardin County, Kentucky, David Estell 
Upton was the son of P. Jackson Upton and Lucinda Elizabeth (Taylor) Upton. 
His father is still a successful farmer of Hardin County, and represents the third 
generation from the days when his forebears first decided to make their home in 
Hardin County and gave to the settlement their own name of Upton. 

In this town of Upton, David Estell Upton grew up and received his early 
education. He decided to enter the medical profession, knowing quite well that 
the way would be long and involve many years of study and application. By the 
time he was twenty-six years old, David Upton graduated from the University 
of Louisville with the degrees of B.S. and M.D. Not far south of his home 
town is the busier and larger center of Munfordville, and it was here, in August, 
1928, that Dr. David Upton began the practice of his profession. He has been 
there continuously since that time conducting a very successful general practice. 
He is a capable and respected physician, with a sound medical training which he 
continually augments through extensive study and interest in all new developments 
in medical affairs. Dr. Upton is a member of the Hart County Medical Society, 
the Kentucky Medical Society and the American Medical Association. His fra- 
ternity is Theta Kappa Psi. 

Dr. Upton is very active in the work of the Masonic Order; he was Worshipful 
Master of the Munfordville Lodge in 1940. He takes an active part in the civic 
life of the community. The political affiliation of Dr. Upton is with the Republi- 
can party. 

On May 28, 1925, Dr. David Estell Upton married Susie Marie Cave of Hardin 
County. Mrs. David Upton is a daughter of Thomas Jefferson Cave and a grand- 



1836 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

daughter of the Rev. Robert Cave, an early Baptist minister of Hardin County. 
Dr. and Mrs. Upton are the parents of three children, David Robert Upton, who 
is now in the United States Navy Reserve, serving on U.S.S. Charles Lawrence, 
Amphibious Landing duty. Kenneth Earl Upton and Mary Elizabeth Upton. 
Mrs. Upton is a member of the Order of the Eastern Star, and is active in local 
club work. The family worships at the Baptist Church. 

Dr. David Upton is medical examiner for the Selective Service Board, and is 
a member of the Hart County Board of Health. 



WILLIAM PAUL LITTLE 



K, 



.entucky's great tobacco industry has always attracted some of 
the ablest business men in the state, men who have lived in the most prosperous 
growing sections and who understand the nature of the business and sense its 
possibilities. The subject of this biography, William Paul Little, is one of the 
young and vigorous figures that have entered the tobacco field and as an independent 
warehouseman in Lexington he has quickly built an enviable reputation throughout 
the burley district. 

William Paul Little was born in Montgomery County, Kentucky, September 
27, 1907, one of the five children of Ernest Reed Little and Lou Ella (Bryant) 
Little. The mother's family is that of one of the oldest settlers in the state, the 
famous Bryant Station Springs having been named in its honor. Mr. Little's 
father was a farmer of considerable note and a tobacco man of wide experience 
known throughout the state. He was a native of Menifee County, Kentucky, but 
moved first to Morgan County and then Wolfe County, adjusting his residence 
to the calls of the tobacco industry. Before the advent of the auction system of 
sales he was a buyer for the American Tobacco Company and represented this 
concern in handling large purchases of the Kentucky crop. He was also interested 
in breeding and training trotting horses and became quite a prominent figure in 
harness horse activities. William Paul Little married Lucille Caudill, of Morehead, 
Kentucky, in 1937. She is the daughter of Daniel Boone Caudill, of Morehead, 
Kentucky, prominent as a Kentucky attorney and as Judge of the 21st Judicial 
District, and who founded the Peoples Bank of Morehead, Kentucky. Mrs. 
Little graduated from Ohio State University and is a leader in Women's Club 
circles in Lexington and attracts much attention as a vocalist and actress. She is 
a charming hostess over the home at 201 Ridgeway Road, Lexington. 

William Paul Little received his early education in the public schools of Mont- 
gomery County, Kentucky, and in the schools of Fayette County. In 1925 he 
enrolled in the University of Kentucky where he finished a two-year course in 
commerce. On leaving college he was attracted to horse breeding, training and 
racing, a subject with which he had been familiar from boyhood. Having inherited 
an interest in tobacco, its culture, its sale and fabrication he followed in the foot- 
steps of his father and entered this industry. Being deeply grounded in the sub- 
ject of handling the valuable weed he was able to start actively at an age that with 
most men would mark merely the beginning of an apprenticeship. His beginning 
was in 1931 and he was twenty-four years of age but confident and enterprising 




WILLIAM PAUL LITTLE 



1838 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

and leased a warehouse from the Morgan Gentry interests. In 1932 he bought a 
warehouse from the Geary Wright Tobacco Company and operated it for five 
years when he purchased the John Jewell Tobacco Warehouse and incorporated a 
company for its operation under the business name of the Growers Tobacco Ware- 
house Company, Incorporated. He is president of the corporation which controls 
this great warehouse that occupies five acres of space and is 360 x 600 feet in 
dimensions, being one of the largest independent warehouses in the state. Mr. 
Little is a member of the Lexington Tobacco Board of Trade and of the Lexing- 
ton Country Club and the family are communicants at the Central Christian Church 
of Lexington. He continues his interest in horses and races his stable not only in 
the United States but in Canada and Cuba. He owns the Palmeadow Stock 
Farm, a tract of two hundred and twenty-five acres in Scott County, Kentucky, on 
the Payne's Depot Road, where he breeds short horn cattle and raises the famous 
Kentucky light burley tobacco, but maintains his offices and makes headquarters 
at the Growers Tobacco Warehouse on Angliana Avenue, Lexington. 

William Paul Little is one of the successful tobacco men of the state and his 
age leaves many years of usefulness and progressive achievement before him. He 
is a moving spirit in the business circles of his home city and is an interesting 
companion, gathering friends and holding them wherever he makes contacts. 
In the hands of such men as William Paul Little the business future of Kentucky 
is assured an ancestral background and training guarantee his place in the social 
and civic affairs of the Blue Grass. 



ROBERT HOLLY WITHERSPOON 



R< 



.obert Holly Witherspoon operates a successful farm not far 
from the place of his birth in Anderson County, Kentucky. Many a son can 
thank his father for guiding him to his true vocation, but in Robert Witherspoon's 
case, his father's assistance was not entirely intentional. The college grades of 
Robert Witherspoon were not so good, and his father issued an ultimatum. Either 
it was to be improved grades or come home and work on a farm owned by his 
father. The latter was exactly what Robert Witherspoon desired; he wanted to 
be a farmer, and he soon had his desire. Time has proved that this was a case 
of fitting the right man in the right place; Robert Witherspoon is doing today 
what he wanted to do, and he is doing it well. He is farming three hundred and 
fifty acres and raising dairy cattle and pure-bred Hampshire sheep. The sheep 
are sold usually for breeding purposes. In addition to his successful farm opera- 
tions, Mr. Witherspoon is an extensive owner of real estate. 

Robert Holly Witherspoon was born in Anderson County, Kentucky on Sep- 
tember 23, 1871. His father, Dr. John Allen Witherspoon, was a native of 
Anderson County. He practiced medicine in Lawrenceburg for twenty-five years, 
and also entered the banking business with his uncle, John Witherspoon. Their 
original firm, which was a private banking house, was known as J. and J. A. 
Witherspoon. Later this was incorporated into a state bank and became the 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1839 

Anderson County Deposit Bank. Dr. Witherspoon remained as president of this 
bank until his retirement. He died in 1898. Dr. Witherspoon had two brothers, 
J. F. who was one of Morgan's Raiders during the War Between the States, and 
Newton Holly Witherspoon who became a successful banker at Winchester. Dr. 
Witherspoon married Mary McKee, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph McKee. 
She was a native of Missouri. 

After receiving his early education in Lawrenceburg, Robert Witherspoon at- 
tended Kentucky Military Institute, which was then located in Franklin County. 
Here he had a fine record, and was valedictorian of his class. The story was some- 
what different when Robert Witherspoon entered Georgetown College. He be- 
came somewhat bored with book work, and wished he were back on the farm. 
And that, his father promised him as he scanned his son's grades, was exactly 
where he would soon find himself if he did not adopt a different attitude toward 
his studies. So it was farewell to Georgetown and home on the farm shortly 
thereafter, which was just what Robert Witherspoon wanted. He took over the 
operation of some of the land owned by his father. Today he is operating three 
hundred and fifty acres of land, largely devoted to the growing of berries, tobacco 
and general feed crops, and the raising of purebred registered Hampshire sheep 
and dairy cattle. Mr. Witherspoon is an authority on the breeding and raising of 
sheep, and the sales from his herd are largely for breeding purposes. He milks 
twenty-five cows, their product going into the commercial milk market. 

Robert Witherspoon had two brothers. The older brother, A. H. Witherspoon, 
graduated from the Jefferson Medical School at Philadelphia, and practiced in 
Lexington and Lawrenceburg. His other brother, Clarence A. Witherspoon, be- 
came an abstractor and spent his active life at Mexico, Missouri. 

As a young man, Robert Holly Witherspoon spent a year and a half in Mis- 
souri, where he met and married Louella Atchison, a daughter of J. W. Atchison, 
who was for many years a public figure in Mexico, Missouri. Mrs. Witherspoon 
died in 1941. 

Mr. and Mrs. Witherspoon were the parents of a daughter and a son. The 
daughter, Lucile, married Will Routt, who is now Clerk of the County Court of 
Anderson County. Mr. and Mrs. Routt have three children: Marjorie, who is 
now Mrs. Catlett Buckner of Paris, Kentucky, and is the mother of one son, 
Aylette; William, Jr., who is now serving in the United States Navy; and Rose- 
lynne, who attended Sullins College is now a student at the University of Ken- 
tucky. The son, John Allen Witherspoon is now associated with the milling firm 
of Ballard and Ballard at Louisville, Kentucky. He married Mary Frances 
Humphrey of Ashland, Kentucky, and they have a daughter, Mary Lou, now a 
student at Sullins College. 

Robert Witherspoon has always advocated that farmers should organize for 
mutual benefit. For years he was an active member of the Farm Bureau Federa- 
tion. The political affiliation of Mr. Witherspoon is with the Democrats. He is 
a member of the Baptist Church and holds office as Deacon. 



U. OF ILL" UB. 



1840 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

VES CHANCELLOR 

JLhe biography of Ves Chancellor tells the story of a man who 
has come a long way by his own efforts and who has reached a preeminent place in 
the agricultural and business life of Fayette County. He is a member of an 
old Virginia family transplanted to Kentucky. He has worked hard, lived a life 
of probity and friendliness that has won for him the confidence and friendship 
of his fellow man. 

On May 3, 1881, Ves Chancellor was born in Spottsylvania County, Virginia, 
a son of Bedell Chancellor, a farmer of that county, who died in 1921, and Ophelia 
(Reed) Chancellor of Mercer County, Kentucky. When Ves was ten years of 
age his father moved with his family to Lincoln County, Kentucky, where the 
youngster attended public school and acquired a knowledge and love of agricul- 
ture on his father's farm. When nineteen years of age he began his independent 
career by taking employment with W. W. Sanders in his grocery store. He did 
his first three months service for his maintenance and then for the next six months 
was placed on the pay roll at the rate of $1.50 per week. When twenty years of 
age in 1901 he moved to Lexington, Kentucky, for employment in a delicatessen 
and bakery establishment at $3.00 per week, remaining with the concern until 
1917 as salesman and later as sales manager, at a salary of $225.00 per month. 
Retaining his love of the soil he resigned his situation and returned to farming, 
assuming the management of a farm belonging to his wife. In 1932 he organized 
the Farmers Tobacco Warehouse in connection with Henry Snell, to serve as Vice- 
President, Allen McDowell as Secretary and Treasurer, and himself as President, 
this trio being the sole owners of the business. The plant was erected in 1932 and 
is one of the most important in the Blue Grass Tobacco trade and has a capacity 
of 3200 baskets. In addition to the duties of his position in this line Mr. Chan- 
cellor finds time to operate two of the most promising farms in Fayette County, 
being much interested in agriculture and devoting much time to the land. Of 
these holdings the Springhurst farm consists of 141 acres on the Harrodsburg 
Road, and the Cedar Air Farm of 273 acres on the Military Pike. His vocation 
is also his hobby as he gets much of his pleasure in conducting his agricultural 
affairs, particularly animal husbandry, breeding milk cows of the highest grade. 
He is a member of the Tobacco Board of Trade and gives much attention to its 
activities. He is also the owner of the Chancellor Subdivision to the city of Lex- 
ington, and owns considerable other property in that city. Although not a realtor 
he enjoys negotiating real estate transactions. 

Ves Chancellor has been twice married, his first wife, who was Grace Jochum 
of Fayette County, passed away in 1927, and he later married Mrs. Emma B. Ros- 
well of Lexington, Kentucky. He fathers a step-son, Charles Alford Roswell, who 
is the father of three children: Charles Alford, David and Ann Roswell. Mr. 
Chancellor is a member of the Woodlawn Christian Church and the family home 
is at 371 South Broadway, Lexington, Kentucky. 

The purpose of Ves Chancellor has been to always go straight ahead — and up. 
He has followed this program and found the reward sufficient to well justify the 
years of labor and patience contributed to the effort. His life is another example 




VES CHANCELLOR 



1842 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

of what can be accomplished with a purpose and with determination, two outstanding 
traits of the man's character. In his business association he has achieved a repu- 
tation for reliability and dependability and among the groups he contacts personally 
strong friendships have been formed that speak well of his traits of good will. 

COLONEL PHILIP THOMPSON CHINN 

x\n outstanding American turfman and member of a family 
long important in the public affairs of the state Colonel Phil Chinn is known to 
the sports writers on every prominent newspaper in America and is the center of 
interest at every active race track in the country. As the master of Old Hickory 
Farm he is the focal point of attention at the great sales barns when auction time 
comes around. The horses he has bred and the horses he has bought and sold have 
won enough money or sold for enough to pay a large amount of the war debt. 
The subject's father was a Democratic leader in Kentucky forty years ago when 
politics in the state was a militant profession with exciting features second only to 
horse racing. Even before the prominent days of the father the Chinn family was 
steeped in the horse tradition and this subject has spread its fame over a more 
widely divergent territory. 

Philip Thompson Chinn first saw the light of day on a farm in Mercer County, 
Kentucky, on October 2, 1874. The father was the late Colonel Jack Chinn, a 
farmer, horseman and politician with a nation-wide acquaintance, who was par- 
ticularly prominent in the trying days of 1900 when the state was in a political 
turmoil over the Goebel-Taylor gubernatorial campaign that resulted in the death 
of Governor William Goebel. Colonel Jack Chinn, a gallant Confederate soldier 
and fearless gentleman, was a close friend of the martyred Governor Goebel and 
was walking with him up the walk to the old Capitol building when he was shot 
from ambush. The mother of this subject was Ruth (Morgan) Chinn, of Mercer 
County, Kentucky. 

The subject is one of four children in his father's family. He attended the 
private schools of Mercer County and entered Georgetown College at George- 
town, Kentucky, and later entered Centre College of Danville, Kentucky, receiving 
his diploma from both Colleges. He took a prominent part in athletic affairs at 
Centre College and also was active in fraternal circles, being a Kappa Alpha. 
He is a charter member of the Thoroughbred Club of America, a member of the 
Lexington Club and a member of the Sons of Confederate Veterans. As have been 
the men of his family through the years he is prominent in the organizational 
circles of Kentucky democracy and is a leader in many public and social service 
movements. In religion he is a member of the Episcopal Church and an influen- 
tial figure in its affairs. 

Philip Thompson Chinn married Elsie Ferguson of Lexington, Kentucky, a 
daughter of a Kentucky horse breeding and racing family, and they are the 
parents of Eleanor Pendleton Chinn who married Hal W. Steele. This couple are 
the parents of Hal Woodford Steele, Jr., and Philip Chinn Steele. Colonel Chinn 




COLONEL PHILIP THOMPSON CHINN 



1844 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

and his family occupy the beautiful family home on the Paris Pike outside of 
Lexington, Kentucky, where the subject finds his relaxation when not visiting the 
tracks and sales barns of the nation. 

Philip Thompson Chinn was born with his interest in horses and the years of 
experience have sharpened his judgments until he is regarded as possibly the great- 
est living authority of thoroughbred horses, an able exponent of blood lines and 
possessor of a "horseman's eye" for a real race horse. He has intensely followed 
horse breeding, buying, selling and racing from his earliest manhood and trading 
as Himyar Stud and later as Old Hickory Farm he holds all world records for 
sales of horses. The record of the world for sales of yearlings by one American 
breeder was achieved by him in 1929 when he sold a total of eighty-six young 
horses for #581,000.00 or an average of #6,756.00 each. 

Although horses form the backbone of the family business, Philip Chinn loves 
the great animals for their own sake and is a vigorous proponent of every measure 
to improve breeding and benefit the industry generally. Realizing that the Blue 
Grass region offers the most favorable rearing conditions of any section of the 
country and that in its boundaries the most judicious breeding is practiced, he 
wants the whole state to profit by the knowledge the Blue Grass breeder has 
gained. He has advocated that in every state where public funds are derived from 
horse breeding the state should allocate sums for locating choice stallions developed 
in the more favored sections, in the sections where such blood is not obtainable for 
stud purposes. His plan is much on the system used by the United States Re- 
mount Service that allocates stallions for calvary purposes. "There must be," he 
says, "an incentive for breeding and there cannot be an incentive unless there are 
good stallions in the various counties standing free to the public." In other words 
he feels that as the states participate in the revenue from racing they should par- 
ticipate in financing its perpetuation. 

The colors of Colonel Chinn have been seen on every track of note in this coun- 
try and from his farm have come such horses as Sarazan, Misstep, Black Maria, 
Roman Soldier, Master Charlies, Roguish Eye, With Regards and Kopla, all of 
which he either bred or sold. He is unquestionably the world's greatest dealer in 
thoroughbred horses and in eighteen years from 1921 to 1938 he sold nine hundred 
and seventy-six yearling for a total of #4,397,000.00, an average of #4,505.12 each. 

A true breeder and the nation's best informed horseman his judgment as to the 
worth of a horse is usually accepted as that horse's true valuation. Philip Chinn 
is a sociable man and throughout the nation his friends are found by the hundreds, 
men in all walks of life who are attracted by his breadth of mind and kindness 
of heart. 



a 



WILLIAM JOHNSON WILSON 



an old Colonial family transplanted to Kentucky from Vir- 
ginia in the latter part of the eighteenth century, William Johnson Wilson carries 
on the tradition of his family in a personally noteworthy life and conducts a busi- 
ness in Paris, Kentucky, creditable to the commercial interests of the Blue Grass. 
He and his family are well known throughout Bourbon County, where there are 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1845 

but few people who have failed to personally contact them through the years they 
have been active in that section. 

William Johnson Wilson was born in Paris, Bourbon County, Kentucky, March 
2, 1907, and is the son of James Sims Wilson and Lucy (Johnson) Wilson, both 
of Paris, Bourbon County. James Sims Wilson has been long in the seed business in 
Paris. His brother, David Thomas Wilson, was his associate. 

William J. Wilson attended the public schools of Paris, graduating from the 
high school and attending the McCallie School for Boys in Chattanooga, Ten- 
nessee. Upon leaving school he located in the state of Oklahoma, where he spent 
seven years cattle ranching before returning to Kentucky and entering the hard- 
ware and farm implement business at Paris. A brother, Douglas McClintock 
Wilson, is his associate in the enterprise, being the one established by their father, 
James Sims Wilson in 1899. The brothers acquired the interest of their uncle in 
this part of the family enterprises and the business is known as Wilson Brothers, 
dealers in implements, farming machinery and hardware. Mr. Wilson is a former 
member of the Paris Rotary Club and in religious matters is connected with the 
Presbyterian Church serving as a Deacon, while politically he is aligned with the 
Democratic party. He finds flying a matter of great interest and has taken up 
aviation in a serious way, holding a pilot's license. He is also, in addition to his 
interest in the hardware firm, owner of the Bourbon Nurseries. 

On July 7, 1928, William Johnson Wilson and Ethel Hilda Slocum of King's 
Ferry, New York, were married and are the parents of three children. The oldest, 
Lucinda Emma Wilson, was born July 26, 1932; William Johnson Wilson, Jr., 
was born March 17, 1934, while the youngest, Ann Pettit Wilson, was born Jan- 
uary 14, 1939. The family residence is on the Bethlehem Pike, Paris, Kentucky. 

William Johnson Wilson is known to a great many people in Bourbon County 
and a great many people value the friendship he inspires and freely gives. His 
business methods conform to the high standard set by his predecessors and ap- 
proved by all Kentucky merchants who make a success of their business. He 
heads an interesting family that are of the warp and woof of the community, 
deeply rooted in its history and proud of their place of residence. 



EDWIN D. AXTON 

JLhe soil of their native state unceasingly calls to Kentuckians 
wherever they may go and whatever line of endeavor they may adopt. To get back 
close to the very soil itself seems to be the ruling passion of those who were accus- 
tomed in the morning of life to feast their eyes on the green fields of Kentucky. 
Hard work in the marts of trade may for a while be their choice and wealth may 
be their lot, but once let success be attained, then the dream of that great country 
estate, or a famous stock farm takes shape. Edwin D. Axton is another successful 
business man who has made this dream a reality — one of two brothers treading the 
same path. He owns an estate comprising eleven hundred and fifty-five acres at 
Skylight, Kentucky, and has developed it into a great estate. Here he breeds the 
famous Aberdeen Angus Cattle and Thoroughbred Horses. A general farm pro- 

5— Vol. IV 



1846 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

gram is also carried out. The agricultural enterprise is a model, just as was the 
manufacturing business conducted by Mr. Axton until his retirement in 1940. 

Edwin D. Axton was born in Ohio County, Kentucky July 24, 1874, and moved 
with his parents to Owensboro, Kentucky in 1880, where he attended the public 
schools of that city. With his brother, Wood F. Axton, he founded the Axton- 
Hilton Tobacco Company in 1906. This Company became the Axton-Fisher 
Tobacco Company and was moved to Louisville, Kentucky. He became Secretary 
and Treasurer of the Company and in 1935 became its President. Retirement from 
the presidency came with his active business retirement in 1940, but he still retains 
membership on the Board of Directors of the Company. Mrs. Axton was Miss 
Blanche Thompson Miller. She was born in Louisville in 1886 and educated in 
the schools of that city. 

The Edwin Axtons are the parents of two sons: Edwin D. Axton, Jr., was born 
in Louisville, Kentucky, August 17, 1916. His early education was received in 
the city schools, and he graduated from Washington and Lee University. He 
married Miss Roslyn Saindow, and they have two daughters. Mr. Axton, Jr., is 
employed at the Crescent Panel Company at Louisville. The younger son is Wil- 
liam Fitch Axton, who was born September 24, 1926, and is now attending Louis- 
ville Male High School. 

The father of Edwin D. Axton, the elder, was Isaac H. Axton, who was born 
in 1840 in Breckinridge County, Kentucky and died in Owensboro, Kentucky in 
1900. His mother was born in 1844 and died in 1908 in Louisville, Kentucky. 

A business man of undoubted ability and energy and a Kentucky gentleman in 
the best tradition, Edwin D. Axton can be said to have a personal success as well 
as a business one for he has developed many personal friends. 

LEONARD B. SHOUSE 

J. his note-worthy subject is a nationally known sportsman, and 
one of the most popular citizens of Lexington. He became a resident of the 
metropolis a half a century ago, and the years intervening have been devoted to 
public service and social betterment, and in every endeavor he has striven for the 
better way of life for his country and his community. Premier Hotel man of 
his section, his life and record is a record of interest to all who would know 
Kentucky and the man who held its banner high. 

Leonard B. Shouse, who was born on the farm of his father December 22, 1869, 
was the son of Thomas Henry Shouse and Susan Johnson Shouse, Anderson 
County, Kentucky. He was educated in the public schools of Anderson County. 
His mother died March, 1872; his father died April, 1883. He came to Fayette 
County in 1885 at the age of sixteen, was employed on a dairy farm until September, 
1888, after which he became connected with the Florentine Hotel, of Lexington, 
Kentucky, until 1890, when he moved to the Ashland, later known as the Drake 
Hotel. 

In 1892, he entered the retail grocery business at Main & Dcwccs Streets, with 




LEONARD B. SHOUSE 



1848 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

R. T. Nugent. In 1894, Nugent retired, and James T. Looney succeeded him, 
under the firm name of Shouse & Looney. In 1907, still having a hankering for 
his first love, the Hotel business, he and James T. Looney bought the Florentine, a 
hotel of fifty rooms, remodeled it and changed the name to the Leonard Hotel. 
Mr. Looney continued to manage the Grocery, while Mr. Shouse managed the 
hotel. 

In 1912, the partnership was dissolved, Mr. Looney taking the Grocery and Mr. 
Shouse the hotel. 

In 1917, Mr. Shouse sold the Leonard Hotel and, together with a group of 
business men, formed a stock company and built the Lafayette Hotel, a modernly 
equipped hotel, with 300 rooms, completed and opened for business December, 
1920. Mr. Shouse, who was made President and General Manager, has held this 
position until the present time. 

In addition to the duties of the executive of the Hotel Company, he is Director 
of the First National Bank & Trust Company; Director of the Lexington Water 
Company; Director of Board of Commerce; Director of the National AAA Auto- 
mobile Club, Director of Keeneland Race Association, and President of the Blue 
Grass Automobile Club of Lexington, Kentucky. 

Mr. Shouse has been quite active in the interest of good roads and the pro- 
motion of better highways. 

In 1938, he was awarded the silver trophy by the Lexington Optimist Club, as 
the citizen of that year, who most worthily and effectively served the community, 
and was signally honored with the presentation of the cup. This action was widely 
acclaimed by the citizens of Lexington and the press of the State as being most 
fitting. The Stanford Interior Journal writing in this regard — Note: "We con- 
gratulate Lexington and the Optimist Club on its action in thus recognizing the 
real merit of this leadership. We do not know of a man in that fine city upon 
whom the honor might have been more worthily bestowed." 

The Lexington Leader — "If there is anything worthwhile in Lexington that he 
has not had a hand in, in many years, it would be difficult to name it." 

Leonard B. Shouse married Sarah Ann Richardson, of Lexington, Kentucky, 
and they are the parents of three children. The oldest son, Leonard B. Shouse, 
Jr., Manager of the Lafayette Hotel, married Annie Griffy, of Woodford County, 
Kentucky, who are also the parents of three children, Ann Frazier Shouse, Leonard 
B. Shouse III, and Peggy Shouse. 

Frances Shouse, daughter of Leonard B. Shouse, married Laurie J. Blakely, 
of Covington, Kentucky. The younger son, John Thomas Shouse, is Assistant 
Manager of the Hotel property. 

Leonard B. Shouse, in hours of relaxation, finds interest in fox hunting, and 
gives attention to raising hounds and bird dogs, having three times served the 
National Foxhunters Association as its President. 

Mr. Shouse, still quite active in business and civic interests, is outstanding as a 
public spirited citizen, an able leader, and his ability to serve his community and 
give genuine friendship, has made him worthy of all the tribute paid him as an 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1849 

"Outstanding Citizen," not only for one year, but for the many years of his 
valuable service. 



o, 



ST. ALOYSIUS CHURCH 



'n New Year's Day, 1865 the corner stone of St. Aloysius Church 
was laid in Covington, Kentucky. The building was proposed to be one hundred 
by sixty-five feet and on November 24th of the same year the building was dedi- 
cated to divine service by Bishop Carrell, a large delegation of visiting clergy as- 
sisting. Father Kuhr celebrated High Mass and Rev. F. X. Weninger preached an 
eloquent sermon in German. Father Froelich received enthusiastic support from 
the parishioners that kept the congregation above water during the time when a 
debt of over $100,000.00 drew an annual interest of $6,000.00. In 1873 Father 
Froelich passed away and Rev. John Stephany succeeded him until June 21, 1886, 
when he was called by death. Rev. Joseph Blenke succeeded to the pastorate 
which had been placed under an irremovable rectorship. His service was terminated 
by death on January 28, 1907. 

The present Pastor, Rt. Rev. Msgr. I. M. Ahmann, V.G., was sent to the church 
from St. John's, Carrollton, Kentucky, and during his tenure the Parish of St. 
Aloysius has grown steadily in size and influence. Through his efforts the Church 
has been renovated to its present state of beauty and a school has been erected. 
In making preparations for a Golden Jubilee of the congregation and the Silver 
Jubilee of Father Ahmann it was determined in 1911 to reconstruct the entire 
church building and the plain structure of mixed Gothic and Roman Renaissance 
design. The entire facade was completely transformed and the old belfry and 
Gothic spire replaced with a graceful cupola. An ornate pro-style portico was 
erected at each entrance to take the place of the plain doorways. The interior was 
remodeled and redecorated to harmonize with the beautiful exterior previous to 
the Jubilee of the pastor on Christmas Day, 1914, and that of the Congregation 
on January 8, 1915. The entire scheme of decoration is as well calculated to in- 
spire devotion because of the deeply religious significance of its symbolism as it 
is to excite admiration for the exquisite skill displayed in executing the noble con- 
ceptions of the designers. Nothing short of marvelous resulted in this transforma- 
tion of the venerable Church of St. Aloysius. It was on May 30, 1915 the Golden 
Jubilee was celebrated with solemn High Pontifical Mass said by Rt. Reverend 
Bernard Menges, Abbott, of Cullman, Alabama. In 1930 the sanctuary was en- 
larged with beautiful bronze gates and new tiling at an expenditure of $10,000.00. 

By 1932 the question of a new school had become acute and in that year the 
building on Eighth Street was begun, rapid progress was made and the corner 
stone laid September 18, 1932. Despite the disagreeable weather that followed 
the school was under roof in December and ready for occupancy a few months later. 
It is an up-to-date architectural gem that not only the Parish, but the City of 
Covington can view with pride. St. Aloysius Parish is an example of what can 
be accomplished when all work in harmony and with sacrifice for it is a well es- 
tablished Parish functioning with the good will and generosity of its parishioners 



1850 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

For his enthusiastic work the Pastor was made a Right Reverend Monsignor by 
Pope Pius XI, of Saintly Memory. The investiture was performed by the Most 
Reverend Bishop F. William Howard, D.D., who also praised the zealous work 
of the Monsignor and said the new school would be a "monument to Monsignor 
Ahmann." Bishop Howard also made Monsignor Ahmann a Vicar General. 
Monsignor Ahmann has also been a worker in the literary world, and has con- 
tributed much to the literature of the church. His "Forget-me-nots of Past and 
Present" depicted his work in Carrollton, Kentucky, where he built a beautiful 
Gothic church. 

The Rt. Rev. I. M. Ahmann, V.G., Covington, Kentucky, observed the golden 
jubilee of his priesthood on May 23, 1940; and on the same day, his parish, St. 
Aloysius, celebrated its diamond jubilee. Msgr. Ahmann was born in Germany in 
1865, the same year that St. Aloysius Parish was created in Covington. He came 
to America when he was 14. He studied the classics at St. Vincent's College in 
Pennsylvania, and philosophy and theology at St. Mary's. He was ordained by 
Bishop Maes in 1889. His first appointment was to St. Stephen's, Newport, where 
he spent one year. He was afterwards curate at St. Patrick's, Verona, for two 
years; pastor of St. John's, Carrollton for 14 years. Here he built a church. He 
has been pastor of St. Aloysius since April 2, 1907. The jubilee Mass was sung 
by Msgr. Ahmann in presence of the Most Rev. Francis W. Howard, Bishop of 
Covington. 



NORMAN P. AND LEROY M. SMITH 



Nc 



Iorman P. Smith and Leroy M. Smith, sons of Dr. Orrin Leroy 
Smith, were born in Lexington, Kentucky on April 27, 1905 and November 28, 
1906, respectively. Their father, a practicing physician, was born in Shelby County, 
Illinois, June 22, 1870. Their mother, Caroline B. Spellman, was born in Albany, 
New York, on November 20, 1870. Dr. Orrin Leroy Smith practiced medicine 
in Chicago, specializing in diseases of the eye, ear, nose and throat and later moved 
his offices to Lexington in 1903, continuing his practice there until the time of 
his death in May, 1929. 

The elder son, Norman P. Smith, married Tevis Ray Bethurum of Mt. Vernon, 
Kentucky, on April 23, 1928 and she died on April 2, 1941. Of this union there 
were no children. On October 15, 1941, he married Agnes Hogan of Frankfort, 
Kentucky and to them was born a son on July 2, 1943, Norman P. Smith, III. 

Norman P. Smith was educated in the schools of Fayette County, Kentucky and 
later attended Augusta Military Academy in Virginia for two years. He also 
attended business college in Lexington, Kentucky. 

The other son, Leroy M. Smith, married Diana Brownfield of Covington, Ken- 
tucky on November 10, 1929. On November 30, 1935, they adopted two children 
— twin boys — Noel Willis and Lee Orrin Smith. 

Leroy M. Smidi, like his brother Norman, was educated in the county schools 
of Fayette County, attending Augusta Military Academy for one year. He later 




NORMAN P. SMITH 



1852 A SESQU1-CENTENNIAL 

attended the City Schools of Lexington and afterwards spent two years at the 
University of Kentucky in the College of Engineering. 

The two brothers, in August of 1929, purchased what was then known as The 
Lexington Cab Company, a company operating five taxicabs in Lexington and 
Fayette County. This company was incorporated by the two brothers at the time 
of the purchase and was successfully operated by them as such when early in 1934 
they transferred their business to the Lexington Yellow Cab Company, a corporation 
which they had organized the year before. 

In October, 1934, the brothers were the successful bidders for a franchise that 
had been offered by the City of Lexington for the operation of city busses and 
during that month put into operation a fleet of modern transit type busses on the 
streets of Lexington. This operation grew into a successful business employing 
a very large number of men which, together with the taxicab business which had 
not been neglected through this period, was now a flourishing enterprise. 

Early in the year 1941 the Smith brothers disposed of their bus operation to 
Mr. D. D. Stewart, but retained the taxicab operation which has now grown to 
a fleet of sixty taxicabs operating in Lexington and Fayette County. This company 
maintains its own garage and repair shop where all repairs are made and where 
cars that are not in service are stored. 

In addition to the taxicab company the brothers have interests in the transpor- 
tation field in Tampa, Florida. In the latter part of 1941, they purchased the 
Tampa Transit Company, a bus operation serving the city of Tampa. After this 
company was acquired a new company was organized, Tampa Transit Lines, in- 
corporated, which has since secured a 20 year franchise, operating a fleet of ap- 
proximately 50 busses. In the early spring of 1944 Air Base Bus Lines was pur- 
chased by them and immediately a new company, Tampa Air Base Bus Lines was 
formed, an operation serving U. S. Army flying fields adjacent to Tampa. Norman 
P. Smith spends the greater part of his time in Tampa, Florida where he manages 
and operates their Florida holdings. 

Early in 1944 they purchased two farms in Scott County, Kentucky consisting 
of 733 acres. Leroy M. Smith resides on a 380 acre tract and operates the two 
farms, together with the transportation company in Lexington, Kentucky. 



STAFFORD E. McKENNA 



A, 



lLthough the name McKenna is no longer associated with 
distilleries in Kentucky, residents of this State well remember Stafford E. Mc- 
Kenna, of Fairfield, one of the owners and operators of H. McKenna distillery. 

Born in Fairfield, April 23, 1861, he became associated with his father and 
brothers in the distillery after receiving his A.B. degree at St. Mary's College' St. 
Mary's, Kentucky. His death occurred January 16, 1935. 

Operations of the McKenna distillery were halted during prohibition, and when 
that law was repealed it again came into its own, producing the fine liquor for 
which it had an enviable reputation. 

Stafford E. McKenna married Mary Lee Constantine, also of Fairfield. She was 




LEROY M. SMITH 



1854 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

born in 1863, and died March 7, 1937, two years after her husband. Of this union 
six daughters were born, all of them being educated at Nazareth College, Nazareth, 
Kentucky. 

Miss Frances McKenna became Mrs. Thomas A. Gilkey, and was widowed at 
his death in 1939. They had four children, namely, S/Sgt. Thomas A. Gilkey, 
serving with the Army Air Forces since October, 1942. First Lieutenant Eleanor 
Gilkey, with the Army Nurse Corps in England. Stafford McKenna Gilkey, and 
Mrs. Emory Cole, II, of Baltimore, Maryland (formerly Mary Gilkey) . She and 
Mr. Cole have a son, Walter Emory, III. 

Miss Eleanor McKenna, who married Joseph E. Pitt, of Fairfield. Their son, 
Joseph Stafford Pitt, has been a member of the United States Marine Reserve 
since May, 1942. 

Miss Mary Lee McKenna married William P. Kelly, of Louisville, Kentucky. 
Their children are Mary Lee Kelly, Patricia Kelly and William P. Kelly, Jr. 

Miss Stafford McKenna, who lives at Fairfield, has taken an active interest in 
the management of their farm and in civic work. 

Miss Helen McKenna married Thomas F. Mooney, of Cincinnati, Ohio. They 
have twin sons, namely, James J. and Stafford McK. Mooney. 

Miss Marcella McKenna took an active part in the operations of the McKenna 
distillery from 1933 until the plant was sold in 1941. Since that time she has been 
associated in the Radio Industry. 

D. RODMAN DUELL 

-Lhe leading mortician of Woodford County, Kentucky, and a 
business man and citizen who is favorably known throughout the Blue Grass, 
D. Rodman Duell is a noteworthy resident of Versailles, Kentucky. Almost thirty 
years ago he moved from a neighboring county to the city in which he makes his 
home and in the time that has intervened the people of his community have be- 
come acquainted with his character and methods of living and conducting business 
and it all meets with their approval. 

Rodman Duell was born in Larue County, Kentucky, April 9, 1876, the young- 
est of seven sons born to Charles Duell and Laura (Washer) Duell. Both parents 
were from Nelson County, Kentucky, where the father engaged in farming through- 
out his life. The year and place of the subject's birth peculiarly link him to the 
history of the county, he having been born in the hundredth anniversary year of 
the signing of the Declaration of Independence, celebrated by the Philadelphia 
Centennial Exposition, and in the same county that provided a birth place for 
Abraham Lincoln. 

The subject attended the public schools of Larue County, which in that day were 
largely of the "Old Log School House" type, and after completing his educational 
preparation joined his father in the operation of the family farm. Growing to 
young manhood he was attracted by the possibilities of the profession of mortician 
and entered the Cincinnati College of Embalming to secure a thorough training in 
its practices. He won his diploma in 1907 and entered the undertaking business 
in Sonora, Kentucky, and engaged in embalming and undertaking at that point 



1856 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

until 1911 when he opened an establishment at Harrodsburg, Kentucky. Four 
years later, on December 22, 1915, he opened a funeral home in Versailles, Ken- 
tucky, the establishment he is now conducting. The funeral home consists of a 
complete sales room, equipment, a chapel and all the modern appurtenances for 
the last offices of the dead. 

Mr. Duell is a Mason, Webb Chapter No. 6, of which he is Past High Priest, 
a member and Past Master of Land Mart Lodge No. 41, Past Commander of 
Versailles Commandery No. 3, and the Shrine, Oleika Temple. He is also a 
member of the Knights of Pythias and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
He is a member of the Baptist Church and takes an interest in the work of its 
organization. He affiliates with the Democratic party politically. He was form- 
erly a member of the Versailles Country Club and enjoys a game of golf. Mr. 
Duell is a member of the State Board of Funeral Directors and served the state 
seven years as a member of the Kentucky Embalming Board. He is very proud of 
the personnel he has drawn around him in building his business and it is with 
special pleasure that he points to the pictures of five young men now in the armed 
forces who were formerly employees. Three of the original Duell brothers are yet 
living. They are Oliver J. Duell, Walker W. Duell and Gatton L. Duell, all 
prosperous farmers in Larue County, Kentucky. 

D. Rodman Duell and Ruth Tabb, of Hardin County, Kentucky, were married 
August 25, 1903 and the family resides at 300 Lexington Street, Versailles, Ken- 
tucky, where their quiet home is a gathering place for their neighbors and friends. 

D. Rodman Duell is ever ready to give of his time and talents to public service 
and has often done so not only to his home city but to the county of Woodford 
and the state of Kentucky. A good neighbor and friend he possesses that kindli- 
ness of spirit that is so often sustaining in the trying hours that come when the 
mortician must be called. The help he has extended in the times of sorrow is a 
pleasant memory to many people of Woodford County and a bereaved family al- 
ways feels more at peace when the affairs of their deceased are in charge of Rod- 
man Duell. 

THOMAS E. HARDESTY 

Jlt is eminently fitting that the family of Thomas E. Hardesty 
should occupy a place of importance in a Sesqui-Centennial History of Kentucky 
for it was one hundred and fifty years ago that the founder of the family in Ken- 
tucky arrived from Virginia. He was the grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch, Thomas E. Hardesty, who is a native of Washington County and makes 
his home in Springfield. This is the same county in which the grandfather settled 
in 1792. He was but fourteen years of age at the time, but young as he was the 
State of his adoption was even younger, for it was in that year that the dignity 
of Statehood was achieved. In the long years that followed this grandfather was 
to see history in the making, and be a part of many momentous events that were 
to effect the life of a nation. On the pages of his memory were stored many of 
the high lights, events that are now found on the pages of history. He attended 
the marriage of Thomas Lincoln and Nancy Hanks, the couple that became the 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1857 

parents of Abraham Lincoln, and the first deed recorded in Washington County 
was one to this subject's grandmother in 1792. 

To the pioneer family six children were born, the youngest being William Thomas 
Hardesty, the father of the subject of this sketch, who was born in Washington 
County in 1837, and died in 1924. He was a farmer and married the subject's 
mother, Ann Elizabeth Bishop, who was born in Washington County in 1853, and 
died in 1940. The couple were the parents of nine children of which Thomas E. 
Hardesty was the second. He was born in 1876 in Washington County, and at- 
tended the Mt. Zion School of that county and also the Hardesty School. He 
began work for his brother as a barber in 1895, and for forty-eight years has con- 
ducted a barbering establishment in Springfield. He is a member of the State 
Board of Barbers and Beauticians, serving his third term, having been appointed 
once by Governor Chandler and twice by Governor Johnson. 

In 1902 Thomas E. Hardesty and Mary Emily Lanham were married, the bride 
being a native of Lebanon, Kentucky, born in 1883. To them were born three 
children, one, Dorothy Lillian (Hardesty) Polin, yet living. She was born in 
Springfield, Kentucky in 1913 and attended the public schools of that city and 
Nazareth College at Bardstown, Kentucky, marrying William Polin of Springfield. 
She is now a responsible employee in the Internal Revenue Department at Louis- 
ville. 

Thomas E. Hardesty has lived long in Springfield, and the passing years have 
endeared him more and more to his friends and associates, building through time 
an enviable reputation as a man of integrity and stability, one in which a com- 
munity can put its trust. He has worked to add to the place his family already 
held in the community, and his labors have borne fruit for he has earned for 
himself the proud title of good citizen and good man. 



Th 



OSWALD McMINNUS KINGTON 



he name of Kington is almost synonymous with coal mining 
in Kentucky, three generations of this family having devoted their time and talents 
to this important industry. Until 1935 it was the chief interest of Oswald Mc- 
Minnus Kington, who in that year turned his attention to farming, leaving his son, 
William Hays Kington, to carry on the family tradition. 

First of the Kingtons to enter this field was William Ward Kington, born in 
Mortons Gap, Kentucky, in 1861. He was a lad of 18 when he first donned a 
miner's cap and for 55 years he continued in that business, retiring from the opera- 
tion of some of Kentucky's most productive mines in 1935. 

As a youngster, Oswald M. Kington, who was born in Mortons Gap in 1891, 
found great fascination in watching his father and other Mortons Gap miners 
descend into the bowels of the earth to take from it the valuable coal stored there. 
At an early age he decided to follow in his father's footsteps and until 1928 he 
was associated with the elder Mr. Kington in that business. 

Then Mr. Kington went into business for himself, operating a mine at Rich- 



1858 A SESQUI -CENTENNIAL 

land, Kentucky, until 1933. Since that time farming has been his principal interest 
and his present farm near Madisonville, Kentucky, now occupies his time. 

At 29, his son, William Hayes Kington, now manages the Kington-Kington Mine, 
having assumed those duties in 1943. His career in the business in which his 
family has been so well-known for more than six decades began in the Six Vein 
Mine. Both of these are among his father's present holdings. 

The younger Kington, born in 1915 in Mortons Gap, attended the public schools 
in Madisonville and received his college training at Georgetown College, George- 
town, Kentucky, and the University of Kentucky. His wife is the former Mar- 
garet Clark, born in Lebanon, Kentucky. They have two children, Barry Clark 
Kington, born September 2, 1942, and Janet Elizabeth, born August 17, 1944. 

Oswald McMinnus Kington was married in 1912 to Miss Lila Jane Jones, also 
of Mortons Gap. He has two brothers. One is Hammond L. Kington, who is 
married to the former Miss Ruby Collins of Madisonville and who has one son, 
Donald Mason Kington, born in 1928; the other is George M. Kington, who is 
married to the former Miss Helen Sugg, of Morganfield, Kentucky. Their chil- 
dren are Barbara and Eleanor Kington. 

Mr. and Mrs. Oswald McMinnus Kington are the parents of two other children 
in addition to the aforementioned William Hayes Kington. They are: Betty Jane, 
born in Mortons Gap, Kentucky, September 2, 1920, and Oswald McMinnus 
Kington, Jr., born in Madisonville, Kentucky, August 13, 1931. Betty Jane grad- 
uated from the Madisonville High School, Ward-Belmont, of Nashville, Tennessee, 
and the University of Kentucky. She became the wife of Major Floyd R. Gilfoil, 
Jr., of Syracuse, New York, who is now serving his country overseas with the 9th 
Army. O. M. Kington, Jr., is now a student at the Madisonville High School. 

As the man who spent more than half a century in the coal mining business sees 
today's crying need for this important product, he can indeed be proud in retro- 
spect. The lifetime he devoted to that industry is paying dividends now as car 
after car of coal speeds on its way to bring Victory nearer. 



EDWARD LITTLE GAMBILL, D.D.S. 



A 



professional man of standing, gentleman farmer, stock breeder, 
war veteran and cultured man of affairs, the subject of this sketch enjoys a solid 
social and professional position in Kentucky's second city, where he is engaged 
in the practice of periodontia and general dentistry. 

Dr. Edward Little Gambill was born in Jackson, Kentucky, the son of William 
Esquire and Catherine (Little) Gambill and received his primary education in the 
public schools of his community. He married Margaret Cleveland of Paris, Bourbon 
County, Kentucky, June 17, 1937. She is a daughter of Ernest Cromwell and 
Sally (Cook) Cleveland, of Paris, Kentucky, and they make their home on their 
farm on the Georgetown Road, near Paris, Bourbon County. Mrs. Gambill is very 
active in Woman's Club work in Bourbon and Fayette Counties. 

In 1910, Dr. Gambill entered Georgetown University at Washington, D. G, 
and upon graduation was awarded the degree of D.D.S., and in 1914 passed the 




EDWARD LITTLE GAMBILL, D.D.S. 



1860 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Board of Dental Examiners for the District of Columbia as a dental surgeon and 
in the same year successfully took the examination of the Kentucky Dental Exam- 
ining Board. Since completing his formal education he has taken postgraduate 
work at the University of Michigan. He entered the World War when this 
country was drawn into that struggle and was stationed at Camp Mead, Maryland, 
being discharged from the service at Camp Taylor, Kentucky, in December, 1918. 
He is a member of the American Academy of Periodontology, the Blue-Grass 
Dental Society, Lexington, Kentucky; the Kentucky State Dental Association, and 
the National Dental Association, and has read many papers of professional interest 
before the meetings of these bodies and given professional service at local clinics 
and State Dental Meetings. In addition to activities not directly connected with his 
profession Doctor Gambill is a member of the American Hereford Association 
and is interested in modern farming and stock breeding, owning several farms and 
extensive timber land in the eastern section of Kentucky. He is also a member of 
the Lexington Chamber of Commerce and the American Legion, being a member 
of the Man O' War Post at Lexington. 

His offices are located in the First National Bank Building in Lexington, Ken- 
tucky. Doctor Gambill finds relaxation in his leisure time in amateur sculpture 
and composing light verse, activities which are often admired by his friends. For 
outdoor life he finds an outlet in fishing and hiking. He is a Republican politically 
but is inclined to follow an independent course in election years, and in religion 
he is aligned with the Brethren Church. 

Dr. Edward Little Gambill has endeared himself to many since he began his 
life in Lexington and his work in social and public affairs has attracted attention 
to him as a citizen. Of pleasing personality all who contact him like him and 
find him ethical both professionally and personally. 



FRANCIS WETHERELL EDGERTON 



A 



decade and A half of life in Lexington have made this subject 
and his family a part of the city's social and business life and prominent in the 
activities incident to church circles as well as those of social service and civic 
promotion. 

Francis Wethrell Edgerton was born in Brooklyn, New York, April 29, 1882, 
a son of Francis Monroe Edgerton, who was born in East Poultney, Vermont, 
Aprtil 11, 1840, and died December 17, 1907. He was a real estate operator in 
New York and was a member of the Masonic fraternity, attaining the 32nd 
Degree of that Order in whose affairs he was very active. Mr. Edgerton's 
mother was Sara Frances (Townsend) Edgerton born in Troy, New York, 
July 28, 1850, and died April 1, 1915. Her family were prominent in state 
affairs in New York. Francis W. Edgerton married Leida Mae Weeks, of 
Brooklyn, New York, July 14, 1905, and they are the parents of two children: 
Beatrice Taylor Edgerton married Philip Homer Barnes, of Lawrenceville, Illinois, 
who is now associated with her father's business in Lexington. Joy Meredith 
Edgerton married Richard Marshall Rankin, of Lexington, Kentucky, and they 
are the parents of a son, Alan Meredith Rankin. 




FRANCIS WETHERELL EDGERTON 



1862 A SESQUI -CENTENNIAL 

Francis W. Edgerton attended the public schools of Brooklyn, New York, 
graduating from a Brooklyn high school in 1899, and beginning his business 
career as office boy for an industrial concern of Brooklyn, later spending seven 
years with a banking house in Brooklyn, after which he became connected with 
the Indian Refining Company, working in their general offices in New York 
City. Later he transferred to the company's refinery at Lawrenceville, Illinois, 
spending a total of nineteen years with the Indian Refining Company and rising 
to the position of Assistant Controller, his connection only terminating when 
the holdings of that corporation were disposed of to the Texas Oil Company 
in 1930. In 1931 he moved to Lexington and purchased a small business — a 
line of vending machines, and established the Edgerton Cigarette Service Com- 
pany. By hard work and attention to the affairs of his concern the business 
has grown until it now covers fifteen counties in central Kentucky, with head- 
quarters at 108 Church Street, Lexington, Kentucky. In addition to the affairs 
of his business Mr. Edgerton gives of his time to the Lexington Chamber of 
Commerce, the Kiwanis Club, The Sons of the Revolution and the Lexington 
Executive Club of which he is a Vice-President. He is a member of the Presby- 
terian Church, of which he is a Trustee and to which he contributes considerable 
attention. He finds his greatest interests away from business in books and literary 
research and the family home at 1715 Versailles Pike is an ideal place for Mr. 
Edgerton to enjoy the literary life toward which he is inclined. 

Quiet and restful in his living and methodical in business he has built a circle 
of friends in his home city who appreciate him and enjoy contact with him. 
He and his family are a component part of the community life and occupy an 
enviable position in social and civic affairs. 



THE DIOCESE OF COVINGTON 

JLhe history of the territory of the present Diocese of Covington 
and the arrival of Catholics in this section takes us back to pioneer days when 
Kentucky was a part of the State of Virginia, and when the colonies along the 
Atlantic began to expand, pushing farther and farther westward the outposts of 
civilization. 

Before 1790 there were many Catholic families scattered throughout the eastern 
part of Kentucky which makes up the present Diocese of Covington, especially 
in the Blue Grass region and north along the Ohio. Their spiritual welfare was 
a genuine care of the Prefect Apostolic of the country, Rev. John Carroll, and the 
occasional visits of missionaries which he directed to this distant mission brought 
consolation to the homes of the pioneers and inspired new hope. 

For almost a score of years, Eastern Kentucky, as the rest of the United States, 
was a part of the Diocese of Baltimore. In 1808 Baltimore was raised to the 
dignity of a metropolitan see, and the Dioceses of New York, Philadelphia, Bos- 
ton, and Bardstown (Kentucky) were erected. The new Diocese of Bardstown 
included the States of Kentucky, Tennessee, and Indiana and the eastern portion 
of Illinois. The present Diocese of Covington thus in 1808 came under the juris- 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1863 

diction of the Bishop of Bardstown. As time went on the large Diocese of Bards- 
town underwent changes. The Diocese of Vincennes in 1834 took from it Indiana 
and eastern Illinois; in 1837 the Diocese of Nashville took the State of Tennessee, 
leaving only the State of Kentucky for the Diocese of Bardstown. In 1841 the 
episcopal see of Bardstown was transferred to Louisville. About 1848 the juris- 
diction over the territory of the present Diocese of Covington was divided between 
the Bishop of Cincinnati and the Bishop of Louisville. Because of the proximity, 
the Diocese of Cincinnati included in Kentucky the towns of Covington and New- 
port, and the adjacent territory to the distance of three miles. The Bishop of 
Louisville had under his care the rest of the territory. This situation continued 
until the formation of the Diocese of Covington July 29, 1853. The new diocese 
became a suffragan diocese of the Province of Cincinnati, and remained such until 
the erection of the new Province of Louisville February 23, 1838, when it was 
attached to that province. 

At the time of the establishment of the new Diocese of Covington, the city of 
Covington itself had only two churches — St. Mary's for the English speaking 
people, and Mother of God, for the German speaking people; while Newport had 
only one church, Corpus Christi. Throughout the rest of the new diocese, priests 
resided at Frankfort, Lexington (St. Peter's Church) , Four Mile Creek (in Camp- 
bell County) , and Maysville, attending missions attached to their respective 
parishes. 

In 1833 a lot was obtained by the Catholics of Covington at the southeast corner 
of Fifth Street and present Montgomery Street for church purposes. St. Mary's 
Parish, Covington, received a resident pastor in 1837, in the person of Rev. Stephen 
H. Montgomery, a Dominican Father. Up to this time, as the Catholic Directories 
state, St. Mary's Church had been attended from the Cathedral of Cincinnati on 
the third and fourth Sundays of the month. For almost a decade St. Mary's was 
the only church in Covington. The first Catholic settlers in Covington were mostly 
of Irish descent, but the immigrations of subsequent years brought to Covington, 
as to other towns and cities along the Ohio River, a large Catholic population of 
German descent. St. Mary's congregation soon became a mixed congregation of 
English speaking and German speaking people. Rev. Montgomery administered 
to the spiritual needs of all the faithful of the vicinity, both those of German and 
those of Irish origin. In 1841 Father Montgomery was also attending the con- 
gregation of Maysville, prior to the erection of St. Patrick Church there. In 1845 
three other missions were placed under the care of the pastor of St. Mary's, Cov- 
ington. 

In the early forties, the number of families of German origin of St. Mary's 
Parish having increased to about twenty-five, the German speaking people desired 
the ministry of a German speaking priest, and when a German speaking priest 
had been provided for them, they separated from the St. Mary congregation to 
form a congregation of their own. The German speaking Catholics of Northern 
Kentucky in 1841 obtained a pastor in the person of Rev. Ferdinand Kuhr, a 
recently appointed assistant of Holy Trinity Church, Cincinnati. For a while after 
his arrival at Covington, Father Kuhr said Mass for the German people at St. Mary's 



1864 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Church, Fifth St., but the arrangement proved impractical, and thus the German 
speaking Catholics rented a hall in the Old National Hotel Building on Scott 
Street between Fifth and Sixth, for church purposes. This new German congre- 
gation was blessed under the title of "Mother of God," in honor of the An- 
nunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Within a few years, when the number of 
parishioners had grown sufficiently numerous to warrant the undertaking, the new 
German congregation began the erection of a parish church, which was consecrated 
in 1851 by the Right Reverend Bishop Henni of Milwaukee, formerly pastor of 
Holy Trinity Church in Cincinnati. The lapse of twenty years presented the need 
of a larger church, and in 1870 the erection of the present beautiful Mother of 
God Church, on West Sixth Street was begun. 

From 1841, St. Mary's Church, Fifth Street, was attended by the English speak- 
ing people only of Covington. Father Montgomery's pastorate after the separation 
of the German speaking people from the parish continued four more years, until 
1846. Successors to him were Rev. Charles Boeswald, Rev. Heymann, Rev. John 
Lamy, and Rev. Thomas T. Butler. Father Butler became pastor of St. Mary's 
Parish, Covington, in 1851. During the eight years from 1845 to 1853 the popu- 
lation of Covington practically trebled itself, and there was a marked increase in the 
size of the parish of St. Mary, so much so that the little church could no longer ac- 
commodate all the English-speaking Catholics of the city. A lot was secured on 
Eighth Street for the site of the new church and plans for its building were formu- 
lated by Father Butler. At that time, however, the announcement of the formation 
of the new Diocese of Covington with Covington as the Episcopal See, was made 
and this brought a halt to the plans for the building of the church. 

On July 29, 1853, the Diocese of Covington was erected, covering the eastern 
part of the state of Kentucky with the Very Reverend George Aloysius Carrell, 
S.J., as its first Bishop. It was then decided that the plans for the building of a 
new St. Mary's would be continued and that it would become the Cathedral Church. 
The corner stone of the new St. Mary's Cathedral was laid by Bishop-elect Carrell 
on Sunday, October 2, 1853, and the consecration of Bishop Carrell took place on 
November 1, 1853 in the Cathedral of Cincinnati. The new St. Mary's Cathedral 
was dedicated June 11, 1854. 

In 1855 a St. Mary's School for boys was opened on Seventh St., between Mad- 
ison and Scott. In the following year Bishop Carrell opened a school for girls 
on Scott Street between Seventh and Eighth, under the care of the Sisters of 
Charity of Nazareth. 

The little St. Mary's Parish with its humble origin back in 1853 was the pre- 
cursor of the present large Cathedral parish. When the Diocese was formed it 
developed into the Cathedral Parish. 

WILLIAM EDWARD JACKSON, JR., B.F, F.E. 

iiNOTHER man who has found in his life's work his greatest in- 
terest is the subject of this sketch. Forestry, a field of endeavor that has proven 
absorbing to many of the most active minds in America, is the profession Wil- 




WILLIAM EDWARD JACKSON, JR., B.F., F.E. 



1866 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Ham E. Jackson, Jr., has made his vocation and it is happily for him an avoca- 
tion as well. Many years in this work for the Federal Government, for the 
State of Kentucky and for the University of Kentucky have made him an authority 
whose opinion bears weight. 

William Edward Jackson, Jr., was born in Covington, Kentucky, December 
22, 1887, an only child. His father was William Edward Jackson, a merchant 
of Harrodsburg, Kentucky, who died in 1937. The mother was Theresa (Shry- 
ock) Jackson of Fayette County, Kentucky. The subject attended a private 
school of Harrodsburg, Kentucky, and the Harrodsburg Academy, graduating 
from the latter institution in 1906, after which he entered the University of 
Kentucky for a course in civil engineering. From this latter institution he went 
to the Biltmore Forestry School, of Asheville, North Carolina, where he gradu- 
ated in forestry in 1910 and received his degree of Forest Engineer. Entering 
the United States Forestry service he was stationed in the government forests of 
the northwestern portion of the United States for twelve years and at the end 
of that period was appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture, Mr. Clell 
Coleman, as State Forester for Kentucky. He served his state in this capacity 
for the decade of 1924 to 1934 when he returned to the service of the Federal 
Government and was assigned to the Fifth Corps Area as Liaison Officer in the 
Civilian Conservation Corps work, remaining with the government for three 
years. He resigned to take up University Extension work with the College of 
Agriculture of the University of Kentucky and he is now connected with this 
branch of work furthering the interests of forestry. He is a member of the 
Kappa Sigma fraternity, the Society of American Forresters and a member of the 
Masonic Order, holding membership with Mercer Lodge No. 777, Harrodsburg, 
Kentucky. 

William Edward Jackson, Jr., married Nancy Robb, of Nicholasville, Ken- 
tucky, and she died in 1938. Three daughters were born of this union. The 
oldest is Nancy Ann Jackson, a graduate of the University of Kentucky and 
formerly a Lieutenant, Junior Grade, in the Waves, who is now married to W. 
W. Harris, Jr., a Commander in the Navy; the second daughter is Susan Eliza- 
beth Jackson, who is also a graduate of the University of Kentucky, and was an 
instructor of Arts at the University of Kentucky, is now married to First Lieu- 
tenant A. C. Karstrom of the U. S. Army. The youngest daughter of the family 
is Billy Frances Jackson, who graduated from the University of Kentucky and 
is now interested in the breeding and training of thoroughbred show and race 
horses. She takes an active interest in the management of her father's thorough- 
bred animals at the Jackson's Longvue Farm, a hundred and eighty acre stock 
farm on the Harrodsburg Road owned by this subject and the operation of which 
affords his relaxation in such time that he is away from his work. In religion he 
accepts the Protestant faith and is active in its work. Each of the three daughters 
of Professor Jackson are members cf Chi Omega Sorority. 

William Edward Jackson, Jr. enjoys his work and enjoys everything connected 
with his life and work — friends, family and professional associates and is in- 
tensely interested in the instruction work in forestry in which he is now engaged. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1867 

Having spent a greater portion of his life in outdoor activities he has found it 
a source of health, and happiness and the ever cheery manner in which he makes 
contacts has made for him many friends who find pleasure in his company. 

P. L. ADAMS 

JTor half a century, Patrick Larkin Adams has been a prom- 
inent figure in the business life of Louisville. He has been connected with the 
broom manufacturing industry since 1881, when he was a boy of twelve. He 
has had thirty-five years of continuous association with Myer-Bridges Company, 
Inc., of which he is a director, and has himself established two additional com- 
panies also in the broom manufacturing business, and is now president of both of 
these companies, which are in a thriving condition. Mr. Adams has prospered 
through hard work and thrifty habits, and has shown marked business and or- 
ganizational ability, which has been rewarded by outstanding success in the in- 
dustry which has occupied the greater part of his attention through a long and 
useful life. 

Patrick Larkin Adams is a direct descendant of President John Quincy Adams. 
His great-grandfather, Josephus Adams, who was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
War, moved to Kentucky in 1802, settling in Marion County. James Adams, Sr., 
the son of Josephus Adams, was born in Maryland in 1802, and married Elizabeth 
or Amelia (Hill) Adams, who was a native of Marion County, Kentucky. He 
followed the occupation of farming. Their son, James Adams, Jr., was born in 
Marion County' Kentucky, and married Anna Larkin, who was born in Daviess 
County, Indiana. James Adams, Jr., was a bookkeeper, and continued to live in 
Marion County, Kentucky, until 1881, when he moved to Louisville, where he died; 
his wife, Anna (Larkin) Adams, also died in Louisville. 

Patrick Larkin Adams, the oldest of the seven children of James Adams, Jr., and 
Anna (Larkin) Adams, was born in Marion County, Kentucky, on the 30th of 
October, 1869. The public schools of Marion County, Kentucky, and the high 
school in Louisville furnished his education. In his early youth, Mr. Adams 
learned to appreciate the dignity of labor, and continued to work hard at whatever 
engaged his attention. He was variously employed, and in 1881 began work in a 
broom factory, thereupon entering what was to prove his life's work. His employ- 
ment with the Myer-Bridges Company, Inc., began in 1910, and he is still asso- 
ciated with that concern. He is at present a member of the Board of Directors 
of Myer-Bridges Company, Inc., which engages in the manufacture and distribu- 
tion of brooms. 

Mr. Adams enlarged the scope of his activities in 1930, when he established the 
May Rose Broom Company, which manufactures industrial brooms, which are 
sold through jobbers. The presidency of this company is now occupied by Mr. 
Adams. The important duties which Mr. Adams performs with the Myer-Bridges 
Company and the May Rose Broom Company, which would be more than enough 
to occupy the full time and attention of most men, were not enough to entirely 
engross the attention nor tax the capabilities of Patrick L. Adams, and in 1936 



1868 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

he established the Newton (Illinois) Broom Company, of which he is also presi- 
dent at the present time. He finds time, as well, to take an active interest in the 
management of his fine farm, which is located in Jefferson County. 

In 1898, Patrick Larkin Adams married Margaret Hallinan, the daughter of 
John and Katherine (Daily) Hallinan, both now deceased. During his lifetime, 
Mr. Hallinan was engaged in the manufacture of stoves in Louisville, Kentucky, 
where his daughter Margaret was born. 

Mr. and Mrs. Patrick L. Adams became the parents of five children. William 
Leo Adams, the oldest son, is the factory manager of the Newton (Illinois) 
Broom Company, of which his father is president. He is married, and is the 
father of four children. Ruth Adams became the wife of Joseph Larkin, and 
resides with her husband and eight children at Loogootee, Indiana. Hazel and 
Margaret are twins; Hazel is now the wife of Anthony Hemmerle, and the mother 
of three children, making her home in Louisville; Margaret Adams is at home 
with her father. Lewis B. Adams is employed by the May Rose Broom Company 
in Louisville. He is married, and is the father of three children. Mrs. Patrick 
Larkin Adams died on April 27, 1942. 

Independent in politics, Mr. Adams has nevertheless been interested in any 
movement to advance the public welfare. As a communicant of Christ the King 
(Catholic) Church, he has given unsparingly of time and effort to further the 
good work carried on by his church. 

During his long and useful life, Patrick L. Adams has always been able to com- 
pete successfully with the conditions he met, and has vigorously and intelligently 
conducted the various concerns with which he was connected. His early struggles 
have been substantially rewarded, and he has gained and retained the full confi- 
dence and respect of those with whom he has been associated. 



OLLIE COWAN HURST 



X 



wice blessed is the man who has mastered his business and is at 
home with the tools of his livelihood. The subject of this review is such a man, 
a printer, in fact as well as in name. He is the owner and active manager of 
the Hurst Printing Company in Lexington, Kentucky, an enterprise he is eminently 
fitted to care for, as he began working in his father's printing office when a small 
boy and with the years, and varied employment he mastered the trade and is now 
not only a Master Printer but is a Master of the printing trade itself. 

Ollie Cowan Hurst was born in Millersburg, Kentucky, September 16, 1891, 
the youngest of five children, the son of Francis Marion Hurst and Emma 
(Cowan) Hurst. The father was born in Fleming county, Kentucky, November 
3, 1854. He first entered college in 1875 and spent two years preaching in 
Bracken and Nicholas counties, working in the year 1883 with the Kentucky 
Missionary Society in that body's unique home mission work. He received the 
A.B. degree and the C. of B. in 1887 at Kentucky University, known now as 
Transylvania College in Lexington. After two years as principal of the Corinth 
Academy he removed to Owingsville and taught for two years at that point. 




OLLIE COWAN HURST 



1870 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

He retired from the teaching profession in 1891 and organized the Hurst Home 
Insurance Company, of which he became General Manager, so serving until 
1903 with headquarters at Millersburg, Kentucky, where he also edited and 
published the "Farmer's Friend." The mother of our subject was the daughter 
of John Cowan, a prominent farmer and land owner of Fleming County, Ken- 
tucky, the early settlement "Cowan Station" being named for the family. Mr. 
Ollie Hurst was married in 1917 to Mabel Gum of Fayette County, Kentucky, 
who lived only until March 10, 1918. His second marriage was to Edith Bot- 
tom of Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, and this union has been blessed by three chil- 
dren: Walter S. Hurst, born March, 1922, and died May, 1928; Julia Ann 
Hurst, born February, 1930, and Richard Hurst, born July, 1935. Mr. Hurst's 
brother, Ora E. Hurst, is General Manager of the Hurst Home Insurance Com- 
pany, the business founded by their father and in which Mr. Ollie Hurst is also 
interested and for which he acts as agent. 

Ollie Cowan Hurst received his early education in the public schools of Bour- 
bon, Harrison and Montgomery counties and after the death of his father when 
still of tender years began to make his home with his uncle, a farmer in Vernon 
county, Missouri. When thirteen years of age he began working out of school 
time in the office of the Advocate Publishing Company, of Mt. Sterling, Ken- 
tucky. He later was employed in the office of the Cynthiana Democrat at 
Cynthiana, Kentucky. In 1909 he accepted employment with the Ashland Print- 
ing Company in Lexington, Kentucky, and in 1911 went with the Welsh Printing 
Company, of the same city while attending Lexington High School and Tran- 
sylvania University. His country called him into service during World War I, 
and after six months service over seas he was commissioned a 2nd Lieutenant, 
and attached to the 78th Division. With this organization he saw service in 
the Argonne and on November 14th, he was transferred to the First Division 
and was with the Army of Occupation in Germany for seven months. He re- 
ceived his discharge on August 1, 1919, and returned to Lexington, Kentucky, 
where in 1923 he organized the Hurst & Byars Printing Company. In 1941 he 
purchased the Byars interest and has since that time been sole owner of the 
business, which has developed into one of the largest printing establishments in 
the Blue Grass section. 

Mr. Hurst has always exhibited more than average interest in the fraternal, 
civic and church affairs of his community and takes a notable part in the com- 
munity organizations. He is a 32nd degree Mason and a Shriner, a member 
of the Knights of Pythias, the Lexington Rotary Club, the Pyramid Club, the 
Lexington Country Club, and the Chamber of Commerce. He was one of the 
organizers of the Executives Club and is a member of the Blue Grass Auto- 
purchased the Byars interest and has since that time been sole owner of the 
mobile Club. On June 6, 1945 he was elected Commander of Man O' War 
Post American Legion, which is the largest Legion Post in Kentucky. The home 
of the Hurst Printing Company is at 163-7 North Limestone Street. Mr. Hurst 
and his family are in residence at the comfortable family home at 115 Desha 
Road, and arc members and attendants at the Christian Church. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1871 

Ollie Cowan Hurst has made good in every walk of life and in whatever 
capacity life has called him. As citizen, as soldier and officer, as employee and 
employer, he has given full measure and in Lexington he is held in the highest 
regard by his neighbors and friends. 

ROBERT BROCK FOUTS 

J.HOROUGHNESS and devotion to duty were salient traits in the 
career of Robert Brock Fouts, of Hazard, which came to an end with his un- 
timely death on January 17, 1945. His life span had covered the intervening 
years from August 10, 1903, when he first saw the light of day in Benge, Ken- 
tucky. His was an admirable character, worthy of all praise, and his life, though 
short, was noble, symmetrical and complete. 

Robert Fouts was the son of Morgan Tennyson Fouts and his wife, Emma 
(Porter) Fouts. Mr. Morgan Tennyson Fouts was born of parents who had 
"moved west" from North Carolina during the period just preceding the war 
between the states. Mrs. Morgan Tennyson Fouts was born of parents who 
moved to Kentucky from the southern part of Texas. They made their home in 
London, Laurel County, Kentucky. 

After completing the prescribed courses in the local public schools Robert Fouts 
determined to become a druggist, and with that end in view he entered the Max 
Morris College of Pharmacy, at Macon, Georgia. In 1924 he was graduated from 
this institution of learning with the degree of R.Ph., and in the same year took 
the required examination and passed the Board of Pharmacy of the state of Ken- 
tucky. Thus equipped with his degree and his license he worked for several years 
in Corbin and Frankfort, Kentucky. 

Mr. Fouts came to Hazard in 1927 and in association with his two brothers, 
Joseph William and Don Charles Fouts, established himself in the retail drug 
business. In 1932 he purchased the Hazard Drug Company which he operated 
most successfully until his death. 

On September 6, 1932 Mr. Fouts married Miss Pearl Grauman Watts, a daugh- 
ter of Mr. and Mrs. John Watts. Mr. and Mrs. Watts formerly resided in Haz- 
ard but are now living at Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Mr. and Mrs. Fouts became 
the parents of three children: Robert Brock Fouts, Jr., was born September 6, 
1936; Emily Jon Fouts was born November 29, 1938; and Joseph William Fouts, 
II, was born February 6, 1940. 

Robert Brock Fouts was known to his many friends as Brock. He became one 
of Hazard's leading business men and took an active interest in all community 
affairs. His success was measured by the earnestness of his effort, which was 
boundless. He became the treasurer of the Federal Savings Building and Loan 
Association of Hazard, dealt extensively in both city and farm properties, and 
was a partner with his brother, J. W. Fouts, in the ownership of the City Transit 
Company. He was an active member of the Rotary Club of Hazard. 

His was indeed a life of rare success, a life richer still in promise for the future, 
had he been spared. Yet, in his brief career he has left a legacy of duty done. 



1872 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



o, 



SEARLES LEWIS GUTHRIE 



'ne of the newest and most important contributions to the 
whiskey distilling industry is the Fairfield Distillery at Bardstown, Kentucky, built 
and operated by the subject of this sketch in 1936. While a new institution the 
owner and operator is not new in the business of distillation, and through his 
knowledge of the industry he has established his famous "Pride of Nelson" brand 
of whiskey as a worthy member of the family of aristrocratic Kentucky Bourbon 
whiskies. 

Searles Lewis Guthrie was born in Bloomfield, Kentucky, August 24, 1889, and 
attended the public schools of Middletown, and Louisville, Kentucky, and Belle- 
wood Seminary at Anchorage, Kentucky. After finishing in these institutions he at- 
tended Spencerian Business College in Louisville, Kentucky, to equip himself with 
a training for business office management. In 1911 he married Aimee Talbott, 
who was born in Bardstown, Kentucky, and to them were born five boys and one 
girl. The oldest was Newman Talbott Guthrie, born in Bardstown, Kentucky, in 
1912. He married Sabina Kelly and to the union was born one child, Newman 
Talbott Guthrie, Ir., September 8, 1938. The father died the year of his son's 
birth and the latter now lives with his mother in Bardstown. The second son of 
the subject, John Berry Guthrie, was born in Bardstown, Kentucky, in 1917, and 
attended school in the city of his nativity at St. Joseph's College. He is asso- 
ciated with his father in the business of the Fairfield Distillery. He married Julia 
Muir Brown, born in Bardstown, Kentucky, in 1916, and died in 1941. They were 
the parents of Nancy Muir Guthrie, born in Bardstown, Kentucky, July 17, 1940. 
A second marriage was with Marie Keene, born in Bardstown, Kentucky, May 5, 
1920, and they have a son, John B. Guthrie, Jr., born August 9, 1944. The third 
son of this subject is Benjamin Talbott Guthrie, born in Bardstown, Kentucky, 
August 6, 1918. He attended St. Joseph's College at Bardstown, Kentucky, and 
Spring Hill College, Mobile, Alabama. He is now a Second Lieutenant with the 
United States Marines on Guadacanal, and he married Miss Margaret May 
Woodard, of Bardstown, Kentucky. The fourth son is Searles Lewis Guthrie, 
Jr., born in Bardstown, Kentucky, August 4, 1925, and who graduated from St. 
Joseph's College at Bardstown, Kentucky, and is now an Ensign in the United 
States Navy. The youngest son and youngest child of the family, James Adam 
Guthrie, was born in Bardstown, Kentucky, February 20, 1927, and graduated 
from St. Joseph's College at Bardstown, Kentucky. He is now serving his coun- 
try in the United States Navy. The daughter of the family is Nancy Katherine 
Guthrie, born in Bardstown, Kentucky, April 11, 1916. She attended the high 
school at Bardstown for two years and then St. Catherine's Academy at Spring- 
field, Kentucky. She married January 15, 1945, Philip Crume McKay of Bards- 
town, Kentucky, and resides in Bardstown. 

The father of Searles Lewis Guthrie was John Berry Guthrie, born at Bloom- 
field, Kentucky, in 1859 and died in 1934. He was a successful Kentucky farmer. 
The mother was Mary (Duncan) Guthrie, born in Bloomfield, Kentucky, October 




SKARLES LEWIS GUTHRIE 



1874 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

30, 1858, and died in September, 1936. Both parents are buried at Bloomfield, 
Kentucky. 

When Searles Lewis Guthrie finished with his business education he entered the 
employ of the Early Times Distilling Company in 1907, as a bookkeeper. Some 
years later he became the owner and in 1923 he sold it to Brown-Forman Com- 
pany. After a few years spent at farming, he went to the Farmers Bank & Trust 
Company of Bardstown as Cashier. Leaving the bank to accept a position as 
secretary and treasurer of the Kentucky Home Life Insurance Company of Louis- 
ville, Kentucky, he remained in the employ of that corporation until 1935, when 
he resigned to establish the Fairfield Distillery, building the plant and founding 
the famous "Pride of Nelson" brand. He is vice-president of Kentucky Distillers 
Association, a director of the Allied Liquor Industries, Incorporated, and a director 
of the Kentucky Home Mutual Insurance Company of Louisville, Kentucky. 

Searles Lewis Guthrie has many activities in addition to his own varied business 
interests. He is an active worker in the affairs of the Masonic Fraternity of which 
he has long been a member, he devotes much time to public service and social 
service matters, is always ready to answer the call of his community to serve it in 
whatever way may seem to offer help and progress. He has many friends who are 
often found at his hospitable home in Bardstown, Kentucky. 



WILLIAM OGDEN STILES 



W„ 



ith the death of William Ogden Stiles, December 12, 1941, 
one of Kentucky's outstanding business men and public figures passed from the 
scene. Death came to him at St. Joseph's Infirmary, Louisville, Kentucky, where 
he had been ill for several weeks after being removed from his home in Bardstown. 
He occupied an outstanding position as a man of affairs in Nelson County, and 
his death was a shock to the community that knew him so well. His remains were 
interred in St. Joseph's Cemetery after services in St. Joseph's Church, conducted 
by the Reverend Dominic Altieri, attended by overflowing numbers from his home 
city of Bardstown and from all parts of the state. 

William Ogden Stiles was born at Ray wick, Kentucky, March 8, 1884, being 
in his fifty-eighth year at the time of his death. He was the son of John Breckin- 
ridge Stiles, who was born in Nelson County, Kentucky, in 1856 and died in the 
county of his nativity in 1890, and Sally (Beam) Stiles, born in Nelson County, 
Kentucky in 1858, dying there in 1930. He attended the schools of Nelson Coun- 
ty and in early life was a farmer. In 1910 he was married to Nancy Rapier, who 
was born near New Haven in LaRue County and educated in the schools of her 
county and at Loretto Academy. To this couple were born the following four 
children: 

Jack Breckinridge Stiles, born at Bardstown, January 22, 1914, and educated 
at St. Joseph's College, Bardstown, St. Mary's at St. Mary's, Kansas, with finish- 
ing work at St. Patrick's School at Miami Beach. He married Shirley Stark, of 
New York City, in 1936, and they are the parents of three children — Jacqueline, 




WILLIAM OGDEN STILLS 



1876 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

born at Bardstown, in 1937, William Ogden, born at Bardstown, in 1939, and 
Vera West, born at Bardstown, in 1942. 

Nancy Stiles Arnold, was born in Bardstown, November 18, 1917, and was 
educated at Nazareth Academy and at Webster Groves College, St. Louis, Mis- 
souri. She married Dan Sutherland Arnold, December 27, 1938, and they are 
the parents of one daughter, Nancy, born May 17, 1941, and a son, Dan Suther- 
land, Jr., born October 14, 1943. 

Saragene Stiles was born May 10, 1923, at Bardstown, and educated at Nazareth 
Academy and is now employed in the Farmers Bank at Bardstown. 

Betsy Beam Stiles was born in Bardstown, July 23, 1926, and is now a student 
at Nazareth College. 

Mrs. William Ogden Stiles is the daughter of F. Boone Rapier, who was born in 
LaRue County, Kentucky, April 18, 1850, and who died September 13, 1934. 
Her mother was Sally (Thompson) Rapier, who was born in LaRue County, 
Kentucky, November 2, 1848, and died in 1908, and is buried in Bardstown. 
F. Boone Rapier was Clerk of Nelson County for eight years and County Judge 
for four years. There were six children in the Rapier family which, in addition to 
Mrs. Stiles, were J. Ekro Rapier, born in LaRue County, Kentucky in 1882, and 
now president and cashier of the New Haven Bank; Jesse D. Rapier, born in LaRue 
County in 1883, and now in the furniture business in Maysville, Kentucky; Ste- 
phen A. Rapier, born in LaRue County in 1885, and now in the export business 
in New York City; Leona (Rapier) Edelen, born in LaRue County in 1889, and 
now living in Louisville; and Tate (Rapier) Spalding, born in 1891 in Nelson 
County and now residing in Bardstown. 

William Ogden Stiles was engaged in many activities, but they were things of 
magnitude and all his activities were conducted on an extensive scale. He was 
one of the largest real estate owners in Nelson County, and engaged in cattle 
raising on a large scale, each year feeding fifteen hundred head. He was a 
director of the Farmers Bank and Trust Company, a past President of the Chamber 
of Commerce and organizer of the Bardstown Ice Company, which he promoted 
in 1919. He was interested in the canning factory and organized the Central 
Finance and Trust Company in 1926. In 1927 he made a memorable real estate 
transaction by selling land to the Bulova Watch Company, who built the large 
distillery known as the Bardstown Distilling Company, the first to open for busi- 
ness in Nelson County after the repeal of prohibition. He carried through the 
largest single transaction since prohibition when he sold 3200 barrels of whiskey 
for $400,000.00. In addition to his widely diversified business interests he found 
time for civic and social activities and promoted The Bardstown Ball Club and 
was always ready with his time and means to help any promising social or public 
move. 

William Ogden Stiles embraced the religion of the Roman Catholic Church and 
died in that faith. He was a figure in the County of Nelson that will long be 
remembered and leaves friends throughout the entire State who join with the 
family in regretting his demise. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1877 



WILLIAM ABNER STANFILL 



T, 



.he legal firm in Hazard, Kentucky, of which William Abner 
Stanfill is a member, is the legal advisor of eighty percent of all the corporations 
located in Perry County. Mr. Stanfill has been practicing law in Hazard for 
nearly thirty years; he came to Hazard after graduation from the University of 
Kentucky and the completion of four years of legal practice in the smaller Ken- 
tucky city in which he had been born. Although Mr. Stanfill is very active in 
political affairs, he has never himself been a candidate for public office; his genius 
in planning and organization work have enabled him to be of great service to the 
Republican Party. He is now Chairman of the Republican Party State Central 
Committee, and was Chairman of the State Campaign Committee. 

William A. Stanfill was born in Barbourville, Kentucky on January 16, 1892. 
His father, Joshua Faulkner Stanfill, was born just across the Kentucky-Tennessee 
state line in neighboring Campbell County, Tennessee, in 1866. Joshua Stanfill 
was a merchant in that community all of his life. He married Laura D. Faulk- 
ner, who was born in Knox County, Kentucky, in 1869. Laura (Faulkner) Stan- 
fill, the mother of William Abner Stanfill, died in 1917, and Joshua Faulkner 
Stanfill died the following year, 1918. Both are buried in the Barbourville, Ken- 
tucky, cemetery. 

From the primary grades, through elementary school, high school and college, 
William Stanfill was a student at Union College at Barbourville, Kentucky. 
His legal education was received at the University of Kentucky in Lexington, and 
he was graduated from that institution in 1912 with the degree of Bachelor of 
Law. He returned to Barbourville, where he had spent most of his life, and 
began the practice of his profession in that community. Four years later he moved 
his office to the larger city of Hazard, where he believed that opportunities would 
be correspondingly greater. Today no other lawyer in Hazard stands higher in 
his profession than does William A. Stanfill, and a good portion of the legal 
business of the community is transacted by the firm in which he is a partner. 
He is a past President of the Perry County Bar Association and is a member of 
the State and American Bar Associations. 

He has always been very active in civic affairs. He is a member of the Joint 
Board of Education of the Methodist Church for the State of Kentucky; for 
four years he served as a member of the Board of Regents of the Morehead State 
Teachers College, a state educational institution, at Morehead, Kentucky; and he 
was formerly a member of the Board of Governors of the Kentucky Children's 
Home Society, at Lyndon, Kentucky, and served as such until that institution 
was taken over by the State of Kentucky. He is a member of the Rotary Club 
and is a Past President of the Hazard Rotary Club. He belongs to the Masonic 
Order, and for many years has been Vice-President and Chairman of the Board 
of Directors of the Peoples Bank at Hazard. 

Political affairs receive a large share of the time which he can spare from his 
legal business, though he has never himself been a candidate for political office. 

William A. Stanfill and May Begley were married in 1917. Mrs. Stanfill is a 



1878 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

native of Hazard, Kentucky, and is the daughter of Mr. F. G. Begley and Mar- 
garet Boggs Begley, whose maternal grandfather was a famous Kentucky physician 
named Dr. Jasper Stewart, who was descended from Mary, Queen of Scotland. 
Mr. and Mrs. Stanfill are members of and worship at the Methodist Church. 



CIRCULAIR METAL AND EQUIPMENT COMPANY 

.Louring World War II the Circuiair Metal and Equipment Com- 
pany was one of the vital companies that made Louisville, Kentucky, one of the 
great war material production centers. The major part of the products of this 
company were designed for war service and the management bent every effort to 
further the war cause. The facilities of the plant and the energies of the personnel 
were on guard in this vital hour and no effort was spared to push them forward to 
full capacity. The spirit of the executives permeated the entire personnel and in 
addition to conscientious labor they regularly contributed ten per cent of their 
earnings to the War Loan drives. 

The Circuiair Metal and Equipment Company was incorporated July 31, 1930, 
and does a general sheet metal fabrication business in addition to the manufacturing 
of hotel kitchen equipment and kitchen fixtures for large institutional needs. 
Byron R. Lewis is president of the company. He was born in Covington, Ken- 
tucky, September 13, 1885. After attending the public schools of Covington, 
Kentucky, and high school in Cincinnati, Ohio, he graduated from high school in 
St. Louis, Missouri in 1905. Entering Purdue University he graduated in 1909, 
with the degree of Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering. His business 
career began with the American Blower Corporation in Detroit, Michigan, with 
which concern he remained until 1922, when he went to Louisville, Kentucky, and 
entered business with his father conducting the Lewis Manufacturing and Supply 
Company. In 1930 he organized the Circuiair Metal and Equipment Company. 

Byron Lewis married Miss Mabel Fuller, of Indianapolis, Indiana, and they are 
the parents of four children. Mrs. H. F. Willis, who was born in 1912, and now 
resides in St. Louis. Mrs. C. A. Thomas, who was born in 1914, and who is a 
resident of Raleigh, North Carolina. Frank Lewis, who was born in Brooklyn, 
New York in 1918. He attended the public schools in Louisville, graduating from 
Male High School. After his under graduate work he entered Purdue University 
at LaFayette, Indiana. During the war Frank was a Lieutenant, serving as an 
aviator with the United States Navy. Joanne Lewis, the youngest of the family 
of children, was born in Louisville in 1928. 

Mr. Lewis' associate in the Circuiair Metal and Equipment Company, and treas- 
urer of the firm is Hugo G. Klosterman, who was born in Huntingburg, Indiana, 
October 23, 1890. He graduated from the high school at Louisville. His first 
business connection was with his father in the business of H. Klosterman and Son, 
where he remained until 1910, when he formed a connection with the Southern 
Bell Telephone Company and remained with this corporation until 1918. In 1919 
he became chief inspector for the Kentucky Wagon Manufacturing Company, 




BYRON R. LEWIS 



1880 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

and was with this company until 1921, when he organized the Pure Heat Radiator 
Cover Company. He terminated this connection in 1925, and organized the Bo- 
mar Manufacturing Company and operated it until 1930, when he formed his 
association with Byron R. Lewis and became active in the present concern. 

Mr. Klosterman married Corinne Hambly, who was born in Louisville, and 
graduated from grade and high school of that city. She is active in Red Cross 
work. They are the parents of a son, Hugh Hambly Klosterman, who was born 
in Louisville, Kentucky, May 22, 1925. After attending the public schools of his 
native city and Male High School, he graduated from the high school at An- 
chorage, Kentucky. He attended Centre College, where he majored in Chemical 
Engineering, and is now serving in the United States Army. 

The Circulair Metal and Equipment Company is an example of what well 
trained men with talent and energy can accomplish. Its success is not only a 
credit to the men who are its inspiration, but to the city where it is located. It is 
this character of men and enterprises of this sort that make our national backbone 
a thing of strength and provide a foundation for national accomplishment. 

Since April 1, 1942 the employees of Circulair Metal and Equipment Company 
have been contributing 10 per cent of the total payroll for the purchase of War 
Bonds, and the company has been granted the privilege of flying the Minute Man 
Flag. 

HAZARD HOSPITAL COMPANY, INCORPORATED 

JLhe institution, now known as the Hazard Hospital Company, 
has had a varied and migrating existence, all the changes, however, being in the 
city of Hazard. 

It had its beginning in the old Commercial Hotel on Main Street and in the 
same year, 1917, moved to the Campbell building on Broadway, operating there 
under the management of Drs. Gross and Collins and staffed by Drs. Gross, Col- 
lins, Holloway, and others, continuing during the first war. It was then moved 
to the Johnston Building on Broadway and run and managed by Drs. Gross and 
Collins. 

The present location was purchased from Dr. D. R. Botkins by Drs. Gross and 
Collins and operated from 1921 to 1922 by them. The community then purchased 
the building and equipment from Drs. Gross and Collins in order that all doctors 
in Hazard might have equal hospital opportunities. The community, from the 
community of Hazard, appointed a committee composed of the best of its citizens 
to run the hospital as a community project, which they did but not very success- 
fully, for they were in debt at the end of the first year and it became necessary 
for the community to sell the hospital, which was done, the purchase being made 
by Drs. Gross and Collins. 

These doctors ran, staffed, and owned the institution from January 1, 1923, 
until it was purchased by Dr. G. B. Wheeler and Dr. John H. Hoskins of West 
Virginia, May 1, 1923. 

Drs. Wheeler and Hoskins operated the institution from May 1, 1923, to No- 




HUGO G. KLOSTERMAN 



1882 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

vember 15, 1924, at which time it was incorporated as the Hazard Hospital Com- 
pany, the owners, staff, and incorporators being Dr. G. B. Wheeler, Dr. A. M. 
Gross, Dr. R. L. Collins, Dr. J. P. Boggs, Dr. B. M. Brown, Dr. J. M. Ray, and 
Dr. J. S. Gilbert. At the time of incorporation the institution was composed of 
a three story building of 25 hospital beds and one operating room. 

In 1934 an addition was made in back of the original one and in 1935 the 
property, known as the Brit Combs building, was purchased and converted into 
a nurses' home. 

A fourth floor was added to the original building, all of which is now used for 
surgical purposes only. On this floor we have a large main operating room, eye, 
ear, nose and throat operating room, emergency operating room, nurses' dressing 
room, doctors' dressing room, patient's friends' waiting room, sterlizing room, 
storage room, and nurses' work room. 

The present institution is still known as the Hazard Hospital Company, In- 
corporated, and is owned by the doctors of the town, to wit; Dr. A. M. Gross, 
deceased, Dr. R. L. Collins, Dr. B. M. Brown, Dr. J. P. Boggs, Dr. A. B. Morgan, 
D. J. E. Hagan and Dr. J. M. Ray. In addition to all the above named owners 
it is staffed at the present time by Dr. Chris S. Jackson, who is Assistant General 
Manager and Surgeon for the company. 

The present institution is composed of the following: Main building with the 
added fourth floor for surgery only; the new addition in the back of the old main 
building, the nurses' home to the north of the main building, parking space north 
of the nurses' home for the doctors, and a garage between the main building and 
the nurses' home. 

The institution now has 80 beds for patients and the rooms are comfortable, if 
not ultra modern, a nurses' home, an average staff consisting of medical, surgical, 
eye, ear, nose and throat, and last, but not least, the best general clerk and office 
manager, Mrs. R. R. Bobbitt, who has not only been with the institution since it 
was incorporated, but has by her earnest, untiring, and unselfish efforts greatly 
contributed to the success of the institution. 

It is the earnest wish and desire of the present owners of the institution during 
their lifetime to add to and modernize the institution as the demand warrants, and 
their earnest hope and prayer is that when they pass on the hospital will be taken 
over, perpetuated, consecrated, and run not altogether for money but mainly for 
the promotion of the health and well being of the citizens of the Hazard com- 
munity. 

The present owners are confident that the Almighty will, in this instance as in 
many others in our experience; produce and place instead of the present owners of 
the institution more worthy, better prepared men to carry on where we have started 
and those of us who have begun so noble a work, though small, expect to look 
down from our abode above and see the work going on in an ethical and pro- 
fessional way. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1883 



B, 



DON D. UTTER 



Before Don D. Utter came to Kentucky, he lived and worked 
in Wisconsin, Illinois and Indiana. Undoubtedly he is well satisfied that success 
caught up with him in the pleasant state of Kentucky. And Kentucky is just as 
pleased that her adopted son has fared so well within her borders. Ten years ago 
Don D. Utter came to Somerset, Kentucky, to enter the transportation business 
in conjunction with his brother and other partners. They took over the Colyer 
Bus Line which operated on a 110-mile route with three Cadillac cars. Now the 
bus lines controlled by Don and Harold Utter and associates cover six hundred and 
forty route miles. Instead of three ancient automobiles, their equipment consists 
of twenty-four modern and comfortable buses, which travel 3,000 miles a day. 
Don D. Utter is an efficient and forceful business man, as his record will testify. 
He is also a genial individual with a capacity for making friends and keeping 
them. Mr. Utter is well liked in Kentucky, and there is no doubt that he will 
remain and continue to prosper with the passing of the years. 

On August 29, 1902, Don D. Utter was born in Stoughton, Wisconsin. Jesse 
Utter, his father, was a farmer and was born in Stoughton, Wisconsin, in 1877. 
The mother of Don Utter, Louise (Peterson) Utter, was born in Stoughton, 
Wisconsin in 1878. Mr. and Mrs. Jesse Utter reside in Stoughton, Wisconsin. 

After completing grade and high school studies at Stoughton, Don Utter en- 
rolled at the University of Wisconsin. In 1925 he entered the employment of the 
American Telephone & Telegraph Company, working out of their Chicago office 
as inspector and field manager. At the end of seven years he resigned from that 
position to accept an offer from the Texas Oil Company at Salem, Indiana. Two 
years later, in 1934, Don Utter came to Somerset, Kentucky. He entered into a 
deal with his brother, Harold J. Utter of Lexington, Kentucky and others, whereby 
they acquired the Colyer Bus Line. The equipment at that time consisted of three 
Cadillac cars, and the bus route covered one hundred and ten miles. Today the 
bus line route covers six hundred and forty miles, and every day the bus lines 
under the management of Don and Harold Utter cover three thousand route 
miles. There are twenty-four buses on the various runs, and thirty-five drivers 
and mechanics are employed. The bus lines directed by Don D. Utter are affiliated 
with Hazard Jenkins Bus Lines, Consolidated Bus Lines, Central Bus Lines and 
Short Way Lines. The Short Way Lines cover twenty-two counties, and general 
offices are located in Somerset, Kentucky. Mr. Utter is general manager of the 
Short Way Lines and vice-president and general manager of Consolidated Bus 
Lines, Inc., and Central Bus Lines, Inc. 

In 1934 Don D. Utter was married to Donna Krueger. She was born in Inde- 
pendence, Kansas, and prior to her marriage she was a supervisor of music at the 
University of Wisconsin. Mr. and Mrs. Don D. Utter are parents of three chil- 
dren: David J. Utter, born in Somerset, Kentucky, in 1937; Lynne L. Utter, born 
in Somerset, Kentucky, in 1938; and Constance D. Utter, born October 18, 1943. 

Don D. Utter is a member of the National Bus Association. He belongs to 
the Rotary Club, and is also a member of the Masonic fraternity. 



1884 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



HELM BRUCE 



D. 



'ifficult indeed would the biographer find the task of improving 
upon the tribute and sketch of the life of the late Helm Bruce, of Louisville, who 
throughout his generation was preeminently one of Kentucky's most distinguished 
lawyers, lay churchmen, reformers, scholars, altruists, educator and civic leader, 
prepared by his colleagues of the Louisville bar and presented in a memorial serv- 
ice held in his honor in the court of joint sessions following his passing. That 
high tribute will be quoted here and this biographer will attempt to do nothing 
more than interpolate and supplement. The tribute and sketch are as follows: 

"On August 10, 1927, after a brief illness, Helm Bruce departed this life, leaving 
a most exceptional record of professional achievement and civic usefulness. Death 
came to him in the full tide of his activities. For more than forty-five years he 
was a member of this bar, and, for much the greater part of that time, one of its 
recognized leaders. He was born of distinguished lineage, in Louisville, on No- 
vember 16, 1860. The gathering clouds of civil conflict enveloped him at his birth, 
and from infancy he breathed the atmosphere of public service and patriotic sacri- 
fice in a time that tried men's souls. Thus there was developed in him a Crom- 
wellian spirit that dominated his life to its close. His father [born in Lewis 
County, Kentucky, and a member of the General Assembly from that county] 
was successively a member of the Confederate Congress; a member of the original 
law firm of Helm & Bruce, practicing in Louisville; a circuit judge in a circuit 
embracing Jefferson and adjoining counties; chancellor of the Louisville chancery 
court; and chief counsel of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company. His 
mother was a daughter of John L. Helm [of Elizabethtown], an eminent citizen 
and lawyer, of pioneer stock, first president of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad 
Company, and twice governor of Kentucky [1850 and 1867]. She was also a 
granddaughter of Ben Hardin whose fame as a lawyer was equaled only by his 
public service in Kentucky throughout the first half of the last century. 

"Such was the inheritance of Helm Bruce, and in this environment he grew to 
maturity. He received his early training in the public schools of Louisville, and, 
after completing his high school course [at Male High School], he entered Wash- 
ington and Lee University, where in 1880 he obtained . . . [the Bachelor of Arts 
degree]. He then took up the study of law in the University of Louisville, grad- 
uating in 1882. While at Washington and Lee, he became engaged to Miss Sallie 
Hare White, daughter of [J. J. White], an eminent professor [of Greek] in that 
University [and a captain of the college boys in the Confederate army]. [Her 
mother was Mary Louise Reid, lineal descendant of Judge Samuel McDowell and 
a great niece of Dr. Ephraim McDowell]. They were married on December 17, 
1884, and the perfect congeniality of their union and the companionship it afforded 
him to the day of his death, contributed more than can be told to the sum of his 
achievements. Four children were born to them, two sons and two daughters. 
Louise Reid, who became the wife of John W. Price, Jr., and died in 1914, was 
the mother of one son, Helm Bruce Price, [who is now (1944) in the armed forces 
of the United States]. Dr. James W. Bruce [one of the outstanding pediatricians 
of the nation | married Edith Dumcsnil Campbell, of Louisville, and their three 




HELM BRUCE 



1886 A SESQUI -CENTENNIAL 

children are Edith Dumesnil, who in 1943 married Charles Ware Blake Hazard, 
who is now a Captain in the United States Army. Louise Reid and Mary 
Ormsby. Miss Elizabeth Barbour Bruce was the next in order of birth, [a former 
president of the League of Women's Voters; studied nurses' training at Presby- 
terian Hospital in New York and is now (1944) a graduate nurse]. Helm Bruce, 
who is now a Captain in the United States Army. Louise Reid and Mary 
Jr., married Helen Ballou, of Natchez, Mississippi. He is engaged in the work 
of city planning and beautification, having to his credit Cherokee Gardens of 
Louisville and Chickasaw Gardens of Memphis, Tennessee. He has served with 
interest on the Planning and Zoning Board of Louisville. 

"Mr. Bruce was admitted to practice in 1882. His first connection was a part- 
nership with Wilkins G. Anderson, an honored member of this bar. He later 
became associated with the firm of Russell & Helm, and in that capacity prepared 
and argued his first case before the court of appeals (Barbour, Sheriff, vs. Louis- 
ville Board of Trade, 82 Ky. 645-666) , involving the vexed question as to the 
validity of exemptions from taxation under the third constitution of the state. By 
a coincidence, his first case argued in 1891 in the United States Supreme Court 
(Louisville Water Company vs. Clark, Sheriff, 143 U. S. 1-17) involved somewhat 
similar questions. In 1886 Mr. Russell retired from practice, and in the reorgan- 
ization of the firm, Mr. Bruce became a partner of James P. Helm, his maternal 
uncle, thus reviving the old firm name of Helm & Bruce and renewing its prestige. 
In 1897 the firm became Helm, Bruce & Helm, through the accession of T. K. 
Helm to the partnership. This association continued more than twenty years, and 
during that period no firm of lawyers in this section enjoyed a higher reputation 
or attained a greater measure of professional success. In 1906 Mr. Bruce withdrew 
from the firm and for a time he practiced alone. Upon the death of Colonel 
Thomas W. Bullitt in 1910 he formed a connection with William Marshall Bullitt 
under the firm name of Bruce & Bullitt, and this connection, with some changes in 
the personnel of the partnership, continued until his death, with most conspicuous 
professional success. 

"The fame of a lawyer, however successful, is at best evanescent, though his 
labors be Herculean and his tasks twelve times twelve in number. Therefore a 
catalogue of cases vitally important, to his clients is of little enduring interest to 
the public, and yet it may help some who are left to carry on, if we merely list a 
few of the many cases celebre in which Mr. Bruce's firm was employed and to 
which he gave his best efforts. 

"During the closing years of the nineteenth century . . . Kentucky [was] 
plunged into a welter of political excitement, involving the free silver issue with 
resulting class conflicts, eventuating in 1900 in a contest over the governorship of 
Kentucky and, pending such contest, the assassination of William Goebel, the 
contesting candidate. So tense was the feeling of the time that to some it seemed 
only armed conflict could determine the result. Finally wise counsel prevailed. 
It was arranged by the leader on both sides to submit the questions at issue to the 
courts, and Judge Emmet Field of this court was agreed upon to try the judicial 
contest over the two .highest offices in the state. The issues involved were such as 
in other times and in other countries have been solved only by . . . war. It is to 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1887 

the lasting credit of counsel for Republicans and Democrats alike that their clients 
obtained a full and fair hearing of their cause in the courts and accepted the de- 
cisions of the courts without the intervention of force. 

"Mr. Bruce took a leading part in these cases in the circuit court, in the court 
of Appeals (Taylor vs. Beckham, 108 Ky. 278) and in the supreme court of the 
United States (Taylor vs. Beckham, 178 U. S. 548) ." [He was one of the most 
conspicuously able attorneys of Governor Taylor's distinguished counsel. It may 
be assumed that Mr. Bruce, although a Democrat, believed that his client had 
been elected governor of Kentucky and therefore should retain his office. In view 
of this belief — and his moral convictions, strong and at all times compelling — he 
strove gallantly against an election law which made possible the choosing of a 
governor by the General Assembly, even in opposition to the majority vote of the 
people. The courts could do nothing but adhere to the law; their duty was very 
plain. And Mr. Bruce's clients lost their case. But it was unthinkable to him 
that armed revolution could be a satisfactory substitute for the judicial settlement 
of such conflicts]. "Such convictions grew upon him as the years passed on, and 
made him one of the staunchest advocates of the League of Nations or some simi- 
lar judicial tribunal for the settlement of international disputes without resort 
to war." 

"In 1902 Mr. Bruce offered his services to an association of citizens organized 
to put a stop to a series of prize fights then being conducted at the old Auditorium 
in this city. It was conceded on all hands that the prize fight as then conducted 
was in direct violation of the Kentucky statutes, but it was contended that courts 
of equity had no power to restrain the violation of a criminal statute. [During 
those years a powerful non-partisan league made up of leading citizens functioned 
in Louisville. The city's government had become so unblushingly corrupt, as was 
the case in practically every large city of the nation, that disgusted, law abiding 
citizens felt that it was their duty to act; these organized, readily enlisting the aid 
of most of the churches and institutions for civic advancement. Reading the roster 
of this organization is like perusing a copy of Who's Who, so prominent were the 
names. The members, regardless of party, strove to elect men who would labor for 
clear government and abolish the multiple dens of vice which openly operated under 
the protection of the officials. Mr. Bruce was one of the most active of the mem- 
bers of this organization]. He addressed himself to this proposition and main- 
tained it successfully in an injunction suit against Terry McGovern; Judge Emmet 
Field granting a temporary injunction which stopped the McGovern fight. Six 
judges of the Court of Appeals were at first equally divided in opinion as to the 
power of the chancellor, and therefore refused to dissolve the temporary injunction. 
Later, on final hearing before Judge Toney, the injunction was dissolved and the 
petition dismissed, but on appeal to the Court of Appeals Judge Toney's judge- 
ment was reversed and the injunctive power of the chancellor established in Com- 
monwealth vs. McGovern, 116 Ky. 212-240, the Court dividing four to three on 
the question of the chancellor's power. 

"Next came the now famous 1905 election contest cases. James P. Helm was 
senior counsel in those cases but Mr. Bruce with others stood in the forefront of 
the fight for honest elections, and largely by reason of the efforts of himself and 



1888 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

his associates . . . victory was eventually secured through the non-partisan decision 
of the Court of Appeals in Scholl vs. Bell &c, 125 Ky 750-800. [By this decision 
Paul Barth, the Mayor, and the entire official family of Louisville and Jefferson 
County, which had obtained office in that election of 1905, were obliged to sur- 
render their offices. A glance at the non-partisan newspapers of Louisville pub- 
lished at that time will readily convince one of the superb courage of Mr. Bruce 
and his associates in daring to fight to eliminate dishonest elections, official cor- 
ruption, and the denizens or the most sordid and publicly fronted turpitude and 
vice from the city]. 

"We pass over countless matters of the first magnitude in which Mr. Bruce or 
his firm was employed, and merely pause to consider briefly the character of the 
man. Again we discover the combined effects of inheritance and environment. 

"Born of Scotch ancestry in the paternal line and educated in the Valley of 
Virginia, almost in the shadow of Timber Ridge Church with all its traditions of 
the Covenanters and the Scotch-Irish, he absorbed something of the very nature 
of John Knox. Like Knox, he was fearless — perhaps relentless — in demanding of 
those in power conformity to the spirit of the law, human and divine. He ad- 
dressed himself openly to those high up in authority, and feared not to stand before 
Kings. It is significant that at a banquet at Grey's Inn in London during the 
meeting of the American Bar Association in 1924 he measured lances with the 
Earl of Birkenhead in a tilt over the probability of America entering the League 
of Nations. Mr. Bruce was one of the few that was selected to speak at this 
meeting of the bar association, his invitation being extended by Hon. John W. 
Davis, democratic candidate for president in 1924. 

"He was a leader in the movement to repeal that portion of the anti-gambling 
act of 1886 which permits pari-mutuel betting on race tracks in Kentucky. . . . 
He, more than any other man, organized the movement and led it while he lived. 

"Once he was convinced that moral issue was involved, there could be no ques- 
tion as to his stand upon such an issue. Persons might doubt the basis of the 
wisdom of his convictions, but none could question their sincerity. It has been 
said that he was reserved in manner, and some have thought him cold by nature, 
but those who really knew him never shared that opinion. His was a busy life; 
he gave to the task before him all that was in him, and with his methodical mind, 
refusing to accept facts or conclusions until he had thoroughly tested them, this 
greatly taxed his time and attention. Hence, he was not always easy of approach, 
but in his hours of relaxation no man could be more cordial or more interesting. 
His conversation then abounded in anecdote and incident related in lighter vein. 
In his home, he and his wife maintained the highest traditions of Kentucky an open 
house on New Year's Day, and on such occasions their home was thronged by 
friends and acquaintances. 

"He was a devout member of the Second Presbyterian Church, and one of its 
ruling elders from 1902 to his death. For many years he taught a Bible class for 
men on Sunday mornings. No work or study in which he engaged gave him 
greater satisfaction or pleasure than this, and perhaps none was more productive 
of good results, as attested by the resolutions adopted by his class and by the ses- 
sion of the church following his death. He enjoyed travel for recreation, and 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1889 



none could excel him in interesting narrative of his experiences. He had long de- 
sired to visit the Holy Land, and he looked forward eagerly to the consummation 
of this desire during the coming winter. He never aspired to public office, though 
he gave freely of himself to uncompensated public service. He was for many 
years a trustee of the American Printing House for the Blind and greatly interested 
in the wonderful work of that institution. He was a trustee of the University of 
Louisville, and for some time before his death, chairman of its board of trustees. 
It is not too much to say that for a year before his death he gave himself without 
stint to the service of that institution, according to his estimate of its highest and 
best needs. In this, as in all other affairs of life, the waves of criticism beat upon 
him as upon a rock of granite. How much he gave in health and strength, or in 
capacity to resist the encroachments of his last illness, the world will never know. 

"All honor to Helm Bruce. May our profession raise up another of like capacity, 
integrity and courage and leadership." 

Following is the resolution of the Men's Bible Class of the Second Presbyterian 
Church concerning the death of Helm Bruce: 

"On the 10th of August, 1927, our beloved teacher, Helm Bruce, was called 
home. He was born in Louisville, November 16, 1860, and spent his early life in 
and about Louisville, but the place that was nearest to his heart was the old Helm 
place near Elizabethtown, where he spent much of his time as a boy, enjoying to 
the full the manifold pleasures afforded by that beautiful old Kentucky plantation. 
A devoted son of the south, he attended Washington and Lee University and 
graduated there with honors in 1879. He studied law in the University of Louis- 
ville and entered active practice immediately after graduation. Always studious 
and painstaking in the preparation of his cases and vigorous in advocating the 
claims of his clients, he soon became prominent among his fellow lawyers and at 
the time of his death was recognized as one of the leaders of the Louisville bar 
not only, but also as one of the ablest lawyers in this section of the country. 

"In public life he was the champion of the side that stood for the right as he 
saw it and an aggressive opponent of all wrong whether in high or in low places. 
In early youth he took his stand as a devout believer and was always a militant 
defender of the faith as set forth in the doctrines of the Presbyterian Church. 
During his entire life he was an active leader in the work of the Second Presby- 
terian Church and was elected a ruling elder in May, 1902. His service to his 
church was unselfish and unremitting and he was always willing and ready to put 
his shoulder to the wheel and work for the accomplishment of any plan that might 
be determined upon. He was a profound student of the Bible and was never 
happier than when he was expounding the scriptures to his Men's Bible Class on 
Sunday morning. He taught the class with truly evangelistic zeal, deep spiritual 
fervor, convincing logic and profound scholarship, but he always spoke in such 
plain and easily understandable language that every member of his class could 
comprehend his meaning. All of these qualities with his lofty ideals, high moral 
standards and his attitude of true humility made him the greatly beloved leader 
of this Men's Bible Class. 

"Therefore, Be It Resolved 

" (1st) We express our heartfelt sympathy to his bereaved family. 



1890 A SES- QUI -CENTENNIAL 

" (2nd) That as a class we hereby place on record our deep sense of personal 
loss and of the loss of the Second Presbyterian Church. 

"(3rd) That we shall cherish the memory of his inspiring ability as a teacher 
and that we shall try to follow his example and to seek to attain the unwavering 
and triumphant faith that was his." 

Among his monumental works none was more praiseworthy, fruitful and im- 
portant than his earnest endeavors as a trustee of the University of Louisville. 
While Mr. Bruce was a member of the board of trustees George Colvin, who had 
achieved a brilliant and phenominal record as State Superintendent of Public 
Instruction for Kentucky in reforming and modernizing the state's lagging and 
languishing public school system, was elected president of this institution. Mr. 
Colvin was brought in to revive, modernize, reform, rebuild and extend the Uni- 
versity which had been in some of its departments more or less somnolent for a 
number of years. Mr. Colvin accomplished his task, but in moving rapidly and 
wholeheartedly, as was his custom, often with little tact, he offended some of the 
powerful conservative groups of the city, particularly a section of the press, which 
vent its spleen in cunningly placed derogations, almost daily, thus giving the public 
mind an unfavorable impression of Mr. Colvin. Throughout this trying ordeal 
Mr. Bruce stood by Mr. Colvin faithfully, as a man of so sterling a character 
would be expected to do. But Mr. Bruce and Mr. Colvin died without realizing 
the vast importance of their strenuous and trying work. The University has grown 
and progressed marvelously. This progress perhaps would not have been possible 
without the work and sacrifices of Mr. Bruce. At his passing the board of trustees 
adopted the following resolution: 

"The Board of Trustees wish, by a record in the archives of the University of 
Louisville, to perpetuate the memory of Helm Bruce, one of this institution's most 
valuable friends, and a trustee and vice president during the most trying time in 
its history. From the day of his appointment as trustee until his death, the uni- 
versity occupied the largest place in his heart and mind after his family and his 
church. He served it day and night with rare ability, devotion and courage; and 
the impress of this service will always remain. Some great men have, from time to 
time, been connected with the university, but never anyone greater than he. Upon 
every problem he brought to bear not only a powerful intellect, but a delicate con- 
science as well, and he never swerved from what he believed to be right, not merely 
to the university, but to all others concerned in the subject under discussion. 
His mature judgment, fair-mindedness and deep interest in its welfare were assets 
of the university which, now unhappily lost, can never be fully replaced. His re- 
lations with the other trustees were simply delightful. His charming personality, 
fine sense of humor, modesty, ready willingness always to assume more than his 
share of both work and responsibility made our association with him a very definite 
compensation for the burdens of the rather thankless task at which we are working. 
Knowing from our knowledge of him what his loss meant to his family, our hearts 
go out to them in deepest sympathy. They may be assured that in our memories, 
too, his face, his life and his work for the university will always have a place." 

A resolution was read in federal court soon after Mr. Bruce's death and ordered 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1891 

spread on the docket of the court by Judge Charles I. Dawson. The resolution 
is here in part quoted: 

"With the death of Helm Bruce there passed from the roster of this court one 
of its greatest members of all time. We think of him as a great lawyer; but as 
the man is the background of the lawyer, some reference to qualities other than his 
professional attainments seems not inappropriate. He was as clean and straight and 
honorable as he was able. The estimates of Mr. Bruce which have come from 
judges of the courts, state and federal, trial and appellate, including the supreme 
court of the United States, coupled with the consensus of opinion of the members 
of the bar, make it clear that he stood in the very front rank of the really great 
lawyers of this country. In his private life he was prominent as a conscientious 
churchman and courageous civic leader." 

Mr. Bruce throughout life maintained a variety of social interests: He was a 
member of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon, college social fraternity; he was always fond 
of sports and athletics; he never entered politics, though he was offered judgeships, 
all of which were declined because of the financial and professional sacrifices in- 
volved; he was a member of the Conversation Club, composed of a small group of 
the city's leading citizens interested in cultural advancement and intellectual stimu- 
lation; member of the Pendennis and the Louisville Country Clubs. 

One biographer, in closing his sketch, writes this of Mr. Bruce: 

"Helm Bruce left the impress of his individuality for good upon every movement 
or field of activity with which he was associated and the world is better for his 
having lived because of his high ideals and his effective effort to make these ideals 
a guiding spirit not only in his own life but in the community and state. Honored 
for his high standing at the bar, he was loved for those qualities which are ever 
expressed in sincere and loyal friendship and in devotion to the ties of home and 
family." 

HON. FOREST HUME, LL.B. 

Xorest Hume is a very young man to hold the important po- 
sition of Assistant Attorney General of the State of Kentucky, but his exceptional 
educational preparation and the fact that from his earliest years he had been 
brought up in the Republican Party combine to make him very successful in per- 
forming the duties of his office. He is a young man of exceptional promise, and 
he has made an excellent start on a career which will undoubtedly bring him to 
further prominence in the state of Kentucky. 

Forest Hume was born in Washington County, Kentucky, on July 13, 1912. 
His father is Dr. Omar Forest Hume, who was also born in Washington County 
in 1892. His grandfather, James Hume, had been born in the same county in 
1869, and spent his entire life there as a farmer; his death occurred in 1915. Omar 
Forest Hume has enjoyed well-deserved prominence in political circles for many 
years, as for four years he served as State Senator, from 1938 to 1942, and for 
nine years he was a member of the Kentucky State Guards, in which he holds the 
commission of Major. Dr. Hume is a practicing physician in Richmond, Kentucky, 
and the owner of some excellent farm land, on which he raises horses, cattle, hogs 



1892 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

and tobacco. A brother of Forest Hume, James Hume, manages his father's 
farms, living at Cumberland View Farm. 

The early education of Forest Hume was obtained in the grade schools of 
Richmond, Kentucky. He then attended Millersburg Military Institute at Millers- 
burg, Kentucky, and was graduated from this institution. He took a pre-legal 
course at Eastern Kentucky State Teachers College at Richmond. He was grad- 
uated from the College of Law of the University of Kentucky at Lexington in 
1940, and did post graduate work in law at Harvard University. He began the 
practice of law in Beattyville, Lee County, Kentucky, where he remained until his 
appointment as Assistant Attorney General of Kentucky on January 3, 1944. 

Forest Hume is a member of the Masonic Order and of Phi Delta Phi legal 
fraternity. He is also a member of both the Kentucky State Bar Association and 
the Madison County Bar association, and is very active in the affairs of the Re- 
publican Party. 

Thelma Todd, of Berea, Kentucky, became the bride of Forest Hume. Thelma 
(Todd) Hume was born in Berea, Madison County, Kentucky, on April 8, 1918. 
Her father, C. H. Todd, also a native of Madison County, Kentucky, is a farmer; 
her mother, Elizabeth (Allen) Todd was born in Garrard County, Kentucky. 
Mrs. Forest Hume is a graduate of Berea College, year 1939. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hume now reside in Frankfort, Kentucky. 



w. 



WILSON PRYOR PEMBERTON 



ilson Pryor Pemberton is of the fourth generation of his family 
that have called Kentucky home, three generations being native to its soil, the 
paternal great-grandfather coming from Virginia to the wilderness that is now a 
beautiful and progressive state. This record of stability is not ended with this for 
each of these generations has been engaged in intensified agriculture, the line of 
endeavor that embraces the cultivation of many and diversified crops with many 
crops per season. 

In Fayette County, Kentucky, on December 13, 1877, Wilson Pryor Pemberton 
was born on his father's farm where he now makes his home and operates a 
modern truck farm. His father, Pryor Pemberton, also was a truck farmer, and 
his grandfather, also Pryor Pemberton, was born in Woodford County, Kentucky, 
and was a truck farmer there. The paternal great-grandfather, Stephen Pember- 
ton, came from Virginia and settled in Kentucky where he also engaged in farm- 
ing. Mr. Pemberton's mother was Eliza (Hunt) Pemberton, of Fayette County, 
Kentucky. She was born on an eight hundred acre tract on the Harrodsburg 
Pike. Her father, Wilson Hunt, was a noted agriculturist and stock raiser of 
the last century. 

Wilson Pemberton attended the public schools of Fayette County, but. was 
called from his studies early by the death of his father and assumed the duties 
of the farm. He operates one hundred acres of land on the home property and 
two acres of this is under glass devoted to year-around cultivation of vegetable 
plantings which he ships to adjoining states. Here he also engages in experi- 




WILSON PRYOR PF.MBERTON 



1894 A S E.S QUI -CENTENNIAL 

mentation and research in vegetable culture with some notable results. He raises 
seventy-two crops during the calendar year and in addition to the family farm 
leases forty acres of other land for his work. In 1913 a beautiful new home was 
built on the estate which is on the Georgetown Pike. From the beginning Mr. 
Pemberton has been successful as a farmer and his diversified agricultural pur- 
suits are patterns for success in Fayette County. 

In politics Mr. Pemberton is a Democrat and in religion he and his family 
are worshippers with the Christian Church. In 1926 he was elected to the School 
Board of Fayette County and has been re-elected the succeeding four terms and is 
now Chairman of the Board. 

On February 18, 1903, Wilson Pryor Pemberton and Ida Fitzgerald of Henry 
County, were married. Mrs. Pemberton died May 31, 1938. Six children were 
born to the union. Of these Pryor Pemberton is a Captain in the United States 
Air Corps. Captain Pemberton married Marie Shelton and they are the parents 
of one son. Horace M. Pemberton married Eleanor K. Baker and they are the 
parents of two children; Wilson Pryor Pemberton, Jr., who married Margaret 
Stivers and they are the parents of two children; Gladys Pemberton married 
Clarence McGaughey; Sallie D. Pemberton married Carl Griggs and Marvin 
Herbert Pemberton, youngest of Mr. Pemberton's children, assists his father on 
the farm. 

Wilson Pryor Pemberton is truly a link in the history of his state, and he has 
contributed to the best of its life over a period of many years. 



HARRY D. STOUT 

ITarming is big business with Harry D. Stout. He owns and 
supervises fourteen farms. In addition, Mr. Stout is an official of the Kentucky 
State Bank at Carrollton, Kentucky. Mr. Stout has an unusually expert knowledge 
of the business end of farming. He went from Georgetown University to his first 
employment, which was with Continental Tobacco. Later he was with the Ameri- 
can Tobacco Company, and following that was connected with Liggett & Myers. 
During his years with these companies he gained thorough training in every phase 
of the tobacco business. Now that he is a large grower of tobacco himself, he 
is in the fortunate position of possessing knowledge that is of distinct value to him 
in his large farming enterprises. 

Harry D. Stout was born in Carroll County, Kentucky, on July 5, 1881. His 
father, James S. Stout, was born in Lee County, Virginia, in 1860. With his 
mother and brother, he came to Kentucky in 1867 and they settled in Carroll 
County. James S. Stout died in 1935. The mother of Harry D. Stout was Susie 
(Mitchel) Stout. She was born in Carroll County, Kentucky, in 1860, and died 
in 1888 at the early age of twenty-eight. Three small children were left behind, 
with Harry D. Stout, the oldest, only seven years old. 

After passing through grade and high school close to his home in Carroll Coun- 
ty, Harry D. Stout enrolled at Georgetown University in Georgetown, Kentucky. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1895 

Here he spent two years, concluding his schooling in June, 1901. With solid farm 
experience and a good education, Harry Stout found no difficulty securing a po- 
sition with the Continental Tobacco Company. He stayed with this company 
until they were merged with the American Tobacco Company, then continued in 
employment with that firm until 1911. In 1911 the American Tobacco Company 
was split up into several companies and Mr. Stout was assigned to Liggett and 
Myers Tobacco Company, where he remained for twenty-seven years. He was 
located in Shelbyville, Kentucky, and was employed chiefly in buying tobacco. 
He resigned from this position after having spent thirty-eight years as a buyer of 
tobacco and went to Worthville, Kentucky, not far from the place of his birth. 
Here he commenced farming operations. Today Mr. Stout owns and supervises 
fourteen farms, all of which are in a thriving condition. 

In 1903, Harry D. Stout married Nell Riddle, who was born in Owen County, 
Kentucky. Her father was William Riddle, of Louisville, Kentucky, born August 
2, 1848, and died in 1923. Her mother, Mary Elizabeth (Claxon) Riddle, was 
a native of Owen County, Kentucky. She was born in 1852, and passed away 
the year after her husband's death, in 1924. 

Mr. and Mrs. Harry D. Stout are the parents of two children. The son, Harry 
Riddle Stout, was born in Carroll County, Kentucky, on August 2, 1917. He 
attended Campbellsburg High School and then graduated from Kentucky Wes- 
leyan College, Winchester, Kentucky. For one year after graduation, he taught 
school and is now serving his country as a Lieutenant in the United States Coast 
Guards. The daughter, Sue Helen Stout, was born in Carroll County, Kentucky, 
on March 25, 1920. After attending grade school in her home county, she grad- 
uated from Science Hill, Shelbyville, Kentucky, and from Randolph Macon School 
in Lynchburg, Virginia. Sue Helen Stout is the second star in the service flag 
at her parent's home, as she is serving in the uniform of the United States with 
the Army Air Force, stationed at Memphis, Tennessee. 

The fraternal affiliation of Mr. Stout is with the Masonic Order. In addition 
to his extensive farming interests, he is a member of the Board of Directors of the 
Kentucky State Bank at Carrollton, Kentucky, and is also vice-president of that 
institution. 



CURTIS B. ROSE 



G 



iURTis B. Rose had been a salesman for Watts-Ritter Company 
for twelve years and in the drug business in Hazard, Kentucky, for some time 
before he entered the coal business in 1919. He is now vice-president of Indian 
Head Mining Company, a concern which sells a million tons of coal a year, 
dealing principally with railroads, large industries and retail coal companies. He 
is also vice-president and general manager of R. G. Davis Coal Company at 
Jackson, Kentucky, and is a stockholder in other mines in this locality. 

Curtis B. Rose was born in Wolfe County, Kentucky, on February 27, 1882. 
His father, John M. Rose, was also a native of Wolfe County, where he was born 
in 1867. Until his death in 1924, John Rose was a merchant and stock dealer. 



1896 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

The mother of Curtis B. Rose was Elizabeth (Sevango) Rose, who was also born 
in Wolfe County, Kentucky. 

After attending the public schools in Wolfe County, Curtis B. Rose attended 
Bryant & Stratton Business College in Louisville, Kentucky, from which he gradu- 
ated. His first business connection was with Watts-Ritter Company. He was for 
twelve years a salesman with this company, then started in business for himself in 
Hazard, Kentucky. For a number of years, Mr. Rose was in the drug business in 
Hazard. It is now just twenty-five years since he entered the field which has since 
commanded his entire attention; it was in 1919 that he went into the coal business, 
starting as a salesman for the Indian Head Mining Company. Mr. Rose is now 
vice-president of this company, which sells more than a million tons of coal each 
year to railroads, large industries and retail coal dealers. Other interests of Mr. 
Rose include the R. G. Davis Coal Company of Jackson, Kentucky, of which he 
is vice-president and general manager, and stock ownership in various mines in the 
locality. 

The marriage of Curtis B. Rose and Margaret Sewell took place in 1901. Mr. 
and Mrs. Rose became the parents of three children, and they now have three grand- 
children. Elizabeth Rose was born in Jackson, Kentucky, in 1908. After gradu- 
ation from Georgetown College at Georgetown, Kentucky, she married Garnet 
Cloyd, who was born at Irvine, Kentucky. They have two children, Elizabeth 
Carrol Cloyd, who was born at Hazard, Kentucky, on October 1, 1929, and Ben- 
jamin Rose Cloyd, who was born at Hazard, Kentucky, on May 14, 1931. Laura 
Jo Rose was born at Jackson, Kentucky, in 1912. She is now secretary and office 
manager of Hurst-Snyder Hospital. Benjamin Mitchel Rose was born at Jackson, 
Kentucky, in 1916. He attended the University of Kentucky for three years, then 
entered the armed forces of the United States. At present he is a First Sergeant 
in the United States Army. Sergeant Rose is married to Martha Ann (Kaylor) 
Rose, who is a native of Arkansas, and they have one son, Benjamin M. Rose, Jr., 
who was born in Hazard, Kentucky, on July 17, 1941. 

Curtis B. Rose is interested in various civic and fraternal activities in Hazard, 
and was a charter member of the Lions Club. 



E. MURPHY HOWARD, M.D., F.A.C.S 

_L/r. E. Murphy Howard organized and built the hospital at Har- 
lan, Kentucky, which in the thirty years in which it has been in existence has been 
enlarged three times to accommodate the many people in the vicinity of Harlan 
who wished to take advantage of the service which it was prepared to give to the 
community. At the present time there are seventy-five beds in this hospital, and 
there are eighteen nurses on the regular staff in attendance at the hospital. Dr. 
E. Murphy Howard was joined by Dr. William P. Cawood in the operation of 
the hospital just one year after it was built. Dr. Howard and Dr. Cawood are 
surgeons for a great many coal mines and operators in Harlan County in addition 
to their regular hospital work. 

Harlan, Kentucky, was the birthplace of Dr. Howard. He was born on Aug- 




E. MURPHY HOWARD, M.D., F.A.C.S. 



1898 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

ust 5, 1886, the son of Moses W. Howard, who was born in Harlan, Kentucky, 
in 1857. Moses Howard was circuit court clerk for twenty-four years, and county 
judge for four years. His death occurred in 1927 at the age of seventy. Nancy 
(Turner) Howard was the mother of E. Murphy Howard. She was born in 
Harlan in 1856, and died in 1931. 

Dr. Howard's education combined professional medical training with business 
administration. After graduation from the Harlan Academy at Harlan, Ken- 
tucky, he first took a course in business administration at Lexington, Kentucky; 
this was followed by work in the Medical College of the University of Louisville, 
from which he received the degree of M.D. He began the practice of medicine 
at Harlan, Kentucky in 1908, and six years later, in 1914, built the Harlan Hos- 
pital Association, which was opened to the public in May, 1915. The following 
year, 1916, he was joined by Dr. William Cawood, which gave to the new hospital 
the services of two doctors who were both outstanding in the medical profession. 
Five years after the hospital was first opened it was necessary to add two more 
stories to take care of the steadily increasing number of patients who wished to 
take advantage of the facilities offered by the hospital, and in 1924, just four 
years later, a three-story wing had to be added. Later on, a large addition was 
built in the rear of the hospital, which now has seventy-five beds and has about 
eighteen nurses in attendance. Dr. Howard's business training enables him to 
keep the fiscal affairs of the hospital in excellent condition, and the exceptional 
professional ability of both Dr. Howard and Dr. Cawood have given to the hos- 
pital a first-class reputation. 

The great esteem in which Dr. Howard is held by other members of the medical 
profession was demonstrated by his election to the office of president of the Ken- 
tucky State Medical Association for the years 1942 and 1943. He was appointed 
as a member of the Kentucky State Board of Health in 1928; he is president of 
the State Board of Health at the present time, and has served on the board for 
sixteen years, a record which has never been equalled. Dr. Howard belongs to 
the American Medical Association, the Kentucky State Medical Association, and 
the Harlan County Medical Association; he is also a Fellow of the American 
College of Surgeons. Since 1920, Dr. Howard has been surgeon for the Louis- 
ville and Nashville Railroad, having served in this capacity for a period of twenty- 
four years. 

In 1907, Dr. E. Murphy Howard married Mattie Eager, who was born in Har- 
lan, Kentucky. Four children were born to Dr. and Mrs. Howard. Their first 
child was a daughter, Margaret, who was born at Bell, Kentucky in 1909. 
Margaret Howard married Louis Green of Morristown, Tennessee, and has two 
children, Louis Green, Jr., who was born in Harlan, Kentucky, in 1935; and Mur- 
phy Howard Green, who was born two years later, also in Harlan. The second 
daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Howard was Elizabeth, born in Harlan, Kentucky, in 
1916. She is now married to James Greene, Jr., a native of Bell County, Ken- 
tucky, and they have one son, James Greene, III, who recently celebrated his first 
birthday, having been born in Harlan on November 10, 1943. Jacqueline Howard 
was born on December 23, 1919 in Harlan, Kentucky; and E. Murphy Howard, 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1899 

Jr., was born also in Harlan, on July 30, 1923. He is now attending Centre Col- 
lege at Danville, Kentucky, after two years at the Kentucky Military Institute. 

Dr. Howard has many social, fraternal and business connections in Harlan. 
He has been a director of the Harlan National Bank for more than twenty years, 
and for the past ten years has been a member of the managing Board of the Ken- 
tucky State Y. M. C. A. He is a trustee of the First Presbyterian Church. Dr. 
Howard belongs to the Masonic Order, in which he is a Knights Templar and a 
member of the Shrine, and he is a member of the Kiwanis Club and the Harlan 
County Country Club. His political affiliation is with the Republican Party. 

Dr. Howard is interested in a great many coal mines, and has other business 
interests as well. He owns a half interest in three mines, and is a stock holder in 
many more. He also owns two hotels in Pineville, Kentucky, and another in Paris, 
Kentucky. He derives great pleasure and satisfaction from the operation of his 
farms. One of these farms is located in Harlan County, Kentucky, and three 
more are in Knox County, Kentucky. 

Dr. Howard lives a full, rich, busy life. He is of great service to his community, 
and his own rewards are commensurately large. 



JJlF 



BIRD WATTS 



ird Watts was one of a family of six, born and brought up in 
the comfortable surroundings of a Kentucky farm. He has followed the example 
of his forebears and has spent his lifetime as a farmer, being now the part owner 
of a fine farm and operates with a brother, G. M. Watts a farm known as the 
W. S. Hunter farm in Woodford County, Kentucky. 

The farm has always been held up as the ideal example of the American pattern 
of life with its opportunity for independence of action, its rewards for initiative 
and its demands for patience and courage in the face of discouraging setbacks. 
Nevertheless, for many years the problem of the farmer was to keep his sons on 
the farm and all too frequently it was felt by the younger generation that the 
handicaps and hardships of life on the farm were too stern to be worth the strug- 
gle. Since that time, the radio and the automobile have tended to lessen the lone- 
liness of farm life. The farmer of today has machinery to help him, he has scien- 
tific research to aid in overcoming handicaps formerly beyond his control. On 
the farm owned and operated by Bird Watts modern methods and up-to-date 
machinery are employed; soil conservation is practiced and a program of diversified 
crops is followed. 

Bird Watts was born in Woodford County, Kentucky, in 1890. His father, 
George N. Watts, was born in Woodford County on March 5, 1855, and died 
in 1927. He was a farmer. Bird Watts' mother, Susie M. Tutt, was also born 
in Woodford County on March 29, 1862. She resides on the farm in Woodford 
County. 

Bird Watts has three brothers and two sisters. His oldest brother, Edward E. 
Watts, was born on April 20, 1883. Next came a sister, Rose E. Watts, born on 
June 9, 1885. She is now married to Johnson Hearn of Franklin County, Ken- 



1900 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

tucky and they have two boys: Silas Mason Hearn and Cecil Hearn. George M. 
Watts was born on March 26, 1888, and Bird Watts himself came next in line. His 
brother Otho S. Watts was born on February 12, 1895, and is married to Nellie 
Beckly from Woodford County, Kentucky. They reside in Versailles, Kentucky. 
His youngest sister, Fannie F. Watts, was born on September 24, 1899, and resides 
in Lexington, Kentucky. 

Bird Watts attended the county schools and worked on the farm. He was 
married in 1912 to Elizabeth Van Hoose from Johnston County, Kentucky. She 
was born in 1897, and died on March 10, 1919. They had two children. The 
oldest son, Marshall F. Watts, was born in Woodford County, October 13, 1913. 
He married Mossaline Johnson of Woodford County, Kentucky, and they have 
three children: Shirley Rae Watts, born in 1935; Ann Marshall Watts, born in 
1937; and Linda Sue Watts, born in 1942. 

On November 29, 1922, Bird Watts was married to Birdella Rogers, of Wood- 
ford County, Kentucky. They have one daughter, Mary Elizabeth Watts. She 
was born in Woodford County, Kentucky, on August 28, 1923. She is now 
married to Raymond Smith of Woodford County, Kentucky, who is serving in the 
United States Medical Corps and is with his unit in France. 

Like every large farmer, Mr. Watts has had to meet the entirely new problems 
brought about by war. He has been faced with the problems arising out of short- 
ages of labor and material, together with the lack and delay in transportation. 
And as the difficulties have mounted, so also have the demands for farm products 
increased, so that Bird Watts can reflect that, though times change, problems are 
always present and on the farm as in all lines of industry one must be willing and 
able to adapt oneself to circumstances and change with the times. In these days 
of war the farmer is in the front line of production, for with truth it has been 
said, "Food will win the war and help keep the peace." A lifetime on the farm, 
such as Mr. Watts has spent, is indeed a lifetime spent in essential service. 



HON. KENNETH HERNDON TUGGLE 



K, 



.enneth Herndon Tuggle was elected Lieutenant Governor of 
Kentucky in 1943. Election to this high office followed service as City Attorney 
of Barbourville, Kentucky, and County Attorney of Knox County, in which 
Barbourville is situated. In both of these offices Kenneth Tuggle made outstand- 
ing records. He was the Republican nominee for Attorney General of Kentucky 
in 1939, and on several occasions has served as Special Circuit Judge. His bril- 
liant performance of his duties in every office which he has held made him the 
choice of the people for the important position which he is now filling in an ex- 
emplary manner. 

Kenneth Tuggle has practiced law in Barbourville, Kentucky, for seventeen 
years in association with his fatJier, Judge Jesse D. Tuggle, who was County 
Judge for Knox County; his grandfather, Judge William Tuggle, twice held 
the same office. Members of the Tuggle family have figured prominently in 




HON. KENNETH HERNDON TUGGLE 



1902 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

the life of Knox County ever since Thomas Tuggle, the great-grandfather of 
Kenneth H. Tuggle, came to Barbourville in 1800, the year Knox County was 
created. Thomas Tuggle was born in Goochland County, Virginia, in 1767, and 
was educated at Hampden-Sydney in Virginia, one of the oldest colleges in the 
state. He was a man of importance in the new community of Barbourville. For 
fourteen years he was a Justice of Knox County and was sheriff and commissioner 
of the old Wilderness Road. He was one of the organizers of the Bank of Bar- 
bourville, chartered in 1818, and was a trustee of the first school in Southeastern 
Kentucky. He lived for thirty-four years in the Barbourville settlement until his 
death in 1834. His wife, the great-grandmother of Kenneth Herndon Tuggle, was 
Susanna Herndon of Goochland County, Virginia. His son William was born 
in Knox County, Kentucky, in 1810 and died in 1888. William Tuggle was edu- 
cated for a legal career, and was twice County Judge of Knox County, and four 
times Circuit Court Clerk. His wife, the grandmother of Kenneth H. Tuggle, 
was Sarah Catherine (Davis) Tuggle, who was born in what is now Bell County, 
Kentucky in 1838 and died in 1915. She was the daughter of James W. Davis, a 
native of Claiborne County, Tennessee, who represented Knox County in the Leg- 
islature three times; her mother was Anna (Love) Davis of Claiborne County, 
Tennessee. The son of Judge William Tuggle and Sarah Catherine (Davis) 
Tuggle was Jesse D. Tuggle, who was born in Barbourville, Kentucky on March 
15, 1867. Jesse D. Tuggle, the father of Kenneth H. Tuggle, is a prominent 
lawyer in Barbourville, he was County Judge and also County Attorney. He has 
been one of the outstanding trial lawyers in Southeast Kentucky for over fifty years 
and a leader in the civic and cultural life of the state. The mother of Kenneth H. 
Tuggle is Sue Gregory (Root) Tuggle, who was born in Laurel County, Kentucky 
on February 20, 1884. She was a daughter of John W. Root, who was a veteran of 
the Union Army, and was president of the First National Bank of Corbin for 
many years. Their only son, Kenneth Herndon Tuggle, was born in Barbourville 
on June 12, 1904. 

Kenneth Tuggle attended the public schools of Barbourville, Kentucky, and 
Union College, also at Barbourville. He received his A.B. degree from the 
University of Kentucky, and then spent two years as a student at the College 
of Law, University of Kentucky. He began the practice of law on October 1, 
1926, being associated with his father under the firm name of Tuggle & Tuggle. 
Kenneth Tuggle served as City Attorney of Barbourville and County Attorney 
of Knox County, and is now president of the Knox County Bar Association. 
A very active member of the Republican party, he was the nominee of that party 
for Attorney General of Kentucky in 1939. He is an eloquent and convincing 
public speaker, speaking the language of the people. On several occasions, Ken- 
neth Tuggle has served as Special Circuit Judge. When the high honor of 
election to the post of Lieutenant Governor of Kentucky came to him, he was 
exceptionally well qualified, through education, experience and background, to 
fill the office with conspicuous success. Governor Tuggle has been a student of 
government all of his life. As President of the state senate he has become a 
skilled parlimentarian and presides fairly and in a non-partisan manner. He is 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1903 

also chairman of the Kentucky Legislative Council, chairman of the Kentucky 
Disabled Ex-service men's Board and chairman of the Kentucky Commission on 
Inter-State Cooperation. He is also a member of the Board of Managers of the 
Council of State Governments, a national organization. 

Several businesses in Barbourville have benefited from the participation in their 
affairs by Kenneth H. Tuggle. He is the president of the Union National Bank, 
which he organized in 1934, and also Chairman of the Board of this bank. He 
is a director of the Barbourville Brick Company, and a director in the Rapp Lum- 
ber Company. He is a member of the board of directors of the Barbourville 
Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Jurisprudence Committee of the 
Kentucky Banker's Association. 

Governor Tuggle belongs to a number of fraternal and social organizations, 
in many of which he has taken a leading part. He took the 32nd degree in 
the Masonic Order, and is a Past Master of Mountain Lodge No. 187. His 
College fraternity is Pi Kappa Alpha and he is also a member of the Elks, the 
Kiwanis Club, the Pendennis Club of Louisville, Kentucky, and The Filson Club 
(historical) , also of Louisville. His hobbies are swimming and fishing. Governor 
Tuggle has been a member of the Board of Trustees of Union College for several 
years, serving on its finance, executive and endowment committees. 

The marriage of Kenneth Herndon Tuggle and Mary Vivian Shirley, of Bar- 
bourville, Kentucky, took place in 1937. The father of Mrs. Kenneth H. Tuggle 
is James W. Shirley, who was born in Tennessee; her mother, Eleanor (Mitchell) 
Shirley, was born in Rogersville, Tennessee. Mrs. Tuggle is an active member 
of the Barbourville Woman's Club and the Daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion. She is vice chairman of the Republican State Central Committee. Governor 
and Mrs. Tuggle have one son, Kenneth Jesse Tuggle, who was born on April 
22, 1939. The family worships at the Methodist Church, where Mr. Tuggle is 
a Deacon. 

Governor Tuggle is a Colonel in the Kentucky Active Militia, and was chair- 
man of the Knox County War Finance Committee until September, 1943, when 
his duties as the new Lieutenant Governor of Kentucky made it necessary that the 
chairmanship of this committee should pass into other hands. 



REVEREND EDWARD A. WAECHTER, C.P. 

X he Parish of St. Cecilia is an outstanding one in Louisville 
Catholic circles. Outstanding in the character and range of its activities and in 
the record of steady growth that has been maintained. Father Edward Waechter, 
the pastor in charge of the work at St. Cecilia, is by temperament and training 
eminently fitted for the task. He came to Louisville and the pastorate of this 
Parish in 1926. In two years after his arrival the new school was built and the 
educational activities enlarged, and this progress has continued steadily until it 
is now the largest Parish in the city, giving spiritual and educational outlet to 
from 1,500 to 1,600 families. It is located in a section that attracts new residents 



1904 



A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



of the city and many such find their first Louisville home there. When the Parish 
was founded in 1874 there were no business houses in the entire district but a 
neighborhood of small farms housed the people of the locality. They were work- 
ing people exclusively, people who were making their way through life with the 
labor of their hands. In the school there is now an enrollment of 860 children, 
descendants of the first inhabitants and added to by the new citizens that have 
come yearly into the district. Approximately eighty-eight pupils from this en- 
rollment graduate yearly. Until 1926 the secular clergy was in charge of the 
Parish work. It was in this year that Bishop Floersh requested the Fathers of 
the Congregation of the Resurrection to take charge of the Parish and it was then 
that Father Waechter was assigned to the pastorate and the choice proved to be 
a happy one. The Parish includes the church built in 1904, the rectory built 
in 1892 and the school of sixteen rooms built in 1928. Until this new school 
building was erected the old church was used as a school hall. The Sisters of 
Charity of Nazareth are the instructors of the school as they have been from the 
inception of the Parish. 

Reverend Edward A. Waechter, C.P., was born in Walkertown, Ontario, Canada, 
August 17, 1891. He attended the schools of Kitchener, Ontario, with four years 
of high school and two years at St. Jerome's College. In 1912 he went to Rome, 
Italy, and from that year until 1918 was at Gregorian University. Here he devoted 
his study to Theology and Philosophy. In 1918 he came to Kentucky and taught 
at St. Mary's College, at St. Mary's for a period of six years. In 1925 he trans- 
ferred his activities to Webber Hall, Chicago, Illinois, where he taught until he 
was called to take charge at St. Cecilia. 

Priest, Educator and Friend, Edward A. Waechter has an unquestioned position 
in the work of the Church and the life of the community he serves. His career 
bears evidence that the able Priest is naturally a proper educator and good friend. 



CHRISTOPHER WILLETT COMPTON, D.D.S. 



D„ 



"r. Christopher Willett Compton has maintained a dental 
office in Mt. Sterling, Kentucky for over thirty-five years. During that time he 
has earned a reputation for proficiency that brings in patients from points far 
removed from Mt. Sterling. Dr. Compton has an unusually good background, 
both of education and experience, and he has continually kept informed on the 
latest developments in his profession. Before coming to Mt. Sterling, Dr. Compton 
practiced for several years in the western portion of the state. He has interested 
himself in the community life of Mt. Sterling, and can always be relied upon to 
give time and effort to help any good movement along. 

On February 11, 1876, Christopher Willett Compton was born at Uniontown, 
Kentucky. His father, John Christopher Compton, was born in Union County, Ken- 
tucky, in 1830, and died in 1892. He had a farm and in addition he maintained a 
mercantile business in Uniontown. Here he sold just about everything that the 
farmer might require, and his store was a busy place. Farmers came in to buy and 




CHRISTOPHER WILLETT COMPTON, D.D.S. 



1906 A S E S Q UI-CENTENNIAL 

stopped to talk, and John Compton, being a socially minded man, found pleasure as 
well as profit in his combined interests of farming and merchandising. The mother 
of Christopher W. Compton was Mary Ann (Willett) Compton, and she was also 
a native of Union County. Hers was a long and useful life, filled with interest, 
and her memory being keen, she was a most interesting person. She was born in 
1839, and died in 1932, at the age of ninety-three. She is buried at St. Vincent, 
Kentucky. 

Christopher W. Compton attended the schools of Union County, and like all 
boys brought up on the farm he had his share of chores. There was work in the 
store, too, and Christopher Compton early decided that he would rather be back 
of the counter than out in the fields. He liked the sociable atmosphere of the 
country store, and so arranged affairs that he put in most of his working time in 
the store. Very definitely Christopher Compton had no ambition to be a farmer. 
He decided to follow a professional career, and realized that the first requisite 
would be an unusually thorough education, followed by intensive practice and 
constant study. In 1901, Christopher W. Compton was graduated from the Uni- 
versity of Indianapolis Dental College with the degree of D.D.S. He began prac- 
tice with Dr. L. A. King at Henderson, Kentucky, which is located only a few 
miles from his home county. After one year in Henderson, Dr. Compton decided 
to establish himself in practice and moved a short distance south to Dixon in Web- 
ster County, Kentucky. Here he remained for eight years, then made the long 
move east from Dixon to Mt. Sterling, Kentucky. That was in 1909, thirty-five 
years ago, and Dr. Compton has built up a large and lucrative practice during 
that time. 

In 1912, Dr. Christopher Willett Compton married Nancy E. Evans. Nancy 
(Evans) Compton is a native of Hillsboro, Ohio. Dr. and Mrs. Compton are 
the parents of a daughter, Mary Christine, who was born at Mt. Sterling, Ken- 
tucky. She married E. M. Stokes, Jr., of Louisville, Kentucky, and they have 
one child, Nancy Duke Stokes, who was born at Mt. Sterling on January 2, 1942. 
E. M. Stokes, Jr., is now serving in the United States Army. 



RICHARD CHEATHAM LEAVELL 



W, 



hen Richard Cheatham Leavell passed away on February 1, 
1941, he left behind a deep sense of loss not only in Hopkinsville, but throughout 
Kentucky. The passing of time has only served to throw into true perspective 
the sterling merit and noble characteristics of this prominent son of Kentucky. 

On September 23, 1862, Richard Cheatham Leavell was born in Christian Coun- 
ty, Kentucky, the son of George Buckner Leavell and Mary Elizabeth (Cheatham) 
Leavell. He came from a distinguished line of forebears, tracing descent on both 
sides to families prominent in the early settlement of Christian County. His 
pioneer ancestors came from Virginia and first settled near Trenton, in Todd 
County, but later came to Christian County. His grandparents on his mother's 




RICHARD CHEATHAM LEAVELL 



1908 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

side were General Richard Cheatham and his wife, who was Mary E. Watkins, 
of Springfield, Tennessee. 

The father of Richard Leavell was the oldest son of a large family born to 
Lewis Livingston Leavell and Mary Ann (Buckner) Leavell. One of the daughters 
married Senator Austin Peay, and her son, Austin Leavell Peay, was three times 
Governor of Tennessee, dying in office. 

Richard Cheatham Leavell was reared on a farm in Christian County, near 
Hopkinsville. He owned and operated several large farms and was considered one 
of the most successful farmers in that section of Kentucky. In addition to his 
ability as a farmer, Mr. Leavell possessed sound business instincts, and he estab- 
lished a livestock concern in Hopkinsville. Under his skillful management this 
grew to be a prosperous wholesale business with a wide trade and an excellent 
reputation. Success merely tended to mellow the fine qualities of Mr. Leavell. 
He continued through life, helpful and courteous to all, and ever ready to en- 
courage well-intentioned ambition. 

Richard Leavell married Carrie May Stratton of Lebanon, Tennessee. Her 
father, James E. Stratton, was born in Lebanon, Tennessee, where he was a promi- 
nent merchant. Her mother, Mary Elizabeth (Grimes) Stratton was born in 
Allensville, Kentucky. Mrs. Leavell had an excellent education, attending Lebanon 
College for Young Ladies in Lebanon, and later graduating from Ward Seminary 
in Nashville, Tennessee. Mrs. Leavell was for years noted as a leader in social 
and literary activities. Mr. and Mrs. Leavell were the parents of five children: 
Mary Elizabeth, Mattie Foster, Carrie May, and two infant sons, none of whom 
are living. They reared two foster sons: Dr. Thomas J. LaMotte of Harlingen, 
Texas, and Edward Golladay LaMotte of Hopkinsville, Kentucky. Dr. Thomas 
J. LaMotte is a graduate of the University of Louisville, where he received his 
M.D. degree, but he continued his educational work at Tulane University in New 
Orleans, where he specialized in the study of the Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat. He 
is now in practice in Harlingen, Texas, where he is one of the leading specialists 
in southern Texas. He married Anita Smith of New Orleans, and they have four 
children. In the birth of these children has occurred one of the most phenomenal 
incidents. One that has attracted the attention of the world and has been included 
in Ripley's "Believe it or Not." All four of Dr. LaMotte's children have been 
born on June 3rd. Carolyne Anita in 1936, Richard Leavell in 1937, Thomas 
Seymour in 1939 and Edward Golladay in 1940. Edward Golladay LaMotte is 
a graduate of Centre College, of Danville, Kentucky, and for two years was a 
student at Yale University. He married Edith (Tate) Winfree of Hopkinsville, 
Kentucky, and is one of the larger farmers of Christian County. 

The home of the late Richard C. Leavell and Mrs. Leavell on Seventh Street 
is one of the most pleasant and beautiful homes in Hopkinsville. In addition to 
his interests in agriculture and business, Mr. Leavell was prominent in the Demo- 
cratic party. His influence there, as in all the groups with which he was asso- 
ciated, was as a power for good. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1909 

JUDGE WALTER SCOTT BRIM 

JLt is commonplace for seekers after public office to claim that 
they have the respect and confidence of the people they seek to represent. When 
a candidate is elected and then comes before the voters again, and is endorsed for 
higher office, it is evident that here is a man of tested and approved merit. Such 
a man is Walter Scott Brim, County Judge, for Carroll County, Kentucky. The 
first venture of Judge Brim into public life was in 1912 when he was elected 
Police Judge. During his term of office he proved to be a man of rare patience 
and endowed with cool reasoning. Judge Brim had the ability to sift the essential 
from the maze of frequently contradictory statements presented before him. In 
1940, Judge Brim was elected by the voters to represent District 60 in the State 
Legislature, consisting of Carroll and Gallatin Counties of Kentucky. Here he 
again proved his worth as a man of sound judgment, always alert to the needs of 
his own district, and constantly on guard for the good of the state. When in 1942 
Judge Brim was elected County Judge of Carroll County, the voters chose well 
in marking their ballots for Walter Scott Brim. He was of the capable, fearless 
type with a practical background that particularly fitted him for the high office of 
County Judge. 

Walter Scott Brim was born in Jessamine County, Kentucky, on February 28, 
1887. His father, Thomas Brim, was a farmer, and combined with his farm work 
the almost-forgotten trade of cooper. He was born in Jessamine County in 1863, 
and died in 1943. The mother of Walter Scott Brim was Millie (Temple) Brim. 
She was born in Garrett County, Kentucky, and died at an early age in 1900. 

After completing his schooling, Walter Brim worked on the home farm in 
Jessamine County, Kentucky, then set out for the neighboring state of Indiana. 
His first employment was in a cotton mill in Madison, Indiana. Later, Walter 
Brim went to work in a furniture store, and he learned that business so thoroughly 
and well that he now has a large retail furniture business of his own in Carrollton, 
Kentucky. 

It was in 1912 that Walter Scott Brim earned the right to title as "Judge." 
He was elected as police Judge and served with a true regard for the dignity and 
responsibilities of this important position. No case that came before him was 
ever slighted; Judge Brim always took time to hear all the evidence and was never 
hurried in his consideration. The result was that his verdicts were uniformly just 
and impartial, and he gained what he had sought, the respect and confidence of 
his people. They requested that he become a candidate for Legislature, and when 
he did run in 1940 the voters saw to it that he was elected as Representative for 
District 60. Judge Brim served his constituents well, and in 1942 he was elected 
to his present office of County Judge. 

In 1905, Walter Scott Brim married Emma L. Imel cf Jefferson County, Indi- 
ana. They are the parents of two daughters. The oldest daughter, Virginia, was 
born in Madison, Indiana, in 1907. She married Julian B. Carson, of Cornelia, 
Georgia. They have one child, Margaret Ann Carson, born in Corinth, Mississippi 
in 1937. Mr. Carson is connected with the Tennessee Valley Authority. The 

9— Vol. IV 



1910 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

second daughter, Mary Margaret, was born on October 7, 1912, in Carrollton, 
Kentucky. She is married to Richard Orr Sebree, who was born in Ghent, Ken- 
tucky. He is employed as a Developing Engineer by the Girdler Corporation of 
Louisville, Kentucky. 

Judge Brim retains affectionate remembrance of his early days on the farm, 
and his training there is. not a forgotten skill. He owns and operates a large farm 
in Carroll County, raising tobacco and a variety of general crops. 

He was a delegate from Kentucky to the National Convention in 1940; was 
Sergeant-at-Arms at the 1944 Convention at Chicago, at which time President 
Roosevelt was nominated. 

JAMES CLAUDE MILLER 

James Claude Miller, farmer, engineer and banker, was born in 
Clinton County, Kentucky, September 9, 1880, the son of James O. Miller, M.D., 
who was a graduate of the University of Louisville Medical College. Dr. Miller 
located in Clinton County, Kentucky, in the year 1879 to practice his profession 
but remained there only one year and returned to his place of birth, Crocus, Ken- 
tucky, in Adair County, ten miles south of Columbia, Kentucky. Dr. Miller was 
born November 21, 1857, and died July 16, 1896. The mother of James C. 
Miller was Mattie A. Buster who was born at Creelsboro, Kentucky, on Cumber- 
land River in Russell County on November 8, 1856; she married Dr. James O. 
Miller March 22, 1877, and died March 29, 1928. 

James C. Miller is a descendant of George Miller who immigrated to this 
country from Germany in the Seventeenth Century and settled in Garrard County, 
Kentucky, near Lancaster, later moving to Crocus, Kentucky, on the line between 
Russell and Adair Counties, ten miles south of Columbia, Kentucky. George 
Miller had a son named Adam Miller who married Patience Whitsom and to this 
union a son was born and his name was James P. Miller, who married Lou E. 
Lester on August 15, 1853, and to this marriage was born a son, the above-men- 
tioned Dr. James O. Miller. All of the above ancestors of James C. Miller are 
dead and rest in the old family burial grounds at Crocus, Adair County, Kentucky, 
as well as his mother who is also buried there. The Millers are of Scotch-Dutch 
descent. 

James C. Miller's ancestors on his mother's side date back to Revolutionary days 
and before. The line is as follows: Edward Flowers, born May 21, 1743, and died 
April 2, 1815, and the Federal marker at his grave is inscribed as follows: "Soldier 
under George Washington." Edward Flowers' wife was named Rebecca, and to 
this union was born a son and his name was Berryman F. Flowers, born May 25, 
1800, and died August 14, 1871. B. F. Flowers' wife's name was Martha and 
to this union a daughter was born and they named her Betsy C. Flowers. Betsy 
was born September 24, 1829, and died October 1, 1897. She married Claude C. 
Buster and they became the father and mother of Mattie A. Buster, the mother 
of James C. Miller, our subject. All of the above ancestors of James C. Miller 




JAMES CLAUDE MILLER 



1912 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

are dead, and rest in the family burial grounds at Creelsboro, Kentucky, except his 
mother, who, as stated above, is buried at Crocus, Kentucky. 

James C. Miller was brought up on a farm one mile east of Crocus, Kentucky, 
in the lower edge of Russell County and attended school at Coffey School House, 
where he was taught "his a, b, c's from a blue-back speller," reading from Mc- 
Guffey's Reader and arithmetic from Rays' Third Part Arithmetic. Mr. Miller 
was only sixteen years old when his father died in 1896 and instead of the uni- 
versity education which he might have received if his father had lived, he went 
to work on the farm to assist his mother in making a living for his seven brothers 
and sisters, six younger than he. 

At the age of twenty-one James C. Miller married Olive S. Morrison who died 
on August 21, 1903. To this union was born a son, Clyde P. Miller, who married 
Lucille W. Winfrey, and to this union was born two sons, Eugene and James 
Winfrey Miller. James C. Miller then married Josephine Morrison, who died 
May 24, 1906. To this union was born a daughter, Jewell (Miller) Monson, who 
married George Monson and they have an adopted son named Rodger A. Monson. 

In 1908 James C. Miller was employed by the War Department in the con- 
struction of Lock 21, near Eadsville, Kentucky, on the Cumberland River. His 
industry and willingness to work attracted the U. S. Engineer in charge of the 
work, and James C. Miller was advised to take schooling in engineering by mail 
which he did, working days at his job and studying at night. At the end of four 
years he graduated in his studies and was granted a diploma from this school. 
In 1912 James C. Miller was designing buildings, making blue-prints and writing 
specifications for same and in many cases erecting the buildings all complete from 
the idea to completed structure. Some of the more outstanding monuments to 
James C. Miller's architectural ability are Columbia City School and additions, 
Columbia, Kentucky; the Lindsey -Wilson Methodist College gymnasium and boys' 
dormitory, Columbia, Kentucky; City School Building, Campbellsville, Kentucky; 
and Taylor County High School, Campbellsville, Kentucky. This latter building 
is not completely finished on account of war demands but is in use. 

James C. Miller married Mrs. Lena (Powell) Miller in the year 1913. Mrs. 
Lena (Powell) Miller was a widow with three children. One boy, Owen P. Miller, 
married Katherine Russell. Opal (Miller) Burks is the girl child born at the same 
date Owen was born and she married Minor Burks. The third and last of these 
three children is Edna (Miller) Shirley and she married Dr. Paul B. Shirley. 

To the marriage of James C. Miller and Lena (Powell) Miller was born three 
children, the first a boy named James C. Miller, Jr., who is now a Lieutenant in 
the United States Army Air Force. He served in the Eighth Air Force as a 
navigator in combat, using heavy bombers in World War II, won Air Medal, 
Distinguished Flying Cross and many citations for work well done for his country 
in time of war, and has the honor of being on the first shuttle bombing mission 
ever made in the air from his base in England to Russia then to Italy then back to 
his base in England, more than 7,000 miles, and his old ancestor of five generations 
gone by (Edward Flowers, Revolutionary soldier) must have thrilled at this de- 
scendant's performance. James C. Miller, Jr., the soldier, married Jane C. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1913 

Crouch and to this union was born a son named James C. Miller, III. The second 
child is a girl and named Lena Powell Miller and is not married. The third child, 
a boy, is George O. Miller, who entered the United States Navy at nineteen years 
of age. He is in school for radio work for the Navy at the University of Wiscon- 
sin, at Madison, Wisconsin. George was ready to finish civil engineering at the 
University of Kentucky this year (1945) when he was called into service of his 
country. George is not married. 

James C. Miller moved to Campbellsville, Kentucky, in 1914 and erected the 
Christian Church at that place. In the year 1915 the James C. Miller Company 
was formed and this firm name was to be used in the construction field by James 
C Miller the individual in the erection of buildings, etc., and did erect many 
public buildings for our state government in many different states of the South 
from Florida to the Great Lakes. 

In 1937 James C. Miller organized the Taylor County Bank to take the place 
of a bank that had failed and another bank that failed the following year. The 
Taylor County Bank has made rapid growth from the start and is now among the 
largest financial institutions in South Central Kentucky, at this time showing total 
assets and resources of approximately three million dollars. When this bank was 
organized in 1937 and ready for business James C. Miller was elected to serve 
as its first President and his management has been so successful and his policies 
so sound the directors have never changed their president as Mr. Miller is still 
president of this bank. This success in management is mostly due to the training 
Mr. Miller had working with and for the government in his long career as a 
designer of buildings and engineer supervising and erecting buildings under the 
most exacting specifications and inspection. Mr. Miller's untiring energy and 
industry in securing an education under such trying conditions makes him a man 
of great patience and understanding with the people and perfectly fitted to guide 
a bank under most any condition of prosperity or depression. 

James C. Miller is a Mason. He and his family attend the Christian Church. 
He is Taylor County War Finance Committee chairman and all drives have made 
their quota and more. He is playing a large part in all activities in the local 
community and is always found with his shoulder to the wheel when any worthy 
cause needs his help. 



WILLARD BOOKER KIRKPATRICK, D.D.S. 

Iwenty years ago, Dr. Willard Booker Kirkpatrick came to 
Hopkinsville, Kentucky, where he opened an office for the practice of his newly- 
acquired profession of dentistry. That was his first dental office, for he had just 
received the degree of D.D.S. from the University of Louisville in 1924. He had 
been an outstanding student at the Dental College of the University of Louisville, 
and he brought youth, vigor, enthusiasm and fine professional training to this first 
venture into the field of dentistry. Years have added experience and youth has 
given way to sound maturity, but Dr. Kirkpatrick's vigor and enthusiasm for his 



1914 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

chosen profession have increased rather than waned, and the large practice which 
he now enjoys bears testimony to the excellence of the work which he does. 

Willard Booker Kirkpatrick was born at Penrod, in Muhlenburg County, Ken- 
tucky, on December 30, 1898. His father, H. L. Kirkpatrick, who was born at 
Nashville, Tennessee, in 1872, is now retired from his former business as an 
operator in coal. His mother, Belle (Booker) Kirkpatrick, was born in Muhlen- 
burg County, Kentucky, in 1878. Mr. and Mrs. H. L. Kirkpatrick are now living 
in Russellville, Kentucky. 

The early schooldays of Willard B. Kirkpatrick were spent at Russellville, Ken- 
tucky, where he attended the public schools and graduated from Bethel College. 
For his professional training, Willard Kirkpatrick went to Louisville, Kentucky, 
where he enrolled as a student in the Dental College of the University of Louis- 
ville. In 1924, Dr. Willard B. Kirkpatrick opened an office in Hopkinsville, Ken- 
tucky, after receiving his degree of D.D.S. from the University of Louisville, and 
he is now a well-established dentist in that community. 

Elizabeth Forgy, a native of Elkton, Kentucky, became the bride of Dr. Willard 
Booker Kirkpatrick in 1922. The father of Mrs. Kirkpatrick was S. Walton 
Forgy, of Elkton, Kentucky, and her mother was Elizabeth (Twidwell) Forgy, of 
Danville, Kentucky, both of whom are now deceased. 

The two children of Dr. and Mrs. Kirkpatrick were both born in Hopkinsville. 
Harry Louis Kirkpatrick was born on February 16, 1925. After graduation from 
the Hopkinsville High School, he attended Vanderbilt University for one year. 
He volunteered for service in the United States Army when war was declared, and 
is now an instructor in gunnery on Super Fortresses, stationed at Alamogordo, New 
Mexico. His sister, Elizabeth, was born in Hopkinsville on July 3, 1927. 

Election of Dr. Kirkpatrick to the presidency of the West Central Kentucky 
Dental Association proves very definitely that he is highly regarded by other 
members of his profession who practice in his own district and know him well. 
In addition to being past president of the West Central Kentucky Dental Asso- 
ciation, Dr. Kirkpatrick belongs to the Kentucky State Dental Association and the 
American Dental Association. He also maintains membership in Psi Omega and 
in Omicron Kappa Upsilon honorary dental fraternity, and Sigma Alpha Epsilon 
literary fraternity. 



WILLIAM NEWTON CRAIG, M.D. 



D, 



r. William Newton Craig, prominent physician and pharmacist 
of Stanford, Kentucky, can trace his ancestry back to the earliest beginnings of this 
great country. Members of his family have held honored positions in Virginia and 
Kentucky ever since the first William Craig came to America from North Ireland 
in 1721. The Craig family is connected with other families prominent in United 
States history. Daniel Craig, a brother of this first William Craig, was the father 
of Sarah, the grandmother of President Theodore Roosevelt. William Craig, immi- 
grant, was a Scotch-Irish Covenanter Presbyterian. 

Anyone who is interested in the lives of those men and women who laid the 
firm foundation for this great democracy must find the record of the forebears of 




WILLIAM NEWTON CRAIG, M.D. 



1916 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Dr. William Newton Craig a very interesting document. William Craig, who 
came to America in 1721, was born somewhere between 1685 and 1690; he died in 
1721, the year he first settled in the new land. His wife was Jean, also called 
Janet in some documents, and his son, James Craig, was born in 1715; he died in 
1791. James Craig married Mary Laird, and their son, named for his father, was 
born in 1745 and died in 1807. The wife of James Craig, II, was Jean (Stewart) 
Craig, and their son, William Craig, married Elizabeth Mills, March 9, 1804, in 
the Old Stone Church in Augusta County, Virginia. William Craig brought his 
bride to Stanford, Kentucky, that same year, and the site of the mill which he 
built is a landmark still in the possession of his namesake, the present Dr. William 
Craig. The son of William Craig was named James Newton Craig; he was born 
on December 22, 1813, and died on June 15, 1899. He was a merchant, and 
married Nancy Hughes on June 17, 1836. 

John Henry Craig, the son of James Newton Craig and Nancy (Hughes) 
Craig, his wife, was born on December 5, 1844 and died June 29, 1893. He was 
a student at Centre College in 1861. Like his father, he engaged in merchandising 
operations. He married Annie Catherine VanArsdale on January 28, 1868. Annie 
(VanArsdale) Craig was the granddaughter of Colonel Benjamin Briggs, the son 
of Samuel Briggs and Mary Logan, who was a sister of Colonel Benjamin Logan, 
who established St. Asaph Fort in 1775. 

The third member of the Craig family to bear the name of William Newton, 
was born on June 14, 1871, the son of John Henry and Annie Catherine (Van- 
Arsdale) Craig. He is an alumnus of Centre College, where his father had been 
a student, in 1861. He graduated from the Louisville Medical College in 1895. 
He is a member of Sigma Chi Fraternity, Masonic Order, The Filson Club, Past 
President of Rotary, President of Whitley Park Association, Elder in the Presby- 
terian Church, affiliated with the Democratic party, and served on Selective Service 
Board in World War I. Dr. William Newton Craig married Susan Taylor Baugh- 
man on October 30, 1895. The name of Jacob Baughman, the great-great-grand- 
father of Susan Taylor Baughman, also occurs in the early history of Kentucky; 
away back about 1780, Jacob Baughman, one of the early pioneers, was massacred 
on Negro Creek by the Indians. Dr. William Newton Craig is now retired from 
the active practice of his profession. Dr. and Mrs. Craig are the parents of two 
daughters, Sallie Mills and Annie VanArsdale Craig, and a son, Samuel Baughman 
Craig. 

Sallie Mills Craig was born on July 28, 1896. She received the degree of A.B. 
from Centre College at Danville, Kentucky, in 1939, with high honors. Before 
her marriage on September 17, 1919 to John Welch Rochester, descendent of 
Nathaniel Rochester, founder of Rochester, New York. Sallie Mills Craig was 
a member of the faculty of the Stanford, Kentucky, High School. The oldest 
son of John Welch and Sallie (Craig) Rochester is one of the nation's heroes 
who have died in defense of the ideals of democracy, and the way of life which 
his ancestors helped to establish. Ephram Owsley Rochester was born on July 5, 
1920. He was graduated with high honors and the degree of A.B. from Centre 
College at Danville, Kentucky, in 1942; on August 31, 1943, Ephram Owsley 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1917 



Rochester, pilot of a dive bomber, was killed in a plane crash. His sister, Sue 
Craig Rochester, the only daughter in the family, was born on June 27, 1922; she 
received the degree of A.B. from Centre College in Danville, Kentucky, in 1943, 
and A.M. from the University of Indiana in 1944. Miss Rochester is now a 
member of the faculty of the Louisville, Kentucky, High School. William Welch 
Rochester was born June 27, 1928, and Samuel Lee Rochester, was born on Jan- 
uary 8, 1932; they are students in the Stanford, Kentucky, High School. 

Annie VanArsdale Craig, the second daughter of Dr. and Mrs. William Newton 
Craig, was born on September 7, 1898. She received the A.B. degree from Centre 
College in Danville, Kentucky, in 1934, and is now an instructor of the deaf in 
the Kendall School in Washington, D. C. She received an A.M. degree from 
Gallaudet College in 1945. 

Samuel Baughman Craig, the only son of Dr. and Mrs. William Newton Craig, 
is a man of great importance in the field of education, where he has specialized in 
widening the educational opportunities of those handicapped by deafness. The 
current (1944-1945) issue of Who's Who in America includes Samuel Baughman 
Craig as one of the prominent educators in the United States. He was born in 
Stanford, Kentucky, on March 19, 1901. His education included graduation from 
Centre College at Danville, Kentucky in 1923, with the degree of A.B.; post grad- 
uate work at Gallaudet College in Washington, D. C, where he received the de- 
gree of A.M. in 1925; further studies at The George Washington University cf 
Washington, D. C, in 1928; and additional graduate work at the American Uni- 
versity, University of Kentucky. From 1923 to 1924 Samuel Baughman Craig 
was an instructor in the Kentucky School for the Deaf; since 1925 he has been 
principal of the Kendall School for the Deaf and an instructor in the Normal 
Department of Gallaudet College, in charge of the Normal Department of this 
college since 1927, and Professor of Education since 1929. In 1945, he was elected 
Superintendent of the Western Pennsylvania School for the Deaf. 

Samuel B. Craig is also the editor of a school publication, "Just Once a Month," 
and is a member of many committees and associations of a professional and edu- 
cational nature. Among these connections may be mentioned membership in the 
Committee Council of Social Agencies, Washington; member of the Southern 
Society for Philosophy and Psychology; Convention American Instructors of the 
Deaf; member of the Board of Directors of the American Association to Promote 
the Teaching of Speech to the Deaf; and the Federal School Men's Association of 
Washington, D. C. He is President of the Kentucky Society in Washington, 
D. C. Other organizations to which Mr. Samuel B. Craig belongs are Kappa 
Gamma, Kentucky Society of Washington, D. C; Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion; the Masonic Order; The Fiison Club and the Cosmos Club. He is a member 
of the Presbyterian Church, and affiliated with the Democratic Party. His wife 
is the former Hazel Naomi Thompson, whom he married on June 12, 1930. They 
have two sons, William Newton and Samuel Baughman Craig. 

Mrs. Hazel Thompson Craig is co-author of "Clothes with Character" and has 
contributed many articles to periodicals. 

The Craig family can be justly proud of the part which its members have played 
in the past history of the country; present members of the family of Dr. William 



1918 A SESQU I- CENTENNIAL 

Newton Craig have achieved great distinction; and the fine young people of the 
family now growing into manhood and womanhood are worthy to carry on the 
traditions of a proud name. 

SIDNEY LEE DUNBAR, D.D.S. 

A he most cherished desire of many fathers is the wish that their 
sons would follow after them in the same profession, and best of all, that they 
would be associated together in the practice of that profession. Dr. Orlando 
Sidney Dunbar is one of those fortunate fathers for whom this desire became 
reality; his son, Sidney Lee Dunbar, was graduated in 1922 from the Dental School 
of the University of Louisville, from which Dr. Orlando Dunbar had been grad- 
uated in 1897. For two years young Dr. Sidney Dunbar was an instructor in 
operative dentistry in the college where he had so recently been a student, and in 
1924 he joined his father in his dental practice at Campbellsville, Kentucky. Father 
and son continued in close professional association until the retirement of Dr. Dun- 
bar, Sr., and now Dr. Sidney Dunbar carries on the work alone. 

Sidney Lee Dunbar was born at Columbia, Kentucky, on September 18, 1898. 
The Dunbar family are long-time residents of Kentucky, originally having come 
to this country from England. There were three Dunbar brothers, silk weavers 
by trade, who came to America together. One settled in Indiana, and the other 
two in Kentucky. Sidney Dunbar's father, Dr. Orlando Sidney Dunbar, was born 
near Columbia, Adair County, Kentucky, on February 29, 1864. After receiving 
his general education in the local schools, he taught mathematics in order to earn 
money to further his professional education. He attended the Central College of 
Dentistry at Louisville, which has since been merged with the University of Louis- 
ville, graduating in 1897. He began his practice in Knifely, Adair County, in an 
office over a blacksmith shop. After a short time he moved to Columbia and en- 
gaged in practice in that community. In the meantime, he had become interested 
in the manufacture of mill work, and in 1921 moved to Campbellsville in order 
that his manufacturing enterprise might have the benefit of a railroad. Here he 
also continued the practice of his profession until his retirement in 1930. He is 
still living in Campbellsville, where he is a member of the Board of Trustees of 
the Christian Church. His wife, the mother of Dr. Sidney Dunbar, was Nora 
Tucker, the daughter of "Uncle Bob" Tucker, who was a well-known personality 
of Adair County, and who served as jailer of the county. 

Dr. Sidney Dunbar spent the first fourteen years of his life at Columbia, where 
he attended the subscription school and graduated from the High School at Leba- 
non in 1917. He then entered Centre College at Danville, and followed this with 
his professional preparation at the Dental School of the University of Louisville, 
from which he received his degree in 1922. He became an instructor in operative 
dentistry at the University of Louisville following his graduation until 1924, when 
he came to Campbellsville and joined his father in practice. This association con- 
tinued until the retirement of Dr. Dunbar, Sr., in 1930. 

Dr. Dunbar has been active in all civic and community affairs. He was formerly 
a member of the Lions Club, and was the first president of the Campbellsville Ro- 




SIDNEY LEE DUNBAR, D.D.S. 



1920 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

tary Club, remaining active in the club ever since. He served ten years as a mem- 
ber of the city council, and is now chairman of the Board of Water Commissioners. 
He is the Dental Examiner for the Selective Service Board, and was a charter 
director of the Taylor County Building and Loan Association. He is keenly in- 
terested in the affairs of his professional associations, and is a member of the 
Taylor County Dental Society, the Kentucky State Dental Association, where he 
is chairman of the committee on professional ethics. 

Dr. Sidney Lee Dunbar married Viola Witherbee, a daughter of Charles L. 
Witherbee of Middletown, Kentucky, on June 21, 1922. They have one daughter, 
Mary Lynn Dunbar, who is a student at the Campbellsville High School and a 
Junior Leader of the Girl Scouts. Mrs. Dunbar is a member of the Woman's 
Club, is Superintendent of the Junior Department of the Methodist Church, and 
is a member of the Coterie. She was also active in Red Cross and War work. 

Woodworking is the hobby which claims most of the spare time of Dr. Dunbar. 
He has a complete work shop, fully equipped with power tools, at his home, and 
seme beautiful pieces of hand-turned furniture show his talent in this work. 



DINWIDDIE LAMPTON 



Nc 



\o line of endeavor occupies a place in the lives of the people 
of the United States equal to that filled by the Life Insurance Industry. More of 
our people are touched by this industry probably than by any other American 
institution. The millions of policyholders and thousands of stockholders have 
found in the different great insurance companies a source of protection and invest- 
ment. The capital invested in them and the profits accruing flow into channels that 
furnish us the means for much of our great expansion and public improvement, 
both private and public. Great industrial plants and beautiful parks in the cities 
alike owe their existence to the wise use of the money intrusted to these great 
corporations — institutions that insure safe investment for the living and security 
for the family of the dead. 

The nature of these institutions, depending on the confidence of the public as 
they do, and complying with the strictest of regulatory laws as they must, make 
is essential that the heads governing them and the personnel serving them be men 
of the highest character and of unquestioned ability. 

Among the insurance heads in this country probably no man better supplied 
the unusual qualifications necessary in the insurance business than Dinwiddie 
Lampton, President of the American Life and Accident Company, whose head 
office is in Louisville, in which city Mr. Lampton makes his home. He has a long 
history of successful company management that was acquired by long years of 
conscientious work. This work, covering over a third of a century, as it does, 
has won the confidence of stockholders and policyholders alike in every company 
he has directed during his business life. 

Mr. Lampton began work in his chosen field by accepting employment as an 
agent for the Prudential Life Insurance Company immediately on his graduation 
from a Louisville high school in 1906. After four years experience in the capacity 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1921 

of local agent he organized in 1910 the Union Accident and Life Insurance Com- 
pany, which, in 1913, consolidated with the American Life and the merged com- 
panies became the Provident Life and Accident Company and in 1926 the com- 
pany absorbed the Southern Insurance Company. In October, 1930, the Kentucky 
State Life Insurance Company business was added. This brought Mr. Lampton to 
the presidency of the American Life and Accident Company, now rated as one 
of the major insurance companies of the country. 

Dinwiddie Lampton was born in Springfield, Kentucky, April 21, 1885. He was 
educated in the grade and high schools of his native town, graduating in 1906 
when he entered into his life work. His business, social and fraternal life is as 
broad as that of his business. He is an attendant of the Baptist Church, member 
of the Masonic fraternity — Master Mason, Knights Templar and Shriner. He is 
also prominent as a Red Cross member and worker, while club affiliations include the 
famous Pendennis Club, of Louisville, the Lotus Club, of New York, and the 
Bankers Blub, of New York. In addition he extends his energies to include ac- 
tivity in the Louisville Credit Men's Association, The Research Institute of 
America (Incorporated), Citizens Historical Association, Kentucky Sheriff's Asso- 
ciation and the Louisville Automobile Club. 

As a hobby Mr. Lampton devotes himself to raising thoroughbred and saddle 
horses. His interest in this direction is shared by Mrs. Lampton, who presides 
over their home, having married him fom her New Albany, Indiana, home where 
she was born August 26, 1892. Mrs. Johanna Lampton is active as chairman of 
the Current Events Program, member of the Red Cross and of the Green Brier 
Country Club, of St. Louis. 

Their one son was born in Louisville in 1914 and christened Dinwiddie Lampton, 
Jr. He was educated in the grade and high schools of Louisville, later attending 
Culver Military Academy at Culver, Indiana, and the St. John's College, of 
Annapolis, Maryland. After graduation from the latter he followed his father 
into the insurance world, doing field work for four years with the American Life 
and Accident Company at the end of which time he became vice-president of his 
company in charge of agencies. In January, 1942, he was commissioned a Second 
Lieutenant in the United States Army. He is an expert steeplechase rider and a 
well-known fox hunter. He is a member of the Pendennis Club of Louisville and 
the Louisville Country Club. His fraternal affiliations embrace the Knights Tem- 
plar and Red Cross of Constantine. 

The younger Mr. Lampton is married to Miss Nancy Hoagland who was born 
in Nashville, Tennessee, in 1920. She is a prominent Junior Leaguer and is well 
known as an expert horsewoman and steeplechase rider. She joins enthusiastically 
in her husband's love of fox hunting. 

The daughter of this house is Miss Mary Jane Lampton, who was born July 30, 
1921. She attended Collegiate School and is now at Sweet Briar College for Girls. 

Dinwiddie Lampton is the son of Dr. J. H. Lampton, a prominent physician who 
practiced his profession in Sonora and Springfield, Kentucky, having been born in 
Hardin County, Kentucky. He was active at the time of his death which occurred 



1922 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

at his home in Springfield. Mr. Lampton's mother was a native of Grayson 
County, Kentucky. 

Dinwiddie Lampton, through native ability, industry and integrity, has earned 
an enviable position in the land of his nativity where he is as well known for his 
social, civic and fraternal activities as for his unblemished record in business. His 
activities as a whole are so extensive that only a man of unusual ability and de- 
termined purpose could have achieved Mr. Lampton's record. 



JAMES HOWELL HEWLETT, A.B., M.A., Ph.D. 



D, 



'r. James Howell Hewlett is the dean of Centre College, Dan- 
ville, Kentucky. His association with Centre College began nearly a quarter of a 
century ago, and during that time he has held the position of head of the English 
Department, and has also occupied several places of an administrative character. 
He has been, at various times, Dean of Men, Associate Dean, and Dean, and has 
twice served as Acting President. He is exceptionally well fitted for the position 
which he holds, having studied at Birmingham Southern College, Vanderbilt Uni- 
versity, Johns-Hopkins University and the University of Chicago, and possessing 
the degrees of A.B., M.A., and Ph.D. 

James Howell Hewlett was born in Morgan County, Alabama, in 1888. The 
Hewlett family had long lived in Alabama, having migrated there from their 
mother state of Virginia. The father of James Hewlett was Thaddeus Plummer 
Hewlett, a farmer and lumberman. James Hewlett's mother was Lou Emma 
(Arms) Hewlett, also a native of Alabama, who died when her son was only 
three months old. 

Thaddeus Hewlett was confronted with the task of raising his motherless son. 
His timber work made it necessary that he move his home frequently in order that 
he might be near the scene of his operations. Young James Hewlett, therefore, 
received his elementary school education in various public schools of Alabama and 
Mississippi. For a child of average intellect, it is often a handicap to have to 
change schools frequently, but to the child of superior mental attainments the 
change of schools and association with new schoolmates present a constant chal- 
lenge; he feels that he is forced over and over again to prove to himself and to 
his new friends that he is at least their equal, and his wits are sharpened in the 
process. Certainly the education of James Hewlett did not suffer from the fre- 
quent changes of location. He entered Birmingham-Southern College in 1908, 
and received his A.B. degree from that institution in 1912. During the school 
year 1912-1913 he was a student at Vanderbilt University at Nashville, Tennessee, 
working for his Master's Degree, which he received that year. At a later period, 
he attended Johns-Hopkins University for one year as a Teaching Fellow in 
English and the University of Chicago at various times, receiving his Doctor's 
degree from the latter institution in 1931. His Doctor's thesis was "The Influ- 
ence of Seneca's Epistulae Morales on Elizabethean Tragedy." In all of his col- 
lege work, James Hewlett showed exceptional ability, and he was awarded the 
Phi Beta Kappa key for the excellence of his scholarship. 





.-, 









JAMES HOWELL HEWLETT, A.B., M.A., Ph.D. 



1924 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Immediately after graduation from Vanderbilt University in 1913, Dr. Hewlett 
became professor of English at Kentucky Wesleyan College at Winchester, Ken- 
tucky, remaining in that position until 1917. The following school year of 1917- 
1918 was spent in the same position at Olivet College. From 1918 to 1920 he 
was head of the Department of English at Drury College at Springfield, Missouri, 
and in 1920 came to Centre College as Professor and head of the English Depart- 
ment. In addition to this position, which he has occupied continuously since that 
time, Dr. Hewlett has filled many posts of an administrative character. From 
1928 to 1932 he was Dean of Men, and from 1932 to 1938 he was Associate Dean 
of the college. From 1938 to the present time he has been Dean of the college. 
During the years from 1936 to 1938 he was also Acting President of Centre Col- 
lege, and again from 1942 to 1944. 

Dr. Hewlett has been an active leader in educational organizations, has written 
articles for educational journals, and prepared a number of papers that have been 
given before educational assemblies. He is a member of the Southern Association 
of Academic Deans and of the Commission on Higher Education of the Southern 
Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools. He has served as chairman of 
the Commission on Colleges and Universities of the Kentucky Association of 
Colleges and Secondary Schools and is now its secretary, is president of the Asso- 
ciation of Kentucky Registrars, and is vice-president of the Association of Church- 
Related Colleges in Kentucky. 

In addition to Phi Beta Kappa, his fraternal connections include Kappa Sigma 
and Omicron Delta Kappa. He is also a member of the Tudor and Stuart Club 
of Johns-Hopkins; the Anaconda Club in Danville, which was founded in 1839; 
The Filson Club of Louisville; the Modern Language Association of America; the 
American Dialect Society; and the American Association of University Professors. 

Dr. Hewlett was married in 1914 to Mary Spencer of Winchester, Kentucky, 
and they are the parents of one son, James Spencer Hewlett, M.D., a Fellow in 
the Cleveland Clinic Foundation Hospital, Cleveland, Ohio. 

THOMAS POLLOCK PAYNTER 

X homas Pollock Paynter was born in Greenup, Kentucky, in 
1879. He died on March 7, 1942, leaving a widow and son to mourn his passing. 
At the time of his death, Thomas Paynter operated a farm in Franklin County, 
Kentucky. In his earlier years he was secretary to his father, Senator Thomas H. 
Paynter. Thomas H. Paynter, the father of Thomas Pollock Paynter, was born 
in Vanceburg, Kentucky, in 1846 and died in 1921. He was a member of the 
House of Representatives and was a United States Senator. He was also a Judge 
of the Court of Appeals. The mother of Thomas Paynter was Elizabeth (Pol- 
lock) Paynter, born in Greenup, Kentucky, in 1846 and died in 1921. The parents 
of Thomas Paynter are buried in Frankfort, Kentucky. 

After attending the public schools of his home town, Greenup, Kentucky, 
Thomas Paynter was enrolled at a military academy in Danville, Kentucky. He 
then entered Centre College at Danville, Kentucky, and was graduated from that 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1925 

institution in 1900. For several years following his graduation he acted as secre- 
tary to his father, Senator Paynter, and was an invaluable aid in handling the many 
intricate and delicate problems that constantly confront a prominent man in public 
office. Thomas Paynter operated a farm in Franklin County until the time of his 
death. He had made many friendships in his years as a political aide and later 
as a Kentucky farmer. High and low, rich and poor, found in Thomas Pollock 
Paynter a courteous and genuine friend without pretense and without pride. When 
he passed away, they mourned the passing of a man they held in high esteem and 
deep affection. 

Thomas Pollock Paynter was married in 1925 to Mary Rust, who was born in 
Bardstown, Kentucky. They had one son, Thomas Pollock Paynter, Jr., who was 
born in Franklin County, Kentucky on November 27, 1926. He received his early 
schooling in Frankfort, and is now attending the Millersburg Military Institute 
at Millersburg, Kentucky. 

Mrs. Paynter's father, John O. Rust, was born in Hopkinsville, Kentucky. He 
graduated in law from the University of Virginia. Newspaper work attracted 
him, and he became the editor of the New Era at Hopkinsville, Kentucky. He 
later decided to enter the ministry, and following graduation from the Baptist 
Seminary, he occupied pulpits at Bardstown, Kentucky and Nashville, Tennessee. 
At the time of his death he was the pastor of First Baptist Church in Seattle, 
Washington. When he died in 1905, the citizens of Nashville, Tennessee erected 
a monument in the cemetery to his memory. So beloved was he that every citizen, 
even down to the humblest and poorest, donated to the fund to perpetuate the 
memory of this good man. 

Mrs. Paynter's mother, Cynthia (Westfall) Rust, was born in Port Jervis, New 
York. She was a graduate of Livingston Park Seminary, Rochester, New York. 
She later became president of Boscobel College, Nashville, Tennessee, and follow- 
ing this became principal of Acadia Seminary in Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada. 

The early education of Mrs. Paynter was received through the public schools of 
Nashville, Tennessee, and at Boscobel College in Nashville. Later she graduated 
with a B.S. degree from the University of Tennessee, and Masters at the Acadia 
Seminary in Wolfville, Nova Scotia. She trained as a nurse at St. Luke's hos- 
pital in New York City, and following graduation taught nursing. Mrs. Paynter 
is now a public health nurse in the service of the American Red Cross. She is a 
member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, the Colonial Dames, A. A. 
U. W. and Alpha Omicron Pi sorority. Mrs. Paynter worships at the Presbyterian 
Church. 



a 



MRS. LOUIS MARSHALL FRYMAN 



'ne of the most historic homes in Kentucky is Federal Hill, 
located in the little town of Washington, Kentucky. Six generations of Marshalls 
have lived in this beautiful old home which was built by Captain Thomas Marshall 
in 1800. Captain Thomas Marshall was the son of Colonel Thomas Marshall, who 
was a surveyor and friend of George Washington from the days when they at- 
tended school together. The original deed to the land was granted by the Governor 



1926 A S E S Q U / - CENTENNIAL 

of Virginia to Colonel Marshall and successive generations of the family have in- 
herited the land. The present owner is Louis Marshall who married Virgil Thomas 
Fryman in 1939. 

The Marshall family came to Kentucky about 1780 and many distinguished 
visitors have been entertained at Federal Hill. The lovely old home with its 
broad hall and attractive winding stairway, its hand carved mantels and interesting 
old family portraits attract visitors from all over the state. 

Colonel Thomas Marshall and his wife, Mary Randolph Keith came to Wash- 
ington to spend their remaining years with their son, Captain Thomas Marshall. 
Colonel Marshall was born in Washington Parish, Westmoreland County, Virginia 
on April 2, 1730. He died in Washington, Kentucky on June 22, 1802. He and 
his wife are buried in the family grave yard back of the home. The year before 
he died, Colonel Marshall had the satisfaction of knowing that one of his sons, 
John Marshall, was made Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States. 
Louis Marshall Fryman is the daughter of Dr. Louis Marshall and Pearl McGehee 
Marshall. She was born on May 21, 1911, at Washington, Kentucky as was her 
father, Dr. Louis Marshall. Dr. Marshall's father was Robert Morris Marshall, 
born in Fleming County, Kentucky and a graduate of the Law School of Yale 
University. Robert Marshall married Elizabeth Forman and was the son of 
Martin Pickett Marshall and Eliza Marshall. 

Mr. and Mrs. Virgil Thomas Fryman have resided at Federal Hill since their 
marriage in 1939. Virgil Thomas Fryman was born in Robertson County, Kentucky 
in 1906. He is the son of Carrie Wiggins Fryman and Thomas Fryman. Mr. 
Fryman was actively engaged in the teaching profession until 1941, when he was 
compelled to devote his entire time to the operation of the Federal Hill Farm. 

Mr. and Mrs. Fryman have one son — Virgil Thomas Fryman, Jr., who was born 
April 9, 1940. 

GEORGE BURGESS CAREY, SR. 



G. 



eorge Burgess Carey, a leading authority on road and street con- 
struction in the south died at his home, 1302 East Main Street, Lexington, Ken- 
tucky, July 26, 1943. In his passing his native state lost an outstanding character 
and the community a beloved friend and neighbor. 

George Burgess Carey, Sr., was born in Lawrence County, Kentucky in 1869, 
being seventy-four years of age at the time of his death. He was the son of 
William Carey and Emily (Burgess) Carey. His early education was received 
in the schools of Lawrence County and this was followed with work at the Uni- 
versity of Kentucky where he graduated in 1893 with an Engineering Degree. 
In 1900 he was married to Kathryn Jouett Reed and they became the parents of 
a son, George Burgess Carey, Jr., who with two grandchildren are left to mourn 
him. He also left four sisters and three brothers: Mrs. D. J. Burchett, Louisa, 
Kentucky; Mrs. J. J. Johnson, Frankfort, Kentucky; Mrs. Charles McDonald, 
Louisa, Kentucky, and Mrs. George Roberts, Memphis, Tennessee; M. F. Carey, 
Lexington, Kentucky; and Ulysses Carey and Charles W. Carey, both of Louisa, 
Kentucky. 

After receiving his engineering training at the University of Kentucky, George 





I 

I 



^ 



GEORGE BURGESS CAREY 



1928 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Burgess Carey engaged in construction work in the east for several years after 
which he returned to Lexington and organized the Carey-Reed Company, an 
organization that operated extensively throughout the south. He remained at 
the head of this organization until its voluntary liquidation in 1940. He was 
the owner of the Southern Amiesite Asphalt Company of Birmingham, Alabama. 
During his active life Mr. Carey served as President of the Kentucky Association 
of Highway Contractors, President of the Lexington Rotary Club and a short 
while before his death was elected President of the Plant-Mix Asphalt Industry 
of Kentucky. In his private life he was a member of Sigma Chi at the Uni- 
versity and took great interest in athletic activities being captain of the 1893 
football team at the University of Kentucky. In religion he embraced the creed 
of the Christian Church, holding his membership at the Lexington Central Church 
of that denomination. The succession of the Carey family and the Carey 
business is in the hands of George Burgess Carey, Jr., the son. 

George Burgess Carey, Jr., was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, March 4, 
1905, the only child of George Burgess and Kathryn (Reed) Carey, of Lexington, 
Kentucky. His early education was obtained in the public schools of Lexington 
after which he entered Washington and Lee University at Lexington, Virginia. 
He then entered the Engineering School of the University of Kentucky and won 
an Engineering Degree. He married Mary Charlotte Gilboy of Chicago, Illi- 
nois, and they are the parents of two children, Kathryn Sybil Carey, born June 
29, 1929, and George Burgess Carey, III, born December 10, 1933. The family 
residence is at 1222 East Main Street, Lexington, Kentucky. In 1927 Mr. Carey 
went into his father's business and upon the death of his father assumed the 
operating management of The Carey Construction Company, continuing the 
same policies inaugurated by his father. He is a member of the Lexington 
Chamber of Commerce, the Rotary Club of Lexington, and in addition to being 
a Sigma Chi he belongs to the Lexington Country Club, the Ashland Country 
Club and the Lexington Club. He and his family worship at the Second Presby- 
terian Church, the creed to which they subscribe. Mr. Carey is interested in 
outdoor sports and while at college devoted time to basketball, being captain of 
the University of Kentucky basketball team. 

George Burgess Carey, Sr., in dying left a vacancy of considerable magnitude 
in the industrial ranks of the south, a field of endeavor whose history he helped 
write. In his home state, where his contacts were closer, he is missed because of 
his friendships, his wise counsel, his helping hand. Not only did he make his 
business affairs of outstanding importance in his state but his personal life was 
so lived that its mark will long be an impress on a community that takes solace 
in the fact that the family tradition and the business methods of George Burgess 
Carey have been handed to a worthy son. 



I 



WILLIAM COTTON 



n the city of Louisville, metropolis of the state of Kentucky, 
is located what is probably the largest firm of public accountants in the South. 
Largest in point of business handled and oldest in years of service. This is no 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1929 

small statement when it is realized that in this city alone some of the best known 
public accountants in the entire country have their headquarters. 

This outstanding firm is that of Cotton & Eskew, headed by William Cotton. 
Under this name alone it celebrated its 20th anniversary in 1942. Counting from 
the beginning of the old firm of Meldrum & Meldrum, which it absorbed in 1940. 
the business is really backed by forty-two years experience in the accountancy and 
tax advisory field. Cotton & Eskew have a large number of the leading books 
and the largest industrial organizations of the South as their clientele and have 
acted in the most important fiscal matters arising in their territory. They have 
served on the State Board of Accounting and hold membership in the Kentucky 
Society of Certified Public Accountants, which organization Mr. Cotton has served 
as president at various times. They are also members of the American Institute 
of Certified Public Accountants and of the National Organization of Public Ac- 
countants. The firm is justly proud of the place it has reached in the nation's 
business life since its inception in 1922 when one stenographer was sufficient for 
their needs. Six Certified Public Accountants are now required and over twenty 
office assistants are employed. The income tax is a specialty of the firm and one 
in which their services are found profitable by the largest taxpayers in the Scuth. 

William Cotton was born in Nelson County, Kentucky, in 1892. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of that county. He studied accounting with the Inter- 
national Accountancy Society, graduating in 1921, and was awarded diploma 
number 31, among the earliest certificates issued. His apprenticeship was begun in 
1918 and served under Mr. J. R. Mays. He organized the firm of Cotton & Eskew 
in 1922 and his certificate as a Certified Public Accountant was issued in 1921. 
It was in 1940, after eighteen years of successful business, that the old firm of 
Meldrum & Meldrum was absorbed by his firm. 

Active in the Presbyterian Church Mr. Cotton holds membership in the High- 
land Church of that faith where he is chairman of the Board of Deacons. He is 
a member of the Lions Club, which he has served as president. A member of the 
Executive's Club and one of its directors is another of Mr. Cotton's civic affilia- 
tions. He finds relaxation in golf and is a member of the Big Springs Golf Club 
and a member of its board of directors. Among other civic services he is a valued 
member of the Mayor's License Committee. 

Mr. Cotton was married to Miss Myra Eskew in 1915 at Bardstown, Kentucky. 
She was educated in the Bardstown schools and graduated from the high school 
of that city, marrying upon her graduation. A member of the Highland Presby- 
terian Church, she is active in its work and her voice is influential in the councils 
of the leaders of church activities. She is a member of the Red Cross and secretary 
of the Ladies Auxiliary of the Highland Presbyterian Church. 

The eldest daughter of the family is Mrs. Joe Mars, who was born in Bards- 
town. She was educated in the schools of Louisville, graduating from the Atherton 
High School. She was married in Louisville in 1936 and is the mother of two 
children: Joe, aged four years, and James J. Jr., aged two years. 

The second daughter, Mrs. Dorothy W. Schulten, was born in Louisville in 
1920. Attending the Louisville schools she was graduated from Atherton High 



1930 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

School and attended the University of Louisville for two years. Her marriage 
occurred in 1941. 

William Cotton, Jr., is the son of the family and was born in Louisville, Ken- 
tuky, in 1925. He attended the Louisville grade schools and Male High School. 

The youngest of the family is Myri Jane Cotton who was born in Louisville in 
1927. She attended the Louisville public schools and Louisville Collegiate School. 

The father of William Cotton was William Morris Cotton, who was also born 
in Nelson County, Kentucky. He was a prominent farmer of that county. His 
birth year was 1860 and death came to him in 1895. The mother was Jo Ann 
Potorf Cotton, also a native of Nelson County where she was born in 1860. Her 
death occurred in 1910. 

William Cotton easily takes his place among the outstanding business men of 
his native state and his civic and church activities have shown that even the 
responsible work of public accountancy can be handled successfully and not curtail 
the public work that makes for good citizenship. As a citizen, as a husband and 
a father he is recognized as a man who belongs well in the front rank of those 
who form the backbone of the nation. 



o, 



COLONEL MORRIS E. McCURDY 



'ne of the older citizens of the Blue Grass region of Kentucky 
and one of the best known business men in the central part of the state is Morris 
E. McCurdy, who was a Colonel on the staff of Governor Ruby Laffoon and 
makes his home in Paris, Kentucky, with his business interests conducted from 
his Lexington, Kentucky offices. 

Morris E. McCurdy was born in Sellersburg, Clark County, Indiana, May 12, 
1888, one of four children. His father was John B. McCurdy, a prominent 
farmer of Clark County, Indiana, where he was born in 1845 and died in 1890. 
The mother was Mary (Wehrle) McCurdy, born in Clark County, Indiana, in 
1850 and died in 1901. The subject attended the schools of New Albany, In- 
diana, graduating from the high school of that city in 1907 after which he 
entered the Indiana University taking specialized work. In 1909 he became a 
representative for the International Correspondence School of Scranton, Pennsyl- 
vania, and covered the Western portion of Kentucky for that institution, making 
his home in Henderson, Kentucky, later transferring to Lexington. On June 1, 
1911, he entered the life insurance business at Danville, Kentucky, devoting two 
years to this work. In 1913 he became associated with the Kentucky Central Life 
and Accident Insurance Company, of Anchorage, Kentucky, with offices in Paris, 
Kentucky. He has maintained this connection for almost a third of a century 
and serves his company as district manager, making his office in Lexington, Ken- 
tucky, in the Citizens Bank and Trust Building. He is vice-president of the 
Lexington Underwriters Association, member of the Paris Chamber of Commerce 
and a director in the Bourbon Building and Loan Association. He has always 
exhibited interest in public affairs and worked politically with the Republican 
party, being a delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1940. He was 
formerly a member of the Rotary Club at Paris and has always been interested 




COLONEL MORRIS E. McCURDY 



1932 A SESQUI-CENTENN1AL 

in the civic affairs of both Lexington and Paris. His business is of a nature that 
much travel throughout the state is required and he has formed a large acquaint- 
ance that always welcomes his visits. He is interested in football as a sport and 
follows the games throughout the seasons. 

Morris E. McCurdy married Nina E. Hendrick, of Talladega, Alabama, and 
the couple are at home at the family residence at 403 High Street, Paris, Ken- 
tucky. Colonel McCurdy is a member of the Masonic Order, has attained the 
32nd Degree therein, is a Shriner, and in religion embraces the creed of the 
Methodist Church, being Chairman of the Board of Trustees of his church in 
Paris and active in the work of its organizations. He is also a member of the 
Blue Grass Executives Club of Lexington. During the years 1931-35 Colonel 
McCurdy served as Commissioner of Public Safety of Paris, and as such served 
four years as a member of the board of city commissioners of Paris. In 1934 
Governor Laffoon, taking note of his outstanding citizenship and popularity, 
appointed him a member of his Staff of Colonels. He has always been at the 
call of the community service and is ever alert to render help in any capacity 
for a worthy cause or lend a hand to his friends and his personality and ease in 
contacting the public have made him many of the latter. 



HON. ROBERT MILTON COLEMAN, LL.B. 



R< 



.obert Milton Coleman was appointed Circuit Judge of the 
Eighth Judicial District of Kentucky by Governor A. B. Chandler in 1938. His 
election to the same office for a six-year term followed, this term of office beginning 
on January 1, 1940. Judge Coleman is well fitted for the important position 
which he holds. His common school, high school, university and legal work was 
all done in Kentucky schools. His education was interrupted by a period of service 
in the United States Army during World War I. Before completing his legal 
training at the Law College of the University of Kentucky, he worked in a bank, 
as a legal stenographer and as a court reporter. He conducted a private legal 
practice in Bowling Green for fourteen years before his appointment as Circuit 
Judge by Governor Chandler. 

Robert Milton Coleman is a native of Warren County, Kentucky, where he was 
born on September 23, lo99. His father, Robert M. Coleman, was also born in 
Kentucky on August 21, 1870. For most of his life he was connected with the 
United States Revenue Service. He married Lois Wooton, a native of Warren 
County, Kentucky, in October, 1898. They were the parents of two children, 
Catherine, who later became Mrs. W. E. Gray of Lexington, Kentucky; and Robert 
Milton Coleman, who is now Judge Coleman. Robert M. Coleman, Sr., died on 
October 1, 1936. 

It was in Bowling Green that Robert M. Coleman received his elementary educa- 
tion. He then went to Ogden Preparatory School and Ogdcn College. He joined 
the United States Army in 1918, and served from May, 1918, until January 1, 
1919. After receiving his honorable discharge from military service, Robert Cole- 
man attended Bowling Green University. His first position was with the American 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1933 

National Bank of Bowling Green. He was connected with the bank for a short 
time, then worked as a legal stenographer and court reporter until September, 
1922. He entered the University of Kentucky Law College in the fall of 1922, 
and was graduated with the LL.B. degree in 1924. Upon completion of his legal 
education, Robert Coleman returned to Bowling Green and engaged in private legal 
practice until November, 1938, when he was appointed Circuit Judge for the 
Eighth Judicial District by Governor A. B. Chandler. On January 1, 1940, 
Judge Coleman began a six-year term as Circuit Judge upon his election to the 
office to which he had previously been appointed by Governor Chandler. 

On October 26, 1925, Robert Milton Coleman married Mary Marshall Mc- 
Meekin. Mary (McMeekin) Coleman is a native of Lexington, Kentucky. She 
attended the elementary schools in Lexington, then Hamilton preparatory school. 
In 1924 she was graduated from the University of Kentucky with an A.B. degree. 
The family of Judge and Mrs. Coleman consists of three children, two boys and 
a girl. Robert Milton Coleman, Jr., was born on September 17, 1926, and is now 
a student at Bowling Green High School. Mary Hart Coleman was born on 
November 26, 1929, and at present attends Western Training School Junior High. 
The youngest son, Jere Ward Coleman, was born on May 19, 1931, and is in the 
grade school at Bowling Green. The family worships at the Christ Episcopal 
Church. 

Judge Coleman is a member of the American Legion by virtue of his year's serv- 
ice in the United States Army. He also belongs to the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks and the International Order of Odd Fellows. His legal fraternity 
is Phi Alpha Delta, and social fraternity Sigma Alpha Epsilon. Hunting, par- 
ticularly fox hunting, provides his favorite recreation. 



W. CLIFTON RICHARDS, M.D. 



D» 



'r. W. Clifton Richards is an extremely busy doctor, his prac- 
tice extending out of Glasgow well into the surrounding counties. He is also busy 
with civic affairs, having been an organizer of the Glasgow Rotary Club and later 
president of that organization. In 1943 he headed the Glasgow Chamber of 
Commerce. Dr. Richards' name is familiar to many medical men who have never 
had occasion to meet him, as he is a frequent contributor to medical journals. 

W. C. Richards was born at Gallatin, Tennessee, on October 5, 1888. His 
father, William Cundiff Richards, was born in Allen County, Kentucky, and 
became a dentist. He practiced in Gallatin for several years, then came to Glas- 
gow where he has practiced since. He is still practicing dentistry at the age of 
eighty-four, and is probably the oldest practicing dentist from point of practice in 
the country. He has been established for forty-five years in Glasgow. The mother 
of W. C. Richards, Ida (Follis) Richards, was a native of Allen County, Ken- 
tucky. Both families have been in Allen County for several generations, going 
there soon after the Revolutionary War. 

The early education of W. Clifton Richards was in Glasgow, Kentucky. He 
attended public school there and was graduated from Glasgow High School. He 



1934 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

received his medical education at Herring Medical College at Chicago, receiving 
his M.D. degree in 1912. In 1912 Dr. Richards commenced practice in Glasgow. 
Ten years later he took time out to serve a year of interneship at the Louisville 
City Hospital, thereby gaining valuable instruction and experience. Dr. W. Clifton 
Richards has seen his name appear over many articles he has written for medical 
journals. He is a member of the Barren County Medical Society, Kentucky State 
Medical Association, Southern Medical Association, and American Medical Asso- 
ciation. He was the medical member of the local draft board in World War I. 
Dr. Richards is a member of the staff of Sampson Community Hospital. 

In 1916 Dr. W. Clifton Richards was married to Georgie Ann Williams, a 
daughter of Joe P. Williams of Barren County. Mrs. Richards was educated in 
the public schools of Barren County and Western State Teachers College of 
Bowling Green. Prior to her marriage she taught in the schools of the county. 
She is a past president of the Glasgow Woman's Club, and is active in all civic, 
social and church affairs. She is a past president and member of the Women's 
Auxiliary of the Barren County Medical Society. Dr. and Mrs. Richards became 
the parents of four children. The oldest daughter, Margaret, is a graduate of 
Glasgow High School and Ward-Belmont of Nashville. She married Dr. William 
L. Johnston, who is now a captain in the Army Medical Corps. The youngest 
daughter, Doris, is a graduate of Glasgow High School and attended Centre 
College at Danville and the Bowling Green Business University. She married 
Robert Follis, who is now a member of the infantry of the United States Army. 
John Clifton Richards died at the age of fourteen. Joseph William Richards, the 
youngest member of the family, lives at home. 

Dr. Richards' name appears on the charter roll of the Glasgow Rotary Club, 
and he later had the honor of being elected president of that organization. In 
1943 he served as president of the Glasgow Chamber of Commerce. Dr. Richards 
is a member of the Masonic Order, and has taken the work of the Royal Arch 
Chapter and the Knights Templar. He is a member of the Board of Stewards of 
the Methodist Church. His political affiliation is with the Democratic Party. 

Dr. W. Clifton Richards has a practice that covers an unusually wide range 
in Glasgow, Barren and surrounding counties. He is a very busy doctor, and is 
outstanding in his profession. 



WILLIAM SNYDER WEBB, B.S., M.S., D.Sc. 



O, 



'ften rated as Kentucky's greatest scientist is Dr. William 
Snyder Webb, head of the Physics Department at the University of Kentucky 
and member of one of the state's oldest families. 

Doctor Webb's grandfather, John Webb, came to Kentucky from Hardy 
County, Virginia, in the late Eighteenth Century and settled in Sandcrsvillc, 
Fayette County. John Webb's son, William Webb, the father of the subject 
of this sketch was born in Fayette County, graduated from Transylvania College 
and became a farmer. He married Gulielma Snyder, a daughter of William R. 
Snyder, also a native of Fayette County. 




WILLIAM SNYDER WEBB, B.S., M.S., D.Sc. 



1936 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

William Snyder Webb was born in Greendale, Fayette County, Kentucky on 
January 19, 1882. After obtaining his early education in the Fayette County 
public schools, he attended the University of Kentucky, where he received a 
Bachelor of Science degree in 1901 and a Master of Science degree in 1902. 
He later attended the University of Chicago for seven quarters between 1911 
and 1915. 

In 1904, he was appointed instructor in physics and he has held progressively 
more responsible professorial positions since that time. In 1908, he became as- 
sistant professor of physics and in 1914 associate professor. He was made a 
full professor in 1919 and placed in charge of the Physics Department. 

Doctor Webb took the time from his academic duties to volunteer as a private 
for service in the United States Army at the entrance of the United States into 
the first World War. Commissioned a first Lieutenant in the Field Artillery, 
he served in the 84th Division U. S. Army, later as a Major, Field Artillery, at 
Fort Sill, Oklahoma, he served as an instructor in that post's famous School of 
Fire. He held a reserve commission as a major in the Field Artillery for fifteen 
years after the war. 

Since 1929, Doctor Webb has also held the post of professor and head of the 
Department of Anthropology and Archeology at the University of Kentucky. 
He served as Senior Archeologist for the Tennessee Valley Authority from 1934 
until 1937 and as Trustee of Lee's Collegiate Institute from 1920 until 1929, 
and was reelected in 1943. 

In 1939 he was granted the honorary degree of Doctor of Science by the Uni- 
versity of Alabama in recognition of his contribution to the pre-history of that 
state. 

His membership in various learned societies is indicative of the depth of his 
knowledge and the intensity of his interest in his subjects. He was a member of 
the council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science; secre- 
tary of the American Association of Physics Teachers (1930-1936) ; member of the 
Committee on State Archeological Surveys, Division of Anthropology and Psy- 
chology of the National Research Council. Doctor Webb was President of the 
Central Section of the American Anthropological Association; member of the 
American Physics Society, Society for American Archeology, Phi Beta Kappa, 
Sigma Xi, Pi Mu Epsilon, Sigma Pi Sigma and Omicron Delta Kappa. He is 
also a member of the Sons of the Revolution. 

He is the author of Bulletins 119, 122 and 129 of the Bureau of American 
Ethnology and many other scientific reports and bulletins. Collaborating with 
Dr. W. D. Funkhouser, he wrote "Ancient Life in Kentucky," which was pub- 
lished in 1928, by Kentucky State Geological Survey. 

Dr. William Snyder Webb was married to Miss Alleen P. Lary of Lexington, 
Kentucky on June 8, 1910. They are the parents of two children, William Lary 
and Jane Allen Webb, now Mrs. Isaac M. Moore. William Lary Webb is a 
research chemist for the Standard Oil Company of Indiana and makes his home 
in Flosmoor, Illinois. William Lary Webb married Miss Drewsilla Steel of 
Lexington and is the father of two children, William Steel and Andrew Steel 
Webb. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1937 

Jane Allen Webb, the daughter of Doctor Webb married Isaac M. Moore, 
who is now a Lieutenant Colonel in the United States Army on overseas duty. 

Doctor Webb is an active member of the Presbyterian Church and takes a 
lively interest in all civic, state and national affairs. Doctor Webb's home is 
located at 1713 South Limestone Street, Cherokee Park, Lexington, Kentucky. 

The contribution which Doctor Webb has made to the cultural and scientific 
life of his state in forty years of teaching cannot be measured. It is a contribu- 
tion which can be made only by one who has dedicated himself to the pursuit of 
knowledge — not for the sake of knowledge alone; but in order to impart it to 
others and put it to use for the benefit of mankind. 



__ PHILIP DANT 

JLhe distilleries of Kentucky have carried the name of the 
State into far places and their products are the choice of discriminating people 
everywhere. The industry is as old as the State but through the years many of 
the old brands have been moved to other locations that promised cheaper operation 
costs and centralized distribution. Despite this temptation to make their product 
cheaper, a select band of Kentucky distillers have refused to leave the state, and 
have kept their manufacturing processes just as they have been through the years, 
and zealously clung to the original locations at the source of the limestone water 
that experts insist is one of the necessary requirements in making the high quality 
whiskey the state has always produced. Among this loyal band, the Shawhan Dis- 
tillery at Bardstown, Kentucky, is most notable and the time-tried brands of 
whiskey produced keep on the high plane they have occupied from the beginning. 
Under the general management of the subject of this sketch, Philip Dant, every 
modern labor saving method and every new method of business management possible 
has been introduced, but all the old methods of processing are retained just as 
they were at the beginning. Time saving can be made in marketing whiskey, and 
it is often desirable to do so, but no time is saved in the aging except at the 
expense of the product, and at the Shawhan Distilleries nothing is done at the 
expense of the quality of the whiskey produced. Mr. Dant is a young man, but 
entered the distilling business with an inquiring mind, with the intention of 
learning from the ground up, and he has done so. 

Philip Dant was born at Dant, Kentucky, August 25, 1918, and attended school 
at St. Francis, Kentucky, with three years in high school. He finished at St. 
Charles Academy, St. Mary's, Kentucky, and then attended St. Joseph's College, 
Collegeville, Indiana. On leaving college he entered the Dant Distillery, for the 
purpose of familiarizing himself with all departments of the business. In 1942, 
he joined the Shawhan Distillery, at Bardstown, Kentucky, as General Superin- 
tendent. In May, 1943, he was promoted to the position of General Manager. 
He was married in 1940, to Lola Hughes, of Raywick, Kentucky, who was born 
in that community April 9, 1918. They are the parents of Carl Dennis Dant, 
who was born at Raywick, Kentucky, December 7, 1942. The subject's father is 
Harry Dant, who was born at Loretto, Kentucky, June 23, 1883, and is now with 



1938 A SESQU1-CENTENNIAL 

the Dant Distillery at Dant, Kentucky. The mother is Florence (Osborn) Dant, 
born in Loretta, Kentucky in 1887. They make their home in the family residence 
at Dant, Kentucky. 

The famous brands of the Shawhan Distillery are Old Lancaster and Shawhan, 
and because of the war the public is required to limit its consumption to stock 
available. When hostilities began, the distillery was running at full force, pro- 
ducing high wines for the United States Government, and Shawhan is one of 
the few distilleries allocated an alcohol column. This government allotted alcohol 
column began operation about August 1, 1943. This makes it possible to produce 
alcohol that will be up to the government standard in every way, and can thus be 
shipped direct to the operators. The whiskey produced by the Shawhan Distillery 
is strictly Sour Mash Kentucky Bourbon and, in comparison with other brands, 
easily stands at the top as to purity and potability. The famous water used comes 
from limestone springs — two large and one small lake, and every natural advantage 
it is possible to procure is added to tested distilling knowledge in producing their 
whiskies. 

Philip Dant is a young man to handle the responsibilities he has on his hands 
but he was born amid the distilling business and gives to it the attention that 
only a man intensely interested in his job can give. Personally, he is rapidly build- 
ing a large circle of friends, both in the business world and socially, and after 
the present war he and his distillery will be heard from in a flattering manner. 

FLEMON DEROND DEWEESE, LL.B. 

V^ne of the most popular and able members of the legal profession 
in Lexington is Flemon Derond DeWeese, an adopted son of Kentucky, but one 
who, because of his character and personality, was welcomed with open arms. 

Mr. DeWeese was born in Bonner Springs, Kansas, on November 3, 1908. His 
father, a native of Missouri, was William Harrison DeWeese and his mother was 
Gertrude Louise Dummit of Monett, Missouri. The elder DeWeese was asso- 
ciated for many years with the Atlas Powder Company. 

Derond DeWeese was educated in the public schools of Knoxville, Tennessee, 
and the Baylor Military Academy in Chattanooga, Tennessee, from which he 
graduated in 1925, and is now a member of the Advisory Council of that insti- 
tution. Later, he attended both the University of Tennessee and the University 
of Kentucky. He graduated from the University of Kentucky in 1935, receiving 
the degree of Bachelor of Laws. While at the University, he was a member of 
Delta Chi fraternity. 

In the same year, he passed the Kentucky State Bar examination and began 
the practice of law in the office of his uncle, Eldon S. Dummit, one of Central 
Kentucky's outstanding attorneys, who was recently elected Attorney General of 
the State of Kentucky. In 1940, with his excellent legal training and five years 
of practice in his uncle's office, Mr. DeWeese decided to strike out for himself 
and opened offices of his own in the Security Trust Building in Lexington. He 
now enjoys a wide and growing practice, and is also assistant to James Park, 




FLEMON DEROND DEWEESE, LL.B. 



1940 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Commonwealth Attorney of Fayette County, carrying the title of Commonwealth's 
Detective. 

Mr. DeWeese was married in 1931 to Miss Martha Lones of Knoxville, Ten- 
nessee. They are the parents of two children, Martha Ann and Flemon Derond 
DeWeese, Junior. Their home is located at 415 North Broadway, Lexington, Ken- 
tucky. He is a member of the Calvary Baptist Church. In political matters, he 
subscribes to the principles and supports the policies and candidates of the Re- 
publican Party. 

For recreation, Mr. DeWeese indulges his hobby of fishing and is a member 
of the Elks Club. He also has a private flying license. 

Endowed with youth, ability, personality and experience, Flemon Derond De- 
Weese is an asset to his community and his many friends predict for him a 
brilliant future. In March, 1945 he was inducted into the United States Navy, 
took his boot training at Great Lakes and is now receiving instruction in Radar. 



THE HARKINS FAMILY OF PRESTONSBURG 

J.T is impossible to think of Prestonsburg, Kentucky, without 
thinking at the same time of the Harkins Family, because five generations of 
Harkins' have been leading figures in the life of the community. They were directly 
responsible for the erection of some of its finest buildings, the establishment of the 
thriving The Bank Josephine, the development of natural resources of the district 
which have added greatly to the wealth of its citizens, and the continuation of a 
legal practice which during its one hundred and six years of practice by five suc- 
cessive generations occupies a unique place in the history of the profession. There 
is every indication that the practice of law by members of the Harkins Family 
will be a continuing tradition, as ten grandsons and two great-grandsons of the 
late Walter Scott Harkins are growing up to carry on the family interests. 

It was in 1835, a hundred and ten years ago, that Hugh Harkins came to the 
Big Sandy Valley from Pennsylvania. He was admitted to the bar in 1839, and 
from that year to this Prestonsburg has not been without a Harkins practicing law 
in that community. His son, John Harkins, was admitted to practice in 1857, 
and held the post of Court Commissioner. He married Elizabeth Graham, and 
his son, Walter Scott Harkins, was born on September 25, 1857. John Harkins 
died when comparatively young. 

Walter Scott Harkins was one of the most outstanding figures which Prestons- 
burg has produced. He acquired his early education in Prestonsburg, attended 
Centre College at Danville, and read law in the office of Judge John F. Hagar at 
Ashland. The only political office which he ever held was that of County Attorney, 
but he always fostered every movement calculated to advance the material pros- 
perity and the well being of his well-loved Big Sandy country. He was among 
the earliest to realize the prospective values of hidden mineral wealth in the hills 
of his section, and with provident foresight accumulated large tracts of timber, 
coal, oil and gas lands and rights therein. He was the moving spirit in the 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1941 

organization of The Bank Josephine, the construction of the beautiful church 
edifice of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, and the imposing stone structure 
which was built exclusively to house the Harkins law offices. His own home is 
one of the most beautiful in the entire state. His death occurred on February 
20, 1920. 

Walter Scott Harkins married Josephine Davidson, a member of an old Virginia 
family of Scotch ancestry. She was the daughter of Joseph Morgan and Mary 
Amanda (Hatcher) Davidson; her grandparents, Samuel Polly and Judith 
(Lackey) Davidson, were among the pioneers of Eastern Kentucky. Her father, 
Joseph Morgan Davidson, was born in Floyd County, Kentucky, on June 25, 1837. 
Although he had few advantages in youth, he contrived to secure an adequate 
education, and his natural abilities brought him more than ordinary distinction 
both in business and in public life. He was sheriff of Floyd County following the 
Civil War, and served two terms in the State Legislature, and was also Speaker 
of the House for one term. At the time of his death on September 9, 1882, he 
was a candidate for Congress. Joseph M. Davidson was a man of commanding 
presence, standing six feet six inches tall. A progressive farmer and stockman, 
he also accumulated large tracts of mineral lands. His wife, Amanda (Hatcher) 
Davidson, the mother of Josephine Davidson Harkins, was born in Floyd County 
on October 17, 1835, and died on May 11, 1890. There were four other daughters 
in the family, Mary Sallie, who married H. H. Fitzpatrick of Prestonsburg; Alice 
G., the widow of the late Hon. Frank A. Hopkins of Prestonsburg; and Anna 
Martha, who died in 1885. 

Josephine (Davidson) Harkins was born in Prestonsburg on July 27, 1859, and 
it was in Prestonsburg that she received her education. She is an active member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, is generous in assisting worthy chari- 
ties, and is a prominent member of the Order of the Eastern Star. The Bank 
Josephine, organized by her husband, Walter Scott Harkins, in 1891, was named 
in her honor; so far as is known, she is the only woman in the country to have been 
accorded such a distinction. The four children of Walter Scott Harkins and 
Josephine (Davidson) Harkins were: Joseph D. Harkins; Mary Elizabeth, who 
married Dr. G. L. Howard of Huntington, West Virginia, and is the mother of 
two sons, Walter Davidson Howard and Grover Latham Howard. Following 
the death of Dr. Howard she married Walter F. Vanlandingham, of Miami, 
Florida, where she now lives. Josephine Anna Harkins, who married Iley Baker 
Browning, and also has two sons, Iley Baker Browning, Jr., and Walter Scott 
Browning; and Walter S. Harkins, Jr. Walter S. Harkins, Jr., married Mar- 
guerite Fox of Danville, Kentucky; he passed away September 10, 1936, survived 
by his widow and four sons, Monte Scott Harkins, now a Lieutenant in the 
United States Navy; William Fox Harkins, accepted for admission to United 
States Naval Academy in June, 1946; George Archer Harkins and Donald David- 
son Harkins. 

Joseph D. Harkins, the older son of the late Walter S. Harkins, and the 
fourth generation of lawyers in the family, is generally conceded to be one of 
the best all-around general attorneys in Floyd County, Kentucky. He was born 

11— Vol. IV 



1942 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

on April 24, 1884, at Prestonsburg, where he received his early education. He 
then attended Hogsett Military Academy at Danville, Randolph-Macon Academy, 
and was graduated from Centre College at Danville in 1904; in 1906 he com- 
pleted the law course at the University of Virginia, and became associated with 
his father in legal practice until the latter's death. In addition to his extensive 
law practice, Joseph D. Harkins is a director and officer in many corporations. 
The college fraternity of Joseph D. Harkins is Beta Theta Pi. He is a commis- 
sioner of the Kentucky State Bar Association, and has served frequently as Special 
Judge of the Circuit Court for the district composed of Knox, Harlan, Letcher, 
Perry, Pike, Floyd, Martin and Magoffin Counties by appointment of the Chief 
Justice of the Court of Appeals. Joseph D. Harkins is active in Masonry, being 
affiliated with Prestonsburg Lodge, Pikeville Chapter, Commandery and Shrine at 
Ashland, and Consistory at Covington. He is also a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks at Catlettsburg, and a trustee of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church South. His wife is the former Reca Baker, the daughter of 
George W. Baker and Hallie (Buckner) Baker of Mt. Vernon, Kentucky, whom 
he married on January 1, 1908. Their two sons are Joseph D. Harkins, Jr., and 
Walter S. Harkins, III. 

Joseph D. Harkins, Jr., son of Joseph D. Harkins, graduated from the Uni- 
versity of Michigan with the degree of A.B. in 1934, and from the law school of 
the University of Michigan in 1937. His college fraternity was Beta Theta Pi. 
He was admitted to practice law in Kentucky in 1939, and since that time has 
been associated with his father in the practice of law at Prestonsburg, Kentucky. 
He was for two years, 1940-1942, City Attorney of the City of Prestonsburg, 
Kentucky; and at the present time is Judge of the Prestonsburg Police Court, which 
office he took in 1942, his term expiring in 1946. He was also a member of the 
Floyd County Draft Board during 1943-1944, a period of one and a half years. 
He married Billie Holliday, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Holliday of 
Winchester, Kentucky, at Ashland on December 31, 1938. Joseph D. Harkins, 
Jr., and his wife have two sons, Joseph D. Harkins, III, born January 5, 1940; 
and William Holliday Harkins, born March 30, 1942. 

Walter S. Harkins, III, the younger son of Joseph D. Harkins, was born on 
December 28, 1917. He received his high school education at Prestonsburg, Ken- 
tucky, and at Kentucky Military Institute, Lyndon, Kentucky. He then attended 
the Academic Department of the University of Michigan, where he received his 
A.B. degree in 1938. After graduating from the Law School of the University of 
Michigan, he was admitted to practice law in Kentucky on February 14, 1941. 
In 1942 he was elected City Attorney for a term of four years, but upon induction 
into the United States Army on February 16, 1944, he obtained leave of absence 
for the remainder of his term, and served with the armed forces in France. On 
February 1, 1945, he received the rank of Corporal. He was returned to America 
by air to enter the Judge Advocate General School at Ann Arbor, Michigan, on 
May 28, 1945. Walter S. Harkins is a member of Beta Theta Pi fraternity, and 
of Zcbulon Lodge No. 273 of the Masonic Order at Prestonsburg, Kentucky; 
Prestonsburg Chapter R. A. M. at Prestonsburg, Kentucky; Pikeville Commandery 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1943 

Knights Templar, Pikeville, Kentucky; and of the El Hasa Temple at Ashland, 
Kentucky. His marriage to Mary Jane Frye, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ezra 
H. Frye of Detroit, Michigan, was solemnized on August 24, 1940. Their daughter, 
Barbara Baker Harkins, was born on June 10, 1942. While Corporal Harkins is 
serving his country, his wife and small daughter continue their residence in Pres- 
tonsburg. 

The Harkins lawyers have always been men of ability, integrity, and character, 
able to cope with all kinds of problems, thoroughly posted on precedents and the 
theory and philosophy of law, and possessing comprehensive and profound insight 
into the merits of any case. The legal profession is one which calls for unusual 
mental agility and wide knowledge of men, laws and events; the Harkins family 
has distinguished itself in one of the most difficult, but most important of pro- 
fessions, making itself so vital to the life of the city of Prestonsburg that it is 
hard for anyone to conceive of Prestonsburg without the Harkins Law Office. 



Jc 



JOSEPH W. THOMPSON 



'oseph W. Thompson owns and operates the farm near Mt. 
Sterling, Kentucky, on which he has lived for over sixty-five years. His mother 
lives with him on the farm, and she is over ninety years old. That is a long span 
in the life of this young country, and dates back to the real pioneer days. There 
were seven children in the Thompson family, and there are two still living, Joseph 
W. Thompson and his sister Mamie, who is married and lives in Mt. Sterling, 
not far from the farm where her mother and brother reside. 

Joseph W. Thompson was born in Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, on November 27, 
1875. His father, William Wallace Thompson, was born in Stanton, Kentucky, 
and died in 1901, on November 27, his son's birthday. Joseph Thompson's father 
was connected with three of the important cogs in the industrial machine. He 
was a farmer, a banker and a merchant. The farm was the one since expanded 
and now owned by his son. The bank was one he helped organize in Mt. Sterling. 
It was originally known as the Traders Bank and later the name was changed to 
Traders National Bank. The mercantile business was located in Mt. Sterling, 
Kentucky, and was conducted under the name of Wells & Thompson. The mother 
of Joseph W. Thompson is Minerva (Quisenberry) Thompson, born in Clark 
County, Kentucky, in 1853. She lives on the farm with her son, and is still re- 
markably active. Mrs. Thompson has lived under eighteen presidents. She was 
eight years old when the Civil War broke out, and ten years old when President 
Lincoln delivered his famous Gettysburg address. When she was eighteen years 
old the great city of Chicago to the north was almost destroyed by the fire which 
started when Mrs. O'Leary's cow kicked over the lantern. Seven more years were 
to pass before the electric light was perfected, and Mrs. Thompson was twenty- 
three years old when the word telephone began to get into learned magazines. 
Since then she has seen many added changes making for comfort, convenience and 
efficiency in farm life. 

Joseph W. Thompson was brought up on the farm and attended school at Mt. 



1944 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Sterling, Kentucky. In those days the school curriculum was not as extensive as 
in these days, but what was learned was learned right. Joseph Thompson cannot 
remember when he lived in any other place than his present home, as he was a 
very young boy when his father took over the farm near Mt. Sterling. This farm 
was known as John Smith's farm, and there were plenty of stories regarding old 
John Smith, none of them particularly to his credit. He was a trader in slaves, 
and while not an essentially cruel man, his character was such that people shunned 
him socially. The result was that the house on his farm was a gloomy place, with 
occasional noise but not much merriment. The coming of the Thompsons changed 
all this, and with seven youngsters playing around the premises, the farm house 
livened up. Joseph Thompson was the farmer in his family, and he has enlarged 
the farm and kept it in constant good repair, so that today it is an unusually 
pleasant looking and profitable farm. Altogether the farm covers six hundred 
acres, and a good portion of that acreage is given over to tobacco. In addition 
the farm is a large raiser of livestock, and ships out cattle, sheep and hogs. 

Joseph Thompson has one sister, Mamie, born in Mt. Sterling, Kentucky. She 
is married to James Kennedy, and they make their home in Mt. Sterling, not far 
from the home farm. 

MARK KNOX MARLOWE 

Jl rom a mine company laborer at one dollar per day to the presi- 
dency and active head of a great coal corporation with a subsidiary company, 
and the presidency of a prosperous bank is the active history of this subject, a 
record of success that could well be envied by any man in the state. 

Mark Knox Marlowe was born in Jacksboro, Tennessee, February 3, 1885, 
the son of Alex Marlowe and Serelda (Wilson) Marlowe, both of Campbell 
County, Tennessee. He attended the public schools of Campbell County, Ten- 
nessee, and when seventeen years of age secured employment with the Block 
Coal and Coke Company, working for a daily wage of one dollar. He re- 
mained with this company for thirteen years and acquired a well grounded 
knowledge of the coal industry. In 1918 he took his talents to Whitesburg, 
Kentucky, and organized the Elkhorn and Jellico Coal Company. Later he 
acquired a half interest in the Sandlick Coal Company and in 1929 he bought the 
Old Defiance Coal Company which was incorporated into the Marlowe Coal 
Company of which he has continuously been president 

He also acquired the Phoenix Fuel Company of Louisville, Kentucky in 1927. 
(This company moves the greater percentage of the tonnage produced by Mr. 
Marlowe's mines.) In 1937 the Jackson County Coal Company at Sand Gap, 
Kentucky was organized (and is one of the largest truck mines in the State of 
Kentucky.) Mr. Marlowe and others organized the Bank of Whitesburg, Ken- 
tucky and he became its first and present president. The deposits of this bank 
now total $4,000,000 and during the year 1944, it had the largest percentage of 
increase of any bank in the United States. The office of Mr. Marlowe and that 
of his son, Mark V. Marlowe, Vice-President of the company are located in their 
office of the Marlowe Coal Company, First National Bank Building, Lexington, 
Kentucky. 




MARK KNOX MARLOWE 



1946 A SESQUI-CENTENN1AL 

On November 1, 1943, Mr. Marlowe organized a new mining company known 
as the Stoker Coal Company located in Perry County, Kentucky. This mine is 
one mile south of the Defiance mine and is located at Stoker, Perry County, 
Kentucky. This is a completely mechanized mine and promises to be one of the 
largest mines operating in the No. 4 seam in the Hazard field. Mr. Marlowe is 
general manager of this company. 

Mr. Marlowe married Lula Vincent of Jacksboro, Tennessee, who is a graduate 
of the Campbell County High School and attended the University of Tennessee. 
Mr. and Mrs. Marlowe are the parents of the following children: 

Mark V. Marlowe, born March 30 1917 and attended the public schools and 
graduated from the High School of Whitesburg, Kentucky in 1933. His higher 
education was received at the University of Kentucky, where he graduated in 
1937, and he followed it with work at Harvard University and at Leland Stanford 
University at Palo Alto, California graduating in 1940. He married Louise 
Mitchel of Los Angeles, California and they are the parents of Mark V. Marlowe, 
Jr., born September 13, 1941. He is a member of the Optimist Club, the Phi 
Sigma Kappa and is now National Director of the Kentucky Junior Chamber of 
Commerce. He resides at 1078 East Cooper Drive, Lexington, Kentucky. 

James Robert Marlowe, born December 20, 1920 and married Betty Peters, of 
Princeton, West Virginia and they are the parents of James Robert. Marlowe, Jr., 
born December 7, 1942. James is now a Captain in the United States Air Force 
and is now back from Italy where he completed his fifty missions. During the 
time he was making his fifty missions, there was not a single injury to any mem- 
ber of his crew. He is a graduate of the University of Kentucky and is a mem- 
ber of Phi Delta Tau fraternity. 

Staff Sergeant, John G. Marlowe, born April 5, 1925 is now serving in the 
United States Army Air Corps and had completed 25 missions when the surrender 
of Germany came. His twin brother, Gene Marlowe is a graduate of the Uni- 
versity High School and is now connected with the Lexington office and the 
business of the various corporations. 

Mark Knox Marlowe and his family are at home in the pleasant residence at 
1000 Richmond Road, Lexington, Kentucky, where friends and acquaintances 
are glad to partake of the broad hospitality practiced there. He is a man who 
has made things happen in his life by not waiting for them to occur, and his repu- 
tation for sagacity, sound judgment and business success make his advice much 
sought after, and with the spirit of generosity that characterizes the man who 
finds success the hard way, he gives his help freely. 

ROBERT LETCHER BRONAUGH, LL.B. 

JLor over a century three generations of the Bronaugh family 
have made the law a profession and maintained offices and a home in the same 
location at Nicholasvillc, Kentucky. The subject of this sketch, Robert Letcher 




ROBERT LETCHER BRONAUGH, LL.B. 



1948 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Bronaugh, is of the third generation in this remarkable professional and family 
history, being the grandson of the first practicing attorney in what was then the 
village of Nicholasville and it is peculiarly fitting that so historical a record should 
be noted in a History of Kentucky. 

Robert Letcher Bronaugh was born in Nicholasville, Jessamine County, Ken- 
tucky, September 23, 1892, and his father was Nat Lafon Bronaugh, an attorney, 
who was the son of John S. Bronaugh, the first practicing attorney in the county 
seat of Jessamine County, and for a period of time the only one. He died in 
1898 and Nat Lafon Bronaugh was born in 1857 and died in 1931. The three 
generations have maintained offices at the same location, father succeeding son and 
three generations have made the location of the family home the same. The 
mother of Robert Letcher Bronaugh was Margaret Robertson (Letcher) Bronaugh 
and she was of the well known western Kentucky Letcher family at Henderson. 
Mr. Robert L. Bronaugh married Louise S. Welch of Nicholasville, and they are 
the parents of two children. The son is John W. Bronaugh, a graduate of the 
Episcopal High School in Virginia and now with the 81st Infantry Training Bat- 
talion and the daughter is Ann Letcher Bronaugh. 

As a young man Robert Letcher Bronaugh attended the Threlkeld Select School 
and the Episcopal High School in Virginia of Alexandria, Virginia, and entered 
the University of Virginia in 1912, graduating in law in 1916. While in college he 
was a member of the Delta Psi fraternity. He was interested in athletic activities 
during his high school years and played on the football team also one year at the 
university, and was the winner of the debating contest medal at the High School. 
He was admitted to the Kentucky Bar in 1915 and in 1919 was elected City 
Attorney of Nicholasville and in the year 1921 elected County Attorney of Jessa- 
mine County. He is president of the Farmers Bank of Nicholasville; president of 
the Nicholasville Cemetery Company and a member of the Nicholasville Rotary 
Club, taking an active part in the work of the organization. During the World 
War he attended Officers Training School at Fort Benjamin Harrison and was 
commissioned a Second Lieutenant, being shortly thereafter promoted to a First 
Lieutenancy, and while serving in France with the 801st Pioneer Infantry, he won 
his Captain's bars. He makes a hobby of collecting guns of which he has one 
of the finest collections in the state, some of the pieces being of seventeenth 
century origin. He is a Democrat politically and in religion he and his family 
are affiliated with the Episcopal Church. The family residence is the old home- 
stead in Nicholasville that has sheltered Bronaugh's for over a hundred years. 

Robert Letcher Bronaugh represents the best in Kentucky family tradition and 
is a worthy scion of a legal dynasty that has represented the best in law. One 
family spanning the better part of two centuries, maintaining the traditions of 
family and the practice of the high profession they have honored add to the 
dignity of Kentucky. Robert Bronaugh's popularity and the place he occupies 
among the people who know him best is testified by the public honors they have 
bestowed upon him and the trust they have placed in his hands. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1949 

PAUL R. CUNNINGHAM, D.D.S., F.I.C.D. 



D, 



'r. Paul Raymond Cunningham, an outstanding professional man 
and member of the dental fraternity of Muhlenberg County, Kentucky, has practiced 
a score of years in Central City and represents the fourth generation of the 
Cunningham family in Kentucky. 

First of the Cunninghams in Kentucky was Dr. Cunningham's great grandfather, 
William Cunningham, who was born in Bonnie, Scotland, in 1765. William's life 
had the color of a novel, and established a precedent for spirit and courage in the 
Cunningham family. A tailor by trade, he left his native land to avoid the com- 
pulsory two years' military service demanded. He stowed away on a sailing vessel 
for a six months' voyage which ended at Chesapeake Bay, Norfolk, Virginia, where 
he left the ship and the distasteful sailing life to live with a sister in Albemarle 
County, Virginia. 

During the Whiskey Rebellion in Pennsylvania, William served as a soldier in 
the United States Army, but returned to his tailoring occupation. In 1795 he 
married the daughter of a wealthy planter, and for a time they lived on a small 
farm in Albemarle County, Virginia. William migrated to Western Kentucky in 
1818, and with the assistance of a son and a Negro slave built a house and stable 
on his property in Trigg County and raised a crop of corn. That same year he 
disposed of his land in Virginia and brought his family to the new home. 

He erected a mill on the present site of Trigg Furnace, and began to cultivate 
corn and tobacco. William was a pioneer horticulturist of the locality and became 
owner of a large orchard of fruit trees brought from Virginia which bore fruit 
for almost 100 years. His well managed, highly productive plantation is now 
known as the John Crute farm. Kentucky's first Cunningham also found time for 
public affairs, serving variously as an officer at the first Trigg County election, as 
a member of the third session of the circuit court and the road commission, in which 
connection he opened up the public highways in the western part of Trigg County. 

William fathered twelve children, of whom Mickins, the seventh child, was the 
direct genealogical antecedent of Central City's Dr. Cunningham. A farmer, 
Mickins was a lifelong resident of Trigg County. He had ten children, including 
Warren C. Cunningham, father of Dr. Cunningham. Warren studied dentistry 
under a preceptor and acquired a great deal of skill in the profession, which he 
followed in the latter part of his life in Cadiz, Kentucky. He married Julia 
Adams, native of Trigg County, who died in 1931. 

Dr. Paul R. Cunningham was born October 20, 1901, in Trigg County, and 
received his early public school education in Cadiz. He completed high school 
work at Hopkinsville High School, and began the study of dentistry, following 
the path of his father. In 1924 he was graduated from the University of Louis- 
ville with the degree of D.D.S. For a year he served an interneship in the City 
Hospital in Louisville, and then came to Central City. 

His natural talent for the profession and pleasing personality quickly won him 
the respect of the community, and his practice grew rapidly from the outset. His 
office has maintained a standard of modern equipment, while his professional growth 



1950 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

keeps apace. Currently Dr. Cunningham is official dentist to the local Selective 
Service Board. 

Dr. Cunningham is a member of the Delta Sigma Delta, dental professional fra- 
ternity, and serves as scribe of the Kentucky branch of the organization. He is a 
past vice president of the Kentucky State Dental Association, of which he is an 
active member; past president of his District Dental Association, of which he is 
now secretary; and is a member of the American Dental Association. He keeps 
abreast of the progress constantly being made in his profession. 

The position he occupies in his profession is evidenced by the fact that he was 
selected one of five members from Kentucky to a Fellowship in the International 
College of Dentists, an honor group of rigidly selected dentists whose membership 
in America is limited to 500. Membership in the International College warrants 
use of the degree F.I.C.D. 

In other ways Dr. Cunningham is an equally valuable member of the community. 
He belongs to the Central City Board of Trade, and also is a member of the 
School Board of Central City. He is a Mason, with his membership in Central 
City Lodge No. 673, F. & A. M.; is a Past High Priest of Central City Chapter 
No. 147, Royal Arch Masons, which he now serves as secretary; is a past Eminent 
Commander of the Central City Commandery, No. 41, Knights Templar; and is a 
member of the Rizpah Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Madisonville. 

Dr. Cunningham is affiliated with the Baptist Church, and is a Democrat 
politically. 

He married Miss Margie O'Bryan of Hopkinsville in 1934. They have two chil- 
dren, Carol Ann and Nancy O'Bryan. Mrs. Cunningham is active in the Parent- 
Teachers' Association, of which she is past secretary and president, and in the 
Woman's Club of Central City. 

Dr. Cunningham's professional skill and keen community interest rank him with 
the leaders and accord him the respect of his community. 



D, 



JOHN WISDOM HARNED, M.D. 



'r. John Wisdom Harned was born in Todd County, Kentucky, 
on March 30, 1876, the son of Ben William and Mollie (Wisdom) Harned. 

Ben William Harned was born in Todd County, Kentucky, in 1846 and spent 
his life as a planter in Christian County until he retired and moved to Hopkins- 
ville. Mollie Wisdom Harned was born in Lexington, Kentucky, in 1847. Both 
died in 1928 at the age of 81 and 82 respectively. Their final resting place is at 
Riverside, Hopkinsville, Kentucky. 

Dr. John Wisdom Harned was one of five children born to Ben William and 
Mollie Harned. His early education was in the elementary schools of Hopkins- 
ville. He then attended South Kentucky College, from which he graduated with 
B.S. degree. He obtained his medical degree from the University of Louisville 
in 1897. After his graduation, he began the practice of medicine in Hopkinsville 




J. W. HARNED, M.D. 



1952 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

and Christian County. Through the years since he has grown deep in the hearts 
and affections of the men, women, and children whose lives he has touched. 

The marriage of Dr. John W. Harned and Sarah Ann McCarley was solem- 
nized March 22, 1900. Mrs. Harned is a native of Christian County. Two sons 
were born to Dr. and Mrs. Harned. 

The first son, who bears the same name as his father, was born in Hopkins- 
ville, March 7, 1901. He attended the Hopkinsville graded and high schools, 
and Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia, where he obtained his degrees as Bachelor 
of Science and Doctor of Medicine. He received his postgraduate training at 
Westchester County Hospital New York; Illinois Eye and Ear Hospital, Chicago, 
Illinois; Chicago Municipal Tuberculosis Hospital; and Chicago Postgraduate 
Hospital. His fraternal orders are: Sigma Nu Literary Fraternity; Phi Chi Medi- 
cal Fraternity. Upon the outbreak of World War II, Dr. John W. Harned, II, 
volunteered for duty with the army and was commissioned maior in the medical 
corps and assigned to the Army Air Force, Truax Field General Hospital, located 
at Madison, Wisconsin. Major Harned's wife was the former Muriel Leonard 
of Eau Clair, Wisconsin. Their only child, John Wisdom Harned, III, was born 
in Chicago, June 14, 1933. 

Ralph Mills Harned, the second son of Dr. John W. and Sarah Ann Harned, 
was born in Hopkinsville, September 26, 1910. After graduation from Hopkins- 
ville High School, Ralph attended Northwestern Dental University in Chicago. 
A very promising career was cut short in 1931, his junior year, when he was just 
21 years of age. While he and friends, students of Bethel College, were enjoying 
a picnic and outing at Lake Morris, Christian County, the motor boat in which 
they were riding, capsized and the lives of all were in jeopardy. Ralph and Hugh 
Kelly of Thomaston, Georgia, at the cost of their own lives, helped to save the 
lives of all the group. Ralph's loss was a severe blow to his parents and the entire 
community where he had lived his brief life and where he was so well known and 
deeply loved. His parents received the Carnegie medal for the heroism he dis- 
played. Some slight balm for the pain of his loss is the knowledge that he gave 
his life that his friends might live. 

Dr. John W. Harned, I, served on the Selective Service Board of World War I 
and was reappointed when World War II broke out. He held this position until 
peace was declared. He also takes part in many other war activities, his chief 
contribution to the war effort being his time and skill which he so willingly gives 
to his work with the Selective Service Board and the financial support he gives 
to the war bond issues. 

Dr. Harned finds relaxation in a friendly game of bridge, is a keen player and 
enjoys a stiff battle with worthy opponents. He also derives a great deal of 
pleasure from his farm which is located on the Clarksville Pike just outside the 
city limits of Hopkinsville. 

Dr. Harned is a member of the Methodist Church, serving on the Board. A 
member of the Kiwanis Club, Christian County Board of Health, State and 
County Medical Society and the Hopkinsville Chamber of Commerce. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1953 



WILLIAM BENSON WICKLIFFE, B.S., LL.B. 



M, 



.eadow Hill Farm/' west of Henderson, Kentucky, is the home 
of William Benson Wickliffe, one of the largest farmers in the Ohio River district, 
who is also a well-known attorney and successful business man. 

William Benson Wickliffe was born on May 5, 1893, at Greenville, Muhlenberg 
County, Kentucky, of old and honorable Kentucky stock. His basic education was 
received in the public schools of his home city, from which he went to Union 
University at Jackson, Tennessee, where he was a member of Alpha Tau Omicron 
fraternity. He received a B.S. degree from Union University, and then entered 
the College of Law of Harvard University, receiving his LL.B. degree there. 

He began his law practice in Memphis, Tennessee, but the outbreak of World 
War I at the end of his second year of legal work interrupted his civilian pursuits. 
He immediately entered Officers Training School, but a physical defect necessitated 
his return to civilian life. However, he was inducted into the army later and 
served as a private during the remainder of the war. 

At the close of the war, W. B. Wickliffe returned to Greenville and was superin- 
tendent and then manager of the W. A. Wickliffe Coal Company, of which his 
father was president. He still continues ownership, but has recently relinquished 
active management of his coal mining operations because of travel difficulties im- 
posed by gasoline rationing. He is now devoting all of his energy and attention to 
the operation of 2,350 acres of land at Meadow Hill Farm. 

Mr. Wickliffe is a member of a distinguished family. His father, William 
Arrington Wickliffe, was an attorney, widely known as Judge Wickliffe. In 
addition to being president of the W. A. Wickliffe Coal Company, he was presi- 
dent of the First National Bank of Greenville. His ability manifested itself at 
an early age, as he served as County Superintendent of Schools of Muhlenberg 
County when he was only nineteen years of age. His mother was Mary (Reynolds) 
Wickliffe. 

On July 30, 1919, William Benson Wickliffe married Frances Louise Crutchfield. 
Mrs. Wickliffe was born on Meadow Hill Farm, near Smith Mills, in Henderson 
County. Her grandfather, Albert Gallatin Crutchfield, came to Kentucky from 
Virginia, making the trip on horseback with his bride. They originally settled in 
Oldham County, but later moved to Henderson County, where he became a large 
land owner. His son, A. G. Crutchfield, Jr., the father of Mrs. Wickliffe, con- 
tinued the farming operations started by his father, and was also president of the 
Smith Mills Deposit Bank. Mrs. Wickliffe's mother, Bessie Davis (Powell) Crutch- 
field, was the daughter of Elias Powell, and her grandfather, a brother of Gov- 
ernor Powell, was a very large land owner, owning over 10,000 acres. "Meadow 
Hill Farm," the present home of the Wickliffes, is a part of that land. 

Mrs. Wickliffe is a well-educated, cultured and charming woman. She attended 
Stuart Hall, Staunton, Virginia; Ward College, Nashville, Tennessee; and was 
graduated from the Kentucky College for Women at Danville, Kentucky. She is 
a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, Colonial Dames, and the 
Magna Charta. She presides over an exceptionally beautiful home, in which family 



1954 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

heirlooms, joined with an abundance of books and all the conveniences and com- 
forts of modern living make an ideal setting for family life. Their daughter, Fran- 
ces Crutchfield Wickliffe, is a graduate of Gulf Park High School of Gulf Park, 
Mississippi. She attended Randolph-Macon at Lynchburg, Virginia for one year 
and is now at the University of Kentucky, Lexington. 

Mr. Wickliffe is active in the Henderson County Farm Bureau, the American 
Legion and the Presbyterian Church. His political affiliation is with the Demo- 
cratic Party. He is a cultured man, successful in all his pursuits, of inestimable 
value to his county and to his state. 

ELLIOTT ROBERTSON 

J_/Lliott Robertson, Kentucky's progressive Commissioner of 
Agriculture, is eminently qualified for the position he holds. He was born and 
reared on a Kentucky farm and is himself a dirt farmer by training and experience. 
He has manifested a lifelong interest in farming and farm problems; and because 
of his outstanding qualities of leadership, sympathetic interest in agricultural im- 
provements and in civic advancement, he has been chosen many times as leader of 
farm organizations. Three times he was chosen Vice Chairman of the Triple A 
Committee and he is a member of the Farm Bureau. His outstanding qualities of 
leadership, sound common sense, and his ability to think straight have made him 
a powerful figure in politics. He has never had any particular personal desire 
for public office himself, but on the one occasion he did run he offered himself 
for an office for which he felt he was eligible. The voters agreed with him, and 
in November, 1943 elected him Commissioner of Agriculture for the State of 
Kentucky. In filling this office he is following in the footsteps of his great uncle, 
M. C. Rankin, who was the first Commissioner of Agriculture to occupy that 
position in the new State Capitol. 

The Commissioner was born in Henry County, Kentucky, July 28, 1897. His 
father, James Wesley Robertson, was born in Henry County in 1870 and died in 
1927. He, too, was a farmer. His mother, Jennie Belle (Rankin) Robertson was 
also a native of Henry County, Kentucky. She was born in 1873 and resides now 
in Pleasureville, Kentucky. 

His early education was gained in the school at Bethlehem, in Henry County, 
Kentucky. Later he studied art at Louisville, Kentucky. He now owns, operates, 
and resides on the farm on which he was born and reared and has always found 
real pleasure, contentment, and enjoyment in farming. He keeps in close touch 
with all agricultural movements intended to help the farmer and manifests a keen 
interest in all civic movements which tend to promote rural religious and social 
conditions. 

Elliott Robertson was married in 1930 to Sadie Josephine Cook, who was born 
in Pleasureville, Kentucky. Mrs. Robertson's father, W. P. Cook, was born in 
Scott County, Kentucky in 1878 and died in 1935. He was postmaster at Pleas- 
ureville, Kentucky for many years. Her mother, Mary Belle (Hcrndon) Cook 
was born in Scott County, Kentucky in 1886. She now resides in Pleasureville, 




ELLIOTT ROBERTSON 



1956 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Kentucky. Mr. and Mrs. Elliott Robertson have two children, Jimmie Jo Robert- 
son, who was born in Henry County, Kentucky, February 19, 1931, and Vaughn 
DeLeath Robertson, born in Henry County, Kentucky March 14, 1937. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Robertson have been active political leaders for many years. 
Mrs. Robertson is County Chairwoman of the Republican Party for Henry 
County. Mr. Robertson, the great-nephew of M. C. Rankin, the first Commissioner 
of Agriculture to occupy that office in the new State Capitol and who decided the 
important question of the future location of the State Fair Grounds, is now con- 
fronted with the same question due to the fact that the State Fair has outgrown 
its present quarters under his progressive leadership. 

The Elliott Robertsons worship at the Christian Church. Mr. Robertson is a 
member of the Board of Trustees, University of Kentucky; Chairman of the Ken- 
tucky State Board of Agriculture; President, Kentucky State Fair Board; member 
of the State War Board; Chairman of the State Board of Veterinary Examiners; 
member of the State Soil Conservation Committee; and a member of the committees 
on Standardization and Inspection, and Plant Industry of the National Association 
of Commissioners of Agriculture. 



W„ 



HON. WINN DAVIS 



inn Davis can certainly claim the title of Mayor- Without-Oppo- 
sition. He was appointed Mayor of Glasgow, Barren County, Kentucky, to fill 
a vacancy in 1935. Two years later he stood for election, and he stood alone. 
There was no opposition in 1937, and there was still no opposition at the beginning 
of the next four-year term in 1941. To quote the advertising solgan, "Such Popu- 
larity must be deserved." Deserved it is, and on the solid basis of ability and 
accomplishment. 

Mr. Davis owns and operates a drug store in Glasgow, and his leadership in his 
own business field has resulted in his election to the Executive Council of the 
Kentucky Druggists' Association. In civic affairs, Winn Davis has a record that 
abounds in achievement. There is no use extolling his virtues to the citizens of 
Glasgow, Kentucky. They know all about that, and as has already been pointed 
out, they have acted accordingly. 

The outstanding feature of Winn Davis' activities has been his organizational 
ability. The organizer of public movements is actually a pioneer. He must have 
a vision of things to come and builds definitely with the future in mind. In 
1920 Mr. Davis and other civic leaders organized the Glasgow Chamber of Com- 
merce. He served on the first Board of Directors, and from 1930 to 1937 he was 
President. There was need for a Rotary Club as a sponsoring agency for projects 
of civic value, and Mr. Davis was the successful organizer. As first president oi 
the group, he saw it off to a good start. Another of his organizational activities 
was the formation of the Consolidated Gas Company, through which gas was 
brought to Glasgow in 1924. Winn Davis is one of those rare people who not 
only initiates movements, but puts all his weight back of them and brings them 
through to success. 



^^ 



I H 




HON. WINN DAVIS 



1958 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Winn Davis was born in Glasgow, Kentucky, on August 1, 1890. His father, 
Walter Dabney Davis, was born in Cumberland County, Kentucky, in 1865, and 
died in 1901. He was a live-stock dealer and farmer. His mother was Elizabeth 
(Winn) Davis. She was born in Glasgow, Kentucky, on August 3, 1869, and 
resides in Glasgow with her son. 

The Davis family settled in Cumberland County, Kentucky, before Kentucky 
was a state. At that time it was a part of Virginia, and the Governor of Virginia 
granted Winn Davis' great-grandfather five thousand acres of land on Marrow- 
bone Ceek. His great-grandmother's two brothers operated Urania College. Their 
names were Smith Winn and Thomas Winn. Urania College was one of the 
first colleges operated in Kentucky, and passed out of existence many years ago. 

Winn Davis graduated from Liberty College in 1905. He commenced work in a 
drug store, and after securing a license as druggist from the State Board of Phar- 
macy, he went to work for Dr. Leech. In 1911 Winn Davis formed a business 
partnership with Dr. Leech, Dr. Ellison and George Ellis. They operated three 
drug stores. When Dr. Leech died in 1915, Winn Davis separated from the group 
and bought the drug store which had been operated by Dr. Leech. Thirty years 
have since passed by, and the drug store has kept pace with the times. Only the 
name above the store has remained the same throughout the years: Leech and Davis. 

Five years after Winn Davis began to operate his own business, he decided that 
for the good of all business men a Chamber of Commerce should be organized. 
Not long after his success with this project, he was busy again, this time organiz- 
ing the Glasgow Rotary Club. From 1935 until now he has been Mayor without 
opposition. In 1937 he was elected a member of the Board of Directors of 
Kentucky Municipal League of Mayors. After a year as vice-president of this 
group, he was elected president in 1940. He is at present on the Board of Di- 
rectors. Mr. Davis is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the T. J. Samson 
Community Hospital. He is also President of the Glasgow Industrial Foundation. 
In 1924, Mr. Davis organized the Consolidated Gas Company, through the medium 
of which gas was made available in Glasgow. Mr. Davis sold out his interest in 
this concern in 1930. In 1928 Mr. Davis and associates bought controlling interest 
in the Citizens National Bank of Glasgow, Kentucky. Mr. Davis served as Chair- 
man of the Board of Directors until 1942 at which time he became President of the 
bank. 

On January 22, 1943, Winn Davis married Mrs. Elsie Ellis, of Glasgow. They 
have one child, Walter Winn Davis, who was born November 24, 1943. 

In 1929 the Glasgow Chamber of Commerce persuaded Mr. Davis to become 
a candidate for the state legislature for the express purpose of securing the neces- 
sary appropriations and enacting such laws as were necessary to make the Mammoth 
Cave Area into a National Park. He was elected, served in the 1930 and 1932 
sessions and accomplished his purpose. For the past twenty years he has been a 
booster for good roads and the present federal highway system in the south central 
section of Kentucky is largely the result of his efforts. 

The fraternal connection of Mr. Davis is with the Knights of Pythias. He is a 
member of the Baptist Church. The city of Glasgow is fortunate to have as 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1959 

mayor a man of vigor, courage and confidence. On the banks of the River Clyde 
in Scotland stands the original city of Glasgow, home of over a million people 
and a thriving center of industry. The motto of that Scottish city is, "Let Glasgow 
Flourish," and it can be truly said that the motto will find echo in Glasgow, Ken- 
tucky, as long as that city is the home of such citizens as Mayor Winn Davis. 



RAYMOND RUSSELL GRANT, LL.B. 



X 



.he young men of today are the leaders of tomorrow, and those 
who prepare diligently will acquit themselves with honor when the mantle of re- 
sponsibility falls upon their shoulders. Particularly is this true in a world that 
must be re-shaped after the ravages of war. Problems of industry and problems 
of government will look for their solution to keen, fresh young minds. Winchester 
and Clark County are fortunate to have in Raymond Russell Grant a forward- 
looking young man, established in the practice of law and winning his way as a 
potential leader in the field of politics. By the time he was twenty-two years old, 
Russell Grant had gone through college and had passed the bar examinations of 
both Tennessee and Kentucky. Since that time he has taken hold in community 
affairs, is making a prominent place for himself in his profession, and is a rising 
light of the Democratic party. He has three powerful assets: youth, ability and 
background. 

Raymond Russell Grant, one of the two children of Dr. William Carl Grant 
and Florence (Rayburn) Grant, was born on March 10, 1915, in Winchester, Ken- 
tucky. His father was a practicing physician of Winchester, Clark County, and 
was born in Boone County, Kentucky. His mother was a native of Richmond, 
Madison County, Kentucky. Russell Grant's great-grandfather was related to 
Daniel Boone. 

The early school days of Russell Grant were spent in his home town, and he 
went through the grades at St. Agatha Academy and on through Winchester High 
School with much the same group of classmates. At Winchester High School he 
was president of his senior class and a leader in school activities. After graduating 
from Winchester High in June, 1933, he entered Cumberland University at Leb- 
anon, Tennessee. In 1935, at the age of twenty, he was graduated from Cumber- 
land with an LL.B. degree. Russell Grant was successful in passing the examination 
of the Tennessee Bar in 1936, and the following year he qualified as a member 
of the Kentucky Bar. In September, 1937, when only twenty-two years old, he 
entered the private practice of law in the town in which he was born and reared, 
Winchester, Kentucky. During his college days at Cumberland University, he 
became a member of the legal fraternity Sigma Delta Kappa. 

Russell Grant is secretary of the Winchester Rotary Club and also belongs to 
the Winchester Board of Trade. He has always been interested in Scouting, and 
is chairman of the Daniel Boone District of the Boy Scouts of America. The 
political affiliation of Russell Grant is with the Democratic party. He is a keen 
student of Political problems as they affect city, state and federal government, 



1960 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

and in addition to his background of theoretical knowledge he has unusual qualities 
as a convincing speaker with a compelling but likable personality. He has been 
nominated by the Democratic Party as City Prosecutor for the city of Winchester, 
Kentucky. He has no opposition and will take office January 1, 1946. 

On August 9, 1939, Raymond Russell Grant and Mary Mitchell Rees were 
united in marriage. She is a daughter of William Clarke Rees and Hannah Mat- 
thews Rees. Mrs. Russell Grant is a graduate of the University of Kentucky, class 
of 1940, where she became a member of Chi Omega social sorority. On July 5, 
1943, their home was gladdened by the arrival of a son, William Russell Grant, 
and on March 30, 1945 Walter Matthews Grant was born. Mr. and Mrs. Grant 
are members of the First Baptist Church of Winchester, Kentucky. 

Russell Grant's law office is in the McEldowney Building. His residence is at 
134 Boone Avenue, in Winchester. 



LAMBERT URBAN SUPPINGER 

In Frankfort, Kentucky, Lambert U. Suppinger is the man to 
see if you are interested in building a house, as he can give you absolutely complete 
service, and that the service is satisfactory is attested by the growth of the business 
he is part owner of. He is also interested in a subdivision, beautifully located on 
the banks of the Kentucky River. A company, of which he is vice-president, is part 
owner of, and operates a large rock quarry to supply your building wants in stone, 
gravel or sand. The Frankfort Lumber and Manufacturing Company, of which 
Lambert U. Suppinger is president, is equipped to supply building materials, 
window sash, doors or built-in features. And if cash is the problem, then you 
should call around at the First Federal Savings and Loan Association, of which 
Mr. Suppinger is president. 

Lambert Urban Suppinger was born in Frankfort, Kentucky, on December 24, 
1897. His father, Lambert Suppinger, was a native of Germany, who came to 
Frankfort in the 1880's. Until his death in 1913 he was associated with F. J. 
Sutterlin in the business of the Frankfort Ice and Coal Company. Lambert 
Suppinger's mother, Emma (Kagin) Suppinger, was also a native of Germany. 
They were married in Frankfort, Kentucky. 

Lambert Suppinger attended the public schools in Frankfort and followed this 
by one year at the University of Kentucky. He and his brother-in-law, Frank R. 
McGrath, decided to go into business together, and they bought, out the Capital 
Lumber and Manufacturing Company, changing the name of the firm to the 
Frankfort Lumber and Manufacturing Company. Their business consisted of a 
full line of building materials and the manufacture of window sash, doors and 
all built-in features for the home. A short time after the purchase of this business, 
Mr. McGrath died. Lambert U Suppinger is president of the company and a 
brother, Edwin Suppinger, is a member of the corporation and also secretary and 
treasurer of same. The business has been maintained on its original site, although 
it has grown immensely in the last few years, and all the buildings have been 
replaced, while new and modern store, display rooms and office quarters have been 




LAMBERT URBAN SUPPINGER 



1962 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

provided. At the present time the Frankfort Lumber and Manufacturing Com- 
pany employs nineteen people. 

Mr. Suppinger is vice-president of the Frankfort Builders' Supply Company, 
which owns and operates a large rock quarry. He is president of the First Federal 
Savings and Loan Association of Frankfort, and is also secretary-treasurer of the 
Lumber Dealers' Supply Company of Lexington. In addition, he is an extensive 
dealer in real estate, his operations extending into subdivision, apartment and farm 
properties. All of his realty holdings are under his direct supervision. Mr. 
Suppinger's latest development is the Hermitage Subdivision, a beautiful section of 
homes and home sites on the Kentucky River, devoted entirely to homes of the 
$15,000 class. There both he and his brother have built homes for themselves. 

Always an active figure in the Kentucky Retail Lumber Dealers' Association, 
Mr. Suppinger is past president of the Central Kentucky Retail Lumber Dealers' 
Association. He was one of the founders and is a member of the board of 
directors of the Retail Credit Association of Frankfort. He is a member of the 
board of directors of the Rotary Club of Frankfort, and was formerly its vice- 
president. At present Mr. Suppinger is a member of the State Board of Educa- 
tion. His political affiliation is with the Democratic Party, and he is one of the 
active leaders, having served as chairman of the Democratic Executive Committee 
of Franklin County. A devout member of the Presbyterian Church, Lambert 
Suppinger serves on the Board of Trustees and is also a Deacon of the church. 
His fraternal connection is with the Masonic Order, and he has advanced through 
the York Rite beyond the Chapter and Council to the Knights Templar. He is 
also a member of Kosair Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, in Louisville. 

Two main interests of Mr. Suppinger are the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion and the Boy Scout movement, and to both he has given a great deal of time 
and effort. He is past president of the Frankfort Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation and was formerly a member of the board for the Southern States for the 
Y.M.C.A. He has been very active in Boy Scout work, and is a member of the 
National Board of Trustees of the Boy Scouts of America. He is also interested 
in local Scout work, and for many years was treasurer of the Blue Grass Council 
of the Boy Scouts of Frankfort. He is also a member of the American Legion. 
There is no question that Lambert U. Suppinger is a busy man; there is also no 
question that he is never too busy to lend a hand where the well-being of the 
community and the encouragement of the young citizens are concerned. 



HENRY VINCENT PENNINGTON, M.D. 



D, 



r. Henry Vincent Pennington, who died October 15, 1944, 
had cause to feel deep satisfaction, not only because of the great service which 
he himself rendered to humanity, but also because of the fine work which was 
being done by his sons in the field of medicine. 

Henry Vincent Pennington was born in Lee County, Virginia, just across the 
Kentucky border, on December 29, 1869. His father was Edward B. Pennington, 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1963 

a farmer, who was born in Lee County, Virginia, in 1838. His mother, Katherine 
(Graham) Pennington, was also born in Lee County, Virginia, in 1847. Both 
Edward B. Pennington and his wife, Katherine (Graham) Pennington, died at 
the age of seventy-two; his death occurred in 1910, and she died in 1919. 

The early education of Henry V. Pennington was received in the public schools 
of Lee County, Virginia; he next was a student at the U. S. Grant University at 
Athens, Tennessee, and received his medical training at the University of Louis- 
ville in Louisville, Kentucky, obtaining his M.D. degree from that institution in 
1891. Dr. Pennington came to London, Kentucky, to establish himself in medical 
practice immediately after graduation from the University of Louisville, and for 
five years was engaged in general medical practice in that city. In 1896 he went 
to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, to take post graduate work at the Jefferson Medical 
College; after four years of additional study and research at the Jefferson Medical 
College he returned to London, Kentucky, and resumed practice. 

In 1910, Dr. Henry V. Pennington established the first hospital in London, 
Kentucky. This was a private institution which he operated as an individual. 
By 1923, however, the need for more hospital facilities in London was so great 
that Dr. Pennington formed a corporation and built a new hospital, the Pennington 
General Hospital. His sons were growing up, and he could look forward to their 
assistance in the operation of this larger institution. 

Dr. Henry Vincent Pennington married Sally H. Baugh, who was born in Laurel 
County, Kentucky, and they became the parents of six children, two of whom have 
received excellent medical training and are now doing exceptional work in the 
field of medicine. Walter Givens Pennington was born in Laurel County, Ken- 
tucky on February 17, 1898. He attended the public schools of London, Kentucky 
and the Millersburg Institute at Millersburg, Kentucky. After receiving his A.B. 
degree from Centre College at Danville, Kentucky in 1923, Walter Pennington 
enrolled in the Medical School of the University of Edinburgh at Edinburgh, 
Scotland, which is one of the world's finest medical schools. His interneship was 
served at St. Luke's Hospital in Chicago, Illinois; he then returned to Scotland 
for post-graduate work at the University of Edinburgh, and also did post graduate 
work in London, England; Berlin, Germany; and Vienna, Austria. In 1933, Dr. 
Walter Givens Pennington returned to London, Kentucky, joining the medical 
staff of the Pennington General Hospital, working in association with his father, 
Dr. Henry Vincent Pennington. He brought with him his Scotch bride, Katherine 
(Johnston) Pennington, who was born in Edinburgh, Scotland. Dr. Walter Givens 
Pennington is a member of the American Medical Association, the Kentucky State 
Medical Association, the Southern Medical Association, and the Laurel County 
Medical Association. 

Another son of Dr. Henry Vincent Pennington is at the present time a Major 
in the Medical Corps of the United States Army. Robert Edward Pennington 
was born in London, Kentucky in 1910. He attended the public grade and high 
schools at London, Kentucky and received his A.B. degree from the University 
of Kentucky in 1931; he obtained his Masters Degree from the same university 
in 1932. In 1936 he completed his medical education at the University of Penn- 



1964 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

sylvania, receiving the M.D. degree. He interned at the Philadelphia General 
Hospital for two years, and had a four-year appointment at the world-famous 
Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. While he still had about six months' more 
time to complete his four-year term at the Mayo Clinic, Dr. Robert E. Pennington 
entered the United States Army in 1942 as a Captain in the Medical Corps. 
The following year, 1943, Dr. R. E. Pennington was appointed a Major; he is 
at present in charge of the Forty-seventh Portable Surgical Hospital in China. 

Dr. Henry Vincent Pennington was a member of the American Medical Asso- 
ciation, the Kentucky State Medical Association, the Southern Medical Associa- 
tion, and the Laurel County Medical Association. He was a very active member 
of the Methodist Church. He will be long remembered for the many services he 
rendered to the citizens of Laurel County. 



H 



HUBERT BONNY WILLOUGHBY 



ubert Bonny Willoughby operates and owns a prosperous 
business in Richmond, Kentucky, which deals in coal, feed, building material and 
farm implements. The business was started by Hubert Willoughby's father, An- 
drew Jackson Willoughby, and brother, Charles Prewitt Willoughby. This was 
at a time when Hubert Willoughby was a boy of fourteen, but he spent all of 
his spare time working in the business. When his school days were over, Hubert 
Willoughby entered into partnership with his father and brother. Three years 
later, in 1917, his father died and the brothers conducted the business together 
until 1921. In that year the death of his brother Charles left Hubert Willoughby 
in sole control of the business, which had been continuously growing and expand- 
ing. In 1923, the business passed entirely into the control of Hubert Willoughby, 
and has been conducted under his own name since that time. 

Hubert Bonny Willoughby was born at College Hill, Madison County, Ken- 
tucky, on June 12, 1896. His father, Andrew Jackson Willoughby, was born in 
the same location and was a farmer, but had a desire to establish a business which 
might remain for his sons after he had passed on. In 1910, Mr. Willoughby and 
one of his sons, Charles Prewitt Willoughby, established the coal, feed and build- 
ing material company in Richmond, and they also were building contractors. An- 
drew Jackson Willoughby died in 1917. He was a son of Martin Willoughby; 
the family came from Virginia. The mother of Hubert Bonny Willoughby was 
Susan Frances (Powell) Willoughby. She was born near Red House, Madison 
County, Kentucky, and was the daughter of Josiah Powell. 

The first seven years of the life of Hubert B. Willoughby were spent at College 
Hill. At the age of seven, the family moved to Glasgow, Missouri, where the 
father engaged in farming. Hubert Willoughby attended public school in Glas- 
gow, Missouri, and when the family returned to Madison County he continued 
his schooling in Richmond. As a youth he worked with his father and brother in 
the family business, and in 1917 became a partner. In 1917 Hubert B. Willoughby 
and his brother took the business over after the death of their father, and they 
conducted it together until 1921, when Charles P. Willoughby died. In 1923, 
H. B. Willoughby acquired full financial control of the business, which In- has 




HUBERT BONNY WILLOUGHBY 



1966 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

conducted under his own name very successfully. The company handles coal, feeds, 
seeds, building material and J. E. Case farm implements. Mr. Willoughby is 
director and vice-president of the First Federal Building and Loan Association of 
Richmond. 

Hubert Willoughby is active in fraternal circles, being a member of the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and Knights 
of Pythias. He also belongs to the Exchange Club, and is a member of the Madi- 
son Country Club. He plays golf and enjoys all out door sports. Mr. Wil- 
loughby's political affiliation is with the Democratic party. 

On October 29, 1919, Hubert Bonny Willoughby was married to Katherine 
Durham, daughter of William Evans Durham of Danville, Kentucky. The Dur- 
ham family is one of the oldest and most prominent families of Boyle County. 
Mrs. Willoughby was reared at Danville, Kentucky. Their children are: Billy 
Evans Willoughby, now with the United States Army Engineers stationed in New 
Mexico, who married Cecille Simmons of Richmond and has two daughters, Mona 
Lee, and Kayetta Willoughby; and Betty Ann Willoughby who is a student in 
the public schools of Richmond. The family worships at the Methodist Church, 
of which Mr. Willoughby is a member of the Board of Stewards, and was chair- 
man of the Board for several years. 

During World War I, Hubert Willoughby served in the United States Navy, 
being assigned to duty at Great Lakes, Illinois and at Norfolk Virginia. He is 
now a member of the American Legion and a director in the Richmond Chamber 
of Commerce. 

FRANK McINTOSH MILLER 

JT rank McIntosh Miller is a dynamic individual who has gone 
places, seen things, and accomplished a great deal. In 1914, when he was thirteen 
years old, he put aside his school books, left his home in Elkton, Kentucky, came 
to Hopkinsville, Kentucky, and was hired as a helper by the Chambers Grocery 
Company. Today he is general manager of the Higgins Brothers Company, of 
Hopkinsville, Kentucky. During the intervening years, Frank Miller has worked 
at twelve other occupations, he has been employed in five states, and he has seen 
three foreign countries. By the time he was twenty-one years old he had attained 
what many people would consider a lifetime of experience. 

One thing is particularly noteworthy, and that is the fact that, travel as he 
might, to Detroit, New York, Texas or Florida, Frank Miller would gravitate 
back again to his adopted home town of Hopkinsville, Kentucky. The true reason, 
without a doubt, is that Frank Miller never did see a place he would prefer above 
Hopkinsville as a location to settle down in, and certainly he always could be sure 
of a sincere welcome when he turned back home again. And Hopkinsville really 
is home to Frank Miller now. He has a wife and daughter to welcome him home 
at night, and he has friends in all parts of the city. An excellent business man, 
a good neighbor, friend to all and loyal to his ideals, Frank Mcintosh Miller is 
an asset to the city of his choice, Hopkinsville, Kentucky. 

Frank Mcintosh Miller was one of three children, and was born in Elkton, 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1967 

Kentucky, on August 15, 1901. His father, Joseph Landes Miller, was born in 
Hopkinsville, Kentucky in 1868, and died in 1937. He was a traveling salesman 
for a large wholesale firm in Evansville, Indiana. The mother of Frank M. Miller 
was Mary Mcintosh. She was born in Davidson County, Tennessee, in 1873, 
and died in 1906, when her son Frank was only five years old. Both parents are 
buried at Elkton, Kentucky. 

School days were not long continued for Frank Miller. He attended public 
school at Elkton for a few years, and then, at the early age of thirteen, he com- 
menced work in Hopkinsville, Kentucky, for the Chambers Grocery Company. 
He stayed with this company for one year, then got a better position with the 
Faxon Drug Company. When the United States entered World War I in 1917, 
Frank Miller was only sixteen, but he was determined to get in the scrap. He 
volunteered for the Navy, and evidently no one was too inquisitive about his age, 
as there was no question that Frank Miller had the spunk and spirit, and his years 
of work had hardened his muscles. He saw action, all right. England, France 
and Belgium were reasonably familiar to him by the time the fighting was over. 
Frank Miller did quite well in the Navy, too; he was a cook, second class, by the 
time he was mustered out in 1919. 

At that time the fast growing industry in America, and the one everyone talked 
about, was the automobile business. And the center of that business was Detroit, 
with Ford, Chalmers, Packard, Hudson and many other leaders located in that 
Michigan city. Even in these early days Frank Miller wanted to be in the center 
of new developments, and so to Detroit he made his way. He worked at the 
automobile business for two and one-half years, then returned to Hopkinsville, 
Kentucky. Here he worked first for the telephone company and then for the 
Kentucky Light & Power Company. 

Florida had been in the news for a few years, and in 1925 Frank Miller decided 
to travel down that way. He got right into the heart of the boom section at Palm 
Beach and worked as a salesman in the real estate business. When he returned to 
Hopkinsville he got into the radio business, which was just emerging from a 
novelty basis. After a year in radio he joined the Tom Jones Insurance Agency. 
As a result of good work in this business, Mr. Miller was offered a position in 
New York as supervisor with the Fidelity Mutual Insurance Company. 

After a year in New York, Mr. Miller returned to Hopkinsville and was in the 
insurance business himself for several years. In 1932 he spent a year in San An- 
tonio, Texas, as salesman for an oil concern. The following year Frank Miller 
returned to his friends in Hopkinsville, and decided he had had enough of travel. 
He had seen many interesting places and had a variety of experiences which had 
combined to give him an unusually well rounded-out education in business and 
management. After working for a short time as salesman for the Peter Fox 
Brewing Company, Mr. Miller was offered a position as general manager of the 
Higgins Brothers Company in Hopkinsville. He continues to hold that responsible 
position, and under his control the company is handling a large volume of business 
with economy and efficiency. 

In 1938, Frank Mcintosh Miller married Lucille Morgan Nelson, who was born 



1968 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

in Hart County, Kentucky and moved to Christian County as a small child. 
They have a daughter, Mary Lou Miller, born in Hopkinsville in March, 1940. 
The family worships at the Hopkinsville Christian Church. 

Frank Miller has always been interested in the outdoors, which is one reason 
why the big cities have failed to hold him, and he has come back where the 
pleasant open places are close at hand. When Gilbertsville Dam was built which 
formed Kentucky Lake in the Tennessee River, Frank Miller became a partner 
in the firm of Higgins Boat Company. This firm has established extensive docking 
facilities near the bridge on Highway 68 and are the sales representatives for "Cris- 
Craft" boats. Through Mr. Miller's influence many boat lovers in the community 
have become the owners of luxurious cabin cruisers and palatial yachts. For 
many years Frank Miller has been affectionally known to his many friends as 
"Frog" and now, through his activities in connection with Kentucky Lake the 
title Commodore has been added so that he has become "Commodore Frog" to 
his thousands of friends. The Higgins Boat Company maintains offices and show 
rooms in Hopkinsville, and Mr. Miller while retaining all of his other business 
connections is its active manager and in addition he also owns and operates a 
fine farm of 429 acres in the Churchill community of Christian County. 

Mr. Miller finds great pleasure in his membership in the Hopkinsville Wild 
Life Club. The American Legion, too, claims him as a member, and there cannot 
be many members who qualified for membership at as early an age as did Frank 
Miller. As a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Mr. Miller 
has the added social asset of having touched many parts of the country. Wherever 
he has gone, Frank Miller's easy geniality has made him friends. However, there 
are no friends like the old friends, and it is a distinct source of satisfaction to all 
that Frank Miller has decided to make his home in Hopkinsville. 



ROSCOE HENRY WATERS 



A, 



adaptability has been the keynote of the success of Roscoe Henry 
Waters. He is now a noted contractor in Elizabethtown, Kentucky. He has one 
of the most complete machine shops in the state, and the remarkable fact is that 
he makes most of the machines himself. That is quite a feat for a man who spent 
the first twenty-six years of his life on the farm. All through his career Roscoe 
Waters has proved himself to be the master of circumstances, no matter how 
difficult or discouraging they might seem. He goes forward with confidence, being 
sure of his own ability to win through. 

There was not much opportunity for formal schooling for Roscoe Waters. He 
seemed destined to spend his life on the farm, but he wanted a change of occupa- 
tion. He was twenty-six years old when he made his first move toward independ- 
ence. He went to Boston, Kentucky, and worked in a blacksmith shop for four 
years. This was hard, physical work, but Roscoe Waters was used to toil. He 
found real enjoyment in mastering a trade that once was considered one oi tin- 
most worthy and honored of all occupations. 

By the time his four-year apprenticeship was over, Roscoe Waters was a skilled 




ROSCOF. IIF.NRV WATERS 



1970 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

blacksmith. Unfortunately, this was 1914, a time when automotive transportation 
and the introduction of machinery on the farm was already spelling doom to the 
blacksmith. This circumstance being something which must be faced and could 
not be changed, there was only one sensible thing for Roscoe Waters to do; he 
adapted himself to the trend of the times. He built a machine shop and went into 
the business of repairing automobiles. With the advent of the depression in the 
late twenties, work slackened off, and Mr. Waters once again had to adjust his 
affairs to meet new conditions. He entered the road contracting business, most 
of his work coming from the state and federal government. Mr. Waters soon 
found out that this work could be expedited by the use of special machines and 
appliances, and he built most of the machinery himself. 

When the threat of war came close and eventually reached us, there was no 
more valuable man on the home front than the man who could keep machines 
turning. Men like Mr. Waters were able to perform a patriotic duty in this 
"all-out" mechanized war. Now his problem was conversion from peace to war — 
beating his plowshares into swords. Today he has a machine shop second to none 
in all Kentucky. When new demands of war call for new and different machines, 
Mr. Waters will make the machines, just as he has constructed every piece of 
machinery in his shop, which is several years ahead of being up-to-date. 

Roscoe Henry Waters was born in Nelson County, Kentucky, on November 13, 
1884. His father, Charles Styron Waters, was born in Nelson County, Kentucky, 
in 1865, and died on October 20, 1940. He was a farmer. Rachel (Carter) 
Waters, mother of Roscoe Waters, was born in Nelson County, Kentucky, on 
October 1, 1858. She is now living in Nelson County, Kentucky. The grand- 
father of Roscoe Waters came from Virginia, and settled down in Nelson County. 
He married Sally Carter, and they were the parents of nine children. 

There is little to write about the education of Roscoe Waters, because his actual 
school life was extremely brief. What he lacked in formal education he made up 
for in character and stamina. He possessed qualities not to be acquired from 
books — sound sense and a practical outlook that in later years served to keep his 
feet on the ground, and his head out of the clouds. Roscoe Waters had an unusual 
gift of concentration, and the quiet life on the farm helped develop this faculty of 
shutting out nonessentials and getting to the core of a problem. 

When he was twenty-six years old, Roscoe Waters went to Boston, Kentucky, 
and learned the blacksmith trade. In addition he learned a great deal about many 
different types of machinery, so that he also became a good mechanic. Because of 
his twin trades, Roscoe Waters could work equally well on heavy iron work or 
delicate mechanical detail. He opened a machine shop and specialized in automobile 
repair work. This was in 1914, and the business prospered reasonably well until 
the depression which came just before 1930. Mr. Waters made a fortunate change 
which took him into work not affected by the industrial slump. He established 
himself as a road contractor, and was successful in obtaining many important state 
and federal contracts. In this work he made most of the machinery that he 
required. Later on when Mr. Waters started a machine shop, he made his own 
machines. He is, beyond question, a mechanical wizard, and there are few people 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1971 

anywhere who can equal his knowledge and undemanding of machines and 
machinery. 

On November 1, 1907, Roscoe Henry Waters was married to Alta Shane. She 
was born in Nelson County, Kentucky, on December 15, 1882. Mr. and Mrs. 
Waters are parents of two sons and three daughters. 

The oldest son, Robert S. Waters, was born in Nelson County, Kentucky, on 
October 24, 1908. He attended Nelson County schools and high school. After 
completing his education, he became a partner in his father's business. In 1943, 
Robert S. Waters was married to Mabel Trunnel, who was born in Lebanon Junc- 
tion, Kentucky. 

Mary Catherine was born in Nelson County, Kentucky. She married Vernie L. 
Green well, from Nelson County, Kentucky. They have two children: Joyce Dean 
Greenwell, born in Nelson County, Kentucky, on January 16, 1936; and Ray 
Vernon Greenwell, born in Nelson County, Kentucky, August 8, 1940. 

Lillian Waters was born in Nelson County on June 14, 1913. She married 
Robert William Spalding of Bardstown, Kentucky, on May 17, 1944. 

The youngest son, Henry Lee Waters, was born in Nelson County, Kentucky, 
on October 3, 1916. In 1937 he married Dorothy Greenwell of Nelson County, 
Kentucky. She was born on October 28, 1917. Henry Lee and his brother, 
Robert S., are partners with their father in the contracting business, R. H. Waters 
& Sons. 

Martha Louise Waters, the youngest child, was born in Nelson County on 
December 30, 1923. 

Roscoe Henry Waters belongs to the Masonic fraternity. Mr. and Mrs. Waters 
are members of the Christian Church, and Mrs. Waters is an able and conscientious 
worker in church affairs. Mr. Waters now owns a large farm in Hardin County, 
Kentucky. This farm specializes in dairy products, and all feed for the cows is 
grown right on the farm. 

Mr. Waters must find deep satisfaction in having gone out from the farm with 
little besides a good head and willing hands to help him on the way to success. 
He has made his way by energy and resourcefulness, always managing to keep 
moving ahead. Now he can return to the farm as relaxation and relief from 
arduous duties, and reflect on a life that has been busy and useful. Mr. Waters 
has gained success that is particularly satisfying, because he had to win entirely 
on his own merit. 



A 



FOREST MONROE ASHBY 

Kentuckian who keeps step with modern business and is ever 
awake to new opportunities is the subject of this review, Forest Monroe Ashby, 
a resident in Owensboro, but General Manager of the Eckert Packing Company, 
in the neighboring city of Henderson. He is not only personally directing his 
Company's affairs, but is also active in the ramifications that provide feeder busi- 
ness for the packing industry. He owns two farms in Daviess County, embracing 
three hundred and forty-two acres, and on these farms he engages extensively in 



1972 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

cattle raising, and among his endeavors contracts for and handles the kitchen 
waste from the huge army post of Camp Breckinridge, and is feeding two thou- 
sand hogs. Corn, soy beans and tobacco are also major crops on his holdings. 

Forest Monroe Ashby was born in Whitesville, Kentucky, in 1896, and attended 
the public schools at that place and at Owensboro. When his school days were 
finished he began work on his father's farm. The packing company, of which he 
is general manager, has enjoyed a successful business existence since 1910, and is 
well established within the industry. In addition to his duties as manager, Mr. 
Ashby is also interested in the production of oil and gas. He was married in 
1923, to Nellie Bell, who was born in Whitesville, Kentucky, in 1895. They 
are the parents of two daughters. The first is Margaret Ashby, who was born in 
Whitesville, in 1926, and who is now attending school in Owensboro, Kentucky. 
The second is Wilma Ashby, born in Whitesville in 1928, and who is also in school 
in Owensboro. Mr. Ashby's father was James Ashby of the well known family 
line of that name, and he was born in Whitesville in 1859, and died at his place of 
nativity in 1936. The mother is Docia (Evans) Ashby, a native of Whitesville, 
having been born there in 1864, and still makes her home there. 

Forest Monroe Ashby was a soldier who creditably served his country, and is 
a member of the American Legion in the affairs of which he takes a constructive 
interest. He is active with his many business interests, and with his home life, but 
finds time for public and social service whenever the opportunity offers, and his 
judgment is valued in matters that relate to public affairs as it is in business matters. 
He is always ready to counsel and advise those who seek the benefit of his balanced 
ideas and is always glad to be helpful. His dominating personality breathes 
executive ability and makes for discipline but his friendly and cordial nature draw 
to him many friends. As a good citizen, a good friend and a good business man 
he stands at full height among his fellows. 

HON. CLARENCE BARTLETT 

Oince that day in 1923 that Clarence Bartlett assumed his first 
public office, the post of city attorney of Hartford, when he was only 28 years 
old, he has grown steadily in influence, importance and stature in his city and 
county and today, as Judge Clarence Bartlett, he can be said to hold a foremost 
place among his fellow citizens. 

Judge Bartlett not only sits on the Circuit Bench, enforcing justice, but holds 
a leading place in innumerable other spheres — being one of the head men of the 
Knights of Pythias, of the Hartford Chamber of Commerce, of the Ohio County 
Republican organization and active in other fields of human endeavor and interest, 
including the Christian Church. In addition he operates a dairy farm. 

Judge Clarence Bartlett was born near Red Hill, in Daviess County, Kentucky, 
December 9, 1895, coming from a family which established itself in that county 
and Ohio County in the days when the American Republic was being brought to 
fruition after the Revolutionary War. His father is Richard Dudley Bartlett, born 
in Ohio County on February 27, 1875, now engaged in farming near Hartford; die 




HON. CLARENCE BARTLETT 



1974 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

mother was Sarah Ellen (Himes) Bartlett, born in Daviess County on March 30, 
1875. Richard Dudley Bartlett, like his judicial son, is a member of the Christian 
Church and is a Republican. His own parents were William Samuel and Mary 
(Chamberlain) Bartlett. The former, who spent his entire life in his native Ohio 
County, was a farmer about ten miles north of Hartford, served in the Union 
Army during the War Between the States, and also was a Republican and a 
member of the Christian Church. He died on the farm near Hartford in May, 
1915, at the age of seventy-four. His wife, Judge Bartlett's grandmother, was 
born in Hancock County, Kentucky, and died in Ohio County on August 19, 
1886. William Samual Bartlett's father was W. W. Bartlett, a native of the Hol- 
ston River section of Tennessee, who became a pioneer farmer in Ohio County and 
who died there. Judge Bartlett's mother, Sarah Ellen (Himes) Bartlett, was a 
daughter of Addison and Lucy (Mahaney) Himes; the father having been a 
native of Tennessee who came to Daviess County, Kentucky, to farm and who 
died there in March, 1913, at the age of sixty-four; the mother having been a 
native of Allen County, Kentucky, who died in Daviess County. 

Clarence Bartlett first attended the public schools of Daviess and Ohio Counties, 
following which he studied at the Western Kentucky State Teachers College, at 
Bowling Green, from which he was graduated in 1918 and granted a life teacher's 
certificate. He took his legal training in the law school of Indiana University, at 
Bloomington, spending two and one-half years there, and then spent a summer at 
the University of Kentucky. In September, 1921, he was admitted to the Kentucky 
bar. During the period he was preparing for his legal career, the future judge 
taught school in Ohio County in 1914, 1915 and 1917. 

Having been admitted to the bar, he came to Hartford and formed a law 
partnership with A. D. Kirk, which lasted from 1921 to 1923. In 1924, Clarence 
Bartlett became associated with the law firm of Gordon, Gordon and Moore, of 
Madisonville, and practiced his profession in that community for about a year. 
When, in March, 1925, Mr. Kirk was appointed United States Commissioner for 
the Western District of Kentucky, with headquarters at Louisville, Mr. Bartlett 
returned to Hartford and the two restored the old partnership, forming the firm 
of Kirk and Bartlett. This firm was again dissolved when Mr. Bartlett went on 
the bench. 

Mr. Bartlett had become active in the Republican Party early in his legal career 
and in 1923, through the party's support, became city attorney of Hartford. His 
active interest, and leadership in public affairs, continued through the years that 
he engaged in his private practice. In 1937, his ability was again recognized, and 
he was elected County Attorney of Ohio County. This post he resigned the next 
year to accept the candidacy for Circuit Judge, a post to which he was elected in 
November, 1938, to fill an unexpired term. In 1939, Judge Bartlett was returned 
tc the bench for a full six-year term. 

In 1945, Judge Bartlett became his party's nominee for another six year term 
on the Circuit Court bench and his re-election was assured as he was without op- 
position. He wished however to return to private practice and therefore resigned 
his office and entered into a partnership with Hon. Ernest Woodward of Lcuis- 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY m 



for the 



wile, and Hon. Charles I. Dawson of Louisville, former Federal Tudg 
uTiZ^TC Kentucky This firm maintains offices in CWo^ and 
1 Jm^u U , ^ / n ° Wensboro the ^m name is Woodward, Dawson Bart 

Asde from h ls bench and other legal activities, he has maintained his activity 
oubli r^> l?' u and L ha * ^rved as the President of the Oh.o County Re 

No 10 I U v \ ?n bee L n ChanCeII ° r C ° mmander of h " Mge, Rough Rivet 
No. 110 of the Knights of P y th las , has been chairman of the Han ford Chamber 
of Commerce and held office in various other fraternal, civic and legal organt 
om, Since 1935, he has successfully operated a dairy farm. In 1927 he was 
deed a State Senator, serving for four years, and « 1*4 he was a andida 
in the Republican Primary for the office of United States Senator 

February 24 1897, near Hartford on June 1, 1917. Mrs. Bartlett is the daughter 
of C. W. and Oma Belle (Westerfield) Hoover, both also natives of Ohio County 

Cathenn Tr * tTS^ ^ ^ ^^ iS ^ S ° n ° f J am " M. and 
Catherine (Brooks) Hoover, natives of Ohio County and a farming family who 
died there Mrs Bartlett's mother is a daughter of William and Sar'ah (Wallace) 
Westerfield the former a native of Ohio County, the latter of Spencer County 
ndiana^ Mrs Bartlett was educated in the public schools of Ohio'county nd s' 
now, like her husband active in the Christian Church. They have two sons- 
Lawrence D. Bartlett, who was born on June 5, 1919, and Conard Da I B rt l t t 

b W or°n May U 1 J f l"} H ^ ^ ^ **"* ™~ B ^ ^ w 
areena 7 j' U ' r L ' ¥ 0W,, J g ^ B ° th Lawrence *** Conard Bartlett 
"bruafy^ °i938 elr Th $ h ^ '", ,?* ^ -"* Ma " ha Allen on 
DeceX 9 1938 CI 7 nV ^ <*?*^™^ DaIe Barde «> born on 
Allen R 1 I ' A"" UdIey Barde "' b ° m ° n March 4 > 19 «0, and Judith 

Allen Bartlett born on August 29, 1941. Conard Bartlett is married to the former 
Bonnie Daugherty of Hartford, the wedding having taken place on November" 
18 1943 y ° nC d ' C ° nard DaIe BanIett ' J'" born - Ha »f-d on May^ 

Following his many interests in a fashion which contributes to the advancement 
of numerous civic and professional enterprises, and dispensing justice in kX 
-partial manner, Judge Clarence Bartlett continues to win evfr Lore respec and 
esteem from his fellow citizens in his part of the state. P 

JOHN D. SPENCE 

W U , r OF Jhe more prosperous and notable coal mine operators in 

Webster County is John D. Spence, a man whose beginnings were that of a 
farmer and mine laborer, but a man who knew how to surmount difficulties and 
obstacles to achieve success. "".uuies and 

Now head of the Flat Creek Coal Company in Providence, he has been in the 
coal industry since early manhood and is known throughout mining circles 

John D. Spence was born on bis father's farm in Crittenden County, Kentucky 



1976 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

in 1884. His parents were George D. Spence, who was born in Caldwell County, 
Kentucky, in 1853, and who died in 1913, and Susan (Easley) Spence. The 
mother, born in Crittenden County in 1858, died in 1936. 

Mr. Spence attended public school in Crittenden County and M. and S. Academy 
in Providence. Upon leaving school, he followed his father's calling, remaining 
on the soil two years. But the call to coal mining was strong in his blood and 
he was willing to seek his opportunity through the humble role of laborer, this 
being the first job he was able to obtain after leaving the farm. In 1918, the 
opportunity for which he had been toiling came — for it was in that year that, in 
association with J. L. Herron and J. C. Trader, he became a mine operator himself. 
Seventeen years later, in 1935, he organized yet another mining concern, the Flat 
Creek Coal Company, which he directs to this day. 

In 1907, Mr. Spence married Ambi Johnson, a native of Crittenden County. 
They have two children. The older of these, Dr. J. Carrol Spence, was born in 
Hopkins County, Kentucky, in 1908, attended the Providence elementary and high 
schools and obtained his pre-medical education at Western Kentucky State Teachers 
College, at Bowling Green. He received the degree of Doctor of Medicine from 
the University of Louisville Medical School in Louisville, and practices his profes- 
sion in Owensboro, Kentucky. Dr. Spence is married to the former Mattie Smith, 
of Butler County, Kentucky and is the father of two sons, Richard and James 
Spence. John D. Spence's other child, Ruby Spence, was born in Webster County, 
in 1917. She is the wife of Harmon Oates, of Hopkins County, and the mother 
of a son, Charles Harmon Oates. She and her husband reside in Evansville, 
Indiana. 

John D. Spence is active in the Baptist Church and in the Masonic Lodge at 
Providence. 



M, 



ANNA CHANDLER GOFF 



.iss Anna Chandler Goff is not only a gifted musician, but 
she is also possessed of the ability to bring vision into the realm of achievement. 
When she founded the Lexington College of Music in Lexington, Kentucky, she 
selected as members of the faculty instructors of national and international repu- 
tation. The Artist Concert Series, which she organized, has been so successful 
that it has attracted the attention of leaders in the music world. 

Anna Chandler Goff was born in Winchester, Ky, the daughter of Thomas and 
Mary (Sudduth) Goff. She is a direct descendant of one of the oldest pioneer 
families of Kentucky. Miss Goff is a graduate of Eminence College, Eminence, 
Kentucky, where she specialized in literature, and of the New England Conservatory 
of Music in Boston. Her piano work was with Carl Stasny, who was a pupil 
of Franz Liszt, theory with Louis C Elson and harmony with Benjamin Cutter. 
Miss Goff continued her work with Mr. Stasny each summer for a number of years 
after her graduation, and later studied with Anna Stovall-Lothiam, Boston, and 
Laeta Heartley, New York City. Miss Goff studied violin a number of years 
with Eugene Gruenberg, and pipe organ with Henry M. Dunham, both of New 




ANNA CHANDLER GOFF 



1978 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

England Conservatory. She taught pianoforte for two' years in the New Eng- 
land Conservatory Normal Department under the direction of F. Addison Porter. 
The work of Anna Chandler Goff, as a gifted artist, has repeatedly received 
favorable recognition in the national music journals. 

In 1906, Miss Anna Chandler Goff founded the Lexington College of Music. 
The passing of the years brought spreading fame and wide acclaim for this center 
of the musical arts. Under the heading, "Making A Kentucky Musical Mecca," 
a writer in The Christian Science Monitor, in October, 1915, wrote in part as 
follows: "More and more the Mississippi Valley resounds with fine music, and in 
the midst of the cultural harmony not the least center of euphony is Lexington, 
Kentucky. The Lexington College of Music has within a decade become the 
focus of a remarkable kindling of musical culture. It has been a center for the 
cultivation of the plastic arts, as well; but to some extent the musical activities, 
which owe their inspiration to the director, Miss Anna Chandler Goff, a graduate 
of the New England Conservatory of Music, has outshadowed the other depart- 
ments of the club and its impact on the neighborhood." 

In 1920, Miss Anna Chandler Goff organized the Artist Concert Series. Under 
her management artistic programs have been provided for Lexington in the field 
of music, the dance and the drama. Great orchestras she booked for Lexington 
and Central Kentucky audiences include the New York Philharmonic, St. Louis, 
Cincinnati, Cleveland, Minneapolis and Boston Women's Symphony and Paul 
Whiteman's band. Among the great singers who have appeared under Miss Goff's 
auspices are Galli-Curci, Tetrazzini, Schumann-Heink, John McCormack, Mary 
Garden, Tito Schipa, John Charles Thomas, Roland Hayes, Frances Alda, Jeanette 
McDonald and Alexander Kipnis. Leading opera companies and foremost 
dancing troupes and dancers have appeared under her auspices. The late Will 
Rogers, beloved American cowboy-humorist, made three appearances in Lexington, 
and lovers of the spoken drama saw a number of famous actors and actresses in 
outstanding theatrical attractions booked by Miss Goff. 

The Lexington Herald paid sincere tribute to Miss Goff, as president of the 
Lexington College of Music and concert manager, when it said: "The students 
attending any of the dozen large institutions in and around Lexington do not 
choose these schools for engineering, science, agriculture or the classics alone, but 
in many instances because they can get such exceptional advantages here in music 
and art, and because there is an opportunity to hear and see artiste, to associate 
with persons of artistic tastes." 

Anna Chandler Goff was a member of the Louisville Arts Club, the Woman's 
Club of Central Kentucky, and is an honorary member of Phi Beta. She belonged 
to the Lexington Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, of which 
she has been Regent, and she worships at the Christian Church. Miss Goff 
assisted in organizing the Kentucky State Music Teachers' Association, and served 
as president of that organization two years. 

Anna Chandler Goff has given years of unsparing effort and devotion to the 
artistic cause, and a gratified community regards her as a true and great benefactor. 
She has enriched the lives and widened the horizons of countless people. In the 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1979 



very first announcement of the association of teachers she brought to Lexington 
she used this quotation by Bulwar, which evidently has inspired her great work: 

"Music, once admitted to the soul, becomes a 
sort of spirit, and never dies." 



PETER GENTRY CALDWELL 

Xhe farmhouse on the old Gentry farm on the Harrodsburg Pike 
at Danville, Kentucky, is more than a hundred years old, and the farm has been 
under cultivation for more than a century. The farm home is a beautiful example 
of the strong, sturdy, gracious homes that were built when the rude homes of the 
early pioneers were replaced by the sons of these first settlers when the fertile soil 
of Kentucky was beginning to prove that farms in Kentucky could be made 
pleasant, hospitable homes and provide comfortable livings for those who loved 
the soil, and knew how to master it. With unwise handling, even a good farm 
can be made practically worthless after a century of cultivation, but the farm that 
is in the hands of good farmers, men who know how to diversify and rotate their 
crops, and who keep a proper balance between live stock and other farm produce, 
may finish out a hundred years in which it has provided a good living for its 
owners, in a higher state of fertility than it originally was. That such is the 
case with the Gentry farm is proven by the fact that in 1928 Peter Gentry Cald- 
well, who was then the owner and operator of the Gentry farm, was selected by the 
Boyle County Committee of Farmers as their entry in the Master Farmer's Con- 
test for the State of Kentucky. This was only three years before the death of 
Mr. Caldwell in 1931. 

Peter Gentry Caldwell was born in Boyle County, Kentucky, in 1889, and was 
only forty-two years of age when he died in 1931. His father was Abraham Irving 
Caldwell, who was born in Boyle County, Kentucky, on December 18, 1850, and 
died on August 14, 1907. Abraham Caldwell operated a shoe store in Danville 
for many years under the firm name of Lanier SC Caldwell. Peter Caldwell's 
mother was Martha Gentry of Boyle County. She was born July 8, 1859, and died 
March 2, 1924, at the age of sixty- four. Peter Gentry Caldwell attended the 
Danville schools, and later went to Virginia Military Institute. 

The love of farming was in his blood, and he bought the old Gentry farm on 
the Harrodsburg Pike when his school days were over and the choice of a life 
occupation had to be made. The farm contains four hundred and fifty acres, and 
under the care of Peter Gentry Caldwell became one of the show places of the 
community. Mr. Caldwell applied the most scientific methods of cultivation to 
the farm, and his skill in farming and the excellent results which he obtained 
were recognized in 1928 when he was honored by the farmers of Boyle County in 
his selection to represent them in the Master Farmers Contest for that year. 

On July 15, 1916, Peter Gentry Caldwell married Mary Brown, who was born 
in London, Kentucky. Mrs. Caldwell's father was Achilles Ballinger Brown, who 
was born in London, Kentucky, in 1858 and died in 1932. Mr. Brown was Circuit 



1980 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Clerk of Laurel County for many years. The mother of Mary (Brown) Caldwell 
was Frances Doak Hackney, who was also born in London, Kentucky, in 1860; 
she died on September 13, 1921. Both Mr. and Mrs. Achilles B. Brown are buried 
at Danville, Kentucky. 

There were two children in the family of Mr. and Mrs. Peter G. Caldwell. 
Richard Gentry Caldwell was born in Boyle County, Kentucky, on December 15, 
1922. He attended the Danville public grade and high schools, and following 
graduation from the high school was a student at Centre College in Danville, 
Kentucky. Richard Caldwell is now in the United States Army Air Corps, serving 
as a pilot of a B-24. Francis Brown Caldwell was born in Boyle County, Kentucky, 
on June 4, 1927, and is a senior at the Danville High School. 



PHILIP EARLE BLACKERBY, M.D., F.A.M.A. 



D, 



'r. Philip Earle Blackerby comes from one of the oldest medi- 
cal families in the middle west. His father and three uncles practiced medicine 
in Bracken County, Kentucky, and a great uncle, Dr. Philip Buckner, was a widely 
known surgeon in the middle eighteen hundreds. Deciding to make public health 
service his especial work Dr. P. E. Blackerby early attracted the attention of Ken- 
tucky's great Health Commissioner, Dr. J. N. McCormack, and later his son, Dr. 
A. T. McCormack, and it was inevitable that he should be called into the work 
of the State's Public Health Department and following the natural course of events 
become Health Commissioner of his state when Dr. A. T. McCormack passed 
on. It was fortunate for the people of the state that a man so fully prepared for 
the task was available and the progress of events since his selection as Health 
Commissioner justify his appointment in every particular. 

Philip Earle Blackerby was born July 8, 1881 at Berlin, Kentucky, and received 
his early education in the grade and high schools of Bracken County. He entered 
the University of Louisville Medical School and after receiving his medical degree 
from that institution in 1904, added a year of postgraduate work at the New York 
Postgraduate School and Hospital. He practiced medicine at Erlanger, Kentucky 
from 1906 to 1914. In 1915 he joined the staff of the State Board of Health as 
Field Medical Officer in a program for the investigation and eradication of hook- 
worm. In 1917 he was made Director of the Bureau of Vital Statistics, State 
Board of Health. He served as a Captain in the Medical Reserve Corps in World 
War I, in charge of Kentucky recruitment and assignment of physicians to the 
armed forces. He was later made a Major in the Reserve. More than six hundred 
Kentucky doctors served in this war, a roster that compares highly favorably with 
the number in the present struggle. Since the death of Dr. A. T. McCormack, 
Dr. Blackerby has served as State Chairman for Procurement and Assignment of 
Kentucky Physicians and Surgeons for World War II. From 1925 to 1943 he 
was Assistant State Health Officer, though the title from 1939 has been changed 
to Assistant State Health Commissioner. He has made a special study of parasit- 
ology and control of trachoma. During his period of service as Director of 




PHILIP EARLE BLACKERBY, M.D., F.A.M.A. 



1982 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

County Health Work and as Assistant Commissioner he was responsible to the 
State Health Officer (and Commissioner) for the organization of full time county 
health units and was director of all field services of the State Health Department 
and of the organized county services. He organized and directed the campaign 
in 1917 for the organization of the Mason County Health Department which was 
the second county in Kentucky created as a full time health unit, and has subse- 
quently participated in the organization of one hundred and four other full time 
county health departments under the direction and guidance of Doctors J. N. and 
Arthur T. McCormack. In August, 1943 Dr. Arthur T. McCormack, the son 
and successor to the State's first Health Officer, followed his father to the grave, 
and Dr. Blackerby entered into the office of State Health Commissioner. 

Dr. Blackerby is a Fellow of the American Medical Association, a member of 
the American Public Health Association, the Southern Medical Association, Ken- 
tucky State Medical Association and the Jefferson County Medical Society. He 
is a Past Chairman and Past Secretary of the Section on Public Health of the 
Southern Medical Association. He is Past President and Past Secretary of the 
Southern Branch of the American Public Health Association. He is a member 
of the Board of Appeals No. 3, Selective Service System of Kentucky, member 
of the American Legion and a member of the Executive's Club of Louisville. He 
is Dean of the School of Laboratory Technicians of the Kentucky State Board 
of Health, is Secretary of the Kentucky State Medical Association, and Editor of 
the Kentucky State Medical Journal. 

In 1906 Dr. Blackerby was married to Helen Clara Young, a native of Burkes- 
ville, Kentucky, born in 1884, and whom he met while attending school at Louis- 
ville. They are the parents of two children — a son and a daughter. The first is 
Philip Earle Blackerby, Jr., who was born in Erlanger, Kentucky, August 9, 1910. 
He attended the public schools of Bowling Green, Kentucky, and graduated from 
high school in Louisville. Upon graduation therefrom he entered the College of 
Liberal Arts, University of Louisville, and followed this with attendance at the 
School of Dentistry at the same institution from which he received his Doctor's 
degree. He did graduate work at the University of Illinois and the University 
of Michigan receiving the degree of Master of Science in Public Health from the 
latter. He served five years as director of dental health with the Tennessee State 
Health Department and then became Professor of Oral Pathology and Diagnosis 
at the University of Louisville. On August 15, 1944 he was appointed Dean. 
He resigned from this position July 1, 1945, and accepted a position with the 
Kellogg Foundation, Battle Creek, Michigan, as Director of the Division of Dental 
Health Services. 

He married Clara May Hartmetz, who was born in Louisville, and they are the 
parents of two children — Linda Clare Blackerby, born in Louisville, March 30, 
1938, and Nancy Mary Blackerby, born in Nashville, Tennessee, August 6, 1939. 
The daughter of the family is Mary Keen (Blackerby) May, born in Erlanger, 
Kentucky, June 4, 1916, and who was married to Lieutenant Leonard S. May, of 
Washington, D. C, in April, 1940, who is now in service with the United States 
Navy. Dr. Blackerby's father was Dr. Philip Nicholas Blackerby, who was born 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1983 

in Berlin, Kentucky, September 19, 1845 and died July 11, 1919. He long prac- 
ticed medicine in Berlin, Kentucky, Joplin, Missouri, and Falmouth, Kentucky. 
The mother of Dr. Blackerby was Carrie Blanche (McDonald) Blackerby, who 
was born in Brooksville, Kentucky, March 8, 1854, and died January 23, 1930. 
Both parents are buried at Falmouth, Kentucky. Dr. Blackerby has two brothers — 
James Franklin Blackerby, born in Berlin, Kentucky, May 3, 1878, who is now 
Director of the Division of Vital Statistics of the Kentucky Department of Health, 
and Robert McDonald Blackerby, who was born at Berlin, Kentucky June 3, 1880, 
and is now a prominent farmer and a merchant of Stanford, Kentucky. 

Dr. Philip Earle Blackerby is inherently a Kentucky gentleman and a physician 
by instinct and inclination; a man who finds himself in the happy position of 
making his material way in the walks of life he loves, and giving of himself and 
rendering service to suffering humanity by the vocation that provides the means of 
maintaining a home on a happy American scale. He is popular in his profession 
and with his official associates in the state who are happy that the mantle of the 
loved McCormacks has fallen on one so worthy. 



X 



LOCHIE L. DAUGHERTY 



.he contribution which penologists make to social advancement 
is not recognized, as a rule, by the general public, though their achievements in 
this respect are usually known to their fellow practitioners in this professional field, 
or to students of the other sociological endeavors. 

The fact that Lochie L. Daugherty has won public respect and esteem for his 
work as Jailer of Ohio County is an indication that his success in this post has 
been achieved on a level which can be understood by the electorate and that it is 
aware of the progressive scientific measures which he has adopted to draw maximum 
value from the tax dollar supporting the penal system. 

Elected to this important county office in 1937, Jailer Daugherty has steadily 
forged ahead in his work of improving conditions among prisoners and in in- 
augurating new techniques for their care and rehabilitation. His success in this 
respect has been recognized throughout Ohio County, and it has won him great 
public support. 

Lochie L. Daugherty was born in Gilstrap, Butler County, Kentucky, on March 
21, 1904, the son of Valentine Huston and Lue (White) Daugherty. The elder 
Daugherty was born in Flint Springs, in Ohio County, in 1874, and was a farmer 
who supported the Republican Party. The mother was born in Gilstrap in 1877, 
and now resides in Gilstrap. 

Lochie Daugherty attended the county schools in Butler County and then 
worked with his father on the farm until 1924. In that year, he opened an auto- 
mobile garage in Beaver Dam, which he operated until 1937, with growing success. 
He had in the meantime become interested in civic, political and penal affairs and, 
when the opportunity to be a candidate for the position of County Jailer arose, 
happily accepted in the belief he had a contribution to make in the public service — 



1984 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

a belief in which the electorate supported him, for he has held the office ever since 
his election in 1937. 

Mr. Daugherty's wife is the former Ada Bell, who was born in Gilstrap on May 
6, 1907. They have three children — Bonnie Mae Daugherty, who was born in 
Gilstrap on January 27, 1925; Willard Lindberg Daugherty, born in Butler 
County, on January 5, 1928; and Thomas Huston Daugherty, born in Ohio 
County on July 10, 1935. The daughter and first-born is now the wife of 
Conrad Dale Bartlett, son of Circuit Judge Clarence Bartlett, the marriage having 
taken place in Hardinsburg on November 15, 1941. They have one child, Conrad 
Dale Bartlett, Jr., born in Hartford on May 18, 1943. They reside on Judge 
Bartlett's dairy farm, in the management of which her husband is active. 

Mr. Daugherty is active in the Baptist Church and in political and civic affairs. 

He continues giving the county jail system a progressive administration and 
grows daily in the esteem of the people of Ohio County who, recognizing their 
stake in proper penal management, appreciate the sincerity and interest of a man 
who, as County Jailer, protects their interests with skill and understanding. 



ROSCOE ALLEN 



R t 



.oscoE Allen is a successful bus line operator, with headquarters 
for his company in Middlesboro, Kentucky. He has had the business for almost 
ten years now, and every year sees it go steadily forward. Many discouraging years 
came the way of Mr. Allen before he established himself in business. His first em- 
ployment was in a coal mine, and when he quit that employment he had attained 
considerable success. He was in charge of thirty-five men, and he had youth on 
his side. His judgment was, however, that there must be better ways to make a 
living than by working in a coal mine, and he quit that work and came to Middles- 
boro, Kentucky. Roscoe Allen's start was not a particularly promising one, as 
his employment consisted of washing and greasing automobiles. Even so, that 
humble occupation probably did have a place in his eventual success, as he was 
destined to finally win his way through to an automobile and bus service. 

There was a brief period as salesman in Middlesboro, then an important change 
in 1928 when Roscoe Allen was hired as a bus driver. The bus line was sold, but 
his employment continued, and later Mr. Allen leased the bus line himself. In 1935 
he had his own franchise and one car with which to start business. Now the 
franchise has been extended to cover a much wider territory, and fourteen drivers 
and mechanics are employed to service and operate the twenty-one buses operated 
under the ownership and control of Roscoe Allen. There was no luck or good for- 
tune of any kind attached to the forward move of Mr. Allen. He worked hard at 
all times, and when he found the business that attracted him, he bent every effort 
to establish himself. This was a slow and difficult process, but there is no reward 
for the man who turns back. Roscoe Allen knew he was on the right trail, and 
persisted in spite of all obstacles. He is a practical and keen business man, and 
as such his business will continue to expand. The story of his success is definitely 
to be continued. 




ROSCOE ALLEN 



1986 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Roscoe Allen was born in Claiborne County, Tennessee, on February 21, 1894. 
His father, Jess Allen, was born in Laurel County, Kentucky, in 1873. The mother 
of Roscoe Allen, Lou (Daniels) Allen, was born in Claiborne County, Tennessee, 
in 1860, and died in 1914. 

After attending the rural schools of Claiborne County, Tennessee, Roscoe Allen 
started to work in coal mines as a trapper for the Columbia Coal Company. He 
worked for some time, then returned to school. On his return to employment at 
the mine, Roscoe Allen was put to work driving a mule. Promotion came rapidly, 
as Roscoe Allen was a hustler, and really knew how to work. Before long he 
was a foreman and had thirty-two men working for him, all of them a good deal 
older in years and mine experience than he was himself. Roscoe Allen did not 
make up his mind in a hurry, but he decided that some day he wanted to own his 
own business, and that would necessarily have to be something apart from coal 
mining. He crossed over the state line to his father's native state of Kentucky, 
and located in Middlesboro. There was nothing "choosy" about Roscoe Allen. 
The only work he could find available was washing and greasing automobiles, so 
that was what he did until he lined up something better. His next employment 
was with the Nehi Bottling Company as a salesman. 

In 1928, Roscoe Allen made the contact that started him on his career. That 
was when he started driving a bus for Ely Cox and H. D. Williamson. They sold 
their bus line shortly afterward to H. R. White of Williamsburg, Kentucky. 
Roscoe Allen continued to work on the bus line, being employed by Mr. White 
for two years. At the end of this time, Roscoe Allen leased the bus line from H. 
R. White. This arrangement continued for three years until 1935. In that year 
Roscoe Allen bought the franchise and started business for himself with one car. 
The run was from Middlesboro, Kentucky to LaFollette, Tennessee, approximately 
thirty-five miles. 

Today Mr. Allen has extended his lines, and has twenty-one commodious and 
comfortable buses in operation, with fourteen drivers and mechanics on his payroll. 
The franchises now include Stoneyfort, Kentucky; Fonde, Kentucky; Pruden, 
Tennessee; also from Middlesboro, Kentucky to Manning, Tennessee. 

On September 18, 1919, Roscoe Allen was married to Grace M. Leach. She 
was born in Claiborne County, Tennessee. They are the parents of one daughter, 
Jessie Ruth Allen, born in Claiborne, Tennessee, in 1921. 

By a former marriage Mr. Allen has two daughters. The oldest daughter, Ina 
May, was born in Claiborne County, Tennessee, on June 9, 1913. She is married 
to Troy Smith, who was born in Claiborne County, Tennessee. They have three 
children: Roy Smith, J. R. Smith and Betty Smith. The family resides in Mon- 
roe, Michigan. The youngest daughter, Helen, was born in Claiborne County, 
Tennessee, on April 3, 1915. She married Lemuel Green, who was born in La- 
Follotte, Tennessee. They have three children: Buddy Green, Grace Anna Green 
and Donnie Green. They reside at Oak Ridge, Tennessee. 

Roscoe Allen is affiliated with the Republican Party. He is a member of the 
Middlesboro Lions Club and also of the Improved Order of Red Men. Mr. 
Allen also belongs to the Masonic Order. He is a member of the Methodist Church. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1987 



JOHN FRANK MARRS, M.D. 



D. 



'r. John Frank Marrs has served Tompkinsville and Monroe 
County, Kentucky as a physician for forty years. For the first five years after his 
graduation from medical school, Dr. Marrs practiced in the rural districts of the 
county, then moved to Tompkinsville, where he has maintained an office since that 
time, with the exception of the period of time which he spent in the Medical Corps 
of the United States Army during World War I. Dr. Marrs was born and 
reared on a farm, and in addition to his medical practice operates a large farm in 
Monroe County. 

John Frank Marrs was born in Monroe County, Kentucky, on October 15, 1880. 
Both his father and his mother were natives of Monroe County. His father, 
William Marrs, was born in 1853 and spent his entire life in farming operations, 
which were very successful and profitable. His death occurred in 1910. The 
mother of John Frank Marrs was Mary (Payne) Marrs, who was born in 1854, 
and died in 1920. 

The early years of John Marrs were spent on the farm, and his education was 
received in the public grade and high schools of Tompkinsville. For a few years 
after his high school graduation he taught in the rural schools of Monroe County, 
but his ambition was to become a doctor. It was at the Hospital College of 
Medicine in Louisville, Kentucky, that Dr. Marrs obtained his medical training, 
and he received the degree of M.D. from that institution in 1905. He began the 
practice of medicine in Monroe County, where he had a few years before been 
teaching school, immediately after graduation from the Hospital College of Medi- 
cine; in 1909, he established himself in Tompkinsville, Kentucky, where his use- 
fulness to the community is attested by the size of his practice. 

In 1918, when the United States entered the war against Germany, Dr. Marrs 
entered the service of his country as a First Lieutenant in the Medical Corps. He 
gained valuable experience in his year of service, and came back to Tompkinsville 
even better equipped to minister to the ills of its citizens. Dr. Marrs has always 
kept abreast of all new developments in the field of medicine, and is an active 
member of the Monroe County Medical Society and the Kentucky Medical Society. 

Dr. John Frank Marrs married Nannie Buschong of Monroe County, Kentucky, 
in 1903, and they became the parents of two children, a son and a daughter. Mary 
Marrs was born in Tompkinsville, Kentucky in 1905. She is now the wife of 
Beldon Long of Letcher County, Kentucky, and is the mother of a daughter, 
Lenora Long, who was born in Letcher County in 1927. George Frank Marrs, 
the son of Dr. and Mrs. John Frank Marrs, was born in Tompkinsville in 1910. 
He married Aileen Stevens of Monroe County, Kentucky, and they have two 
children: Richard, who was born in Tompkinsville in 1932, and Noretta, who was 
born in 1937, also in Tompkinsville. 

The second marriage of Dr. John Frank Marrs took place in 1920, when he 
married Cloe Conkin, also a native of Monroe County. Two children were born 
of this marriage. John Marrs, who was born in Tompkinsville in 1924, is now 



1988 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

serving in the United States Army. His sister, Sarah Ellen Marrs, who was born 
in Tompkinsville in 1926, is a senior in the Tompkinsville High School. 

The fraternal association of Dr. Marrs is with the Modern Woodmen of the 
World and with the Masonic Order. Dr. Marrs and his family worship at the 
Methodist Church. 

ALEXANDER GALT BARRET 

J_n Louisville stands a splendid structure, in modified Classical 
style and of buff brick exterior — an institution dedicated to youth, to learning, to 
the progress of the city and the State — to the future. It bears the name: "Alex 
G. Barret Junior High School." 

It was called a "fitting memorial to an honored and distinguished citizen of 
Louisville" when, a year after his death, it was dedicated to Judge Alexander Gait 
Barret, the name being abbreviated in deference to the simple homely method of 
address to which the Judge in his lifetime had become accustomed and which he, 
so utterly without pretensions for all his greatness, encouraged. 

The Louisville Board of Education, in naming the Junior High School for him, 
said it did so in recognition of his valued services in behalf of public education. 
And so it stands today, and will continue to stand for years, as a monument to a 
man who, as his colleagues in Christ Church Cathedral at Louisville put it, found 
time, unlike most busy men, to continue his classical and literary tastes and studies 
throughout life — and to fight for enlightment in all human spheres. 

But in other forms there are other monuments, equally as lasting, perhaps more 
so, to Alexander Gait Barret. These are to the work he did for his city, State and 
nation as a lawyer, expert in jurisprudence, legal research and ethics; to his career 
as a man of justice on the Jefferson County bench — a career interrupted by death; 
to his lifelong fight, and frequent successes, in the cause of clean politics and free, 
untrammeled, democratic elections; to his devotion to public works and pro- 
gressive public improvements; to his invaluable services to the nation in at least 
three capacities in the First World War; to his unceasing efforts in behalf of 
underprivileged and orphaned children, and to his work for general welfare and 
public health; and, lastly, for activities whose results and spirit permeated all his 
other works — those activities which throughout a faithful lifetime he gave in 
behalf of his church and God. 

The man who was to leave so enviable a record was born in Louisville on Oc- 
tober 4, 1870, his father being Henry Wood Barret, a manufacturer who was a 
leader in civic affairs and until his death in 1923 a director of the National Bank 
of Kentucky. His mother was Emma (Tyler) Barret. 

Alexander Gait Barret obtained his early education in the J. W. Chenault School 
in Louisville and on June 30, 1884, matriculated at Harvard LJniversity, Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts. At Harvard, he was a member of the Free Wool Club 
and the Southern Club. The University awarded him the degree of Bachelor of 
Arts in 1889 and when, four years later, he had won the degree of Bachelor of 
Laws, also gave him the degree of Master of Arts. 

Returning to Louisville in 1893, he immediately established himself in the prac- 




ALEXANDER GALT BARRET 



1990 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

tice of law, later entering a partnership with a Harvard classmate, F. M. Sackett. 
This partnership continued from 1899 to 1909 when it was succeeded by the law 
firm of Barret, Allen and Atkinson, with the future judge as senior partner. The 
second firm was dissolved in 1922, when Mr. Barret became senior member of the 
firm of Barret and Nettlebrath. In these years, Mr. Barret was making not only 
his reputation at the bar of the city, county and state but also in the rest of the 
nation, and was making the tremendous contributions which have left his name 
indelibly on the pages of history. 

In the political field, to which a lawyer of his abilities and interests would 
naturally be attracted, he established a name as a vigorous independent. Yet, in 
1903 he was offered and accepted the post of treasurer of the Kentucky State Re- 
publican Committee. Two years later, for two whole years — 1905 to 1907 — he 
was in the thick of the independent public movement and was one of the counsel 
in the election contest case which resulted in the voiding by the Kentucky Court 
of Appeals of the fraudulent Louisville City Election of 1905. At the conclusion 
of that hectic struggle in 1907, the Mayor of Louisville, recognizing a champion 
of civic progress, appointed him Chairman of the Board of Public Works, in 
which post he rendered such distinguished service that thereafter there was hardly 
a period in the remaining twenty-four years of his life that he did not hold some 
high office of public or quasi-public trust. By 1909, he had also won leadership 
and recognition in the health and welfare field as an active, wisely counseling 
volunteer and was serving as treasurer of the Board of Guardians of the Or- 
phanage of the Good Shepherd and as secretary of the Children's Free Hospital 
of Louisville. 

In 1915, he was elected president of the Louisville Bar Association and on Oc- 
tober 5 of the same year, the Louisville Board of Education called him to its 
membership to fill a vacancy. On January 2, 1917, the people of the city by 
popular vote returned him to the Board for a four-year term and in 1918 he became 
its President. During this period, the United States had entered the First World 
War and he soon was taking an active part ir> the home defense work and in the 
great task of coordinating the nation behind the drive for victory. He served as 
Enforcement Attorney of the Federal Food Administration of Kentucky; was a 
member of the Legal Advisory Committee of the Kentucky Council of National 
Defense and served as a member (though never formally qualifying) of the Legal 
Advisory Board for Jefferson County under the Selective Service Act. Obtaining 
wide circulation at this time was a pamphlet of an address he had delivered before 
the Kentucky State Bar Association on July 8, 1915, on "The Federal Trade 
Commission"; this had been published that same year both in the Central Law 
Journal and in pamphlet form. 

In 1920, the Governor appointed him a member of the Kentucky Educational 
Survey Commission which made a thorough-going study of the State's public 
education system and which in 1921 published a report entitled "Public Education 
in Kentucky." His valuable services to this Commission and to its uncovering of 
the need of elevating the standard of teacher training in the State and of ad- 
ditional institutions for such training led to his being appointed a member of 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1991 

the Kentucky State Normal School Commission in 1922. In this work, which 
lasted two years, he assisted in the selection of two State Normal School locations. 
In 1923, he was a charter member of the American Law Institute, organized at 
Washington, D. C, and in the same year he succeeded his father as director in 
the National Bank of Kentucky. 

In November, 1927, he was elected Judge of the Jefferson County Circuit 
Court, in the Chancery Branch, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 1928. 
He had held this high office, in which he contributed further to his distinguished 
record, about three and one-half years when, on July 13, 1931, he passed away 
after a brief illness. He was just under sixty-one years of age. Before his 
death, he had become a member of the Pendennis Club, Lawyer's Club, Louisville 
Golf Club, The Filson Club and had been for many years a member of the Harvard 
Club of New York. Also, he had helped organize and became the first chairman 
of the Health Council of the Louisville Community Chest. As late as 1943, his 
interest in public health and welfare was felt, posthumously in his native city, for 
whom through a well recognized need the Community Chest established, in con- 
nection with the health Council, a nutrition project. A gift of $5,000.00 from a 
health fund which Judge Barret left was available to finance it. For many years, 
too, Judge Barret had not only been prominent and useful in the Christ Church 
Cathedral congregation but also the financial adviser of its Woman's Endowment 
Association. 

On Febraury 9, 1899, the future judge, married Ellen Robinson Bell, born in 
Louisville on April 21, 1875, the daughter of Ellen Robinson and William Garvin 
Bell. Mrs. Barret survives her illustrious husband and sat, that notable day of 
May 18, 1932, on the stage of the Alex G. Barret Junior High School as it was 
being dedicated to him. They had one daughter, Ellen Robinson Barret, born 
in Louisville on April 10, 1904. She was educated at Louisville Kentucky Home 
School, and Miss Wright's School at Byrn Mawr, Pennsylvania. On December 
2, 1926, Miss Barret was married to Thomas J. Wood, Louisville lawyer and 
graduate of Princeton University of the class of 1920 and Harvard Law School 
of the class of 1923, now a member of the law firm of Doolan, Heten, Stites and 
Wood. They have three children, Ellen Barret Wood, Mary Lee Wood and 
Thomas J. Wood, Jr. 

Judge Barret had been on the county bench about two years when, with the 
growth of the city to which he had contributed so much and through the educa- 
tional processes which he had played a part in accelerating, excavation work was 
begun July 14, 1930, for the junior high school that, as he could not forsee, was 
to bear his name. More than $687,000 was spent in the erection of this school 
on seven acres of ground, two and one-half of which were given over to an 
athletic field. Containing twenty-four classrooms, including many devoted to 
the most modern subjects, with the latest type of equipment, it undoubtedly rep- 
resents the highest kind of scholastic institution for which Judge Barret strove 
to have established for youth. On February 1, 1932, it was completed. Three 
months later, with most impressive ceremonies, at which President William Hoke 
Camp of the Board of Education presided, the memory and works of Judge 



1992 A SESQU1-CENTENNIAL 

Alexander Gait Barret were honored by the bestowal of his name upon it, Edward 
Gottschalk, chairman of the building committee, making the formal dedication. 

Words uttered then are worth repeating here: 

"The high character of Judge Alex G. Barret and the universal confidence and 
respect in which he was held; his personal culture and broad scholarship; his 
keen, aggressive interest in all things educational; and his unselfish and untiring 
labor along the lines of increased efficiency and improved conditions in the school 
system as a whole, were, to the Board, convincing reasons why this splendid 
building should bear his name." 

And if these words alone do not adequately pay the final tribute, then those 
written in the Christ Church Cathedral Year Book after his passing surely must: 

"His was the judicial mould of mind, and he reflected great honor upon the 
bench where he presided with dignity, calm impartiality and distinction. But 
more than that, his abilities were always at the service not only of his city and 
State, but also of his fellow men in the humblest walks of life; few have given 
of themselves so modestly, yet so ably, unselfishly, and constantly." 

Yes, Judge Barret was one of the finest examples of that great race of Ken- 
tuckians who have made their State and nation great. 



I 



JOHN G. GREEN 



'ohn G. Green was born in Galion, Ohio, on September 22, 1888. 
His father, Jacob Green, who was born in Susquehana, New York in 1859, was an 
engineer on the Erie Railroad. His mother was Alice (Leadenham) Green, who 
was born in Blooming Grove, Ohio in 1854. Jacob Green died in 1914; Alice 
(Leadenham) Green was eighty-four years old when she died in 1938. 

John Green attended the public schools of Galion, Ohio, where he also gradu- 
ated from high school. After leaving school, he went to work for the Westinghouse 
Electric Company at East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. While working, he attended 
the Westinghouse Technical Night School; after completing the course, he was 
himself an instructor in the school for two years. For the next five years, John 
Green was road engineer for the Westinghouse Electric Manufacturing Company 
at Baltimore, Maryland; then he was in their sub office located in Bluefield, West 
Virginia, doing engineering work in the coal fields with Westinghouse equipment. 
In 1918 he came to Hazard, Kentucky as General Manager of the Kentucky River 
Power Company and the Tug River Electric Company of Williamson, West Vir- 
ginia. In 1919 he organized the Mine Service Company at Lothair, Kentucky. 
He began doing business in a building forty by sixty feet in size; the business 
consisted wholly in repair work for mines. Later on supplies necessary for mine 
work were carried in stock, and the company now gives complete mine equip- 
ment and repair service to all of the mines in the Hazard and Big Sandy district. 
No other company is in the same line of work in the district, and the crew of ex- 
perts in mine repairing and installation is kept extremely busy in these days when 
all the mines arc maintaining the highest possible level of production. The com- 
pany now occupies space two hundred and twenty-five feet by fifty feet in Lothair, 




JOHN G. GREEN 



1994 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Kentucky. The business was incorporated at the time of its organization in 1919, 
and the officers of the corporation are J. G. Green, President; A. F. Barbieux, Vice- 
President; Lanty Cor ley, Secretary and Treasurer. 

The marriage of John G. Green and Eleanor Griffin, of Charlestown, West Vir- 
ginia, took place in 1926. Mr. and Mrs. John G. Green have twin sons, John 
Griffin Green and George Fox Green, who were born at Hazard, Kentucky on 
June 5, 1931. The whole family is interested in Boy Scout work; Mr. Green is 
Vice-President of the Lonesome Pine Council of Boy Scouts and is district chair- 
man of Hazard. 

There are several other organizations in which Mr. Green takes an active part, 
among them being the Rotary Club and the Masonic Order. He is Past President 
cf the Rotary Club, and is a Scottish Rite Mason, a Knights Templar and member 
of the Shrine. 

WILLIAM HENRY ROGERS 

A he thriving farm of William Henry Rogers, Boyle County, 
Kentucky, is an outstanding example of modern farm methods successfully applied. 
The main and specialized crop of the farm is hybrid corn. At one time the seed 
was shipped from this farm to five states, but of late years the county demands 
have grown, and receive first consideration. The result is that Boyle County now 
takes the entire crop of hybrid corn seed, which averages 2,500 bushels of seed in 
a year. Mr. Rogers has been farming in Boyle County since 1923, and prior to 
that time he had several years of experience as County Agent for both Logan 
County and Warren County, Kentucky. He has proved very definitely that 
modern, scientific methods bring better yield and take a great deal of the guess- 
work out of farming. 

William Henry Rogers was born in Pine Grove, Kentucky, in 1892. His father, 
John Clark Rogers, was born in Fayette County, Kentucky. The mother of Wil- 
liam Rogers, Eliza (Fox) Rogers, was born in Mount Sterling, Kentucky. They 
reside in Danville, Kentucky. 

William Rogers attended public school and high school at Lexington, Kentucky. 
In 1913, he received his B.S. degree from the University of Kentucky. The same 
year he became County Agricultural Agent for Logan County, Kentucky, and 
continued in that capacity until 1917. William Rogers enlisted in the United 
States Army in 1918 and he was sent to the Officers' Training School at Atlanta, 
Georgia. Shortly after the armistice was signed he was mustered out of the army 
and returned to civilian life in Kentucky. He became County Agricultural Agent 
of Warren County. 

After three years, in 1923, Mr. Rogers decided to become a farmer, and he 
commenced his farm operations in Boyle County, Kentucky. His property is a 
remarkably well developed farm of one hundred and sixty-three acres. Here Mr. 
Rogers raises cattle and sheep. He grows burley tobacco, but his principal crop 
and the mainstay of his farm is his production of hybrid corn. At one rime he 
shipped hybrid corn seed to Ohio, Maryland, Indiana, Tennessee and Georgia. 
Now he considers Boyle County should have priority on his corn seed, and Boyle 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1995 

County takes all that he produces. That is a lot of seed corn, too, an average of 
two thousand five hundred bushels of hybrid seed corn per year. There is a large, 
well-equipped plant on the farm given over to the grading of the hybrid seed corn. 

Mr. Rogers is a past president of the Rural Electrification Association. He was 
also the first president of the Triple A in his part of the country, and is a member 
of the Farm Bureau. His political affiliation is with the Democratic party. 

In 1920, William Henry Rogers married Dorothy Ratliff, who was born in 
Princeton, Kentucky. They have a daughter, Anna Clark Rogers. She was born 
in Chicago, Illinois, on November 4, 1927. She is now a senior in Danville High 
School. The family worships at the Presbyterian Church. Mrs. Rogers is an ac- 
tive worker both in church circles and in the work of the United Service Or- 
ganizations. 

PERRY DEAN 

JTerry Dean is president of a comparatively new bank and owner 
of a farm that has been in the family for over a century. In 1934 the Kentucky 
State Bank of Carrollton was organized, and the following year Perry Dean was 
placed on the Board of Directors. Two years later he was President, and con- 
tinues today as head of the bank. The farm he owns is truly a historic place. 
The first deed to the farm was dated 1812, and at that time the property was 
owned by Perry Dean's great-grandmother. Since that time the farm has been 
continuously in the hands of the Dean family. Perry Dean is a veteran of the 
last war, and also saw service on the Mexican border. His son enlisted in this 
war as a private, and is now a Captain on active overseas duty in the United 
States Air Force. So the tradition of the Dean family is being carried along, 
with sentiment and affection for the past and a readiness to fight when necessary 
to protect the future security of the nation. 

Perry Dean was born in Franklin County, Kentucky, on September 28, 1894. 
His father, Oliver Perry Dean, was born in Carroll County, Kentucky, in 1850 
and died in 1917. The mother of Perry Dean was Ella (Griffin) Dean. She was 
born in Gallatin County, Kentucky, in 1864, and died in 1903. Perry Dean was 
one of a family of four children. 

The early education of Perry Dean was received in the public schools of Carroll 
County. He attended high school at Worthville and Warsaw, Kentucky, grad- 
uating from the latter. On leaving school, Perry Dean began working as a farmer 
with his Grandfather Griffin. 

In 1912 Perry Dean enlisted in the regular United States Army, and was mus- 
tered out in 1915. He re-enlisted in the Army in 1917 and was discharged in 
1919. Perry Dean saw service on the Mexican border and during the World War 
he spent six months overseas as a sergeant in the United States Artillery. After 
the war, Perry Dean returned to Carroll County, Kentucky, and took charge of 
the Dean Farm. 

C. M. Dean, his uncle, organized the Kentucky State Bank of Carrollton in 
1934, and Perry Dean was made a director of the bank in 1935. Two years later, 
in 1937, he became president of the bank. 

In 1920, Perry Dean was married to Lavinie Stanley of Trimble County, Ken- 



1996 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

tucky. They are the parents of a son and two daughters. The son, Perry Stanley 
Dean, was born in Carroll County, Kentucky, in April, 1921. He attended school 
in Worthville and studied for two years at the University of Kentucky. In 1941 
he enlisted in the United States Air Corps as a private. He is now a pilot, with 
the rank of captain, and is stationed in London, England. The oldest daughter, 
Sarah Olive Dean, was born in Carroll County, Kentucky in 1923. She graduated 
from Carrollton High School, and later from State Teachers College, Richmond, 
Kentucky. At present she is working in the bank at Carrollton. The youngest 
daughter, Virginia S. Dean, was born in Carroll County, Kentucky, in 1925. She 
is now married to Duane Hayes, who is serving in the United States Army. 

Perry Dean is a member of the League of Kentucky Sportsmen, and also be- 
longs to the Rotary Club. His fraternal affiliation is with the Masonic Order. 
He attends the Methodist Church. Mr. Dean has been active in the United Serv- 
ice Organizations and War Bond drives, and he is a member of the Executive 
Committee of the Red Cross. 



FRANK BARNES 

_L he untimely death of Frank Barnes, president of the Beaver 
Dam Deposit Bank, on December 4, 1940, took from Beaver Dam and Ohio County, 
Kentucky, one of the men it could least afford to lose. No man in Ohio County 
had more friends nor was greater loved and admired than Frank Barnes. There 
are many who will long remember his sympathetic consideration for the debtors 
of the Beaver Dam Deposit Bank during the trying depression days. Many more 
who have benefited from his participation in religious, educational and civic affairs 
had cause to love him in life, and mourn him in death. Frank Barnes was only 
forty-seven years of age when a sudden heart attack cut short a career of honor 
and service in business, civic, fraternal and religious circles. He was one of the 
men who form the backbone of a community, and the passing of years serves only 
to increase the realization of the severe loss which his passing meant to the city, state 
and nation. 

Frank Barnes was born in Beaver Dam, Kentucky, on July 17, 1893. His 
parents were John Hiram and Maggie (Eblen) Barnes. Frank Barnes received 
his early education in the Beaver Dam schools, and later attended the University 
of Kentucky. During World War I he served in the United States Army. After 
his return home, he entered banking with his father, and after the death of his 
father in 1934 Frank Barnes became president of the Beaver Dam Deposit Bank. 
His entire adult life was spent in banking, but his other business activities included 
presidency of the Beaver Dam Manufacturing & Supply Company, and member- 
ship in the John H. Barnes Insurance Agency. His real estate holdings were 
extensive, and he distinguished himself as bodi banker and business man. 

The marriage of Frank Barnes and Nora Frances Jackson, who was born in 
Clinton, Kentucky, on April 10, 1897, was solemnized on June 16, 1923. Two 
daughters, Anna Frances and Janette, were born to this union. Anna Frances was 
born at Beaver Dam on July 13, 1926, and her sister Janette was born on March 



1998 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

16, 1932. The family worships at the Beaver Dam Methodist Church, of which 
Mr. Barnes was long a member. 

Two brothers and a sister also mourned the death of Frank Barnes. Dr. Malcolm 
L. Barnes is house physician at the Louisville City Hospital; and the Honorable 
Marshall Barnes, vice-president of the bank, is a former state representative from 
Ohio County and assistant clerk of the House. Miss Anna Barnes lives in 
Beaver Dam. 

Frank Barnes was always an active member of the Kentucky Bankers Association. 
He belonged to the Masonic Order, and was also a member of the Shrine. Mr. 
Barnes served his community in official capacities, both municipal and educational. 
He was able and efficient in all that he undertook, and could always be relied upon 
to help in any project which was aimed at community betterment. 

The great throngs which passed by his bier before the body was laid to rest in 
the rolling Ohio County hills whence he came paid tribute of admiration and love 
to a man whose personal popularity was as great as his business ability. Beside 
the hundreds of his fellow citizens who came to pay him homage, nearly a hundred 
sorrowing friends came from other locations to pay their respects to the man whose 
friendship had meant so much to them. There were representatives from Louisville, 
Lexington, Clinton, Central City, Owensboro, Greenville, Caneyville, Arlington, 
Decatur, Alabama; Hodgensville, Hawesville, Livermore, St. Matthews, Logansport, 
Hopkinsville, Madisonville, Franklin, Morgantown, Fordsville, Centertown, Dundee, 
Russellville, and Lewisburg, giving proof of the wide circle of friends who grieved 
at his passing. 

The following excerpts from an article which appeared in the Hartford News 
aptly describes the sentiment of the entire community: 

"The death of Frank Barnes was an immeasurable loss to his home city, the 
entire county, and the state's financial circles. Citizen and business man of the 
highest type, Christian gentleman in all of life's relationships, Mr. Barnes' passing 
from a career of activity and accomplishment in the prime of life not only cast 
a pall of sorrow over the hearts of his loved ones, but brought sadness to the host 
who had the privilege of calling him 'friend.' " 



T, 



JAMES FRANCIS KANE 

he ability to recognize opportunity, grasp it at exactly the right 
moment and turn it to one's own advantage is known to be one of the prime re- 
quisites of a successful business man. This ability is possessed in a marked degree 
by James F. Kane, head of the Kane Manufacturing Company of Louisville. 

James Francis Kane was born in Chicopee, Massachusetts on July 3, 1895. His 
father, James Francis Kane, Sr., was of Irish descent and although a core maker 
by trade, he exhibited much interest in politics and became a leader in his city; 
married Mary Foran, who was a native of Ireland, and became chief of the Fire 
Department of Chicopee, Massachusetts. The younger James Francis Kane at- 
tended public school and high school in his native city and then went to Val- 
paraiso University in Valparaiso, Indiana. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 1999 

He left school in order to answer his country's call to military service in the first 
World War. He was sent to Fort Benjamin Harrison in Indianapolis, where he 
was selected as a candidate in that post's first Officers' Training School. He was 
commissioned a Second Lieutenant upon completion of his training and was trans- 
ferred to Camp Zachary Taylor in Louisville when it opened. Here he was pro- 
moted to a first lieutenancy and sent to France where he commanded Company 
"A" of the Eight Hundred and First Colored Infantry. He was overseas for 
about a year and continued his education by attending the University of Toulouse 
in France during part of that time. In the fall of 1919, he returned to the United 
States. 

In the year 1920, he came to Louisville and was married to Miss Loraine Mc- 
Evoy, the daughter of James McEvoy. 

Mr. Kane then went to New York where he worked for Butler Brothers for 
seven years. While so employed he studied at New York University's Evening 
School. At Butler Brothers he learned the business of clothing manufacture from 
the ground up and laid a foundation of knowledge on which to build a later 
structure of business success. In 1927, he came back to Louisville and liquidated 
a bankrupt business. He bought the physical property of the business and es- 
tablished the Kane Manufacturing Company in a building at 1000 East Main 
Street, which is now occupied by the Plumbers Supply Company. He engaged 
in the manufacture of underwear and other clothing for a short time and then 
switched to sportswear and trousers. In 1933, he bought a building at 2929 Maga- 
zine Street where the business is now located. The building was extensively re- 
modeled and the business under Mr. Kane's superior leadership was built up to 
the extent that it now employs three hundred and twenty-five people. In 1942, 
the output of the plant included three-quarters of a million pairs of army pants 
in addition to almost nominal production of other clothing. Housed in an at- 
tractive, modern building and using modern production methods, this business is 
a distinct asset to Louisville's manufacturing community. In 1944, the Leitchfield 
Manufacturing Company, an affiliated concern, was opened and is engaged in 
manufacturing Army equipment. The progressive personal policies of the com- 
pany are a great improvement over those which have for many years been main- 
tained in the garment industry. Mr. Kane has envisioned Louisville as an im- 
portant center of the needle trades industry in the future. He was willing to 
back his judgment by establishing his business here and through his energy, in- 
telligence and straight business dealings has made a conspicuous success of it. 

Mr. and Mrs. Kane, who maintain their home at 2530 Woodbourne Avenue, 
are the perents of two children; James, a former student at the Massachusetts 
Institute of Technology and now with the 84th Infantry Division serving in the 
European Theater, and Nancy, who is a student at the Louisville Collegiate School. 
The family are followers of the teachings of the Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. Kane is a member of the Kiwanis Club in which he is a director and chair- 
man of the committee on Public Relations. He is chairman of the management 
committee of the Y. M. C. A. and on the executive committee of the Louisville 
U. S. O.. Council. He is also a member of the Sleepy Hollow Club. 

James Francis Kane has given his business his undivided attention and through 



2000 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

his devotion to his work and his thorough knowledge of his field bids fair to be- 
come one of this section's recognized industrial leaders. 



M, 



JAMIESON GLASS McPHERSON 



.any people think of the life of a banker as one very staid and 
circumscribed by hard and fast rules and traditions, calling for a high type of 
mind and character, but followed along definitely prescribed lines. Jamieson Glass 
McPherson, however, for many years a prominent banker and civic leader of 
Louisville, Kentucky, whose death occurred on April 25, 1941, could have told 
you of many incidents that could not have been classed as amenable to the general 
routine rules of the banking profession. For instance, there was the instance of 
the administration of the Needham bequest. The will, which it was the duty of 
the Fidelity & Columbia Trust Company, of which Mr. McPherson was senior 
vice president, to administer, stipulated that the money was left to encourage 
maternal lactation. But who was to determine just how maternal lactation should 
be encouraged? The trust company thought first of establishing a breast milk 
station at the Children's Free Hospital, but the court ruled otherwise; such a 
procedure, said the Court, would be in violation of Mr. Needham's will. So the 
next step was to call in several pediatricians for a consultation. The final arrange- 
ment was that an annual Breast-Fed Baby Contest is now held each year through 
the Louisville Health Officer and City-County Health Department, the prize money 
being awarded to the mother of the healthiest child between the ages of nine and 
fifteen months who had been nourished by its own mother for a period of at least 
nine months, though the provision was made that supplemental feedings of other 
foods were allowable. All this might not seem to come under banking rules and 
practice, but it was one of the problems which had to be solved by Jamieson Glass 
McPherson while he was Senior Vice President of the Fidelity & Columbia Trust 
Company. 

Jamieson Glass McPherson was born on January 11, 1880, at Hopkinsville, 
Kentucky. His father, James Edgar McPherson, was a member of a West Vir- 
ginia family which had moved to Kentucky. Better known as "Mr. Edgar," he 
became president of the Bank of Hopkinsville, and was always a leader in civic 
affairs. He married Sally Glass of Hopkinsville, daughter of James Glass and 
granddaughter of Zachariah Glass; the Glass family is one of the oldest families 
of Christian County. Jamieson Glass McPherson received his elementary and 
high school education at Hopkinsville. 

Stern necessity is usually a factor when a boy starts work at an early age; there 
are some few, however, who possess so strongly the urge to achieve things them- 
selves that they are eager to start doing something which shows tangible rewards, 
regardless of family economic security. Jamieson McPherson was just a young 
lad when he raised his first crop of tobacco, and later worked for a time for the 
express company. His father was president of the Bank of Hopkinsville, but 
Jamieson McPherson took a nominal position with the Fidelity Trust Company 
when he went to Louisville in 1901, and attended Jefferson Law School at night. 
He received his LL.B. degree and was admitted to the Kentucky bar, but con- 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2001 

tinued to work for the Fidelity Trust Company. A merger brought about the 
existence of the Fidelity & Columbia Trust Company, and the merits of Jamieson 
G. McPherson brought him promotions to assistant secretary, trust officer, and 
finally senior vice president, an office which he held until his death on April 25, 
1941. 

The progress of Mr. McPherson in his chosen field was steady and rapid, and 
he was always willing to share the knowledge which he had acquired through the 
years with young men interested in banking as a life work. He was one of the 
organizers of the Louisville Chapter of the American Institute of Banking, and 
taught classes in Trust functioning; he was particularly influential in keeping 
this movement alive. The Hindman Settlement School was one of the charitable 
organizations in which he always took an active interest; he was a member of the 
board of directors of the school and president of it at the time of his death. Mr. 
McPherson was also a member of the Board of Trustees of the Children's Free 
Hospital and Norton Infirmary, and was Senior Warden of St. Thomas' Epis- 
copal Church for many years, and later a member of the choir of St. Paul's Epis- 
copal Church. He helped found and served as treasurer of the Mothers' Milk 
Dispensary, and served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Young 
Men's Christian Association. 

Mr. McPherson did not underestimate the value of outdoor recreation to a man 
who must spend a great deal of his time at his desk. He was a member of the 
Louisville Country Club and was the seventh president of the Audubon Country 
Club, serving as president at the time that the club house was built. An annual 
vacation in Florida helped to keep him in health and vigor, and the excellence of 
his golf game is proven by the many trophies which he won. He also excelled in 
the game of bridge, and some of the cups which he prized were won in bridge 
tournaments. 

In addition to his banking connection, Mr. McPherson had an interest in two 
other Louisville concerns. He was a director of Louisville Textiles, Inc., and of 
the Louisville Car Wheel and Supply Company. The esteem in which he was 
held by those associated with him in these enterprises may be, in part, understood 
from the following resolution which was passed by the Board of Directors of 
Louisville Textiles, Inc., which said, in part: "Mr. McPherson's high standards 
of personal honor and integrity, his deep interest in company affairs and his readi- 
ness to give wise counsel and advice whenever called upon particularly fitted him 
for membership on this board, and his loss will be keenly felt." The resolution 
passed by the Board of Trustees of Norton Infirmary said in part: "He was 
faithful and unselfish in his service to the infirmary, rendering particularly valuable 
service during its period of financial reorganization. 

Jamieson Glass McPherson married Elizabeth Egan, daughter of John and 
Emily (Shenk) Egan of New Albany, Indiana, on July 2, 1927. Elizabeth (Egan) 
McPherson had attended school in New Albany, and at the time of her marriage 
was secretary to the president of the Fidelity & Columbia Trust Company. Mr. 
and Mrs. McPherson were the parents of one son, Jamieson Glass McPherson, 
Jr., who was born in 1932. Mrs. McPherson is active in the Little Theatre and 



2002 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

is president of the Tourist Club, the oldest woman's club in Kentucky. She is 
also active in Red Cross and other war work. 

Jamieson Glass McPherson died of pneumonia on April 25, 1941, after an ill- 
ness of only one week. He was sixty-one years of age at the time of his death. 
He is survived by his widow, Mrs. Elizabeth McPherson, and his son, Jamieson 
Glass McPherson, Jr., also a daughter by a former marriage, Mrs. Robert Clark 
George, of Louisville, and a sister, Mrs. George C. Howell, of Richmond, Virginia. 
Burial was at Cave Hill. 



GEORGE LLOYD HAYDON 



Nc 



Iovember 10, 1943 marked the passing of one of Washington 
County's most prominent citizens when George Lloyd Haydon answered the final 
call. His life span exceeded the Psalmist's allotted "three score and ten" and his 
entire life was filled with activity and service to his community. The latter years 
of his life were filled with the wisdom that he had gained in the hard school of ex- 
perience, and he bore his years with pride, as a veteran his stripes. 

On April 16, 1860, one year and one day before the firing of the shot that an- 
nounced the beginning of the Civil War, George Lloyd Haydon was born two and 
one-half miles from Springfield, Kentucky, on the Perryville Road. He was the 
first son of Benjamin Haydon and Eliza (Clarkson) Haydon, early settlers in 
Washington County. His education was obtained long before the days of the 
city high schools; in the days when boys went to school to learn the fundamentals 
of the "three R's" — "reading, riting and rithmetic." His first school was in a log 
cabin in the Lincoln territory of the county and he walked through the fields in 
all kinds of weather from his home on the Linton farm where he lived. Coming 
to Springfield in 1875, Mr. Haydon busied himself with the run of small jobs 
common to the industrious and ambitious boy. As he grew up he was employed 
by such old and familiar firms as R. C. Clarkson & Co., McChord, Neale & 
Robertson and Cunningham, Medley & Company. He was appointed Revenue 
Collector during the administration of President Cleveland, and served during the 
four years of 1886-1890. On February 8, 1888, George Lloyd Haydon and 
Florence Robertson were married, and to the union were born nine children, five 
of whom are yet living. When in 1890 he returned to Springfield he formed a 
partnership with George D. Robertson, his father-in-law, owner of one of the oldest 
and most prosperous business houses of the city, a general merchandising estab- 
lishment and this connection continued for ten years. On its termination, Mr. 
Haydon erected the building now occupied by the Kroeger Grocery Company, 
and with J. L. Barber established a hardware business that continued until he 
purchased the Bob Hardin McElroy farm of 428 acres about two and one-half 
miles from Springfield, a property for which he paid the largest price that had 
up to that time been paid for farming property in Washington County. 

Throughout these years with their varied interests "Lloyd" Haydon, as he was 
known to his friends, had been a leader in civic affairs and prominent in community 




GEORGE LLOYD HAYDON 



2004 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

activities. He always exhibited a keen interest in politics, intent on giving un- 
swerving loyalty and service to the Democratic party, not as an office seeker. He 
was County Chairman of his party for thirty years and his voice was heeded in 
the councils of the party. He served on the City Council of Springfield during 
which time old flag stone paving made way for modern brick streets with curbing. 
He served as director and vice-president of the Peoples Deposit Bank and also of 
the Fair Association during its formative years as well as holding office in the 
Washington County Stockyards Association and the Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation. He was instrumental in organizing the Springfield Water Works project 
and served as its first president. One of his special enthusiasms was for the 
farmers and their needs and he always felt that in making the preliminary survey 
of milk production and the resultant building of the town's first cheese factory 
the most good was done for the greatest number. With other forward looking 
citizens he sponsored the move that resulted in the Springfield Graded School. 
The full lists of his activities stamp Mr. Haydon as having been in the very first 
rank of Springfield and Washington County's public spirited citizens. 

In religion Lloyd Haydon affiliated with the church in which he was born — the 
Roman Catholic — and he lived a practicing adherent of that faith, but as a man 
devoid of prejudice he always accorded to others the right to practice their in- 
dividual religious beliefs according to conscience. His life-long attention to duty 
was activated from sincerity of heart and not for demonstrative purposes. His 
guiding maxim was: "Tis better to be big than to act big." 

Since 1920, Mr. Haydon found his major interest in the Haydon Mill and Grain 
Company, a thriving business in which he was associated with his two sons, G. Rob- 
ertson Haydon and C. Joseph Haydon. In the more recent years he added more 
of his activities to the two farms he owned, one of them being that on which he 
lived as a child. 

The home of Mr. and Mrs. Haydon was blessed with children. Their own 
children are now grown and have children of their own, so the name of Haydon 
will live long in Kentucky. Mary Haydon married F. C. Peters, and they became 
the parents of three children: Frank C. Peters, Jr., Lloyd Haydon Peters (de- 
ceased) , and Harry Browne Peters. Louise Haydon married F. Ryan Duffy, and 
they have four children: Ann Duffy, F. Ryan Duffy, Jr., Haydon Robertson Duffy 
and James Hamilton Duffy. G. Robertson Haydon married Lottie Simms, and 
they are the parents of six children: George Robertson Haydon, Ben Simms Hay- 
don, Mary Jane Haydon, Charlotte Haydon, Lloyd Haydon and Duffy Haydon. 
Charles Joseph Haydon married Martha Jolly, and their three children are: Joe 
Jolly Haydon, Susan Robertson Haydon and Mary Louise Haydon. Katharine 
Haydon married Charles Mclntire, and they have one son, James Mclntire. 

Eighty-three years is a long time for a man to live in one community, and it 
gave time for his life to be amply weighed and thoroughly judged by his neighbors 
and friends. In this crucible George Lloyd Haydon was tested and found to be 
pure gold. Truly he was a man "full of years and full of honors." 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2005 



KENNETH O. CAYCE 



Th 



he Cayce-Yost Company has been doing business in Hopkins- 
ville, Kentucky, for almost forty years. Kenneth O. Cayce has been with the 
company since 1909, and has been an active partner since 1920. From its small 
beginning in 1907 the company has grown until today it is the largest firm of its 
kind in Christian County. Before any company can command success there must 
be intelligence, business sense and merchandising ability. And when that success 
is steady and continued over a long period of years, there can be no doubt that 
those in charge of the affairs of the company also possess moral integrity and the 
desire to be of service to the public. These are the qualities which Delbert D. 
Cayce, one of the founders of the company, exemplified, and these are the qualities 
which make his son, Kenneth O. Cayce, a worthy successor and capable business 
man. 

When the F. A. Yost Company was first organized in 1907, the heads of the 
company were Delbert D. Cayce, Harry A. Yost, Frank Yost and George H. Yost. 
Two years later Kenneth Cayce became associated with the company. In 1917 
the name of the firm was changed to Cayce-Yost Company, continuing under the 
same management. In 1927, twenty years after the Cayce-Yost Company started, 
Delbert D. Cayce bought the interests of Harry, Frank and George Yost and their 
places in the company partnership were taken by Kenneth and Delbert D. Cayce, 
Jr. That same year, 1927, Delbert D. Cayce, Sr., died and Kenneth O. Cayce 
was made President and General Manager of the Company. 

Over a long period of years Kenneth Cayce has taken a leading part in the growth 
of the Cayce-Yost Company and the movement is still forward. In recent years a 
seed recleaning plant has been added, and a gift and silver department headed by 
Gordon Cayce has added to the scope of the company. Through all these years, 
Kenneth Cayce has shown those likeable qualities of friendliness and consideration 
that give personality to a business. He has grown up in the business, and he has 
kept pace with changes as they came. In 1943 the Kentucky Hardware and Imple- 
ment Association elected Kenneth Cayce as their president, and that is an honor 
reserved for men who are looked up to by their fellow business men as leaders 
in their line. The business men of Hopkinsville hold Kenneth Cayce in equally 
high regard. The organization through which the business men and civic leaders 
do their "good works" is the Rotary Club, and under the presidency of Kenneth 
Cayce that organization hummed with activity. 

Delbert D. Cayce, the father of Kenneth Cayce, was born in Christian County, 
Kentucky, in 1866. He died in 1927. The mother of Kenneth Cayce was Rebecca 
(Dillman) Cayce, who was born in Muhlenburg County, Kentucky, in 1866, and 
died in 1942. The parents of Mr. Cayce are buried at Hopkinsville, Kentucky. 

Kenneth Cayce was born in Christian County, Kentucky, on June 5, 1890. 
After graduation from South Kentucky College at Hopkinsville, he attended the 
University of Kentucky for one year, and then became associated with his father 
in the operation of the Cayce-Yost Company in 1909, just two years after the 
organization of the business. He has, therefore, been connected with the firm 

11— Vol. IV 



2006 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

almost since its inception, and his opinions and ideas have had great weight in the 
business councils of the company. It cannot be truthfully said that Kenneth 
Cayce has watched the business grow; he has made it grow, and has been a driving 
force behind it which has developed the company to its present eminence in the 
field. Business was materially increased with the addition of the new departments, 
and the present volume of business is cause for satisfaction to all the members of 
the partnership which now forms the Cayce-Yost Company. Four partners are 
the children of Delbert Cayce: K. O. Cayce, Bertha Cayce, Gordon Cayce, and 
Mrs. Elizabeth Cayce Dalton, the other being Mrs. Kate Q. Cayce, wife of Ken- 
neth O. Cayce. 

In 1914, Kenneth Cayce married Kate Quarles. She was born in Christian 
County, Kentucky. They are the parents of three sons, who are all serving their 
country in the United States Navy. The oldest son, Frank Quarles Cayce, was 
born in Hopkinsville, Kentucky, on July 4, 1915. He graduated from the Hop- 
kinsville High School and Emory University at Atlanta, Georgia. In 1938 he 
established a clothing department in the Cayce-Yost store in Hopkinsville. Four 
years later, in 1942, Frank Cayce enlisted in the United States Navy as a yeoman. 
His wife is the former Madeleine Edwards of Clarksville, Tennessee, and he has 
one child, Katharine Tyler Cayce, who was born in Raleigh, North Carolina, on 
January 10, 1944. 

Kenneth O. Cayce, Jr., was born in Hopkinsville, Kentucky on October 7, 1920. 
After graduation from the Hopkinsville High School he attended Vanderbilt 
University, graduating in 1942, and was immediately commissioned in the United 
States Navy. At the present time he is serving in the navy with the rank of Lieu- 
tenant. 

The youngest son of Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth O. Cayce is Delbert D. Cayce, III. 
He was born in Hopkinsville, Kentucky on October 28, 1924, and is a graduate 
of the Hopkinsville High School. He was a student at The Citadel, Charleston, 
South Carolina at the time of his entry into the navy in 1944, when he was inducted 
as a Seaman First Class. 

Kenneth Cayce, Sr., is a member of the Ninth Street Christian Church in Hop- 
kinsville and is Chairman of the official Board and an Elder therein. 



Th 



ERNEST WHITNEY RIPY, SR. 



he name "Ripy" is synonymous with fine distilled spirits in Ken- 
tucky where ninety percent of the Bourbon whisky of the world is produced, and 
where Ernest Whitney Ripy is continuing the tradition of his forebears. Mr. 
Ripy's activities are not confined to the distillery business, however, as he has large 
agricultural holdings, stone quarries and devotes much of his time to the civic 
affairs of his community. 

Ernest Whitney Ripy was born on his grandfather's farm, a mile and a half 
from Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, on the Frankfort Pike, on February 3, 1876. 
His father was Thomas Beebe Ripy, who was born in Anderson County, Kentucky, 
in 1846, and who became one of the world's largest distillers of sour mash whisky. 




ERNEST WHITNEY RIPY, SR. 



2008 A SESQUI-CENTENN1AL 

owning two distilleries at Tyrone, Kentucky. He died in 1902. His wife, the 
mother of Ernest W. Ripy, was Sallie Elizabeth (Fidler) Ripy, who was born in 
Anderson County, Kentucky, in 1856. At the age of eighty-eight, Mrs. Sallie 
(Fidler) Ripy still resides at Lawrenceburg, Kentucky. 

The name of Ripy has been associated with the distillation of fine whiskies 
through five generations. John Ripy, father of James Ripy, made whisky privately 
on his large estate in Tyrone County, Ireland, in 1831. James Ripy, father of 
Thomas Beebe Ripy, received his knowledge of making whisky from his father. 
He came to America in 1832 and located in Anderson County, Kentucky. In 
1868 he became associated with Sam P. Martin and Monroe Walker in the first 
distillery built in Tyrone. It was a 100 bushel plant. Later, T. B. Ripy, father 
of Ernest W. Ripy, Sr., bought the Martin and Walker distillery, the capacity of 
which was later increased to 1500 bushels per day. 

In 1882 the 300 bushel Clover Bottom plant was built, at Tyrone, by T. B. 
Ripy and associates. In 1885 T. B. Ripy bought the interests of his partners and 
later increased the capacity of this distillery to 1500 bushels daily. In 1896 Ernest 
W. Ripy, Sr., became associated with his father, T. B. Ripy, in the operation of 
the T. B. Ripy and Clover Bottom distilleries. In the late nineties T. B. Ripy 
was known as the largest independent sour mash distiller in the world. The T. B. 
Ripy and Clover Bottom distilleries were sold to the Kentucky Distilleries & Ware- 
house Company in 1899. 

Two years at Washington & Lee University followed the years which Ernest 
W. Ripy spent in attendance at the public grade and high schools of Lawrence- 
burg. He then went to the business college at Lexington, Kentucky, and after 
graduation from this school he began work with his father in the operation of 
the family business. 

In 1905, Ernest W. Ripy, Sr., with his brothers, Ezra, Forest, and J. C. Ripy, 
built the Ripy Brothers Distillery on land adjacent to the T. B. Ripy plants. 
The Ripy Brothers distillery remained in operation until prohibition. On June 1, 
1935 reconstruction of the 1000 bushel Ripy Brothers distillery on the original 
location at Tyrone was begun, and the new "Ripy Brothers" plant began opera- 
tions on November 28, 1935, with Ernest W. Ripy, Sr., and his son Ernest W. 
Ripy, Jr., at the head of the industry. The entire plant is now cooperating one- 
hundred percent in the war effort, being devoted entirely to the manufacture of 
alcohol. 

Mr. Ripy has been interested in the ownership and operation of several stone 
quarries since 1911. In that year he and his brothers opened up the Kentucky 
River Stone & Sand Company, and in 1924 he bought the American Stone & 
Ballast Company from J. M. Dorman. Both of these plants were sold in 1928 
to the Kentucky Stone Company. The following year, 1929, Ernest Ripv bought 
the Kentucky-Virginia Stone Company at Wheeler, Virginia, in association with 
Burt Paynter and John Lewis. Mr. Ripy is vice-president of this company, and 
is actively engaged in its management. 

Ernest Whitney Ripy married Madeline Johnson in 1911. Mrs. Ripy was the 
daughter (if J. M. Johnson, cashier of the Lawrenceburg National Bank. Mr. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2009 

and Mrs. Ernest Ripy became the parents of three sons. Ernest Whitney Ripy, Jr., 
was born in Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, on February 2, 1913. He attended the 
Lawrenceburg schools then went to Purdue University, graduating from the School 
of Engineering. His wife is the former Bernita Frazier, also a native of Lawrence- 
burg, and they have two daughters, Ann Frazier Ripy and Madeline Johnson Ripy. 
Ernest Whitney Ripy, Jr., is at present in Germany as a Major in the 8th Division 
of the Field Artillery of the United States Army. The second son of Mr. and 
Mrs. Ernest W. Ripy, Thomas B. Ripy, was born on January 4, 1915, also at 
Lawrenceburg. After graduating from the Lawrenceburg High School he attended 
Washington & Lee University, from which he graduated. He married Hazel 
Overall, a native of Lawrenceburg, and they have two sons, Thomas B. Ripy, Jr., 
and John Burton Ripy and a daughter, Jane Tyler Ripy. Thomas B. Ripy is in 
charge of the manufacture of alcohol for the use of the government at the Ripy 
Distillery. The youngest sen, Robert Johnson Ripy, was born on October 6, 1920, 
at Lawrenceburg. He is a graduate of the Lawrenceburg High School and attended 
Purdue University. He married Rachael Rogers of Shelbyville, Kentucky. Robert 
Ripy is a corporal in the United States Army, stationed in San Francisco, Cali- 
fornia. 

In addition to his many other activities, Mr. Ripy also gives much of his at- 
tention to his farming interests in Anderson County. Here he has established a 
modern dairy farm which gives him recreation as well as profit. He is always 
found at the forefront of any movement which has as its objective the betterment 
of his community and his support of any proposal contributes largely to its success. 



DONALD C. DOTSON, M.D. 



D„ 



"r. Donald C. Dotson began the practice of medicine in Owings- 
ville, Kentucky, in 1932, after excellent preparation for his profession. Dr. Dot- 
son had done all of his school work in Kentucky, and his interneship had been 
served in a Louisville hospital. Dr. Dotson is a Kentuckian by birth and by an- 
cestry, and when he selected a life partner, his choice fell on a Kentucky girl. 
Dr. Dotson would agree with thousands of his fellow citizens that there is no 
better place in the world than Kentucky in which to be born and to spend one's 
life. 

Pike County, adjacent to the West Virginia line, was the birthplace of Donald 
Clark Dotson on June 7, 1905. His father, George N. Dotson, was born in Pike 
County on February 2, 1859. He is now retired, at the age of eighty-five, but 
during his active years he was a large dealer in lumber and coal. The mother of 
Donald Clark Dotson was Anna (Saunders) Dotson, who was also a native of 
Pike County. She was born in 1865, and died in 1912. 

Donald Dodson attended the Pike County schools, and was graduated from the 
high school at Phelps, Kentucky; he also attended the Pikesville High School and 
College, and Berea College. His medical education was received at the University 
of Louisville, where he obtained the M.D. degree. He then served as an interne 



2010 A SESQU1-CENTENNIAL 

at the City Hospital in Louisville as final preparation for the practice of his pro- 
fession. 

Dr. Donald C. Dodson opened an office for the general practice of medicine in 
Owingsville, Kentucky, in 1932, and for the past fourteen years he has been a 
busy and well-liked physician in that community. He is interested in all new 
developments in the field of medicine, and maintains membership in several dif- 
ferent associations devoted to the advancement of medicine, among them the 
National Medical Association, the Kentucky State Medical Association, and the 
Bath County Medical Association. 

The marriage of Dr. Donald C. Dotson to Nell Wash, took place in 1931. 
Mrs. Dotson is a native of Harrodsburg, Kentucky. Dr. and Mrs. Dotson are 
the parents of a daughter, Donna Gail, who was born in Owingsville, on August 
19, 1934. 

The farm which Dr. Dotson owns in Bath County provides him and his family 
with recreation and relaxation, as well as added revenue. This farm is well- 
managed and productive, and a source of considerable pride to its owner. 

Dr. Dotson is a member of the Republican party, in which he is an active 
worker. At the present time he is the County Chairman of the Republican Party, 
a responsible position which he fills very satisfactorily. His fraternal connection 
is with the Masonic Order. 

Dr. Dotson is the Medical Examiner for the Draft Board in Owingsville. 

FLOYD EDWARD TAYLOR 

.Lloyd Edward Taylor's paternal ancestors came over on the 
Mayflower and he is directly from the Kentucky branch who were colonial Vir- 
ginians. On the maternal side he is from the Clarks in whose honor Clark Coun- 
ty, Kentucky was named. He conducts one of the few custom glass establish- 
ments in the state, and has gained wide favor through the character of his product 
and the class of service rendered. A native of the city that is both his business 
headquarters and his place of residence, he is well and favorably known to the 
people of Lexington. 

Floyd E. Taylor was born in Lexington, Kentucky, August 11, 1906, one 
of two children, and his father was Henry Edward Taylor, born in Jessamine 
County, and in his earlier years a farmer in that county. Later he came to Lexing- 
ton and was associated with the Kentucky Traction Company, death coming to 
him at his home in the Blue Grass city in 1924. Henry Edward Taylor belonged 
to a family that had migrated to Kentucky from Virginia many years before, and 
who traced their lineage from the Old Dominion State back to the Taylors who 
landed on Plymouth Rock December 21, 1620, and who were of English ancestry, 
though coming to this hemisphere from Holland, where they had sought refuge 
in 1608. The mother of the subject was Sally (Walters) Taylor, of Clark County, 
Kentucky, a direct descendant of the Clark family of that county. 

Floyd Taylor attended the public schools of his community, the Arlington School 
and the Morton High School, leaving the latter when seventeen years of age to 
engage in the paint and glass business, learning the fundamentals of the craft that 




FLOYD EDWARD TAYLOR 



2012 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

was later to be his vocation. In 1923 he opened his present shop at 149 Arceme 
Avenue in Lexington, Kentucky, and still retains this location. The building hous- 
ing the activities of the concern is a modern one and situated on the rear of the 
lot where his residence is located, thus giving convenience and the quiet required 
for exacting work. The shop is complete and is the scene of continuous activity 
in filling orders from the central Kentucky trade territory. The feature of the 
business is custom work- — door glass, special tops for furniture, glass what-nots, 
novelties, ventilators, windshields, and hundreds of glass fabrications for special 
uses. In connection with this made-to-order glass trade, Mr. Taylor also carries 
the associated line of door locks, handles, keys, does door repairing and welding. 
The business is designated the "Arlington Glass Shop" for the subject's first 
school, the Arlington Elementary School. 

Floyd Edward Taylor married Bessie Dean, of Shelby County, Kentucky, she 
a daughter of William and Elzona (Gordon) Dean, the first a land owner and 
farmer of Shelby County. The marriage was celebrated March 30, 1929, and 
one child, a daughter, has been born to the union, Doris Dean, born April 12, 
1930, and now a junior student in the Lexington Junior High School. 

Mr. Taylor is a member of the Maccabees while he and Mrs. Taylor are wor- 
shippers at the Arlington Christian Church where they maintain their membership. 
Politically he is a man of independent action, formulating his judgments when the 
candidate presents himself and his platform, and voting for what seems to promise 
the most for good government. The family residence is at 149 Arceme Avenue. 

Diligent and skillful in his business Floyd E. Taylor has built a large and 
lucrative clientele while by pleasing courtesy and uniform kindness he has gathered 
a host of friends. He is an asset to his community always holding himself in 
readiness to do service in either its civic or social activities. 



HARRY DUMESNIL 



X 



he late and well beloved Harry Dumesnil, commercial leader, 
was the scion of a famous old family and upheld the family tradition of honor 
and intrepidity through a long and useful life. 

The history of the American branch of the Dumesnil family goes back to the 
French Revolution when the father of thirteen sens, who, being an aristocrat, 
was himself an ardent royalist, noticed distinct republican tendencies cropping 
out in his sons, one of whom later became General Henry Dumesnil, who lost a 
leg while leading one of Napoleon's divisions at Moscow and was made Governor 
of the Castle of Vincennes; and one of whom was Antoine, the grandfather of 
Harry Dumesnil, the subject of this sketch. He was born in Paris, France in 
1772, and was about eighteen years of age when he was sent by his father to the 
island of Mauritus to escape the political turmoil in France. He did escape the 
Revolution but fell into the hands of Spanish pirates and was taken as a prisoner 
to the West Indies. Making a daring escape, he boarded a vessel, which he hoped 
would return him to France, but was driven by a violent storm to put into the 
harbor at New York. He entered the employ of a manufacturing jeweler in 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2013 

that city, later moving to Boston, where he became a very successful merchant 
and married the daughter of a prominent New England family, Mary Cunningham. 

Severe business losses occasioned by the sinking of one of his ships determined 
him to leave New England and move to Lexington, Kentucky, where Henry 
Alexis Dumesnil was born on July 4, 1820. Both Antoine Dumesnil and his 
wife died on June 11, 1833, when the terrible cholera epidemic swept Lexington. 

Henry Alexis Dumesnil was educated in Lexington and then, coming to Louis- 
ville, became a clerk in the commission house operated by his brother-in-law, 
R. B. Mcllvaine. Later, he was first clerk on some of the almost legendary 
steamers that plied the Mississippi River during that period. Energetic and re- 
sourceful, he established a cotton shipping business in Milliken's Bend, Louisiana, 
then returning to Louisville, he opened a commission house of his own on Fourth 
Street, near the river. He became interested in the tract of land known as 
"Cedar Hill Farm" and the Ormsby Estate. This he subdivided and developed 
in conjunction with his brother-in-law, Collis Ormsby. He had married Mary 
Ormsby, daughter of George Ormsby, a native of Ireland, and Eleanor Smith 
Jones from Maryland. Henry Alexis Dumesnil and his wife were the parents of 
eleven children, nine daughters and two sons, one of whom was Harry Dumesnil. 
They celebrated their golden wedding anniversary on February 7, 1896. 

Harry Dumesnil was born in Louisville on January 2, 1858, and was educated 
in the Louisville public schools. Immediately after leaving school, he became a 
runner for the Merchants Bank of Louisville. He remained with this bank for 
several years, receiving an excellent grounding in business and finance. In 1892, 
he became associated with the Carter Dry Goods Company, which was located 
on the property owned by Joseph Peterson, maternal grandfather of Harry 
DumesniPs wife, who was Eliza Lindenberger. They were married on February 
21, 1884. Mrs. DumesniPs father was Jacob Hopewell Lindenberger, one of 
Louisville's most prominent bankers in his day. Her mother was Carrie Amelia 
Peterson. 

Mr. DumesniPs decision to enter the wholesale dry goods field proved to be 
a wise one. His dependability and his eagerness and determination to learn all 
he could about the business brought him advancements in a regular progression 
until he became treasurer of the company. In 1911, upon the death of the 
president of the firm, Edward Rowland, his brother-in-law, he was elected to the 
presidency and held that position until his death, which occurred in 1937. Under 
the stimulus of Harry DumesniPs leadership, the Carter Dry Goods Company, 
which is now located at 727 West Main Street, became the largest business of its 
kind in Louisville and one of the leading wholesale dry goods houses in the South. 
He spent forty-five years in the firm, twenty-nine of them as its chief executive 
and his work in developing and expanding the business was a contribution to the 
business community of Louisville that deserves the highest commendation. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dumesnil made their home at 301 South Peterson Avenue, a 
street named for Mrs. DumesniPs grandfather. Mrs. Dumesnil was born on this 
street and has resided in this house since she was eleven years old. Mr. and Mrs. 
Dumesnil were active and faithful members of Christ Church Cathedral of the 



2014 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Episcopal Church. He had many friends and enjoyed being with them at his 
various clubs. He was a member of the Pendennis Club, the Louisville Country 
Club and the Big Spring Golf Club, of which he was one of the founders and 
at one time president. He was a life member of The Filson Club and took a 
great interest in its activities. He was an Independent in politics since he refused 
to be bound to support any man just because he ran under a party label. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dumesnil were the parents of two sons, both of whom inherited 
a large measure of their father's business acumen. Joseph Peterson Dumesnil 
is now president of the Carter Dry Goods Company and Edward Rowland Dume- 
snil, deceased, was vice-president of the same concern. Both of these men are 
fathers, Joseph P. Dumesnil having one son, Joseph P., Jr.; and Edward Rowland 
is the father of Ann Rogers, now Mrs. Bob Lisle, of California, Edward Rowland, 
Jr., and Jean. 

The high quality of his ideals, his keen perception and the honorableness of 
his character will be long remembered among the friends and business associates 
of Harry Dumesnil. 

CHRISTOPHER C. CHILDERS 

JLt has always been a part of the American tradition to hold 
pioneers of any sort in the highest esteem. The ranks of the pioneers of coloniza- 
tion and settlement have furnished some of the greatest American heroes. Pioneers 
of business development have also played a large part in the growth and advance- 
ment of American cities. Not the least of the business pioneers of Louisville was 
Christopher C. Childers who founded and headed one of Louisville's oldest and 
most respected electrical concerns. 

The father of C. C. Childers, Henry H. Childers, was a native of Virginia. 
He came to Louisville in his childhood, was employed by the Louisville and Nash- 
ville Railroad Company and was married to Miss Mahala Beeson, a native of 
Louisville. Their son, the subject of this sketch, was born in Louisville on No- 
vember 8, 1868. 

Christopher C. Childers received his elementary education in the Louisville pub- 
lic schools. His education did not end with the close of his formal school days, 
however, since he continued to study and apply his knowledge during his entire 
life. After completion of his schooling, Mr. Childers entered the employ of the 
H. I. Wood Company in the capacity of an electrician. This was in the days when 
electricity was still an almost unknown force and there were few men indeed who 
had gained the knowledge and were endowed with the courage required to cope 
with its power. Through the use of his native intelligence, study, hard work, per- 
sonality and natural leadership, Mr. Childers rose to the position of superintendent 
of the H. I. Wood Company. 

About 1907, seeing the limitless possibilities of electricity and accurately fore- 
casting the rapid public acceptance of the use of electricity, Mr. Childers in con- 
junction with a partner founded the Childers Electric Company and located his 
business on Fourth Street between Main Street and the river. The firm was started 
on a very modest, basis but was built up by Mr. Childers, who soon purchased his 




CHRISTOPHER C. CHILDERS 



2016 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

partner's interest and incorporated the firm, until it became one of Kentucky's 
best and largest electrical contractors and wholesalers of electrical supplies and 
equipment. In 1912, expanding business made it necessary to move the head- 
quarters of the firm from its original location to 333 West Main Street where the 
business was conducted until 1943 when the building at 414 West Main Street 
was purchased by the firm. In 1926 he added a Paint department to his business 
and changed the Company name to Childers Electric and Paint Company. 

The Childers Electric and Paint Company attained its present size and eminence 
through the industry, foresight and business acumen of its founder who had no 
other hobby but his business. In the operation of his business, which required 
much specialized knowledge, he was largely self-taught. He evidenced a pro- 
nounced personal interest in his employees who responded to that interest with a 
loyalty which is seldom found in present day business firms. 

Christopher C. Childers was handsome in appearance, was of medium height, 
five feet and seven inches tall, and weighed one hundred and sixty-five pounds. 
His charming personality and jovial disposition drew about him a multitude cf 
friends. He was a fine story teller and loved a good joke. 

His interest in electrical matters extended far beyond his business and he was 
a member of the Louisville Electrical Contractors Association and a founder and 
president of the Electrical Clearing House. He was a member of the Louisville 
Builders' Exchange and of the Louisville Credit Men's Association. 

In 1895, Mr. Childers was married to Miss Lula R. Tomlinson, daughter of 
Louis R. and Fanny (Augustus) Tomlinson. Mrs. Childers is a native of Louis- 
ville, where her family has been prominent for several generations. The Childers 
did not become the parents of any children. 

Christopher C. Childers was affiliated fraternally with the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. Politically he gave his allegiance to the Republican Party, 
being very ardent in its support. He never asked that his party loyalty be re- 
warded with political office and was content to spend all of his time and energy 
in the prosecution of his business and in his home. He had a very active and 
inquiring mind, read a great deal and was exceptionally well posted on public 
affairs. He was always interested in anything affecting the welfare of his city, 
state and nation. 

Mr. Childers died on May 15, 1942 and his widow and a host of friends 
mourned the passing of a man who had by his industry, intelligence, courage and 
integrity built up from nothing a successful, highly technical business which served 
his community for thirty-five years before his death and continues to serve on the 
same broad basis laid down by its founder many years ago. 



HON. COLEMAN WRIGHT, A.B., LL.B. 

J. he rise of Coleman Wright has been rapid and sustained. 
He possesses the knack of driving after an objective with concentration and 
singleness of purpose. There are no detours or uncertainity of direction. Today 
Coleman Wright is County Judge of Shelby County, an honor which was first 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2017 

conferred on him by appointment, then confirmed by the vote of the people. 
Judge Wright attained this high and important position within ten years of the 
day he received his degree in law from the University of Kentucky. 

While still a boy in school at Shelbyville, Coleman Wright decided that he 
would study to be a lawyer. As a student in high school, he mentally confirmed 
this choice and proved in his studies that law was indeed his sphere. He had an 
engaging manner and a flair for speaking that combined to make him an interesting 
and convincing speaker. More than that, he had an innate sense of fairness and 
conciliation that stamped him as an ideal arbiter. The passing of time developed 
his native talents and tendencies, so that when he entered law practice he forged 
rapidly to the front as a public figure. 

Three years after entering private practice Coleman Wright was elected to serve 
as county attorney of Shelby County. Six years later, when it was necessary to 
make an appointment to fill a vacancy as county judge, the choice fell upon Cole- 
man Wright. He was thus placed on trial as the voters would decide at the next 
election whether to confirm or reject his choice. Judge Coleman Wright accepted 
his opportunity, and proved that he was ideally suited to the position conferred 
upon him. His temperament, his balance and his patience under all conditions 
proved to the satisfaction of the voting public that he should be retained. They 
so declared by an overwhelming vote of endorsement and approval for Judge 
Coleman Wright of Shelby County, Kentucky. 

On February 6, 1907, Coleman Wright was born in Shelby County, Kentucky. 
His father, Lemuel Willis Wright, is an active and prominent farmer in Shelby 
County, where he was born on November 3, 1886. Lemuel Wright is a well- 
educated man; he completed his education at the Kentucky Military Institute. 
The mother of Coleman Wright, Alberta (Money) Wright, was born on June 
12, 1884, in Shelby County, Kentucky. Mr. and Mrs. Lemuel Wright are staunch 
members of the Methodist Church. Mrs. Wright is particularly active in church 
work. 

Coleman Wright was the second in a family of four. His older brother, James 
T. Wright, is now a farmer in Shelby County. His sister, Lucile, is married to 
J. E. Williams of Louisville, Kentucky; the youngest sister, Gertrude, is now 
Mrs. R. H. Miller of Shelbyville, Kentucky. 

Coleman Wright attended grade school in Shelbyville, and graduated from high 
school there in June, 1925. He then entered the University of Kentucky at 
Lexington, and received his LL.B. degree in 1930. He continued at the University 
of Kentucky for one more year, graduating in 1931 with the degree of A.B. In 
1931, Coleman Wright entered the law office of H. B. Kinsolving, Jr., in Shelby- 
ville. He continued in private practice until January, 1934, when he took office 
as county attorney of Shelby County. On January 1, 1940, he was appointed to 
fill the office of county judge, and Judge Wright has been continued in office 
by election since that time. 

Judge Wright married Bess Bowler, daughter of Mrs. Amanda Bowler and the 
late Bert T. Bowler of Shelbyville. She has been secretary of the Shelby County 
Board of Education for ten years. Her hobby, and her husband's also, is gardening. 



2018 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Judge Wright is a member of Phi Delta Phi and the Order of COIF. He 
belongs to the Rotary Club, and his church affiliation is with the Methodist Church. 
As a member of the Masonic Order, he has advanced through York Rite to Knights 
Templar. Judge Wright is still a young man, and this chronicle is but a chapter 
in what undoubtedly will be a continuing career of success. 



JOHN A. NEBLETT, B.S., M.D. 



D. 



r. John A. Neblett served his country in war, serving as an 
enlisted man and an officer and in peace, serving ailing humanity in sickness and 
his community as a good citizen and a loyal friend. For eighteen years he prac- 
ticed medicine in Louisville and during that time made many friends to join his 
wife and children in sorrow over his death. The end came to him on July 7, 1941, 
in the forty-fifth year of his life. 

Dr. John A. Neblett was born in Henry County, Kentucky, January 27, 1896. 
He received his early education in the public school at Turner's Station and grad- 
uated from the Bardstown, Kentucky High School, and after this graduation en- 
tered the University of Kentucky for two years. The first World War interrupted 
his studies and he answered the call of his country in 1917, enlisting in the Army 
at Fort Benjamin Harrison. He was commissioned a second lieutenant from the 
enlisted ranks and sent to Camp Taylor for training. He soon won promotion to 
the grade of first lieutenant and was assigned to the 801st Pioneer Infantry with 
which organization he went to France. He was in service overseas for one and a 
half years. On his discharge from service he entered the Medical School of Louis- 
ville and graduated in 1924 with the degree of Doctor of Medicine, having previ- 
ously received the degree of Bachelor of Science. He began his practice at Hazard, 
Kentucky, but after one year there went to Louisville and served an interneship 
of one year in the General Hospital of that city. In 1926 he opened an office for 
the practice of his profession in Louisville, specializing in anaesthesia. He was a 
member of the American Medical Association, of the Jefferson County Medical 
Society and the Transylvania Medical Society. 

Dr. Neblett was one of five brothers, the others being Dr. L. W. Neblett of 
Louisville, Kentucky; S. F. Neblett of Okolona, Kentucky, an employee of the 
Internal Revenue Department; P. H. Neblett of the State Text Book Commission 
of Frankfort, Kentucky; and T. W. Neblett of Detroit, Michigan. 

John A. Neblett and Lena Clem were married in Bedford, Kentucky, in 1924. 
She was born in Trimble County, Kentucky, in 1896. Her education was secured 
in the public schools of Bedford. She graduated from the high school of that 
city and entered the University of Kentucky from which institution she graduated 
in 1918. 

The Neblett family embraces two children, a son and a daughter. The latter, 
Marilyn Neblett, was born in Louisville, Kentucky, in 1927, and attended the public 
schools of that city and the Highland Junior High School. The son is John B. 
Neblett and he is in attendance at the schools of Louisville, the city in which he 




JOHN A. NEBLETT, B.S., M.D. 



2020 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

was born in 1931. Dr. Neblett's father was William E. Neblett, a farmer of 
Henry County, Kentucky, who was born in that county in 1867 and died in 1930. 
The mother was Martha (Dunaway) Neblett, who was also born in Henry Coun- 
ty, Kentucky, in the year 1870. She died in 1936, and both parents are buried in 
the county of their nativity. 

Mrs. Neblett's parents were both Kentuckians. Her father, A. B. Clem, was 
born in Trimble County, Kentucky in 1860 and died in 1932. He was buried in 
Bedford, Kentucky, where he and Mrs. Clem resided for many years. He was a 
leading merchant of that city for half a century. Her mother was Letitia (Callis) 
Clem and she was born in Trimble County, Kentucky in 1872 and still resides in 
Bedford, Kentucky. Mrs. Neblett's two sisters are Mrs. Ethel Spillman and Mrs. 
Irvin Webb, both of Bedford, Kentucky. Her brothers are R. B. Clem, principal 
of the Shawnee High School of Louisville, who is mentioned at length on other 
pages of this publication; and R. E. Clem, manager of a mercantile establishment 
at Bedford, Kentucky. 

Louisville and Jefferson County lost a valuable citizen and the medical profession 
of the state an able and well informed member in the death of Dr. John A. Neb- 
lett. The wife and children were deprived of a protector and a guide whose de- 
parture left a void in the home and an ache in their hearts. His quiet and un- 
assuming manner and skill and earnestness in his profession had built for him an 
enduring monument in the memories of his hundreds of friends. In the many 
letters that Mrs. Neblett received expressing condolence and sympathy were such 
statements as: "He served as a focusing character for unifying the life of our 
neighborhood" and "I think in truth I know of no man who so completely was 
in life what he represented himself to be." Among his fellow practitioners he will 
be missed as a man whose place is hard to fill for they knew him as one whose 
willingness to serve could always be counted upon and whose skill was a source of 
confidence. In his contacts professionally and socially he was gracious and affable 
and in all relations of life sincere and exemplary. 



A, 



JOHN ORVILLE MATLICK 



.mong Kentucky's adopted sons whose progressive spirit and 
superior business qualifications have stimulated the development of the state along 
many lines, John Orville Matlick is deserving of particular mention. Mr. Matlick 
has justly earned the proud American title of "a self made man," and in his 
present position as editor and general manager of the Kentucky Farmers Home 
Journal he exerts a broad influence along agricultural lines. As a member of the 
fourth estate he has brought progressive ideas and methods in farming and stock 
raising to Kentucky, and in his own holdings has proven these ideas in the crucible 
of practice. 

Mr. Matlick was born October 17, 1911, at Memphis, Scotland County, Mis- 
souri. His boyhood was spent on the Missouri farm and was not unlike that of 
Other boys of his time and locality. He attended the local public schools and 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2021 

had the usual assignment of farm chores and work to perform. His first con- 
nection in the publishing field came in 1930 when he became associated with the 
circulation department of the weekly Kansas City Star of Kansas City, Missouri. 
In 1934 he joined the Capper Publications of Topeka, Kansas. 

Mr. Matlick came to Kentucky in 1936 as circulation and promotion director 
for the Kentucky Farmers Home Journal. In this position he organized a state- 
wide Anti-Farm Theft campaign with the co-operation of the state and county 
law enforcement officials and posted standing reward offers at the entrances to 
approximately 70,000 Kentucky farm homes for the apprehension and conviction 
of thieves stealing property from Kentucky farms. 

Upon the death of Vaughan Spencer, former publisher of the Kentucky 
Farmers Home Journal, in 1940, Mr. Matlick became editor and general manager 
of the Kentucky Farmers Home Journal, which was established in 1865, and 
which now serves more than 100,000 Kentucky farm families. 

As editor of Kentucky's only state-wide farm publication, he has taken an active 
part in many ways other than through the columns of the "J ourna l" to help build 
a more sound and progressive Kentucky agriculture. He co-sponsored the 
organizing of the Kentucky Purebred Livestock Association, which now represents 
all breeds of purebred livestock produced in the state and which enjoys a member- 
ship of approximately 1,000 of the leading breeders in the state. This association 
has accomplished much during the past four years in promoting more and better 
livestock on Kentucky farms. 

Many other activities claim his attention, most of which are directed along 
agricultural lines. He is Chairman of the Rural Urban Committee of the Louis- 
ville Rotary Club, honorary member of the Kentucky Chapter of the Future 
Farmers of America, Secretary of the Kentucky Purebred Livestock Association 
and a member of the Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation. Recognizing his interest 
in agricultural development and his ability as an organizer and administrator, 
Governor Simeon S. Willis appointed him a member of the Kentucky State Fair 
Board, and following this appointment he was made manager of the Kentucky 
State Fair. He is also a member of the Governor's Postwar Planning and Advisory 
Commission. 

Mr. Matlick is widely known in press circles throughout the state through his 
membership in the Kentucky Press Association, the American Agricultural Editors 
Association, and as a director of the Advertising Club of Louisville. Along strictly 
business lines he is the vice-president and member of the board of directors of the 
Middletown Farm Loan Association, and is a member of the Louisville Business 
Men's Club. His fraternal connection is with the Masonic Order and his rules 
of life are largely those that are exemplified by the craft and by the teachings of 
the Methodist Church of which he is a member at Middletown. 

Mr. and Mrs. Matlick make their home on their seventy-five-acre farm near 
Middletown, Jefferson County, Kentucky, which also serves as a laboratory for 
many progressive ideas. 

16— Vol. IV 



2022 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



HOWARD CLIFTON GRISWOLD 

JTollowing wide experience in a variety of industrial projects, 
Howard Clifton Griswold became the head of the printing firm of John P. Morton 
and Company, of Louisville. Mr. Griswold took up where his father, who had 
served this ancient and honorable company over a long span of years, left off 
and in turn served as the Company's president for the remaining years of his life. 

The John P. Morton and Company organization was established in 1823 as 
Morton and Griswold by Howard C. Griswold's grandfather and his brother- 
in-law, John P. Morton. Each of these two founders married the sister of his 
partner. The company has been more closely associated with the history, progress 
and development of Kentucky perhaps than any other printing organization. 
There was neither Griswold nor Morton to carry on; the great old house had to 
close its doors. Those who know the history of Kentucky saw the old doors swing 
to with a sigh of sadness; a great epoch had died. 

Mr. Howard Clifton Griswold was born February 28, 1866 in Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, the son of Howard Morton Griswold and Anna Clifton (Grant) Griswold, 
both of Kentucky birth. One of his grandfathers, Solomon K. Grant was an 
original vestryman of Christ Church Cathedral, Louisville. Another distinguished 
ancestor was the Rt. Rev. Alexander Viets Griswold, Bishop of the Eastern Epis- 
copal Diocese, famous in early New England history, a bas-relief of whom is on 
the door of Trinity Church, New York. N. Y. Mr. Griswold, the subject of 
this sketch, attended the Louisville public schools which he finished accreditably. 
Having finished their courses, he entered the Steven's Institute of Technology at 
Hoboken, New Jersey, from which he was graduated with a degree in civil engi- 
neering. 

In 1899 Mr. Griswold became associated with the engineering department of 
the Louisville and Nashville Railroad, continuing in that position until 1895, at 
first in Louisville and later in Lebanon, Kentucky. He next entered the employ 
of the Illinois Steel Company, acting as assistant inspecting engineer from 1895 
to 1915, making his headquarters in Chicago, Illinois. In 1915, at the time of 
his father's death, he returned to Louisville and took over the business of John 
P. Morton and Company, remaining at its head until his death in 1941. 

Besides this principal activity, Mr. Griswold was a member of many organiza- 
tions, among which were the American Society of Civil Engineers and the American 
Iron and Steel Institute. He belonged to the Transportation Club of Louisville; 
was a director of the Ben Franklin Club; and at one time was active in the Audubon 
Country Club. A man of intense public spirit, he was devoted to the city of his 
birth, and to its institutions and people. His accomplishments were, for this 
reason, the more valuable. His annual endeavors in the interest of the Community 
Chest and untiring energy in the success of many other local projects, are an out- 
ward manifestation of his deep humanitarianism and of his abiding love for Louis- 
ville. To the Christ Church Cathedral, particularly, was he faithful, using the 
same pew that was occupied by his grandfather, Solomon K. Grant, one of the 
original vestrymen of the Church. Mr. Griswold, whose family relationships 




HOWARD CLIFTON GRISWOLD 



2024 A S E S Q U I- CENTENNIAL 

were very fine indeed, always loved his home, particularly did he take delight in 
his flower and vegetable garden, work in which being a fine recreation and a 
great joy. 

Howard Clifton Griswold was married first to Mec Mclntyre Young of Thomas- 
ville, Georgia, on November 16, 1898. She died in 1914. On January 10, 1925, 
he married, in Nashville, Tennessee, Miss Mary Rush Lewis, daughter of John 
Stacker and Stella (Farnsworth) Lewis. Mr. Lewis was connected with news- 
paper work in an administrative capacity in Nashville, being interested in the 
Nashville American, a forerunner of the present Tennessean and was secretary to 
the Board of Park Commissioners of the City of Nashville, in which capacity he 
was serving when the Parthenon was permanently rebuilt in Nashville Centennial 
Park. 

Mrs. Griswold's mother was the daughter of B. F. Farnsworth, whose name is 
closely associated with the beginnings of the University of Louisville. 

The Griswolds have three children — Charlotte Lewis, Anna Grant and Mary 
Clifton Griswold, all of whom are now (1944) students in the Louisville Schools. 
Mrs. Griswold and her girls continue their residence at 2425 Cherokee Parkway 
in the home built for his family by Howard Griswold. 

The death of this exemplary citizen on January 29, 1941, in Louisville, was an 
occasion of general and profound sorrow and regret. His memory will abide through 
the years. 



D, 



B. E. BOONE, JR., M.D. 



'r. B. E. Boone, Jr., now in his thirty-first year as general prac- 
ticioner of medicine in Elkton, Todd County, Kentucky, where he was born, has 
watched the complete transition from saddlebags to automobiles, during an era 
when he served his community in the traditional manner that has won his profession 
the respect of their fellow community members both in war time and peace. 

A descendant of the enterprising pioneer stock which gave Kentucky the be- 
ginnings of a great state, Benjamin Edwards Boone, Jr., was born in Elkton on 
September 27, 1886, to carry on a family name long identified with community 
service. He is the son of the late B. E. Boone, Sr., also a native of Elkton, where 
he was in the mercantile business for 65 years. This active leader in community life 
was the son of Squire Boone, who settled in Allensville community, and bought 
500 acres of land for $2.50 an acre. Squire Boone, whose family came to Ken- 
tucky from North Carolina, was a great nephew of Daniel Boone. 

Dr. Boone's mother was Mattie Lewis, Todd County native, whose family origi- 
nally were from Tennessee. 

Following public school in his home town, the young Boone attended Vander- 
bilt Training School, a preparatory school for Vanderbilt University located in 
Elkton at that time. At the end of studies in the prep school he entered the 
Medical College at Vanderbilt, Nashville, Tennessee, for which he had been pre- 
paring himself in order to fulfill his ambitions. 

Receiving his M.D. degree in 1910, Dr. Boone interned in Bellevuc Hospital and 
Manhattan Maternity Hospital in New York City. At the end of his interneship 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2025 

he opened an office in Memphis, Tennessee, where he remained two years. He 
then returned to Elkton in 1913. 

Now in the midst of the second World War, Dr. Boone notes that when he 
came to Todd County to begin practicing there were 29 doctors in practice, com- 
pared to today's five. 

Proof of his devotion and efficiency for the task at hand is that Dr. Boone has 
served 27 years as secretary of the Todd County Medical Society. Besides his 
membership in the county organization he is a member of the Kentucky State 
Medical Association, the Southern Medical Association and the American Medical 
Association. Always alert to advances in medicine, Dr. Boone has read broadly 
and continuously in his professional research. Further, he has attended many 
clinics besides taking post graduate courses at Tulane University in New Orleans, 
Louisiana, and at Vanderbilt. 

In World War I he served as a member of the draft board of Todd County, 
and in World War II as examining physician for the Todd County Selective Service 
Board. He served as county health officer, and is a member of the County Board 
of Health. 

Dr. Boone is a friend of education, and for 23 years has been a member of the 
Elkton Graded School District and the Todd County Board of Education. Here 
again he has watched growth. When he first joined the board, enrollment in the 
public schools was 60 scholastics in the high school and 200 in the elementary 
grades; enrollment is now well over 600 scholastics. Dr. Boone has unerringly 
worked to keep separate Todd County public education and politics. Under his 
leadership the $100,000 school plant at Elkton, was built, and with the exception of 
bonds, the county board is now out of debt. Dr. Boone only says modestly that 
public education is perhaps his hobby. Mrs. Boone is active in the Parent-Teachers' 
Association. 

For many years he was a leader in the Rotary Club, serving as president of the 
Elkton Club and on its executive committee. He belongs to Sigma Chi fraternity. 
His religious affiliation is with the Baptist Church. Second to his real hobby as 
civic service is contract bridge. 

Dr. Boone was married in 1915 to Miss Manie Street, daughter of George 
Street, successful Elkton banker. Mrs. Boone's maternal grandfather was Ben 
Perkins, a prominent figure in Kentucky history. 

The children are: Benjamin Edwards Boone, III, of Elkton, now a Petty Officer 
in the United States Navy, married to the former Helen Crosby, and father of a 
daughter, Sue; George Street Boone, honor graduate of the Law School of Vander- 
bilt University, now a lieutenant in the U. S. Navy, in which branch of service he 
commanded a tank landing operation on the beaches of Sicily; Martha Perkins 
Boone' now Mrs. J. M. Shaver of New Orleans; Lillian Porter Boone of Dayton, 
Ohio, who on September 19, 1944 married Lieutenant B. L. Ridley, a Pilot in the 
United States Army Air Force now stationed in Paris; Mary Louise Boone, a stu- 
dent at Agnes Scott College at Atlanta, Georgia; John Lewis Boone, Elkton High 
School junior; and Manie Street Boone, Elkton High freshman. 



2026 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



T. V. PONDER 

J.errence V. Ponder was born in Mt. Vernon, Indiana, June 5, 
1888. His father was Ernest L. Ponder, a native of Mt. Vernon, Indiana. During 
his active life the elder Ponder was associated with the lumber milling business. 
He retired some time ago and now lives in St. Louis, Missouri. Mr. Ponder's 
wife was Lula Buchanan Carroll, also a native of Mt. Vernon, Indiana. Their 
son, Terrence, attended the public schools there. 

When sixteen years old, like many other "country" boys, Terrence Ponder had 
to go to the big city, which was St. Louis. After a try in the wholesale district 
he got into the fire insurance adjustment field, and in 1907 came to Louisville 
for a St. Louis concern. His home was the old YMCA at Fourth and Broad- 
way, which accommodated a few men only and many of his fellow roomers are 
prominent in business and civic life in Louisville today. 

After some five years association with the St. Louis concern, he launched forth 
for himself, and February 15, 1912 opened his own office under the name of T. V. 
Ponder and Company. Quickly he had working for him C. W. Hart and in 
1923, they became associated together under the firm name of Ponder-Hart & 
Company. Mr. Hart died in 1936 and Mr. Ponder continues the operation of the 
business under the same name. All the years from 1907 to date the business ad- 
dress has been Columbia Building. The business is that of adjusting fire losses 
for the policy holders, being interested chiefly in larger fires. The south and the 
states adjacent to Kentucky are their active territory. 

Mr. Terrence Ponder was married to Miss Evelyn Cunningham, on October 
24, 1912. Mrs. Ponder died November 14, 1943. She was the daughter of Mr. 
Alexander Conrad Cunningham and Ida (Morrison) Cunningham, both of Louis- 
ville, Kentucky. To this union were born three daughters and one son: Alice C. 
is the eldest; the second daughter, Sarah Jane, is the wife of James Garnett, Jr., 
a Lieutenant Colonel in the Judge Advocate's Department, U. S. Army, stationed 
at present with the Army of Occupation in Austria, which union has a young 
daughter, Jane Vail Garnett; Margaret, the third daughter and T. V. Ponder, Jr., 
who is a member of the United States Navy in the Pacific. The Ponder home is 
at 2109 Cherokee Parkway, Louisville. 

Among the affiliations, both honorary and social, to which Mr. Ponder belongs 
are: Colonel on the staff of Governor Laffoon; the Masonic order, having taken 
the degrees of the York Rite through the Commandery; the Shrine (now demitted) ; 
member of Pendennis Club, Big Spring Golf Club and Rotary Club. 



ISAAC CAMERON MASON 

Isaac Cameron Mason has followed closely in the footsteps of 
his father, both having combined the activities of merchant and farmer. They 
both are natives of Logan County, Kentucky, and Isaac Mason has just finished 
building a beautiful home on Red River on the Adairvillc-Schlcy Road not far 
from where he was born. 




T. V. PONDER 



2028 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Isaac Cameron Mason was born in Adairville, Kentucky, on June 22, 1897. 
When he was four years old, the family moved to Bowling Green, and Isaac 
Mason received his early education there. He attended high school both in 
Bowling Green and in Adairville. 

On graduation from high school in 1914, he received his start in business when 
he entered the store of Ben M. Pulliam Company. Here he served as clerk for 
two years, receiving a good, practical business training, and invaluable experience 
in meeting the public and in making desirable contacts. After two years with the 
Ben M. Pulliam Company, he made a forward move when in 1916 he became a 
partner in the Adairville Milling Company. This connection he maintained for 
five years, when, in 1921, he entered into partnership with his father in the hard- 
ware business. They continued to operate successfully together until his father 
decided to retire, and Isaac C. Mason took over the entire control. From 1936 
to 1939, Mr. Mason operated a hardware store in Elkton, and in May of 1939 
he took over a hardware business in Russellville, which he continued to operate 
until February, 1943. 

During his years as a business man, Mr. Mason never lost his interest in agri- 
culture, and he invested shrewdly in farm land adjacent to Adairville until today 
he is the owner of nine hundred valuable acres. He intends now to devote all 
of his time to his farm holdings, and will specialize in raising shorthorn cattle. 
In 1943, Mr. Mason built a beautiful home, situated on the banks of the Red 
River, on the Adairville-Schley Road. He expects to occupy this new home in the 
near future. 

In political affairs, Mr. Mason likes to make up his own mind on issues as they 
arise, and is an Independent Democrat, not bound by any tradition or commitment. 
He is a Mason, and is Past Senior Warden of his lodge. His church affiliation is 
with the Baptist Church. In 1937 his contribution to the best interests of the 
hardware dealers of his state was fittingly acknowledged when he was honored 
with the presidency of the Kentucky Hardware Association. 

Mr. Mason is a keen outdoors man, and is consulted by anyone who wants 
authoritative information on matters concerning fishing and hunting in his part of 
the country. 

In 1916, Isaac Cameron Mason married Janie Elizabeth Russell of Adairville. 
They have one daughter, Annetta Jane, who is now engaged in secretarial work 
at Fort Knox. Here she met and married Captain Edward Hawks Renn, who is 
a member of an old Virginia family of Norfolk. He is now serving his country 
as Captain of a Tank Battalion in the Philippines. Mrs. Mason is an unusually 
talented musician, and is organist of the Methodist Church in Russellville. 

Isaac Cameron Mason's father, K. C. Mason, is a native of Logan County. 
He is now retired at the age of 83 after an active and useful life as farmer and 
merchant in Adairville. He served as a member of the Town Board and also as 
deputy sheriff of the county. In addition to his activity in civic affairs, Mr. K. C. 
Mason has been an active and valued member of the Baptist Church in Adairville. 
Isaac Mason's mother was Annie S. (Hunt) Mason, a native of Bowling Green. 

Isaac Cameron Mason is deeply attached to Logan County, where both he and 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2029 

his father were born. Time has indeed proved the wisdom of his belief that his 
home county afforded opportunities ample for a satisfying and prosperous life. 



NEIL M. STANLEY 



Wn 



ith pride in family and deep respect for the agricultural economy 
of which he is a part, Mr. Neil M. Stanley, of Reed, today assumes a position 
of influence in the same community where he was born and reared. Mr. Stanley 
was born June 9, 1881, on the almost historic "old Folding place," on the banks 
of the Ohio River, near Beals where he now lives. 

His father, the late George W. Stanley, also a successful farmer and leading 
citizen of the region, was born in Henderson, but spent his lifetime on the farm 
which forms the background of the Stanley family tradition. George Stanley was 
the son of Nat M. Stanley and Phenila Folden Stanley. A true daughter of the 
pioneer families of the region, Phenila was the daughter of John W. Folden, 
familiarly known as "Jack," who settled in Henderson County about 1850 at 
approximately the same time as Richard Henderson, taking up land when the 
"first families" did. 

Mother of Mr. Neil Stanley was Kate McCormick, who was born in Henderson 
County, the daughter of C. B. McCormick. Mr. McCormick was a political 
leader, serving as delegate to several national Democratic conventions besides his 
considerable influence in local government, and an active Mason. For twenty 
years Mr. McCormick was Grand Master of his lodge. To round off his wide- 
spread talents and interests Mr. McCormick made violins by hand. He was a 
cousin of Cyrus McCormick, the inventive genius who gave America the first 
reaping machine, and descended from the proud Virginia McCormicks. 

Among the many noteworthy family connections here are the Nunns, several 
of whom served in the Confederate Army, and the Shelby family, which produced 
the first governor of Kentucky. 

The Stanley family itself came to Kentucky from North Carolina. 

Young Neil spent his boyhood on the family home place. Later he moved with 
his family to Newburg, Indiana, where he attended the public schools. 

Having completed his public school study, young Mr. Stanley attended Bryant 
and Stratton Business College in Louisville, after his family had returned to his 
native state. 

Shortly thereafter Mr. Stanley returned to the home farm with his parents. 
His father was a semi-invalid, and it fell to the son's responsibility to take charge 
of the entire farm, a task which he accomplished efficiently and with pride. Both 
his parents spent the remaining years of their life on the farm, his father dying in 
1932 and his mother in 1938. 

In 1915, Mr. Neil Stanley married Miss Hannah E. Green, the daughter of 
William Green, a farmer near Spottsville. They have four children, all daughters, 
namely: Alice Katherine, now Mrs. Carl H. Watson, whose husband is in the 
United States Army Medical Corps; Cornelia, now Mrs. A. A. Pruitt of Hender- 



2030 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

son, who has one daughter, Charlotte Ann; Irma Lee and Elaine Stanley, both 
of whom live with their parents at home. 

Mr. Stanley is a charter member of the Farm Bureau of Henderson County, an 
organization which has accomplished much in the field of agriculture and further- 
ing better farming practices. At a time when progressive farming is actual war 
work, Mr. Stanley's farm is producing 300 acres of corn and 250 acres of soy 
beans annually, and he raises pure-bred Poland China hogs — all considered im- 
portant war crops. 

He is a member of the local chapter of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. 
Politically, Mr. Stanley stands with the Democratic Party. A Presbyterian, Mr. 
Stanley, with his family, is active in church work at Reed, which is a community 
church and inter-denominational in character. An ardent hunter and fisherman, 
Mr. Stanley lists these as favorite hobbies. 

In his well-rounded way of life Mr. Stanley has made himself a figure typifying 
the solid and direct character of his community, and whenever the names of men 
who are leaders are mentioned his is among them. 



ED RENAKER GOSSETT 

J_/D Renaker Gossett, Cashier of The Harrison Deposit Bank & 
Trust Company, Cynthiana, Kentucky, was born in Harrison County, Kentucky 
on May 11, 1882. The son of Reuben and Louisa Renaker Gossett, he received 
his early education in the rural schools of Harrison County. He worked with 
his father on the farm until he was twenty-one years of age, when he became 
interested in politics, and being a successful candidate in a Harrison County 
election, came to Cynthiana to reside. He is a staunch Democrat, coming from 
families on both sides long affiliated with this party. 

In 1906, he was persuaded to give up the political office then held by him, and 
accept a position with the Harrison Deposit Bank, then practically in its infancy. 
Since that time he has served this institution continuously in various departments, 
having been elected Cashier in 1926. 

Mr. Gossett also represents the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company of 
Newark, New Jersey, having accepted the agency in 1912. Over this long period 
he has written a substantial volume of good high class business, which has been 
recognized and appreciated by the Mutual Benefit on various occasions, and which 
has also been a great benefit to this county in the death claims paid the policy- 
holders. 

Reuben Gossett, father of Ed Renaker Gossett, was born in Harrison County 
in 1846, and died in 1932, having enjoyed eighty-six years of good, substantial 
citizenship. Louisa Renaker Gossett, wife of Reuben Gossett, was also a native 
of Harrison, and a member of one of its largest families. Mrs. Gossett was 
born in May, 1854 and died, comparatively young, in 1907. 

On October 17, 1911, Ed Renaker Gossett married Miss Lucy Zilar of Cynthiana, 
Kentucky, who departed this life on February 26, 1944. Mrs. Gossett was an 




I) RENAKKR GOSSETT 



2032 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

ideal homemaker, wife, and mother, whose spirit still lingers in their two children 
who are Mr. Gossett's chief pride of his successes and achievements. 

Edward R. Gossett, Jr., was born in Cynthiana, Kentucky on June 10, 1912. 
He graduated from the Cynthiana High School, and then attended the University 
of Kentucky. He is now serving in the Airborne Division of the Quartermaster 
Corps, with the rank of Sergeant, with the United States Army, now in France. 
In civilian life he is an Embalmer and Funeral Director by profession. 

Frances Louise Gossett was born on December 1, 1914, and was graduated 
from the Cynthiana High School in 1932. On June 26, 1940 she was married 
to Clarence Guy Jones, who was born in Owingsville, Kentucky, on March 14, 
1911. Mr. Jones is now in the United States Navy. 

Mr. Gossett is a fine judge of Kentucky live stock, always keeps a stable of 
fine saddle and harness horses, and until interrupted by conditions due to the 
existence of war, took great pride in exhibiting these horses at the county Fairs 
and Horse Shows, and felt doubly happy and proud when his daughter, Mrs. Jones 
drove these horses and brought in the Blue Ribbons. 

Mr. Gossett is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, Odd Fellows 
Lodge, Cynthiana Business Men's Club, and has served on some of the most im- 
portant committees of the Kentucky Bankers' Association. He has also served as 
Chairman of the War Finance Committee for Harrison County through the past 
seven War Loan Drives, and is now making plans for the Victory Loan. His 
residential address is 21 Oddville Avenue, Cynthiana, Kentucky. 



RICHARD EARL MARKHAM, D.O. 

_Ln the professional circles of Lexington, Kentucky, the subject 
of this article is well in the forefront and his ripe years and mature judgement 
have been of great value to the suffering of his community. In the practice of his 
profession for a third of a century in the city of his adoption he has built a sphere 
of work that compares favorably with the leaders of the profession anywhere. 

Dr. Richard E. Markham was born in Logan County, Kentucky, May 31, 1873, 
the sen of Simeon V. Markham, who was born in Bedford, Virginia. The father 
was from an old Virginia family and served with distinction in the Army of the 
Confederacy during the war between the states. He was a graduate of the law 
school of the University of Virginia and at the close of the war migrated to the 
state of Kentucky, locating in Logan County, spending the remainder of his life 
in the state of his adoption. The son, subject of this review, received his early 
education under private tutors and with this cultural basis entered the Southern 
School of Osteopathy at Frankfort, Kentucky. Upon graduation he located at 
Maysville, Kentucky, for the practice of his profession but in 1910, feeling the 
advantage offered by a larger field he moved to Lexington and established offices 
in that city and the years intervening have witnessed a progressive widening of 
his professional activities. He is of a pleasant, jovial disposition and this has made 
him a welcome addition to any group and he has gathered many friends. His 
activities outside his profession have been many and varied and he has always 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2033 

found time to serve his community in any capacity that seemed to promise benefit 
in either a social or public service sense and in his younger days he maintained 
membership in all the better known fraternal and civic groups. In this same period 
he found relaxation in hunting and other outdoor sports. He has been active 
in the political affairs of his state and his efforts in this regard have been for the 
advancement of the Democratic Party. 

Dr. Markham married Lula E. Clark, of Christian County, Kentucky, and 
she has been an outstanding figure in club and social circles of her home city, 
and has an enviable reputation as a hostess and head of the Markham home. 
Dr. Markham's offices are located at 403 Citizens Bank Building in Lexington, 
and he is more active in his professional work than men many years his junior. 

Dr. Richard Earl Markham has made a place in the hearts of the people of 
Lexington and the long years he has lived and worked among them have borne 
fruit in a harvest of friends and well wishers. 



GEORGE DAWSON HEPPLER 



H, 



.ere is A son of whom Kentucky has a right to be proud. He 
has won for himself an honored place as a son of the soil who has himself tilled 
wisely and well. 

George Dawson Heppler was born near Stanley, Daviess County, Kentucky, on 
September 22, 1898. Already he is widely known as a successful farmer and a 
business man of proved ability. He attended Carlinburg School in the community 
where he now lives, but his real education was received in hard, practical labor, 
keen observation and unusual vision. 

Born the son of a farmer, George Heppler early and late toiled in the fields. 
In sunshine and rain, good seasons and bad, he watched and listened and studied. 
He worked as a farm hand on other farms and saved his hard-earned money, so 
that when his father died in 1920 he was able to buy equipment and rent the 
hundred acres that now belonged to his mother. As the years went by he worked 
steadily and well, improving the property, then gradually adding and expanding. 
In 1935 he bought the Mason farm, 228 acres of fine land along the Ohio River. 
Within two more years he was ready and able to expand again — this time George 
Heppler bought the John McAllester place, a flourishing farm of 461 acres. 
Now the original 100 acres has increased ten fold; George Heppler today is operat- 
ing almost 1,000 acres, largely in corn, soy beans and hemp. A good deal of his 
corn goes to the market as pork. George Heppler is noted for the number and 
quality of hogs he raises. 

In 1941 he built a beautiful modern home suitable to his position as a successful 
farmer, and here he lives with his thriving family. It was in 1925 that he married 
Vera Pauline Willingham of Smith Mills, Kentucky. They have six children: 
three boys, Leonard Allen, George Curtis and Paul Arnold; and three girls, 
Regina Fay, Billy Jean and Nancy Bower. The family attends the Community 
Church at Reed. 



2034 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

George Dawson Heppler is a leader among the Republicans in his county, and 
has always taken an active part in affairs of government. 

Outside of his farming interests, George Heppler has established himself as 
a first-class business man. He is engaged in the buying and selling of mules, and 
these useful animals have contributed considerably to the war effort, going places 
and doing things impossible even to a jeep. He also has a half -ownership in the 
Scuffletown Ferry, which is located at Cypress Beach on the Ohio River. 

The father of George Dawson Heppler was Len Heppler, a farmer and a 
native of Daviess County, Kentucky. He died in 1920 after an active life, being 
well known and highly respected for his leadership in all forms of community life. 
The mother of George Heppler — Julia Ellen (Price) Heppler — is still living. She 
also is a native of Daviess County. 

Still young and constantly progressive and practical, George Dawson Heppler 
will continue to advance with the years. He and his good wife are building a 
fine heritage for their family, and hold for themselves a place high in the esteem 
of their neighbors and all with whom they come in contact. 



OLIVER PERRY HENRY, A.B., M.D. 

J.N the ranks of the medical profession in the Blue Grass State, 
few of its members rank higher in skill or in the councils of the profession than 
does Dr. Oliver Perry Henry of Mt. Sterling, who, after completing the prescribed 
course of study and winning his medical degree, continued his training by broad 
experience in the field of industrial medicine before entering upon his career in 
private practice. 

Dr. Henry is a native Kentuckian, and as such he possesses those traits of char- 
acter that have made Kentuckians welcome the world over. He was born on a 
farm three miles from West Liberty, Morgan County, on August 23, 1889. For 
several generations the Henry family had made their home in Morgan County, 
having migrated to Kentucky from Virginia in the early days of the Republic. 
Willis G. Henry, the Doctor's father, was born in Morgan County as was his 
grandfather Daniel Henry, and Dr. Henry's forebears have devoted their lives to 
the tilling of the soil and the building of the communities in which they lived. 
Dr. Henry's mother was Mattie Cecil, also a native of Morgan County. 

As a lad, Oliver Henry attended the traditional log school house in the country 
where he learned the three R's, and followed this elementary training by com- 
pleting the course of study at Kentucky Wesleyan College, receiving the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts in 1912. Having determined to prepare himself for the medical 
profession he entered the Medical College of Vanderbilt University in Nashville, 
Tennessee, and was graduated with the coveted M.D. degree in 1917. He had 
spent the vacation months of his Junior year in Harlan, Kentucky, where he had 
worked with a group of doctors, and when he received his degree he returned to 




OLIVER PERRY HENRY, A.B., M.I"). 



2036 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Harlan and engaged in industrial medical practice for seven mining camps until 
he entered the army of the United States. 

The military chapter of Dr. Henry's life began in the fall of 1917, when he 
entered the Medical Corps of the United States Army as a first lieutenant and was 
sent to Fort Oglethorpe. After one week there he was transferred to Camp Meade 
and was given a short course in indoctrination and within three weeks from the 
time of his entrance into the army he was enrcute to France. He became Regi- 
mental Surgeon of the 304th Ammunition Train of the 79th Division, attached 
to the infantry, and with them he saw active service in the Argonne, Verdun and 
Meuse-Argonne sectors. He was at Crepion, France, when the armistice was signed 
and was sent to the center of instruction of the 79th division as Chief Surgeon, 
where he remained until one month before his return to America. Lieutenant 
Henry was released from active service in the late summer of 1919, and in the fall 
of that year located in Mt. Sterling for the practice of his profession. 

Dr. Henry was married in 1925 to Mrs. Mary Gillis Schimfessel Hall of Mt. 
Sterling, Kentucky. He and Mrs. Henry are the parents of one daughter, Olivia 
Peggy Henry, who is now a student in Mt. Sterling High School. By her previous 
marriage, Mrs. Henry is the mother of one other daughter — Mrs. Nelson Kennedy, 
who makes her home in the happy surroundings of country life on a farm near 
Mt. Sterling. In former years Mrs. Henry has been most active in civic, charitable, 
and church work. She is assistant chairman of the Montgomery County Chapter 
of the American Red Cross. 

The personal popularity of Dr. Henry has made many demands upon him, all 
of which he has discharged with ability and alacrity. He is a member of the Uni- 
form Rank of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and has advanced through 
the degrees of the York Rite in the Masonic Order, serving as High Priest of the 
Chapter and Eminent Commander of the Knights Templar. His name stands 
high on the membership rolls of the American Legion. He has also served as 
surgeon of Chesapeake & Ohio Railway for the past 18 years. 

Dr. Henry is now serving as medical officer of the Selective Service Board, and 
he is the examiner for twenty-six life insurance companies. Along strictly pro- 
fessional lines he is a past president of the Montgomery County Medical Society, 
the Mt. Sterling Rotary Club, a member of the Kentucky Medical Society, the 
Southern Medical Society, the Association of Southern Railway Surgeons^ and the 
American Medical Association. Politically he is a democrat, and his religious 
affiliation is with the Presbyterian congregation. 

Dr. and Mrs. Henry find their chief enjoyment in their home and their family. 
Mrs. Henry is an authority on antique furnishings and through diligent search 
has found many rare pieces that adorn their home. Dr. Henry loves the out-of- 
docrs and when time permits he takes a trip to Canada to fish in the cold waters 
of the north. He also is an ardent lover of the fox chase, his study containing 
many trophies which his hounds have won at various Kentucky meets. 

Dr. and Mrs. Henry have made many close and intimate friends in Montgomery 
County, and the quarter of a century he has spent there has done much to alleviate 
the suffering of mankind. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2037 



ROBERT HUME FERGUSON 



A 



prominent land owner, tobacco grower and warehouseman of 
Bourbon County, Kentucky, is Robert Hume Ferguson, who is from an old family 
of the county. He has lived in the community where he now makes his home 
from birth and among the people of the Blue Grass is regarded as a pillar in the 
community life and a good neighbor and loyal friend. 

Robert H. Ferguson was born August 16, 1890, in Bourbon County, Kentucky, 
a son of Volney Wheat Ferguson, a man active in agriculture in that county. The 
mother was Elizabeth (Payne) Ferguson of the same county and six children were 
born to her. Young Ferguson graduated from the Millersburg Academy in 1909, 
and entered the University of Kentucky for a course in law and was a member 
of Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity and gave considerable attention to college ath- 
letic affairs, favoring football as a sport. He engaged in farming in Bourbon 
County on leaving the university in 1911, purchasing one hundred and fifty acres 
of land in Bourbon County and leasing an additional four hundred acres in Fayette 
County. His principal farming interests are tobacco raising, but he also includes 
the usual Blue Grass crops, and stock breeding activities. He also owns a farm in 
Centerville, Bourbon County, Kentucky. In 1935, he formed a partnership with G. 
Proctor Wood and Will Kenney Ferguson to operate a business to be known as 
The Paris Tobacco Warehouse Company, the property owned by the firm being 
the largest warehouse of this character in Bourbon County. 

Robert Hume Ferguson first married Laura Spinks, of Newport, Kentucky, who 
died April 26, 1926. Five children were born to this union. Harry Spinks Fergu- 
son, the oldest, was a member of the United States Army until recently discharged 
and is now engaged in farming. Laura Byrnes Ferguson, a daughter, is a nurse 
serving with the Army in Australia. Robert H. Ferguson is in the United States 
Army Air Corps and on duty in the Southwest Pacific Area. Elizabeth Payne 
Ferguson is a student at Hollins College at Roanoke, Virginia, and Maria Gay 
Ferguson is at Margaret Hall, a school for girls, at Versailles, Kentucky. Mr. 
Ferguson married Louise Connell of Paris, Kentucky, and she presides over the 
family home on the Georgetown and Paris Road in Bourbon County. The subject 
is well known throughout the burley belt and highly regarded as a tobacco grower 
and tobacco handler as well as a business man of probity. 

Robert Ferguson has given of himself to his community, to his county and to 
his state, serving as a good citizen and his family has been ever foremost in offering 
service to the nation in its time of travail. Three — the only three of sufficient 
years — of a family of five children in service is a record of which to be proud, but 
it is something mentioned only by neighbors and friends for it is the nature of 
they who serve to let the fact itself speak. 

JOSEPH N. FRANKEL 

JLt has been more than four-score years since Jacob Frankel, hav- 
ing left behind in his native Germany all that was near and dear to him, set 
foot on these shores, a little bewildered and uncertain, perhaps, but imbued with 

17— Vol. IV 



2038 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

the indomitable spirit of adventure that characterized all those who set out from 
Europe in those early days to make a new home in a new world. 

That was in 1858 and today, eighty-six years later, his son, Joseph N. Frankel, 
president of the Hub-Pushin Company of Danville, Kentucky, is carrying on 
in the same business whose fundamentals he learned from that immigrant father. 
The Hub-Pushin Company, known as Pushin Brothers until Mr. Frankel pur- 
chased and reorganized the company when he came to Danville in 1921, is one of 
that city's leading department stores. 

Joseph N. Frankel is a native Kentuckian, born in Louisville on February 23, 
1884. Louisville also was the birthplace of his mother, the former Miss Jennie 
Newberger, who died in 1914 at the age of 62 years. 

The senior Mr. Frankel was a member of the firm of Newberger and Frankel, 
wholesale jobbers in Louisville, Kentucky, and it was natural that Joseph N. 
Frankel, after completing his education in the public elementary and high school 
in Louisville, should evince an interest in the same type of business in which his 
father had established himself so well. 

His business career began with the J. M. Robinson-Norton Company, jobbers, 
and after five years in that company's employ he went to LaGrange, Kentucky, 
where his father had opened his own department store. The two worked together 
until Jacob Frankel's death in 1914. Several years later, after carefully surveying 
the Kentucky scene, Joseph N. Frankel chose Danville as the city in which to 
continue his business career and in which to make his home. 

His wife is the former Miss Edna Fleischaker of Louisville, Kentucky. They 
have two children, both born in Louisville. They are Mrs. Louis Putzel (Emily 
Frankel) of Baltimore, Maryland, herself the mother of a daughter, Barbara 
Ruth Putzel, and Joseph N. Frankel, Jr., born in 1919, who is stationed at Luke 
Field, Arizona, with the U. S. Army Air Forces. He entered the service of his 
country following his graduation from the University of Pennsylvania, having 
previously been educated in the public schools at Danville and at Centre College 
for two years. 

Joseph N. Frankel is a Mason and holds membership in the Danville Country 
Club and the Danville Chamber of Commerce. 

Danville can well count him among its most enterprising and outstanding 
business leaders as the Hub-Pushin Company through the years since he assumed 
its ownership and direction has established itself as one of Kentucky's finest 
department stores. 

EDDIE PORTER BARNES 

J. he secret of Eddie Porter Barnes' success can be summed up 
in two words — application and ability; and if a third ingredient were to be added, 
we could look to the opposite end of the alphabet and add the word zeal. There 
may be many men who apply themselves just as assiduously as Eddie Barnes has, 
and with as much zeal and zest for the work in hand. There are, however, few 
men with his ability, which has been time tested and proved in many places, and 




EDDIE PORTER BARNES 



2040 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

in distinctly different lines of endeavor. In the last few years Mr. Barnes has 
lightened his business load somewhat, but he is still carrying what would be more 
than enough for most men half his age. He still owns a store in Hopkinsville, 
Kentucky, another store in Central City, and he is a director of the Beaver Dam 
Deposit Bank. Mr. Barnes has been in business since before the turn of the cen- 
tury, and during this long span of years he has gained the respect and admiration 
of those with whom he has had dealings. He has had the confidence of the buying 
public and the loyalty of those whom he employed. Mr. Barnes is an upright and 
honorable man who has proved that success in business is not at all a matter of 
chance, and that it can be achieved without compromising high principles and 
decent ideals. 

Eddie Porter Barnes was born on a farm near Beaver Dam, Kentucky, on 
January 27, 1866. His father, George H. Barnes, was born on a farm near Beaver 
Dam on September 23, 1839, and died in 1919. He was a farmer. George H. 
Barnes was a devout member of the Methodist Church. He was a strong and 
influential leader in Democratic circles, taking a keen interest in questions of 
government, and possessing the gift, of convincing oratory to a marked degree. 
The mother of Eddie P. Barnes was Kittie (Metcalfe) Barnes. She was born 
near Beaver Dam, Kentucky June 14, 1841, and died in 1907. Both parents are 
buried in Goshen Cemetery, Goshen, Kentucky. 

After completing preliminary school work at Beaver Dam, Eddie Barnes went 
to Hartford College, Hartford, Kentucky, for a period of two years. His first 
employment on leaving college was as a clerk in Hocker & Company's general 
store at Beaver Dam, Kentucky. At the end of four years, Eddie Barnes and a 
partner bought out the Hocker Company. In 1899 the partner died, and Eddie 
Barnes offered his brother the opportunity to join him as partner. The firm then 
became E. P. Barnes & Brother. This store was continued until 1920, when the 
brothers sold out in Beaver Dam and started a store in Hopkinsville. In 1905, 
Eddie Barnes opened up a store at Central City, which is still being conducted 
under the name of Barnes Mercantile Company. In 1936 the partner-brother of 
Eddie P. Barnes died. During that year, to somewhat lighten the labor, Mr. 
Barnes sold out a store he owned in Earlington, Kentucky. He continues to con- 
trol the establishments in Hopkinsville and Central City. 

Mr. Barnes was always a man of far-sighted vision, and this can be appreciated 
from the fact that back in 1911 he organized the Barnes Automobile Company. 
This company had the agency for Ford cars in five cities, and in the early days of 
the automobile that was certainly a matter of putting a lot of eggs in one basket. 
Mr. Barnes, however, was correct in his faith in the future of automobiles, and 
he was right on the future of the Ford. The five cities in which he had Ford 
automobile agencies were Beaver Dam, Central City, Greenville, Madisonvillc and 
Hopkinsville, all in Kentucky. The Barnes Automobile Company stayed under 
the control of Eddie Barnes from the time he organized the group in 1911 until 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2041 

he sold out his interest in 1942. He was, and still is, a director of the Beaver 
Dam Deposit Bank. 

In 1907, Eddie Porter Barnes was married to Adeline Davis Sublette, who was 
born in Ballard County, Kentucky. Mrs. Barnes was born Adeline Davis Sublette, 
and throughout her life has been known as "Dee." Her father, James Hinchey 
Sublette was an extensive tobacco grower in Ballard County, and was one of the 
first growers to flue cure his tobacco. He produced exceptionally fine grades of 
tobacco and often showed his crop at the surrounding fairs. At one time he sold 
his prize crop for $4.98 per pound. The Sublette family came to Kentucky from 
Virginia, where a town is named in honor of the family, and came to America from 
France. Mrs. Barnes' mother was Margaret Kuykendall, of Butler County, 
Kentucky. 

After completing the common schools, Mrs. Barnes attended Baptist College at 
Blandville, Ballard County, Kentucky, and beginning at the age of eighteen she 
taught school in Ballard County for fifteen years. In 1902 she was elected superin- 
tendent of the schools of Ballard County, and served for four years. Following 
this tenure of office she taught school in Elkton and was principal of the school at 
Nortonville. She was once a candidate for the office of State Librarian. 

Always active in public affairs, Mrs. Barnes became Social, Church and Edu- 
cational Editor on Dr. Greer's publication, "The Green River Country" and in 
1900 she travelled over the state making speeches in the interest of the candidacy 
of William Jennings Bryan and J. C. W. Beckham. In 1907 she was married to 
Mr. Barnes and went to Central City to make her home. 

Mrs. Barnes found Central City not exactly to her liking, but instead of criti- 
cizing and doing nothing she set about immediately to improve it. At that time 
there were ten saloons there but no schools. She organized the Woman's Club 
and the School Improvement Club and personally established the public library. 
She led in the local option fight which was successful in closing the saloons in 
Central City, and through her efforts two churches were built. 

After Mr. and Mrs. Barnes moved to Hopkinsville in 1921, Mrs. Barnes as- 
sisted in the organization of the first Woman's Club and in 1922 she was a dele- 
gate at large to the conference of Woman's Clubs at Chautauqua, New York. In 
1923-24 Mrs. Barnes made a tour around the world with the American Express 
Company. She brought back a royal costume from every country she visited as 
well as rare antique souvenirs and tapestry. Her hobby is gardening, and in 1933 
her garden took second prize in the contest sponsored by the Louisville Courier- 
Journal covering southern Indiana and Kentucky. 

Mr. Barnes has never had the time nor inclination to take any deep interest in 
politics, but he votes Democratic, and follows the course of government closely. 
The years have dealt kindly with Eddie Porter Barnes. He has lived a useful 
life, never gaining an advantage at the expense of another, and always ready with 
encouragement for those striving to get ahead. The name of Eddie Barnes is well 
known far beyond the confines of Hopkinsville or Christian County, and when 
men speak of him they praise him as a man whose recollection brings back pleasant 
memories. 



2042 A S E S Q U I- CENTENNIAL 



X 



JOHN POAGE STEWART, M.D. 



,he Stewart Home School was founded in 1893 by Dr. John 
Q. A. Stewart. His was the idea, and if we were to apply the saying of Ralph 
Waldo Emerson, "An institution is the lengthened shadow of one man," then we 
would agree that Dr. John Q. A. Stewart should be honored as a man of visions 
which have come true. That they have come true is due, however, in great part 
to the untiring life work of his son, Dr. John Poage Stewart, who was associated 
with his father in the beginnings of The Stewart Home School. The school had 
only been in existence for five years when Dr. John Q. A. Stewart died, and under 
his son, Dr. John Poage Stewart, the school has extended and been improved. Now 
that he also has died, his son, John D. Stewart, is carrying along the family tradi- 
tion and bringing into service an accumulated experience of many years. 

Dr. John Poage Stewart was born in Owensboro, Kentucky, on February 25, 1870, 
and he died on March 8, 1941. He attended Owensboro grade and high schools. 
After graduating from Centre College he attended Kentucky Military Institute, 
and later, in 1893, graduated in medicine with an M.D. degree from the University 
of Louisville, Louisville, Kentucky. Dr. John Poage Stewart's father was Dr. John 
Quincy Adams Stewart, and he was superintendent of the state institution for the 
feeble-minded for sixteen years, filling this position under four governors. Father 
and son combined in purchasing the property on which the Kentucky Military 
Institute was located and there, in 1893, the Stewart Home School was founded. 
After the death of his father in 1898, Dr. John Poage Stewart took complete 
charge, and from that time, by dint of hard work and close application, he built 
the institution up into its present-day position of eminence. 

The history of the five-hundred-acre estate occupied by the Stewart Home School 
dates back to the early part of the last century, when a man named Scanlan owned 
the property. He found some wonderful springs of medicinal quality, very much 
like that of the celebrated Cheltenham Springs in England. These mineral springs 
contain lime, magnesia, and iron, so blended by nature as to render them both 
tonic and corrective. The springs were called "Scanlan Springs" and later famous 
as "Franklin Springs," and they were extensively patronized for many years. This 
was then the first health and pleasure resort west of the Allegheny Mountains. 

The Stewart Home School is located on this estate, some six miles from Frank- 
fort, Kentucky. Nestling among the wooded hills and sweeping meadows, this 
peaceful estate is the essence of charm and protection. The Main or Executive 
Building was built in 1839 and is a typical old southern mansion — one of the few 
houses of that period still standing in this part of the country. Its inviting columns 
only suggest the hospitality within its doors, while just outside, the famous gingko 
trees spread their branches. The Stewart Home School is distinctively a home 
school for the care of children of retarded mental development. Such children 
cannot secure in ordinary schools the individual training that is necessary for them, 
especially when in contact with vigorous minds of fully developed children. At 
the Stewart Home School provision is made for children of any age above five 
years, and they receive mental and physical training and scientific guidance. Home 




JOHN POAGE STEWART, M.D. 



2044 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

influences are thrown around each child, and every means is employed to round 
out their lives in peace and happiness and develop them to a point where they 
will be a pleasure to both their parents and themselves. Dr. John Poage Stewart 
gathered together a group of specialists to assist him in the care and training of 
the children. Hence the Stewart Home School today fulfills the dreams of its 
founders; it offers such advantages as can be obtained only at a school specializing 
in this field, and in a setting and atmosphere that can nowhere be duplicated. 

Dr. John Poage Stewart was married in 1896 to Margaret Dowling, who was 
born in Lawrenceburg, Kentucky. They had four children. John Dowling 
Stewart was born at The Stewart Home School, in Franklin County, Kentucky, 
on July 4, 1897. He attended the public schools of Frankfort, Kentucky, and 
Culver Military Academy at Culver, Indiana. In 1920 he was graduated from 
Haverford School at Haverford, Pennsylvania, and joined his father at The 
Stewart Home School, acting as Superintendent of the institution. On the death 
of his father in 1941 John Dowling Stewart became the director of the school. 
He married Emma Adelia Witherspoon, of Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, and they 
have two children. Jean Hall Stewart was born at Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, on 
September 18, 1922. She attended Arlington Hall, Washington, D. C, and Mrs. 
Semple's Finishing School in New York, graduating in 1943. On August 9, 
1945 she was married to Lieutenant Bronston R. Redmon of the Army Air Forces. 
John Poage Stewart, Jr., was born in Frankfort, Kentucky, on July 4, 1927. 
He attended the Good Shepherd School at Frankfort, Kentucky, and is a graduate 
of Culver Military Academy, Culver, Indiana, which his father had previously 
attended. At present he is at Indiana State Teachers College as a member of 
the V-12 Unit of the United States Navy. John Dowling Stewart is a member 
of the Rotary Club of Frankfort, of which he is a past president. He is presently 
serving as a member of the Franklin County Board of the Office of Price Adminis- 
tration (Ration Board) . He is a communicant of the Catholic Church. 

The eldest daughter of Dr. John Poage Stewart, Mary Hall Stewart, was born 
at The Stewart Home School in 1900. She married Harry Joseph Mullin of 
Pittston, Pennsylvania. They now live in Louisville, Kentucky, with their four 
children: Harry Joseph Mullin, Jr., is now in the United States Army, but his 
three sisters, Peggy, Mary Stewart and Nancy Hall Mullin, are now at home. 
Dr. John Poage Stewart and Margaret (Dowling) Stewart had two other daugh- 
ters, Margaret and Mildred. Margaret Stewart married Douglas Vest of Car- 
rolltcn, Kentucky, who died December 31, 1933. His widow followed him in death 
May 30, 1938. Mildred Stewart is now Mrs. Mason Hughes of Louisville, Ken- 
tucky. 

Dr. John Poage Stewart was the vice-president and a member of the board of 
directors of The New Capitol Hotel in Frankfort. In 1929, when the great de- 
pression hit, the hotel failed and Dr. Stewart took over the management of it. 
He continued in its management for five years and safely brought it through 
these trying years. Dr. Stewart was a charter member of the Frankfort Rotary Club 
and served one year as its president. He was an ardent Rotarian and attended 
many of their "Internationals" in America and in Europe. He was a member of 




JOHN D. STEWART 



2046 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

the Pendennis Club of Louisville, and was a member of the board of deacons of 
the Presbyterian Church in Frankfort for many years. 

Dr. John Poage Stewart devoted his life to the welfare of children who, except 
for such an institution as he created and such intelligent care and peaceful sur- 
roundings as he provided for them could never have lived happy or useful lives. 
His life was well spent; many homes are happier and lives are brighter because of 
the untiring efforts and patient understanding of Dr. John Poage Stewart in the 
administration of The Stewart Home School. 



CLARENCE MITCHELL KINDOLL 



A 



prominent land owner and farmer of Owen County, and well 
known in the tobacco industry in central Kentucky, Clarence M. Kindoll makes 
his home in Lexington when the demands of the tobacco industry call him and is 
well known in the capital of the Blue Grass. He is yet a young man, but has a 
place among the best business minds of the community and is progressively ad- 
vancing in developing his agricultural interests. He has an unqualified hold upon 
people who know him and his counsel is considered worthy in the industry in 
which he is engaged. 

Clarence Mitchell Kindoll was born in Owen County, Kentucky, November 
28, 1907, and is one of two children born to Walter Kindoll and Ruth (Mitchell) 
Kindoll, the sister of the subject being Mrs. Vernon Scott Gentry, wife of Dr. 
Vernon Gentry, head of the Physical Science Department of Georgetown Col- 
lege, Georgetown, Kentucky. The father was a farmer and tobacco grower of 
Owen County, and one of the founders of the Anglin Avenue Tobacco Warehouse 
Company. He was born in Carroll County, Kentucky, as was the mother, and 
died in Owen County in 1940. Clarence Kindoll attended the public schools and 
graduated from the high school at Wheatley in Owen County in 1926. In the 
fall of the same year he entered the College of Agriculture of the University of 
Kentucky and graduated in 1930. He was a member of Alpha Gamma Rho fra- 
ternity and Alpha Zeta honorary society. Upon graduation he returned to Owen 
County, Kentucky, and joined his father in farming the 230 acre family farm, 
and after the death of his parent in 1940 continued his agricultural activities, being 
so engaged at this time, operating altogether 1500 acres of land in Owen County, 
Kentucky. He grows tobacco, the usual Kentucky crops and is seriously en- 
gaged in breeding registered cattle, favoring Hereford cattle and Southdown sheep. 

In 1939, he became Secretary of the Anglin Avenue Tobacco Warehouse Com- 
pany and in 1940, at the death of his father, was also made Treasurer of the 
corporation. In 1939, he was appointed Superintendent of the sheep department 
of the Kentucky State Fair and has served in this capacity for four successive 
years. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Citizens Bank of 
New Liberty, Kentucky. Politically, the subject is a Democrat and effectively 
supports the policies of that party, while in religion he holds membership in Dallas- 
burg Baptist Church. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity. He devotes his 
spare time to bird hunting and other outdoor sports and acquits himself creditably 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2047 

in the field. On October 14, 1937, he was married to Elizabeth Purdy, of New 
Liberty, Kentucky. 

Clarence M. Kindoll is an outstanding example of the Kentucky agriculturist 
of the twentieth century. He retains his love of the land, makes it his home but 
has equipped himself with knowledge of modern methods and pursues up-to-date 
practices that draw from his acres material prosperity. He also interests himself 
in affairs around him and makes the welfare of his community one of his chief 
concerns. He is present in Lexington during the height of the burley season in 
December and January, but at other times is at home on his farm in Owen County. 



A 



MATT MARTIN CLAY, JR. 



young man who is carving a future in the tobacco industry is 
Matt Martin Clay, Jr., who makes his business headquarters in Paris, Kentucky, 
and his home in Lexington, where he has resided for a decade and a half and made 
many friends. 

The father of Matt Martin Clay, Jr., was Matt Martin Clay, Sr., a civil engi- 
neer of Bourbon County, Kentucky, a graduate of the College of Engineering of 
the University of Kentucky, who moved to Wyoming in 1904, the subject being 
born in Laramie, that state, November 10, 1911. The father returned with his 
family to Lexington, Kentucky, and died there in 1935. The grandfather on the 
paternal side was William Henry Clay, of Bourbon County, Kentucky. The 
mother was Florence Bruen (Ingels) Clay, of Maysville, Mason County, Kentucky, 
and a second son is Captain Evan Ingels Clay of the United States Army, at- 
tached to headquarters division of the 15th Army Corps, his birth occurring Jan- 
uary 10, 1918. This subject attended private schools for his early education, matric- 
ulating at Miss Gretta West's private school in Chattanooga, Tennessee, and in 
the first of the nineteen twenties, when the family established itself in Lexington, 
attended Miss Lacy Collins' school in that city. He graduated from the Lexington 
High School in 1928, and took the course at the College of Commerce of the 
University of Kentucky. Upon completing work at the University he joined his 
father in business in Lexington, and engaged with him in building construction 
activities, continuing in this work until the death of the parent in 1935. He 
then became associated with the American Suppliers Company, Incorporated, a 
subsidiary of the American Tobacco Company. He travels in Kentucky, Georgia, 
Virginia and North Carolina, attending to affairs incident to the bright burley 
tobacco industry, for his company and the parent corporation, and is foreman of 
the Paris Prizery of the American Tobacco Company in Paris, Kentucky. Mr. 
Clay is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, and active in the different 
phases of church work. Politically he embraces the philospohy of the Democratic 
party, and is one of the prominent young democrats of the Blue Grass section. 
He is a member of the Lexington Country Club and gives much attention to 
tennis, being better than an average man on the courts of that sport. 

On November 26, 1939, Matt Martin Clay and Malinda Owsley Bush were 
married, she being a daughter of James Richard Bush. Mrs. Bush died May 16, 
1943. The couple were blessed with one child, Malinda Bush Clay, who was born 



2048 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

November 25, 1940. The family residence is at 221 South Ashland Avenue in 
Lexington, Kentucky. 

Matt M. Clay has a distinguished background, a responsible position with a 
corporation engaged in one of the principal products of the state. He measures 
up to his responsibilities on all counts, and his personal assets assure him success, 
and have made for him friends throughout the territory to which his business 
commitments call him. 

CHARLES E. DUFF 

_Lhe management of 2,650 acres of farm land in Bath and Mont- 
gomery Counties, Kentucky, furnishes the occupation of Charles E. Duff. Mr. 
Duff showed the capacity for farm management on a large scale while he was still 
a very young man. A short time after he left school he was running a farm of 
620 acres, and he has always made his farm operations pay out in a very satis- 
factory manner. He is able to arrange his affairs in such an efficient manner that 
there is still time left to devote to the Farmers Co-operative Stock Yards of Mt. 
Sterling, of which he is vice-president, and also to attend to his duties as director 
of the Farmers Tobacco Warehouse of Mt. Sterling. 

Charles E. Duff is a native of Montgomery County, Kentucky, where he has 
spent his entire life. His father, J. C. B. Duff, was born in Wolfe County, Ken- 
tucky, in 1856. J. C. B. Duff lived on a farm in Wolfe County until he was 
sixteen years of age, when he moved to Montgomery County. He operated a mer- 
cantile business in addition to a farm, and was only forty years old when he died 
in 1896. He was married to Emma Perry, who was born in Morgan County, 
Kentucky, in 1858. Mrs. Emma (Perry) Duff, the mother of Charles E. Duff, 
is still (1945) living in Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, at the age of eighty-seven. 

Charles E. Duff was born on April 16, 1879. He attended the public schools of 
Montgomery County and The Hazel Green Academy of Wolfe County, Kentucky. 
He was only sixteen years old when his father died, and the task of liquidating the 
affairs of the mercantile business conducted by his father fell to his hands. While 
he was doing thi?, he was also managing a farm of 620 acres. The business of farm 
management, which he began at such an early age, has been his life work; at the 
present time Charles E. Duff is in charge of approximately 3,000 acres of land, 
on which he raises pure-bred Hereford cattle, having one of the largest herds 
in Kentucky. His interest in the Farmers Co-operative Stock Yards of Mt. Sterl- 
ing is an outgrowth of his extensive cattle-raising operations. Mr. Duff is vice- 
president of the Farmers Co-operative Stock Yards of which he was one of the 
incorporators. He is also a director in the Farmers Tobacco Warehouse of Mt. 
Sterling. Mr. Duff was one of sixteen men who organized and built in 1912 the 
first loose leaf tobacco warehouse in Mt. Sterling. 

The marriage of Charles E. Duff and Elizabeth Pieratt took place in 1900. 
Mrs. Duff, who was born in Morgan County, Kentucky, is a daughter of the late 
Senator J. M. Pieratt. Mr. and Mrs. Charles E. Duff are the parents of one 
daughter, Virginia Rose, who was born in Montgomery County, Kentucky. She 




CHARLES E. DUFF 



2050 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

attended the public schools of Montgomery County and was graduated from the 
Mt. Sterling High School, and from the University of Kentucky. Virginia Rose 
Duff is now Mrs. Sidney J. Calk, of Mt. Sterling, Kentucky. Mr. Calk is a 
descendent of one of the pioneer families of Kentucky, being a direct descendent 
of William Calk, one of the first settlers of Montgomery County. The Duff 
family worships at the Christian Church, of which Mr. Duff is a Deacon. 

Mr. Duff is a prominent member of the Democratic party in Montgomery 
County; for many years he has been the Democratic County Chairman. He also 
served for one term as sheriff of Montgomery County. The fraternal organiza- 
tions to which he belongs are the Masonic Order, Knights Templar, and Odd 
Fellow. He is also a member of the Farm Bureau. 



WILLIAM CARL SPARKS 



W4 



'illiam Carl Sparks was born in Union County, Kentucky, on 
July 12, 1899. He grew up in Morganfield, where he attended public school and 
high school. When he was eighteen years old, war was declared, and Carl Sparks 
enlisted in the Army of the United States. Following demobilization, he went to 
Paducah, where he secured employment with a grain company. In 1922, he se- 
cured employment with the Lack Limestone Company of Princeton. In 1926, 
Mr. Sparks purchased the business of the Lack Limestone Company and has op- 
erated it under the firm name of Cedar Bluff Quarry since that date. Cedar Bluff 
Quarry was originally opened in 1899 and has been one of the largest producers of 
crushed limestone and agricultural limestone in Kentucky. 

Carl Sparks is a director and regional vice president of the National Crushed 
Stone Association. He is a member of the Advisory Committee on limeing ma- 
terials to the War Food Administration. As a member of Princeton City Council, 
he served during a particularly progressive period when streets, sewerage systems 
and a water works were built or extended. He has been a member of the Caldwell 
County Selective Service Board since the passage of the Selective Service Act. 
Mr. Sparks is vice-president of the Farmers National Bank of Princeton, and is 
also treasurer of the Princeton Golf and Country Club. He is a member of the 
American Legion and of the Princeton Kiwanis Club. 

On October 18, 1924, Carl Sparks was married to Anne Robertson. She is a 
native of Paducah, Kentucky, although at the time of their marriage she was living 
in Tarrytown, New York. They have two children, Suzanne and William C. 
Sparks, Jr. Mrs. Sparks is active in war work, being Chairman of the Surgical 
Dressing Unit of the American Red Cross for Caldwell County. She is a member 
of the Gradatim Club, which is devoted to literary studies. 

Carl Sparks' father, William B. Sparks, was a native of Union County. He 
was a leading business man, and for many years was vice president of the Morgan- 
field National Bank. He served as a member of the City Council of Morganfield, 
and also as a member of the Board of Education. He is now deceased. His 
mother, Lutie (Carr) Sparks, also a native of Union County, is now living in 
Morganfield. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2051 



CARL SGONINA 



N, 



icotine is the most generally used insecticide available for the 
protection of plant and animal life and the largest producer of this basic sub- 
stance is the American Nicotine Company, located at Henderson, Kentucky. The 
subject of this review is general manager of the company and by giving his full 
and fullest interests to its affairs and processes has expanded the field of its ac- 
tivities to include all the United States. 

Carl Sgonina was born in Prague, Bohemia in 1883 and received his education 
in the schools of that Capitol and in the University of Prague and the University 
of Berlin where his major work was of a technical nature. After completing his 
university work he engaged in the business of designing and manufacturing 
pneumatic rock drills. He arrived in America in 1920 and located in Henderson, 
where he has made his business and personal home since. He purchased the busi- 
ness and title of the American Nicotine Company, and brought to it much tech- 
nical training and manufacturing knowledge. He has been able to so greatly 
improve the processes for making nicotine that the business has grown to propor- 
tions not dreamed of at the beginning, and its ramifications extend throughout 
the entire country. Approximately seventy-five per cent of the output of the 
company is now required by the United States Government as war effort material. 
Mr. Sgonina was married in Europe, in 1910, to Bessie Mabel Coles, a native of 
South Wales, where her birth occurred April 1, 1889. She died in Henderson, 
Kentucky, in 1939, and her remains were cremated and returned to the land of her 
birth for preservation. The father of this subject was John Sgonina, and he was 
born in Prague, Bohemia in 1849, and died in the same city in 1897. He was a 
talented mechanical engineer. The mother was Josephine (Gersler) Sgonina, 
who was born in Prague, Bohemia, in 1852, and died in that city in 1912. 

Carl Sgonina brought to the land of his adoption not only talent supplemented 
by technical training, but all the attributes of a man gentle by nature and kind in 
heart. A Christian, a consistent member of the Episcopal Church, he has ever 
been ready to help with his time and means the work of his faith and of all other 
faiths. He has made friends among the people of Henderson, and won the highest 
respect of all with whom he has been thrown. A good citizen from one of the 
great liberty loving lands of Central Europe, he has established himself as a good 
citizen here. A community that can add men like him to its numbers is to be 
congratulated. 



HAROLD STONE MOBERLY 



H, 



.arold Stone Moberly, of Moberly, Kentucky, is the present 
sheriff of Madison County, Kentucky. He took office on January 5, 1942, after 
varied positions in civic life which made him well fitted for this post. No doubt 
the physical attributes which made him a star football and baseball player in 
his high school and college days are also a decided asset to him in his position 
as the chief law enforcing agent of Madison County. And the fact that he was 



2052 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

born in Madison County and has lived there most of his life is an added factor 
of value. 

Harold Moberly was born in Moberly, Kentucky, on April 9, 1907. His 
father, R. K. Moberly, was born in Estill County, Kentucky, in 1877. He was 
a farmer all his life, and in addition was for many years the postmaster at 
Moberly, Kentucky; he is now retired. R. K. Moberly married Bessie Broaddus, 
who was born in Moberly, Kentucky, in 1879, and Harold Stone Moberly is 
a child of this union. Mrs. Bessie (Broaddus) Moberly still resides in the town 
of Moberly. 

The early education of Harold Stone Moberly was received in the schools of 
Oakland, Kentucky, and Waco, Kentucky. He then attended the high school 
at Union City for one year, and the Madison High School at Richmond, Ken- 
tucky for three years. In 1925, he played on the Madison High School football 
team which won the championship of Central Kentucky. This team was un- 
defeated on the home field for three years. Harold Moberly also distinguished 
himself on the basketball court while he was in high school. When he went on 
to Eastern College, which he attended for two years, he was also on the football 
and basketball teams, and was considered one of the best athletes in the school. 

In 1927, Harold Stone Moberly took two important steps. He bought a 
farm near Moberly, Kentucky, and to it he brought his young bride. Mrs. 
Harold Stone Moberly was the former Janie Clouse, of Richmond, Kentucky. Mr. 
and Mrs. Moberly now have four children. Harold Moberly, Jr., was born on 
May 28, 1929, in Richmond, Kentucky. Jane Rice Moberly was born in 
December, 1930, Elizabeth Hume Moberly was born in the same month eight 
years later, December, 1938; and Judy Kay Moberly completed the family circle 
on July 1, 1941. All three girls were born in Moberly. 

Harold Moberly spent all of his time and energy in the operation of his 
farm until 1932, when he went to Frankfort to act as a guard in the state re- 
formatory. In 1936, he returned to the farm; in 1938 he took a job with the 
State Highway Patrol. He continued working with the State Highway Patrol 
until 1941, when he entered the race for the post of sheriff of Madison County. 
He was the successful candidate in the election, and took office on January 5, 1942. 

The fraternal organization in which Mr. Moberly is most interested is the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is also a member of the Flatwoods 
Christian Church. 

HON. JAMES MARSHALL COLLINS, JR. 

James Marshall Collins, Jr., mayor of Maysville, Kentucky, has 
given that city strong and efficient government. Economies have been effected 
without the sacrifice of service. When Mayor Collins took office in January, 1942, 
he found the city owed the sum of $120,000.00. He also was aware that the city 
never did run a complete year on a pay-as-you-go basis, but always borrowed money 
that added on to an ever-mounting indebtedness. Within two years the $120,000.00 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2053 

debt was all paid off; the city affairs were being run efficiently and well with no 
new borrowing, and the city of Maysville actually had a cash balance in its favor 
with all bills paid. Mayor Collins is a man with an unusual background of educa- 
tion and experience which coupled with his personal qualities of initiative and 
leadership made his record possible. After leaving school James Collins was 
superintendent of a construction company for a period of five years. Following 
this he studied law, and was eventually associated with his father in practice. 
During his years of study James Collins attended schools in three states, Ken- 
tucky, Wisconsin and Ohio. He well deserves the honor his fellow citizens con- 
ferred on him as mayor of the city in which he was born. 

James Marshall Collins, Jr., was born in Maysville, Kentucky on August 13, 
1903. His father, James Marshall Collins was born in Mason County, Kentucky, 
in 1867 and died in 1940. He was a noted lawyer and received his education at 
St. Mary's College of Lebanon, Kentucky, and Georgetown University of Wash- 
ington, D. C, from which latter institution he received his LL.D. The mother 
of James Marshall Collins, Jr., was Mary (Walton) Collins. She was born in 
1867 and died in 1931. 

The early education of James Collins was received at the parochial school of 
Maysville, Kentucky. Thereafter he attended Campion College, Prairie du Chien, 
Wisconsin, and also was a student at the school his father had attended, St. Mary's 
College of Lebanon, Kentucky. After graduation, James Collins went with the 
E. K. Newell Construction Company, holding a position as superintendent. He 
stayed with this company for five years, then returned to Maysville and studied 
law in his father's office. After preliminary training and study of the fundamentals 
of law, he enrolled at Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio and passed the bar 
examination in 1932. Returning to Maysville once more, he became associated with 
his father under the firm name of Collins & Collins. 

In 1941, James Collins was elected to be mayor of Maysville, Kentucky, and 
took office in January, 1942. When Mayor Collins took office he was faced with 
a city debt of $120,000.00. In previous administrations the debt was added to 
each year as the city had not existed on its income for a long time. Under Mayor 
Collins the city borrowed no money, but reversed the previous trend by earning 
enough to pay off the existing debt, and there is now a cash balance in the city 
treasury. Maysville, under Mayor Collins, has a record of co-operating to the 
fullest extent with all war drives and government projects connected with the war 
effort. 

In 1937, James Marshall Collins, Jr., married Ann O'Neill, who was born in 
Mason County, Kentucky, on March 14, 1903. She was the daughter of Martin 
O'Neill, a prominent farmer of Mason County, Kentucky. Mr. and Mrs. James 
Collins are the parents of two children, a daughter and a son. The daughter, 
Mary Nell Collins, was born in Maysville, Kentucky, on September 2, 1939. The 
son, James Marshall Collins, III, was born in Maysville, Kentucky, on September 
24, 1943. Mr. and Mrs. James Collins are communicants of the Catholic Church. 

18— Vol. IV 



2054 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

JOE ROGERS RICHARDSON 

1 he Glasgow Times has never suffered from long-distance control 
or quick-changing ownership. It has continuously, during its long life from 1865 
onward, come under the benign influence of personal journalism and it is now the 
oldest business in Barren County. Joe Rogers Richardson, the present editor and 
publisher, has been in control since 1915, when he was twenty-six years old. His 
father, James M. Richardson, took the editorial chair at the age of twenty, so 
that The Times has benefited under long guidance by men whose first pride and 
interest were in the newspaper they published. There can be little wonder that the 
newspaper bears the unmistakable stamp of character and exerts an influence far 
beyond the confines of the city of Glasgow. The son, like the father, is a notable 
man, wide in his vision, tolerant in his views, and a true leader of the people. 
Today The Glasgow Times, under the editorial leadership of Joe Rogers Richardson, 
is as vigorous as at any time in its long career. Many honors have come the way 
of Mr. Richardson from city and state, but none have been more deserved than 
that conferred on him in 1944 when he was elected President of the Kentucky 
Press Association. 

Joe Rogers Richardson was born in Glasgow, Kentucky, on March 26, 1889. 
His father, James M. Richardson, was born in Mobile, Alabama, on July 1, 1858. 
He was the son of Rev. James M. and Mary F. (Woods) Richardson, who were 
born in Louisiana and Kentucky, respectively. The parents were married at Glas- 
gow, Kentucky, and the family home was established at Mobile, Alabama, where 
the father was a Presbyterian minister until the inception of the War Between the 
States. Rev. James M. Richardson was a gallant soldier in the Confederate Army, 
in which he served with credit and distinction until the battle of Kenesaw Mountain, 
where he sacrificed his life for the cause he believed to be just. 

James M. Richardson was an only child, and after the death of his father he 
was sent to Glasgow, Kentucky, where he made his home with his uncle, Dr. John 
D. Woods. On concluding his education he went to work on The Glasgow 
Times. At the age of twenty years he was named editor of the newspaper. 
In 1896 he was honored by his fellow men with election to the state legislature, 
and in 1900 he was elected to the office of prison commissioner. He was chosen 
as his own successor as prison commissioner in 1904, and served with efficiency 
in that capacity until 1907, in which year he resigned in order to assume the 
responsibilities of congressman, having been elected to represent the Third District 
of Kentucky in Congress for one term. After returning to Glasgow, he again 
assumed charge of his paper, which was already being recognized as one of 
the finest and most influential papers in that section of Kentucky. 

The mother of Joe Rogers Richardson, present-day editor and publisher of The 
Glasgow Times, is Loulie Porter (Rogers) Richardson. She was born and reared 
in Barren County, Kentucky, and was a daughter of John T. and Olivia (Lewis) 
Rogers, of Barren County. Mrs. Richardson was a granddaughter of Colonel 
Edmund Rogers, a pioneer surveyor of the section of Kentucky south of Green 
River and a distinguished soldier of the Revolutionary War, as was also his 




JOE ROGERS RICHARDSON 



2056 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

brother, Captain John Rogers, who was a member of the Society of Cincinnatus. 
Colonel Rogers was a double cousin of George Rogers Clark, of Revolutionary 
fame, and of his brother William Clark, of the famous Lewis and Clark Expedi- 
tion. He was a great grandson of Colonel William Byrd, who came to Virginia 
from England in the year 1674 and who was at one time burgess of Henrico County 
in the Old Dominion. Colonel William Byrd married Mary Horsmanden, 
through whom the Rogers family is descended from the Percys, Nevilles, Vauxs, 
Beauchamps and St. Legers — Normans who accompanied William the Conqueror 
on his raid into England. In the maternal line Mrs. Richardson was descended 
from John Lewis, who emigrated from Wales to Virginia about the year 1640 
and whose sons, John and William, were granted large tracts of land in Henrico 
and Goochland Counties in Virginia. She was a niece of General Joseph H. Lewis, 
who commanded the immortal "Orphan Brigade" in the Civil War. Mrs. Rich- 
ardson is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution and is a promi- 
nent factor in church and social work at Glasgow. 

Joe Rogers Richardson was one of a family of nine children. He received his 
education in the schools of his home town and then went to Chicago, where he 
became associated with the Mergenthaler Linotype Company. This was in 1908, 
and for seven years Mr. Richardson traveled out of Chicago representing his com- 
pany as an expert linotype operator and mechanic. His travels took him into all 
kinds of printing plants, and he became friendly with publishers scattered through- 
out the Middle West. He acquired a wealth of knowledge and ideas concerning 
every phase of the publishing business. In 1915 he came back to Glasgow to take 
charge of The Glasgow Times. He was young, only twenty-six years old, but 
he had an unusual background of mechanical experience and an inherited talent 
for editorial work. The Glasgow Times, under his direction, has been a public- 
spirited newspaper, sponsoring many projects that have been of decided value to 
the community. 

Outside of his immediate newspaper field, Mr. Richardson has also been promi- 
nent. He served under four governors on the Kentucky National Park Commis- 
sion, and is a former vice-chairman of this commission. He was a member of the 
Operating Committee in charge of hotels and caves of Mammoth Cave National 
Park Area. In addition he is a member of the legislative committee of the Na- 
tional Editorial Association and a member of the Advisory Board of that same 
organization. 

In 1935 Joe Rogers Richardson was appointed by President Roosevelt as post- 
master of Glasgow, Kentucky. He was director of the Fourth District Air Mail 
Drive of the Kentucky National Association of Postmasters. He also was Fourth 
District chairman of the membership drive for this association. As a delegate 
to the St. Paul convention of the National Association of Postmasters, Mr. Rich- 
ardson was appointed a member of the important Resolutions Committee. 

Mr. Richardson is a former member of the Kentucky National Recovery Board 
and was Fourth District director of that group. He was a member or the 
National Emergency Council for Kentucky. His activity in promotion of athletics 
brought recognition with his appointment as vice-president of the Committee 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2057 

of Kentucky State Athletics Board of Control. He was formerly deputy secretary 
of this group. Until the press of other appointments grew too heavy, Mr. Rich- 
ardson was chairman of Barren County Red Cross, and also publicity director for 
this group. He was also the chairman of Barren County Federal Re-employment 
Commission. Mr. Richardson is a Democrat and is a former chairman of the 
Democratic Executive Committee of Barren County. He is a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. He is also a member of the board directing infantile paralysis 
work in Kentucky. 

In his own home town, Joe Richardson has always been an active as well as a 
journalistic leader. At one time he held office as secretary-treasurer of the Glasgow 
Rotary Club; and later as vice-president of the Glasgow Chamber of Commerce. 
At present he is a director of the Glasgow Chamber of Commerce. He is a mem- 
ber of the Glasgow Rotary Club and served for many years on the directorate of 
that organization. At the May (1945) meeting of this club Mr. Richardson was 
elected its president for 1945-46. This club is one of the strongest in the state with 
seventy-four members. 

Joe Rogers Richardson was honored by election to the presidency of the Ken- 
tucky Press Association in 1944. He was a former vice-president, and served on 
the Executive Committee for eighteen years. Some years ago he served as a 
member of the Code and Fair Practices Committee of Graphic Arts of Kentucky. 

Mr. Richardson has one daughter, Olivia, born in Chicago, Illinois. She is 
now married to H. A. Hayes of Glasgow, Kentucky. They have two children, Joe 
David Hayes, born in Glasgow in 1939, and Olivia Ann Hayes, born in Glasgow 
in 1940. 



KIRK PATRICK BYRN 



Th 



.he longest-established funeral directing establishment in 
Graves County is owned and operated by Kirk Patrick Byrn. Originally the 
business was operated at Mayfield, Kentucky under the name of W. H. Draffen 
& Son. It was bought by Mr. Byrn in 1921; he had a partner connected with him 
for a few years, but bought out his partner in 1925, and since that time he has 
been the sole proprietor of the business. Of late years his son, Kirk Patrick Byrn, 
Jr., has been associated with him. Both Mr. Byrn and his son are thoroughly 
trained, licensed funeral directors, and they are able to serve the Mayfield com- 
munity in a highly satisfactory manner. 

Kirk Patrick Byrn is the grandson of James Riley Byrn, who came to America 
from Ireland and settled in North Carolina. His father, James Riley Byrn, Jr., 
was born in Tennessee. His mother, Emily (Oliver) Byrn was a native of Chris- 
tian County, Kentucky. Her parents were John and Mary (Wilson) Oliver, 
both of whom were born in Halifax County, Virginia. Kirk Patrick Byrn was 
born on July 11, 1882, on his father's farm in Graves County, Kentucky. 

The Byrn family lived on the farm until Kirk Patrick was fourteen years old. 
He attended the rural schools, and in 1896, when his family moved to Mayfield, 
he went to work driving a transfer wagon, hauling tobacco, brick and coal. For 
a time he sold buggies and wagons for W. E. Shelton. His first business venture 



2058 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

was the purchase of a half interest in a livery stable in conjunction with Otto 
Albritton. Farming occupied his time for a few years; then he returned to May- 
field and was in the tobacco* business. An abrupt end came to his tobacco business 
when the Night Riders burned the establishment. 

In 1921, Kirk Patrick Byrn bought the funeral directing business of W. H. 
Draffen & Son, the oldest establishment of its kind in the county. The business 
was originally operated by Mr. Byrn in connection with a partner, but in a few 
years his partner retired, and Mr. Byrn assumed full ownership and control in 
1925. He studied the business thoroughly, and is a licensed funeral director. 

Kirk Patrick Byrn married Edith Stevenson, daughter of Lenance Stevenson, on 
December 10, 1912. Edith (Stevenson) Byrn was born and reared in Graves 
County. Mr. and Mrs. Byrn are the parents of three children. Kirk Patrick, Jr., 
attended Kentucky Military Institute and the Riverside Military Academy; he 
is a graduate of Gupton Jones School of Embalming in Nashville, and is now 
associated with his father in the conduct of his business. Kirk Patrick Byrn 
married Flora Martin Robbins, and they have one daughter, Edith Gayle. Char- 
lotte Byrn now lives in Louisville, and Lucy Flint Byrn is at home with her parents. 
The family worships at the Presbyterian Church, of which Mr. Byrn is a deacon, 
and in the affairs of which Mrs. Byrn is also very active. 

Mr. Byrn is very active in associations connected with his profession. It was he 
who brought the convention of the National Funeral Directors Association to 
Louisville. In 1937-38, Mr. Byrn was president of the Kentucky Funeral Directors 
Association, and he is still on the Board of Directors of that organization. He is 
also a past president of the West Kentucky Funeral Directors Association, and is 
a member of National Selected Morticians. He joined the International Order 
of Odd Fellows when he was twenty-one years old, and has been an active member 
of that fraternal body since that time. Mr. Byrn belongs to the Mayfield Chamber 
of Commerce. 

A man who has spent his boyhood on a farm usually continues to have a love 
for the soil. Mr. Byrn lived on a farm until he was fourteen years old; now he 
owns a farm two miles north of Mayfield, where he raises cattle and hogs. 



PATRICK JOSEPH MURPHY 

.Louring his lifetime, Patrick Joseph Murphy had the satisfaction 
of seeing the business, which he had started in a very small way, grow to be one 
of the leading enterprises in his native city of Maysville, Kentucky. Upon his 
death in 1933, the business was continued in the capable hands of a son and a 
daughter who had been associated with him in its operation for many years. Five 
sons, three daughters and ten grandchildren were left to mourn the passing of a 
man who has wrought well and faithfully all the days of his life. 

Patrick Joseph Murphy was born in Maysville, Kentucky, in 1861; he died in 
the city of his birth on June 15, 1933, having lived two years more than the allotted 
three score years and ten. Patrick Murphy was but one generation removed from 
Ireland, where his father, John Murphy, had been born. John Murphy came to 
America as a young man, not so many years before the Civil War, and settled in 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2059 

Maysville, Kentucky. The combined occupations of farmer and coal merchant 
secured a comfortable living for Mr. and Mrs. John Murphy and the nine 
children who were born to them. 

One of the nine children of Mr. and Mrs. John Murphy was Patrick Joseph 
Murphy. He attended the Maysville public schools and then started work with 
a local jewelry firm. Patrick Murphy was seventeen years old when he started 
in the jewelry business; five years later, at the age of twenty-two, he bought out 
the business of his employer, and started in business for himself in a very modest 
way. The business prospered; gradual increase in business and resultant profits 
enabled him to purchase the building in which his jewelry establishment was located, 
and for the span of half a century he continued in the same business, in the same 
location, well-established, well-liked and well-known throughout all the surrounding 
countryside. 

Mamie Fitzgerald, who was born in Maysville, Kentucky on April 29, 1862, 
became the wife of Patrick Joseph Murphy and the mother of his ten children. 
Eight of these children are still living; two of them, William F. Murphy and his 
sister, Lucile, are continuing to carry on the business established by their father. 
The first child born to Patrick and Mamie (Fitzgerald) Murphy was J. Gerald 
Murphy, who was born in March, 1890, and who is now married to the former 
Corina Slye, of Maysville, Kentucky, and the father of three children, Frances 
Louise, J. Gerald Murphy, Jr., and Ruth. William F. Murphy, who is now in 
charge of the jewelry business, was born in Maysville on April 12, 1892. He 
married Mary Murphy, also of Maysville, and they have five children, Patrick 
Joseph Murphy, II, Ella Mae, Margaret Rose, William F. Murphy, Jr., and Joan 
Lucille. His association with the jewelry business dates back to 1912, when he 
first started working for his father. The third son in the family of Mr. and Mrs. 
Patrick Murphy was Charles E. Murphy, who was born in Maysville in 1893. 

Of his three children, two are now living: Mary Loretta and Charlotte Ann. 
Lucile C. Murphy, who was born in Maysville in 1894, is now operating the family 
business in conjunction with her brother, William F. Murphy. There were two 
other daughters in the family: Agnes Murphy, who was born in 1895, and Louise 
Murphy, who was born in 1896. Louise Murphy is now Mrs. George C. Devine. 
Frank P. Murphy was born in Maysville, Kentucky, in 1897. 



I 



JAMES BIGGS LAWSON 



ames Biggs Lawson owns and operates a hardware business in 
Greenup County which was originally established by his father over fifty years 
ago. For fifteen years James Lawson was associated with his father in operation 
of the business; for fifteen more years he has been its sole owner. Since the 
outbreak of World War II, Mr. Lawson has devoted all his free time to the war 
effort. As chairman of the OPA Board and vice chairman of the Red Cross, he 
helps keep the home front operating smoothly and efficiently. Both his son and 
his son-in-law are serving in the Navy of the United States of America. 



2060 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

James Biggs Lawson was born in Greenup County, Kentucky, on April 7, 1896. 
His father, John Taylor Lawson, was born in Greenup County, Kentucky, in 
1858 and died in 1929. He established a hardware business in Greenup, Kentucky 
in 1891. Mr. Lawson was an active and popular figure in politics. In 1909 he 
served as sheriff. The mother of James Biggs Lawson was Ella Humphrey (Biggs) 
Lawson. She was born in Greenup, Kentucky, in 1860 and died in 1904. 

James B. Lawson was one of a family of seven children. He attended public 
school in Greenup County, and graduated from high school. 

In 1914, James Lawson entered the hardware business with his father, and 
since the death of his father, in 1929, he has been in control of the business. Mr. 
Lawson is a past director of the First National Bank of Greenup, Kentucky. 

James B. Lawson was married in 1921 to Pearl Diedrich, who was born in 
Greenup, Kentucky. They have three children, two daughters and one son. The 
oldest daughter, Mary Emily Lawson, was born in Greenup, Kentucky on Septem- 
ber 26, 1922. She is married to Jack R. Thompson of Greenup, Kentucky. He 
is now serving in the United States Navy. The son, John T. Lawson, was born 
in Greenup, Kentucky on January 5, 1925. He is now serving in the United 
States Navy. The youngest daughter, Lucy Biggs Lawson, was born in Greenup, 
Kentucky, on January 22, 1932. 

Mrs. Lawson's father, John Diedrich, was born in Greenup County, Kentucky, 
and died in 1942. He was a farmer. Her mother, Mary (Thompson) Diedrich, 
was born in Greenup, Kentucky, and that is where she continues to make her home. 

James Biggs Lawson has always been a public-spirited citizen, interested in 
furthering what seems best for the community. Since the war he has given his 
time and energy to help push the war effort forward. As chairman of the board 
of the Office of Price Administration he has been consistently fair and reasonable, 
and is patient and considerate in smoothing out difficulties and misunderstandings. 
He is also vice-chairman of the Red Cross, and although this does take a great 
deal of Mr. Lawson's time, he feels that it is time well spent if his efforts can help 
smooth out the rough road to victory. 



J. 



JAMES ROY BOND 



Roy Bond was born at Caneyville on the 24th of June, 1879. 
His parents were Thomas McCreary Bond and Amanda Caroline Bond (nee Wil- 
son). Roy Bond grew up with his brothers and sister (Oscar, William and Sudie 
Bond Stuart) in this rural community where he attended the local grade schools. 
He later graduated from the Male High School in Louisville and the University 
of Louisville Law School. 

On the 20th of June, 1905, he married Carrie Showers of Elizabcthtown, Ken- 
tucky. They had four children — Elizabeth Caroline, Allen Maxwell, Louise 
Morrow and Sudie Stuart Bond. Elizabeth, born in 1906, attended the public 
school in Elizabcthtown, Kentucky. Later, she was a student at Hollins College 
in Virginia and the University of Kentucky. She is married to Charles V. Goff 
of Bridgeport, New Jersey. Allen was born in L909 and also attended the public 




JAMES ROY BOND 



2062 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



schools in Elizabethtown, Kentucky. Later, he was a student at Centre College, 
Danville, Kentucky. His wife is the former Sarah Holman of Lawrenceburg, 
Kentucky. Louise was born in 1913 and Sudie in 1920. Sudie attended public 
grade school in Elizabethtown, Kentucky, high school in Hendersonville, North 
Carolina and Rollins College in Florida. 

In 1908 the Bond family moved to Elizabethtown, Kentucky, where Mr. Bond 
and his brothers entered the lumber and creosoting business under the name of 
Bond Brothers. This plant was later transferred to Louisville, Kentucky. At the 
time of Roy Bond's death, May 26, 1942, he was first vice-president of Bond 
Brothers, Inc. The plant had grown to be one of the largest concerns of its kind 
in the country. 

Mr. Bond was very fond of golf and in 1924 the Bond Brothers Golf Course, 
laid out by Craig Wood, was opened. He was a member of the Jefferson County 
Sportsmen's Club and the League of Kentucky Sportsmen. A bronze tablet has 
been erected, in his honor, on their grounds. He was a former officer of both the 
Pendennis Club and the Louisville Country Club. He was also a member of the 
Severns Valley Baptist Church and the Masonic Lodge. He was a charter mem- 
ber of the Elizabethtown Country Club. To be near his business in Louisville, 
Mr. Bond maintained an apartment in the Brown Hotel and commuted to 
Elizabethtown. 

Roy Bond was a loving father and a dutiful husband. His family's comfort 
was his goal. The pleasure and comfort of his employees was also near to his 
heart. A man of marked executive ability, he worked hard and to good effect. 
He knew how to play as well as work, and was a lover of the out-of-doors. His 
love for and his knowledge of the woods, fields and streams was to enrich his whole 
life. He had a quiet and unassuming manner and was endowed with a genial 
personality and the ability to make and held friends. 

Some insight into the rare qualities of mind and heart possessed by Roy Bond 
can be gained by the perusal of a few excerpts from, "In Memoriam," written on 
behalf of the Jefferson County Sportsmen Club and signed by two of his friends, 
A. L. Blum and R. W. Snyder: "We, members of the Jefferson County Sportsmen 
Club, of which he was a charter member, felt singularly close to this good and 
faithful friend, whose wise counsel was ours at any time, his proven advice freely 
given, and as frequently his financial aid in any project looking to the upbuilding 
of our club or the extension of its scope of endeavor. A genial sports lover and 
true sportsman always, fair and understanding, promoting the general welfare and 
eager to serve, we may not look upon his like again: and so we twine this wreath 
of memories to honor the name of a man whose sterling worth is treasured in the 
hearts of his friends." 

". . . we, his constant associates, cannot find words adequate to express our 
admiration of his many graces of mind and heart, his lofty ideals and the self- 
effacement that puts others first; his fine sense of values typifying the Kentucky 
gentleman known to all the world and living in his daily life the old lesson, 'To 
have a friend, we must be one.' " 

Roy Bond was only sixty-three when he died. Though he was still buoyant with 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2063 

interest, enjoying contacts with his fellow man in business and pleasure, keenly 
alive to the needs of the times and the important place that recreation and 
relaxation hold in the physical, mental and spiritual betterment of man, the cycle 
of a successful life was complete. He will live in the memory of his friends in 
the prime of life — a gracious personality, a boon companion, whose every association 
radiated good cheer and bespoke encouragement. He knew how to live. 



A, 



CLIFFORD L. DUDLEY 



.mong the industries that have added much to the development 
of the western section of Kentucky in the quarter of a century preceding 1942, 
none has meant more to this pre-eminently agricultural region than the development 
of dairying and processing of dairy products. The subject of this sketch, Clifford 
L. Dudley, has been a prime mover in this field, one in which he has a great 
interest, and to which he has brought ability and adaptability. His name stands 
for all that is good and progressive in the trade and the business that is conducted 
under his personal supervision is one of the oldest and most successful in the state. 

Clifford L. Dudley was born in Graves County, Kentucky, June 11, 1889, and 
attended the schools of his native county. His father was Monroe Dudley, who 
was born in England and came to America in early life and settled in Virginia. 
The mother was Dodie E. (Collie) Dudley, born in Graves County, Kentucky. 
Both parents are buried at Waterville, Graves County. In 1912, this subject 
was married to Loretta E. Grief, who was born in Paducah, Kentucky, and 
graduated from St. Mary's School in that city. She also attended the Dorian 
School in the same city. They are the parents of three children. The oldest of 
these is Joseph Clifford Dudley, born in Paducah, August 7, 1913. He graduated 
at St. Mary's in Paducah, and then entered the University of Notre Dame, where 
he achieved the Bachelor of Science Degree. Upon graduation he joined his 
father's business in Paducah as assistant manager, but is now in the United States 
Army serving his country as a Captain in the Finance Department. The second 
child is Catherine Louise Dudley, born in Paducah, Kentucky, June 17, 1924. She 
attended Tighlman High School and St. Mary's, later attending Holy Cross 
Academy at South Bend, Indiana. The youngest of the family is Rose Marie 
Dudley, born in Paducah, March 12, 1927, who is now attending St. Mary's in 
Paducah. 

Mr. Dudley began his active life along the usual pattern, engaging in various 
lines of business and spending his first few years getting the feel of active life. 
On coming to Paducah he sensed the possibilities of the dairy industry and 
entered in the field along new lines and with new ideas. He established the 
Dudley Dairies, acquiring his own herds, bottling his own product and serving his 
trade direct. This system of dairying won for the Dudley Dairies a large and 
select clientele that was served for many years by Mr. Dudley's system. Today, 
because of the war and the labor shortages resulting, he handles the products of 
the Milk Producers Association, an organization of over two hundred and fifty 
farmers engaged in handling dairy cattle, and has disposed of the herd he had 



2064 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

acquired, and that furnished the product for his business for years. Dudley 
Dairies now handles butter, buttermilk, cottage cheese and cream. Mr. Dudley, 
however, retains a beautiful and productive farm in McCracken County, where 
four hundred and ninety-two acres are devoted to raising hogs, cattle, soy beans 
and sweet potatoes. Among other activities that have engaged his attention, the 
Travelers Protective Association has been served by him as its President and he 
still remains active in its affairs. He is also a Past Chairman of the McCracken 
County Red Cross. 

Clifford L. Dudley has a place in the more intimate life of his community that 
is not second even to his enviable business position. He has many friends and 
a charming family, who are at home in their beautiful suburban residence near 
Paducah on Rural Route No. 2 from that city. 



WILLIAM E. KINGSLEY 



Th 



.he City of Lexington is fortunate in that the calibre of its 
citizenship is constantly being improved by the importation of citizens from other 
states and cities in addition to those who are native born. One of Lexington's 
adopted sons, who has demonstrated his business ability as an insurance executive 
and won a multitude of friends by his charming personality, is William Eugene 
Kingsley. He was born in Cascade, Iowa on August 19, 1896. His father, 
Thomas Kingsley, was a native of England, who emigrated to the United States 
as a young man and became a prosperous merchant and a power in the civic life 
of his adopted city and state. He married Ida Weir, a native of Iowa, but of 
Scotch-Irish descent. Thomas Kingsley became a very prominent man who was 
active in community life and an influential leader in school and church affairs. 

William E. Kingsley was educated in public schools in Cascade, Iowa and then 
attended High School in Monticello, Iowa. He matriculated at the Armour Insti- 
tute of Technology in Chicago, but his college career was interrupted by the war 
for in 1917 he enlisted in the United States Army, was assigned to the Army 
Ordnance Department and served throughout the war, seeing eight months active 
service overseas. Upon receipt of his honorable discharge after the Armistice was 
signed, he returned to the Armour Institute and completed his four years of 
college training in which he specialized in insurance. 

He then accepted a position as rating engineer in the Missouri Inspection Bureau 
in St. Louis, where he remained until January 1, 1922, when he came to Louis- 
ville as special agent for the Home Insurance Company. Mr. Kingsley occupied 
this position until June 15, 1926, when he resigned to become assistant manager of 
the Travelers Fire Insurance Company with headquarters in Louisville and terri- 
tory covering the states of Kentucky and Tennessee. In 1931, he was promoted 
to the position of manager for Kentucky of the Travelers Fire Insurance Com- 
pany. He resigned from this position December 31, 1944. He is now operating as 
a partner in The W. E. Kingsley & Co., General Agency which is located at Lex- 
ington, Kentucky. The office of this firm is located in The Citizens Bank Build- 
ing, Lexington. His fine training and broad experience in the insurance field have 




WILLIAM E. KINGSLEY 



2066 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

qualified him admirably for the place he holds as a leader in local and state in- 
surance circles. In 1942, he became president of the Kentucky Fire Underwriters 
Association. 

On August 30, 1924, William E. Kingsley was married to Miss Maude Lewis 
of Marshall, Illinois. They are the parents of two children, Margaret Jean, who is 
attending the University of Kentucky, and William E. Kingsley, Jr., a grade school 
student. The Kingsley home is at 1218 Summitt Drive, Lexington, Kentucky. They 
maintain active church membership in the First Presbyterian Church of Lexington, 
Kentucky. Mrs. Kingsley is very active in church, in charitable and war work. 

Mr. Kingsley is a member of the Free and Accepted Masons; Blue Goose In- 
ternational, a fraternal organization for insurance men; Omega Lambdi, a local 
fraternity, and the Man-O-War Post of the American Legion. For recreation, he 
indulges in the sport of playing golf. His heritage from his Scotch-Irish prog- 
enitors has endowed him with an engaging personality which, coupled with his 
business ability and integrity, has earned for him a prominent place in the affec- 
tion and esteem of his fellow citizens. 



Th 



JAMES RUSSELL OGDEN 



.he State of Kentucky is indeed fortunate in that the very 
cream of the population of many other states chooses to come to the Blue Grass 
State to live. This is especially true of the neighboring state of Indiana. Many 
of Kentucky's finest residents are natives of the Hoosier State. One man in 
particular from Indiana of whom Louisville has reason to be proud is James 
Russell Ogden, proprietor of the Ogden Manufacturing Company and a citizen 
of more than average value to any community. 

James Russell Ogden was born in Milford, Indiana on April 9, 1895. He was 
the son of George R. Ogden, a native of Michigan, and Elnora (Bennett) Ogden, 
who was born in Ohio. The elder Ogden was a millwright and flour mill operator 
in addition to other business interests. He was an ardent member of the Democratic 
Party and chairman of the Democratic County Committee of Kosciusco County, 
Indiana. He was a well known fraternalist and held several important offices in 
both Masonic and Odd Fellows Lodges. 

James Russell Ogden grew up in Milford and attended public school and high 
school in that city. He later had three years of college work at Purdue University 
and Winona College. During his college life, he was a member of Kappa Alpha 
Pi, a local fraternity. Upon the entrance of the United States into the first World 
War in 1917, he volunteered for service in the army and was assigned to flying 
school as a flying cadet. He completed his training and was awarded his wings 
and a commission as a lieutenant in the Air Corps. At the end of the war, he 
received his honorable discharge and began to learn the business of furniture 
manufacturing. In order to become completely familiar with every phase of this 
intricate business, he worked for several different firms for a few years. Mr. Ogden 
also became interested in the newspaper publishing field and was for several years 
editor of the Warsaw Daily News in Warsaw, Indiana. He then took over active 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2067 

management of a furniture manufacturing business owned by his father in Milford 
and acquired interests in other similar plants in Virginia and in Michigan. In 
1934, he determined to go into business entirely for himself, utilizing the knowledge 
and ability gained by his years of work and study in the furniture manufacturing 
industry. He then established the Ogden Manufacturing Company located at 
1301 South Twelfth Street in Louisville for the purpose of making tables. The 
monthly production figures at this time (1943) total two thousand tables which 
is the output of fifteen employees. The business is owned outright by James 
Russell Ogden and its success can be attributed only to his ability, industry and 
foresight. 

Mr. Ogden was united in marriage to Miss Gladys Yost of Warsaw, Indiana 
in 1919. Mrs. Ogden studied at the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music and was 
a singer in light opera before her marriage. She is a member of Sigma Alpha Iota 
sorority. Mr. and Mrs. Ogden are the parents of five fine sons, four of whom 
are now in the service. They are James Russell Ogden, Jr., who married Mary 
Bullock of Louisville, a graduate of Purdue University, member of Sigma Alpha 
Epsilon fraternity and now a lieutenant in the United States Navy. Lt. and Mrs. 
J. R. Ogden, Jr., are the parents of a daughter, Judith Ann Ogden, who was born 
September 18, 1944. George William Ogden, also a graduate of Purdue Uni- 
versity, member of Sigma Alpha Epsilon and now a lieutenant in the United States 
Navy; Leftenant Robert Bruce Ogden, British XIV Army, India; Richard Joseph, 
Air Cadet, U. S. Army and David Arthur, a senior at the Louisville Male High 
School. 

In connection with his business interests, Mr. Ogden is a member of the Southern 
Furniture Manufacturers Association and American Furniture Mart Club. He was 
for some time Senior Analyst for the Louisville office of the War Production Board. 
He is a Mason and member of both the Chapter and Commandery and a member 
of the Audubon Country Club and the Pendennis Club. His principal forms 
of recreation are playing golf and boating. He keeps a house boat on the Ohio 
River in order to indulge the latter hobby. He is an active member of the American 
Legion and served as adjutant and post commander of his post in Milford, Indiana. 
James Russell Ogden subscribes to the principles and supports the policies of the 
Democratic Party. His church membership is carried at the Fourth Avenue Pres- 
byterian Church. The Ogden home is at 3308 Oriole Drive in beautiful Audubon 
Park. 

Mr. Ogden, even though still a young man, has proved himself a citizen worthy 
of the admiration and respect in which he is held by all who know him. 



A, 



HON. JOHN M. THEOBALD 



unusual combination is the Grayson, Kentucky legal firm 
of which John M. Theobald is the middle partner. Preceding him in seniority is 
his father, Thomas Dudley Theobald, and the junior partner is Thomas Dudley 
Theobald, II. The elder Thomas D. Theobald was admitted to the Kentucky Bar 
in 1877, when he was twenty-one years old. Now, at the age of eighty-eight, 



2068 A SESQU1-CENTENN1AL 

with sixty-seven accumulated years of practice, he is still active and keen, with 
a remarkably accurate memory and mastery of detail. During his long term in 
law the senior Thomas D. Theobald served as circuit judge. Seldom indeed does 
a firm run into active partnership of three generations, and in the practice of law 
this accumulation of experience and association is of inestimable value. 

John M. Theobald was born in Owenton, Owen County, Kentucky on April 
20, 1878. His father, Thomas Dudley Theobald, was born in Owen County, 
Kentucky on March 29, 1856. Thomas Theobald was admitted to the Kentucky 
Bar in 1877 and has practiced ever since. He served as Circuit Judge in the 
37th District. The mother of John M. Theobald, Sally Dale (Ford) Theobald, 
was born in Owen County, Kentucky, on October 5, 1856. This fine old couple 
resides in Grayson, Kentucky. 

John M. Theobald graduated from Washington & Lee University in Lexington, 
Virginia. After receiving his degree in law he was duly admitted to the Kentucky 
Bar, and became associated with his father in Grayson, Kentucky. 

On December 13, 1903, John M. Theobald was married to Minnie Jones, who 
was born in Carter County, Kentucky. They are the parents of two daughters 
and one son. 

The oldest daughter, Mary Katherine, was born in Grayson, Kentucky, and is 
married to Allie Wilson, who was born in Morehead, Kentucky. 

The son, Thomas D. Theobald, II, was born in Grayson, Kentucky on March 
12, 1906. He attended Centre College and received his degree in law from the 
University of Kentucky. Following graduation he joined his grandfather and 
father in law business in Grayson. This created the unusual combination of three 
generations in the same firm. Thomas D. Theobald, II, married Louise Strother, 
of Grayson, Kentucky. They have three children: Jacqueline Theobald, born in 
Grayson, Kentucky on June 2, 1932; Mary Catherine Theobald, born in Gravson, 
Kentucky on March 16, 1936; and Martha Robin Theobald, born in Grayson, 
Kentucky on November 28, 1938. 

The youngest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John M. Theobald is Martha Virginia, 
born in Grayson, Kentucky, on January 5, 1910. She is married to Orie F. Duval, 
who was born in Carter County, Kentucky. They reside in Detroit, Michigan. 
Orie Duval is now serving in the United States Army. 



W„ 



JOHN ANTHONY O'BRIEN 



hen John Anthony O'Brien died, one of the best loved and 
most widely known figures in the social and business life of the state of Ken- 
tucky was lost from the ranks of the living. He was stricken in the midst of the 
best years of his life, in productive middle age. Though he would have added 
much to his position as a citizen and friend of man and as a successful business 
executive could he have continued longer in life's activities he had already ac- 
complished more than it is given to many men to accomplish. He was born in 
Louisville, Kentucky, August 10, 1900, and spent the full years of his life in 




JOHN ANTHONY O'BRIEN 



2070 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

the city of his birth, his death having occurred in Louisville on January 1, 1934, 
at his home on Alta Vista Road, Cherokee Park. 

With his family background and business foundation it was natural that the 
subject of this biography should ally himself with the principal and one of the 
oldest industries of the state. His father, Edward J. O'Brien, Sr., was one of the 
prominent tobacco dealers of Louisville and he associated himself with the busi- 
ness of the parent. They formed a partnership and organized the largest tobacco 
brokerage concern in the world, known as Edward J. O'Brien & Company. John 
A. O'Brien was supervisor of all the tobacco buyers of the company and was well 
known on all the markets of this country. He was owner of one-fourth of the 
business and had complete charge of all important purchases. The greatest source 
of the firm's business was in the buying of tobacco for the Government Monopolies 
of Europe — the handling of what was long known as "Regie Contracts." In this 
particular work Mr. O'Brien was preeminent, being considered one of the best 
judges of tobacco in the world and his business acumen was appreciated by the 
trade and his pleasing personality made him welcome wherever his labors bore him. 
His most active years were those from 1922 to 1932. 

John Anthony O'Brien was educated in the parochial schools of Louisville, later 
graduating from St. Xavier High School, of that city. Attendance at St. Mary's 
in Kansas came after this with his higher education being obtained at Georgetown 
University, Washington, D. C. He was married October 1, 1925, in the rectory of 
Georgetown University to Miss Patricia Rutherford, a daughter of one of the 
pioneer families of Kentucky. 

Miss Patricia Rutherford was born in Nicholasville, Jessamine County, Kentucky. 
She attended school at Lexington, Kentucky, finishing both the Junior and Senior 
High Schools of that city. She attended the Louisville Conservatory of Music 
where she graduated. Mrs. O'Brien is a Daughter of the American Revolution, 
being a member of the Bland Ballard Chapter of that patriotic and historical 
society. She is eligible to the Revolutionary Daughters by five different ancestral 
connections. These are in her line of descent from the old colonial families of 
Wilmore, Coons, Crumm, Feamster and Stone, all of which furnished soldiers in 
the War for American Independence. Mrs. O'Brien's primary claim to the dis- 
tinction of membership eligibility comes through John Wilmore, who was her great- 
great grandfather. He was born at Somerset, Pennsylvania, and died in Clark 
County, Kentucky. During the Revolution he resided in Virginia and Kentucky. 
His military service was with Captain William Henry's Minute Men. He once 
resided in Mercer County, Kentucky, where he owned more than one thousand 
acres of farm land near Bergen, and also two thousand acres of land in Jessamine 
County, Kentucky. The city of Wilmore, Kentucky is named in his honor. 

Mrs. O'Brien devotes her time to managing two large farms, one in Shelby 
County, Kentucky and one at Charlestown, Indiana. These are known as Ruther- 
ford Manor, and as Kaskaskia. Both are desirable estates comprising over nine 
hundred acres that have been seats of residence for well known pioneer Kentucky 
and Indiana families. Mrs. O'Brien devotes most of the resources of her holdings 
to the raising of Hereford cattle and the culture of tobacco and is very much in- 
terested in her work to which she brings much native ability sharpened by ob- 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2071 

servation and experience. Her father is Charles Edwin Rutherford, who was born 
in Jessamine County, Kentucky, in 1868, and became one of the more successful 
farmers of that section. He now makes his home in residence at 2519 Meadow 
Road, Louisville, Kentucky. He also owns a 200 acre farm in Shelby County, 
Kentucky, known as Wilmore Hall, where he operates one of the finest dairies 
in the state distributing his products to the creameries in Louisville. He is a specially 
competent judge of thoroughbred horses and blooded cattle, to the raising of 
which he devotes much time. Mrs. O'Brien's mother was Ella Coons Rutherford, 
who was born at Pine Grove, Kentucky, in 1864 and died in Louisville, Kentucky 
in 1942. Mrs. Rutherford was a graduate of Hamilton College, Lexington, Ken- 
tucky. She was a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, having 
four claims to that distinction. 

John Anthony O'Brien was a member of the University Club and the Knights 
of Columbus and was a man of influence in both organizations. His life was that 
of a Kentucky gentleman of breeding and ancestry but he was a man active in all 
the affairs of his city and state as well as in business and he enjoyed the friendship 
of a large circle of the ablest men and women of his native city. He made friends 
naturally and held them loyally and is remembered with affection by all who were 
fortunate enough to know him. 



Jo 



JOHN EVANS 



'ohn Evans is proprietor of Hickory Hill Farm, which, under 
his ownership, has developed into a model dairy farm. There are about ninety 
purebred Guernsey cattle on the farm, which is operated with the most modern 
dairy equipment. About half of this 150-acre farm is given over to pasture. 
Calves from Hickory Hill are shipped to all parts of the United States. Before 
entering farming John Evans ran a large bakery business in Ashland, which he 
conducted successfully for twenty-four years. Farming was to be a side venture, 
but Mr. Evans soon changed his mind about that, and today his specialized farm 
business is extremely successful and continues to expand. 

John Evans was born in Ashland, Kentucky on November 9, 1895. His father, 
John Evans, was a coal operator. He was born in Boyd County, Kentucky, in 
1862 and died in 1938. The mother of John Evans, Hattie (Darby) Evans, was 
born in Greenup County, Kentucky, in 1872. She resides in Ashland, Kentucky. 

John Evans conducted a bakery business in Ashland, Kentucky for twenty-four 
years, and this was a successful and profitable enterprise. In 1936, John Evans 
decided to buy Hickory Hill Farm. He had money to invest, and the farm 
appeared to be an attractive venture. He bought hogs and to fatten them for 
market fed them stale bread and other by-products from the bakery. His next 
successful experiment was in the raising of saddle horses. Mr. Evans then became 
interested in purebred Guernsey cattle. Today he owns a herd of about ninety 
Guernsey cows and milks sixty cows daily. There are three purebred Guernsey 
bulls on Hickory Hill Farm. These bulls belong to the Langwater strain, which 
is recognized as the very best. The milk from Hickory Hill is sold under the 



2072 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

trade mark of Golden Guernsey. The use of this quality brand name is restricted 
to one dairy in a district, and is the mark of perfection on milk and dairy products. 

Mr. Evans is a shrewd and capable business man, and as such he recognized that 
an expert dairy man would be an excellent investment. He considers himself 
particularly fortunate in securing the services of Clifford D. Bright of Waukesha, 
Wisconsin. Mr. Bright is one of the outstanding authorities in the United States 
on the raising and breeding of purebred Guernsey cattle. He supervises the 
dairy and farm. 

Hickory Hill Farm consists of one hundred and fifty-two acres, with seventy 
acres under cultivation and the balance used for pasture. Recently Mr. Evans 
bought twenty added acres on which to construct additional buildings for the 
herd. Calves from Hickory Hill Farm command top price, and they have been 
shipped to stock raisers in all parts of the United States. The dairy maintained 
in connection with the farm is modern and contains all the latest approved 
equipment. 

In 1916, John Evans was married to Nell Judd, who was born in Ashland, Ken- 
tucky. Her father, Harry A. Judd, is a retired shoe merchant and lives on the 
farm. Her mother, Mary Isabelle (Friley) Judd was born in Ashland, Kentucky 
in 1872 and died in 1918. 

Mr. and Mrs. John Evans are the parents of a daughter and a son. The 
daughter, Mary Margaret, was born in Ashland, Kentucky in 1917. She married 
Robert Mason Beard, who was born in Dawson Springs, Kentucky. They have 
two children, Mary Mason Beard and Robert Michael Beard. The son, John 
Richardson Evans, was born in Ashland, Kentucky. He attended the University 
of Kentucky, where he belonged to Delta Tau Delta Fraternity. He worked with 
his father in the bakery business, and later was associated with him at Hickorv 
Hill Farm. John R. Evans entered the United States Army on January 20, 1942, 
and he is at present serving with a Coast Artillery unit in the Southwest Pacific. 



MARION FRANCIS EVANS, JR., D.M.D. 

Ihere is an old saying to the effect that well begun is half done. 
Nowhere is the truth of the old adage more closely applicable than in a career in 
one of the professions. Dr. Marion Francis Evans began the practice of dentistry 
on January 5, 1944; his career is well begun, because he is starting after years of 
careful training in his chosen field. In any profession, years of study and prepara- 
tion form the foundation for the years of service which follow. Success cannot be 
attained widiout thorough preparation, which means that the aspirant to any 
professional career must superimpose upon regular academic learning more years 
of specialized training in professional work. This is what Dr. Marion F. Evans 
has done. His education includes graduation from the Tennessee Military Institute, 
three terms at Eastern Teachers College, and one year at Cumberland College, 
Williamsburg, Kentucky and the University of Kentucky at Lexington, Kentucky, 
Further professional training was obtained at the University of Louisville, where 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2073 

he received the degree of D.M.D. Dr. Evans is well trained in the field of 
mechanical dentistry, and his enthusiasm for the work and his ability and natural 
aptitude have already made him a skillful practitioner. 

The birthplace of Dr. Marion Francis Evans was Little Clear Creek, in Bell 
County, Kentucky; the date of his birth was April 3, 1918. His father, Marion 
Francis Evans, Sr., was also born at Little Clear Creek, in the year 1879. His 
mother, Oatie (Fuson) Evans, was born at Clear Creek, Bell County, Kentucky, 
in 1881. Both of his parents are now living in Clear Creek, where Marion F. 
Evans, Sr., is county road engineer and is connected with the lumber business in 
addition to the operation of a farm. 

After completing the work offered by the rural schools of Bell County, Marion 
Evans, Jr., went to Pineville, Kentucky High School, and then attended the Ten- 
nessee Military Institute. He graduated from the Tennessee Military Institute in 
1935, and for three terms was enrolled at Eastern Teachers College; the next two 
and a half years were divided between two colleges, Cumberland College at Wil- 
liamsburg, Kentucky, and the University of Kentucky at Lexington, Kentucky. The 
Dental College of the University of Louisville is justly famous, and it was to this 
college that Marion F. Evans went for professional training in the career of 
dentistry, which he had decided upon as his life's work. After receiving the degree 
of D.M.D. from the University of Louisville, Dr. Marion F. Evans opened a 
dental office in Middlesboro, Kentucky, on January 5, 1944. In the year which 
he has now spent in dental service in Middlesboro, Dr. Evans has become well- 
known and well-liked, and is an excellent example of the fine, well-trained young 
men who are coming to the forefront in the professions; young, vigorous, full of 
enthusiasm, with a good, solid foundation of professional training, Dr. Evans may 
confidently be expected to go far in his chosen field. 

Dr. Marion Francis Evans married Marion Reed Downing on January 19, 1940. 
Mrs. Evans was born in Mayslick, Kentucky, on January 6, 1919, and attended 
Transylvania College for two and a half years. Dr. and Mrs. Evans have a son, 
Donald Lee Evans, who was born at Mayslick, Kentucky, on September 22, 1942. 

Dr. Evans is a member of the Masonic Order, and the fraternities to which he 
belongs are Delta Sigma Delta, and the honorary dental prosthetic fraternity, Phi 
Delta. He also belongs to the Kiwanis Club and the United Commercial 
Travelers. 



HON. WILLIAM JEFFERSON WARD 



W* 



illiam Jefferson Ward, county judge of Johnson County, Ken- 
tucky, is a man well deserving of honor. In the last war he went overseas 
with Company C, 28th Infantry, and was wounded in battle. His bravery won 
for him recognition of two governments, the French government awarding him 
the Croix de Guerre, while his own United States Government decorated him with 
the Distinguished Service Medal. At home William Ward has climaxed a suc- 
cessful legal career with his present position as county judge. He is active in 



2074 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

civic and Legion affairs, and for relaxation he has twenty-one grandchildren to 
keep his spare moments pleasantly occupied. 

On August 10, 1888, William Jefferson Ward was born in Ward City, Johnson 
County, Kentucky. His father, William Jefferson Ward, was a farmer and 
merchant in Ward City, Kentucky. He was born in 1842 and died in 1909. The 
mother of William Ward was Sarah (Hicks) Ward. She was born in Johnson 
County, Kentucky in 1847 and died in 1907. 

William Ward was one of eight children. He attended Ward city schools and 
took his legal training at the University of Kentucky. During World War I 
he served as a sergeant with Co. C, 28th Infantry. He was wounded in action 
in France and received the Croix de Guerre and the Distinguished Service Medal. 

After the war William Ward returned to Paintsville, Kentucky to practice law. 
He was master commissioner and receiver for Johnson County for four years. 
Following this came four years as County Attorney, and six years as Common- 
wealth Attorney. In 1940 the voters elevated him to the county bench, and he 
became Judge William Ward. 

Judge Ward has served as trustee of schools for his home district. He has 
twice been honored by choice as Commander of American Legion Post 117 of 
Johnson County, Kentucky. Judge Ward was Commander of the Post when the 
war memorial was dedicated in Paintsville, Kentucky. He was a Colonel on Gov- 
ernor Sampson's staff. 

Judge William Jefferson Ward married Lucinda Preston, who was born in 
Paintsville, Kentucky. They have three sons and two daughters. Heber Ward, 
the oldest son, married Mary Sublett, who was born in Paintsville, Kentucky. They 
have four children: Heber Franklin, Jr.; Douglas; Maxine; and Doris. The oldest 
daughter, Beulah was born in Ward City. She is married to Nollis Mead, who 
was born in Paintsville, Kentucky. They have eight children: Arnollis, Loretta, 
Helen, Charles and Curtis (twins) , Howard Leslie, Marguerite and Lowell. The 
youngest daughter, Laura Ward, was born in Paintsville, Kentucky. She is married 
to Lawrence Adams, of Magoffin County, Kentucky. They have two boys: Stuart 
Holmes and Wallis Jefferson. 

Edgar Ward, born in Paintsville, Kentucky, served four years in the United 
States Marines. He married Shirley May Burks, who was born in Paintsville, 
Kentucky. They have five children: Sarah, Charles Williams, George Hebert, 
Jefferson and Betsy Ann. The youngest son, Shadie Ward, was born in Paints- 
ville, Kentucky. He married Eunice Penif, who was born in Boonescamp, Ken- 
tucky. They have two children: Beulah and Jefferson. 



MORTON FAULKNER, M.D. 



D, 



Morton Faulkner is a practicing physician of Mt. Sterling, 

Kentucky. He came to Mt. Sterling after several years of experience in Powell, 

and Montgomery Counties. Dr. Faulkner is a graduate of the Kentucky School 

of Medicine at Louisville, and has served as Health Officer of Montgomery County. 

I he family of Dr. Faulkner is of English extraction. His grandfather. 1 tenry 




MORTON FAULKNER, M.D. 



2076 A SESQUI-CENTENN1AL 

Faulkner, came to Virginia from England, and it was from Virginia that the 
family moved to Kentucky. The father of Dr. Faulkner was Jesse Faulkner; both 
his father and grandfather were farmers. His mother was Ruth Hanks, a native 
of Powell County, Kentucky, and a distant relative of Nancy Hanks, who became 
the mother of Abraham Lincoln. Morton Faulkner was born in Powell County, 
Kentucky, on August 25, 1878. 

The rural schools of Powell County furnished the general education of Morton 
Faulkner. He then secured a certificate enabling him to teach in Kentucky 
schools, but this certificate was never used, as he decided to enter upon the career 
of medicine, and entered the Kentucky School of Medicine, from which he re- 
ceived his degree of M.D. in 1904. He returned to his native Powell County, and 
opened his practice immediately in the town of Bowen, where he remained for 
three years. In 1907, he moved to Spencer, Montgomery County, and continued 
the practice of his profession in that town for fourteen years. In 1921, he 
opened an office in Mt. Sterling, where he has been a general medical practitioner 
since that time. He is an active member of the Montgomery County Medical 
Society, of which he is a past president, and also a member of the Kentucky State 
Medical Association and the American Medical Association. Dr. Faulkner was 
for some time the health officer of Montgomery County. 

The first marriage of Dr. Morton Faulkner was to Pattie Faulkner, who was 
a distant relative. Dr. Morton and Pattie (Faulkner) Faulkner were the parents 
of one son, William Faulkner, who is now living in Lexington. William Faulkner 
married Mary Bush of Mt. Sterling, and they have one son, Vernon Lee Faulkner. 
Another son, Thomas L. Faulkner, died in 1913. He had married Mattie Baker 
of Montgomery County. Following the death of Mrs. Pattie Faulkner, Dr. 
Faulkner married Lura Hanks. Their oldest son is now Dr. Raymond Faulkner, 
who received his medical degree from the University of Louisville, and then in- 
terned at the Good Samaritan Hospital in Lexington. His wife is the former 
Virginia Greenwade, and they have one daughter, Barbara Sue. At the present 
time Dr. Raymond Faulkner is serving in the armed forces of the United States; 
he is a Lieutenant (Senior Grade) in the United States Navy. Zelma Faulkner 
married Charles Hedrick of Lexington, and is the mother of five children, Bettie 
Jane, Charles, John, Ruth Ann and Judy Hedrick. Ruth Faulkner is now Mrs. 
James Ralls of Bourbon County, and is the mother of twin sons, James Faulkner 
and Edward Clark Ralls. Mrs. Lura Hanks Faulkner and two other children. 
Shirley and Lida Bell passed away in the influenza epidemic of 1918, and in 
1920 Dr. Faulkner married Mrs. Bertha Sample Littleton. 

Dr. Faulkner owns a farm in Montgomery County which is tenant operated, on 
which he raises pure-bred O. I. C. hogs. He finds this farm is also an excellent 
place in which to indulge in his favorite recreation of bird-hunting. 

The political affiliation of Dr. Morton Faulkner is with the Democratic Party, 
in which he was formerly quite active. He served for one term as a member of 
the Montgomery County School Board. At one time he was also a member of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the Knights of Pythias. He main- 
tains membership in the Masonic fraternity, in which he has passed through the 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2077 

degrees of the York Rite through the Chapter and Commandery, and is a Noble 
of the Oleika Temple of the Mystic Shrine. Dr. Faulkner attends the Christian 
Church. 

FLOYD BALL 

.Lloyd Ball has friends and well-wishers in every state in the 
Union. That is no exaggeration. In his home town of Middlesboro, Kentucky, 
no man is better known. As a member of the Kentucky Legislature, Floyd Ball 
had to be a popular figure before he could be elected, and his work as a legislator 
brought approbation from all parts of Kentucky. Among other forward moves 
he worked successfully to secure the appropriation of land for the site of Cumber- 
land Gap National Historical Park. The beauties of this region will now be pre- 
served as part of the heritage of the American people. Floyd Ball has been in 
business enterprises for many years. He quit school before he logically should 
have done so in order to enter business. He did, however, acquire excellent training 
through learning by experience. When his brother Alva was old enough to join 
him, they teamed together, and the Ball Brothers have worked successfully in 
many ventures. 

Together they own a large tourist accommodation center known as Ball's 
Court. There are twenty-two rooms and twenty-two baths in Ball's Court. Here 
travelers can rest and luxuriate in unexcelled comfort amid surroundings that 
combine tranquillity with grandeur. Floyd Ball has always extended every effort 
to insure that travelers with whom he makes contact will return home praising 
what they have seen and how they have been received in Kentucky. He is a 
genial host, a kind and courteous gentleman; in his relations with the traveling 
public he is surely an ambassador of good will. 

Floyd Ball was born in Middlesboro, Kentucky on December 15, 1898. His 
father, Joseph Frank Ball, was born in Lee County, Virginia, in 1870 and died 
in 1942. He was a merchant, and also conducted a wholesale feed business. Sally 
Edna (Renfro) Ball, mother of Floyd Ball, was born in Renfro Valley, Kentucky 
in 1870. She resides in Middlesboro, Kentucky. 

The first venture of Floyd Ball was in the cafe business. He probably would 
just as soon not talk about that, but he gained experience, and knowledge acquired 
the hard way is seldom lost or forgotten. Floyd Ball went to work then for the 
Coal, Iron & Coke Company. This was hard work, and the idea of working for 
someone else did not fit into Mr. Ball's scheme. After a year he was in business 
again; this time he opened a wholesale liquor house in Cumberland Gap, Tennessee. 

Around this time, Floyd Ball formed a partnership with his brother, and they 
fitted together perfectly. In the course of time they established the Ball Realty 
Company with Floyd Ball as president. The brothers own the majority stock in 
Cumberland Hotel, Inc., Alva Ball being the president of this enterprise and 
Floyd Ball is a member of the Board of Directors. 

Floyd Ball married Verna Jo Dougherty, from Jellico, Tennessee. He has two 
daughters by a former marriage. The oldest daughter, William Lee Ball, was 



2078 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

born in Middlesboro, Kentucky, on August 9, 1930. The youngest daughter, Sally 
Louise Ball, was born in Middlesboro, Kentucky on July 16, 1931. 

The fraternal connections of Mr. Ball are many. He belongs to the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Woodmen of the World, the Improved Order 
of Red Men and the Lions Club. Mr. Ball is constantly serving on one or more 
civic groups, as his presence on a committee just about assures success of the project. 
Mr. Ball was County Chairman of the Committee for the Celebration of the 
President's Birthday for the National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis. He is 
chairman of the executive committee of the Republican Party. 

When the name of Floyd Ball appeared on the ballot for member of the Ken- 
tucky Legislature in 1942, he was elected by a substantial margin. There he 
rendered good service, not only for Kentucky, but for the nation at large when he 
helped in securing the appropriation and land for Cumberland Gap Historical Park. 
Lovers of nature's unspoiled beauty owe a debt of gratitude to that tireless worker 
for the public good, Floyd Ball of Middlesboro, Kentucky. 



WOODFORD FITCH AXTON 



Wo, 



'oodford Fitch Axton, President of the Axton-Fisher Tobacco 
Company, was one of the foremost tobacco manufacturers in Kentucky, and a 
member of that select company of enterprising and successful business men whose 
activities have been no small factor in the commercial growth of Louisville. He 
was born February 6, 1872, in Ohio County, Kentucky, and his parents, Isaac H. 
and Lois (Tracy) Axton, were also natives of the Blue Grass State. His mother 
was born in Louisville and his father in Breckinridge County. For several years 
Isaac H. Axton engaged in farming in Ohio County, and in later life was in the 
mercantile business in Owensboro, in which city he was residing at the time of his 
death. The mother is also deceased. They were the parents of the following 
children: Edwin D., Isaac Tracy, Robert L., Woodford F. and Mrs. Mary Vaughn 
Axton. These children have made their home in Louisville, while two daughters, 
Mrs. Chester Bishop and Miss Annie Lois Axton have made their home in Win- 
chester, Kentucky. 

Woodford F. Axton received his early schooling in Ohio County, and later at- 
tended the public schools of Owensboro. He began his business career in the 
employ of a wholesale grocery house of that city, later becoming the firm's traveling 
representative. Coming to Louisville he accepted a position as salesman with the 
Ouerbacker-Gilmore Grocery Company. He was successful as a salesman and 
had no difficulty in forming a connection when he sought a change. In 1895 he 
accepted a position with the F. Smith & Sons Grocery Company, of St. Louis, 
remaining with them until 1899, when he began business for himself. He estab- 
lished a tobacco business in Owensboro, Kentucky, beginning on a modest scale. 
In 1902 he removed his business to Louisville. In that city the business was in- 
corporated under the name of the Axton-Fisher Tobacco Company, which still 
continues under that name. He was continuously, from the incorporation oi the 




WOODFORD FITCH AXTON 



2080 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Company, its executive head and his brother, Edwin D. Axton, was secretary and 
treasurer. The Company operates a model plant at 811 South Twentieth Street, 
where many people are employed. They are nationally known as manufacturers 
cf the famous "Twenty-Grand" and "Clown" cigarettes; "Spud" mentholated 
cigarettes and "Old Hillside" smoking tobacco and "White Mule" twist chewing 
tobacco. They originated these brands and have marketed them for years. The 
more famous of their products are the three brands of cigarettes herein mentioned. 
The "Spud" cigarette was the first popular metholated cigarette to come to public 
notice, and its popularity was assured from the beginning. This cigarette is im- 
pregnated with menthol under a patented process that produces a cigarette exactly 
like other cigarettes in appearance, but is cooling to the throat. The Axton-Fisher 
Company has enjoyed a remarkable growth from its inception ever forty years 
ago and occupies a strong and prominent position among Louisville's strong and 
ably managed industrial institutions. 

In 1900, Mr. Axton married Miss Cinderella D. Whittinghill, of Bowling Green, 
Kentucky, a daughter of David Whittinghill. Mrs. Axton preceded her husband 
in death, the end coming to her in 1901. The couple were the parents of one child 
who is also deceased. Mr. Axton was a consistent member of the Methodist Church 
throughout his life. In politics he was a Republican, but in 1912 supported the 
Progressive Ticket headed by Theodore Roosevelt and the following year was the 
candidate of that party for mayor of Louisville. A student of issues and con- 
ditions he was never the blind follower of any political doctrine, but in national 
and state affairs he invariably followed the fortunes of the Republican party. 
He was a member of the Audubon Country Club, and as an additional form of 
relaxation he sought the change to be found in managing a six hundred acre river 
bottom farm in Oldham County. On this estate he erected and maintained a 
beautiful home. The farm was operated under his direction and was largely de- 
voted to fruit growing. The general improvement Mr. Axton made in this property 
resulted in it becoming one of the most attractive country places in that section of 
the state. Mr. Axton was a member of the Masonic Fraternity, being a Knights 
Templar and a Shriner. He was also a member of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Surrounded by family, friends and fraternal brothers, death came to Mr. Axton 
April 4, 1935, at his home in Oldham County, Kentucky. He was a fine type of 
the virile American business man, ready to meet the emergencies of life with con- 
fidence, poise and courage and it can be truly said that his success was due to his 
own efforts. 

SAM PUSHIN 

Uam Pushin well illustrates the truth that the man is of more 
importance than the circumstances. He arrived in the great city of Baltimore as 
a boy without either money or prospects, and yet, by his unconquerable perseverance 
he raised himself to a position of high influence and authority, both in business 
and civic affairs. 

The town of Wilkomir, where Sam Pushin was born, on February 15. 1869, was 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2081 

then in Russia, but is now included in Lithuania. His mother died while he was 
young, and the father, Isaac Pushin, married for the second time. Soon after 
this marriage, the family left for the United States; all except Sam, who was 
left to finish school in the old country. The family settled in Baltimore, where 
Isaac Pushin strove to eke out a living as an itinerant merchant. 

Two years passed; the boy Sam completed his schooling, and sailed from Europe 
for the land of opportunity. In Baltimore he started his business career by 
peddling notions and newspapers. This was a small start, and Sam Pushin realized 
that it would never lead far unless he could overcome the barrier of language. And 
so he studied, and from his small earnings he saved. 

Within a year he was ready to move on, and went first to Bristol, Tennessee, 
and then to Nashville, peddling on the way; then on to Mississippi. By now he 
had saved a few hundred dollars, and was also gaining valuable experience. When 
reports came of boom times at Middlesboro, Kentucky, Sam Pushin stocked up on 
merchandise, got a horse, and did a thriving business as he traveled. He made 
Nashville his headquarters, then decided to quit his "traveling selling" and settle 
down. His first place of business was at Fort Payne, Alabama, but he stayed 
there only a short time, and then moved to Harriman Junction, Tennessee, where 
he opened a store and was successful. Just when his business seemed well estab- 
lished and ready for expansion, a disasterous fire struck him a hard blow. Sam 
Pushin had to start ail over again, this time in Madisonville, Kentucky, where he 
remained in business for two years. 

In 1893, Sam Pushin come to Bowling Green, and started a men's furnishing 
store at 316 Main Street. He soon outgrew this location, and moved to a larger 
store a few doors away. His next development was a change to a better location 
on the south side of the Square, now occupied by the Piggly-Wiggly store. By 
now he had two brothers, Hyman and Harry D., associated with him. The younger 
brother, Harry, was also attending school in Bowling Green. 

The success of Sam Pushin was now not only assured, but maintained a rapid 
growth. The firm of Perling & Millner, in the Nolan block, was bought out, 
and the two stores were merged into one large department store. In 1916, Sam 
Pushin bought the property at Main and College at the corner of the Square, 
known to residents of Bowling Green as the Rochester Building. On this loca- 
tion, in 1920, he built a modern department store at a cost of $263,000.00. The 
store, 55 feet by 200 feet, consists of three stories and basement, and was designed 
by the architectural firm of Joseph & Joseph of Louisville. 

The business continued to grow, and for a time Mr. Pushin had as his partner 
his brother, J. L. Pushin, who died December 30, 1941. Under the name of 
Sam Pushin & Company, it is now being operated by his son and sons-in-law, 
who purchased the business from Mr. Pushin on his retirement in 1940. Although 
he is no longer active in the business, Mr. Pushin still owns the building. 

Mr. Pushin's farm, live stock and extensive real estate holdings now occupy his 
entire attention. He owns eight hundred and seventy-five acres of fine farm 
land in Warren County. In Bowling Green, he has considerable property invest- 



2082 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

ments, and also owns valuable real estate in Louisville, between Third and Fourth 
on Jefferson Street. 

Sam Pushin was one of the organizers and Vice President of the Liberty Na- 
tional Bank of Bowling Green. Through heavy investments in the Derby Under- 
wear Company, he was instrumental in getting that company to put their plant 
in Bowling Green, where they employ about eight hundred and fifty people. Mr. 
Pushin was one of the group of enterprising citizens responsible for the location of 
the half-million-dollar air port in Bowling Green. 

For many years, Sam Pushin has been a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. He belongs to the Masonic Order and the Chapter. He 
worships at the Synagogue at Nashville. 

Mr. and Mrs. Pushin celebrated their Golden Wedding on January 25, 1944. 
Sam Pushin was married on January 25, 1894, to Katherine Millner, daughter of 
Wolf Millner, who later was in business in Bowling Green. They have four chil- 
dren, three daughters and one son, and also have six grandchildren evenly divided, 
three girls and three boys. The eldest daughter, Ida, now Mrs. H. J. Guttman, 
lives in Bowling Green. Her husband is one of the partners of Sam Pushin 
& Company. They have two children: Eleanore, now a student at Goucher Col- 
lege of Baltimore, and Jerry, formerly a student at Western Teachers College, is 
now attending Vanderbilt University. Fannie Pushin, now Mrs. Theodore Rosen- 
berg, lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where her husband is in the wholesale 
leather goods business. They have one son, Byron. The third daughter, Nettie, 
now Mrs. E. B. Friedman, lives in Bowling Green. Her husband is a partner 
of Sam Pushin & Co. The Friedmans have two children, Jane B. and Marvin, 
who attended Vanderbilt University before entering the United States Navy. 
The son, Abraham, married Clara Kahn, and they have one daughter, Ann Jo. 
Abraham Pushin is also a partner in the firm of Sam Pushin & Company. 

Sam Pushin ranks high as a man who has taken his rightful place in spite of 
numerous difficulties. He is an industrious, honorable and generous man. Devoted 
to him family, he does not forget the best interests of his city and the welfare 
of those less fortunate than himself. Successful in business, Sam Pushin is equally 
successful in good works; he has gained the honor and respect of his fellow 
citizens of Bowling Green. 



Th 



JACOB KUNZ 



he pleasures of the table, eating and drinking in its best and 
finest sense, have always been an outstanding feature of Kentucky life and a com- 
ponent part of the state's reputation for hospitality and good fellowship. This 
has not been confined to the homes nor to the dining rooms of the plantation, 
however. From time to time men with vision have established public places of 
entertainment that took into consideration all the finer shades of entertaining that 
are demanded by the exacting clientele of this state where good living is an art 
of the daily life. The better of these establishments arc naturally to be found in 
the state's larger cities as they arc found in Paris in France and San Francisco in 




JACOB KUNZ 



2084 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

California they are found in Louisville in Kentucky. Kunz's ("The Dutchman") is 
among the better known of these places in the Falls City. 

"The Dutchman" is the brain child of the late Jacob Kunz and on the ambitious 
foundation laid by this man of understanding an extensive and popular business 
has developed, and the fifty-three years of business success that followed Mr. 
Kunz's entrance into business in Louisville have left for him an enviable reputa- 
tion as a business man and a man loved by those who knew him best. 

Jacob Kunz was born in Tell City, Indiana, in 1861, and death came to him in 
Louisville in 1927. He was educated in the public schools of Tell City, and en- 
tered business life as an employe of his father who was a grain dealer and operated 
an extensive general store. In 1885 he moved to Louisville where his first work 
was as traveling representative of Louis Zapp, a successful wholesale liquor dealer 
of that time. 

In 1891 Mr. Kunz was married to Elizabeth Bender, who was born July 13, 
1871. The marriage occurred in Louisville and four children are now living as 
a result of that union. 

In 1892 Mr. Kunz established his own business as a wholesaler in wines and 
liquors at 440 East Market Street. The popularity of the founder of this estab- 
lishment and the character of the place drew together a group of the leading busi- 
ness men of the day and they formed the Peach Tree Club as a semi-social orga- 
nization and when they foregathered at the Kunz Store naturally food and drink 
became a necessary part of their intercourse and a line of delicatessen was added 
to the wine and liquor business. In 1903 the business was moved to 118 West 
Market Street, and here was installed a complete line of Fancy Groceries, Deli- 
catessen with buffet service and private dining rooms in addition to the regular 
wine and liquor service. From 1905 to 1937, or thirty-two years this firm occupied 
a location in the heart of the market district at 239 South Second Street. On 
April 9, 1933 they opened a store in the downtown shopping district at 608 South 
Fourth Street, with the addition of catering service for any occasion and in 1941, 
the present enlarged quarters at 619 South Fourth were found necessary to care 
for the large and rapidly expanding business. The J. Kunz establishment had be- 
come known before the death of the founder as a place for exceptionally fine 
food, a place resorted to by epicures from everywhere. It was throughout this 
phase of the business that the three sons of Mr. Kunz received their training at 
the hands of the old master, the father. They were associated with him until his 
death in October, 1927, and the business was then incorporated and has been con- 
ducted jointly by the sons since that time under the firm name of J. Kunz & 
Company. 

"The Dutchman" is today a show place of Louisville, and one of the finest 
establishments of its kind in the South. The company serves not only the city of 
Louisville, but a large outside territory. Over half a century has passed since the 
beginning of the Jacob Kunz business, and a measure of its success is found in 
the firm's slogan: "If it comes from Kunz's it's good to cat and drink. 

The officers of the J. Kunz Company are Fred J. Kunz, president; Clarence W. 
Kunz, vice-president, and Preston R. Kunz, secretary and treasurer. At the repeal 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2085 

of the 18th Amendment the three brothers formed a corporation known as Kunz's 
Inc., to deal in fine wines and liquors. The wholesale wine and liquor business 
conducted by the firm has a home at 105 West Main Street, and its affairs are 
under the personal supervision of Fred J. Kunz. 

Fred J. Kunz, the elder of the brothers, was born in Louisville, Kentucky, August 
28, 1893. He received his early education in the public schools of the city, and 
prepared for a business career by taking a commercial course. From 1913 to 1917 
he gained a varied business training by association with some of the larger enter- 
prises of the city, and at the beginning of World War I he entered the Army. 
He acquitted himself creditably in service overseas, and saw action in the Argonne 
Forest and in Alsace-Loraine with the Sixth Machine Gun Battalion. Mustered 
out as a non-commissioned officer, Mr. Kunz immediately began his connection with 
the Kunz Company, and now gives his entire time to supervising the liquor and 
delicatessen business. He was married to Miss Etta May Huber in Louisville, 
Kentucky. Mrs. Kunz was born August 25, 1898, and attended the Louisville 
grade and high schools. 

Two children have blessed this union. Miss Margie Ann Kunz was born Oc- 
tober 11, 1924, and graduated from St. Brigid's Parochial School and Sacred Heart 
Academy. She is now attending Ursuline College. Fred J. Kunz, II, was born 
November 12, 1927. He was graduated from St. Brigid's School, and is now at- 
tending St. Joseph's School at Bardstown, Kentucky. 

The second son of the Kunz succession is Clarence W. Kunz, who was born in 
Louisville in 1894. Graduated from the grade and high schools of Louisville, he 
has been associated continuously with J. Kunz & Company since leaving school. 
He has three children: Clarence W. Kunz, Jr.; Robert Emmett Kunz, and Ann 
Rita Kunz. 

The third son and youngest child of the family is Preston R. Kunz, who was 
born in Louisville in 1900. He attended the public schools and Manual High 
School, entering upon his career with the family business upon leaving school, and 
has been active in the firm since. He married Miss Edith White, who was born 
in Louisville and attended the schools of the home city. They have no children. 

The daughter of the Jacob Kunz family is Mrs. Lillian R. Pierson, who was born 
in Louisville in 1896, and attended the public schools of her home city and Pres- 
entation Academy. She is the mother of two children: Glenn R. Pierson, Jr., and 
Jean Beverly Pierson. The first named is serving his country as a captain in the 
army, stationed at Orlando, Florida. 

Fred J. Kunz is a member of the Audubon Country Club, Louisville Business 
Men's Club, Forty Niners and the American Legion. He is a member of the 
Masonic Fraternity, having advanced to the Scottish Rite Degree and is a member 
of the Kosair Temple, A.A.O.N.M. Shrine. 

In addition to their normal business J. Kunz & Company are operating and 
supervising cafeterias in the DuPont Powder Plant. They operate four cafeterias 
and they are all run on a twenty-four hour schedule. They supervise only the 
food and have modern equipment in all the units. This phase of their work re- 
quired speed and coordination such as but few firms were able to provide, for in 

20— Vol. IV 



2086 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

the first rush all food was handled in and distributed from Canteens erected on 
the grounds such was the rush demanded by the rapid increase of the army of 
workers. 

Kunz & Company and the Kunz family in their business and social positions 
are a monument to the founder and so solid did he build the foundation that the 
Louisville and the State of Kentucky people may well look forward to long and 
satisfactory business and public service from them both. 



CLIFFORD ALBERT DIECKS 



X 



.he elements that make up a "champion" in almost any line of 
sport are training and timing. Training is the steady grind to achieve proficiency 
and fitness in pursuit of a goal; timing can be improved by practice, but is an 
inborn sense rather than one that can be acquired. The same two success elements 
must also be present in the men who are to be recognized as leaders in their chosen 
field of endeavor. Clifford A. Diecks decided to work in the construction busi- 
ness, and ten years went by before he considered himself properly trained and 
ready for a move that required executive ability. In five more years he was head 
of the company. He could see that the time was right for launching a large-scale 
housing development. Three hundred homes in two new subdivisions were built, 
and results in sales and rentals certainly justified his enterprise. Clifford A. 
Diecks had the training and proved he possessed the sense of timing, which is why 
he ranks high in the building and construction business today. 

Clifford Albert Diecks was born in Louisville on November 14, 1903, the son 
of H. A. and Lily G. (Cassella) Diecks. His father, H. A. Diecks, was engaged 
in the printing business in the Kentucky metropolis during his active life. 

After passing through the public grade schools of Louisville, Clifford Diecks con- 
tinued his educational activities at du Pont Manual Training High School. Follow- 
ing graduation, he became a student at the University of Louisville. 

Clifford Diecks began his business career in the industry that was to be his life 
work as an employee of the Central Construction Company of Louisville, with 
which firm he remained for ten years. In 1935 he came to Elizabethtown to be 
associated with the T. A. Peak Lumber Company, and in 1940 purchased con- 
trolling interest in the corporation and changed its name to Diecks Lumber Com- 
pany and became its president. As a builder, he foresaw the rapid growth of 
Elizabethtown in connection with the growth of Fort Knox, and organized the 
firm of Victory Homes, Inc., of which he also became president. This firm has built 
more than three hundred new homes in Elizabethtown, which they have either sold 
or are renting. They have opened and developed two new subdivisions to the city 
known as "Grandview" and Diecks Subdivision," both of which are high type 
residential districts. They have also built some commercial buildings in the city. 
Approximately sixty people look to Mr. Diecks for employment. 

Mr. Diecks is a member of the Kentucky Retail Lumber Dealers Association. 
He was President of the Elizabethtown Chamber of Commerce in 1943, and it 
was largely through his efforts that the new pants factory was brought to the city. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2087 

He is a member of the Elizabethtown Rotary Club, and a member of its directorate; 
and the Elizabethtown Country Club, of which he is vice-president. He has taken 
a very prominent part in Masonry, being a member of the Blue Lodge, Chapter, 
Council and Commandery. He is High Priest of the Chapter, Deputy Thrice 
Illustrious Master of the Council, and Emminent Commander of Elizabethtown 
Commandery, Knights Templar No. 37. He has also attained the Thirty-Second 
degree in Scottish Rite Masonry and is a Noble of Kosair Shrine in Louisville. 
He finds his recreation in fishing, hunting, and golf. 

Clifford Albert Diecks was married en February 6, 1939 to Mary Margaret 
Monin of Elizabethtown, and they have one daughter, Moninda Lee Diecks. 

As a public spirited citizen, Mr. Diecks has served on many of the community's 
drives, particularly in the interest of the Red Cross and various war funds. Truly 
it can be said of this progressive citizen, that he is, in the true sense of the word, 
a community builder. 

ARTHUR L. DONAN 

J. he steady rise of Arthur L. Donan to leadership in the coal 
mine industry, in political affairs and in the government of his own city, Providence, 
is one of those phenomena which can occur only in the American democracy but 
which, of course, require proper preparation, mental equipment, determination, 
diligence and personality. All these Mr. Donan possesses in abundance. 

With a successful career as civil and mining engineer and a record in the armed 
forces behind him, he is today president of the Providence Coal Company, oldest 
operator in its field in Webster County, has been a member of the Providence City 
Council and remains a leading political figure in his area. In spite of all these 
activities, he yet finds time to operate a farm and to raise pure-bred white-faced 
cattle. 

Arthur L. Donan was born in Hart County, Kentucky, in 1885, and came of 
a long established Kentucky family. His ancestors entered the State by way of the 
Cumberland Gap, settled for a time at Harrodsburg and then moved to Greensburg, 
in Barren County. His parents were Dr. David C. Donan and Victoria (Grady) 
Donan. The former was born in Three Springs, Hart County, in 1836 and died 
there in 1928 after practicing medicine for fifty years. The mother was a native 
of Adair County, Kentucky. Besides Arthur L. Donan, the family includes three 
other children — Dr. D. C. Donan, a physician and surgeon in Morganfield, Ken- 
tucky, and Mrs. M. D. Cann and Mrs. Lucy A. Edwards, both the sisters residing 
in Miami, Florida. 

Arthur L. Donan attended grade and high school in Hart County. In 1907, he 
took the degree of Civil Engineer at the University of Kentucky in Lexington, 
following which he served a year as engineer with the American Bridge Company 
at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. 

In 1908, returning to his native State, he began his affiliation with the company 
he now heads. His first position was as mining engineer. During the next eight 
years, he rose high in the councils of the firm. In the meantime, he had become 
a member of the Kentucky National Guard and, in 1916, as captain of its Company 



2088 A SESQU1-CENTENNIAL 

F, saw service on the Mexican border. Upon the entry of the United States in 
the First World War, in 1917, the entire company was mustered into the Army and 
he went with it overseas, landing at Liverpool, England. He remained on active 
duty abroad until March, 1919. The following month, he was honorably dis- 
charged at Camp Taylor, and immediately resumed his civilian life and career 
where he had left them. Rejoining the Providence Coal Company, he was ap- 
pointed its superintendent. A successful career in this position won him promotion 
to general manager. In 1942, the company rewarded continued distinguished service 
in the more responsible position by electing him president. Mr. Donan's first 
association with the company, beginning in 1908, occurred only 14 years after its 
founding, which took place in 1896. Oldest coal company in Webster County, it 
today employs 120 miners. 

In 1916, Mr. Donan married Elizabeth Sugg, native of Morganfield, Kentucky. 
They have no children. 

Mr. Donan served on the Providence City Council for ten years and, though 
not a member now, remains influential in civic affairs, as well as active in politics 
in general. His breeding of white-faced cattle is in the nature of a hobby. 

HENRY JOSEPH SCHOO 

.Louisville and the State of Kentucky lost a valuable citizen 
in the death of Henry J. Schoo, veteran Louisville business man and leader in 
church and social service circles. His death was deplored by his friends and busi- 
ness associates, and his passing left a vacancy in the ranks of a large and interest- 
ing family that cannot be filled. 

Henry Joseph Schoo was born in Louisville, Kentucky, September 3, 1884, and 
death came to him in the same city October 20, 1939. His remains rest in Calvary 
Cemetery in his native city. He was the son of Henry J. Schoo, who was born 
in Germany, and came to Louisville when very young, where he remained until 
his death. Both of Mr. Schoo's parents are buried in St. Michael Cemetery. 

Henry J. Schoo attended parochial schools in Louisville and received business 
training in one of the city's commercial colleges. His business career began with 
an association at Lortz fid Frey, as the firm was known at that time, but later be- 
came Frey Planing Mill Company. In 1903 he became secretary and treasurer of 
the Company, and for twenty years cared for the duties of that important office. 
In 1923 he became vice-president of the Company, and after six years in this 
capacity he was chosen president in 1929, and was the chief administrator of the 
company's affairs until his death October 20, 1939. Mr. Schoo added other busi- 
ness responsibilities to those connected with the administration of the Lumber 
Company affairs, serving as president of the Mutual Service Company, president 
and director of the Kentucky Retail Lumber Dealers Association, and director of 
the Motor Truck Club of Kentucky. He also held membership in the Building 
Congress and Architects Club and in other Building Associations. It was in 
church service and works of charity that our subject found his greatest interests. 
however. He was very active as a church worker and was an able counselor and 




HENRY JOSEPH SCHOO 



2090 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

helper in the affairs of St. Joseph's Orphanage to which he gave considerable 
time. He was a member of the Holy Name Society and the St. Vincent de Paul 
Society, doing useful work in both organizations. He was a member of the Knights 
of Columbus and partook in the varied work of that organization. 

On September 15, 1909, Henry Joseph Schoo married Margaret Spanla in 
Louisville, Kentucky, the city of her nativity, she having been born in the Falls 
City, August 12, 1891. She attended St. Mary Magdalene School and later grad- 
uated from The Academy of Mercy. The couple are the parents of five children, 
the eldest a son, Henry Joseph Schoo, who was born in Louisville, September 3, 
1911, and attended St. Boniface School in that city. He graduated from St. 
Xavier High School and acquired his higher education at St. Xavier University, 
Cincinnati, Ohio. He obtained his legal education at the Jefferson School of 
Law, of which he is a graduate. He is now an Ensign in the Navy of the United 
States. The youngest child, a daughter, Margaret Mary Schoo, was born in Louis- 
ville, January 12, 1916. She attended St. Boniface School, Sacred Heart Academy 
and the University of Louisville, graduating from the latter. She now holds an 
important position with the Frankfort Distilleries. Louise Alice Schoo, was born 
in Louisville, December 18, 1915, and attended St. Boniface School, Sacred 
Heart Academy and Nazareth College. She took three years training as a nurse 
at Nazareth College, Louisville. She is now serving as Graduate Nurse and 
Instructor at St. Joseph's Infirmary. Another daughter, Dorothy Josephine 
Schoo, was born in Louisville February 23, 1914, and attended St. Boniface 
School and graduated at the Academy of Mercy. She married Captain Bernard 
Maloney, December 28, 1942, and she is now residing in Louisville, while her 
husband serves overseas. Angela Christine Schoo was born in Louisville, April 
1, 1913. She attended St. Boniface School and Sacred Heart Academy, graduat- 
ing from Nazareth College. She is now serving as secretary to an executive of 
the Goodyear Company Powder Plant. 

Henry J. Schoo did not live a spectacular life, but one of usefulness and on 
life's stage his role was that of trustworthy citizen, loyal husband and kind and 
loving father. In his work he was efficient and friendly and in his religious life 
sincere and exemplary. The passing of his like is always a source of regret and a 
loss to any community. 



D. 



ROBERT E. MORRISON, D.D.S. 



r. Robert E. Morrison came to Owensboro, Kentucky, in 1886 
to enter the practice of dentistry and has been continuously active in his profession 
in the same city ever since. The year 1940 marked a half century of work among 
the people of Daviess County and that long period of time and the additional years 
in Owensboro previous to his graduation have given his home people ample time 
to know him and their judgment is favorable. No man occupies a higher position 
among those who know him best than Dr. Morrison and it was gained by being a 
good citizen, a helpful neighbor and a loyal friend. 

Dr. Robert E. Morrison was born in Middlctown, Kentucky, December 19, 1864 
and received his early education in private and academic schools at Fern Creek, 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2091 

Kentucky. In 1886, he came to Owensboro to begin the study of dentistry with 
Dr. J. H. Taylor. In 1888, he entered the Pennsylvania Dental College at 
Philadelphia and graduated from that institution in 1890. On graduation he 
returned to Owensboro and opened offices and has continued practice there. He 
was married December 28, 1897 to Elizabeth L. Taylor who was born in Owensboro 
August 6, 1870. They are the parents of five children, the eldest being Dr. John 
Taylor Morrison, who was born in Owensboro December 6, 1899 and received his 
early education in the grade and high schools of that city. He graduated from 
Purdue University and entered the University of Wisconsin at Madison, that 
state, where he graduated in Medicine. He served his interneship in the hospital 
at Madison and went to New York to the Commonwealth Fund and engaged in 
the building and reorganizing of hospitals. He is now a Major in the United 
States Army and was stationed at Camp Patrick Henry, Newport News, Virginia, 
where he was directing hospital construction for the Government, and is now in 
foreign service. He married Eleanor Goodnight, of Madison, Wisconsin, and they 
are the parents of two children, Jeanie and John. A daughter, Elizabeth Lewis 
was born in Owensboro in 1901. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin 
at Madison and became an instructor at DePauw University at Greencastle, Indiana, 
afterward. She married Dr. T. S. Proud, of South Bend, Indiana, and they have 
three children: Elizabeth Ann, Theodore S. and Susanne. Another daughter, Mary 
Asenath, was born in Owensboro in 1906 and attended the public schools, after 
which she graduated from DePauw University. She taught school in Owensboro 
until her marriage to James H. O'Bear of Indiana. They have three children: 
Mary Lewis, Patricia Ann and James. A third daughter is Anne Homan, born 
in Owensboro, and who attended the public schools there. She graduated from 
DePauw University where she majored in Girl Reserve work and after graduation 
engaged in this activity in Owensboro, Youngstown, Ohio and in California. She 
married Robert C. Kendall, of New Albany, Indiana and they have two children: 
Robert Morrison and Elizabeth Taylor. Dr. William D. Morrison, the youngest 
of the children, was born in Owensboro in 1910 and attended the public schools 
there. He attended Purdue University for two years and studied dentistry at 
the University of Louisville where he was graduated in 1935. He came to Owens- 
boro and joined his father in practice until he was called into service in August, 
1942, and is now on duty overseas. 

Dr. Robert E. Morrison has reared a family that is his pride as it is the pride 
of their home community and has surrounded himself with neighbors and friends 
who appreciate his good fellowship and entertaining conversation. He is a member 
of the Kentucky State Dental Association and the Southern Presbyterian Church. 
His hobby is gardening. 

COOLEY L. COMBS, M.D. 

In 1942, Dr. Cooley L. Combs came to Hazard, Kentucky, to 
serve on the staff at the Hazard Hospital. The following year, Dr. Combs began 
private practice of medicine in Hazard, and thereby was added to the list of 



2092 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

doctors already serving that community, a young man thoroughly trained for 
general medical work, and who had also had specialized training and experience 
in ear, nose and throat diseases and difficulties. Dr. Combs had had four years 
of general medical experience in another Kentucky community and had been 
resident physician at the Ear, Nose & Throat Hospital in Brooklyn, New York, 
before coming to Hazard to join the staff at the Hazard Hospital. There was a 
real need in the community for a young doctor possessed of the ability, education 
and specialized training of Dr. Cooley L. Combs, and in the two years which he 
has been located in Hazard he has become well known and well liked, and is 
serving the city well in his professional capacity. 

Cooley L. Combs was born on February 10, 1910 in Jeff, Kentucky. His father 
was James P. Combs; he was born in Jeff, Kentucky in 1868, and is still a resident 
of that community, where he operates both a farm and a lumber business. The 
mother of Cooley L. Combs is the former Alma Godsey, who was born in Scuddy, 
Kentucky in 1868, and since her marriage to James P. Combs has lived in Jeff, 
Kentucky. 

Dr. Cooley Combs has had an excellent education in preparation for his medical 
career. He attended the grade schools in Jeff, Kentucky, and graduated from the 
high school at Hazard, Kentucky. He was a student at Maryville College at 
Maryville, Tennessee, and at the Medical School of the University of Louisville 
at Louisville, Kentucky. After receiving his medical degree in June, 1936, Dr. 
Combs served an interneship of one year at the Louisville City Hospital. He 
engaged in general medical practice for four years at Kodak, Kentucky, then went 
to New York, where he was resident physician at the Ear, Nose & Throat Hos- 
pital in Brooklyn. In 1942 he returned to Hazard, Kentucky, where his high school 
days had been spent, to accept a position on the medical staff of the Hazard 
Hospital. He was on the hospital staff for one year, then in 1943 opened an 
office in Hazard for the private practice of medicine. Dr. Combs is doing excep- 
tionally well; he was already well acquainted in the city, and soon was able to 
demonstrate that he was a first-class doctor. He maintains membership in the 
American Medical Association, the Kentucky State Medical Association and the 
Perry County Medical Association. Dr. Cooley L. Combs is a diplomat of die 
American Board of the Ear, Nose & Throat Society. 

In 1936, the year in which he received his medical degree from the University 
of Louisville, Dr. Cooley L. Combs married Maxine Clayton of Lexington, Ken- 
tucky. Dr. and Mrs. Combs have a daughter, Mildred Ann, who was born in 
Lexington, Kentucky on October 22, 1942. 

Dr. Combs is identified with the social and fraternal life of the community 
through his membership in the Lions Club and in the Masonic Order. 



R- 



RAY H. MULLEN 



.ay H. Mullen is the son of a well known Kentucky family 
who by enterprise, ability and sound social instincts is continuing the tradition 
to which he was born. He is one of the successful business men of the present 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2093 

generation that have made a place on the map for the metropolis of Western 
Kentucky. 

Ray H. Mullen was born in Paducah, Kentucky, May 14, 1897, and attended 
the grade and high schools of his native city. After finishing his schooling he 
was attracted to the garage and automobile business and entered a garage as a 
mechanic but the entry of his country in World War I called for his service in 
the army and he enlisted to go overseas with the 113th Ammunition Train. His 
service abroad extended to twenty months. His father was Joseph H. Mullen, 
of Logan County, Kentucky, who was born in 1865 and died in 1926. The 
mother was Rosa Ella (Adams) Mullen who was born in Graves County, Kentucky, 
in 1871 and now lives in Paducah. The parents were married in Metropolis, 
Illinois in 1891, and were the parents of six children. When Ray Mullen was 
discharged from the army August 6, 1919, he returned to Paducah and accepted 
a position with the Hupmobile Company of St. Louis, Missouri, traveling over 
the territory out of that city. In 1928 he became special representative for the 
Willys-Overland Company, later returning to Paducah as manager for the L. S. 
Anderson Motor Company. In 1938 he associated himself with Leo Keiler and 
formed the Ray H. Mullen Motor Company. After fourteen months he acquired 
Mr. Keiler's interest in the company and conducted it from that time individually 
owned. On November 19, 1919 he was married to Clara Reddick, who was born 
in Martin, Tennessee October 5, 1898, and they are the parents of one child, Ray 
Mullen, Jr., who was born November 4, 1920, and educated in the grade and high 
schools of Paducah, graduating from high school at the age of sixteen. His 
interests followed those of his father insofar as they related to motor transportation 
and in 1940 he went to Los Angeles, California, where he helped construct the first 
of the famous P-38 planes. He then became Supervisor of Inspection and had 
twenty-two assistants as sub-inspectors, checking the construction on B-25 bombers 
and they directed the work of thousands of men in the construction department. 
His headquarters were at Memphis, Tennessee. While this able young son was 
with his father in the automobile business shortly after his graduation from high 
school he was awarded a Buick coupe for selling more cars than any other salesman 
in the entire south. 

On February 17, 1944, Ray Mullen, Jr., volunteered for service in the Army 
Air Force. In his first tests he made an IQ grade of 134 and stood highest 
in a class of more than five hundred men. He first went to Fort Benjamin 
Harrison and was then transferred to Shepherd Field for basic training. When 
this was completed he was sent to Truax Field, at Madison, Wisconsin, for training 
in radio, where he completed the course with a standing of third in his class. 
Continuing in training he then went to Chanute Field, where he completed a six- 
weeks' course in electronics as one of the high ten in the class. He is now receiving 
instruction in radar preparatory to overseas service. 

Ray H. Mullen served his country in war and now in his more mature years 
he is personally and through his son serving it in a yet greater war. He devotes 
his energies to the war effort in all ways that are available and is an earnest worker 



2094 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

in all civic enterprises as well. A man with a cultural experience and pleasing 
personality he is a pleasant companion and has many friends. 



GENE IRVIN PARKER 



H. 



.umble beginnings seem only to act as a spur to these who are 
born with the determination and ability to wrest success from the business world. 

Gene Irvin Parker, Owensboro's prominent and much respected grocer, is one 
of those who refused to believe that success in the business world is largely a 
matter of luck. 

Starting in business with borrowed capital in the amount of only two hundred 
and fifty dollars, Mr. Parker has enlarged his enterprises to the point where they 
do a volume of more than three hundred thousand dollars worth of business 
a year and have been conservatively appraised as worth forty-five thousand 
dollars net. 

Gene Irvin Parker was born on a farm in Macon County, Tennessee on May 
7, 1901. His father, M. L. Parker, and his mother, Arlie Burton Parker, were 
both native Tennesseans whose families had been residents of that state for several 
generations. He spent his youth in Macon County and attended the public schools 
there through the third grade when he was forced to quit and go to work in order 
to help support his family. 

At the age of seventeen, he went to live with his brother, Dr. W. H. Parker, 
who had also been forced out of school for economic reasons after completing 
only six grades. Young Gene worked with his brother on a farm until he was 
twenty years old. At that time, he returned to school and, with that same un- 
deniable will that brought him great success later in life, he attended school as 
regularly as possible and studied by himself until he had attained the equivalent 
of a high school education. During this time, he continued to work on the farm 
and supported himself. Attending school a total of only thirteen months, he 
completed five and one-half grades and upon examination was granted a teacher's 
certificate. 

He taught school for a short time but finding that this occupation did not give 
a sufficient outlet for his tremendous energy and ambition, he went to Louisville 
and secured a position with the Quaker Maid Stores at a salary of eleven ($11.00) 
dollars a week. 

After only seven months, this chain of stores was sold to the Great Atlantic 
and Pacific Tea Company and Mr. Parker entered the employ of the new com- 
pany. His ability was soon recognized by his superiors and in eight months he 
was made manager of one of the stores. 

In a very short time, he was sent to Owensboro to supervise the change over of 
the three Quaker Maid Stores in that city to the new management. He stayed 
in the employ of the "A and P" for six years, during which time he opened stores 
in Hopkinsville and Princeton, Kentucky. 

In 1929, Gene Irvin Parker became associated with the J. C. Penney Company 
in Owensboro and remained with that concern for five months. With his expert 




GENE IRVIN PARKER 



2096 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

knowledge of merchandising and his native ability to recognize and seize each 
opportunity that presented itself, Mr. Parker decided in 1930 to go in business 
for himself. He borrowed two hundred and fifty dollars and his wife's refrigerator 
(a twenty-five pound capacity ice box) and opened a small retail grocery at Eighth 
and Hathaway Streets in Owensboro. 

This business prospered and five months later he borrowed six hundred and 
seventy-five dollars more, took in a partner and moved his store to Ninth and 
Walnut Streets. The first week's gross receipts amounted to two hundred and 
eighty-five dollars. From this point on, Gene Irvin Parker's success was never in 
doubt. 

Two years after his first opening, he opened his Number Two Store at 1002 
East Fourth Street and in two more years store Number Three came into being 
at 825 West Main Street. In September, 1938, he bought out his partner for 
eight thousand dollars, which he was able to pay in cash. 

In 1940, store Number Four was opened at 225 West Main Street. This was 
the same location where he had managed a store for the "A and P" some years 
before. A short time later, he opened a grocery in Hartford, Kentucky and then 
bought the property where his store Number Three was located at 825 West 
Main Street. 

In August, 1941, he purchased and remodeled the property at 2300 Frederica 
Street and opened a modern super market in this building, which was valued at 
eleven thousand dollars. 

Gene Irvin Parker now operates four stores in Owensboro, having sold the 
Hartford store in October, 1942. He owns and operates his own warehouse and 
employs a total of twenty-five people. The Office of Price Administration has 
classed his business as wholesale because of its large volume. That a business of 
this size was built from two hundred and fifty dollars of borrowed money and 
his wife's refrigerator is a fine commentary on the business acumen and the un- 
tiring energy of its founder. 

Mr. Parker has found time in spite of the demands of his business to enter 
wholeheartedly into the civic, religious and social life of his community. He was 
chairman of the Retail Grocers Association of Owensboro for several years, member 
of the Owensboro Chamber of Commerce and one of its directors for two years, 
director for one year and now a member of the Daviess County Farm Bureau. 
During its existence, he was local chairman of the food stamp program and is 
chairman of nine counties for the United States Food Distribution Administration. 
He is chairman of the Finance Committee of the Owensboro Lions Club, and as 
such has responsibilities with the following: Program Committee, Membership 
Committee, Constitution and By-Laws Committee, Attendance Committee, Lions 
Education Committee, Publicity Committee, Convention Committee, and with all 
Activities Committees: Finance Committee works closely with all Activities Com- 
mittees which require funds during the year. The chairman of the Finance Com- 
mittee is General Chairman of all Fund-raising projects engaged in by the club. 
He was president for a term of one year of the Brotherhood of the First Baptist 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2097 

Church of Owensboro, of which he is a faithful member. Politically, he gives his 
allegiance to the Republican Party. 

On December 24, 1925, Gene Irvin Parker was married to Miss Edna Thompson 
of Owensboro. They are the parents of two lovely children, Betty Jean and Mary 
Ann Parker. 

With his ability and resourcefulness, he may be counted upon to increase his 
success and his usefulness to his fellow citizens. By his example of industry, thrift 
and honest dealing, Gene Irvin Parker may well be emulated by all young men 
who would match his career. 



JAMES DAVIDSON ERSKINE 

James Davidson Erskine, farmer, and superintendent of the 
Ephriam McDowell Memorial Hospital at Danville is a Kentuckian by preference 
and is a native of Kentucky's neighbor state, Ohio. 

His grandfather, who also bore the name of James Erskine was born in Scotland. 
As a young boy he was bound out to his uncle to work in the coal mines. He 
rebelled against this treatment which was a custom in his native land and ran 
away, stowing away aboard ship for his passage to America. Here, he located in 
Ohio where he became interested in clay mines and quarries. He became a large 
operator in the mining industry in Ohio at Lowellville. In connection with his 
mining operations he also had a large commissary for the accomodation of the 
miners. His son, John G. Erskine, the father of James D. Erskine worked in 
the commissary as a boy and with the decline of the mining operations converted 
it into a general store which he conducted during his life time. He was one of 
the first men to recognize the mining possibilities in Kentucky, and in 1904 pur- 
chased a large acreage of coal land near Somerset. After spending one year in 
Kentucky he returned with his family to Lowellville, Ohio. John Erskine was 
intensely interested in public education and spent many years of his life as a mem- 
ber of his school board. 

James Davidson Erskine was born near Youngstown, Ohio, August 19, 1890. 
He attended the public schools of Lowellville and one year at Somerset, Kentucky, 
completing his education at the Rayon High School of Youngstown, Ohio. As 
a young man he worked in the steel mills of the Youngstown Sheet & Tube Com- 
pany at Youngstown and after the death of his father in 1909, he and his mother, 
who was the former Minnie A. Davidson, a native of Ohio, reopened the general 
store at Lowellville and conducted it until 1916 when it was sold. On January 
1, 1917 his mother moved to Columbus, Ohio and he came to Cumberland Falls 
Station, Kentucky to take charge of the coal lands that his father had purchased. 
Here he opened the mines and for the ensuing nine years operated them very suc- 
cessfully. In 1922 he purchased a fine farm near Danville and in 1923 moved 
his family to it. He had married Miss Margaret Wark of Warren, Ohio in 
1920. In 1921 he had become interested in the Lexington Lumber and Building 
Supply Company at Lexington, becoming its president. In 1927 he took over the 
active management of this thriving concern, commuting to and from his farm 



2098 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

home at Danville. This business was closed out in 1941, and at that time he became 
secretary of the board and business manager of the Ephriam McDowell Memorial 
Hospital at Danville. 

The Erskine home which is located one mile south of Danville on the Houston- 
ville Pike is known as the John Craig farm. It is comprised of 230 acres of land 
on which stands a large colonial home of fourteen rooms. This home has been 
renewed and modernized to conform with present day standards of comfort while 
retaining its original architectural beauty. It is the unofficial country club for 
the teen age children, friends of the Erskine children, who find there a congenial 
atmosphere of cordiality and where the master, himself, is not adverse to joining 
them in their fun. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Erskine are (1) Mary Wark, a graduate of 
Centre College, who is now a Cadet Nurse at the Frances Payne Bolton School 
of Nursing at Western Reserve University at Cleveland, Ohio. She married Lieu- 
tenant Thomas Gentry of Danville, Kentucky, July 5, 1944. (2) Margaret, a 
member of the class of 1945 at the University of Kentucky. She married Lieu- 
tenant Richard Gentry Caldwell on June 30, 1944. (3) Charlotte and (4) Kath- 
erine, the latter two being students in the Danville High School. 

Mr. Erskine has been a potent factor in the educational life of his community, 
and has never shirked his duties as a citizen, in fact he has received much pleasure 
seeing the accomplishment of his ideas. He is now serving his second year as 
president of the Board of Education of the city of Danville, having served the 
four years previous as a member of that board. He was appointed a member of 
the Board of Trustees of the Kentucky School for the Deaf by Governor Flem 
Sampson, and served six years on that board, the last two of which he was president 
of it. He is a charter member of the Danville Rotary Club, and served as its 
president for the fiscal year 1944-45. His political affiliation is with the Repub- 
lican party. 

Mr. Erskine is a member of the Masonic Order and has taken the higher degrees 
of the Royal Arch Chapter and the Knights Templar. He is also a member of 
the Oleika Shrine Temple at Lexington. While having led a busy life as a wife, 
mother of four daughters and a home maker, Mrs. Erskine has also been an ac- 
tive participant in the work of the Red Cross and her church. 

HONORABLE RUBY LAFFOON 

In the crucial years of the early nineteen-thirties the State of 
Kentucky was fortunate in that it had the Honorable Ruby Laffoon as its chief 
executive. A lifetime of preparation and years of exacting public service at the 
bar and on the bench had eminently fitted him for the position. The great de- 
pression that had heralded an unequaled period of anxiety and confusion was then 
being felt throughout the nation and the state of Kentucky was not exempt from 
the effects of the unexampled times. Governor Laffoon was alert to the situation, 
and his shrewd and statesmanlike handling of the problems of the times was only 
equaled by the promptness of his actions. Some of the moves the crisis demanded 
were almost revolutionary in character and a man of lesser confidence and courage 




HONORABLE RUBY LAFFOON 



2100 A SESQU1-CENTENNIAL 

would have hesitated to assume the great responsibility. He set about developing a 
reorganization of the State offices, abolishing seme departments and co-ordinating 
the duties of offices where their duties overlapped, and by economy and wise bud- 
geting reduced the tax rate on real estate from thirty to five cents. He recodified 
the educational laws and by shrewd insight adjusted the machinery of government 
to a smooth working basis at a cost in keeping with the lower public income of the 
times. The tendency to financial panic he met with the most outstanding procla- 
mations ever promulgated by the Governor of an American state. On February 
25, 1932, he declared a bank holiday in order that a survey of conditions and a 
strengthening of these institutions might be affected. This was the forerunner of 
a similar holiday declared by President Roosevelt in the month following. His 
action at this time, when the national situation was so exceedingly critical, materially 
aided the banks of the state and furthered the economic welfare of the people of 
the Commonwealth. He affected complete reorganization of the State Board of 
Charity and Penal Institutions, a move that marked the beginning of a general 
reform in this essential governmental function. By initiating and pushing to pas- 
sage a bill for a State sales tax he was able to provide a school fund that allowed 
almost a one hundred percent increase in the educational fund per capita. His 
sales tax plan was later used by several other states. The educational advancement 
in the State that dated from this law was unprecedented in its history and by lend- 
ing active support to the Kentucky Educational Association he brought to this work 
help that proved of inestimable benefit. At the time of his inauguration as gov- 
ernor the warrants of the State had depreciated to eighty cents on the dollar, and 
forty counties in the State were defaulting in interest payments on their bonds. 
The State warrants immediately rose to above par and the counties received liberal 
proportions of the sales tax that enabled them to become solvent and efficient in 
government. He inaugurated reforms in the Highway Department of the State 
that made for progress greater than had been shown in the two previous decades. 
Among the accomplishments here were the building of nine important bridges. 
Governor Laffoon retired from office one of the most pooular State Executives in 
the nation and riding high on the crest of his public career. When Governor Laf- 
foon retired from office he again took up the practice of law at his old office and 
at his old desk. His former law partner, Clifton Waddill had passed a way just 
a month before the Governor's retirement, but Mr. Waddill's sons who were con- 
tinuing their father's practice agreed that no partner would ever be admitted other 
than the former partner of their father's, and Governor Laffoon was cordially in- 
vited to resume his partnership in the firm. 

Ruby Laffoon was born in Madisonville, Kentucky, January 15, 1869, and died 
in the city of his nativity March 1, 1941. He was the son of John Bledsce and 
Martha (Earle) Laffoon. His early education was received in the public schools 
of Hopkins County, and at the private school of W. C. O'Bryan at Browder's 
Chapel in the same county. His higher education was obtained at Washington 
and Lee University. He was married to Mary Nisbct in Madisonville, Kentucky, 
January 31, 1894. His public life really began, when at seventeen years of age he 
went to Washington with his uncle, Congressman Polk Laffoon, there becoming .i 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2101 

messenger in the Pension Bureau for Judge C. R. Faulkner. It was while in this 
position he began his law studies in preparation for university training. On grad- 
uation he returned to Kentucky where he was admitted to the bar and formed a 
partnership with Judge William H. Yost, which continued for a decade. He was 
twice elected County Attorney, breaking a precedent in Hopkins County for this 
office. At the end of the second term in this office he returned to private practice 
in partnership with Clifton Waddill, an association that continued until his elec- 
tion as Circuit Judge of the Fourth Judicial District in 1921. He had received 
without opposition the nomination of the Democratic party for State Treasurer 
in 1907, but had gone down with his party under the Republican landslide of that 
year. Being defeated by a small margin for State Auditor in the following State 
Election he was appointed by his successful opponent to the Chairmanship of the 
first Insurance Rating Board, which was created in 1912. Here his legal talents 
proved of great value. After being elected to the Circuit Judgeship for a second 
time — the nominee of both the Democrats and the Republicans — he decided to 
again enter state politics. He made his successful race for Governor and appointed 
his successor to the vacancy on the bench left by his resignation. 

Mary (Nisbet) Laffoon was born in Clinton, Kentucky, February 13, 1874. 
Her parents were Dr. John Crittenden Nisbet and Mary Catherine (Bryant) Nis- 
bet. Mrs. Nisbet's father was a cousin of William Cullen Bryant, whose immortal 
poem "Thanatopsis" has become an American classic. While Mrs. Laffoon was 
yet a child her parents moved to Waco, Texas, where Dr. Nisbet practiced his 
profession until his death. She secured her elementary education in the schools of 
Texas and Kentucky, graduating in advanced branches from South Kentuck) 
College at Hopkinsville. To Governor and Mrs. Laffoon were born three children, 
who are continuing the illustrious family line. Mrs. Laffoon is a member of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution at Henderson, Kentucky, former State 
Treasurer of the Women's Federated Clubs of Kentucky and a member of the 
Woman's Club of Louisville. She is active in the affairs of the United Daughters 
of the Confederacy in which she holds membership. To her cultural attainments 
she brings a deep interest in literature and music and is a member of the Board 
of Directors of the Madisonville Delphian Society, being one of the organizers cf 
that chapter. Mrs. Laffoon presides in the best traditions of the Southern hostess 
over a charming heme at 2116 Village Drive, Louisville. 

The three children born of the Laffoon family are all residents of the state of 
the parents' nativity and are Laura Isobel Boyd, born in Madisonville in 1895, 
and married to C. H. Boyd, of Hopkinsville. The couple make their home in 
Madisonville. Martha Lou Robinson was born in Madisonville, January 1, 1900, 
and married William R. Robinson of the same city. To this couple have been 
born two children — R. W. Robinson, born in Madisonville in 1920, and now a 
paratrooper in the United States Army, and Roy Thomas Robinson, born in Mad- 
isonville in 1930. The last of the trio is Mrs. Lelia Lindsay, born in Madisonville, 
March 21, 1905, and married in Louisville to Edwin B. Lindsay, a native of Elk- 
ton, Kentucky. 

The Laffoon family has been a notable one in Kentucky history, and the career 

21— Vol. IV 



2102 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

of Ruby Laffoon added much to its lustre. A life time of outstanding achieve- 
ments in public life and in the profession of law was capstoned by his record as 
Governor of his native State. His work as chief executive made his name familiar 
throughout the nation, and will be beneficially felt by the people of Kentucky for 
many years to come. 



c< 



HON. HERBERT L. ASHBY 



iounty Judge Herbert L. Ashby is the most illustrious living 
member of a family identified with Kentucky since the days of the Revolutionary 
War and specifically with Ohio County for more than one hundred years. 

Farmer and judge, he follows other members of the family who have tilled the 
soil and held public office simultaneously and, like them, he obtained his education, 
figuratively if not literally, like another celebrated native of the State, Abraham 
Lincoln, by the light of a fire from the family hearth. Dividing his time between 
the farm near Rockport and Hartford, the seat of Ohio County, he has found 
time to take a leading place in civic and political affairs and other community 
activities, to serve as a member of the Ohio County Fiscal Court and to wage 
a long and successful fight for the improvement of the County's roads. He has 
thus contributed immeasurably to the welfare and prosperity of all farmers and 
the entire rural area of the County as well as to the development of its cities and 
towns, Hartford not least of all. That he has won the gratitude of all the people 
there is attested by the high esteem in which he is held everywhere among them. 

Herbert L. Ashby was born on the farm he operates today, the farm on which 
his mother was born, near Rockport, on August 31, 1885. His father was William 
Thomas Ashby, born in the same County in 1840, who died in 1901. William 
Thomas Ashby, descended from Ashbys — among whom a Jesse Ashby figured 
prominently in virtually every generation — who served in most of the nation's 
major wars, including the Revolutionary, and the War Between the States, was 
a farmer and mill owner. He came of a family which followed, though at a much 
later date, Boone into Kentucky from Virginia, Ashbys who came in a group of 
brothers with their wives, children and belongings and fought for their migration 
and safety with the Indians; one of the brothers was killed by the Redskins on the 
High River. One of the Jesse Ashbys who had played his part in pre-Revolutionary 
and Revolutionary history incurred the gratitude of Governor Benjamin Harrison 
of Virginia and the people of that Colony and State and was rewarded with 400 
acres of Virginia land. Other members of the family later owned for years several 
thousand acres of Kentucky land. Herbert L. Ashby's mother was Sally Mary 
Tichenor of the large and prominent Tichenor family. Four years after the farm 
near Rockport was purchased in 1836, she was born there (1840) and lived there 
until her death in 1912 — in all seventy-two years. In 1851, she saw this farm in- 
creased by a sizeable addition of land purchased by her father. It is this larger 
farm which her son, the County Judge, operates today. There were nine children 
in the family. 

Herbert L. Ashby went to school in his native Ohio County, but he had long 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2103 

before begun the self -education at home which he has continued all his life. From 
his earliest days, he worked with his father on the farm, never really interrupting 
this career. 

In 1925, he was elected to the first of three terms as a member of the Ohio 
County Fiscal Court, serving with increasing distinction. In 1937, he again fully 
gave his attention to the farm, but in 1941, he was called back to public office, 
by being elected County Judge. He has thus served in two public offices in a 
County where his maternal grandfather, one of his predecessors in the ownership 
of the farm — Byron Tichenor — once served as the County's first constable. When 
he was elected to the judgeship in 1941, Judge Ashby headed the ticket of all 
candidates, coming into office with a majority of 982. He is a Republican and a 
member of the Baptist Church. Judge Ashby has remained a bachelor throughout 
his useful career. Of the living members of his immediate family, C. W. Ashby, 
a brother, lives in Los Angeles, California; a sister, Verda Ashby, lives with him 
on the farm; another brother, Clarence M. Ashby, makes his home in New Castle, 
Indiana, and still another brother, Charles R. Ashby, resides in Detroit, Michigan. 
A fourth brother, Lewis Ashby, died in Leftbridge, Alberta, Canada, where he 
had been in business for many years, in 1932. Maggie Ashby, who married Nat 
Lindley, lives on a farm in Ohio County, Kentucky; Mary became Mrs. S. J. 
Tichenor, and lives in Detroit, Michigan, and Geneva Ashby married E. A. Smith 
and resides at Red Bay, Alabama. 

Judge Ashby grows continually in the esteem of his fellow citizens, for as farmer, 
fighter for good roads and other public improvements and as dispenser of justice, 
his personality is felt throughout the area he serves. The area grows with him. 



AMBROSE H. STEPHENSON 



A, 



.mbrose H. Stephenson, the immediate subject of this review is 
one of the larger and more progressive agriculturists in Clark County, Kentucky, 
which is the county of his birth. Mr. Stephenson was born in Clark County, June 
10, 1905. 

Dr. Charles G. Stephenson, father of Ambrose H. Stephenson, was a man of 
diverse talents, and during the active years of his life that were spent at Beckner- 
ville, he not only administered to the physical needs of his neighbors but served 
as an official of several medical bodies and as Secretary of the Board of Education 
of Clark County. Dr. Stephenson was born in Brown County, Ohio, November 
15, 1869, his parents being Joseph A. and Elizabeth (Bennett) Stephenson. In 
1881, Joseph A. Stephenson came to Lexington, Kentucky, and spent two years 
on the old Henry Clay Place, Ashland, then removing to a farm at Pine Grove 
Station, "Boscobel," where he spent eighteen years, this being the former home 
of Levi Prewitt. In later life Joseph A. Stephenson retired from active affairs 
and moved to Lexington, where his death occurred in March, 1919, when he was 
eighty-two years of age. His widow passed away in 1917, when seventy-two 



2104 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

years of age. He was a zealous Mason and a life member of Lexington Lodge, 
F. & A. M. 

Charles G. Stephenson resided on the home farm until he was twenty-one years 
of age and graduated from the Kentucky University, where he took a special 
course, with the class of 1889. He also took a normal course at Danville, Indiana, 
and graduated in 1893. Previous to this time he had commenced teaching, and 
this vocation he continued in Fayette County for seven years, in the meantime 
commencing his medical studies in the Hospital School of Medicine at Louisville, 
from which he graduated with the class of 1898. At that time he located at 
Becknerville, just three miles from his old home, in the heart of a rich agricultural 
community. Dr. Stephenson continued in the general practice of medicine with 
a constantly increasing professional business of the most desirable character. He 
was a member of the American Medical Association and served as president of 
the Clark County Medical Society and of the Kentucky Valley Medical Associa- 
tion. With a lasting interest in the cause of education, he served as a member of 
the Board of Education of Clark County, at the time the Clark County High 
School building was erected at Winchester. He became the owner of a 550-acre 
farm and devoted much of his time to its direction. 

On April 26, 1900, Dr. Stephenson married Catherine Leer Haley, who was 
born in Fayette County, Kentucky, a daughter of the late Ambrose Haley, an 
agriculturist of that county. She was the great-granddaughter of Dr. John Al- 
bertie, a native of Genoa, Italy, who was a pioneer physician of the locality. Mrs. 
Stephenson was a graduate of Tiptonian Institute, Paris, Kentucky. Dr. and 
Mrs. Stephenson became the parents of three children: Nancy Waters Stephenson, 
Ambrose Haley Stephenson and Charles G. Stephenson, Jr. Dr. Stephenson passed 
away on August 10, 1942. 

Ambrose Haley Stephenson attended the public schools of Clark County and 
upon completion thereof entered the University of Kentucky from which he 
graduated with the class of 1928. He immediately assumed charge of his father's 
large land holdings in Clark County and has continued the profitable and pro- 
gressive management of that land. Mr. Stephenson married Miss Mildred Cowgell, 
a native of Owensboro, Kentucky, in 1931 and to them have been born two children, 
Charles Cowgell Stephenson, born January 19, 1933, at the family home and 
Susan Haley Stephenson, born March 11, 1935, also at the family residence in 
Clark County. 

JOHN WILLIAM JONES 

John William Jones is one of that group of small town bankers 
who came into the financial structure of the nation long before great financial 
structures with their branch banks, operated by absentee owners, were dreamed of. 
He is the class of banker and heads a bank of the class that now, as in the be- 
ginning, form the commercial backbone of the country. This is probably truer 
of the communities of the south than elsewhere for it is in states like Kentucky 
that people are closer to each other, where men are interested in the welfare of 




JOHN WILLIAM JONES 



2106 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

their fellows as men and where human virtues are considered and bear weight 
when stability is judged. The subject of this sketch is fondly referred to as 
"John Willie" and he is one of the state's most widely known bankers and belongs 
to the clan that still prefers to apply the old standards of human worth. He is 
noteworthy because he does belong to this sterling old financial school and because 
he has made and held many hundreds of friends throughout all the ticklish in- 
tricacies of financial dealing. 

John William Jones was born in Bourbon County, Kentucky, November 24, 
1884. He was one of three children born to William Schooler Jones and Emma 
(Collins) Jones. The father was a land owner and farmer of Bourbon County, 
who died in 1929, and was of a family old in the history of the state, being the 
son of John W. Jones, also a farmer and landowner. The mother was the daugh- 
ter of William Collins, a prominent Bourbon County farmer. 

Mr. Jones attended private schools in Bourbon County, and upon the comple- 
tion of his education in 1903 entered the employ of the North Middletown Bank 
as a clerk. After training in this position he was promoted to cashier in 1910, 
and in 1932 was made vice-president. He is actively functioning as executive head 
of his bank at this time, having forty-one years of service in one institution as a 
record, one equalled by few men in his field. The North Middletown Deposit 
Bank is one of the oldest in the state and "John Willie" Jones is the Bank, keep- 
ing true to the tradition of the old school community banker. In addition to his 
responsibilities in the bank Mr. Jones owns and operates a farm in Bourbon 
County known as the Ridge Crest Farm, where he breeds saddle horses and raises 
tobacco. 

Mr. Jones has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Burley Tobacco 
Co-Operative Association since 1925, and was President of the Association in 1941. 
During the administration of Governor Keen Johnson he was appointed President 
of the Kentucky State Fair Board. Mr. Jones is a member of the Christian 
Church of North Middletown, and serves his congregation as elder. Since 1906, 
he has been Superintendent of the Bible School of his church and takes an active 
interest in all the organizational work of the congregation. In politics he votes 
and works with the Democratic party. He finds his relaxation in reading, giving 
attention to historical works, particularly Biblical history. 

John William Jones married Beulah Bridges of Scott County, Kentucky, and 
they are the parents of one daughter, Sarah Margaret Jones, who married Davis 
McGarvey, of Cynthiana, Kentucky. Mr. McGarvey is now serving as an Ensign 
with the United States Navy and is stationed in foreign waters. The Jones family 
home is at beautiful Ridge Crest on the Ridge Road in Bourbon County. 

The public honors and the high personal esteem won by John William Jones 
is evidence that communities where human nature is met face to face men of 
breadth of mind and vision are developed. The financial authority of his com- 
munity, the repository of the confidence of his friends "John Willie" Jones is a 
sort of father confessor to his people, and has by his wise counsel and guidance 
rendered service of real value to his fellow man and gained for himself a warm 
place in the heart of humanity. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2107 

HON. CHASTAIN WILSON HAYNES 

_L he business career of Chastain Wilson Haynes, operator of 
the National Fluorspar Company of Marion, Kentucky, which at present is supply- 
ing the United States Government with vitally needed war materials, parallels 
closely that of his father, the late Harry A. Haynes, a pioneer in fluorspar mining. 

Not only did they both engage in the same type of mining, but both father and 
son also served as circuit court clerk. 

Chastain Wilson Haynes is one of seven children born to Harry A. Haynes and 
Lizzie T. Adams Haynes, who went from her native Yellow Springs, Ohio, to 
teach school in Kentucky. The senior Mr. Haynes, born March 18, 1882, in 
Marion, died in 1920. For many years he was circuit court clerk and in 1897 
was one of the first to engage in fluorspar mining. He also was secretary- 
treasurer of the Marion County School Board for twenty-three years. 

After attending public schools in Marion, Mr. Haynes went to DeLand, 
Florida, to study for two years at John B. Stetson University. He returned to 
his home state to receive a degree in 1905 from the University of Kentucky, where 
he majored in chemistry. 

Until his father sold his business in 1918, the two combined their efforts in 
fluorspar mining, Mr. Haynes later going into business for himself as the 
National Fluorspar Company. That company alone is shipping between five hun- 
dred and six hundred tons of fluorspar each month, but the supply is so limited that 
it is listed as critical material by the United States Government. 

Miss Susie Gilbert of Marion, Kentucky, became Mr. Haynes' wife in 1909, 
and they have one daughter, Elizabeth Lee Haynes May of Somerset, New 
York, born April 12, 1910. Her husband, Rev. M. B. May, born in Louisville, 
Kentucky, is pastor of the Methodist Church at Somerset, New York. Their 
children are Louisa Lee May, born December 28, 1932; Lloyd May, born August 
4, 1935, and Ann Chastain May, born August 27, 1937, all at Niagara Falls, 
New York. 

Mr. Haynes' tenure as circuit court clerk lasted from 1934 to 1939 and in 1936 
he represented the First District of Kentucky at the National Republican con- 
vention. At one time he held the important post of mayor of Marion, Kentucky, 
and at various times he has served as a member of the School Board. 

For thirty years he has been a member of the Board of Stewards of the Metho- 
dist Church and is a charter member of the Marion Kiwanis Club, serving six 
years as its secretary. 



CURTIS RANDOLPH SLONE, D.D.S 



D. 



r. Curtis Randolph Slone had had more than twenty years of 
dental experience before he moved to Prestonsburg, Kentucky, in 1934 and opened 
an office for the practice of his profession in that city. He was a native of 
Kentucky, but the twenty years preceding his establishment in Prestonsburg were 
spent in West Virginia. His professional education was received at the Uni- 



2108 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

versity of Louisville, and he maintains membership in both the Kentucky State 
Dental Association and the Mountain Dental Society. 

Curtis Randolph Slone was born at Raven, in Knott County, Kentucky, on 
June 27, 1889. His father, Greene Slone, was a farmer, and also engaged in 
mercantile operations. Greene Slone was born in Raven, Knott County, Ken- 
tucky in 1861; he died in 1929, at the age of sixty-eight. The mother of Curtis 
Randolph Slone was, before her marriage, Drindy Gibson, also a native of Raven, 
Kentucky, where she was born in 1865. Curtis Randolph Slone was one of the 
ten children born of the marriage of Greene Slone and Drindy Gibson. The 
death of Mrs. Greene Slone occurred in 1939, in her seventy-eighth year. 

The early education of Curtis Randolph Slone was received in the rural schools 
of Knott County, Kentucky. He was twenty years old when he went to Louis- 
ville in 1909 and enrolled in the Dental College of the University of Louis- 
ville. He completed the work prescribed in that course in three years, and in 
1912 was graduated with the degree of D.D.S. Dr. Slone opened his first dental 
office at Hazard, Kentucky; after a short time he moved to Welch, West Virginia, 
where he remained for twenty years. In 1934, Dr. Curtis Randolph Slone began 
the practice of his profession in Prestonsburg, Kentucky; the move proved to be 
an advantageous one, as Dr. Slone now has a very profitable business and a large 
clientele, and is well established in the social, professional and civic life of the 
city of Prestonsburg. He is a member of the Masonic Order and of two profes- 
sional associations, the Kentucky State Dental Association and the Mountain 
Dental Society. 

Dr. Curtis R. Slone was still a student at the University of Louisville when he 
married Clara Lamb, who was born at Evans Landing, Indiana. Mrs. Slone was 
a help and inspiration to her husband during the years when he was becoming 
established in his profession, and now enjoys with him the fruits of work well 
done. 

Dr. and Mrs. Slone are the parents of a daughter, Dorothy, who was born at 
Evans Landing, Indiana, in 1913. Dorothy Slone attended Intermont College 
of Virginia and Marshall College at Huntington, West Virginia. She is now 
the wife of Herschel Fleming of Ashland, Kentucky, and the mother of two 
daughters: Darlene Fleming was born at Ashland, Kentucky in September, 1938, 
and her sister, Donna Sue, was born two years later in October, 1940, also at 
Ashland, where Mr. and Mrs. Herschel Fleming make their home. 



THOMAS JEFFERSON HOLMAN 

.Lhomas Jefferson Holman has devoted many years of his life 
to public service, and has also been successful in his private business affairs. 
Through more than a quarter of a century spent in buying, warehousing and 
shipping tobacco, he has built up a reputation for fair dealing, not only among 
the farmers of Warren County, but with the large tobacco firms with which he 
has done business. Tobacco raisers of Warren County take it as a matter of 
course that they should take their product to Tom Holman; they know that when 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2109 

they do business with Tom Holman, the transaction is always satisfactory to every- 
body concerned. 

Mr. Holman was born on a farm in Warren County on February 20, 1882. 
His father, William K. Holman, was a native of Tennessee. He served with the 
Army of the Confederacy during the war between the states; when peace was re- 
stored, he went to Warren County, Kentucky, where he met and married Nanie 
Sweeney. The remaining years of his life were spent as a farmer in Warren Coun- 
ty, and he and Mrs. Holman became the parents of six children, of whom Thomas 
Jefferson Holman was the third. 

William K. Holman died when Thomas was only fifteen years of age. The 
widowed mother took her children to live with her brother, Thomas Jefferson 
Sweeney, for whom Thomas Jefferson Holman had been named. Mr. Sweeney, 
a bachelor, was a successful farmer in Warren County, and young Tom Holman 
was able to help his uncle on the farm while he attended the rural schools of the 
county. 

When Thomas Holman was twenty-two years of age, he left the farm and went 
to Bowling Green, where for a period of two years he engaged in the feed business. 
For seven years he served as deputy sheriff during the tenures of office of Sheriffs 
F. I. Patterson and W. L. McNeal. The next four years of his life were also spent 
in public service as farm superintendent of the state reformatory at Glendale, 
Kentucky, under the administration of Governor McCreary. 

Returning to private life, Mr. Holman purchased a farm near Rich Pond on the 
Nashville Pike. It is on this farm that he has made his home through all the years 
that have followed. The original farmhouse has been remodeled with loving care, 
and is now one of the most attractive homes in the entire county. The farm 
buildings have been modernized and improved, and new outbuildings, barns and 
fences have been built. The soil has been brought into the highest state of pro- 
ductivity through wise rotation of crops and the judicious use of fertilizers. The 
Holman farm is now an example of the best farm practice and the finest kind of 
farm life. 

It was soon after his return to Warren County that Mr. Holman entered the 
tobacco business. He began as check-out man for the Planters Tobacco Ware- 
house, and a year later went with the Farmers Warehouse as its manager. He had 
been in this position seven years when the Tobacco Pool was formed, and he con- 
tinued in the same capacity with the Pool for the four years which it was in ex- 
istence. When the Pool was dissolved, Mr. Holman and eleven associates bought 
two tobacco warehouses in Bowling Green, one in Russellville and one in Scotts- 
ville, forming the Farmers Warehouse Company, a corporation. Mr. Holman 
became the manager of the Farmers Warehouse in Bowling Green for the cor- 
poration. 

In 1934, Mr. Holman purchased the Seventh Street Warehouse at a sheriff's 
sale, and has conducted it since that time. In 1935, he leased the Enterprise 
Warehouse, which he also utilized in the business during that year. The follow- 
ing year he formed a partnership with C. D. Pottinger, of Auburn, Kentucky, 
and they purchased the New Burley Tobacco Warehouse on Fairview Street in 
Bowling Green. This warehouse at that time had a floor space of 60,000 square 



2110 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

feet, and the addition of 40,000 square feet which has since been built brought 
the total amount of floor space to 100,000 square feet, making it one of the largest 
warehouses in western Kentucky. In 1941, he purchased the Enterprise Ware- 
house from Soaper and Hughes of Henderson, Kentucky, and is now leasing a 
part of this warehouse to Liggett and Myers and R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Com- 
panies for their use in packing and shipping their tobacco. In addition to managing 
the three tobacco warehouses, Mr. Holman also continues to operate and manage 
his farm, where he raises registered sheep, registered Poland China hogs, and fine 
horses. Mr. Holman is true to the Kentucky tradition in his love of fine horses, 
and the blooded stock raised on his Rich Pond farm are a joy to anyone who 
knows and loves beautiful horses. 

Thomas Jefferson Holman married Frankie Watkins, whose father, W. R. 
Watkins, was engaged in the furniture business in Bowling Green for fifty years. 
Mr. and Mrs. Holman are the parents of two children, a son and a daughter. 
William W. Holman is associated with his father in business as manager of the 
Enterprise warehouse. His wife is the former Elizabeth Isaacs of Lebanon, Ken- 
tucky, and they have two daughters, Nancy Lee and Billie. Dorothy Holman 
married William S. McGoodwin, who is a field man for Goodyear Tire & Rubber 
Company. They maintain a home at Lexington, Kentucky, where they live with 
their two sons, William S. and Thomas Holman McGoodwin. 

His own extensive private enterprises do not keep Thomas Jefferson Holman 
from taking his part in civic and community affairs. He is a director of the 
Bowling Green Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the Kentucky Tobacco 
Warehousemen's Association. For four years he served as a member of the Jury 
Commission of Warren County. Both Mr. and Mrs. Holman take a leading part 
in the work of the Baptist Church, of which the family are members. All the 
life of the community, business, civic, social and religious, is richer because Thomas 
Jefferson Holman is a part of the community life. 



A 



FRANK JAMESON REES 



Kentuckian who had elected to pursue a professional career 
but was forced by conditions of health to change his activities, Frank Jameson 
Rees has become one of the better known business men of Lexington, Kentucky. 
He has demonstrated a good executive mind and since his arrival in Lexington 
thirteen years ago has built up a business for his company of the first magnitude. 
He is a son of the Blue Grass section and with the exception of a few years, when 
his early professional activities called him elsewhere, has made his home among 
his own people and built many long and close friendships. 

Frank Jameson Rees was born October 3, 1897, in the Pedro section of Harrison 
County, Kentucky, one of six children. His father was James Thomas Rees, a 
farmer of that county and later a grocery merchant in Cynthiana. He is alive 
at seventy-seven years of age and active. The subject's mother was Minnie (Clif- 
ford) Rees, of Harrison County, and she is living at seventy-three years of age. 

Frank Rees attended the "Little Red School House" in the Pedro section of 




FRANK JAMESON REES 



2112 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Harrison County, Kentucky, and when his family moved to Cynthiana, he entered 
the high school at that place and graduated in 1915. He then enrolled at the 
University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia. He supplemented this with the 
engineering course at Purdue University, Purdue, Indiana, where he became a 
member of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity. 

On finishing his work at Purdue Mr. Rees began his engineering career, en- 
gaging principally in highway construction in Arkansas and in the Mississippi 
Delta. After eight years of service in these sections his health began to show signs 
of failing and he took leave of his work to enjoy a period of recuperation in the 
west, spending a year in California. On returning to Cynthiana, Kentucky, he 
entered, in connection with Stanley M. Rees, a cousin, the business known as the 
Harrison Motor Company in Cynthiana. He remained with this business until 
1931 when he transferred his activities to Lexington, Kentucky, to become presi- 
dent and general manager of the United Service Company, Incorporated, a position 
in which he still functions, though maintaining his interests in the Harrison Motor 
Company and other businesses. His company in Lexington is engaged in the whole- 
sale automotive parts and supplies business and its representatives travel through- 
out central and eastern Kentucky, covering fifty-one counties. When Mr. Rees 
first came to the United Service Company fourteen employees cared for its business 
but it has been so enlarged that now sixty-three persons are employed and the 
business is the largest of its character in the central part of the state. Under the 
management of the subject the business has added a modern vulcanizing plant, 
recapping tires, and also a machine shop, electric motor service department and a 
modern super service station, to its plant on East High Street opposite the viaduct. 

Mr. Rees is a member of the Lexington Chamber of Commerce. During the 
World War I he enlisted in service and was assigned to Headquarters Company of 
the 213th Engineers stationed at Fort Lewis in the state of Washington. In 1919 
he was discharged from the service with the rank of Sergeant. Mr. Rees is in- 
terested in baseball, having played on the "sand lot" teams during his boyhood 
and followed professional baseball throughout the years keeping informed of all 
the activities of the major leagues. He often journeys to Cincinnati to see the 
Reds in action on their home grounds. 

On December 5, 1940, Frank J. Rees married Evelyn Combs, of the widely 
known family of that name of Lexington, Kentucky. They are the parents of two 
children, Frank Jameson Rees, Jr., born September 28, 1941, and Evelyn Michele 
Rees, born February 5, 1943. The family home is at 1060 East Cooper Drive, 
Lexington, Kentucky. 

Frank Jameson Rees puts his ability and time at the disposal of the community 
and when civic or social needs call he is depended upon. He has a pleasing per- 
sonality that makes friends wherever he makes contacts and in the county that he 
calls home his presence is welcomed in any gathering for his fundamental ground- 
ing and experience make him an intelligent and interesting conversationalist. 



2114 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



HON. DANIEL DURBIN, LL.B. 



D, 



aniel Durbin is an attorney at Cynthiana, Kentucky; he is also 
a large land owner, director of the Cynthiana Building and Loan Association and 
of the Harrison Deposit Bank and Trust Company, member of the Board of 
Directors of the Central District Warehousing Corporation, of which he was for 
many years the president, and former city manager of the city of Cynthiana. In 
all of his activities he has shown himself exceptionably able and capable. His 
legal practice is large and lucrative; he owns many residences and a great deal of 
city business property, as well as one hundred and thirty acres of farm land in 
Harrison County; his opinion carries great weight in all the organizations with 
which he is connected, and in his two years as city manager of Cynthiana he 
bettered the financial condition of the city to such an extent that there was a 
surplus in the treasury when he left office instead of the substantial deficit which 
was in evidence when he became mayor, and the tax rate had been reduced from 
$1.75 to $1.45 per $100.00. Daniel Durbin has accomplished a great deal in the 
course of his eighty-two years, and is still vigorous and active in the affairs of 
many business establishments in Cynthiana. 

The grandfather of Daniel Durbin, who bore the same name, was born thirty- 
five years before the Declaration of Independence was signed; the date of his birth 
was December 1, 1741, and he lived to be eighty-five years old, his death occurring 
on June 20, 1827. His wife, Elizabeth Durbin, was born on October 31, 1777, 
and died on October 22, 1846. Their son, Napoleon Mirabeau Durbin, who 
became the father of Daniel Durbin, was born on April 1, 1815. There were 
two other children in the family; a son, John Bonaparte Durbin, who was born on 
December 21, 1812, died on November 23, 1857; and a daughter, Corilla Boracea 
Durbin, who married a Mr. Wilson, was born on March 18, 1817. She had a 
son, Napoleon Bonaparte Wilson, who was born on January 22, 1837. 

Napoleon Mirabeau Durbin was a farmer and miller on Beaver Creek. He 
owned three mills — a grist mill, a saw mill and a wool carding mill. During the 
Civil War he served as a Colonel at the head of a regiment of Confederate 
soldiers, and was captured and imprisoned at Lexington. He also served in the 
Kentucky State Legislature. Napoleon Mirabeau Durbin married Cynthia H. 
Hill in 1862. Daniel Durbin was the oldest son of Napoleon M. and Cynthia 
(Hill) Durbin; he was born near Claysville, Kentucky, on November 27, 1862. 
John Durbin was born on October 15, 1864, and died when he was only six 
years old, on December 28, 1870. Mary Durbin, who later became Mrs. Darwin 
Fisher, was born on July 13, 1866. Elizabeth Durbin was born on May 6, 1869; 
she married Dr. J. B. Adams, and died on December 16, 1927. 

Daniel Durbin was only eight years old when his father died on March 11, 
1871. His mother later married John Horner, who purchased and operated the 
"Middle Mill," formerly owned by Mr. Durbin. There was one child of this 
marriage, Maggie Horner, who was born on July 28, 1875; she later married 
Carl Payne. As a boy, Daniel Durbin worked for his step-father in the mill and 
attended school at Claysville and at Smithsonvillc. The boy felt that he had 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2115 

enough education after completing these schools, but Mr. Lewis Lebus, who had 
been appointed his guardian, thought otherwise, and Daniel, much against his 
own inclination, continued his education at Professor N. F. Smith's school in 
Cynthiana, and later spent one year at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, 
Michigan. There were many times in later life when Daniel Durbin was grateful 
to Mr. Lebus for his insistence on the necessity for a higher education. 

The first occupation which Daniel Durbin followed upon completion of his 
schooling was that of surveyor and civil engineer. In the years that followed, 
he surveyed the routes for many of the toll pikes in Harrison County, and also 
designed three of the county bridges. He had, however, become interested in 
another branch of learning, and took up the study of law at the Cincinnati 
College of Law; in 1889 he received his LL.B. degree. He continued his surveying 
and engineering work, and also began practice of law in Cynthiana. His father 
had left a large estate, and much of his time was devoted to its management. 
He was a shrewd real estate operator, and bought and sold a great deal of real 
estate, both in the county and in Cynthiana. He now owns one hundred and 
thirty-two acres of farm land, having disposed of most of his farm property, but 
still owns many residence properties in town and a great deal of city business 
property. He can yet be seen going out with his faithful mare "Queen" to collect 
rents. He has been driving Queen for twenty-six years, and prefers her to an 
automobile, as she knows just where to stop. 

Daniel Durbin married Mary Lou Fisher of Ruddles Mill Community of 
Bourbon County in 1887. Daniel and Mary Lou (Fisher) Durbin celebrated their 
Golden Wedding anniversary in 1937; Mrs. Durbin died on June 14, 1940. Mr. 
and Mrs. Daniel Durbin were the parents of six children. The oldest son, Cullen 
Fisher Durbin, attended Professor Smith's school, and learned telegraphy. He is 
now employed at the Union Station in Cincinnati. He married a Miss Peprin 
and they have three sons: James, who is a railroad man; Fithian, an attorney; 
and Eugene, who is at present serving in the United States Army. Bessie Eileen 
Durbin married Claude E. Arnett and lives in Emporia, Kansas, where she is a 
teacher in the State College. She has one son, Claude E. Arnett, Jr., who is mar- 
ried and has a daughter, Diana, who is the only great-grandchild of Daniel Durbin. 
Laura Durbin is now Mrs. Charles Connor of Lexington, Kentucky. Mrs. David 
Thomas, also of Lexington, has one son, David Allen Thomas. 

Mr. Durbin maintains membership in the Harrison County Bar Association 
and the Kentucky State Bar Association. He has been a member of the Masonic 
Order for more than fifty years. During the activity of the Ku Klux Klan, the 
charter of the Lodge at Cynthiana was withdrawn. Daniel Durbin headed a 
committee to plead before the Grand Lodge for its reinstatement, and was success- 
ful. Daniel Durbin is also a member of the Christian Church. A near relative, 
Dr. John P. Durbin, was a noted theologian, traveler and writer, who published 
several books on his observations in the Holy Land and in Europe. 

Many other affairs, aside from his legal practice and the administration of 
his real estate holdings, share in the attention of Daniel Durbin. He is a director, 
attorney for and the president of the Cynthiana Building and Loan Association, and 



2116 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

is also a director and attorney of the Harrison Deposit Bank & Trust Company. 
For many years he was president of the Central District Warehousing Corporation. 
This firm has its headquarters in Lexington, and is the largest burley tobacco 
selling organization in the state, now owning twenty-five large tobacco warehouses, 
eight of which are in Lexington. Mr. Durbin is still a member of the Board of 
Directors of this corporation. Daniel Durbin was also city manager of Cynthiana 
for two years. When he took office, the city owed $12,000; he left it with a surplus, 
after reducing the tax rate from $1.75 to $1.45 per $100.00. According to Mr. 
Durbin, he got fired from that job because he saved too much money! 



I 



JAMES HODGKIN QUISENBERRY 



Iames Hodgkin Quisenberry is the son of a farmer, and is him- 
self farming the land on which he was born. His father raised cattle, and so does 
James H. Quisenberry, but there is one difference of major importance between 
the stock raised by James Quisenberry and that bred by his father. On the Quisen- 
berry farm now is a large herd of purebred Angus cattle and a fine flock of South- 
down sheep. Mr. Quisenberry has learned that well-bred cattle and sheep command 
a premium price on the market, and bring a higher profit to the farmer. 

James Hodgkin Quisenberry was born on his father's farm in Clark County, 
Kentucky, on January 22, 1882. His father, Rhodes Wigglesworth Quisenberry, was 
also a native of Clark County, having been born in that county in 1842. The farm 
of Rhodes Wigglesworth Quisenberry was devoted principally to the raising of 
cattle. He was a very successful cattle-breeder and breeder of Poland-China hogs. 
He married Betty Woodford, who was born in Clark County in 1850. James 
Hcdgkin Quisenberry was one of the eleven children born of this marriage. Rhodes 
Wigglesworth Quisenberry died in 1896; his widow lived forty-three years longer, 
and died in 1939 at the age of eighty-nine. 

After attending the Clark County schools, James Quisenberry went to work on 
the farm with his father. His entire life was spent in the creation of the basic 
wealth of the nation — -farm produce. Never before has the work of those who 
produce food for the country been so important as it is today, and Mr. Quisen- 
berry, like most of his fellow-farmers, is responding whole-heartedly to the plea 
for more and more food production. Efficient, well-managed farms like the Quisen- 
berry farm are a vital part of America's war production, and Mr. Quisenberry is 
doing his part to speed the day of victory. 

James Quisenberry married Inez Hampton, who is also a native of Clark County, 
Kentucky. Her father, Henry Allan Hampton, was born in Clark County in 
1842, and was a farmer until his death in 1919. Her mother was Betty (Allen) 
Hampton, who was born in Clark County in 1853 and died in 1892. Mr. and 
Mrs. James Quisenberry are the parents of three children. The oldest son, Henry 
Allan Quisenberry, was born in Clark County, Kentucky, on January 5, 1910. 
He married Emily Hardin, of Lexington, Kentucky, and they have two children: 
Ann, who was born in Lexington, Kentucky in 1938, and Sue, who was born in 
Louisville, Kentucky in 1942. The second son of James and Inez (Hampton) 




JAMES HODGKIN QUISENBERRY 



22— Vol. IV 



2118 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Quisenberry was Thomas Madison Quisenberry, who was born in Clark County, 
Kentucky, on August 8, 1911. His wife is the former Bessie Margaret Lewis, 
also a native of Clark County, and they are the parents of four children, all of 
whom were born in Clark County: Evelyn, born August 14, 1937; Margaret, born 
August 4, 1939; Thomas Madison Quisenberry, Jr., born July 30, 1941; and Betty, 
born October 5, 1943; Thomas Madison Quisenberry is at present a Captain in 
the United States Fifth Army, stationed in Italy. The youngest son of Mr. and 
Mrs. James H. Quisenberry is James H. Quisenberry, Jr., who was born in Clark 
County on August 31, 1917. He is married to the former Mary Louise Stokes of 
Fayette County, Kentucky. 

James H. Quisenberry and his two elder sons are members of the Christian 
Church. Mrs. Quisenberry is a member of the Baptist Church. 



A, 



ALVA BALL 



.lva Ball, president of Cumberland Hotel, Inc., has done a great 
deal to popularize his home state of Kentucky. Under the care of this genial 
host, everything is done that can be done to insure the comfort of the traveler 
and make his stay, however fleeting, a pleasant memory. Together with his 
brother, Floyd Ball, he has established Balls Court, one of the finest tourist 
courts in the country. Every one of the twenty-two rooms has a bath, and every 
bed invites slumber. Tourists come from all states in the union, and are unan- 
imous in their praise of the efficiency and hospitality of the hotel enterprises 
directed by Alva Ball. Mr. Ball is a good host because he likes comfort himself, 
and also knows how to relax. He can prove any of the stories he tells about 
fishing, hunting or golf, as he is adept at all three, and honestly errs on the 
modest side in his conversational claims. Mr. Ball is in partnership with his 
brother in many enterprises, and together they make a smooth-working team. Most 
of their business ventures bring them into direct contact with the public, and they 
both have the common trait of forming friendships quickly. Strangers are not 
long in conversation with Alva Ball before they have the feeling that they have 
known him a long time. He has an easy, poised manner and possesses a genuine 
liking for people. It is not difficult to understand that this feeling is recipro- 
cated, and among the many interests of Alva Ball it would be correct to say 
that truly his first and main interest is to make friends. 

Alva Ball was born in Middlesboro, Kentucky in November, 1903. This makes 
him five years younger than his brother, Floyd Ball, who became his partner in 
many business ventures. Joseph Frank Ball, the father, was born in Lee County. 
Virginia, in 1870, and died in 1942. He combined a merchandising and whole- 
sale feed business. Sally Edna (Renfro) Ball, the mother, was born in Renfro 
Valley, Kentucky, in 1870. She died January 20, 1945. 

Alva Ball went to school in Middlesboro, Kentucky, and as soon as he had 
the opportunity he started in business, being very decided that he did not want 
to work for somebody else. In addition to his hotel interests, Alva Ball owns 
two farms — one of them in Bell County, Kentucky, and the other in Lee County. 
Virginia. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2119 

In 1921, Alva Ball was married to Gladys Calloway. She was born in Middles- 
boro, Kentucky. They are the parents of four children. The oldest daughter, 
Ira Beatrice Ball, was born in Middlesboro, Kentucky, on February 11, 1922. 
She attended public school at Middlesboro, Kentucky. Later she studied two 
years at Ward-Belmont, Nashville, Tennessee, one term at the University of Ken- 
tucky, one term at the University of Tennessee, and is now going to Lincoln 
Memorial University. When she was fourteen years of age, Ira Beatrice Ball 
was chosen as "Harvest Festival Queen." This was the only recorded time that 
this honor was bestowed on a high school sophomore, and was a tribute not only 
to her beauty, but to her poise, grace and charm. Edna Floyd Ball was born in 
Middlesboro, Kentucky, on August 26, 1924. She attended the public schools of 
Middlesboro, Kentucky, and was graduated from the high school there. She 
then studied for one year at Ward-Belmont in Nashville, Tennessee. Then came 
half a year at the University of Kentucky, half a year at the University of Ten- 
nessee, and now she is studying at Lincoln Memorial University. Frances Lor- 
rain Ball was born at Middlesboro, Kentucky, on November 20, 1926. She took 
her early schooling in Middlesboro, Kentucky, where she graduated from high 
school. She then had one term at the University of Kentucky, one term at the 
University of Tennessee, and is now a student at Lincoln Memorial University. 
Alva Franklin Ball was born in Middlesboro, Kentucky, on February 9, 1929, 
and is at present attending high school. He is a member of the football and the 
basketball teams. 

During Wendell Wilkie's campaign for president, Alva Ball was his county 
Republican chairman. He also was appointed chairman of Bell County for the 
President's Ball, proceeds of which go to fight the scourge of infantile paralysis. 
When the Ken-Ten Yacht Club was organized in 1937, Alva Ball was honored 
by election as the first Commodore. He holds office at present as Exalted Ruler 
of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is also a member of the 
Woodmen of the World, the Lions Club, and the Bell County Budget Com- 
mission. Alva Ball has always lived a busy life, but he has kept a good balance, 
making sure that he never made the mistake of all work and no play. His 
business of helping people to learn how to relax is important, and he is certainly 
contributing to the good of the nation. 



As 



ORVILLE MAYNARD SIEGFRIED 



lS an adopted son of Kentucky, Orville M. Siegfried is an ex- 
cellent example of the type of men Kentucky has been able to attract from other 
states. Born and reared in the oil business, Orville Siegfried evidently decided 
that he wanted to test out other lines of endeavor. He started in a bank, then 
gradually worked into business activities closely allied to the oil industry. Now 
he is associated with the Standard Oil Company, largest oil company in the 
world, as their representative in Glasgow, Kentucky. 

Orville Siegfried was born at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on February 19, 1903. 
His father, Willis H. Siegfried, who is also a native of the Keystone State, has 
spent his life in the oil business. He is now secretary and treasurer of the Ameri- 



2120 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

can Oil and Development Company, a production company operating in the 
Illinois, Texas, West Virginia and Ohio oil fields with executive offices in Pitts- 
burgh. His mother was Margaret Jane (Reece) Siegfried, also a native of 
Pennsylvania. 

The early days of Orville Siegfried were spent in Pittsburgh. It was there that 
he received his grade school education and graduated from high school. He then 
entered Washington & Jefferson College in Washington, Pennsylvania, and com- 
pleting their prescribed course of study was graduated in 1925 with the degree 
of Bachelor of Science. His business career was launched when he became an 
employe of a bank in Pittsburgh, but after a short time there he severed this 
connection and was employed by the Pittsburgh Erie Salt Company. After one 
year in this position he became associated with the Frick-Reid Supply Corporation, 
dealers in oil well supplies, He was for two years connected with their branch at 
Bradford, Pennsylvania, and then came to Glasgow, Kentucky, as manager of 
their local branch. In 1933 he joined the Standard Oil Company in charge of 
their wholesale plant at Glasgow. This plant is the wholesale distributor of Stan- 
dard products for Barren and Metcalfe counties. Mr. Siegfried has now com- 
pleted more than ten years in this responsible position, and during this time has 
made an excellent record as representative of his company, and has become one 
of Glasgow's most progressive citizens. 

Mr. Siegfried is chairman of the 3 IE Highway Association for Barren County, 
which promoted the building of that Highway from Louisville to Nashville. He 
is supervisor of all tobacco sales in Glasgow under the Tobacco Board of Trade. 
During the year 1942-43 he served as president of the Glasgow Rotary Club. 
He is a member of the Glasgow Country Club, and his fraternal connection is with 
the Masonic Order. Politically, Mr. Siegfried is a Democrat. His church affilia- 
tion is with the Presbyterian Church, where he is a member of the Board of 
Deacons and treasurer of the church. 

The first marriage of Orville M. Siegfried occurred in 1928, when he was 
married to Madaline E. Thomas of Pittsburgh, whose death occurred in 1938. 
They became the parents of one daughter, Nancy Jane. In 1940, Mr. Siegfried 
married Elizabeth S. Sandidge, the daughter of Allan and Mary B. Sandidge of 
Glasgow. Mrs. Siegfried takes an active interest in the work of the Woman's 
Club, the Garden Club and the Parent-Teachers Association. 



X 



NATHANIEL M. ELLIOTT 



he postmaster of Corbin, in Whitley County, Kentucky, is 
Nathaniel M. Elliott, a man of wide popularity and unusual attainments. He 
received a specialized business training, and later studied law. This he followed 
by establishing a law firm in which he was the senior partner. Governor Stanley 
of Kentucky appointed Mr. Elliott to a responsible state position which he oc- 
cupied for a period of years. Following this, Mr. Elliott took up farming for a 
period of twelve years. He still owns the farm, which is located near Corbin. 
Aside from his business and professional ventures, the chief interest of Mr. 
Elliott has been politics. He is an able campaign manager, and this he has proved 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2121 

time and again. Patient, diplomatic, always courteous, Mr. Elliott knows how 
to pick candidates and how best to present them to the electorate. He is a 
master of detail, and when he maps a campaign the strategy is complete, and 
there is no lag in the organization. Shrewd and able, there are few who can 
approach Mr. Elliott in judgment and timing; he has an unerring instinct for 
the right move and the proper approach. Through all his endeavors his personality 
gleams. Law has given him understanding and an ability for mental appraisals. 
Life and work on the farm has endowed him with sympathy and understanding 
of human wants and desires. If Nathaniel Elliott had chosen to be a candidate 
himself, he would have served well and gone far. Instead, he has acted as coun- 
selor and advisor, or as the link between the voters and those who seek office. People 
admire Nathaniel Elliott for his quiet and unassuming manner, his pleasant 
goodwill and his readiness to listen to troubles or suggestions. As postmaster at 
Corbin, Kentucky, he is always alert to the comfort and convenience of the public. 
They consider they are fortunate in being served so faithfully and well by their 
good friend, Nathaniel M. Elliott. 

On August 22, 1879, Nathaniel M. Elliott was born in Laurel County, Ken- 
tucky. His father, Jesse V. Elliott, was a farmer. He was born in Knox Coun- 
ty, Kentucky, in 1845 and died in 1926. The mother of Nathaniel Elliott was 
Nancy A. (Miller) Elliott. She was born in Claiborne County, Tennessee in 
1845 and died in 1932. 

After graduating in 1903 from the Sue Bennett Memorial School at London, 
Kentucky, N. M. Elliott attended the Bowling Green Business College, Bowling 
Green, Kentucky. Here he took a complete and intensive course in business and 
secretarial work. His first employment was in Bowling Green in the office of 
Mitchel and Dubose, where he remained for a year and a half. Mr. Elliott then 
entered employment with Belcher & Sparks, a firm of attorneys in Greenville, 
Kentucky. He was with this firm from 1906 until 1910, and during that time 
read law and learned the manifold details of the business. After passing the 
Kentucky State Bar examination in 1908, Mr. Elliott moved to Central City, 
Kentucky in 1910. He formed a partnership and established the firm of Elliott 
and Freeman. They practiced together for three years. Governor Stanley ap- 
pointed Nathaniel Elliott as Assistant State Examiner and Inspector, a position 
he filled for a period of four years. Mr. Elliott then passed twelve years as a 
farmer, and he still owns the farm, which is situated near Corbin, Kentucky. 
He is a member of the Methodist Church in Corbin. 

Always active in politics, Mr. Elliott was recognized by the Democratic party 
as a leader who had drive, initiative and constructive ideas. He was the man to 
put the party across in his part of the county, and in 1932 he was named Cam- 
paign Chairman for the Democratic party. This was the year in which the Demo- 
crats were preparing to take over the presidency and in the November elections 
Franklin D. Roosevelt rode triumphantly into the White House on the crest of 
a popular majority of seven million votes. Nathaniel Elliott, like others who 
worked long and strenuously in that campaign, felt a great satisfaction at the 
dawning of the era of the New Deal. Publicity through the press and radio in- 
fluences the votes of the people, but there is no substitute for personal contact, 



2122 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

and in his years of campaigning and managing, Nathaniel Elliott has clinched 
many a vote and swung doubtful constituencies into the column for which he 
campaigned. 

Nathaniel M. Elliott married Muriel E. Jones Ball, who was born in Williams- 
burg, Kentucky. They have one son, Nathaniel Vail Elliott, who was born in 
Laurel County, Kentucky, on January 15, 1921. He attended St. Camillus Aca- 
demy in Corbin, Kentucky, and graduated from Sue Bennett College in London, 
Kentucky. In 1942 Nathaniel V. Elliott enlisted in the United States Navy, 
and he was stationed 21 months at an Air base in Brazil, South America. He 
is now in Florida. 

In 1934, Nathaniel M. Elliott was appointed as postmaster of Corbin, Kentucky. 
This is an extremely important post office district. Corbin is known as a tri- 
county city, as it is located in the corner of three counties, Whitley, Knox and 
Laurel. Before the war, the population of the city was almost 8,000, and the 
transient annual visitors to the district was actually figured at 68,000. The great 
tourist attraction that brings such added business to Corbin is the Cumberland 
Falls State Park, in Valley of Parks. It can readily be appreciated that the post- 
mastership of Corbin is a big position, but Nathaniel M. Elliott is a "big" man. 
He is skilled at smoothing problems and working with and for the public. The 
government of the United States chose wisely and well when the postoffice man- 
agement of Corbin was entrusted to the genial and capable Nathaniel M. Elliott. 



BEN ALLEN THOMAS 



B, 



I en Allen Thomas, his father and his sons were all born on the 
farm which his grandfather purchased in 1832. This farm has provided a good 
living and a pleasant way of life for four generations of the Thomas family, and 
is now in a higher state of productivity than it ever was before. Ben Allen 
Thomas is a scientific farmer; he was bred on a farm and has made a thorough 
study of farming methods and farm problems, both at the university and in his 
daily life. He is the largest land operator in Shelby County, and is always ready 
to try new methods which show any promise of being an improvement over old 
ways of farming. He has taught neighboring farmers new methods of soil con- 
servation, how to prevent soil erosion through terracing, and the value of alfalfa 
in enriching the soil and how to use it in silos. He has bred and showed cattle 
all over the United States, and his champion stock has won many ribbons. 

Ben Allen Thomas was born in Shelby County, Kentucky, on April 20, 1890, 
on the farm which his father, another Ben Allen Thomas, had inherited from his 
grandfather. His mother was Henrietta (Stout) Thomas. She was born in 
Woodford County, Kentucky and died on January 31, 1897, when her son was 
not yet seven years old. His father took the boy with him to live with his brother 
and family, who were living where Ben Allen Thomas' present home stands. Ben 
Allen Thomas, Sr., continued to operate the farm until his death on September 
22, 1912, at the age of seventy. 

A private school at Mulberry was the source of the early schooling of Ben 



^-s i 




BEN ALLEN THOMAS 



2124 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Allen, II. Upon graduation from this school, he entered Transylvania University 
at Lexington, Kentucky. For three consecutive years Ben Thomas played on the 
Transylvania Varisty football team. At the beginning of his last year in the 
university his father became ill, and he returned to the farm to take charge of 
operations. 

Mr. Thomas possessed both the love of the soil and the technical knowledge 
and practical experience required to make farm operation a pleasant and profitable 
way of life. The newest scientific development combine in him with the accumu- 
lated knowledge which is handed down from father to son in a well-managed 
farm, and which is absorbed in his daily life as a boy grows up on a farm. He 
is always ready to try a new idea which shows promise, but there is the steadying 
influence of years spent on the farm which enables him to sense very quickly which 
new developments are sound, and which are more or less quixotic. He has been 
a great influence in the fight against soil erosion and in the dissemination of in- 
formation and practical demonstration of ways of increasing soil fertility. He 
started showing shorthorn cattle in 1918. In 1921 he showed the champion 
female short-horn at Chicago, and in 1922 he had the Grand Champion steer at 
the International Stock Show in Chicago. There have been only three Grand 
Champions of the Shorthorn breed in the past forty years. Tobacco is also raised 
on the Thomas farm, and Mr. Thomas was one of the organizing directors of the 
Western District Warehouse Corporation of tobacco growers. He also helped to 
organize the Shelby County Cooperative Association in 1936, and the Falls City 
Co-operative Milk Producers Association, of which he was vice-president for three 
years and president for the succeeding seven years. Another co-operative association 
in which he is interested is the Wool Growers Co-operative Association, of which 
he is vice-president. 

Ben Allen Thomas married Vestina Bailey, daughter of Winford and Lucy 
(Day) Bailey on January 25, 1919. The old Bailey home, which was secured 
under a land grant signed by Patrick Henry, now belongs to Vestina (Bailey) 
Thomas. Like her husband, Mrs. Thomas is a graduate of Transylvania Uni- 
versity, from which she received the A.B. degree in 1914. Mrs. Thomas is a 
member of Colonial Dames, Daughters of the American Revolution, and Beta 
Sigma Omicron sorority. Her greatest pleasure is derived from her flowers and 
her family. The Thomas family are members of the Christian Church. 

The two children of Ben Allen and Vestina (Bailey) Thomas are Ben Allen 
Thomas, III, and Winford Bailey Thomas. Ben Allen Thomas, III, followed 
his father and mother in his pursuit of a higher education, and was graduated 
from Transylvania with honors in 1942, with the A.B. degree. He had majored 
in chemistry, in which he received the highest awards, and was offered a fellowship 
at Purdue and also at California University. At Transylvania University Ben 
Allen Thomas, III, belonged to Kappa Alpha fraternity, and like his father played 
on the varsity football team for three years; in addition he was an excellent tennis 
player. He volunteered for service and is now a pilot of a B-24 and holds the 
rank of Lieutenant (jg) in the United States Navy. His younger brother, 
Winford Bailey Thomas, was graduated from Shelby ville High School with 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2125 

honors in 1942. He played football for one year, and was on the debating team 
for one year, showing considerable promise as a public speaker. 

Among other interests of Mr. Thomas are the National Dairy Council, in 
which he is a director, and the Deposit Bank of Pleasureville, Kentucky, of which 
he is also director; in addition he is a director in the Shelby County Trust and 
Banking Corporation. Mr. Thomas belongs to Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity, and 
is a large donator to Transylvania University; football, in which he played a star 
part during his college days, continues to be one of his hobbies. 



CLARENCE E. KEITH AND LON LA HEIST KEITH 

A he lives of Clarence E. Keith and Lon La Heist Keith, father 
and son, are so interwoven, perhaps more than those of other fathers and sons, 
and both have made such marks on their city, Elizabethtown, and Hardin County, 
that no chronicle of the region's affairs could omit mention of either or speak of 
one without speaking also of the other. 

Both were born in the same county, Breckinridge. Both, as artisans, followed 
a father in the conduct of a business. Both have established reputations, in one 
sphere or another, for delicate handling of delicate problems, for sympathetic, 
kindly approaches to the affairs of others in moments of bereavement or other 
stress and both have brought the same sense of expressive artistry to a call for 
proper perpetuation of a memory. 

Clarence E. Keith, the father, for many years in the monument business in 
Elizabethtown, is now executive vice-president of the Federal Savings Loan Com- 
pany there. 

Lon La Heist Keith, the son, carries on the monument business, and is active 
in numerous other fields. 

Clarence E. Keith was born in Cloverport, Breckinridge County, November 12, 
1867. His own father had founded the monument business and the boy grew up 
in it, learning the craft as he grew. In time he succeeded to it and so applied 
himself, and made so favorable an impression upon the public, that when in 
1933, retiring, he handed it over to his son, Lon, it had become incredibly ex- 
panded and lucrative. 

Having spent a life-time in arduous activity, and lived to his three-score-and-ten, 
Clarence Keith now gives his time to the lighter task of the Federal Savings Loan 
Company's executive vice-presidency. He and his wife, Amanda Elizabeth (Har- 
rington) Keith, who was born in Meade County, Kentucky, May 5, 1868, live more 
or less quietly in Elizabethtown. 

Lon La Heist Keith was born in Breckinridge County, December 3, 1892, and 
like his father learned the monument making craft as a boy, so that as a third- 
generation practitioner in the business he has made his reputation for the skill of 
his hands and for the executive conduct of his firm. 

He married, first, Nancy Dunavin, of Russellville, Kentucky, on December 3, 
1913. Of this marriage there are six children. The first of these was a daughter, 
Nancy Ragan Keith, born in Elizabethtown, September 6, 1914, now married to 



2126 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Walker Cunningham, of Union City, Tennessee, and the mother of one child, 
Walker Cunningham, Jr. Another daughter, Amanda Elizabeth, also born in 
Elizabethtown, is the wife of Thomas Adams, of Lexington, and has two children, 
Nancy Keith Adams and Thomas Adams, Jr. The first son was Clarence Mc- 
Gruder Keith, born in Elizabethtown, now a First Lieutenant in the U. S. Army's 
Field Artillery and in Italy. Mildred Ellen Keith, another daughter, born in 
Elizabethtown, is the wife of Golden Hardy, Jr., of West Point, Kentucky. Still 
another daughter is Mary Frances Keith, who lives with the parents in her native 
Elizabethtown. Mary Frances Keith married William E. De Spain, of Elizabeth- 
town, Kentucky. He is a Sergeant in the United States Army. The youngest 
member of the family is Lon Keith, Jr., also born in Elizabethtown, now attending 
Kentucky State University at Lexington, where he is taking the pre-medical course. 

Lon La Heist Keith married, second, Katherine Wharton, born in Springfield, 
Kentucky, December 17, 1905. Their marriage took place October 5, 1928, and 
two children have been born to this union, both in Hodgenville — Roy Hamilton 
Keith, June 26, 1931, and Katherine La Heist Keith, August 22, 1943. 

When Lon La Heist Keith is not active in the monument business, he may be 
found indulging his hobbies, fishing and hunting, or in the affairs of the Masonic 
Lodge to which he belongs, or the Woodmen of the World, the Rotary Club or 
the Pendennis Club at Louisville. His political affiliation is with the Democratic 
Party. 



O, 



GARRETT P. JONES 



'n February 26, 1942, Garrett P. Jones passed from this life, 
and in his passing Franklin County and Central Kentucky lost one of its most 
active and progressive farmers and livestock dealers as well as one of its most 
prominent citizens. 

Garrett P. Jones was born on a farm in Scott County, February 5, 1882, the 
son of John Morgan and Mary (Lucas) Jones. John Morgan Jones was a farmer 
in Scott County and had been reared by his uncle, Garrett Powell. Garrett 
Powell established the livestock business which is now being ably handled by a 
member of the fourth generation of the family, John Marshall Jones, the son of 
Garrett P. Jones. Throughout these four generations the family has been large 
land owners, extensive farmers and livestock dealers. Mary (Lucas) Jones was 
the daughter of Claiborne Lucas of Scott County. 

Garrett P. Jones attended the public schools of Scott County and Georgetown 
College. As a young man he joined his father in his farming and stock operations. 
In 1905, he married Sally Marshall, a daughter of Thomas Marshall of Scott 
County, and they moved to the farm in Franklin County, where the remaining 
years of his life were spent, and where Mrs. Jones now resides. Thomas Marshall, 
father of Mrs. Jones, was the son of John and Sarah (Lemon) Marshall. Mrs. 
Jones' mother was Mary Beatty and through this family Mrs. Jones traces her 
ancestry back to the Revolution through the Waller, Rice and Rhodes families to 
David Kerr and James Kerr, both of whom were soldiers in the war for American 
independence. 




JOHN MARSHALL JONES 



2128 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Garrett P. Jones was regarded as one of the best farmers and stockmen in 
Franklin and Scott Counties. His land was operated largely on the tenant system 
and it is known that he always had a personal interest in the affairs of his tenants. 
He wanted them to come to him with their troubles that he might help them, and 
he did everything in his power to enable them to improve themselves. Both the 
Jones and the Marshall families have been interested in banking in Georgetown 
for many years, Garrett P. Jones being a bank director there. 

John Marshall Jones, the son of Garrett P. Jones and Sally (Marshall) Jones, 
was born at the family residence in Franklin County on November 26, 1910. His 
elementary education was obtained in the public schools and he received the 
Bachelor of Science degree from the Commerce College of the University of Ken- 
tucky. He married Margaret January of Maysville, Kentucky, who died July 1, 
1940. As a young man he joined his father in his many operations and took 
complete charge of the family interests after his father's death. He makes his 
home with his mother at the family residence on Georgetown Pike. He is a 
Knights Templar Mason and a member of Oleika Shrine at Lexington. He is a 
director of The First National Bank of Georgetown. He is a member of the 
board of Deacons of the Christian Church of Georgetown. 

Mrs. Garrett P. Jones is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution 
and the Central Kentucky Womans Club of Lexington. She is an able and 
active member of the Home Makers Club. 

In addition to the business of buying and selling livestock the Jones' interests 
include 900 acres of fine bluegrass farm land in Franklin and Scott Counties, all 
of which is under the personal management of John Marshall Jones, who in 1941, 
42 and 43 was President of the Franklin County Farm Bureau Federation. John 
Marshall Jones is also a director in the Burley Tobacco Growers Cooperative Asso- 
ciation, a member of the Georgetown Rotary Club and a member of the Phi 
Delta Theta Fraternity at the University of Kentucky. 



X 



CHARLES MARION RODMAN 

he subject of this sketch has devoted thirty-one years of his life 
to the coal mining industry with an efficiency and singleness of purpose that has 
placed him at the head of an institution that has attracted the attention of the 
industry throughout the world. 

Charles Marion Rodman was born in Daviess County, Kentucky in 1887 and 
obtained his early education in the public schools of Owensboro and at St. Mary's 
College, Lebanon, Kentucky. His business life began in Owensboro where he 
organized the Globe Buggy and Harness Company. After two years of successful 
operation he became interested in other fields and sold his interests to become 
associated with the American Tobacco Company as a buyer. In 1912 he was 
attracted by the coal industry and became general manager of the Crescent Coal 
Company and for thirty-one years has been at the head of this Company, acting 
as Secretary as well as executive. In 1939 the company had gained a place where 
it was credited with being the most modernly equipped in the world and was 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2129 

attracting attention from mine operators from all points of the compass. The 
plant of the Crescent Company became the Mecca for operators from England, 
Russia, Wales and the coal producing sections of the United States who journeyed 
to Western Kentucky to see and to admire and profit. The equipment is not only 
the best and most efficient but the training of employees to the highest degree is 
not overlooked. Evidence of this is shown in the strict requirement for efficiency 
in first aid work, covering all branches of this essential line of endeavor. The 
Crescent Company's team in First Aid has won the trophy of the Western Ken- 
tucky Mining Institute in open competition with all the mines in that field. This 
triumph was repeated for two years and the trophy now has a permanent home 
at the Crescent Company's headquarters. 

In 1912, Mr. Rodman was married to Elizabeth Vollman, who was born in 
Owensboro, Kentucky, and they are the parents of two children. The daughter of 
the family, Elizabeth Rodman, was born in Owensboro, Kentucky, and married 
A. B. Baird, of McLean County, Kentucky, and they are the parents of Rodman 
Bradstraw Baird, who was born in Central City, Kentucky. The son of the family 
is Major George Hurst Rodman. He was born in Central City, Kentucky, in 1916, 
and received his early education in the public schools of that city. He attended 
the University of St. Louis from which he graduated in 1921. He is now with the 
Medical Corps of the United States Army, stationed in England. 

The father of the subject of this sketch was James Sebastian Rodman, who was 
born in Daviess County, Kentucky, in 1859. He was for many years a repre- 
sentative of the Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company. His death oc- 
curred in 1938. The mother is Mrs. Lula (Smith) Rodman who was born in 
Bardstown, Kentucky, in 1863 and is now living in Louisville, Kentucky. 

Charles Marion Rodman brought ability and energy to the coal business as well 
as an "infinite capacity for taking pains." The business is a monument to his 
efforts and his success is a source of pride to the large circle of friends his geniality 
and personality have won. 



M, 



CLAUDE DRAPER POTTINGER 



.uch of the tradition, romance and glory of the State of Ken- 
tucky is grounded in the agriculture of the state and its most distinguished sons 
originated on the farms that cover the land. Further south large land holdings 
are referred to as "plantations" but in Kentucky the holdings are generally smaller 
and large or small, are referred to as "farms." They are more modern, more 
thoroughly cultivated and more profitable than the vast reaches of cotton land 
lying to the south. A successful agricultural family in Kentucky usually suc- 
ceeds itself for generation after generation through one or more of its sons. In 
Logan County the Pottinger family is an outstanding example of an agricultural 
line that originated with the modern farm, that loves the farm and from agri- 
culture reaps a topbracket income. 

Claude Draper Pottinger was born in Logan County June 22, 1888, and was 
educated in the public schools of Auburn, Kentucky, later attending Castle Heights 
Military Academy at Lebanon, Tennessee. In 1910 he experimented with the 



2130 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

grocery and banking business in Auburn, Kentucky, through employment in a 
store of that character and a bank but did not find the work to his liking and 
returned to the farm to which he continues to devote his time and energies. His 
father was George Washington Pottinger, born in Rock Castle, Nelson County, 
Kentucky, in 1861 and died April 8, 1928. He was a farmer and dealer in live 
stock. His reputation in the latter field was widespread and his registered short 
horn cattle were the pride of the state. He imported bulls from Europe and 
wherever he could find a choice specimen that fulfilled his exacting specifications. 
He was a man vitally interested in the affairs of his country and this lead to a 
special activity in politics. The mother of Claude Pottinger is Lena (Cooper) 
Pottinger who was born in Logan County, and is yet living making her home in 
Auburn, Kentucky. The wife of this subject was Ruth McCormick, the daughter 
of Hershal P. McCormick, whose father was James I. McCormick, a leading 
minister of the state. Ruth McCormick was born in Auburn, Kentucky, in 1894, 
and is a member of the Presbyterian Church of that place and this membership 
is to her more than mere attendance and perfunctory worship; she gives service 
through the various agencies of her church and personally wherever she can add 
to the welfare and happiness of human beings or eliminate human unhappiness. 
The brothers and sisters of Claude Pottinger are: Lucille Pottinger, who married 
Robert Simion Markham and makes her home near Russellville, Kentucky, on 
Rural Route 5; Raymond A. Pottinger, who married Anna Aspley; Pauline Pot- 
tinger, married to Carl Munroe and living in Auburn, and Louis Talbert Pot- 
tinger who lives in Orlando, Florida. 

Claude Draper Pottinger is a working member and a deacon of the Presbyterian 
Church and a member of the Masonic Fraternity, and due to his reputation as an 
agriculturist has been selected as the President of the Tobacco Board of Trade, of 
Bowling Green, Kentucky. His farm of 778 acres in Logan County is stocked 
with cattle and hogs, and he devotes a great deal of its production to the raising 
of tobacco in the modern manner and is himself an extensive tobacco operator. 
His work and his various activities have made for him many contacts among 
farmers and these contacts became friends. Men have confidence in his judgment 
and faith in his integrity, and with this secure place among the people who know 
him best he lives a full life. 



OMER FOREST HUME, M.D. 

J. here are several ways in which it would be proper to address 
Omer Forest Hume. Senator Hume would be quite correct, for Dr. Omer Hume 
was State Senator for four years, from 1938 to 1942. Major Hume would be 
equally correct, because Dr. Omer Hume also served nine years as a member of 
the Kentucky State Guards, and holds a commission as Major. But to most of 
his friends and acquaintances he is Dr. Hume, the loved and honored surgeon of 
Richmond, Kentucky. 

Omer Forest Hume was born in Washington County, Kentucky, in 1892. His 
father, James Hume, had been born in the same county in 1869, and spent his 




OMER FOREST HUME, M.D. 



2132 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

entire life there as a farmer; James Hume died in 1915. The mother of Omer F. 
Hume was Ruth (Cloyd) Hume, a native of Mercer County, Kentucky, who 
was born in 1869 and died in 1897. Both Mr. and Mrs. James Hume are buried 
in Mackville, Kentucky. 

It was in Mackville that Dr. Omer Hume received his early education. He went 
through grade and high school in that town, and before entering college, Dr. Hume 
attended the Old Bryant & Stratton School of Commerce, graduating from same. 
He then entered University of Louisville Medical School, from which he was grad- 
uated in 1917 with the degree of M.D. The United States had entered World 
War I at the time that Omer Hume first became Dr. Hume, and young Dr. Hume 
enlisted in the Medical Corps in 1918. When the war ended and Dr. Hume was 
able to return to civilian life in 1919, he began the practice of medicine in Rich- 
mond, Kentucky, where he has spent his entire professional life. 

Dr. Hume belongs to several fraternal organizations and professional associa- 
tions. He is a member of the Masonic Order, and a past master of the Richmond 
Masonic Lodge, and also a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
The professional organizations with which he is connected are the National Medi- 
cal Society, the Kentucky Medical Society, the Madison County Medical Society, 
and is a fellow in the organization of Military Surgeons of the United States 
Army. He is very active in the field of politics. He has served as Republican 
National Committeeman for Kentucky and for four years from 1938 to 1942. 
He is also a former member of the State Central Republican Committee, and for 
nine years was a member of the Kentucky State Guards. His marriage to Eleanor 
Hagan Park, of Richmond, Kentucky, occurred in 1926. 

Dr. Hume is justly proud of the achievements of his two sons by a former mar- 
riage. Forest Hume was born in Washington County, Kentucky, in 1914. He 
attended the public schools of Richmond, Kentucky, and was graduated from 
Millersburg Military Institute. For three years he attended Eastern College at 
Richmond, Kentucky, and for four years studied law at the University of Ken- 
tucky. A post-graduate course at Harvard University followed, so that Forest 
Hume was able to start on his professional career with an excellent general educa- 
tion and first class legal training. At tne present time, Forest Hume is Assistant 
Attorney General of the state of Kentucky. He married Thelma Todd of Berea, 
Kentucky, a graduate of Berea College. James Hume, like his brother, was born in 
Washington County, Kentucky, and went through grade and high schools in Rich- 
mond and attended Millersburg Military Institute, also attending Eastern College at 
Richmond for three years. His interests lay in the field of agriculture rather than 
law, and the course which he selected at the University of Kentucky was Agricul- 
ture. He now supervises his father's farms, and lives at Cumberland View Farm, 
where he raises horses, cattle, hogs and tobacco. His wife is the former Charlie 
Campbell, of Marysville, Kentucky, who is a graduate of Eastern College. They 
have one son, James Hume, Jr., who was born at Cumberland View Farm in 1943. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2133 



A. FLOYD GIBSON 



A. 



Floyd Gibson exemplifies the truth that before a man can build 
for himself a successful life, he must have a firm foundation of character. Talent 
and industry must then be called on, and the years will pass the verdict of whether 
the work has been well done. There has been no short cut, no easy planning for 
A. Floyd Gibson. He has had to labor industriously, mastering all the details 
of an intricate and highly-competitive business, but his is the satisfaction now of 
accomplishment and achievement. As secretary-manager of the Coca Cola Bottling 
Company of Madisonville, he holds a position of responsibility and trust in a 
business that shows steady growth. 

A. Floyd Gibson was born at Chattanooga, Tennessee, on March 31, 1897. His 
father, C. A. Gibson, was a native of Tennessee, and was in business as a merchant 
in Chattanooga. His mother was Elizabeth (Ingle) Gibson. 

A. F. Gibson grew up in Chattanooga, where he went through grade school, 
and later graduated from high school. On the outbreak of World War I, he 
entered the United States Army. After a period of training, he left for over- 
seas service with the 116th Engineers, and over a year passed before he returned 
home from the war. On return to civilian life, he went to Michigan, and there 
for two years he worked in a shipyard. This was hard work, and there seemed 
little opportunity for advancement, as the ship building industry was curtailing 
activities in the wake of the retrenchment following the war. 

Arriving in Paducah, Kentucky, in 1923, A. F. Gibson established a company 
and put in a plant for the bottling of Orange Crush. After a few years, this 
company was well-established, and when Mr. Gibson decided to make a change, 
he had a ready sale for his plant. He moved to his home town of Chattanooga, 
Tennessee, and bought the Orange Crush plant in that city. After five years, 
he sold this plant and returned to Kentucky, coming to Madisonville as manager of 
the Coca Cola Bottling Company, of which he is now also secretary. This has 
proved to be a successful connection for all concerned. In 1938, the Coca Cola 
company built a new plant in Madisonville to serve their expanding trade territory, 
in Hopkins and Webster Counties. This plant is thoroughly modern in every 
respect, and was designed and built with the aim of obtaining the best results in 
convenience and sanitation. The plant has a capacity of one hundred and fifty 
cases per hour, and employs ten people. 

Mr. Gibson represents the company in membership in the Kentucky Bottlers' 
Association, and the American Association of Bottlers of Carbonated Beverages 
He is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the American 
Legion and the Madisonville Kiwanis Club. 

A. Floyd Gibson was married in 1923 to Pearl Cawood of Chattanooga. They 
worship at the Methodist Church. 

Mr. Gibson has won for himself a secure position in a business he understands 
well. He has always been ready to make decisions, whether they involved a change 
of occupation or surroundings, and his judgment has proved to be sound. Constant 
labor, attention to detail, perseverance and faithfulness in work have carried A. 

23— Vol. IV 



2134 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Floyd Gibson far, and as he still should have many business years ahead, he will 
unquestionably continue to prosper and advance. 

EDWIN WALKER SIGLER, M.D. 

Ihe Henderson County Health Center is one of the most 
notable county health units in Kentucky and it is a monument to the efforts of 
Dr. Edwin Sigler, Henderson County Health Officer. The idea of its construc- 
tion was his and it was through his efforts that, working with Mayor Posey of 
Henderson, the funds for the construction were obtained and the work furthered. 
The ground for this new Public Health Project was broken April 20, 1942, but 
war priorities on essential materials delayed construction and the formal dedication 
was not until May 24, 1943. The Center is one of the best planned and equipped 
in the state and was built from funds allocated to Kentucky under the Lanham 
Act. The dedication was a notable occasion and was attended by the Governors of 
Kentucky and Indiana and by Kentucky Health Commissioner, Dr. Arthur T. 
McCormack. A staff of fifteen finds employment, this including staff nurses, 
maternity nurses, inspectors and laboratory technicians as well as two clerical 
workers. Dr. Sigler, the chief, and the man responsible for this great new in- 
stitution, is an outstanding figure in Public Health Service and frequently ad- 
dresses groups that gather at the center to listen to his expositions, especially in 
line with the modern movement for the elimination of venereal diseases. The Center 
has every facility for diagnosing and controlling as far as possible the spread of 
syphillis. 

Dr. Edwin Walker Sigler was born in Clay, Webster County, Kentucky, July 
7, 1906. He attended the public schools of that city and graduated from the 
Clay High School. In 1925 he entered the University of Kentucky for one year 
of study after which he spent the years from 1927 to 1929 at the Teachers Col- 
lege at Murray, Kentucky. It was originally his intention to become an engineer, 
but in 1930 he entered the University of Tennessee School of Medicine, at Mem- 
phis for training in Public Health Service. In 1934 he graduated from this in- 
stitution and resumed his studies at the University of Kentucky. He located in 
Trigg County, Kentucky, but receiving a scholarship at the Johns Hopkins Uni- 
versity in Baltimore, he spent one year there in Hygiene and Public Health and 
received his Masters Degree in that specialty. Dr. Sigler married Virginia Morri- 
son of Owensboro, Kentucky, who was born June 26, 1909. She is an ardent 
worker in Red Cross activities. The father of Dr. Sigler was Dr. L. J. Sigler, born 
at Clay in Webster County in 1858, and who graduated in Medicine from the 
University of Kentucky in 1896. He practiced his profession in his native city 
for forty-seven years, retiring in 1943. The mother was Carrie E. (Jones) Sigler, 
who was born in Union County, Kentucky in 1869. Both parents are still living 
and make their home in Clay. Dr. Sigler's work in Henderson began in 1937, 
when he was made Director of Public Health for Henderson County and his ad- 
ministration of the position is attracting state wide attention. 

Dr. Edwin Walker Sigler is constantly investigating and applying the new things 
that arc advanced in Public Health work and is active in the organization of his 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2I35 

profession. He has been president of the Henderson County Medical Association 
tor three consecutive years, is a member of the American Medical Association, 
the Kentucky State Medical Association and the American Public Health Asso- 
ciation. He is also active in the Rotary Club. Personally and professionally an 
ethical gentleman, he is in the forefront of that band of hard working men who 
are unselfishly trying beyond the call of duty to alleviate the sufferings of man- 
kind and when possible eliminate the diseases that are their cause. 

NAPOLEON BONAPARTE BARNETT 

Any publication attempting to present a picture of this region of 
Kentucky must include the name and life story of Napoleon Bonaparte Barnett, 
deceased, because his story left its imprint on the region in which he lived 

Mr. Barnett was bom on a farm near Murray, Kentucky, the son of Calloway 
Barnett, a native of the state and a farmer in Calloway County. His boyhood 
and youth were spent in his native county, where he attended the public schools of 
Murray. Moved by an interest in the legal profession and possessed of an alert 
legal mind, Mr. Barnett progressed to the study of law at the school in Huntington 
1 ennessee. & 

His talents were not limited to legal matters, however, and when he returned to 
his home state he taught school in Western Kentucky for sixteen years. For four 
years he served as county superintendent of schools in Calloway County, where his 
knowledge of the local educational system and his legal education fitted him par- 
ticularly for the important tasks accompanying the office. 

Meanwhile he passed the bar examinations and was admitted to the Kentucky 
bar. He practiced his profession in Murray for sixteen years, during which period 
ne served as county attorney for eight years. 

In the infancy of the Coca-Cola bottling business Mr. Barnett, also an astute 
business man, recognized the possibilities of the new enterprise. He acquired the 
Coca-Cola Bottling Plant at Owensboro, but continued to live in Murray and direct 
his new interest from there for several years after its acquisition 

In 1920 he moved to Owensboro to devote all his attention to this enterprise. 
Having firmly established the first of his plants he subsequently opened another 
bottling company at Streator, Illinois, and still later a third at Central City The 
various plants were all conducted under separate corporations, of which Mr Barnett 
was president in each case. 

During his lifetime he also became a large stockholder in the Central Trust 

Company of Owensboro and bought valuable citrus groves near Mission, Texas 

Always a very active member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church Mr 

Barnett was moderator of the Kentucky Synod for several years, attending the 

presbyteries faithfully. He was a member of the Masonic Order 

Mr Barnett died in July, 1934. A man of average size and reserved tempera- 
ment, his stature as a successful business man, valuable citizen and devoted father 
outstripped his physical stature and remains a monument to him. 

Mrs. Barnett was Mary Elizabeth Daugherty, also a native of Calloway County 



2136 A SESQU1-CENTENNIAL 

She was a school teacher, and in her girlhood had been a pupil of Mr. Barnett. 

There are three living children. The first is Mrs. W. L. Fulton of Owensboro. 
Mr. Fulton is president and Mrs. Fulton vice-president of the Coca-Cola Bottling 
Company of Owensboro. They have three children; W. L., Jr.; Hugh; and Ruth, 
now Mrs. James Bailey. 

Second of the Barnett daughters living is Mrs. Adrian McRee, who is president 
of the Coca-Cola Bottling Company of Central City. Mrs. McRee has two children: 
Dorothy, now Mrs. J. P. Stringer, whose husband is connected with the Coca-Cola 
Bottling Company at Central City, where they live, and who has two daughters, 
Patricia and Diane who was born in Central City, Kentucky, September 30, 1944; 
and Napoleon Barnett McRee, a member of the Medical Corps of the Army of the 
United States, now stationed in Luxemburg, Germany. He married Elizabeth 
White of Columbia, Kentucky. Her father was Dr. A. P. White, former president 
of Lindsey Wilson Junior College of Columbia, Kentucky. Dr. White died in 
1942. 

Last of the Barnett children is Mrs. Ray Schmidt, head of the Coca-Cola Plant 
at Streator, Illinois. Mrs. Schmidt has one son by a previous marriage, Thomas 
Jackson. 

The Barnett descendants carry on the tradition of sound business practices which 
Napoleon Bonaparte Barnett founded. 



HERMANN A. ROHS 

JLn every community there are a few outstanding families, the 
members of which are held in real honor and affection by all their fellow citizens. 
These families have contributed substantially to the growth and betterment of 
their towns, have done so many things, collectively and individually, that those 
family names come to mind whenever the name of the town itself is mentioned. 

In Cynthiana, the Rohs family has increased in influence and prestige over a 
period of nearly a hundred years. The first Hermann Rohs to live in Cynthiana 
was born in Munster, Germany, on February 22, 1835, and came to Cincinnati 
when he was sixteen years old. He was a wagon-maker by trade, and when the 
Kentucky Central Railroad was being built he secured employment on the con- 
struction work. In Cynthiana he found an opening at his trade, and went to work 
for the late Lawson Oxley; later he was with the late Henry Cromwell in the 
wagon-making business for a number of years. On his twenty-fourth birthday, 
February 22, 1859, he took two important steps: he married Magdalena Schwoerer 
of Cincinnati and returned to Cynthiana with his bride to set himself up in the 
general merchandise business at the corner of Walnut and Pleasant Streets. Her- 
mann and Magdalena Rohs were honest, thrifty and hard-working. The business 
prospered, and profits were put largely into Cynthiana real estate. The Rohs 
Opera House was a venture entered into when the motion picture industry was in 
its infancy, and was one of the enterprises in which Hermann Rohs continued 
to be interested until his death. His family proved as satisfactory as his business. 
Three daughters and two sons were born; the oldest son, Henry, who had become 
a successful business man in Cincinnati, died seven months before his father, Inn 




HERMANN A. ROUS 



2138 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

three daughters and a son, Mrs. Henry Huerkamp of Cynthiana, Mrs. John 
Scharwath and Mrs. C. G. Arlinghaus of New York City and Hermann A Rohs 
of Cynthiana, were there to carry on the family tradition when Hermann Rohs 
died on September 11, 1915 at the age of eighty. His wife had died in 1891, and 
Mr. Rohs had made his home with his daughter, Mrs. Huerkamp, whose husband 
had bought the mercantile business. 

Hermann A. Rohs, the younger son of Hermann Rohs, was born in Cynthiana 
on December 19, 1869, and most of his life was spent in Cynthiana, where he died 
on October 31, 1943 at the age of seventy-four. In 1895, after a few years spent 
in business in Cincinnati, he became the owner and operator of Cynthiana's leading 
jewelry store, which was located in the same building which housed the Rohs Opera 
House, which Hermann A. Rohs inherited from his father. The Opera House was 
operated by Hermann A. Rohs and his father for many years, and the structure 
was remodeled many times to meet the changing conditions caused by the advance- 
ment made in the motion picture industry. When patronage grew too large for 
the Opera House, the Rohs built a new theater on Walnut Street in 1920. The 
New Rohs Opera House was constructed on lots to the rear of the old Opera 
House, and was completed and opened to the public on the night of February 6, 
1941. No show house in Kentucky surpasses it in beauty, convenience or comfort. 
Besides the show houses and the jewelry store, Mr. Rohs owned several other 
valuable pieces of business property in Cynthiana. 

Mr. Rohs had been prominent in business and civic life of Cynthiana since 
starting his business on Pike street. He was a member of the Cynthiana Elks 
Lodge since its organization, and was also a charter member of the Rotary Club, 
and was always interested in the charitable and educational work of that organiza- 
tion. He also enjoyed the social contacts the club afforded. He was a member 
of the Cynthiana Business Men's Club and a director in the Farmers National 
Bank. His church affiliations were with the St. Edward's Catholic Church. 

Herman A. Rohs married Julia Karle on October 26, 1898. Their only child, 
a son, Karle Hermann Rohs, died in the service of his country at Fort Knox in 
May, 1942. Lieutenant Karle Rohs had been associated with his father very closely 
in all his affairs; the shock of his death was a severe blow from which Hermann 
A. Rohs never fully recovered, and was a factor in his own fatal illness. Lieu- 
tenant Rohs. had married Gertrude Hummel of Cincinnati on April 25, 1934, and 
was survived by his widow and three children, Joseph Hermann, Julia and Jeanne 
Rohs. Julia (Karle) Rohs survives her husband, as does also his sister, Mrs. C. G. 
Arlinghaus of Weehawken Heights, New Jersey. 

It is difficult to enumerate the many things that Hermann A. Rohs did for the 
good of Cynthiana. The use of his property was many times used free or at cost 
or less by organizations in need of a show house for some community or charitable 
purpose. He did not seek publicity for his good deeds, and often was the man 
behind a worthy cause without getting credit for his efforts. Mr. Rohs had made 
many staunch friends while in business in Cynthiana, and was closely allied with 
the advancement and progress of the city. He had long been an outstanding 
business man of the city, and his loss was keenly felt by all citizens of Cynthiana 
and Harrison County. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2139 



J, 



JAMES BRYANT LAWTON 



ames Bryant Lawton is identified in Muhlenberg County with 
successful long established business enterprise founded by his father, and in which 
his son is now a partner. 

He is the son of the late Clyde A. Lawton, native of Hopkins County, Ken- 
tucky, and Nettie Brown Lawton, Muhlenberg County native. Clyde moved to 
Muhlenberg County with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. James Thomas Lawton, from 
Hartford, Kentucky. He was connected with the Metropolitan Life Insurance 
Company for several years in the Blue Grass section, but returned to Muhlenberg 
County in 1904 to become associated with an existing insurance agency. 

In 1910 he established his own agency, which has grown steadily during its con- 
tinuous operation since that time. Although frail physically, Clyde A. Lawton 
was a positive influence in his community. He was active in the First Methodist 
Church as superintendent of the Sunday School for many years and teacher of the 
Men's Bible Class, and was a member of the Odd Fellows Lodge. He died at the 
age of eighty-one in 1939. 

J. B. Lawton was born at Bevier, Muhlenberg County, Kentucky, on November 
19, 1894. He attended the public schools of Central City and spent one summer 
term at the University of Kentucky. Returning to Central City, he worked a year 
in a men's clothing store. He then went to Akron, Ohio, where he was employed 
in the chemical laboratories of Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company four years. 

Back in Central City he entered his father's insurance agency. In World War 
I he entered the Chemical Warfare Service of the Army, and was returned to the 
Goodyear laboratories, where he served until the end of the war. 

Upon his return to civilian life he re-entered business with his father. He was 
soon made a partner, and the firm name became C. A. Lawton and Son. Young 
Lawton's interest consisted of the increase in business that he could create. As his 
father aged, the son assumed more and more of the responsibility of the agency. 
The firm today is one of the largest insurance agencies in western Kentucky, hand- 
ling a complete line of insurance except life insurance. The firm's reliability and 
their interest in their clients has resulted in a large volume of business. 

Mr. Lawton was married in 1918 to Miss Janie Coffman, former teacher, who 
was born in Sacremento, McLean County, Kentucky. Mrs. Lawton, daughter of 
Robert Benjamin Coffman and India Bland Coffman, is a member of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution through the Marshall family line on her father's side. 

They have one son, Robert A. Lawton, graduate of Washington and Lee Uni- 
versity, who is a Lieutenant in the U S. Navy. He was a member of Phi Delta 
Theta fraternity. Robert became a partner in C. A. Lawton and Son in 1940. They 
also have a daughter, Joyce Bryant Lawton, born in Central City, Kentucky on 
March 10, 1930, who is now a student at the University of Kentucky, where she 
is a member of the Delta Delta Delta Sorority. 

Mr. Lawton's business interests are not confined to his insurance firm. In asso- 
ciation with Walter Barnes and Ed Hoodenpyl he organized the Central City 
Federal Savings and Loan Association, and was president of it for several years. 



2140 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

He is a director of the First National Bank of Central City. In the Kentucky Asso- 
ciation of Insurance Agents he holds the first vice-presidency. 

He is a Mason, having advanced through the Royal Arch, Commandery and 
Shrine. He is a past High Priest of the chapter and past Eminent Commander 
of the Commandery. His Shrine membership is at Madisonville, Kentucky. He 
is a past Commander of the American Legion post at Central City. 

A leader in civic affairs, Mr. Lawton is a charter member of the Rotary Club, 
has served as chairman of the Red Cross local chapter, and for eight years was 
on the Central City Board of Education, during which time the present high school 
was built. He is chairman of the Board of Stewards of the First Methodist Church. 

Mrs. Lawton is also an influential community member. She takes an active in- 
terest in her husband's firm, is a member of the Central City Woman's Club, the 
Rotary Anns, and is active in the Methodist Church. 



FRANK CHEATHAM GORRELL 

JTrank Cheatham Gorrell is deservedly known as the father of 
good roads in Logan County. The first hard road in the county was built by 
Frank Gorrell, with $600 which he had secured for that purpose through a special 
appeal to the fiscal court of the county, using the county rock crusher to do the 
work. It was the small start from which all the miles of good roads in Logan 
County had their beginning. 

The birthplace of Frank Cheatham Gorrell was Clarksville, Tennessee, and the 
date of his birth June 16, 1864. His father, David Franklin Gorrell, a native 
of Todd County, Kentucky, had served under General Cheatham during the war 
between the states, and his admiration for his former chief prompted him to 
name his son Frank Cheatham. David Gorrell had served the cause of the 
Confederacy well, and had been seriously wounded at Fort Donaldson. After the 
war, he resumed his former occupation of farming, but he never fully recovered 
from the effects of his wounds, and died in early maturity. He had married Helen 
Farrell, a native of Tennessee, and lived in Clarksville with his wife and son until 
his death, when the boy was fourteen years of age. 

Following the death of his father, Frank Gorrell went to live widi his uncle, 
Reuben Browning, a farmer in the Lewisburg community of Logan County. His 
education was secured in the public schools of Clarksville and the rural schools of 
Logan County, but education and work had to go hand in hand, as there was 
always much to do, helping his uncle with the work of the farm. When he was 
seventeen years old, he decided to strike out for himself. His first night away 
from home was spent in Russellville. He could not know then that in later years 
Russellville would be his home, and that he would be the owner of several business 
concerns in that town. Next day he went on to Louisville, where he secured work 
in Dennis Long's pipe foundry. After a short time there, Frank Gorrell entered 
Arthur Jones' Brass Moulding factory as an apprentice to learn the trade. After 
completing his apprenticeship, he became a journeyman moulder at the brass foundry 
of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad, and worked at his trade with the railroad 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2141 

company for three years. During that three years he worked hard and saved his 
money, so that at the end of that time he was able to return to the Arthur Jones 
Brass Moulding Company, buying an interest in the business. He had made a 
good start at his trade, but unfortunately after a few years of this work he found 
that the fumes were injuring his health, and he was forced to abandon it. 

Frank Gorrell returned to Logan County with some capital, and bought a farm 
near Auburn, which he ran for eight years, then bought another farm. Soon 
afterwards he sold both of these farms, and bought a fine farm in Simpson 
County at a sheriff's sale. Four years went into the work of operating and 
improving this farm; at the end of that time, he was able to sell it for twice the 
amount it had cost. This was the beginning of a practice that he has continued 
to follow. He found that it was very good business to buy a farm, improve it 
and re-sell, and during the years that have followed he has dealt extensively in 
real estate. 

The Freeman place, between Auburn and Russellville in Logan County, was the 
next property Frank Gorrell acquired. As he had done with the other farms, he 
improved the buildings and increased the productivity of the soil, but he knew 
that the value of the property would be greatly increased if it were only on a 
good road. So he appealed to the fiscal court of the county for permission to 
grade and rock this road. The court authorized him to do the work, loaned him 
the county rock crusher, and appropriated $600.00 for the job. And so it was 
that Frank Gorrell built the first hard road in Logan County. The value of 
this road to the county was so apparent that the next year it was not a very 
difficult task to persuade the court to buy another rock crusher and appropriate 
another $600.00 for another mile of road between Auburn and Russellville. This 
second road building job convinced the court of the value of hard roads, and 
Frank Gorrell was given a contract to complete the building of the road from 
Auburn to Russellville. The road was of value to the county, and it was also 
of value to Frank Gorrell. He sold the Freeman place, again doubling his money. 

His next move was to the west of Russellville, where he had purchased a farm 
on the Russellville-Elkton Road. He profited by his experience with the Freeman 
place, and began at once to build a road from the Todd County line to Russellville. 
It took two years to complete this job; then this farm, too, was sold, and Mr. 
Gorrell established his home in Russellville. 

Frank Gorrell was now definitely in the road building business. For the next 
thirty years he was to build many hundreds of miles of hard roads and pavement 
in Kentucky, costing millions of dollars, but adding many more millions to the 
value of Kentucky farm property. In 1930, he built forty-four miles of concrete 
highway on the Louisville-Cincinnati road. For this extensive work he bought the 
most modern equipment and tools, and during the 1930's, he branched out into 
the building contracting business, specializing in public work. He built the 
Court House at Union City, Tennessee, the Robert E. Lee School at Owensboro, 
Kentucky, the high school at Springfield, Tennessee, the high school at Mayfield, 
Kentucky, three schools in Logan County, the high school at Milan, Tennessee, 
and many other buildings. He has continued to invest heavily in farm land and 



2142 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

real estate, and he and his sons now own more than 4,000 acres of land, besides 
several business concerns in Russellville. In 1938 he built a modern office building 
in Russellville to house his offices. Now (1943) his road building equipment is 
loaned to the Government for use in the construction of air fields. 

Frank Cheatham Gorrell married Katy Browning in 1888. Katy (Browning) 
Gorrell was the daughter of Underwood Browning, a prominent attorney of 
Logan County. They have five children. All four of his sons are associated with 
the family business, and live in Russellville. Roy L. Gorrell, the eldest son, in 
addition to his association with the family business, is a director of the Southern 
Deposit Bank. His wife is the former Sally May Martin. R. H. Gorrell, also 
connected with the family business and living in Russellville, married Virginia Hall, 
a daughter of Scott Hall of Auburn, Kentucky, and has one son, Thomas Read 
Gorrell. A third son of Frank and Katy (Browning) Gorrell is L. D. Gorrell. 
He is married to the former Vannie Strudrick, and they have two boys, William 
and Frank Cheatham. B. H. Gorrell, the youngest son, married Mary Byrne 
Edwards, and has a son, Browning H. Gorrell, Jr. and a daughter, Bessie Byrne. 
Mrs. Viola (Gorrell) Simpson, the only daughter in the Frank Gorrell family, 
also makes her home in Russellville with her son, Franklin Gorrell Simpson. The 
Gorrell family are members of the Baptist Church. 

Frank Cheatham Gorrell is one of the most forceful and valuable citizens of 
Logan County. His business enterprises have been of tremendous value to his 
county and his state, as well as to himself, and he has always been a liberal 
contributor in all movements for the public good. The great scope of his own 
business has not permitted him the time or opportunity to hold public office, but 
he has always maintained a keen interest in political developments, and done his 
share to further any cause which he felt was in the public interest. His full worth 
to the community cannot be accurately appraised; his influence will be felt for 
a great many years to come. 

FREDERICK A. WALLIS 

Frederick Alfred Wallis, of Paris, one of Kentucky's most 
prominent men, owns and operates the Blue Grass Stock Farm in Bourbon County, 
embracing twenty-four hundred acres of valuable land. He is a native son of 
Kentucky, his birth having occurred in Hopkinsville, Christian County, March 13, 
1869. His father was Allan Morgan Wallis and his mother was Albertine (Roos) 
Wallis. During his public service in New York City he was characterized by 
former Mayor John F. Hylan as "The Man Who Does Things," and the follow- 
ing partial list of important activities to which he has brought illuminating and 
constructive ability was compiled by the late Charles C. Hughes of the National 
Democratic Club of New York City. 

"United States Commissioner of Immigration under both Presidents Wilson 
and Harding. 

"Commissioner of Correction Greater New York, two Mayoralty Administra- 
tions. 



m 





FREDERICK A. WALI.IS 



2144 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

"Elected Permanent Chairman of the last Kentucky State Democratic Con- 
vention. 

"Member, New York Committee National Defense. 

"State Chairman, NRA for Kentucky. 

"Chairman, Thomas Jefferson Memorial Foundation Promotion Committee. 

"Chairman, Liberty Loan Committee, New York; actually sold two hundred 
and fifty-one million dollars of bonds in nine days. 

"Honorary Vice-President, National Federated Americans. 

"President, Kentucky and Eastern Parks Highways Commission. 

"Chairman for Kentucky — American Red Cross Roll Call. 

"Deputy Police Commissioner New York City during World War I. 

"Ruling Elder, Presbyterian Church. 

"Purchased for New York, a $400,000 armored police boat from the United 
States Government for one dollar, after unsuccessful negotiations by several pre- 
ceding Administrations. 

"Vice President, Peoples Hospital. 

"Trustee and Member Executive Committee, 'Old Centre' College, Danville. 

"Committee National Narcotic Rescue League of America. 

"Chairman Kentucky Gubernatorial Democratic Campaign — 1932: largest ma- 
jority in the history of the State. 

"Chairman Kentucky Democratic Finance Committee. 

"Chairman of Committee which raised over a million dollars for widows' and 
orphans' pensions. 

"Kentucky Finance Chairman, President Franklin D. Roosevelt Campaign. 

"Initiated the sale of the Equitable Building lot New York for $11,000,000.00. 

"Executive Chairman Cumberland Falls Preservation Committee. 

"Member, Committee Commonwealth Center for establishing closer bond be- 
tween Americans and foreign-born in this country. 

"Chairman Kentucky State Parks Advisory Board. 

"Director Finance Campaign for United States Senators Logan and Williamson. 

"Chairman, New York State Democratic Finance Committee. 

"President, Better American Lecture Service for schools and factories. 

"Director, Victory Hall Association, a practical memorial to those who fought 
in World War I. 

"Organized and developed Eastern agencies for three old line insurance com- 
panies. Increased new business over seven hundred per cent. 

"Director, Constitutional League of America. 

"Kentucky Finance Chairman in the campaign of 1932 for the election of 
Senator Alben W. Barkley and the nine Democratic congressmen at large. 

"Vice-President Committee, evangelical work among aliens. 

"Trustee, International Society Christian Endeavor, four million members. 

"Trustee, Council Federated Churches of America. 

"Financial Chairman, Permanent Memorial to Commemorate World War I. 

"Director, Kentucky Society of New York City. 

"Chairman, Kentucky State Advisory Board, National Reconstruction Corpo- 
ration. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2145 

"Appointed and served as Commissioner of Public Welfare during the ad- 
ministration of Governor A. B. Chandler. 

Prior to the nomination of A. B. Chandler as the gubernatorial candidate of 
the democratic party in 1935, Mr. Wallis was most favorably mentioned for the 
governorship by practically every newspaper in the state, being widely acclaimed 
as a man of unusual executive and administrative ability, unswerving integrity and 
high courage. He has a strong winsome personality and is one of Kentucky's 
natural born orators. He has worked successfully in forwarding the best interests 
of the state and nation, is extensively known and has the confidence of the people 
in general throughout the commonwealth. "Frederick A. Wallis," said the Stan- 
ford Interior Journal, "is one of the ablest men who has offered himself in the 
service of the state and its people in many a day. His great ability, as manifested 
in a field which called for the best qualities of mind and heart, the sternest courage 
and the most exalted character, in close grips with men of like types in the financial 
marts of the east, have shown him to be a man of the type thousands of Ken- 
tuckians would like to see in the governor's office at Frankfort. Not a politician, 
in the usual sense of that term, he has the happy faculty of making friends and 
inspiring strong admiration." Following the nomination of Governor Chandler, 
Mr. Wallis lent his support to him, proving his regularity in every way. 

On the tenth of April, 1901, Mr. Wallis was united in marriage to Miss Nan- 
nine Clay, of Paris, Kentucky. Mrs. Wallis is the daughter of the late Thomas 
Henry and Fannie Conn (Williams) Clay, of Paris, and is a descendant of one 
of Kentucky's oldest and most honored families. Mrs. Wallis is one of Ken- 
tucky's busiest women. Her activities are many and varied. She is a member of 
the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of 
Kentucky, and a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution. In the 
latter she has served as Regent of Jemima Johnson Chapter, and Regent of the 
Kentucky Society, and is now Historian General of the National organization. 
She served as Chairman of Trustees of the Kentucky Federation of Women's 
Clubs, and is a past president of both the Kentucky Garden Club, and the Garden 
Clubs of America. She is in demand as a judge at the various garden shows over 
the nation. Mrs. Wallis has been a leading factor in the restoration of the Dun- 
can Tavern at Paris as a shrine of the Daughters of the American Revolution. 

The qualifications, experiences and position of Frederick A. Wallis particularly 
fit him for his present position as Supervising Editor of "A Sesqui-Centennial 
History of Kentucky," and in keeping with his past performances. 

LORAN PASCHAL MOORE, M.D. 

1_/ife on a farm, long before the days of the automobile and radio, 
was severe in its simplicity, and did compel and encourage habits of work, observa- 
tion and patience. So it was that the boy on the farm who turned to books would 
read and re-read the books in his home and in the neighbors' homes. And because 
books were scarce they would be wisely chosen. Loran Moore's early education 
was not bounded by the walls of a small school; he had the ability and desire to 
study at home, and as he worked in the fields or trudged long country miles, he 



2146 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

meditated over what he read and what he heard. The background of the farm is 
a fine background for a medical man, where study and research and patient under- 
standing of people is so necessary for success. An so Dr. Loran Paschal Moore 
had a good beginning as a student, and has consistently followed his early studious 
bent, so that he has now given years of successful service, both as a general prac- 
titioner and as a specialist. 

Loran Paschal Moore was born on a farm in Hopkins County, Kentucky, on 
April 12, 1872. He grew up on the farm, working his way through an added list 
of chores as he grew older and stronger. Very definitely he learned the lesson of 
the farm, that there are duties that cannot be put off, but must be performed. To- 
gether with the children of neighboring farms, he attended rural school. Early in 
life he decided to study and be a doctor, and his parents encouraged his worthy 
ambition. They made sure that he had all possible opportunity to read and improve 
himself outside of school, and when he graduated from grade school they sent 
him to Madisonville High School. From high school he passed to Barnes Medi- 
cal College of St. Louis, Missouri, from which he received his M.D. degree in 
1898. 

Dr. Moore opened his practice in White Plains, Kentucky, and remained there 
for one year. He then moved to Greenville, Muhlenberg County, where he has 
practiced continuously since the turn of the century. During his first twenty years 
in Greenville, Dr. Moore engaged in general practice, but he became increasingly 
absorbed and expert in treatment of the eye, ear, nose and throat. Dr. Moore took 
post-graduate work in this specialized field at the Chicago Post Graduate School, 
and at Tulane University in New Orleans. His practice is now confined to the 
treatment of the eye, ear, nose and throat, and he is known as a particularly skillful 
and talented practitioner. Patients come to his office from a wide territory because 
of the benefits they have heard of from their relatives and friends. 

Dr. Moore is an active member of the Muhlenberg Medical Society, the Ken- 
tucky Medical Association and the American Medical Association. He served 
for several years as a member of the Board of Health of Muhlenberg County. For 
many years he was a director of the First National Bank of Greenville. Dr. 
Moore believes in the advice he often hands out to others: "Get out on the golf 
course." He is a good player, but gets almost as much enjoyment out of friend- 
ship in the open and the beauty of the surroundings as he does from the game. 
Dr. Moore belongs to the Masonic fraternity, and has advanced through the degree 
of the Royal Arch of that order. His political affiliation is with the Democratic 
party. 

On November 19, 1902, shortly after coming to Greenville, Dr. L. P. Moore 
married Iola Adkins of Dupoy, Muhlenberg County, Kentucky. They have three 
children. Hazel Moore, now Mrs. Joseph Martin of Greenville, is the mother of 
two children, Louise Moore Martin and Joan Martin. Lucile Moore is now Mrs. 
Marvin Dempsey of Greenville and the mother of three children, Don, Stephen 
Riley and Fred. The only son, Loran Paschal Moore, Jr., after his graduation 
from the Greenville High School attended Vandcrbilt University, receiving the 
B.S. degree from that University. He then attended the Medical School oi the 
University of Louisville, where he received his M.D. degree. After serving his 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2147 

interneship, he took a two-year course in the treatment of the eye, ear, nose and 
throat at Tulane University, as his father had done some years previously. During 
his college years he became a member of Delta Theta fraternity. He is now a 
Lieutenant Commander in the United States Navy, and has spent more than a 
year in service in Iceland. 

The father of Dr. Moore was William Riley Moore, a native of Hopkins County 
and a farmer. He served in the Confederate Army during the War Between the 
States. His mother was Frances Familiar (Hanks) Moore, a distant relative of 
Nancy Hanks, the mother of Abraham Lincoln. 

Talent and hard work, perseverance and ability have teamed up to bring Dr. 
Moore to his place of success. Now he has the added satisfaction of having guided 
his son along the path he has followed himself. Although they are separated by 
thousands of miles, the day of Victory will soon come when Dr. Loran Paschal 
Moore, Jr., will return to enter practice and follow in the footsteps of his dis- 
tinguished father. 



CHARLES ALBERT BRINGARDNER 



G 



iharles Albert Bringardner has early established himself as a 
business man of note and prestige as president of the Bringardner Lumber Com- 
pany of Lexington, Kentucky. 

He was born on March 29, 1913, in Middlefork, West Virginia, the son of 
Frederick A. Bringardner of Junction City, Ohio and the former Laura Thacker 
of New Lexington, Ohio. His father was a respected and outstanding success- 
ful business man who had been in the lumber business since 1904 and who died on 
April 24, 1940, after founding the important lumber concern that continues today 
under his son's direction. 

Mr. Bringardner attended the Parochial Schools of Columbus, Ohio, and 
Charleston, West Virginia. After the family moved to Lexington he entered the 
Henry Clay High School in 1929. After his graduation he left to enter Notre 
Dame University and completed a one-year course in commerce there. While at 
Notre Dame, he was a manager of the freshman football team. Following this 
period, Mr. Bringardner returned to Lexington and entered the University of 
Kentucky. He became a member of the Sigma Chi fraternity. In 1935 he was 
graduated in arts and science. 

His educational years completed, with his graduation from the University of 
Kentucky, Mr. Bringardner entered the lumber business with his father. Starting 
in business, Mr. Bringardner began work as a bookkeeper at one of their mills 
at Pathfork, Kentucky. There he began learning the details of the lumber busi- 
ness from all of its angles. His efficient and thoughtful attention to learning about 
the business earned him steady promotion and in 1937 he was made superintendent 
of the company at their Pathfork Mill. 

With the sad occurrence of his father's death in 1940, he was made president, 
treasurer and general manager of the company. This position was broad in scope 
and full of serious responsibilities for Mr. Bringardner but he has capably ful- 



2148 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

filled all of the duties that had been thrust upon him so suddenly. The Bringard- 
ner company is one of the largest lumber companies in the State of Kentucky, 
having large holdings in the eastern section of the state. The company owns 
17,000 acres of timber and coal land in Harlan, Clay, Bell, and Leslie Counties, 
Kentucky. 

An active and interested member of business and social organizations, Mr. Brin- 
gardner is a member of the Lexington Lion's Club and a member of the Lexington 
Country Club. He is a director of both the Lexington Junior Chamber of Com- 
merce and the Appalachian Lumber Association. 

Mr. Bringardner is a bachelor and he enjoys the invigorating relaxation of all 
out-of-door sports, especially golf and tennis. Mr. Bringardner is a member of St. 
Peters Catholic Church. His home address is 104 Irvine Road, Lexington, Ken- 
tucky. He is presently serving as a Lieutenant in the United States Army. 

Charles Albert Bringardner has shown himself a capable executive who from the 
start has sought to master all the details of his business. His sterling qualities 
combined with the advantages of an attractive personality have made him able 
to shoulder creditably the responsibility of directing such a concern as the Brin- 
gardner Lumber Company. 



w„ 



FRANK FREE SHELTON, D.D.S. 



hen Frank Free Shelton decided to follow the profession of 
dentistry, he was selecting for himself the same career which his father, Dr. Julius 
Caesar Shelton, followed during his long lifetime. Dr. Julius C. Shelton was a 
graduate of the first dental college in America, which was located in Baltimore, 
Maryland; Dr. Frank Free Shelton received his degree of D.D.S. from the Uni- 
versity of Louisville, at Louisville, Kentucky, and since 1921 has been a practicing 
dentist at Hazard, Kentucky. Dr. Frank Shelton is an excellent dentist, well 
thought of in his community, and he enjoys a large practice. He keeps himself 
constantly in touch with all new developments in his profession, and maintains 
membership in the leading dental associations, in one of which, the Mountain Den- 
tal Society, Dr. Shelton is the president. 

Frank Free Shelton was born in Reform, which is located in Pickens County, 
Alabama, on March 28, 1893. His father, Dr. Julius Caesar Shelton, owned a 
large plantation, and was a graduate of the first dental college in America in 
Baltimore, Maryland. Dr. Julius C. Shelton was born in Montgomery, Alabama, 
in 1854; he was eighty-seven years of age when he died in 1941. The mother of 
Frank F. Shelton was Ethel (Brotherton) Shelton, who was born in Fayette, Ala- 
bama in 1870, and died in 1916. 

Frank Shelton was brought up in Fayette, Alabama, where he attended the pub- 
lic schools. He attended Vanderbilt University for one year, and received his 
degree of D.D.S. from the University of Louisville in 1919. He began the prac- 
tice of his profession in West Point, Kentucky, and also practiced in McDowell 
County Clinic for Children, Welch, West Virginia. In 1921 Dr. Shelton came 
to Hazard, Kentucky, and during the past twenty-three years has built up a large 
clientele. Dr. Shelton enjoys the highest reputation in his profession. He is a 




FRANK FREE SHELTON, D.D.S. 



2150 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

member of the American Dental Association, the Kentucky State Dental Asso- 
ciation, the Tennessee State Dental Association, the West Virginia Dental Asso- 
ciation and the Mountain Dental Society, of which latter organization Dr. Shel- 
ton is the president. He is an associate member of the Chicago Dental Society 
and the Perry County Medical Society. 

Dr. Frank F. Shelton married Blanche Foley in 1927. Mrs. Shelton was the 
daughter of Dr. D. O. Foley, of Lexington, Kentucky, who was born in Big Pat- 
terson, Kentucky in 1868 and died in 1937. The mother of Mrs. Shelton was 
Mary Elizabeth (Smith) Foley, of Kensee, Kentucky; she was born in 1880 and 
died in 1918. 

Dr. and Mrs. Shelton have two adopted children, Jean Hearst Foley and Mary 
Ann Foley. Jean Foley was born at Hazard, Kentucky; she is now attending 
Smith College at Northampton, Massachusetts. Her sister, Mary Ann, was also 
born at Hazard, Kentucky, and is attending the Mary A. Burnham School at 
Northampton, Massachusetts. 

Dr. Shelton is a member of the Masonic Order in which he has attained the 
thirty-second degree and is a Noble of the Mystic Shrine. He was one of the 
charter members of the Hazard Lions Club. 



GROVER CLEVELAND THOMPSON, B.S., LL.B. 



Th 



he subject of this biography has for thirty-one years engaged 
in the practice of law in Lexington, Kentucky, a practice in which he has been 
eminently successful. From an old Kentucky family, he has exhibited more than 
the average interest in the affairs of his state and community and has been no 
little force in political affairs in the Democratic Party, the ideas of government 
he endorses. 

Grover Cleveland Thompson was born on the family home farm in Lawrence 
County, Kentucky, January 10, 1885, the son of James Franklin and Amanda 
(Watson) Thompson. His parents, also natives of Lawrence County, were the 
parents of eleven children: Linzy O., an attorney; Grover G, of this sketch; 
Curtis, deceased; Leo, who died at twenty-three years of age; Everett S., associated 
with the Kroger Grocery Co.; Earl D., with the Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co.; 
an infant child that died; Dewey, a furniture merchant; Ruth, who married Everett 
Rice, who is connected with the Ashland Roller Mills; Eunice, who married Ralph 
Walter, wholesale grocer of Ashland; and Kermit, a geologist living in New 
Orleans. Six of this family have taught in the schools of Lawrence County. On 
May 19, 1909, Grover Cleveland Thompson was married to Virginia Lee Gill, a 
daughter of Charles H. and Mittie (Lee) Gill, natives of Canton, Mississippi. 
Mrs. Thompson was educated at Ruston, Louisiana, and prior to her marriage was 
engaged in the teaching profession. They have one son, Grover Cleveland Thomp- 
son, Jr., who is following his father in the law. 

Grover Cleveland Thompson, Jr., was born in Gilbert, Louisiana, March 19, 1911, 
and received his early education in the public schools of Lexington. Kentucky, fol- 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2151 

lowed by four years in the College of Commerce, at the University of Kentucky. 
In 1933, he was a cadet at the United States Aviation Training School, at 
Randolph Field, Texas. He was captain of the winning team at the Field Day 
events at the University of Kentucky. He graduated from the Jefferson School 
of Law in 1936, and was for several years with the Bureau of Investigation, of 
the Department of Justice. He married Beatrice Jordan, of Lexington, Kentucky, 
and they are the parents of a daughter, Linda Lee Thompson, born August 27, 
1942. He is now serving as a Major in the United States Army, having been 
called for duty May 12, 1942. He is a member of the Baptist Church and the 
Lions Club. 

Grover Cleveland Thompson, the subject of this sketch, attended the public 
schools of his county for his early education, and entered the teaching profession 
in Lawrence County. After three years as teacher, he entered the Cincinnati 
Business College for business training, following this with a course at Western 
Normal School, of Bowling Green, Kentucky, where he graduated in 1907, with 
a Bachelor of Science degree. He then acted as principal of High Schools at 
Gilbert, Louisiana, Waynesboro and Brooksville, Mississippi, until he became a 
law student at the University of Kentucky, from which institution he graduated 
in 1910 with his LL.B. degree. He was admitted to the Kentucky Bar and before 
the Kentucky Court of Appeals in 1910. In 1913, he opened his law office in 
Lexington in connection with his brother, Linzy O. Thompson, later candidate for 
Circuit Judge (1933) and this connection continued until 1930, since which year 
the subject of this review has maintained offices independently, conducting a 
general practice of law and serving an impressive list of select clients. 

He is active in the organizations of his profession, and as a member of Fayette 
County, Kentucky State, and American Bar Associations. He has, for fifteen or 
twenty years, been a regular attendant at the national meetings of the American 
Bar Association, and has, for several years, been a member of a Committee of the 
Insurance Section. He has also, for a number of years, been a member of the 
International Association and Federation of Insurance Counsel. 

Mr. Thompson has been one of the leaders of the Democratic Party in Fayette 
County. He was campaign manager in Fayette County for J. C. W. Beckham in 
1927, in his race for governor, and has headed the speakers bureau for his party 
in Democratic campaigns, and organized the Roosevelt-Garner League in 1932. He 
has been a member of the Board of Adjustment of the Lexington and Fayette 
County Zoning Commission since 1928, and served as Chairman of the Board for 
many years. In 1931, 1932, and 1933, he was the Democratic member of the 
Fayette County Election Commission. In 1936, he was president of the Kentucky 
Mountain Club, and was affiliated with the Lions Club, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, Woodmen of the World, and the Maccabees. He is, at present, 
a member of the Board of Directors of Blue Grass Executives Club. 

Mr. Thompson is a member of Immanuel Baptist Church and serves the congre- 
gation as Deacon, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, and teacher of the Men's 
Bible Class. For a number of years, he was a member and secretary of the Board 
of Directors of the Lexington Young Men's Christian Association. 



2152 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



a 



WHITEFOORD R. COLE 



'n Sunday morning,, November 18, 1934, the headlines in the 
Louisville Courier- Journal conveyed to the citizens of Louisville the distressing 
news of the death of Whitefoord R. Cole, then president of the Louisville & 
Nashville Railroad, on the preceding day. This news came as a severe shock, as 
Mr. Cole had not been absent from his business duties and at the time that death 
occurred was in his private car returning to Louisville from Nashville, where he 
had that morning attended a meeting of the trustees of Vanderbilt University. 
The tragic news of his death brought sadness to thousands of his friends and 
associates in Louisville; he was one of the best known figures in the city, and 
not only did every member of the staff of the Louisville and Nashville Railroad, 
from the vice-president down to the humblest employee, feel genuine sorrow at his 
passing, but countless more had known and loved him through his connection 
with many other institutions, societies, and charitable organizations. His influence 
had been wide, as extraordinary vigor and ability had made him a leader in any 
group with which he happened to be affiliated. His loss was as keenly felt in 
Nashville as in Louisville, as the greater part of his life was spent in that city. 
And men in high positions all over the country also felt sadness at the death of 
Whitefoord Cole, as he was a figure of national importance. He had enjoyed 
the respect and admiration of all those in engineering and railroad circles; White- 
foord R. Cole was one of the nation's great men. 

Whitefoord Russell Cole was born in Nashville, Tennessee, on January 14, 1874. 
His mother was the former Anna Virginia Russell, of Augusta, Georgia, and his 
father was Colonel Edmund William Cole, a native of Giles County, Tennessee. 
Colonel Cole, an outstanding railroad builder, was president of the Nashville & 
Chattanooga Railroad, afterwards the Nashville, Chattanooga & St. Louis Railway, 
from 1868 to 1880. He was also president of the East Tennessee, Virginia & 
Georgia Railroad. There is the story of how Colonel Cole sent his road's power 
and rolling stock within the Confederate lines when word was received that 
Federal troops were nearing Nashville in the days of the Civil War. The equip- 
ment was kept out of reach of the Federals until after the War, when it was re- 
turned to Nashville and the road reconstructed. Colonel Cole also owned extensive 
coal and iron properties, and was actively interested in educational and philanthropic 
work. Whitefoord Russell Cole was born into one of the most important families 
in the state of Tennessee. His grandfather and grandmother, Dr. Willis W. Cole 
and Johanna T. (Anderson) Cole were both born in Albemarle County, Virginia. 
They were married at Bardstown, Nelson County, Kentucky, on January 30, 1808, 
and moved to Giles County, Tennessee, near Pulaski, and from that time on the 
Cole family exerted great influence on the life of the state. 

Whitefoord Cole attended Wallace University School in Nashville, and received 
his Bachelor of Arts degree at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee, in 
1894. At the age of twenty he started his business career in the office of his 
father, Colonel E. W. Cole, in Nashville. As years brought knowledge and 
experience, he became president of the Napier Iron Works, which manufactured 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2153 

pig iron; vice president and general manager of the Sheffield (Alabama) Coal, 
Iron and Steel Company, and president of the Crescent Coal Company in Bevier, 
Kentucky. 

The love of railroad work had been inherited by Whitefoord Cole from his 
father. In 1901, he was made a director of the Nashville, Chattanooga & St. 
Louis Railway; sixteen years later, in 1917, he was elected chairman of the board 
of that road, and the next year he was made president, and served in that capacity 
until the early part of 1926, when he came to the Louisville & Nashville Railroad 
as president. During his presidency of the Nashville, Chattanooga & St. LouU 
Railway, Mr. Cole gave it the most efficient service, bringing it to great prosperity 

The presidency of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad was offered to Mr. Cole 
on March 18, 1926, following the sudden death of Wible L. Mapother, the previous 
incumbent of that office. The wealth of practical experience and knowledge of 
railroad management which Whitefoord Cole had gained in the operation of the 
Nashville, Chattanooga & St. Louis Railway was of great value to him as president 
of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad. He piloted the railroad through some of 
the most difficult times in the history of the country, and it was a tribute to Mr. 
Cole's shrewd management that the Old Reliable pulled through the years of 
depression so well, and that it continued to earn its fixed charges. 

Mr. Cole enjoyed high standing in his profession and was an outstanding 
figure in the railway world. Several times he was the spokesman for the Nation's 
railroad executives in handling national problems, and in their relations with the 
Government. He was president of the Southeastern Presidents' Conference, which 
represented all railroads south of the Potomac and Ohio Rivers and east of the 
Mississippi. His genius for organization extended into a great many other business 
and railroad properties, and the list of companies which he served in some capacity 
is a very imposing one. He was president of the Nashville & Decatur Railroad 
Company; director in the Nashville, Louisville, Henderson & St. Louis Railway 
Company; director in the Atlanta & West Point Railroad Company; director in 
the Western Railway of Alabama; director in the Missouri State Life Insurance 
Company, the Southern Bell Telephone & Telegraph Company, the American 
National Bank of Nashville, the Napier Iron Works, the American Railway 
Association, the Fruit Growers Express Company, the Nashville Engineering Asso- 
ciation, the Nashville Railway & Light Company, the Cumberland Telephone & 
Telegraph Company, the Nashville Trust Company, the Fourth and First National 
Bank, the First Savings Bank & Trust Company, Fidelity & Columbia Trust 
Company in Louisville; and the Louisville Board of Trade. From 1926 to 1934 he 
was president of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company. 

Whitefoord R. Cole married Mary Conner Bass on April 21, 1901. They had 
one son, Whitefoord Russell Cole, Jr., who married Helen Lane Moore of 
Nashville, Tennessee, and now lives with his family in Louisville. Fate did not 
permit Whitefoord Cole to see his grandson, Whitefoord Russell Cole III. White- 
foord Russell Cole died at 2 p.m. on November 17, 1934; Whitefoord Russell 



2154 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Cole III was born at 4:55 p.m. on November 17, 1934, the day on which his 
grandfather died. 

Mrs. Whitefoord R. Cole, like her husband, is a member of a distinguished 
family. She is the great-granddaughter of Judge Felix Grundy and Anne Phillips 
(Rogers) Grundy. The father of Felix Grundy emigrated from England to 
Virginia, and thence to Kentucky with his family in 1780. He settled in Spring- 
field, Kentucky, and was educated at Bardstown, Kentucky, under Dr. James 
Priestly. He served in the Kentucky Legislature in 1804, and was Chief Justice 
of the Court of Appeals of Kentucky, and also Chief Justice of Kentucky. In 
1807 he moved to Nashville, Tennessee, and served three terms as United States 
Senator from Tennessee, and had the further honor of serving his country as 
Attorney General of the United States under President Martin Van Buren. Mrs. 
Cole is a member of the National Society of Colonial Dames, Magna Charta 
Dames of America, Christ Church Cathedral, Pendennis Club, and The Filson 
Club of Louisville. 

Mr. Cole was a member of several national organizations and social and fra- 
ternal groups in Nashville and Louisville. He maintained membership in the 
Carnegie Institute of Washington, D. C; Brookings Institute of Washington, 
D. C; the Association of Railway Executives; American Railway Guild; and the 
American Railway Association. His clubs in Nashville were the Chi Phi Fraternity, 
Round Table, Hermitage Club, and the Nashville Golf & Country Club. In 
Louisville he belonged to the Pendennis Club, Louisville Country Club, Big 
Spring Golf Club, Salmagundi Literary Club, and the Christ Church Cathedral 
(Episcopal) . Vanderbilt University always occupied a large place in Mr. Cole's 
heart. His education was completed there, and in 1915 he was elected president 
of its Board of Trustees. This high office he held until his death. He had attended 
a meeting of the trustees of Vanderbilt University on the morning of the day of 
his death. 

The sudden death of Whitefoord Russell Cole occurred on Saturday, November 
17, 1934. He had not felt well on Friday night, and changed plans which he 
had made to see the Vanderbilt football game on Saturday afternoon, but did 
not feel that he was ill enough to accept the offer of someone to accompany him 
to Louisville, saying that the porter of his private car, Jim Jones, who had been 
with the L. & N. on the President's car for thirty-five years, could minister to his 
wants. His train left Nashville at 12:19 p.m.; the fatal attack of angina pectoris 
occurred about 2 p.m. Porter Jones assisted him from his chair to his bed, where 
he expired in a few minutes. The porter caused the train to be stopped near 
Cave City and a physician, Dr. J. B. Stroud, who was a passenger on the train, 
was summoned. There was nothing that could be done; death had been 
instantaneous. 

Perhaps these words, taken from "A Tribute to the Memory of W. R. Cole" 
which appeared in the Louisville & Nashville Employees' Magazine for December, 
1934, signed by all the members of the Board of Directors of the Nashville, 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2155 

Chattanooga & St. Louis Railway, can best express the esteem in which Mr. Cole 
was held by his friends and associates: 

"In business, educational, religious and civic affairs he was active, sympathetic 
and generous. A deep sense of fairness and justice controlled all his dealings. 
In every walk of life he won and held deep and abiding friendships, and the 
esteem of all who knew him. 

"He was a devoted husband and father, and his home extended a most generous 
hospitality to a large circle of friends. 

"His passing has taken from us a wise counsellor, an honored associate, and a 
beloved friend." 



H, 



HERBERT HENRY TABB 



.erbert Henry Tabb comes from a family that, both on his 
father's and mother's side, made notable contributions for several generations to 
the history of Hardin County. The record of service compiled by his forebears 
is being added to by Herbert Tabb. He was educated at a teachers' college, 
and for a time he was a farmer, a miller, and is now a successful merchant, but 
his interest in progressive education remains. Today he is chairman of the Hardin 
County Board of Education, with a proud record under his administration, of 
improvements and developments that make for better students and better citizens. 
Fortunate indeed is the State of Kentucky to have in her counties such old-settled 
families, ready not only to keep up with the march of progress but able to provide 
such leaders as Herbert Henry Tabb. 

On the farm of his forefathers, near White Mills, Hardin County, Kentucky, 
Herbert Henry Tabb was born on November 7, 1897. His father, Frank C. 
Tabb, a native of Hardin County, was born on the same farm as was his son. 
He was a son of Abicha Tabb. Frank C. Tabb served sixteen years on the Hardin 
County Board of Education, and was a farmer by occupation. He was a member 
of the Baptist Church and the Masonic Order. Abicha Tabb was a cobbler, and 
made boots for the soldiers during the war between the states. Two Tabb brothers 
came to the United States from England and settled in Virginia. In a later 
generation, two other brothers came from Virginia to Kentucky. Abicha Tabb was 
one of sixteen children. Frank C. Tabb is still living and active in his community. 
The mother of Herbert Tabb, Leanora (Ashlock) Tabb, was a native of White 
Mills community. Her father, Dr. Robert R. Ashlock, was also a native of 
Hardin County. 

Herbert H. Tabb grew to manhood on the home farm and attended the rural 
schools of the county. He continued his educational pursuits in the high school at 
Glendale and at the Western State Teachers College at Bowling Green, where 
he later became a member of the faculty. He returned to his home community, 
and for about five years engaged in farming. He then spent the next two years 
in the flour milling business at White Mills, after which he again returned to the 
farm for another five-year period. In November, 1928, he purchased a general 
merchandise business in White Mills, and in the years that have followed he has 
become one of the leading merchants of the community, carrying in stock large 



2156 



A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



amounts of stock feed, metal roofing and wire fencing in addition to his stocks 
of general merchandise and supplies. 

At present Mr. Tabb is serving his eighth year as a member of the Hardin 
County Board of Education, and his fourth year as its Chairman. During his 
term of service many improvements of a material nature have been made. Among 
the more outstanding ones are the building of the school building at White Mills 
at a cost of #60,000.00; at Howe Valley at a cost of #55,000.00; at Vine Grove 
at a cost of #30,000.00; at Glendale at a cost of #35,000.00; and the addition to 
the school building at Sonora at a cost of #20,000.00. 

In 1922, Herbert Henry Tabb was married to Lena Brooks English, a daughter 
of Silas English of Hardin County. They have two children: Louella Marie 
and Herbert Howard. 

Herbert Tabb finds his diversion in fishing and hunting, and likes all outdoor 
sports, particularly baseball. While a student at Western State Teachers College 
he was captain of the basketball team. He is an active member of the Farm 
Bureau Federation of Hardin County. The political affiliation of Mr. Tabb is 
with the Democratic Party. Mr. Tabb is Past Master of White Mills Lodge 
No. 786, F. & A. M., and is now its Treasurer. As Worshipful Master, he 
represented his lodge in the Grand Lodge of Kentucky. He is a member of the 
Christian Church, and is now the Chairman of the Board of Deacons and Elders. 



Wh, 



JOHN W. CROLEY 



'hen Governor Willis chose John W. Croley as Director of 
Purchases and Public Properties for the State of Kentucky, he did so with regard 
for the business background and not the political power of John W. Croley. If 
the governor of a state is to make a name for himself as a capable executive, he 
must choose carefully the men he places in key positions. With economy and 
integrity as the watchwords of his campaign, Governor Willis chose well for the 
people of Kentucky when he placed John Croley in the important post of Director 
of Purchases and Public Properties. Trained as a civil engineer and with eight 
years of background in practical experience with the Southern Railroad, John W. 
Croley decided to widen the scope of his experiences by operating a farm in the 
State of Oklahoma. He remained there for one year, but the call of Kentucky was 
strong, and John W. Croley returned to his home state, this time to enter the 
mercantile and coal business. In partnership with his father he owned a coal mine. 
John W. Croley had definite political ideas, but never sought office nor solicited 
appointment. The ideal situation is that the office should seek the man, and in 
this case the office of Director of Purchases and Public Properties for die State of 
Kentucky has sought and found a capable head in John W. Croley. 

John W. Croley was born in Knox County, Kentucky, on August 5, 1885. His 
father, Andrew J. Croley, was born in Knox County in 1863 and died September. 
9, 1941. He was a coal operator and merchant. The mother of John W. Croley 
was Nancy (Blakely) Croley, born in Knox County on March 15, 1864. 

John Croley attended the schools of Knox County and later enrolled at Williams- 




JOHN W. CROLEY 



2158 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

burg Institute at Williamsburg, Kentucky. He attended Kentucky State College 
for one term and also was a student at the Barbourville Baptist Institute at Barbour- 
ville, Kentucky. After leaving school he was employed by the Southern Railroad 
as civil engineer in the locating and construction department and he remained there 
for eight years. It was at this time that he decided to try farming and bought 
a farm in Oklahoma. After one year he sold out and returned to Barbourville, 
Kentucky. Here he entered a partnership with his father which included wholesale 
and retail mercantile business and also the ownership and operation af a coal mine. 
With this excellent training and business experience, John W. Croley was well 
equipped for the position which Governor Willis asked him to accept, Director of 
Purchases and Public Properties for the State of Kentucky. 

In 1916, John W. Croley was married to Ida Clark, of Whitley County, Ken- 
tucky. They have one daughter, Marie Croley, born in Knox County, Kentucky 
en August 6, 1918. She attended public and high school at Barbourville, Kentucky, 
and thereafter studied at Barbourville College and Bethel College at Hopkinsville, 
Kentucky. For two years Miss Croley was a student at the Conservatory of Music 
in Cincinnati, Ohio, and she is also a graduate of the University of Cincinnati. 
Miss Croley formerly taught music at Kings Mill School, Kings Mill, Ohio, and is 
now teaching music at Cumberland College in Williamsburg, Kentucky. 

The family of John W. Croley worships at the Baptist Church, in which Mr. 
Croley has always maintained an active interest. 



CLAUD BROWN 

A here always will be new frontiers in industry waiting to chal- 
lenge the courage and ability of Young America. Success will come not neces- 
sarily to the pioneer who "takes a chance" but to those who see a definite future 
possibility, who have vision. As the Bible says, "Where there is no vision, the 
people perish." Today we can scarcely credit that well-established industries were 
born in our lifetime and have been nurtured to maturity in a short span of years. 
When Claud Brown and his brother, W. J. Brown, believed that ice cream could 
be more than just a back porch product, and that it could be produced and sold 
in large quantities, they were crossing into new territory. That was only a matter 
of thirty-five years ago, but certainly ice cream has developed from being a Sun- 
day novelty to an everyday necessity, and Claud Brown has contributed his part 
to the upbuilding of this business that has brought profit to many and pleasure 
and health to all. 

Claud Brown was born in Hardin County, Kentucky, on April 12, 1875. His 
father was D. M. Brown and his mother Georgia A. Brown. After an early educa- 
tion in the rural schools, Claud Brown entered Hardin Collegiate Institute at 
Elizabethtown. He went to work on a farm, but in 1906 returned to Elizabcthtown 
where he and his brother, W. J. Brown, entered the feed business. In 1908 they 
came to the conclusion that the feed business had seen its best days, but that there 
was strong possibility that a good business might be developed through the manu- 
facture of ice cream on a commercial basis. This was a rather radical move-, and 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2159 

was complicated by the lack of working equipment. The brothers rigged up a 
freezer which they ran from the gasoline engine used in the feed mill. The freezing 
was complicated by the lack of working equipment. The brothers rigged up a 
was done by using ice and salt. This somewhat cumbersome equipment was limited 
in capacity to twenty gallons per day, and in short order the demand far ex- 
ceeded the supply. 

After one year of operation on this basis, the brothers bought the Elizabeth- 
town Ice Company and moved their ice cream manufacturing to that plant. Their 
infant business was now definitely through the nursing stage, and continued to 
grow. The old feed business was disposed of, new equipment was installed, and 
from time to time the plant itself was enlarged to take care of the constantly ex- 
panding trade. From the very start the brothers decided that theirs would be a 
quality product, and they never lost sight of the truth that there is no substitute 
for quality. 

In 1920, W. J. Brown moved to Florida, selling his interest in the Elizabethtown 
Ice and Ice Cream Company to his brother Claud. W. J. Brown later returned 
to Kentucky and established the Brown Ice Cream Company of Bowling Green. 
Extensive mention of his activities can be found on another page of these volumes. 

About 1928, Claud Brown built the present plant for the manufacture of ice 
and ice cream, where he employs about thirty-five people. The ice cream from 
this plant is sold under the brand name of Brown's Delicious, and is well known 
throughout Central Kentucky. 

Claud Brown is a practical farmer, and has maintained his interests in that 
field. He is extensively engaged in farming in Hardin County, where he raises 
purebred Hereford cattle. He is a director of the First Federal Savings and 
Loan Association of Elizabethtown. Mr. Brown is a member of the Southern 
Association of Ice Cream Manufacturers and the National Association of Ice Cream 
Manufacturers. 

Claud Brown was married in 1905 to Josephine Alvey of Hardin County. They 
have one daughter, Laureen, who is now the wife of Colonel Jack Benner, a 
graduate of West Point Military Academy and a member of the United States 
Army. Mrs. Benner has one son by a former marriage, Robert McBath Layman. 

The Elizabethtown Ice and Ice Cream Company is owned by Claud Brown 
and W. A. Brown but he has passed active management of his business interests 
to a younger generation. The plant at Elizabethtown is managed by his nephew, 
Will Allen Brown, who is mentioned on another page of this edition in connection 
with the biography of his father. 

Claud Brown is a member of the Methodist Church. In his more active days, 
he looked to fishing and hunting for recreation. Now he prefers to relax, and 
when the chill days of winter come, he follows the sunshine to the warm beaches and 
soothing breezes of Florida. 

VINCENT CORRAO, M.D. 



D, 



r. Vincent Corrao/s medical experience is set against a colorful 
background. Born in Italy, he graduated from the University of Naples and 
while still a young man he held an important medical post at the University of 



2160 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Naples Hospital. In addition, he served as a lieutenant in the Italian Army 
during the last war and was wounded while leading his men against the Germans. 
After arriving in this country, Dr. Corrao studied at the City Hospital in Louis- 
ville and served interneship in Louisville and Philadelphia hospitals. He practiced 
in Louisville and New York City, and is now successfully established in Munford- 
ville, Kentucky. Dr. Corrao is a good example of talent and ambition from 
other lands being welcomed and extended an opportunity in these United States. 

Vincent Corrao was born in Italy on May 13, 1897, the son of Thomas and 
Rosa Corrao. A few years after Vincent Corrao was born, his father came to 
the United States and entered the fruit business in Louisville, Kentucky. Within a 
short time the mother also crossed the ocean, but Vincent Corrao stayed in Naples 
where it was intended that he should complete his education. Here he attended 
the Government elementary schools, and in due time graduated from the Medical 
School of the University of Naples. Dr. Vincent Corrao was then appointed 
Assistant Pathologist at the University of Naples Hospital. 

Dr. Carrao also attended Modena Academy, which is Italy's equivalent of our 
West Point Academy. When Italy entered World War I, Vincent Corrao was 
commissioned as a First Lieutenant in the Italian Army. He went away on active 
service, and was severely wounded in action against the Germans. 

In November, 1922, Dr. Vincent Corrao arrived in the United States, and 
became a postgraduate student at the City Hospital in Louisville. Following his 
studies at City Hospital, Dr. Corrao acted as interne at Sts. Mary and Elizabeth 
Hospital in Louisville, and also in St. Joseph's and St. Agnes' Hospitals in Phila- 
delphia. Returning to Louisville, he became associated in practice with Dr. 
Misch Casper. He had passed the Kentucky State Board of Medical Examiners 
in 1925. 

Dr. Carrao came to Munfordville, Kentucky, in November, 1927, and con- 
tinued practice there for six years. He then went to New York City, where he 
was in practice until he returned to Munfordville in September, 1935. Here he 
has continued since that time, and has proved eminently successful. Dr. Corrao 
is a member of the Kentucky State Medical Society and the American Medical 
Association. 

Dr. Vincent Corrao was married in 1929 to Mary A. Mina of Philadelphia and 
they have one daughter, Rose Marie. In 1930 Dr. Corrao became an American 
citizen by naturalization. 

The political affiliation of Dr. Corrao is with the Democratic Party. Dr. 
Corrao is an excellent shot, and hunting is his principal diversion when the season 
and his profession permit. 

L. C. McLONEY 

J__/. C. McLoney is a merchant and tobacconist located at Cynthiana 
in Harrison County, Kentucky. Of his business it has been said that he "sells 
everything the farmer needs and buys evcrydiing he produces." Mr. McLoney 
does a big business as wool buyer; Harrison County, in which he is located, is 
one of the state's largest producers of wool. Many years ago L. C. McLoney 




L. C. McLONKV 



2162 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

helped organize a tobacco warehouse in Cynthiana. This was sold, then bought 
back by the original holders, and later came entirely under the control of L. C. 
McLoney. He also owns one thousand two hundred acres of farm land in Harrison 
County. 

L. C. McLoney was born on a farm in Harrison County, Kentucky, on No- 
vember 28' 1877. His father, J. T. McLoney, was a farmer and lived all his 
life in Harrison County. His was an unusually long and useful life; he died at 
the age of eighty-seven. J. T. McLoney was an ardent prohibitionist, and an 
active member of the Methodist Church. The family is of Scotch-Irish descent. 
L. C. McLoney's mother, Elizabeth (Hamon) McLoney, was a native of Scott 
County, Kentucky, and a daughter of Nelson Hamon, a prominent farmer of 
Scott County. She had a brother, Amos Hamon, who served in the Kentucky 
Legislature. 

The youthful days of L. C. McLoney were spent, on the farm, and he received 
his education through the rural schools of the community. He began farming 
with his father, in the Lees Lick community, but later went to Bourbon County, 
Kentucky. In 1908 he moved to Cynthiana, and for several years he lived in 
town and operated land that he had acquired in Harrison County. He began 
buying tobacco on a small scale, and was one of the original stockholders of the 
Independent Tobacco Warehouse in Cynthiana. It was later sold to the old 
Tobacco Pool, and later a group, of which L. C. McLoney was one, bought it 
back from the pool. They operated it for several years, and finally Mr. McLoney 
bought the interest of the other partners, now owning all of it. In about 1940 
he extended his operations by establishing a complete line of hardware, feed, 
seeds, fertilizer, etc. It is a well-known fact that he sells everything that the 
farmer needs and buys everything that the farmer produces. A large item in 
the business of the McLoney firm is the buying of wool, of which Harrison 
County is one of the state's largest producers. 

On April 4, 1900, L. C. McLoney married Miss Bessie Lee Cole, a native of 
Indiana. They have two sons and a daughter. Douglas, the oldest son, is now 
associated with the firm of L. C. McLoney & Sons. He married Miss Betty Bulles of 
Warren, Ohio, and has two sons, Douglas and Thome. Evelyn, the daughter, is 
now Mrs. Phillip G. Bower of Washington, D. C, and the mother of two sons, 
Jeffrey and Bruce. The youngest son, Nelson, is now a member of the United 
States Army Air Corps. Prior to his entrance into the armed forces, he was a 
member of the firm of L. C. McLoney & Sons. Capt. McLoney married Miss 
Marshall McDowell of Cynthiana. 

Mr. McLoney has large holdings in Harrison County including about twelve 
hundred acres of farm land which he operates on the tenant system. He is a 
member of the Harrison County Farm Bureau Federation. L. C. McLcney is 
a member of the Methodist Church. His political affiliation is with the Democratic 
Party. 




CAPTAIN NELSON H. McLONEV 



2164 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 



SAMUEL CLEMENS SMITH, M.D. 



D, 



r. Samuel C. Smith, of Ashland, stands at the top of his pro- 
fession in the state and is a former State Commander of the American Legion. 

Dr. Smith was born at Whitesburg, Kentucky, August 4, 1885. His father, 
Nathaniel B. Smith, was a native of Culpeper County, Virginia, and was a 
farmer and stockman who died August 13, 1934. His mother, the former Rachael 
Virginia Craft, a native of Lee County, Virginia, is now living at London, Ken- 
tucky, at the age of eighty-six. 

Dr. Smith grew to manhood in and near London, Kentucky, where he attended 
the public schools and Sue Bennett Memorial School. He early determined to 
pursue a professional career and after completing the elementary schools entered 
the University of Louisville where he completed his pre-medical studies and con- 
tinued in that University's School of Medicine to receive his coveted M.D. degree 
in 1912. 

He returned to London to begin the practice of his profession among the friends 
and acquaintances of his home, but after a year there he accepted a position as 
resident physician in a lumber camp hospital at Hurley, Virginia. Later he went 
to Greenup, Kentucky, where he was in private practice for twenty months before 
entering the Medical Corps of the United States Army on June 15, 1917. The 
length of time, ten months, seemed to hold an attraction for him for he spent ten 
months at Camp Bowie, Texas, and ten months at the Savenay Hospital at 
Savenay, France, before going on into Germany where he spent seven weeks. 
Returning to America he was stationed at the General Hospital on Staten Island 
for ten months and was then transferred to Camp Knox, Kentucky, as Chief 
Surgeon. He was discharged September 30, 1920, with the rank of Captain. 

Dr. Smith began his practice in Ashland immediately after returning to civilian 
life, and his practice here has been continuous since, except for a short time spent 
as Chief Surgeon at the Methodist Hospital at Pikeville, Kentucky. Dr. Smith 
has had a thorough training and a broad experience in surgery. 

Dr. Smith has been intensely interested in the affairs of the American Legion 
since his army days. He took an active part in its organization throughout the 
state and served four years on the executive committee of the Department of 
Kentucky, succeeding to the executive head as Commander for the year 1927-28. 
During his tenure of office he gave special attention to child welfare and the 
Legion baseball clubs, both of which enjoyed a period of growth and expansion 
under his direction. 

Dr. Smith is now recognized as one of the most successful surgeons in north- 
eastern Kentucky and is presently the Chief of Staff of the Kings Daughters 
Hospital at Ashland. During 1943 he served this hospital as Chief of the surgical 
staff. 

The marriage of Dr. S. C. Smith and Miss Beda Jacobs, a native of Owcnsboro, 
Kentucky, was solemnized on September 30, 1915. They arc the parents of two 
children. William Joseph Smith, the first born, after completing the schools of 
Ashland was a student at Virginia Military Institute for one year and at the 
University of Kentucky for a like period. He is now a pilot in the Air Corps of 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2165 

the Army of the United States with the rank of Captain and at last report was 
on duty in New Guinea. He has now completed more than sixty missions and has 
been decorated with the Air Medal, Purple Heart and the Distinguishe< Flying 
Cross. Wilma Ann Smith is a senior at the University of North Carolina at 
Chapel Hill. 

Since the beginning of World War II, Dr. Smith has devoted much of his 
time and attention to war work. Among other activities he has been Chairman 
of the 11th District Medical Advisory Board for the Selective Service Boards. 

Fraternally Dr. Smith is a member of the Masonic Order having advanced 
through the degrees of the York Rite. He is now Eminent Commander of the 
Knights Templar at Ashland and a member of El Hasa Temple of the Mystic 
Shrine. 

MARSHALL BARNES 

Oon of an illustrious father who left his mark in a wide region 
in the form of philanthropic works, good roads, industrial and mercantile develop- 
ment and otherwise endeared himself to his fellow citizens, Marshall Barnes has 
made his own name in his native Beaver Dam and Ohio County and in the 
entire State of Kentucky. 

Third of the family to head the bank which the elder Barnes helped to establish, 
the Beaver Dam Deposit Bank, Marshall Barnes is not only a banker but a 
political leader, having served his State as member of the legislature and as 
clerk of its lower house, and is also foremost in educational affairs, his other 
activities including service on the Alumni Trustees of his alma mater, the 
University of Kentucky, and leadership in fraternity circles. Continuing active 
and prominent in politics, he has been a Presidential Elector and State Campaign 
Chairman for John Young Brown. In addition, he is well known in fraternal 
circles, the American Legion and other organizations, including professional. 

Marshall Barnes was born in Beaver Dam in 1897. His father was John H. 
Barnes, farmer, banker, philanthropist, civic leader and public official, who was 
born in Beaver Dam on December 16, 1857, and died seventy-seven years later 
on May 16, 1934. The mother was Maggie E. (Eblen) Barnes, born in Carrollton, 
Kentucky, on March 21, 1870, who died in Beaver Dam on January 14, 1940, 
and is, like her late husband, buried in Beaver Dam. 

In 1890, the elder Barnes became associated with I. P. Barnard in the founding 
of the Beaver Dam Deposit Bank, of which the partner was first president. When 
Mr. Barnard later sold his interests in the bank to Mr. Barnes, the latter assumed 
the presidency, which he held until his death. Among the business concerns he 
had a hand in developing were the Beaver Dam Milling Company, the Beaver 
Dam Manufacturing and Supply Company and the Barnes Mercantile Company at 
Central City, Kentucky. Ever interested and active in the civic life and welfare 
of the community, he was noted for numerous accomplishments in this sphere. 
In the first World War, for example, he served as chairman of the Liberty Loan 
Drives and, by his untiring efforts, brought about oversubscription of quotas. He 
was also a member of the Schools' Board of Trustees and chairman of die Ohio 



2166 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

County Road Bond Commission, in which latter post he devoted a great deal of 
his time to the building of good roads and improving existing roads. Aside from 
giving generously to many charitable causes, he created a large hall in one of his 
buildings and made it available as a community center to further social, educational 
and other phases of community life. Intensely interested in farming, he owned 
and operated eight farms and at one time was the largest individual farm owner 
in Ohio County. In addition to Marshall Barnes, he had another son, who on 
his death, succeeded to the presidency of the Beaver Dam Deposit Bank but who 
himself died December 4, 1940, when Marshall Barnes assumed the office. 

Marshall Barnes obtained his early education in the grade and high schools of 
Beaver Dam. He then went to Lexington as an undergraduate at the University 
of Kentucky, where he soon gave evidence of the leadership he would later show. 
Not only was he on the university's basketball team, but he was elected to The 
Mystic Thirteen, an honor fraternity, to the Lamp and Cross Fraternity and to 
Phi Kappa Tau and Phi Alpha Delta fraternities. In his junior year, he was 
president of his class and in his senior year was president of the Men's Student 
Council. Later he became an Alumni Trustee. In 1924, he was graduated 
from the University's Law School. 

Mr. Barnes then returned to Beaver Dam and immediately joined his father 
and brother in the bank, becoming president on the brother's death, sixteen years 
later, but having in the meantime assumed greater and greater responsibility. 

On October 29, 1929, Mr. Barnes married Ann Burke, a native of Owensboro, 
Kentucky. They have two children — Patricia Lynn Barnes and John Timothy 
Barnes. 

Having interrupted his scholastic career to serve the nation in the first World 
War, Mr. Barnes as a veteran joined the American Legion after the Armistice. 
He remains active among the membership. 

In 1931, he was elected for the first of two terms in the State House of Repre- 
sentatives. In 1936, he returned to the House as assistant clerk, this being the 
same year that he was a Presidential Elector. In 1938, he was clerk of the House. 

Mr. Barnes is a Methodist, a Mason and a Shriner. 

FREDERICK JOHN SUTTERLIN 

JTrederick John Sutterlin is the head of an excellent business 
and of a fine family. His business is the Frankfort Ice and Coal Company, and 
his family consists of seven children, eight grandchildren, and three great-grandsons. 
A service flag in his window can show six stars; two of his granddaughters are 
married to army men, and a son and a grandson are also in the army; two more 
grandsons are in the Air Force. Among them is a Colonel, a Major, and a Captain. 
The business has a very fine record of service to the community, but the record 
of the family is even better. 

Frederick J. Sutterlin was born in Baden, Germany, on August 14, 1867. His 
father, John Jacob Sutterlin, a native of Baden, died when his son, Frederick, was 




FREDERICK JOHN SUTTERLIN 



2168 A SESQU1-CENTENNIAL 

only two years old, and the widow, Elizabeth (Burgin) Sutterlin married Urban 
Kagin. Frederick Sutterlin was eleven years old when the family came to America. 
He had, of course, attended school in Germany, and continued his schooling in 
New Bedford, Massachusetts, where the family had settled. 

Frederick Sutterlin was twenty-eight years old when he came to Frankfort, 
Kentucky, and started the Frankfort Ice & Coal Company. The business of this 
company was originally only the manufacture of ice, and the first plant, located 
on West Main Street, had a capacity of eleven tons daily. Distribution of the 
product was made through door to door deliveries; and those were fine horses they 
used to use! Mr. Sutterlin took great pride in those horses, and they were always 
sleek and well-cared for. 

Time and good service to his customers brought increases in business, and from 
time to time additions to the plant were made, and the sale of coal and other 
fuels was added. In 1941, the Frankfort Ice & Coal Company installed a frozen 
food locker plant with nine hundred and fifty individual lockers which are 
rented to the people of the vicinity. The company has its own butchers who process 
the meats to be frozen, and cold storage facilities are maintained for all com- 
mercial uses. The firm remains securely in the hands of the Sutterlin family; 
good management and sound business practice have always kept the concern in 
excellent financial condition, and new blood for the business has come from the 
ranks of the Sutterlin family. At one time other plants were located at Columbus, 
Ohio, and Dixon, Illinois, and Hialeah, Florida, but these plants have been disposed 
of, and the business of the company is now confined to the Frankfort plants and 
one at Midway, Kentucky. The company employs thirty-five people; and Frederick 
J. Sutterlin is its president. 

One can hardly believe, when one looks over a list of the many concerns in 
which Mr. Sutterlin holds office and the many church, charitable and civic or- 
ganizations in which he is actively interested, that Mr. Sutterlin could find time 
to do all these things and in addition be the acting head of a large business enter- 
prise. The list of his activities is many and varied. He is a director of the 
Farmers Bank and Capital Trust Company of Frankfort; a director of the 
Capital Hotel Company; a director of the Frankfort Cemetery Board; a director 
of the Electric Light and Power Board of Frankfort; treasurer of the Westminster 
Foundation of Murray, Kentucky, which is a Presbyterian group which built a 
church in order that the students at Murray College might have a church of their 
own in which to worship; president of the Frankfort Board of Education; member 
of the Executive Board of the American Red Cross of Franklin County; a life 
member of the Board of Directors of the Young Men's Christian Association of 
Frankfort; a member, elder and treasurer of the Presbyterian Church in Frank- 
fort; superintendent of the Sunday School of the Presbyterian Church for the past 
twenty-eight years; and chairman of the War Price and Rationing Board of 
Franklin County. For several years he served as a member of the City Council 
of Frankfort, and is a past president of the Rotary Club. He is also a member 
of the board of directors of the Louisville Presbyterian Seminary. 

Frederick John Sutterlin was married in 1888 to Rosic Mcrtz, a native of 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2169 

Henry County, Kentucky, who died in 1908. Frederick and Rosie (Mertz) 
Sutterlin were the parents of six children. William F. Sutterlin is now associated 
with his father in the business of the Frankfort Ice & Coal Company. His wife 
is the former Violet Culter, and they have two daughters, Mary Elizabeth and 
Caroline. Mary Elizabeth is now Mrs. Hiram Williams, and Caroline is the wife 
of John Shirley Noonan and the mother of a son, John Shirley Noonan, Jr. 
Both Mr. Williams and Mr. Noonan are now in the armed forces of the 
United States. The second son of Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Sutterlin is Frank 
Joseph Sutterlin, who now operates the Midway plant of the Frankfort Ice and 
Coal Company. Frank Sutterlin married Rebecca Salyers, and they are the 
parents of three sons, all of whom are now in their country's service. Frederick 
J. Sutterlin is a Colonel in the Air Force of the United States, and is stationed 
in England. His wife is the former Montiel Hoffer, and he has one son, Frederick 
J. Sutterlin, Jr. William F. Sutterlin is a Captain in the Army, and his wife is 
the former Sarah Jane Wertz. Howard Douglas Sutterlin is a Major in the 
Army Air Force. The third son in the family of Frederick and Rosie Sutterlin 
is Charles Edward, who is associated with the family business in Frankfort, and is 
married to the former Margaret Bowles; he was a student at the Culver Military 
Academy. One daughter, Clara Rose, is now associated in the business, and Mary 
Caroline is a teacher in the Kindergarten department of the Frankfort public 
schools. Louise Sutterlin is now the wife of Joseph Schroff, of Goldville, Fort 
Knox, Kentucky, where Mr. Schroff is a civilian employee of the government. 
The Schroff's have three daughters, Agnes Jane, Caroline Louise and Jo Ann. 

Mr. Sutterlin was married for the second time on November 29, 1912, to Agnes 
Douglas of Frankfort. They became the parents of two sons, Douglas, who died 
March 29, 1941, at the age of twenty-seven; and James Smyrl, who was a student 
in college before his entrance into the Army, where he is now serving. Mr. and 
Mrs. Sutterlin were both members of the Frankfort Garden Club, and Mrs. 
Sutterlin was also active in the affairs of the Womans Club and the Womans 
Circle of the Presbyterian Church until she passed away June 16, 1944. 

Mr. Sutterlin finds rest and relaxation from his manifold activities in one of 
the most peaceful of all pursuits — gardening. He is a horticulturist of more than 
amateur standing, and the raising of flowers pays dividends in the beautification 
of his home. His is a full, rich, and satisfying life. He has achieved much, and 
has the satisfaction of knowing that his splendid family is a continuing force for 
the betterment of the world. 



Wh, 



LEE BARNES 



'hen Lee Barnes died in 1941, Beaver Dam and Ohio County 

lost a most enterprising business man and civic leader, one who had contributed 

much to the development of his community and the prosperity of the entire area. 

Native of the town, he was a farmer originally — a farmer with a vision of 

opportunity and service in a related field, the milling industry, which he entered 



2170 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

and in which he operated with distinction and success until his death, leaving 
a tradition which his son, D. Porter Barnes, continues. 

Lee Barnes was born in Beaver Dam in 1864. He attended the elementary and 
high schools of that community and later Hartford College at Hartford, Kentucky. 

For a period, he farmed. In 1890, recognizing a need for a new plant and 
business for processing the crops of the region, he participated in the organization 
of the Beaver Dam Milling Company, the headquarters of which were established 
in Beaver Dam. Giving up farming, he assumed direction of the milling concern 
and, until his death, conducted its affairs, attaining in the process leadership in 
civic and political affairs and in the Methodist Church. His death occurred 
January 14, 1941, ending a long and useful life in its seventy-eighth year. 

Mr. Barnes' widow is the former Ana Porter, born in Cromwell, Kentucky, in 
1867. She resides in Beaver Dam. 

The son, D. Porter Barnes, was born in Beaver Dam on June 8, 1897. Like 
his father, he attended the Beaver Dam public schools. But after completing this 
preparatory education, he spent another year at the University of Kentucky at 
Lexington. 

In 1920, Mr. Barnes joined his late father in the management of the Beaver 
Dam Milling Company and in the next twenty years gradually assumed more and 
more responsibility. By the time the elder Barnes died, the son had made his 
own record in the business, not to mention the community, and was thus able to 
continue uninterrupted the leadership of the milling company with an acumen 
and experience that, still in the tradition of his father, are carrying the firm to 
yet newer heights. 

In 1918, D. Porter Barnes married Pansy Liles, born in Gilstrap, Butler County, 
Kentucky, January 2, 1898, the daughter of Cicero Liles. They have a daughter, 
Betty Lee Barnes, who was born in Beaver Dam on November 22, 1929. 

The Barnes family continues its membership in the Methodist Church and Mr. 
Barnes is also a member of the Masonic Lodge in Beaver Dam, in which he has 
advanced to the Royal Arch. 

SYDNEY HART ANDERSON 

Oeven generations of the Anderson family were born in the old 
homestead in Montgomery County. The farm is now owned and operated by 
Sydney H. Anderson, and he is proving to be a worthy descendant of this long 
line of master farmers. 

Sydney Hart Anderson was born in Montgomery County, Kentucky, on Decem- 
ber 29, 1915. His fadier, Judson McDaniel Anderson, was born in Montgomery 
County, Kentucky, in 1893. He was a farmer and dealer in live stock; he owned 
four hundred and fifty acres of land. The mother of Sydney Anderson was Mary 
Elizabeth (Hart) Anderson. She was born in Montgomery County, Kentucky, 
in 1896. Both parents of Sydney Anderson died at an early age. His father 
passed away in 1941 at forty-eight years of age, and when his mother died in 




SYDNEY HART ANDERSON 



2172 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

1932 she was only thirty-six years old. They are both buried in the family cemetery 
on the grounds of the old home. 

Sydney Anderson was one of five children. He attended the private school of 
Miss Pearl Prewitt, and later enrolled at Mt. Sterling High School. While a 
student at Mt. Sterling High School he was a standout in athletics, and played 
on the school football team. On leaving school he went to work on the farm, 
and remained there until 1942 when he entered the United States Army. He 
served with the army for twenty-three months, and then was honorably discharged. 

Back on the farm, which is located on the Paris Road eight miles from Mt. Sterl- 
ing and is known as Side View Farm, Sydney Anderson is working as never 
before to help meet the increased need for farm products with decreased help. 
He is a breeder of registered short horn cattle and is a dealer in saddle horses. 

The Anderson family has a long and successful record in the farm annals of 
Montgomery County. Thomas Corwin Anderson, great-grandfather of Sydney 
Anderson, owned 2,400 acres of farm land in Montgomery County, Kentucky. 
He was one of the largest breeders of short-horn cattle in the United States. His 
son, grandfather of Sydney Anderson, was Samuel English Anderson, also born 
in Montgomery County. He had a farm of eight hundred acres and raised 
thoroughbred trotting horses. Samuel Anderson married Cora McDaniel of 
Montgomery County. They had four children. The oldest son, Judson Anderson, 
was father of Sydney Hart Anderson, and in addition there were Corwin Anderson, 
French Anderson and Mary English Anderson. 

Sydney Anderson has three sisters. The oldest sister, Lucy Jessamine, was born 
in Montgomery County, Kentucky, in 1924. She is married to Lt. Robert N. 
Starr of Oklahoma, who is now in the United States Army Air Corps. The second 
sister, Ann English, was also born in Montgomery County, Kentucky, in 1926, 
She is a graduate of Sayre School for Girls, Lexington, Kentucky, and is now 
attending the University of Kentucky. The youngest sister, Mary Corwin, was 
born in 1928 in Montgomery County. 



The following article concerning the life of Dr. L. F. Becker of Daviess County, 
who is now living retired on his estate, was written by his niece, Miss Martha May 
Becker, at the age of fifteen and was read before her high school class at Milan, 
Illinois, as an essay. She and her sister Georgia Bell Becker are the daughters of 
Dr. Becker's brother, J. E. Becker of Milan, Illinois. 

THE LIFE OF DR. L. F. BECKER 

Owensboro, Kentucky 
By Martha Becker 

^hen the first eighteen years of the life of Lourid Richard Becker 
had passed he came to the United States from Germany and settled in Hartford, 
Kentucky. This young man was united in marriage to Malitda Henrietta Ar- 
mendt on October 3, 1872, and they started their married life in Haiti ord. Ken- 



Wh, 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2173 

tucky. Mr. and Mrs. Armendt came to the United States from Germany with 
their two year old daughter and they also settled in Hartford, Kentucky. 

Richard Becker earned a livelihood for himself and his family through the 
wood-working profession. In the middle nineteenth century there were of course 
no factories for such purposes. Therefore tables, chairs, beds, and wheels were 
among the things made by Richard Becker. 

One of the master pieces of this man's work was a four poster bed. This bed 
was made largely of Ash wood, but the decorative panels in the head of the bed 
were made of Cherry. Carved on the edges of the head of the bed which was in 
shape of an inverted "V" were small buttons. The four posters of this bed were 
decorated with carved figures. The panel at the head of the bed was decorated 
with small panels of various shades of wood all set in place by the untiring hands 
of the maker. 

A few years ago a daughter of this man was visited by an antique hunter and 
during the conversation the man described a bed for which he had offered $100 
but didn't buy. This woman was curious about this bed and when she investigated, 
it was the bed her father had made years before. Richard Becker made numerous 
other articles of furniture and if they could be collected together today would 
be worth a small fortune. 

On April 8, 1875, a son, Louis Frederick Becker, was born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Richard Becker of Hartford, Kentucky. He was named for his Uncle, Louis 
Frederick Armendt. This son had for his first playmate a brother, Henry Edward, 
who had been born on August 2, 1873. 

The Becker family moved to Habit, Kentucky, a small southern village, a few 
years later and here Louis Frederick Becker or Fred, attended the Habit school. 
In the years between 1881 and 1908 he attended schools in Kentucky and Ten- 
nessee. They included schools at Habit and Hartford, Vanderbilt University, and 
the Louisville College of Dentistry. With a good background for a dentist he 
entered the profession of Dentistry in the year 1908 in Owensboro, Kentucky. 
Owensboro and surrounding territory has been his home ever since. 

Dr. Becker married and this was a very happy union, but it was broken by death. 
Later Dr. Becker married Miss Lila Crabtree of Owensboro and their days together 
have been many and pleasant. 

Like any other normal boy of the north, south, east, or west, Fred Becker was 
christened, by his playmates, names seemingly more suitable. Those that were the 
most outstanding are "Beck," "Doc," and "Fritze." "Fritze" has stayed with Dr. 
Becker and today, by many of his closest friends, he is called "Fritze.' As a boy, 
Dr. Becker enjoyed hunting, fishing, and dogs, and today as a retired dentist his 
likes are very similar. 

In 1925, Dr. Becker built on a small farm about four miles from Owensboro a 
$15,000 house. The farms in the south are smaller than those in Illinois, here a 
sixty acre farm seems small. 

The room that Dr. Becker finds the most comforting is, of course, his den. 
Here he has at his command everything to make spare moments pleasant — a radio, 
a couch, magazines, a checker board and last but definitely not least, pipes. Dr. 



2174 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Becker has many curious, yet fascinating pipes, some large and some small. It is 
not uncommon to see him smoking a very elaborate pipe a foot long. 

The den may be the most interesting room to Dr. Becker, but to me the hall and 
stairway is a magnificent piece of architecture. As one enters the mansion through 
the front door, the sight that we first behold is the stairway. On both sides of the 
open stairway short halls lead to other rooms. On our right and left we see arch- 
ways — one leading to the dining room and the other to the living room and an 
exquisite baby grand piano. Also found in this room is a fireplace, but no Yule 
Log of the past has ever heated its hearth. 

The basement of this house has many purposes, mainly, a workshop, but it has 
also served as a home for pups, an alligator, and baby chicks. For the last three 
or four years Dr. Becker has had in his basement every winter an alligator who 
goes by the name "Al." In the summer "Al" is put in a pond on the farm but in 
the winter he is brought to the basement and here he pouts the winter away. Evi- 
dently he hates to leave the pond. 

We all know that Kentucky is noted for "Fast horses and pretty women." This 
farm has seen both. My Uncle, in the past has had many beautiful horses. When 
I close my eyes and think of this farm I can see very distinctly two sleek horses. 
Why two horses stand out in my mind, I don't know, but these two horses along 
with many others have pranced around the pasture fence, clammering for at- 
tention. 

Another of the beauty spots on this farm is the rose bed. Here Dr. Becker has 
spent many enjoyable hours. His garden is also his pride and well could it be the 
pride of any man's heart. 

One of the financial investments of Dr. Becker has been a country schoolhouse 
that he has converted into two modern apartments. All of the country schools 
have been consolidated and therefore this "little white schoolhouse" was left vacant. 
The bell that has called many happy children from play now calls my father to 
dinner when it is necessary. 

On Dr. Becker's farm there is a never failing spring that furnishes soft water 
for all purposes. The water is very clear and tastes better than most water in Illi- 
nois. Many of the farms in that part of the country have springs. 

Besides his water, Dr. Becker likes especially the typical southern food, corn 
bread, and my Aunt Lila can make corn bread fit for a queen. Other of his 
favorite foods are fish, oysters, and pumpkin pie, all of which would make anyone's 
mouth water. 

Dr. Becker, like his father, has been interested in carpentry. He, as well as 
all of his nine sisters and brothers has been handy with tools. Dr. Becker has con- 
structed in the basement of his home numerous tables and chairs very useful on 
the porch. He has a large bird cage which he made, that resembles very closely 
one made by his father years before him. 

The south is well known for its hospitality and the Becker farm is certainly no 
exception. When visiting on this farm you are welcomed by a smile but they do 
not expect you to live on smiles alone, you cat and sleep and laugh and sing the 
whole day through. The owner of this home and this personality can show his 
visitors a "grand" time. The southern hospitality, the generosity of this man's soul 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2175 

and just him as a whole, makes Dr. Becker a very interesting and dear friend. 
Only a year ago this man was very kind to his nieces, my sister and I, and gave 
us both diamond rings, a gift I will cherish always. 

Never has a girl had any kinder and nicer an Uncle than I. 



ED D. HANNAN 



W„ 



hen Ed D. Hannan passed away at the age of seventy-five, on 
October 3, 1942, the city of Paducah mourned a leader who, because of his sterling 
virtues was one of the best beloved of Paducah's public men. 

Mr. Hannan came to Paducah from Louisville when he was born on February 
12, 1867. He was the son of Thomas and Johan (Powers) Hannan, both of 
whom were born in Ireland. 

The firm of Ed D. Hannan, Plumbing and Heating Contractors, 319 Kentucky 
Avenue, was established by Mr. Hannan when he first came to Paducah to reside. 
He was its sole owner and proprietor, and it was the oldest business of its kind in 
the city. 

Mr. Hannan interested himself in public life soon after his arrival in Paducah, 
and it was evident that he assumed from the outset that to succeed in the practice 
of city government would require the best that was in him. He was ambitious not 
to govern, but to lead. He had a keen sense of moral values and a dominating 
faith in moral forces. He perceived that virtue and intelligence are characteristics 
of the people of Kentucky, and to that virtue and intelligence he habitually ap- 
pealed. 

Ed D. Hannan was elected a councilman to serve during the administration of 
Mayor James M. Lang in 1898 to 1902, and served as an alderman from 1902 
to 1908 during the administration of Mayor D. A. Yeiser. He was president of 
the board of aldermen during the administration of Mayor James P. Smith, 1908- 
1912. 

When the City Planning and Zoning Commission was created in 1924, Mr. 
Hannan was named its chairman, and he had served in that position since then. 

The board of commissioners in 1932 selected Mr. Hannan to serve as acting 
city manager during any absences of the city manager, and he filled that position 
on several occasions. The appointment was a continuing one, and he held it at 
the time of his death. By his fairness he won the loyal support of the people of 
Paducah. His life is proof that in city government the highest success is possible 
to men of honor, courage and ability. 

In addition to his place of leadership in Paducah civic and business life, Ed D. 
Hannan was one of the outstanding laymen in St. Francis De Sales Catholic 
Church, of which he was a member. When the parish of St. Francis De Sales 
Church was incorporated, he was made one of the two lay trustees of the parish. 
He was a member of the Holy Name Society and of St. Vincent De Paul Society, 
and also was Past Master Fourth Degree in the Knights of Columbus, a state office 
that he held for several years. He was Past Grand Knight of the Paducah Council 
of the Knights of Columbus. Mr. Hannan was an honorary member and held the 
office of Grand Knight of the Paducah Council of the Knights of Columbus several 



2176 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

times. At his death he was one of its trustees and president of the Knights of 
Columbus Building Association. He was also a member of the Elks Club and 
the Greater Paducah Association. The Paducah Sun-Democrat of October 4, 1942, 
in a Page One eulogy of Mr. Hannan, following his death, said: "In his social 
contacts Mr. Hannan was a gentleman of the old school. His generation is fast 
passing, but it leaves with the present a heritage to be emulated." 

On September 25, 1894, Ed D. Hannan was married to Lula Schroeder the 
daughter of Fred Schroeder, who at one time served as magistrate. She was born 
and reared in Paducah, and has one brother, W. H. Schroeder and a sister, Mrs. 
Henry Cornillaud. Mrs. Hannan ably assisted and encouraged her husband in 
his community welfare interests. She has been an active member of the Paducah 
Woman's Club for twenty-five years. 

In addition to his widow, Mr. Hannan is survived by a daughter, Miss Anna 
Mae Hannan; two sons, Emmett D. Hannan and William F. Hannan; several 
grand-children, all of Paducah; two brothers, John T. Hannan and William G. 
Hannan, both of Louisville; three sisters, Misses Mamie A. Hannan, Sallie Hannan 
and Margaret Hannan, all of Louisville. Funeral services were held at St. Francis 
De Sales Church with Rev. Albert Thompson officiating, and interment was in 
Mt. Carmel Cemetery. 

His interest in political leadership, his service to business and the community 
and his sense of religious duty proved Ed D. Hannan to be a wise counselor, a 
courageous comrade, an inspiring personality and always a loyal and considerate 
friend. He had a long and happy life with great opportunities for usefulness. 
Surely when the end came he deserved the commendation, "Well done, thou good 
and faithful servant." 

RODMAN MAFFET 

J. hough Rodman Maffet is still a young man, his name is known 
not only in his native Kentucky but in five neighboring states as well. 

For as head of the Maffet Truck Lines, he has established himself in the hearts 
of farmers, dairy men, industrial and commercial shippers, not to mention countless 
householders, as one who has made a science of transportation. Having dedicated 
himself to the advancement of this science, and made a deep study of its intricacies, 
so that his contribution to the entire field is immeasurable, he has attained a role 
of leadership among truckers everywhere. 

Emphasizing this leadership is the fact that he is a past president of the Kentucky 
Motor Truck Association, in whose councils he continues to rank high. 

Mr. Maffet was born in the very community which he makes the headquarters of 
his great business — Elizabethtown, in Hardin County. His birth occurred November 
25, 1906. His father was B. B. Maffet, born in La Rue County, Kentucky, in 1886, 
and his modier was Emma (Tipping) Maffet, born in Hardin County in 1888. The 
elder Maffet is a farmer. 

Rodman Maffet attended elementary and high school in Elizabethtown. Upon 
leaving school, he engaged in the operation of a cream station, this work being an 
introductory course, so to speak, to the business which he entered in 1929 as his 




RODMAN MAFFF.T 



2178 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

life career. Establishing himself as a trucker in Elizabethtown, he has remained 
there since, ever extending his field of operations. 

The Maffet Truck Lines, with fifteen employees and fourteen trucks, haul 
general freight between Elizabethtown and Louisville and also serve the region 
south of Fort Knox to Munfordville. Among the Lines' contracts is one to transport 
cream from the Sugar Creek Creamery, and they also carry cream from the Southern 
part of the State as far as Russellville, Kentucky. Where household goods are con- 
cerned, Mr. Maffet not only serves the entire State but, by license of the Interstate 
Commerce Commission, includes Kentucky, Tennessee, Indiana, Illinois, Ohio and 
Michigan in his operating area. 

In 1931, Mr. Maffet married Ethel Bacon, who comes from Hart County, 
Kentucky. 

Rodman Maffet is a member of the Elizabethtown Rotary Club, of the Masonic 
Order, the Motor Truck Club of Kentucky and attends the Baptist Church in 
Elizabethtown. 



Mc 



THOMAS C. L. NUGENT 



Lodern construction calling for concrete walls and roads and 
airplane runs has enlarged the scope of the sand and gravel industries until they 
are now recognized as one of the essential industries of the country. The sand 
and gravel business established by Thomas C. L. Nugent, the subject of this 
biography, is now being conducted by the second generation of the family and 
has developed into an enterprise of the first magnitude. The business began at 
6th and River Streets in 1897 and continued there until 1908 when the present 
property was acquired. With Mr. Nugent were associated his brothers, J. R. 
Nugent and W. F. Nugent. The early operations of the company were slow 
and laborious compared to the modern way used by the firm today. Only one 
barge was used and one tow boat. The product was dug from the river and 
hauled from the docks by mule power. The unloading was done by hand labor. 
When the present property was acquired at Clay Street and River Road the time 
for expansion was at hand and the business has progressed steadily since. At this 
time three tow boats and two large dredges are used in bringing the sand from 
the river bottom and over one hundred employees are required to do the company's 
work. As in many other industries of a constructive nature a greater part of the 
Nugent firm's output is now for Government use. To better facilitate this portion 
of their enterprises, amounting to about ninety-five percent, of the whole, they have 
established an unloading plant at West Point, Kentucky to care for the needs of 
the army post at Fort Knox. 

Thomas C. L. Nugent was born in Louisville, Kentucky, January 10, 1880. His 
education was received in the public schools of his native city and he was a 
graduate of Manual High School and was a winner of a scholarship at the 
University of Kentucky. He closed a busy life November 18, 1941, and was 
buried in Cave Hill Cemetery after seeing the business he had established reach 
a peak higher than his most rosy early expectations and knowing it to be in the 
capable hands of the son he had bred and trained. Mr. Nugent was married to 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2179 

Miss Edith Rice who was born in Chicago, Illinois, September 21, 1891. She 
preceded him in death four years, passing away in 1937, and was interred in 
Cave Hill Cemetery. 

The elder son of the family is Thomas C. Nugent, who was born in Chicago, 
Illinois, October 20, 1915. He attended Louisville public schools and graduated 
from Rugby School. He then attended the University of Louisville and Washing- 
ton and Lee University. In 1937 he entered his father's business and is now the 
President and operating head of the firm. He is a member of the Louisville Junior 
Board of Trade and the National Sand and Gravel Association. He is a member 
of the Louisville Boat Club and the Engineers and Architects Club. 

The second son of the family is Richard J. Nugent who was born in Louisville, 
Kentucky, March 20, 1923, and attended the schools of Louisville, graduating from 
the Male High School. He attended the University of Louisville and the Uni- 
versity of Virginia for his higher education, and at the beginning of the present 
global conflict entered the army air corps, and was transferred to the Engineer's 
Corps, with which branch of the service he is now serving overseas. 

The daughter of the family is Miss Edith Rice Nugent who was born July 24, 
1920. She attended the Louisville public schools and graduated from the Louis- 
ville Collegiate School and later graduated from Bradford Junior College, Brad- 
ford, Massachusetts, and was also a student at the University of Louisville. She 
married James S. Monohan Febraury 1, 1944, and resides in Louisville. 

The mother of the late Thomas C. L. Nugent was Mrs. Katherine E. Nugent 
who was born in Louisville, Kentucky, in 1844 and died at the advanced age of 
ninety-three in 1937. She rests in Calvary Cemetery. 

Thomas C. L. Nugent lived a good and active life, busying himself with its 
affairs in a manner that made for success and won for him many friends. He 
placed in the history of Kentucky a business that can well be considered a success 
and a family that would be a source of pride to any father. His memory will 
long remain with those with whom he came in contact in both his business and 
personal activities. A doer and not a dreamer, his community and his country 
is fortunate that he lived and was spared for many constructive years. 



ROBERT DOUGLAS BARTON, M.D. 



R< 



.obert Douglas Barton is himself a native of Kentucky, but both 
his father and his mother were born in Ireland. His father had the opportunity 
of proving his allegiance to his adopted country soon after he came to this country, 
as it was in 1865 that he arrived in America. Robert Barton originally came to 
Frankfort as a surgeon attached to the Kentucky State Highway Department. 
Later he established himself in general medical practice in Frankfort, where he 
has served the community faithfully and well for the last ten years. Robert Barton 
is a capable physician and surgeon, a credit to both the land of his ancestors and 
the land of his birth. 

Robert Barton was born in Woodford County, Kentucky, in 1906. Hugh Barton, 
his father, was born in County Cork in Ireland in 1844; Hugh Barton was only 



2180 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

sixteen years old when he came to America in 1865, the land where he was to 
live for nearly sixty years. He settled on a farm near Lexington, Kentucky, and 
during the Civil War he was in the 9th Kentucky Cavalry. His death occurred 
in 1919. Robert Barton's mother was the former Rose Douglas, who, like his 
father, was also born in Ireland. She was born in 1863, and was brought to 
Kentucky by her parents in 1870, when she was only seven years old. She lived 
to the advanced age of eighty years; it was in the year 1943 that she died. 

The schools of Woodford County, Kentucky, provided the early education of 
Robert Barton. He next attended St. Mary's College at Lebanon, Kentucky,, and 
received his A.B. degree at the University of Kentucky; he graduated in medicine 
from the University of Louisville. For two years he was an interne at St. 
Joseph's Infirmary in Louisville, Kentucky. He came to Frankfort, Kentucky, as 
surgeon with the Kentucky State Highway Department, and maintained this con- 
nection for two years. In 1934 he began the practice of medicine in Frankfort, and 
is engaged in general medical practice in that city at the present time. 

Dr. Robert Douglas Barton married Charlotte Whelan of Bardstown, Kentucky, 
in 1936. Dr. and Mrs. Barton are the parents of five children, four girls and 
one boy. Charlotte Barton was born in Louisville, Kentucky, in 1937; Robert 
Douglas Barton, Jr., was born in 1939, also in Louisville; Rose Mary was born in 
1940; Margaret Simms was born in 1942, and Elizabeth was born in 1944, all in 
Frankfort, Kentucky. 

Dr. Barton is an honored member of his profession, and maintains an active 
interest in organizations formed for the purpose of furthering the interests of 
medical science. He is a member of the Franklin County Medical Society and 
the American Medical Association, and keeps himself well informed on all im- 
provements and advancements in the field of medicine. 



WILLIAM P. CAWOOD, M.D. 



D, 



r. William P. Cawood is associated with Dr. E. Murphy Howard 
in the operation of the Harlan Hospital at Harlan, Kentucky. Dr. Cawood joined 
Dr. Howard in the operation of this hospital in 1916, one year after its erection. 
From a small beginning the hospital, under the direction of Dr. Howard and Dr. 
Cawood, has been three times enlarged, until now it has a capacity of seventy-five 
patients, and operates with a staff of eighteen nurses. Dr. Cawood, a graduate of 
the University of Louisville, had been practicing medicine in Harlan for a number 
of years before becoming associated with Dr. Howard in the hospital. Dr. Cawood 
and Dr. Howard are retained as surgeons by a number of large coal mine operators 
in the Harlan district. 

William Proctor Cawood was born in the town which bears his own family name 
— Cawood, Kentucky. The date of his birth was September 13, 1883. His Father 
was Hiram Cawood, who was born in Cawood, Kentucky in I860, and was a 
farmer until his death in 1934. Sally Brittain (Cawood), the mother o\ William 
Proctor Cawood, was born in Harlan, Kentucky, in 1864; at the age oi eighty. 




WILLIAM P. CAWOOP, M.D. 



2182 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

she is now living in Cawood, Kentucky, where she has spent her life since her 
marriage. 

After attending the Harlan Academy, William Cawood attended Berea College 
at Berea, Kentucky, and for his medical training was a student in the Medical 
College of the University of Louisville, receiving his degree of M.D. in 1907. 
He began practice in Harlan, Kentucky, where he had received his early education, 
and in 1916 joined Dr. E. Murphy Howard in the operation of the Harlan Hos- 
pital, which Dr. Howard had opened to the public the preceding year. The Harlan 
Hospital has served the community in such an eminently satisfactory manner that 
at three different times since it was built its capacity has had to been increased 
to accommodate the large number of citizens of Harlan and neighboring districts 
who were in need of the services offered by the hospital. The first addition was 
made just five years after the original hospital building was completed, when a 
three-story wing was built; four years later two more stories had to be built, and 
later a large addition was built at the back of the hospital. Now there are 
seventy-five beds in the hospital, which constantly operates at capacity. Dr. Howard 
and Dr. Cawood are doing splendid work, which is greatly appreciated by the 
community. Dr. Cawood has now been practicing in Harlan for more than 
thirty-six years, and is considered one of the finest doctors and surgeons in 
Kentucky. 

In 1909, Dr. William P. Cawood married Daisy Ball, who was a native of 
Harlan, Kentucky. Dr. and Mrs. Cawood are members of the Presbyterian Church. 

Dr. Cawood is an enthusiastic member of the Democratic Party, and for twenty 
years has been Democratic Chairman in Harlan County. In 1944 Dr. Cawood 
was a delegate to the National Democratic Convention in Chicago which nomi- 
nated Franklin Delano Roosevelt for his fourth term as President of the United 
States. 



SAMUEL ANTHONY MASON 



B< 



>orn in Virginia, of good old Virginia stock, Samuel Anthony 
Mason has been a resident of Franklin County, Kentucky, for almost sixty years, 
as he was only a youngster nine years old when his parents crossed over to Ken- 
tucky. His wife was born and reared in Franklin County, and it is there that 
they have their farm. It is a big farm, with diversified crops, the main crop being 
tobacco, and in addition a lot of feed stuff goes out of this farm to market in 
the form of cattle and hogs. This is good business and good patriotism in these 
days of tremendous food requirements, and the extreme shortage of help to do 
the necessary work on the farm. Mr. and Mrs. Mason have a son and a daughter 
born in Franklin County. They have also two grandchildren who live in Louis- 
ville, which is not too far from their grandparents' farm. The son bears the name 
of his county as his christian name, Franklin Chinn Mason, and as he a captain 
in the United States Army he will probably roam far afield from his home 
county, but will be glad to see the peaceful fields of Kentucky when the world 
conflict is all over. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2183 

Samuel Anthony Mason was born in Orange County, Virginia, on September 
17, 1877. He was one of a family of nine children. His father was Horatio 
Pleasant Mason, and he was born in Louisa County, Virginia, in 1840. He died 
in 1906. Samuel Mason's mother was Samuel Boldring (Anthony) Mason; she 
was born in Rock Ridge County, Virginia in 1845. She outlived her husband by 
a considerable span of years, passing away in 1922. The Mason family moved 
out of Virginia, coming to Kentucky in 1886 when Samuel Mason was nine 
years old. His father was a farmer and contractor and decided to establish the 
family home in Franklin County, Kentucky. 

Schools were few and far between and transportation was not easy in these 
bygone days, so Samuel Mason received his education from private teachers. When 
he was eighteen years old he gave all of his time to the work on the farm and 
toiled from sun-up till sun-down, and sometimes beyond that time. It was a hard 
life, but Samuel Mason liked the farm, with its feeling of independent life and 
opportunity for those who worked and could profit by their own and others 
experience. Now he has a fine farm of four hundred acres with up-to-date 
machinery and employing the most modern and efficient methods of production and 
conservation. The staple crop is tobacco, but the farm is large enough to be well 
diversified and can also support the cattle and hogs that are raised extensively. 

Samuel Anthony Mason was married in 1903 to Prudence Blackburn Chinn, 
who was born in Franklin County, Kentucky. They have two children, a daughter 
and a son, and they are also the proud grandparents of two small children. The 
daughter, Prudence Mason, was born in Franklin County in 1904. She is married 
to James S. Darnell, who is also a native of Franklin County. He is in the real 
estate business in Louisville, Kentucky, which is where they make their home. 
They have two children: Amand Winston Darnell was born on July 1, 1939 in 
Louisville, Kentucky, and Prudence Mason Darnell was also born in Louisville, 
Kentucky in 1940. Her birthday comes on September 17. 

The son of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Mason — Franklin Chinn Mason — was born 
in Franklin County, Kentucky, on November 22, 1909. He attended public 
school in Frankfort, Kentucky, then went to Mrs. Kavanaugh's private school in 
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, followed by a period at the Hampton Sydney College 
in Virginia. At present, Franklin C. Mason is serving in the United States 
Engineering Corps, in which he holds the rank of captain. He is married to the 
former Jane Fullilove of Shreveport, Louisiana. 



REVEREND PETER BRAUN 



R, 



.everend Peter Braun is the pastor of St. Joseph's Church in 
Owensboro, a place of worship originally built by the German Catholics in Daviess 
County. St. Joseph's was founded in 1869 by those Germans who had gathered 
in Daviess County from Southern Indiana, and for several years they worshipped 
in a store room at Cedar and Main Streets in Owensboro, attending services also 
at St. Stephens Church. They looked forward to a church of their own and Father 



2184 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Schacht, the pastor at St. Stephens, brought to them Reverend Paul Volk, a priest 
who could preach to them in the German language, in 1871, and the erection of 
a building was promoted. A frame building was first erected at 9th and Sweeney 
Streets and it was used by the congregation until it was destroyed by fire. In 
1880 the present edifice was erected and the congregation has shown a gradual 
growth for years. In 1924 there were fifteen baptisms while in 1942 fifty-three 
were baptized. The parish began with thirty families while today it embraces 
three hundred and twenty-two with three hundred and eighty pupils in the 
Parochial School. The school was continued throughout the summer last year 
(1942) for the seniors in order that training for the Army Reserve might be given 
them. 

Reverend Peter Braun, the present pastor, was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsyl- 
vania. He attended the parochial school in Wilkes-Barre and Josephimmum 
College. He was ordained a priest in 1929 at Columbus, Ohio. His first assign- 
ment was to St. Martins in Louisville, Kentucky, where he was stationed from 
1929 to 1932 and then transferred to St. Therese Parish in the same city, remaining 
here from 1932 to 1935, when he went to St. Joseph's at Central City, Kentucky, 
to remain to work until 1939. He went to Owensboro to become pastor of St. 
Joseph's in July, 1939 and it has proven to be a pleasant spiritual and personal 
connection for both the pastor and the Hock. 



BENJAMIN THOMAS WRIGHT 



B, 



Benjamin Thomas Wright was born on a farm eighty-six years 
ago, and all of his long life has been spent in farming operations. There have 
been a great many changes in both methods of farming and farm living during 
those years. He has seen the change to mechanized equipment, electrification, 
and scientific methods of crop rotation and soil conservation. His father before 
him was an excellent farmer, and Benjamin Wright has used the accumulated 
wisdom of years of working on a farm and the scientific advances which have 
been made. He is now operating more than thirteen hundred acres of land, 
which is in a high state of productivity. In addition, he holds the responsible 
position of President of the Citizens Bank of Sharpsburg, Kentucky. 

It was on a farm in Bath County, Kentucky, that Benjamin Thomas Wright 
was born on May 27, 1858. His father, Ambrose L. Wright, the eldest of a 
family of three boys, was born on February 5, 1816, also in Bath County. Am- 
brose Wright was a farmer, and when he married Catherine Moore, also a native 
of Bath County, where she was born on March 24, 1821, her father gave the 
young couple fifty acres of land. Ambrose Wright borrowed $500 and bought 
the adjoining fifty acres; interest had to be paid at 12'/2 percent, and it took ten 
years to pay back the loan, but he finally had his farm clear and began adding 
to it. Ambrose Wright was a hard worker and an astute business man; he knew 
how ta make money and how to keep it, and at the time of his death in L891 
he was a very well-to-do man, the owner of a thousand acres of land, and a director 




BENJAMIN THOMAS WRIGHT 



2186 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

of the Farmers Bank of Owingsville, Kentucky. Catherine (Moore) Wright 
died in 1894, three years after the death of her husband. 

Benjamin Thomas Wright attended the public grade schools of Owingsville, 
Kentucky, and was graduated from the Owingsville High School. He began 
working on a farm near Sharpsburg, Kentucky immediately after completing his 
schooling, and in the years since that time has continued to buy more land and 
expand his operations until he now owns thirteen hundred acres. 

The marriage of Benjamin Thomas Wright to Leonore Peck was solemnized 
in 1892. Leonore (Peck) Wright was born in Sharpsburg, Kentucky, on February 
15, 1863, the daughter of Edwin Peck, also a native of Sharpsburg. Mr. and 
Mrs. Wright became the parents of three children. Their first son, William 
Wright, died in infancy. He was born on December 28, 1892, and died on 
April 11, 1893. Their oldest daughter, Mary, was born in Sharpsburg, Kentucky 
en July 29, 1894, and was married to Thomas McKee, who was born in Cyn- 
thiana, Kentucky, on September 25, 1886. Mary (Wright) McKee and her 
husband died three months apart; her death occurred on March 9, 1919, and he 
died exactly three months later, on June 9, 1919. The youngest son of Benjamin 
Thomas and Leonore (Peck) Wright was named Albert Edwin. He was born 
at Sharpsburg, Kentucky, on December 10, 1898, and married Frances Virginia 
White, who was born at Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, on May 29, 1900. Their family 
consists of two children, Albert E. Wright, Jr., who was born at Sharpsburg 
on September 21, 1921, and Elizabeth Lee Wright, who was born on June 11, 
1925, also at Sharpsburg. Mrs. Leonore Peck Wright passed away on April 15, 
1936, and was interred in Crown Hill Cemetery, Sharpsburg, Kentucky. 

The political affiliation of Mr. Wright is with the Democratic Party. He is 
also a member and an elder of the First Presbyterian Church of Mt. Sterling, 
Kentucky. 

HARRELL HERNDON NEEL 

J. he life of Harrell Herndon Neel, of Louisville, is an Ameri- 
can "success story" of the first degree. His climb from an humble position to one 
cf affluence, influence and authority is an inspiration to young men everywhere. 
Starting as a milk wagon driver for the D. H. Ewing Son's Dairy Company and 
rising to the place of President of the Ewing-VonAllmen Dairy Company, Mr. 
Neel is a living example of the time-worn plot used so successfully by Horatio 
Alger, Jr., and read, loved and emulated by generation after generation of 
American boys. 

Mr. Neel was born in Louisville, Kentucky, March 24, 1894, the son of Clarence 
H. and Florence (Herndon) Neel. The elder Neel was a native of Louisville, 
while the mother, Florence Herndon, was born in Gosport, Indiana. He had 
been associated with the D. H. Ewing Son's Dairy for two years when his son 
was born and is still (1943) a director of the present firm. 

Harrell H. Neel obtained his education in the Louisville grade schools and the 
Louisville Male High School, where he excelled in football and track. Following 
his secondary school training, he, at the age of seventeen, started to work as a 
milk wagon driver for the firm with which his father was associated. Through 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2187 

constant effort and diligent application he won the confidence and approbation 
of his employers to such an extent that in 1919, when the firm was incorporated, 
he was made secretary and treasurer. 

His life has been bound up in his business. The present concern was started 
in 1930 as an amalgamation of D. H. Ewing and Sons, the Gray-VonAllmen 
Sanitary Milk Company, the National Ice Cream Company, the Froznpure Ice 
Cream Company and Lee Lewis, Incorporated. It is now the largest dairy opera- 
tion in the South; looms large even in the nation. Mr. Neel was made secretary 
and treasurer of this firm and held this position until 1936 when he became presi- 
dent. The parent company, D. H. Ewing and Sons, held the distinction of being 
the first dairy to sell bottled milk, the first to adopt the process of pasteurization 
and the first to receive a shipment of milk by railroad in the city of Louisville. 

Although Harrell H. Neel has given the best of his time and energy to the 
Ewing-VonAllmen Dairy Company, he has also been concerned in many other 
business enterprises. He is a director in many prominent organizations: The 
Dairy Products Association of Kentucky; the Louisville Trust Company; the 
Central Dairy Council; Milk for Health; the International Association of Ice 
Cream Manufacturers, and the Louisville Board of Trade. In addition to these, 
Mr. Neel is a member of the Louisville Chapter of the National Association of 
Cost Accountants, of the Rotary Club, the Pendennis Club, Audubon Country 
Club, Louisville Country Club, Falls City Lodge of Masons, Knights Templar 
and Shrine, and is treasurer of the Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels. He 
belongs to the Highland Baptist Church. Politically he subscribes to the principles 
of the Democratic Party. One of his principal forms of recreation is playing golf. 

On October 12, 1915, he was married to Miss Ruth Mitchell of Louisville. 
Mr. and Mrs. Neel are the parents of one daughter, Kathryn, now Mrs. William 
Clymer, who is a resident of Memphis, Tennessee. 

Mr. Neel's devotion and application to his work have earned the esteem of the 
leading business men of Louisville. He is one of the most influential of that group 
of men who secured a pure milk supply for Louisville and who now protect that 
supply by the most modern dairying methods. 

Mr. and Mrs. Neel make their home at 2302 Broadmeade Road, Louisville, 
Kentucky. 

ALEXANDER HEADY JENKINS 

JLn Hardin County, Alexander Heady Jenkins continues a fine old 
American tradition — for, like many of the nation's forefathers, he combines in his 
person the roles of farmer and postmaster. 

From his youth, he has been a hog and cattle breeder, corn and wheat grower 
and, from the same early age, he has been with the Elizabethtown Post Office which 
he now heads. 

In another respect, too, he carries on in an old American tradition — that of 
having "started at the bottom and risen to the top." For it was not so long ago, 
he was a clerk in the Elizabethtown Post Office, in which he rose rapidly through 
various other subordinate stages to that of Postmaster. He is one of Elizabeth- 



2188 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

town's and Hardin County's most honored men — a leader in innumerable activities, 
not the least of which being Masonic lodge circles. 

Alexander Heady Jenkins was born in Hardin County, December 21, 1895. His 
father was Benjamin Franklin Jenkins, a farmer, who was born in the same county 
in 1855 and died in 1921. His mother was Georgia Ella (Stuart) Jenkins, also 
a native of Hardin County, born in 1861, who died in 1937. Both are buried in 
the Elizabethtown Cemetery. 

Mr. Jenkins attended rural school in Hardin County and in 1915 was graduated 
from the Elizabethtown High School. Soon afterward, he obtained the clerkship 
in the Elizabethtown Post Office. Moving up, he was later assistant postmaster. 
In 1942, he was appointed Postmaster. 

While still assistant postmaster, in 1921, he bought the farm which he so 
successfully operates today. 

In 1925, he and Mary Lee Igleheart were married. Mrs. Jenkins, a native of 
Union County, Kentucky, is the daughter of Colonel and Mrs. H. L. Igleheart. 
The Postmaster and she have two children, Lucie Threlkeld Jenkins, born Feb- 
ruary 10, 1927, and Willard Spurgeon Igleheart Jenkins, born June 19, 1930, both 
in Elizabethtown. 

As a Mason, Mr. Jenkins belongs to Morrison Lodge No. 76, F. & A. M., 
the Eastern Star Chapter, No. 34, R.A.M.; the Elizabethtown Commandery, No. 
37, Knights Templar, and the Kosair Shrine. He is a member also of the Eliza- 
bethtown Rotary Club and is a Democrat in politics. The Jenkins family attends 
the Baptist Church of which Mr. Jenkins serves as deacon. 



w, 



WILLIAM EDWIN LUXON 



illiam Edwin Luxon is the President of The Home Loose Leaf 
Tobacco Warehouse of Richmond, Kentucky, a company that markets over 
seven million pounds of tobacco in a year. He established the company himself, 
opening his first warehouse in 1910. Prior to that time William Luxon bought 
tobacco direct from the farmers and shipped to Louisville. From that small be- 
ginning the business has grown to its present dimensions, operating five ware- 
houses. As a farmer, William Luxon showed similar capacity to expand. He 
started farm operation on a portion of his father's property; today he owns 
2,346 acres, which rates him one of the largest land owners in Madison County. 
William Edwin Luxon was born at Richmond, Madison County, Kentucky, 
on March 1, 1875. His father, William E. Luxon, was born on the Island of 
Guernsey and came to America at the age of two with his parents. His father 
(William Edwin's grandfather) was also named William, and as a small boy 
saw Napoleon as he was being transferred to the island of St. Helena. William 
lived to be ninety-eight years of age, and often amused his grandson, William 
Edwin, by telling him stories of the Napoleonic wars and the battle of Waterloo. 
The grandfather was a cabinet maker, and worked at his trade in Lexington, 
Kentucky, and was later engaged in the coal and feed business in that city. The 
father of William Edwin Luxon came to Richmond and operated a hotel and a 




WILLIAM EDWIN LUXON 



2190 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

confectionery business. The mother of William Edwin Luxon was Sarah (Bal- 
lard) Luxon, a daughter of P. P. Ballard and Mary Frances Ballard of Richmond, 
Kentucky. P. P. Ballard was a provost marshal during the Civil War. Later 
he was engaged in the real estate business, and held several governmental offices. 
He once represented his district in the State Legislature at Frankfort. 

William Edwin Luxon was reared in Richmond, where he attended the public 
schools and Central State Teachers College. He started farming on property 
owned by his father, and continued farming for twenty-five years, during which 
time he acquired large agricultural interests. In 1906 he started buying tobacco 
in the country, visiting the farmers at home and buying their crops, which he 
shipped to the Louisville Hogshead market. In 1910 he came into the Loose 
Leaf Warehouse business in Richmond, and in 1911 he built the first loose leaf 
warehouse and market in Cynthiana. He disposed of the Cynthiana business 
after a few years, but has continued since in the business at Richmond. His 
original warehouse there has now grown to five, which are operated under the 
name of the Home Loose Leaf Tobacco Warehouse Company. Altogether they 
total 340,000 square feet of floor space, from which they market seven and one- 
quarter million pounds of tobacco yearly. Mr. Luxon is one of the larger land 
owners of Madison County, owning 2,346 acres in Madison and Garrard Coun- 
ties. He formerly raised trotting horses on an extensive scale, but the farms are 
now devoted to feeding cattle, hogs and raising tobacco. He also> owns the 
Robertson & Turley Company in Richmond, which deals in coal and feed. 

In 1892 William Edwin Luxon was married to Henrietta Traynor of Richmond. 
They were the parents of one daughter, Henrietta, who is now Mrs. C. L. Sim- 
mons of Richmond. She is the mother of four children: Anneta, Cecile, Cecil 
and Billy Luxon. Mr. Simmons is associated with the Home Loose Leaf Tobacco 
Warehouse Company. 

Mrs. Henrietta Luxon died in 1908, and in 1911 Mr. Luxon married Nettie 
Gourley of Lexington and Beattyville, Kentucky. She was the daughter of 
Judge G. W. Gourley of Beattyville. The children of this marriage are: Wil- 
liam Gourley Luxon, now associated with his father's business, who married Ruth 
Hoffman of Tennessee; Robert Edmund Luxon, also associated with his father's 
business, who married Josephine Cosby of Richmond and is the father of two 
children, Robert and Sarah Luxon; and Chester Gourley Luxon, also associated 
in business with his father, who' married Lillian Cox and is the father of one 
daughter, Ann Cox Luxon. Mrs. Nettie Luxon died in November, 1943. 

The political affiliation of Mr. Luxon is with the Democratic party. He is a 
member of the First Christian Church. 



w, 



WILLIAM FLETCHER McMURRY 

illiam Fletcher McMurry was born in Buchanan County, Mis- 
souri on Christmas Day of 1900. 

When he was six years old, the family moved to Louisville, Kentucky, where he 
attended the public grade schools, Manual High School and University of 
Louisville. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 



2191 



On the outbreak of World War I, he entered the United States Army, attend- 
ing the Officers' Training School at Fort Sheridan, Illinois where he was com- 
missioned a second lieutenant in infantry. He was then sent to Vermillion, South 
Dakota, and remained on active duty there until the end of the war. On his 
return to civilian life, he became a student at Washington University, St. Louis, 
Missouri (Law School) and afterwards attended the law school of the University 
cf Louisville and the Jefferson School of Law in Louisville. William F. McMurray 
was admitted to the Kentucky Bar in 1922. 

His first legal practice was in Louisville with the firm of Gordon and Laurent, 
which firm later became Bruce, Bullitt and Gordon. He was also employed by 
the Louisville Board of Trade as its legislative counsel in 1922. In 1924 he was 
a candidate for presidential elector from Jefferson County. 

In January, 1926, Mr. McMurry came to Paducah as a member of the firm 
of Bradshaw, McDonald and McMurry. This firm was dissolved in 1930 by 
the death pf Mr. Bradshaw and the retirement of Mr. McDonald, and W. F. 
McMurry practiced alone until 1936, when the firm of McMurry and Reed was 
formed. In 1940, Mr. Reed withdrew from the firm and was replaced in the 
firm by Earl T. Shoup— the firm now being McMurry and Shoup. Mr. McMurry 
has served as a member of the special court of appeals in income tax cases and 
has often acted as special judge of the Circuit Court. He was a member of the 
Board of Education of Paducah from 1930 to 1934 and was president of it during 
the last two years, 1932 to 1934. He was president of the McCracken County 
Bar Association in 1936-7, and was president of the West Kentucky Bar Associa- 
tion, 1935-1937. He is also a member of the Kentucky State and American Bar 
Associations. 

William F. McMurry has extensive farm interests, and in addition to raising 
purebred Jersey cattle, conducts a modern dairy. He is a director of Paducah 
Graded Milk Producers Association. As Chairman of the Paducah Flood Control 
Committee, he was active in securing and building the Paducah Flood Wall. Mr. 
McMurry is president and director of the First Federal Savings and Loan Asso- 
ciation of Paducah. 

Mr. McMurry's membership in the American Legion dates from its founding, 
and he has always been active in Legion affairs having served as Adjutant of Chief 
Paduke Post No. 31 in 1928, and at present he is Judge Advocate of the Post. 
He is also a member of 40 et 8. His fraternity is Kappa Alpha, and he is also a 
member of the B.P.O.E. During the years 1939-41 he was president of the 
Paducah Country Club. W. F. McMurry is a member of F.&A.M., Chapter 
and Commandery, and is Past Eminent Commander of the Paducah Commandery. 

William Fletcher McMurry was married in 1924 to Lucile Pelham of Atlanta, 
Georgia, daughter of Joseph and Julia (Robinson) Pelham. They have two boys- 
William F., Jr., a graduate of Western Military Academy at Alton, Illinois; and 
Wesley Pelham, a student at Western Military Academy. Mrs. McMurry has 
been active in war work and various war agencies. 

For four generations, William McMurry has been an honored name in this 



2192 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

section of the country. In 1835, William McMurry moved to Missouri from 
Kentucky. His son, William Wesley McMurry, was a pioneer Methodist preacher, 
father of another preacher who was destined to become Bishop William Fletcher 
McMurry. 

William Fletcher McMurry, Sr., was born and raised in Missouri and was 
licensed to preach by the Fayette Quarterly Conference on April 13, 1885. In 
1906 he was elected Secretary of the Board of Church Extension of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South. This election necessitated his removal to Louisville, 
Kentucky. He served in this capacity until 1918. At the General Conference 
held in Atlanta, Georgia, in the spring of 1918 he was elected to the office of 
Bishop. Bishop McMurray traveled widely in the interests of his church, and 
during his ministry he dedicated more than 500 churches. He possessed unusual 
business ability and was also an outstanding pulpit preacher. Bishop McMurry 
died on January 17, 1934, and is buried in the family burial plot at Shelbina, 
Missouri. 

William F. McMurry's mother, Frances Byrd (Davis) McMurry, comes from 
a distinguished family, being the daughter of Rev. J. C. C. Davis and Mary 
(Clay) Davis of St. Joseph, Missouri. 

True to tradition, William Fletcher McMurry is himself a pillar of strength to 
the Methodist Church. He is a member of the Board of Trustees of Broadway 
Methodist Church and a member of the General Commission on World Service 
and Finance of the Methodist Church. He was a member of the uniting conference 
of the Methodist Episcopal, Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and the Methodist 
Protestant churches which met in 1939 to unite and form the Methodist Church. 
He is trustee of the district property of the Methodist Church in this area and 
is Chairman of the Memphis Conference Commission on World Service and 
Finance. Mr. McMurry is the delegate from his church to the Federal Council 
of Churches of Christ in America. He is now Chairman of the Paducah Council 
of Churches. 

In business, civic and religious affairs, W. F. McMurry ably carries on the 
family record of achievement and service. 



RALPH E. CARDWELL, A.B., B.S., M.D. 

J.T is not a matter of chance that die Cardwell Clinic at Provi- 
dence, in Webster County, Kentucky, has become widely known as doing an out- 
standing job in ministering to the needs of the residents of that county. The owner 
and operator of the clinic, Dr. Ralph E. Cardwell, secured for himself, through 
his own efforts, one of the finest medical educations it is possible to obtain. He 
attended a number of different colleges and universities to obtain a broad founda- 
tion of professional knowledge, and had practiced his profession for several years 
before he came to Providence, and was a well-known and highly honored physician 
before he established the Cardwell Clinic. He provided this clinic with complete 
modern equipment and instruments and an adequate nursing staff; the Cardwell 




<JL^juejL 



2194 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

Clinic is filling, to the highest degree of satisfaction, a very real need in the 
community. 

Ralph E. Cardwell was born on March 4, 1895 on a farm in Hopkins County, 
Kentucky, the son of William H. and Mattie Lee (Swope) Cardwell, both natives 
of Hopkins County. William H. Cardwell died in 1939, and Mrs. Mattie Lee 
Cardwell is still living on the home farm. The Cardwell family has lived in 
Western Kentucky for several generations; many members of the family have tried 
to recover at least part of an estate of fifty million dollars which was left behind 
in England by the first Cardwell to come to this country, but so far all of their 
efforts have been without avail. There is always the hope that some day some of 
that money will find its way into the hands of the American Cardwells, but Ralph 
E. Cardwell did not wait around, wasting his time in hoping for wealth to fall 
into his hands; he got out and "hustled" at an early age to provide himself with 
an education and to learn a profession which would enable him to be of service to 
his fellow men and secure a comfortable living for himself. 

After attending the rural schools of Hopkins County and the Madisonville High 
School, Ralph Cardwell went to Oakley City College at Oakley, Indiana. He 
served in the United States Army during World War I, and was discharged with 
the rank of sergeant. At the time the Armistice was signed, he had passed his 
examinations for entrance to Officers Training School. The next eight years were 
spent teaching school in Hopkins and Webster Counties, during which time he saved 
all the money he could to further his education. The education he had in mind was 
a long, expensive one; a great deal of time, hard work and expense goes into the 
making of a competent doctor. At Valparaiso University, Valparaiso, Indiana, 
Ralph Cardwell worked his way by waiting on tables; he was graduated from this 
university in 1926 with an A.B. degree. Two years at the University of South 
Dakota followed, during which he completed his pre-medical work and received 
his B.S. degree. His medical education was secured at the University of Chicago 
and at Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. He received his medical degree 
in 1931, having completed the required interne work during his senior year. 

Dr. Cardwell began the practice of his profession in Omaha, where he remained 
for one year. In 1932 he came back to his home state of Kentucky, settling first 
at Nebo and then coming to Providence, where he has remained since that time. 
He engaged in general practice of medicine, with particular attention given to 
pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology, branches of medicine to which he had given 
special study. Dr. Cardwell's patients received the very best of care; he worked 
hard and for long hours; his fame spread and his practice grew. In 1942 he 
established the Cardwell Clinic in Providence, which is the only clinic in Webster 
County. He now has facilities for four patients, and will soon add two more 
beds. The clinic is complete with all modern equipment, the best of instruments 
and an efficient nursing staff. A great deal of Dr. Cardwell's work is in maternity 
cases, ministering to both mother and child. 

It was in 1926, the year in which Ralph Cardwell was graduated from Valparaiso 
University, that he married Vaiden Moore Becker, a native of Webster County, 
Kentucky. Ralph Cardwell spent five more years at the University of South 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2195 

Dakota, the University of Chicago and at Creighton University before he became 
Dr. Ralph E. Cardwell, M.D., and during those five years Vaiden (Becker) 
Cardwell taught school so that her young husband could continue his studies. After 
he began his practice, she continued to help him in his professional work, and now 
that he is well established she is still of great assistance to Dr. Cardwell through 
her thorough understanding of his problems and the sound advice she is able 
to give. 

Dr. Cardwell is keenly alive to the responsibilities of his profession and the 
need of a professional organization where medical men can discuss matters per- 
taining to the field of medicine. He has striven to keep the Webster County 
Medical Society alive, but so many of its members are now in the armed forces 
that this society is not now functioning. Dr. Cardwell belongs to the Kentucky 
Medical Society and the American Medical Association. 

The duties of a doctor are particularly arduous in wartime, but Dr. Cardwell 
still finds time to devote to his seven-hundred-acre farm in Webster County and 
to the coal mine which he also owns. He is now (1943) president of the Kiwanis 
Club of Providence and a member of the Masonic Order and of the Democratic 
Party. He is an active member of the American Legion; Mrs. Cardwell belongs 
to the American Legion Auxiliary and to the Eastern Star, and is active in various 
women's organizations. Dr. Cardwell worships at the Christian Church and 
Mrs. Cardwell is a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. 



LOUIS ERNST 

-Lossessed of an indomitable determination to make a success of 
life, Louis Ernst has steadily advanced from a modest beginning in business, until 
he is now president of the Louisville Fire Brick Works, at 4554 Louisville Avenue, 
Louisville, Kentucky. His thoroughness and steadfastness loom large in explain- 
ing his success. 

Mr. Ernst was born June 15, 1874, in Jefferson County, Kentucky. His father, 
Robert Ernst, born in Germany, came to the United States at the age of eighteen. 
Visiting it and becoming attracted by the fertility of its soil, the elder Ernst de- 
cided to make Kentucky his home, which he did forthwith, becoming engaged in 
farming. Soon afterward he married Miss Mary Klein, a native of Jefferson 
County. Robert Ernst died when his son Louis was ten years of age. 

The younger Ernst, the subject of this sketch, after attending the public schools 
of Jefferson County, entered the employ, at the age of sixteen, of the Louisville 
Fire Brick Works. After having served an apprenticeship in his first job — that 
of carrying newly moulded bricks, he moved up to become a moulder, after which 
he was transferred to the loading and shipping department. He worked in every 
phase of the business: fired and burned the kilns and fired the boilers, became 
yard foreman and then superintendent. Mr. Ernst was elected Vice-President of 
the company in 1920 and in 1922, following the death of Mr. K. B. Grahn, he 
succeeded to the presidency of the company. 

The Louisville Fire Brick Works was founded by Mr. Grahn in 1889. This 



2196 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

unusual man for a long time was the sole owner; it was, however, in time incor- 
porated. Its products are fire brick, fire clay, insulating brick and other allied 
products, all of which are nationally distributed and are in great demand by in- 
dustrial users. It can well be said that the preservation and comfort of human 
life is being served by the products of the great plant of the Louisville Fire Brick 
Works. The labor and research connected with it will add to the conservation 
of the health and property of the present and succeeding generations. A second 
plant was established in 1913. The Louisville Fire Brick Works own their own 
mines in Carter County, Kentucky, from which both plants are supplied with 
fire clay. At the present time there are approximately 325 employees of the 
corporation. 

Among the many affiliations of Mr. Ernst are: The American Refractories In- 
stitute; the Masonic Order; member of the Baptist Church; and a Republican in 
politics. In 1896 he married Miss Mary L. Hopkins of Boyle County, Kentucky. 
Their home is at 4427 Southern Parkway, Louisville. To this union were born 
six children: Robert J., who is with the Louisville and Nashville Railway Company 
and who is the father of two children, Russel W., at present time in the army, and 
Mary Agnes; E. W., Vice-President of the Louisville Fire Brick Works, who, 
with his wife Esther (Jordan) Ernst, proudly boasts of three fine children, Nellie, 
Betty Jo and Edgar; Louis Hawes, deceased; Karl P., of Louisville; Charles B., 
a member of the sales department of the Louisville Fire Brick Works, who married 
Miss Mary Vogtchild, they having one daughter, Patricia Ann; Mary Kathryn, 
whose husband, Albert F. Newton, is now (1943) serving in the army at Fort 
Thomas, Kentucky. 

His native state can well be proud of Louis Ernst. He is the type of citizen 
who is the backbone of the nation — thoroughly diligent and tenacious toward duty, 
he has achieved a worth while place in his community. 



C 



CHARLES W. HAY, JR. 



iharles W. Hay, Jr., is one of the younger business men of 
Frankfort who is making a name for himself in the occupations of realtor and 
farmer. On the distaff side he descends from one of Kentucky's oldest and most 
prominent families, the Taylor family, whose members have identified themselves 
in the distillery business, in the raising of fine stock, and in public affairs. 

Charles W. Hay, Sr., father of Charles W. Hay, Jr., was born at Charlestown, 
Indiana, in 1880, the son of Charles Sherrod Hay who once served as Sheriff of 
Clark County, Indiana. As a young man he came to Frankfort and was employed 
by the Frankfort & Cincinnati Railway Company. He later entered the insurance 
business and finally became connected with the operation of race tracks in which 
line he won a signal success. He became general manager of the Washington 
Park track at Chicago, was presiding Stewart of Alamo Downs at San Antonio, 
presiding steward at Fairgrounds Park in New Orleans, and was manager of 
Hawthorne Park at Chicago at the time of his death. He also engaged in farm- 




CHARLES W. HAY, JR. 



2198 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

ing and raising thoroughbreds, owning Paicenes, Judge Hay and Sir Peter, three 
well known running horses. 

Charles W. Hay, Sr., married Mary Belle Taylor on September 2nd, 1909. 
Mrs. Hay was born September 20, 1883 in Frankfort and was the daughter of 
Jacob Swigert Taylor, who in turn was the son of Colonel Edmund Haynes 
Taylor, Jr. Colonel E. H. Taylor, Jr., was the seventh generation of this branch 
of the Taylor family in America. James Taylor, the founder of the family in 
this country, left his home in Carlisle, England, in 1658 and settled in Virginia, 
becoming the owner of one thousand acres of land. His son, James Taylor (II) , 
was a colonel of a regiment of Colonial Militia and in 1702 was elected a member 
of the Virginia House of Burgesses, retaining the office until 1714. His son, 
George Taylor, was a member of the same legislative body, serving from 1748 
until 1758, and also held the rank of colonel in the Colonial Militia of Virginia. 
He was the father of ten sons, all of whom were gallant officers in the Revolu- 
tionary War during the period from 1776 until 1783 — a record unsurpassed by 
any family in the history of the nation. Richard, one of these distinguished 
officers, was commodore of the Virginia Continental Navy and was twice wounded. 
He was the father of Richard Taylor, Jr., who was government surveyor of 
Jackson's Purchase in Kentucky. Among the illustrious descendants of James 
Taylor (I) were Presidents James Madison and Zachary Taylor, also John Taylor 
of South Carolina, Edmund Pendleton, the eminent jurist, and other men who 
achieved distinction in war, politics and business. General James Taylor, a first 
cousin of President Zachary Taylor, was a native of Caroline County, Virginia, 
and became the owner of large landed estates in Kentucky, Ohio, Indiana and 
Illinois. Much of this property was granted him by the government in return 
for services rendered in the War of 1812 and the city of Newport was built on a 
portion of his land. He was intensely patriotic and devoted his private fortune 
to the purchase of supplies for the armies of his country when there were no 
government funds to reimburse him. He was the first clerk of Campbell County 
and served in both the upper and lower houses of the Kentucky Assembly. He 
was born in 1769 and his demise occurred at Newport in 1848. 

Richard Taylor, Jr., was the father of John Eastin Taylor, who was united in 
marriage to Miss Rebecca Edrington, and they became the parents of Edmund 
Haynes Taylor, Jr. Colonel E. H. Taylor lived a long and useful life in Franklin 
County. He became one of Kentucky's outstanding distillers, and his name still 
lives as "Old Taylor" recognized as one of the finest Kentucky bourbons. He 
became internationally known as a breeder and raiser of fine Hereford cattle on 
his home place, "Thistleton," near Frankfort. 

Charles W. Hay, Jr., was born at Frankfort, Kentucky, October 22, 1914. He 
attended St. John's Military Academy at Delaficld, Wisconsin and for three 
years was a student at Washington and Lee University. While a student at the 
University he was elected president of the Sophomore Class and became a member 
of Phi Delta Theta fraternity. 

After leaving school Mr. Hay began his business career in farming and as 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2199 

an employee of the Liggett & Myers Tobacco Company. He took over the 
management of the home place on Versailles Pike. "Point Breeze," which is 
better known as "Tanglewood" was formerly owned by Mr. Hay's father and has 
now been developed into a beautiful sub-division, known as "Tanglewood," by 
Mr. Charles W. Hay, Jr. Here Mr. Hay has built a modern and attractive home. 
In addition to his own farming interests he also manages the farm owned by his 
brother, Jacob S. Taylor Hays, on Wilson Lane, all of which totals 650 acres 
of farm property under his direction, much of which is planted regularly to burley 
tobacco. He is also a licensed realtor and buys and sells farm and city property. 

Mr. Hay was married September 13, 1941 to Miss Nell Cannon Hunter, the 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Lucian O. Hunter of Leitchfleld, Kentucky. They 
are the parents of Charles W. Hay, III, born January 2, 1943. 

Mr. Hay formerly held a commission as First Lieutenant in the Officers Reserve 
Corps of the United States Army but was discharged on account of physical 
disability. A progressive farmer, he has always kept abreast of the times in new 
developments in farming. In 1943 he became a member of the Board of Directors 
of the Farm Bureau Federation of Franklin County and in 1944 became its 
President, being the present incumbent. 

The Sons of the American Revolution list Mr. Hay "among their membership. 
He is a member of the Episcopal Church while Mrs. Hay is a communicant of 
the Catholic Church and is active in the women's affairs of her parish. She is 
also an active member of the Young Womans Club of Frankfort. Through 
inheritance and belief Mr. Hay is an adherent of the Democratic Party. 

The other three children of Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Hay, Sr., are: Jacob 
S. Taylor Hay, E. H. Taylor Hay, and Mrs. Eugenia Crittenden Hay Blackburn. 
J. S. T. Hay graduated from Kavanaugh School and the Frankfort High School 
and engaged in farming before entering the United States Marine Corps, where 
he is now serving. E. H. Taylor Hay graduated from Kavanaugh School and 
attended Culver Military Academy. He is now manager of the Union League 
Club in Chicago, and is President of the Chicago Club Managers Association. He 
formerly served as vice-president of the American Association of Hotel Club 
Managers. Eugenia is the wife of Sam Blackburn of Frankfort and the mother 
of four sons. 



o, 



WILLIAM E. SMITH 



'ne writer has said of William E. Smith, president of the 
Standard Oil Company of Kentucky, that devotion to duty is one of the out- 
standing traits of his character. That statement is certainly true if success in 
the business world is any criterion. He rose from a position as a clerk to the 
presidency of one of Kentucky's largest and best known corporations. Such a 
career can be pursued only through devotion to duty, knowledge and experience 
gained in the school of hard work. 

William Edward Smith was born in Buffalo, New York, on March 12, 1873. 
His father and mother, Harry and Sarah A. (Smith) Smith were natives of 
England. Harry Smith was born in the great steel city of Sheffield and came 



2200 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

to the United States as a young man, returning later to England to marry. He 
settled in Buffalo and later in Fredonia, New York, and established a real estate 
business. He then became an oil producer in the Titusville and Franklin, Penn- 
sylvania, oil fields. Still later he removed to Buffalo and became one of the 
most prominent and influential business men of that city. He became the father 
of four children who were: Walter A., an official of the Standard Oil Company 
of New York; Edna; Nina Smith Vautier and William Edward, the subject of 
this sketch. Harry Smith died on July 10, 1926. 

William E. Smith attended the public schools in Titusville and in Fredonia, 
New York, where he also studied at the Fredonia State Normal School. He 
continued his education by going to work for his father in the Franklin, Pennsyl- 
vania, oil fields where he laid the groundwork for his career in the oil industry. 
He followed the fine old American tradition of learning to do by doing. 

After he had learned the fundamentals of the production of oil, he engaged 
in the oil business on his own account. At the age of twenty-two, confident in 
his knowledge of the oil business and his ability to grow with the industry he 
entered the employ of the Atlantic Refining Company, a Standard Oil Company 
subsidiary, as a clerk and salesman at Franklin, Pennsylvania. After serving 
in this capacity for two years, Mr. Smith was transferred in 1897 to the New 
York office of the Standard Oil Company of New Jersey, at 26 Broadway, as a 
clerk and salesman. Four years later he was made sales executive of the Standard 
Oil Company of Kentucky with offices in Cincinnati, Ohio. On March 1, 1906, 
he accepted a position as sales manager of the Standard Oil Company of New 
York. His progressive experience in the oil industry and his ability and per- 
sonality so impressed the board of directors of the Standard Oil Company of 
Kentucky that it called him to the vice-presidency of that corporation on April 
1, 1921, and elevated him to the presidency on March 17, 1927, which position 
he has filled with honor to this day. 

Mr. Smith's other business interests include the former chairmanship of the 
board of directors of the Heidelberg Brewing Company and ownership of a racing 
stable operated originally as a hobby but which has now become a profitable 
business. He breeds and trains his thoroughbred horses at Golden Maxim Place 
in Jefferson County, Kentucky. He also maintains his home at Prospect, Ken- 
tucky. In connection with his racing interests, Governor Flem D. Sampson ap- 
pointed him to membership on the Kentucky State Racing Commission in 1931. 
He was made vice-chairman and later chairman, which position he held until 1944. 
He has always shown a quite commendable interest in the promotion of horse 
racing in Kentucky and has been instrumental in maintaining racing on the high 
plane on which it has always been operated in this state. That he is not a "one 
sport fan" is proved by the fact that he served as president of the Louisville 
Baseball Club (Louisville Colonels) in 1936-37. He is also a director of the 
American Petroleum Institute and the Louisville Board of Trade. 

Because he possesses an engaging personality and a genial disposition, William 
E. Smith holds an enviable social position in Louisville. He is a member oi the 
Louisville Country Club and the Pcndcnnis Club. 

On April 8, 1918, Mr. Smith was married to Miss Eunice Greenwood Weaver 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2201 

in New York. Mrs. Smith is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Greenwood 
Weaver of Covington, Kentucky. The Weaver family has been a prominent 
one in Kentucky for many generations. 

Being a thirty-second degree Mason, Mr. Smith has taken the work offered by 
both the York and Scottish Rites. Mr. Smith's religious affiliation is with the 
Protestant Epsicopal Church. An Independent in politics, he prefers to vote for 
the candidate and issue of his choice without feeling a moral obligation to support 
the nominee of a political party. 

He maintains an open mind on all matters of public interest. His business 
experience and his admirable clearheadedness has prompted leaders of many public 
movements to request his advice and his service on committees formed to perform 
public services. Since his advent to Louisville, he has won the praise and esteem 
of his fellow citizens and has proved a valuable asset to his adopted city and state. 



CHARLES BRONSTON McCORD 



A, 



.valon Farm", on the Lexington Pike a few miles out of Win- 
chester, Clark County, Kentucky, is the home of Mr. and Mrs. Charles B. Mc- 
Cord and here Mr. McCord is continuing the traditions and customs of the Blue 
Grass that were begun by his forebears. 

A native of Boyle county, Mr. McCord was there born on January 17, 1890, 
the son of Charles Berkley and Lucy (Bronston) McCord. Charles Berkley 
McCord was a native of Clark County, while his father, John McCord was born 
in Madison County. The McCord family seat was in Madison County where 
the early progenitors received land grants from the Governor of Virginia in return 
for services rendered their country during the war for American Independence. 
Charles Berkley McCord became a member of the United States Postal Service 
under President Grover Cleveland and was attached to the Post Office in Win- 
chester for many years. During the last twenty-five years of his life he was 
associated with the Louisville Gas and Electric Company at Winchester. Lucy 
Bronston McCord was a native of Madison County. 

Charles Bronston McCord spent the youthful years of his life in Clark County 
and received his education in the public schools of Winchester. He began 
farming as a young man and in 1913 married Miss Margaret Brown a daughter 
of Mr. and Mrs. Joe Brown of Clark County, and they became the parents of 
three children, Joe Brown, Mary Alice and Margaret Bronston McCord. 

Joe Brown McCord, the only son of the family, is now associated with his 
father in the management of "Avalon Farm". He married Miss Frances Cassell, 
a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. George Cassell of Fayette County and they are the 
parents of Charles Bronston and Mary Pamelia McCord. Mary Alice, the 
eldest daughter, is now the wife of Joe Collins and the mother of Margaret 
Brown Collins. Mr. Collins is now in Alaska in connection with construction 
work for the United States Government. Margaret Bronston McCord, the 
younger daughter, is a student at the Winchester High School. 

"Avalon Farm" is one of the most attractive country homes in Clark County. 
It consists of five hundred and forty-eight acres of the most fertile soil in Ken- 



2202 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

tucky. The old home was built almost a century ago by Tandy Quisenberry. 
It is distinctly southern colonial in architectural design, and standing approximately 
a quarter of a mile from the Lexington Pike it does not fail to catch the attention 
of the passerby. Its walls are of solid brick construction, including all the par- 
titions, and the trim is in walnut. The floors are of native ash. One very 
attractive feature of this home is the self supporting circular stairway, which as 
a thing of beauty is not equaled by present day craftsmen. 

Mrs. McCord's father, Mr. J. L. Brown, was a noted turfman. At "Avalon 
Farm" he bred and raised many trotting horses, among which were "Black 
Cloud" and "Betty Taylor" the latter being purchased by Mrs. J. L. Dodge. 
Among his outstanding running horses were "Right on Time" and "Up Time". 
The Brown colors were well known on the Louisville, Lexington and Latonia 
tracks. 

Mr. McCord is engaged chiefly in general farming. His products are tobacco 
and small grains, particularly blue grass seed. He raises Polled Hereford cattle 
and running horses. Mr. McCord has taken an active interest in the political 
affairs of Clark County. A Democrat, his opinions are freely voiced and he 
exerts a strong influence towards good government. He is a member of the 
Masonic Order and has taken the advanced degrees of the Chapter, Council and 
Commandery, with Shrine membership in Oleika Temple, at Lexington, but he 
is now on demit from all these bodies except the Blue Lodge. 



A s 



WALTER SCOTT DUNN 



-s A scion of one of Kentucky's oldest families, Walter Scott 
Dunn, of Danville, is carrying on the traditions established by his family a cen- 
tury and a half ago, and as the son of one of the Commonwealth's noted tobacco 
auctioneers, Colonel I. M. Dunn, he is following in the footsteps of his father, 
and if possible, adding new laurels to the family record. 

Walter Dunn first saw the light of day at Marcellus, Garrard County, Ken- 
tucky on June 9, 1891. His father, Isaac Malcolm Dunn, known throughout the 
Bluegrass as Colonel Dunn, was an auctioneer of prominence and moved to Dan- 
ville when Walter was a small child. Here he became active in the real estate 
and tobacco business and is regarded as the father of the tobacco business in Dan- 
ville. He was instrumental in the establishment of the first loose leaf tobacco 
business in Danville and founded the first tobacco sales warehouse south of the 
Kentucky River. He cried real estate sales in this section for sixty years and 
operated the Peoples Tobacco Warehouse in Danville for thirty-six years, it being 
sold in 1938, his death occurring October 19th of that year. His wife was the 
former Lucy Hayden of Lebanon, Kentucky, and she is now spending the autum- 
nal years of her life in Danville. 

Walter S. Dunn received his public school education in Danville and followed 
it by study at Dr. Elliott's Academy at North Middlctown, Kentucky. He began 
his business career as a clerk in a grocery store but was soon to embark in business 
for himself, for three years later he formed a partnership with Charles Cecil and 
T. F. Durham, becoming the first dealers of Dodge cars in Danville, and being 




WALTER SCOTT DUNN 



2204 A SESQUI -CENTENNIAL 

the first dealers of any car to have a car load shipped directly to Danville. He 
continued in this business until 1917 when it was sold. 

Mr. Dunn's business record is one of pioneering. He has established many 
business activities, some of which he still owns and operates and others that he has 
sold to young men in order that they might get a start in the business world. 
Throughout his life he has been a farmer, owning and operating some of the 
finest land in the Bluegrass section of Kentucky. As a young man he began auc- 
tioneering tobacco and followed the markets into South Carolina, Georgia, North 
Carolina and Kentucky for twenty-one years. He secured the franchise and es- 
tablished the Dr. Pepper Bottling Works in Danville and after conducting it very 
successfully for four years sold it to his brothers. In 1933 he established the 
wholesale distributorship for Texaco products and yet continues in that business, 
serving eight counties with sixty-four retail outlets. In September, 1943, he founded 
the Victory Bus Lines. These lines serve West Danville during the winter months 
while the tobacco redrying plant is in operation, and also connect Danville and 
Junction City. On Sundays the Victory Bus Line carries the members of the 
various churches to and from West Danville, Kentucky — also the students to and 
from K. C. W. and Centre College. Other lines run from Danville to Darnell 
Hospital and from Harrodsburg to Darnell Hospital. In May, 1943 he formed 
the Arnold-Dunn Real Estate Company to conduct auction sales of real estate. 
During the first year of its existence this firm sold over $400,000.00 worth of 
property. 

Mr. Dunn was chairman for Boyle County for the war salvage drive in 1942. 
He furnished the lot on which the scrap was assembled and supervised its prepara- 
tion, sale and shipment. As a result the war effort received many tons of much 
needed scrap metal and he distributed the financial returns of $3300.00 between 
the schools, churches, Community house and Parent Teacher's Association of 
Danville. 

Another unique business enterprise in which Mr. Dunn was interested and which 
was successful for a long period of time was the mail order tire business. He 
had large quantities of tires manufactured under the name of Dunn Brothers Tires 
and sold them through advertising in direct by mail sales. 

Mr. Dunn married Miss Caroline Logan of Danville in 1910. 

The Dunns have always been farmers. The family now owns one farm in Gar- 
rard County which was granted to one of their ancestors by the government one 
hundred and forty years ago. It has never changed hands except by inheritance 
and has never had a mortgage against it. In 1943 Mr. Dunn bought a 243 acre 
farm from B. F. Thompson and another 114 acres from the McAfee heirs forming 
his present stock farm on which he has sixty-five purebred Hereford cattle. 

Walter Dunn is a member of the Christian Church and a director of the Danville 
School for the Deaf. He is a community builder and a man builder. His chief 
pride is in the fact that he has been the vehicle by which several young men have 
been able to find their place in life and through the opportunities he has offered 
them have become useful and respected citizens. 



HISTORY OF KENTUCKY 2205 



AUGUST GEORGE BOSLER 

x\ man who thinks more of the welfare and happiness of others 
than of himself is the greatest asset a city, state or nation can possess. 

The city of Owensboro, Kentucky can boast such a citizen in the person of 
August George Bosler, known familiarly to thousands as "Gus". He has spent 
the greater portion of his life doing things for others and, in his own words, 
"If a person can't live in a community and do some good, there's no use living 
in a community." 

"Gus" Bosler is a "self-made" man in more than just a manner of speaking. 
Orphaned at the age of eleven and under the painful necessity of earning his 
own living when only fourteen years old, he has risen to positions of great trust 
and responsibility in his community and has probably contributed more to the 
happiness and well being of his community than any other member of it. 

He was born in Owensboro, Kentucky on July 5, 1888, the son of George Enos 
Bosler, a native of Southern Indiana, and Anna Theresa (Smith) Bosler of 
Jasper, Indiana. George Enos Bosler was engaged in the wholesale liquor busi- 
ness in Owensboro. He died in 1899. Mrs. Bosler is still (1943) living in 
Owensboro. 

"Gus" Bosler was educated in the public and parochial schools in Owensboro 
and in the Owensboro Business College which he attended at night while working 
in the day time. 

In his first position, he worked as a trimmer for the F. A. Ames Company, 
prominent buggy manufacturers of Owensboro. His duties consisted in trimming 
buggy cushions. 

Showing unusual ability for a boy of his age, he was advanced through every 
position in the company until he became purchasing agent, charged with the 
responsibility for buying all the materials and supplies used in the plant. He 
performed the same duties for the Ames Body Corporation when it did a large 
volume of business in the manufacture of automobile bodies. 

In 1924 his ability was recognized by his appointment as secretary, treasurer 
and general manager of the F. A. Ames Manufacturing Company which now 
uses the majority of its facilities for war production. The continued success of 
this corporation during the last twenty years has been largely due to the wise and 
efficient leadership of Mr. Bosler. 

As the years passed, his business interests increased and the demands on his 
time and energy were those which could not have been met by any man less 
interested in all that went on about him, and with less capacity for continuous 
effort. In 1932, he was made a director of the Central Trust Company and 
still serves in that position. Since 1933, he has been secretary and treasurer and 
member of the board of directors of the Southern Industrial Loan Corporation. 
In 1940, he accepted membership on the board of directors of the Owensboro 
Wagon Company. He is also a director of the Owensboro Oil and Grease 
Company and owns two farms in Daviess County, which he supervises himself. 

Mr. Bosler enters wholeheartedly into anything he deems worthy of any effort. 
As a member of the Owensboro Rotary Club, he serves as a shining example to 



2206 A SESQUI-CENTENNIAL 

his fellow members by having a perfect attendance record at the weekly dinner 
meeting since 1927. He is also a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
cf Elks. In religious matters, he professes the faith of the Roman Catholic 
Church and is a faithful communicant and supporter of St. Joseph's Church in 
Owensboro. Politically, he subscribes to the principles and supports the policies 
and candidates of the Democratic Party. 

August George Bosler is unmarried. He has one sister, Isabell, now Mrs. 
Henry Mammen of Dayton, Ohio. 

Well known, well liked and well respected in business and industrial circles of 
Western Kentucky, "Gus" Bosler is even better known for his avocation, which 
consists of doing good. His hobby is his house in which, strangely enough, he 
does not live. 

Locust Grove, a twenty-two acre estate, on the banks of the Ohio River just 
east of Owensboro was purchased by "Gus" Bosler and turned into a place of 
rest and recreation for any one any time he chooses to use it. This lovely place 
represents an investment of many thousands of dollars and many thousands of 
hours of its owner's time. He has given his inventive and mechanical genius free 
rein and has constructed nearly all of the equipment and furnishings. 

The beauty and utility of this unique playground beggars description: The 
Owensboro Messenger in its Sunday edition on August 30, 1942, gave more than 
a full page to pictures and the history of Locust Grove and its owner. 

Equipped with every convenience for merrymakers from barbecue pits to a 
baseball diamond, from a rose garden to a recreation hall, the place is visited 
by thousands of people from all over the United States every year. The only 
charge is a smiling "Come Back Again" from the man who made it possible. 
"Gus" Bosler is never happier than when he can be at Locust Grove greeting 
friends and strangers alike. He will accept no reimbursement for the cost of 
utilities and other expenses of large gatherings which are held almost daily. 
His only profit is in the happiness of others. "I like to see people enjoy them- 
selves," Mr. Bosler has said time and again. In that sentence lies the philosophy 
of life of the most unselfish and perhaps the happiest man in Owensboro. 



CHARLES LEWIS SWINFORD, M.D. 



D, 



r. Charles Lewis Swinford is a member of one of the most 
prominent families of Harris